View Full Version : Sale Football Club - is this the best country football club???
woodrow levi
22 Jul 2007, 20:47
I have worked together the best possible team that Sale could put on the field if all these blokes still lived in Sale. Most of these boys have left Sale and are off in other states playing higher quality football or are in the AFL system...
* indicates if they played Gippsland Power or Teal cup equivelant
BOLD indicates if they are currently or have been in the AFL system
Also the players in italics are the current players in the Sale team:
Here it is:
BP. Kane Fraser FB. Craig Flint BP. Taylor Collins*
(carlton)
BF. Stuart Anderson CHB. Kris Pendlebury* BF. David Piasanti*
(north melbourne)
W. Jason Gram C. Scott Pendlebury W. Tim Bristow*
(st kilda) (collingwood)
HFF. Peter McFarlane* CHF. Matthew Ferguson HFF. Chris Laverty*
(st kilda)
FP. Luke Collins* FF. Chris Aurish FP. Jacob Schuback
(adelaide)
Ruck. Dylan McLaren RR. Shane Birss R. Rodney Love*
(carlton) (st kilda)
Interchange: Justin McLay*, James Bristow*, Shane Fyfe*, Chris Kelf
Emergency: D. Arrazzolo*, Russell McAdam*, Corey Scholtes, Kane Martin*, Michael Todd*
This suggests that only 7 people that are currently playing football for Sale 1st, deserve to be in Sale's best starting 22, yet they are still a powerhouse team in the west gippy latrobe, and would in the higher levels of Country football.
Meanman
22 Jul 2007, 21:01
Geez, fairly respectable team put together there.:thumbsu:
Look at that mid field Gram, Pendlebury, McLaren, Birss all very respectable AFL players...
It is also stating that 19 of the starting 22 all played Gippsland power. Is that correct? Must be some very talented footballers come through the junior ranks of the club!!!
I wonder if anyone else can come up with a better team. This would be really hard to beat??????
EDFL follower
23 Jul 2007, 12:24
It sounds great on paper. Only problem is games aren't won on paper and how many flags have Sale won recently. I'm sure Maffra must be able to come up with a pretty good side on paper.
bigpapagman
23 Jul 2007, 13:44
I have worked together the best possible team that Sale could put on the field if all these blokes still lived in Sale. Most of these boys have left Sale and are off in other states playing higher quality football or are in the AFL system...
Here it is:
(carlton)
(north melbourne)
(st kilda) (collingwood)
(st kilda)
(adelaide)
(carlton) (st kilda)
Emergency: D. Arrazzolo*, Russell McAdam*, Corey Scholtes, Kane Martin*, Michael Todd*
This suggests that only 7 people that are currently playing football for Sale 1st, deserve to be in Sale's best starting 22, yet they are still a powerhouse team in the west gippy latrobe, and would in the higher levels of Country football.
holy crap. pendles alone scares me.
bigpapagman
23 Jul 2007, 13:45
yeah, is taylor collins playing? used to be power captain; beat us by himself one day in school footy. gun.
woodrow levi
23 Jul 2007, 18:21
It sounds great on paper. Only problem is games aren't won on paper and how many flags have Sale won recently. I'm sure Maffra must be able to come up with a pretty good side on paper.
I'm pretty sure games arn't won on paper because these players arn't actually playing for sale, you numbskull!!! I'm pretty sure Maffra still has or still did have most of there players still living around the area and plkaying footy for maffra.. Only players i can think of that are and have been missing from Maffra's best 22 over the years are Ben Robbins, Sam Pleming, maybe the stobie brothers(but they're not much chop), Stayley?,.. but in comparison to the Sale players missing..Gram, pendlebury, birss, McLaren, Ferguson, its highly the contrast...
woodrow levi
23 Jul 2007, 18:23
yeah, is taylor collins playing? used to be power captain; beat us by himself one day in school footy. gun.
Taylor Collins has been playing Werribee seconds in the VFL ever since finishing power, i think he is concentrating more on work these days then playing football, but is stil handy nevertheless and is a highly missed player at Sale.
bigpapagman
24 Jul 2007, 08:48
in summing up, my response to your orignal question is yes, yes it is.
Budda 230
24 Jul 2007, 10:05
I'd have to say Geelong is the best country footy club.
