View Full Version : Sale Football Club - is this the best country football club???

Pages : 1 [2]

Budda 230
20 Sep 2007, 10:19
maybe he was too good for their tanking structure.

If he was too good for their tanking structure, he wouldn't have got delisted. Although he was a favourite of Pagan so that wouldn't go down too well.

bigpapagman
20 Sep 2007, 10:26
alright lets just agree he was a crap AFL footballer.

Modra93
20 Sep 2007, 14:08
he is only 20. very few players are up to afl standard at that age.

bigpapagman
20 Sep 2007, 14:33
true. but why delist him without giving him a shot?

Modra93
20 Sep 2007, 16:12
brett ratten has just taken over the job and wants to change the list around to suit his style of play.. pagan liked flint and probably looked at him as a project player, maybe ratten didnt see it the same way... all i know is that flinty is a fkn good footballer

Budda 230
20 Sep 2007, 16:25
brett ratten has just taken over the job and wants to change the list around to suit his style of play.. pagan liked flint and probably looked at him as a project player, maybe ratten didnt see it the same way... all i know is that flinty is a fkn good footballer

He may be put back on the rookie list.

Modra93
20 Sep 2007, 16:31
i am optimistic he will be. ratten may look at is he doesnt think flint is ready to play afl next year but he wants to have another player on the list, so delist him, rookie draft him and put a further 2 years development into him then promote him again whilst opening up a spot for another player on the main list.

Budda 230
20 Sep 2007, 16:45
i am optimistic he will be. ratten may look at is he doesnt think flint is ready to play afl next year but he wants to have another player on the list, so delist him, rookie draft him and put a further 2 years development into him then promote him again whilst opening up a spot for another player on the main list.

Although they already have delisted alot of players which would most likely suggest he isn't in their future plans. Will be interesting to see if they invite him for training.

bigpapagman
21 Sep 2007, 00:29

in the West Gippsland League.

woodrow levi
21 Sep 2007, 09:45
There are three guys who i can think of of the top of my head that would walk into that Sale side you have named:

Tristan Lynch - 70 odd AFL games with Brisbane and Geelong
Was a former Rookie of the year for Latrobe Valley Footy and made the Team of the year - could play on ball, wing, half back, half foward or fullfoward

Craig Lazzaro - one of the best players never to play AFL to come out of sale - regular Latrobe Valley Rep Player - gun on baller

Daniel Surkitt - (Stuart Andersons 1st cousin) - absolute jet of a rover - selected for vic country Teal cup in the early 90's but got injured and didn't play - think he won a couple of b&f's at Sale as well.

These guys are all intheir early 30's now and would walk into that side you have named.

I could go back further -

Damian Hogan - would be in any best of Sale Team - superstar who had a short stint at Sydney

That will do for now.

G'day mate, i am well aware of these excellent players to come out of sale, however as you have mentioned these guys are well into there 30s and don't know whether they'd "walk straight back in" They would have to prove themselves on the track. Lynch is probably the youngest and would have the best chance..

As for damien hogan, he is well into his 40s now and by no chance could get a game in any team in the west gippy!!!

woodrow levi
21 Sep 2007, 09:51
News is Bristow will play for Sale, Very very big input into the side!!!!
Can play anywhere and dominate as a 196cm big man.. Maffra will be sh*tting themselves i reckon.

Also McLaren will be at Sale next year, and Flint as well pending on whether he gets a rookie listing.

bigpapagman
21 Sep 2007, 10:26
sale >>>>>>> carlton.

Groenwegen
22 Sep 2007, 17:57
Eagles 6 goals up early last qtr.

Cant wait for Sale supporters to come on here and tell us if only all their good players didnt move away.

At end of day 4000 population v 14000 population and the better club wins.

Eagles slso get up in the 4ths, where Sale cant use the excuse if only our players didnt move away.

Modra93
22 Sep 2007, 19:37
maffra ended up winning by 7 points

brendan martin kicked 9 for sale out of 14..

In response to Groenwgen's pathetic post, have a look at the first post in this thread you moron.

As for the fourths maffra do have a stonger lineup but obviously in lower divisions key players can carry the team, in maffras case they have a very very strong core group and deserved to win the premiership. john Butcher, edward carr, thomas young.. all very veyr good players

Groenwegen
22 Sep 2007, 20:45

In response to Groenwgen's pathetic post, have a look at the first post in this thread you moron.

As for the fourths maffra do have a stonger lineup but obviously in lower divisions key players can carry the team, in maffras case they have a very very strong core group and deserved to win the premiership. john Butcher, edward carr, thomas young.. all very veyr good players

Maybe you want to change the bit in your location from Vic to Cry.

Have a look at the title of the thread, bit laughable now.

Eagles 5 premierships in last 6 years, not bad for a town of 4000.

When did this so called best club in country football last win one.

Modra93
23 Sep 2007, 14:21

you fkn half wit. you didnt look at the first post. it CLEARLY asks the question that if ALL players still played at sale then WOULD they be. and if you look at the team barely any of those that played yesterday are listed... the only thing laughable is your ignorance

jcraw1
23 Sep 2007, 16:46

Should have been 6.. Bloody Traralgon.. Man I hate them

Groenwegen
23 Sep 2007, 16:47
you fkn half wit. you didnt look at the first post. it CLEARLY asks the question that if ALL players still played at sale then WOULD they be. and if you look at the team barely any of those that played yesterday are listed... the only thing laughable is your ignorance

The only thing laughable is that someone would start a thread that Sale Football Club is the best in country football.

Until the last couple of years they were a laughing stock of the community because of the infighting within the club, Reminds me of that other club you support, is there a link?

How many country clubs could say if only.

Hope your enjoying your day, maybe a visit to Maffra town to discuss why Sale is the best country club would cheer you up.

youngsaint
23 Sep 2007, 19:46
Thomas Young is actualy a sale boy.. Campbell heath another of there main players is from bdale.. They still deserved 4ths premiership however..
The thread clearly states that if all those players were still playing for sale instead of afl, vfl and what have you then it would be the best country football club... Was based on what they could have on the paddock not what they do have.

bigpapagman
24 Sep 2007, 09:20
/ thread.

Modra93
24 Sep 2007, 10:38
The only thing laughable is that someone would start a thread that Sale Football Club is the best in country football.

Until the last couple of years they were a laughing stock of the community because of the infighting within the club, Reminds me of that other club you support, is there a link?

How many country clubs could say if only.

Hope your enjoying your day, maybe a visit to Maffra town to discuss why Sale is the best country club would cheer you up.

BP. Kane Fraser FB. Craig Flint BP. Taylor Collins*
(carlton)

BF. Stuart Anderson CHB. Kris Pendlebury* BF. David Piasanti*
(north melbourne)

W. Jason Gram C. Scott Pendlebury W. Tim Bristow*
(st kilda) (collingwood)

HFF. Peter McFarlane* CHF. Matthew Ferguson HFF. Chris Laverty*
(st kilda)

FP. Luke Collins* FF. Chris Aurish FP. Jacob Schuback
(adelaide)
Ruck. Dylan McLaren RR. Shane Birss R. Rodney Love*
(carlton) (st kilda)

Interchange: Justin McLay*, James Bristow*, Shane Fyfe*, Chris Kelf

Emergency: D. Arrazzolo*, Russell McAdam*, Corey Scholtes, Kane Martin*, Michael Todd

This suggests that only 7 people that are currently playing football for Sale 1st, deserve to be in Sale's best starting 22, yet they are still a powerhouse team in the west gippy latrobe, and would in the higher levels of Country football

GRONER - Read the thread before you start bagging people for things they never said. uck you

EDFL follower
24 Sep 2007, 10:44
(carlton)

(north melbourne)

(st kilda) (collingwood)

(st kilda)

(adelaide)
(carlton) (st kilda)

Emergency: D. Arrazzolo*, Russell McAdam*, Corey Scholtes, Kane Martin*, Michael Todd

This suggests that only 7 people that are currently playing football for Sale 1st, deserve to be in Sale's best starting 22, yet they are still a powerhouse team in the west gippy latrobe, and would in the higher levels of Country football

GRONER - Read the thread before you start bagging people for things they never said. uck you

How can you be a powerhose team if you haven't won a flag for 20 years?

bigpapagman
24 Sep 2007, 11:01
in response to the original question.

Sale Football Club - is this the best country football club???

No.