Check out this line up:
B: Harley Scarlett Enright
HB: Milburn Egan Mackie
C: Wojcinski Bartel Ling
HF: S.Johnson Mooney Chapman
F: Stokes Ottens N.Ablett
R: Blake G.Ablett Corey
INT: Selwood Kelly Rooke Varcoe
Em: Hawkins D.Johnson King
I'm pretty sure that team could beat whatever Sale would come up with.;)
Budda 230
24 Jul 2007, 10:06
I'm pretty sure Matty Ferguson is a Heyfield boy. Sale shouldn't be able to claim him.
bigpapagman
24 Jul 2007, 10:51
I'm pretty sure Matty Ferguson is a Heyfield boy. Sale shouldn't be able to claim him.
thats what i thought.....didnt want to argue tho, this dude seems to know his ****
woodrow levi
24 Jul 2007, 11:51
Yes, Matty Ferguson grew up in Heyfield and played footy there til he was 16. Then he got on the power list and he was having a bit of problem at home, so he moved to Sale to live with Justin McLay (who was also on the power list). He spent his 2 years at power while also training with Sale on the power off "nights". When he originally got delisted last year (before getting redrafted) word was he was set to return to Sale to pull on the magpies geurnsey.
woodrow levi
24 Jul 2007, 11:56
I'd have to say Geelong is the best country footy club.
Check out this line up:
B: Harley Scarlett Enright
HB: Milburn Egan Mackie
C: Wojcinski Bartel Ling
HF: S.Johnson Mooney Chapman
F: Stokes Ottens N.Ablett
R: Blake G.Ablett Corey
INT: Selwood Kelly Rooke Varcoe
Em: Hawkins D.Johnson King
I'm pretty sure that team could beat whatever Sale would come up with.;)
You are quite correct that team would beat Sale's best team. However, You've got to use logic mate, I'm speaking about "Country" towns playing in the VCFL, not big city's hosting over 150 000 residents!!!
Budda 230
24 Jul 2007, 12:28
Yes, Matty Ferguson grew up in Heyfield and played footy there til he was 16. Then he got on the power list and he was having a bit of problem at home, so he moved to Sale to live with Justin McLay (who was also on the power list). He spent his 2 years at power while also training with Sale on the power off "nights". When he originally got delisted last year (before getting redrafted) word was he was set to return to Sale to pull on the magpies geurnsey.
Has he actually played a game for Sale? If not, Sale can't claim him.
I know Heyfield claim him as one of the big 5 with Wojcinski, Brown, Cox and Stevens.
Budda 230
24 Jul 2007, 12:30
You are quite correct that team would beat Sale's best team. However, You've got to use logic mate, I'm speaking about "Country" towns playing in the VCFL, not big city's hosting over 150 000 residents!!!
I thought the logic was that Geelong are an AFL team and has about $7 million to spend on guns?
woodrow levi
24 Jul 2007, 13:14
Has he actually played a game for Sale? If not, Sale can't claim him.
I know Heyfield claim him as one of the big 5 with Wojcinski, Brown, Cox and Stevens.
I'm 99% sure he played 2 thirds games, and 1 senior game at Sale during his time at Gippsland power..To your credit i would see him more as a heyfield boy as well, however, that absolute true fact is if he did'nt get drafted he would be playing at Sale with his mates e.g Chris Laverty, Justin McLay, Jon Taylor.. Therefore deserves to be in Sale's best 22 players!!
woodrow levi
24 Jul 2007, 13:17
I thought the logic was that Geelong are an AFL team and has about $7 million to spend on guns?
Sorry mate i didn't know your original comment about Geelong was a joke. I assumed you were being serious because a large number of the players on Geelong's list actually do originate from Geelong. So i assumed you were being serious..
Do you actually rate this Sale team at all? whats your thoughts?
bigbadmal
24 Jul 2007, 13:28
They have a huge chance of winning the flag this year but are overdue for one to say the least. A town of that population should have won more Latrobe Valley premierships than what they have. Traralgon and Maffra are the form sides in that league when premierships in the last 10 years are taken into account.
Budda 230
24 Jul 2007, 13:45
I'm 99% sure he played 2 thirds games, and 1 senior game at Sale during his time at Gippsland power..To your credit i would see him more as a heyfield boy as well, however, that absolute true fact is if he did'nt get drafted he would be playing at Sale with his mates e.g Chris Laverty, Justin McLay, Jon Taylor.. Therefore deserves to be in Sale's best 22 players!!