Buster the hawk
24 Sep 2007, 11:03

As for the fourths maffra do have a stonger lineup but obviously in lower divisions key players can carry the team, in maffras case they have a very very strong core group and deserved to win the premiership. john Butcher, edward carr, thomas young.. all very veyr good playersYou think it only happens in the fourths key players carrying the team ,how would the seniors go without the Burgiels.Was at the game and this year it was Hayden that got them going.I was very disappointed to say the least but then looked across from me and i was standing next to a well known Maffra identity carrying a two way radio and thought to myself.....things could be a lot worse.As for the game Fowler ,Schuback and Aurish didn't touch the ball and i don't think that is an exaggeration, you will never win when key players like that don't go near it.I said earlier in the year that Sale's main problem was that our key players have a habit of going missing too often and that was never more obvious than on Saturday.We would've been better off bringing a few hackers up from the 2's who were willing to at least have a go.Congrats to the eagles again ,they have to live over there but at least their footy team is very good .

bigdog08
24 Sep 2007, 12:35

(carlton)

(north melbourne)

(st kilda) (collingwood)

(st kilda)

(adelaide)
(carlton) (st kilda)

Emergency: D. Arrazzolo*, Russell McAdam*, Corey Scholtes, Kane Martin*, Michael Todd*

Matthew furguson is from heyfield isnt he, just from sale when it is convenient for the thread?? Go eagles

bigpapagman
24 Sep 2007, 14:03
yeah its a little bit like that isnt it?

samebi
24 Sep 2007, 23:00
Congrats on having the best country football team "on paper"; i'm sure the current sale players the guys behind the scenes and the recently departed(?) coach and president will get a great deal of comfort from it!

Perhaps you could start another list - "overpaid ex afl players who dont get a kick in the only game that counts - two years in a row!"

samebi
24 Sep 2007, 23:07
Thomas Young is actualy a sale boy.. Campbell heath another of there main players is from bdale.. They still deserved 4ths premiership however..
The thread clearly states that if all those players were still playing for sale instead of afl, vfl and what have you then it would be the best country football club... Was based on what they could have on the paddock not what they do have.

Thomas Young may live in Sale but his father played for Maffra - had to make a choice and went with Maffra. Campbell Heath comes from Lindenow and goes to school in Sale.

Groenwegen
25 Sep 2007, 01:52
(carlton)

(north melbourne)

(st kilda) (collingwood)

(st kilda)

(adelaide)
(carlton) (st kilda)

Hey Cry Baby, bit sore about the weekend result.

Suggest you have a look at the title, again laughable. Yes the community of Sale has a good record of producing good players. If the Sale FC were a half decent club they would benefit from this, How much did Sale FC contribute to the development of Pendlebury, Gram, Birss, McLaren, all the Power boys played very little with the Sale FC, the junior club can take more credit than the senior club. Historically the Sale FC does not have a good record administratively or holding onto players and has a high turnover of coaches.

Following your thinking I would suggest the Heyfield FC has more claim to the best producer per population of AFL footballers than the club you are pumping up.

samebi
25 Sep 2007, 08:43
Pendlebury played his junior football with St. Pats.

bigpapagman
25 Sep 2007, 08:51
yes this is a rather over-rated thread.

woodrow levi
25 Sep 2007, 11:58
Hey Cry Baby, bit sore about the weekend result.

Suggest you have a look at the title, again laughable. Yes the community of Sale has a good record of producing good players. If the Sale FC were a half decent club they would benefit from this, How much did Sale FC contribute to the development of Pendlebury, Gram, Birss, McLaren, all the Power boys played very little with the Sale FC, the junior club can take more credit than the senior club. Historically the Sale FC does not have a good record administratively or holding onto players and has a high turnover of coaches.

Following your thinking I would suggest the Heyfield FC has more claim to the best producer per population of AFL footballers than the club you are pumping up.

hahahaha... This is getting beyond a joke!! So what is this arguing about, The Sale team that played on the weekend has lost to a full strength Maffra team. Well done Maffra!

As this thread has already suggested several times, the Sale team that played on the weekend is no where near their full strength team.. I do not come from Area i made this thread to give Sale some recognition for there development of there juniors making them into very good footballers, further giving them the opportunity to move onto bigger and better things!
Well done Sale for that!!!!

However some of you people, (most likely kids) bagging out Sale for losing on the weekend by 7 points to a full strength team (Maffra), surely Maffra is losing some credibility themselves. Geez I mean Maffra surely are a good country football club, with good country footballers, but take out the two Burgiels and they would have lost that game on the weekend by at least 5 goals. And in saying this taking out Maffra's two best players (Burgiels) it makes a dramatic difference to the team. Taking out Sales best 15 players (all the ones that have left) Barely makes a difference to the competitiveness of the Club at west gippy standards....

What a joke to say that the players such as Birss, Pendlebury, McLaren, Flint, Gram didn't even play juniors at Sale. They were brought up through the U/10s under either Neil Bristow, Knobbie Pendlebury or Richard Coulthard, then made it into the Sale 4ths or 3rds under the coaching of Ron Hughes. Although Pendlebury did play for St Pats in the U/12s, as soon as becoming an U/16 went back to Sale and played in two 4ths (winning) Grand finals.

For all you posters that can't except the fact that this is a very successful club in its own right, don't bother coming on here and typing your senseless cr*p about how they cannot beat a full strength team,
I'm sure if the young footballers in towns of Sale, Traralgon or even Warrugul stuck around and had the small town syndrome disease that the Maffra boys have, these football clubs would be at least 3 or 4 times better than the current teams they fielded this year!

woodrow levi
25 Sep 2007, 12:02
Congrats on having the best country football team "on paper"; i'm sure the current sale players the guys behind the scenes and the recently departed(?) coach and president will get a great deal of comfort from it!

Perhaps you could start another list - "overpaid ex afl players who dont get a kick in the only game that counts - two years in a row!"

Considering Sale has one overpaid ex AFL player (schuback). Geez that would make a pretty competitive team. Your a joke mate!
Whose there other Ex AFL player? Stuart Anderson!! I'd like to see the last Maffra person who played in an AFL premiership team?

mjhen3
25 Sep 2007, 12:17
woodrow levi, Maffra are far from full strength. The side they had out their on the weekend would have lost to the side they fielded 3 years ago by 15 goals.

Ben Coleman, Lee Anderson, Andrew Gieschen, Ben Robbins and no doubt others I can't think of.

From an opposition view point Sale should have won that game and comfortably. Forget about a 'small town syndrome', Maffra beat Sale because they wanted it more.

bigpapagman
25 Sep 2007, 12:34
hahahaha... This is getting beyond a joke!! So what is this arguing about, The Sale team that played on the weekend has lost to a full strength Maffra team. Well done Maffra!

As this thread has already suggested several times, the Sale team that played on the weekend is no where near their full strength team.. I do not come from Area i made this thread to give Sale some recognition for there development of there juniors making them into very good footballers, further giving them the opportunity to move onto bigger and better things!

However some of you people, (most likely kids) bagging out Sale for losing on the weekend by 7 points to a full strength team (Maffra), surely Maffra is losing some credibility themselves. Geez I mean Maffra surely are a good country football club, with good country footballers, but take out the two Burgiels and they would have lost that game on the weekend by at least 5 goals. And in saying this taking out Maffra's two best players (Burgiels) it makes a dramatic difference to the team. Taking out Sales best 15 players (all the ones that have left) Barely makes a difference to the competitiveness of the Club at west gippy standards....

What a joke to say that the players such as Birss, Pendlebury, McLaren, Flint, Gram didn't even play juniors at Sale. They were brought up through the U/10s under either Neil Bristow, Knobbie Pendlebury or Richard Coulthard, then made it into the Sale 4ths or 3rds under the coaching of Ron Hughes. Although Pendlebury did play for St Pats in the U/12s, as soon as becoming an U/16 went back to Sale and played in two 4ths (winning) Grand finals.

For all you posters that can't except the fact that this is a very successful club in its own right, don't bother coming on here and typing your senseless cr*p about how they cannot beat a full strength team,
I'm sure if the young footballers in towns of Sale, Traralgon or even Warrugul stuck around and had the small town syndrome disease that the Maffra boys have, these football clubs would be at least 3 or 4 times better than the current teams they fielded this year!

I'm sure you're an idiot.

Go post on the Geelong League board about Grovedale or something.