That's fair enough then. This sounds a bit like the Robbie Tarrant issue this year. Robbie Tarrant changed to Sandhurst (who also produced the Selwoods) so he could be clsoer to Bendigo training. His original club (name I can't remember) has kicked up a fuss because they want the credit and benefits of developing a drafted player.
Do you know if Ferguson went through this?
Budda 230
24 Jul 2007, 13:56
Sorry mate i didn't know your original comment about Geelong was a joke. I assumed you were being serious because a large number of the players on Geelong's list actually do originate from Geelong. So i assumed you were being serious..
Nah that's cool mate, I was just being a smart arse.
Well how can you not rate a team like that. For a club to develop so many established AFL footballers is a real credit. Could be a chance that a couple will go back next year too (eg Ferguson, MacLaren).
Pendlebury looks like becoming the real star from that group. Gram is also coming along more than nicely. Do you know how Craig Flint has been going this year? Surely would be close to senior selection at Carlton after last years rookie promotion?
Can anyone tell me if Ritchie McDonald is playing at Sale.
From Orbost and played there last year i think.
If so how is he going?
Does Mark Sellings still play for Sale? was a gun junior player.
youngsaint
24 Jul 2007, 18:37
i dont think mark sellings nor ritchie mcdonald are playin i havent heard of them while ive been at the club recently anyway...
Flinny broke his leg last year but as far as i know he is still goin in the VFL.. you would think with carlton in the position they r in now that he would get a game
Stafford678
24 Jul 2007, 21:49
Brenton Martin would be in the pocket for sale in that team, gun small forward with a deadly kick at goal
i dont think mark sellings nor ritchie mcdonald are playin i havent heard of them while ive been at the club recently anyway...
Flinny broke his leg last year but as far as i know he is still goin in the VFL.. you would think with carlton in the position they r in now that he would get a game
Mark Sellings played at Bairnsdale in the 05 premiership team and went to Lucknow in 06, but not sure where he is playing now.
Im certain McDonald played at Sale last year in the seniors. Was just wondering if he was still there and how he was going.
Any chance of a Sale team of the 90's and 00's-would be an interesting exercise.
woodrow levi
25 Jul 2007, 10:26
Brenton Martin would be in the pocket for sale in that team, gun small forward with a deadly kick at goal
I totally foegot about brenton martin whilst making this team.. He is a gun and also an ex power as well. Although he is good, i can't find a spot for him on the ground, but he could maybe replace J. Bristow or McLay on the bench... But truely deserves to at least be on the emergency list..
woodrow levi
25 Jul 2007, 10:33
That's fair enough then. This sounds a bit like the Robbie Tarrant issue this year. Robbie Tarrant changed to Sandhurst (who also produced the Selwoods) so he could be clsoer to Bendigo training. His original club (name I can't remember) has kicked up a fuss because they want the credit and benefits of developing a drafted player.
Do you know if Ferguson went through this?
These two situations are very similar! Although all through last year Robbie was playing for Xavier College rather than the Pioneers. So he was actually in Melbourne. This is his first proper year at sandhurst. I suppose both clubs have a right to claim him, but his original club should have clear bragging rights. (just like Heyfield do).. However, if all goes wrong for robbie thius year and he doesn't get drafted (highly unlikely), he will be playing at Sandhurst or at least in a few years time fall back to Sandhurst and play with his mates... rather than his old club.. So i guess Sandhurst do a have an argument to present if they want to include him in there best possible team.
woodrow levi
25 Jul 2007, 11:21
Mark Sellings played at Bairnsdale in the 05 premiership team and went to Lucknow in 06, but not sure where he is playing now.
Im certain McDonald played at Sale last year in the seniors. Was just wondering if he was still there and how he was going.
Ritchie McDonald was meant to be Sale's gun recruit last year, having big wraps coming from the east gippy league.. he came to sale and struggled to get into the ones and played the majority of the year in the 2s... It really shows the difference between a major league and the others...
McDonald went back to Orbost
20/4/2007 035208 MCDONALD, Richard West Gippsland Latrobe FL > Sale 2006 > Player Orbost Snowy Rovers Approved
Hoggwash
25 Jul 2007, 16:50
Ya cant really claim chris kelf as a sale person, i always thought he was a beacy player all his life until this season.