We don't need this here.

bigdog08
25 Sep 2007, 13:01

If you took the two or three best footballers out of any country footy side it would make a dramatic difference so it is crap saying that if you took the Bergiels out of maffra there would 5 goals worse off, of course they would, but the fact is that adrian and hayden are both there. Every club in every comp has there marquee players and if they lost them they would probably lose more than they win. Perry meka out of ardmona and you lose 100+ goals and maybe they dont make the grand final. Ryan hayes and andy grant out of elmore same result, you could go on for ever. The fact is that sale have produced some good footballers but with a population 4 or 5 times that of maffra's it is to be expected, so i dont think this needs to be a comparison between the two towns. Maffra have won 5 out the last 6 WGLFL flags and for a team that was being pushed to be kicked out of the league at the start of the 2002 season it is a credit to all the players that have come back home to help the club, not "small town syndrome", also a credit to sale to make the last two grand finals as they were in the same boat.

bigpapagman
25 Sep 2007, 13:49
sale have gotten a bit big for their britches this year....nothing to back it up now!!!

back to the drawing board.

youngsaint
25 Sep 2007, 14:04
sale have gotten a bit big for their britches this year....nothing to back it up now!!!

back to the drawing board.

how would you know they have gotten bit big for their britches???

Modra93
25 Sep 2007, 14:17
bigpapaman what is your problem with sale? By reading this thread you obviously know very litle about the players they have. Take you 'definition of unfufilled potential' elsewhere.

It was a great first post by woodilevi who obviously has great knowledge of the sale players and sale football club. An extremely accurate lineup.

Fact is Maffra played better on the weekend and did deserve the p'ship. I thought McAdam, Hammil and K Martin were great and B Martin was outstanding. I don't deny Maffra didnt deserve the pship as they do.

The fact is the thread title is suggesting that the current lineup sale have is the best country football team but that with there best possible linep on paper they would be hard to beat. Groner can't seem to comprehend this, unfortunatly probably due to his minute brain. As too with the BigEgoMan

bigpapagman
25 Sep 2007, 14:42
how would you know they have gotten bit big for their britches???

oh maybe because of the stuff you guys are posting & following the WGLFL this year........

this ridiculous thread!

how can you make statements like this......

really, you can say all kinds of things.

warragul could have Rob Murphy, Barry Round & Gary Ayres playing for them if they wanted..... the point is - Sale didnt win the flag this year, so why say " oh but if scott pendlebury was playing, we might've."

?????

bigpapagman
25 Sep 2007, 14:45
bigpapaman what is your problem with sale? By reading this thread you obviously know very litle about the players they have. Take you 'definition of unfufilled potential' elsewhere.

It was a great first post by woodilevi who obviously has great knowledge of the sale players and sale football club. An extremely accurate lineup.

Fact is Maffra played better on the weekend and did deserve the p'ship. I thought McAdam, Hammil and K Martin were great and B Martin was outstanding. I don't deny Maffra didnt deserve the pship as they do.

The fact is the thread title is suggesting that the current lineup sale have is the best country football team but that with there best possible linep on paper they would be hard to beat. Groner can't seem to comprehend this, unfortunatly probably due to his minute brain. As too with the BigEgoMan

well maybe sale should make my signature their club motto then? :thumbsu:

Budda 230
25 Sep 2007, 14:46
Gees, this is getting personal.......:p

bigpapagman
25 Sep 2007, 15:22
isn't it?

jeez, no wonder..........losing a grand final and all.

might as well have come last.

pendlebury or not.

Budda 230
25 Sep 2007, 15:32
Everyone needs to take a chill pill I reckin. Those Sale boys are a bit touchy.

bigpapagman
25 Sep 2007, 15:48
see my above post.

Budda 230
25 Sep 2007, 16:58
see my above post.

Yeah, so? I saw it the first time! :confused:

bigpapagman
25 Sep 2007, 17:30
well i wanted to say the same thing again.

Budda 230
25 Sep 2007, 17:31
well i wanted to say the same thing again.

Fair enough.

bigpapagman
25 Sep 2007, 17:46
thankyou for understanding.

Modra93
25 Sep 2007, 17:51
how does sale not having won a premiership is the last 20 years have anything at all to do with the questioning of 'do they have the best possibly list from the current players they have produced, many of whom have left to go to higher leagues'

i'd like to see your piss weak answer for this big ego man

Budda 230
25 Sep 2007, 17:52
Your welcome.

Buster the hawk
25 Sep 2007, 20:12
If you took the two or three best footballers out of any country footy side it would make a dramatic difference so it is crap saying that if you took the Bergiels out of maffra there would 5 goals worse off, of course they would, but the fact is that adrian and hayden are both there. Every club in every comp has there marquee players and if they lost them they would probably lose more than they win. Perry meka out of ardmona and you lose 100+ goals and maybe they dont make the grand final. Ryan hayes and andy grant out of elmore same result, you could go on for ever. The fact is that sale have produced some good footballers but with a population 4 or 5 times that of maffra's it is to be expected, so i dont think this needs to be a comparison between the two towns. Maffra have won 5 out the last 6 WGLFL flags and for a team that was being pushed to be kicked out of the league at the start of the 2002 season it is a credit to all the players that have come back home to help the club, not "small town syndrome", also a credit to sale to make the last two grand finals as they were in the same boat.The Burgiel brothers are better than exceptional country footballers.I would like to know the background as to why their league careers were cut short.It is true sale has ex-AFL players but Anderson would be in his mid thirties by now and Schuback is just plain lazy.Not taking away anything from the rest of the team but again the brothers were the difference on Saturday particularly Hayden.Being from Sale i would compare him to Jason Gram ,his kicks are as accurate and as long maybe even at a lower trajectory and quicker ,he also is a harder player in close ,not a bad package for someone in their mid twenties ,his brother is just as good.There is absolutely no comparison between him and Perry Meka an overweight full forward close to forty.To have a run like Maffra have had over the last seven years takes something more special than just a bunch of good country footballers sticking together and fortunately for the village the brothers are just that.

Groenwegen
25 Sep 2007, 22:03
Just in case Cry Baby and rocking Levi missed the news.

But its not all bad news, you won the u/15 netball, surely this makes Sale the best country football club.

25 September 2007 View all news | Send to a friend | Print

EAGLES SOAR
David Braithwaite

Maffra's victory

MAFFRA held off a fast-finishing Sale to claim a fifth senior premiership in six years.

The Eagles led at every change with Nick Hider, Hayden Burgiel and Sam Walker providing plenty of drive through midfield.

Goals to Adrian Burgiel and Nigel Sellings early in the final term put the Eagles 42 points and seemingly assured victory.

But a spirited Sale revival led by Stuart Anderson and Brenton Martin, who kicked nine goals, whittled the margin to eight points.

But as the ball landed in the hands of forward Daniel Stubbe, the siren sounded to relief of the Maffra fans.

The Eagles took the West Gippsland Latrobe premiership 15.17 (107) to 14.15 (99) with Hider winning both best-on-ground medals on offer.

Adrian Burgiel booted five goals, Matt Lee was tenacious in defence while Stubbe was dangerous across the park.

After the game, Eagles' president John Vardy paid tribute to the efforts of coach Hayden Burgiel throughout the season.

"We have a coach who knows what's going on and he led from the front all day," he said.

The Eagles' fourths side also tasted glory with a 61-point win over Leongatha.

Edward Carr was named best-on-ground while John Butcher kicked eight goals.

The two premierships more than made up for the disappointment of losing the football reserves and under 13 netball to Traralgon and Leongatha respectively.

Sale did claim a grand final win with its under 15 netballers defeating Traralgon, 38-36, after three periods of extra time.
Tahlia Lange was best for the Magpies while Alanna Jones scored the two winning goals.

EDFL follower
26 Sep 2007, 10:37
how does sale not having won a premiership is the last 20 years have anything at all to do with the questioning of 'do they have the best possibly list from the current players they have produced, many of whom have left to go to higher leagues'

i'd like to see your piss weak answer for this big ego man

This is not what the original question in the thread said. It was Sale Football Club - is this the best country football club?

The answer is no they are not.

One of the main reasons- because they haven't won a flag in over 20 years. The best football clubs win flags. Simple as that.

Maybe the thread should have asked Sale Football Club - Are they the biggest under achievers?

Budda 230
26 Sep 2007, 11:31
This is not what the original question in the thread said. It was Sale Football Club - is this the best country football club?

The answer is no they are not.

One of the main reasons- because they haven't won a flag in over 20 years. The best football clubs win flags. Simple as that.

Maybe the thread should have asked Sale Football Club - Are they the biggest under achievers?

Ha ha. Good call. In that case, I would vote yes.

You'll never have those guns play in the one side so why bring it up??

bigdog08
26 Sep 2007, 12:21
Ha ha. Good call. In that case, I would vote yes.

You'll never have those guns play in the one side so why bring it up??

The question should have been - The Greater City of Sale - the reginal center with the best list on paper in victoria.

woodrow levi
26 Sep 2007, 18:34
oh maybe because of the stuff you guys are posting & following the WGLFL this year........

this ridiculous thread!

how can you make statements like this......

really, you can say all kinds of things.

warragul could have Rob Murphy, Barry Round & Gary Ayres playing for them if they wanted..... the point is - Sale didnt win the flag this year, so why say " oh but if scott pendlebury was playing, we might've."

?????

"oh but if scott pendlebury was playing, we might've."
Who said that????

Can i get this straight!!! Or is it too hard for some of you braindead people to read a whole sentence properly.

This thread was made to determine what Sale's best line-up could be if everyone still lived around the area!
NOT who's better out of Sale or Maffra!
NOT Sale people complaining about why they havn't won a flag in 20 years! (i'm not even from Sale)

Simple as that!!!

As for Bigpapagman, what a walking contradiction this simple-minded nobody is! Just have a read of his 1st and 3rd posts in this thread. You will see he has indicated that it is a fantastic bunch of players. Then as soon as Sale lose a game (with a team that is totally irrelvant to this thread) he totally changes his opinion.

I'll admit it that the thread title should be something more different, but if you read the first post, you should understand the exact meaning of the thread.

If you cannot admit that this would be an extremely good team, there is something extremely wrong with you and you do not deserve to be posting comments on a AFL forum because you obviously cannot determine who a good footballer is!!

Budda 230
26 Sep 2007, 20:30

Sorry woodrow levi, but these bolded comments do suggest that you're trying to say that Sale Footy Club wasn't at full strength because these AFL listed guns weren't playing. I think alot of people are responding to this post.

We all realise that the original topic of the thread was that Sale have developed alot of talented AFL footballers and that when you put them all on paper together, its makes for a mouth watering prospect. We.... well I, understand that.

But you need to realise that the original topic has now changed a little. You can't count these AFL players as part of Sale FC any more because they aren't. They have new clubs. All of them will never play a game for Sale at their peaks. You can be hypothetical, but you can't say " the Sale team that played on the weekend is no where near full strength". Sale will never have the full strength of those players.

Modra93
26 Sep 2007, 20:58
every post i have said was about the best list on paper... LIKE THE THREAD SUGGESTS...... but fools such as bigpapaman (who still hasnt responded to my request to answer my other post) seem to think that because sale havent won a flag in 20 years taht must mean on paper there list is no good

according to EDFL Follower it seems that sale could have produced the entire afl all australian team of 2007 yet they still wouldnt have the best possible LIST if all players still played for them because they wouldnt win the WGLFL flag...makes sense doesnt it EDFL.. uck you

samebi
26 Sep 2007, 22:43
I coudn't agree more budda 230 - the tone of the thread also changed through woodrow levi using terms such as "small town syndrome" and stating that maffra "...forcing kids to stay at the club and being selfish and not worrying about their personal development..." and meanman weighing in with maffra...."have only been able to beat these teams because they are basically there seconds...". All of this shows a complete lack of respect for what has been an outstanding run of achievement after a long time in the wilderness. The fact is that maffra is a very well run club, with stable administration, excellent facilities and an outstanding junior club (2 u/10's, 2 u/12's, 2 u/14's and 2 u/16 sides) all of which have contributed to their recent success.

bigpapagman
27 Sep 2007, 17:02
hmm.....

i think we have a massive misunderstanding here.

this has gotten way out of hand.

the whole point of this thread has been missed, apparently.

why not end it here?

Yes. Sale have developed good players who have gone onto bigger, better things.

No. They didnt win the grand final.

/ thread.