What about Rhys Carter, i hear he could play footy and ppl said he could have almost played AFL if he didnt stick at basketball.
Ritchie McDonald was meant to be Sale's gun recruit last year, having big wraps coming from the east gippy league.. he came to sale and struggled to get into the ones and played the majority of the year in the 2s... It really shows the difference between a major league and the others...
I wouldnt say he is a gun, not even in the east gippy league. He was a solid player. He was obviously pushing himself to play at the highest standard he could.
He is too small/light.
Major league?? For the area i suppose your right, but it doesnt compare to some of the other major victorian country leagues. Not like it used to anyway.
woodrow levi
26 Jul 2007, 11:15
Ya cant really claim chris kelf as a sale person, i always thought he was a beacy player all his life until this season.
What about Rhys Carter, i hear he could play footy and ppl said he could have almost played AFL if he didnt stick at basketball.
Read the thread properly. Kelf plays for Sale, therefore he is in there best side. I'm not claiming him and a "sale" boy, but he does play for Sale. Good point on Carter, he is a superstar, dominated junior footy til under 16s then gave it the flick. Then after realising basketball was too hard to make the big time, came to sale for a year and had recruiters at nearly every match..
Hoggwash
26 Jul 2007, 11:30
I thought your team was talking about local sale players thats all. Kelf is a gun player though, very handy pick up this year!
How tall is carter, i know he looks small on a basketball court but would he be 6'2?? Similar to Jason Gram, very athletic, what position did he play when at sale?
woodrow levi
26 Jul 2007, 11:37
I thought your team was talking about local sale players thats all. Kelf is a gun player though, very handy pick up this year!
How tall is carter, i know he looks small on a basketball court but would he be 6'2?? Similar to Jason Gram, very athletic, what position did he play when at sale?
Rhys is about 6' 3 very very athletic, played at centre half forward, ruck, wing.. He could play anywhere really.. Out jumped 6'7 ruckmen hands down. Very surprised He didn't get picked up in 05, saints were very interested, they'll be spewin now, exactly the type of player that the saints need. A utility who can hold down any job given to him
youngsaint
26 Jul 2007, 15:52
where is he playin basketball now? razorbacks still?
Buster the hawk
27 Jul 2007, 09:08
It sounds great on paper. Only problem is games aren't won on paper and how many flags have Sale won recently. I'm sure Maffra must be able to come up with a pretty good side on paper.Maffra would be able to no doubt ,the difference being that they are all still playing for Maffra i.e good but not quite good enough to go to the next level which goes a long way to explaining why they have won so many flags of late .A better comparison would be with Traralgon who like Sale have the "problem" of excellent juniors who all go on to bigger and better things rather than play locally.As well ,like Sale they have a couple of minor clubs feeding out of the area also.Name one Maffra player who is in the AFL ATM .Both Burgiels went down but never quite made the senior ranks for even one game (however watching them now ,you'd wonder why that was the case).There was Ben Robbins and that is about it unless you want to go back as far as when Geishen was playing.Not sour grapes just a statement of facts as a reaction to the constant gloating of Maffra fc around these parts.
Buster the hawk
27 Jul 2007, 09:28
They have a huge chance of winning the flag this year but are overdue for one to say the least. A town of that population should have won more Latrobe Valley premierships than what they have. Traralgon and Maffra are the form sides in that league when premierships in the last 10 years are taken into account.We have got a comparitively large population in this area but the problem we have had is that the majority of full time work for young local guys is offshore on week on week off basis which narrows the numbers able to play football down a bit.We also have the RAAF but a lot of those guys are ex- interstaters which could explain why we have a strong soccer club and touch football competition.Take out the regular numbers we don't see each year because of Power comitments and you have a reduced pool of players to pick from.Not being close to Melbourne doesn't allow expats to comfortably travel back each weekend to play either as would be the case with say Warragul or Garfield.
Hoggwash
27 Jul 2007, 09:43
Garfield is a town of about 500 ppl, they are hugely disadvantaged against teams like sale and traralgon no matter how close they are to melb. Great effort by Garfield to be up there this year with just local talent. Best club in victoria i reckon for the size of the town.
Buster the hawk
27 Jul 2007, 09:46
Garfield is a town of about 500 ppl, they are hugely disadvantaged against teams like sale and traralgon no matter how close they are to melb. Great effort by Garfield to be up there this year with just local talent. Best club in victoria i reckon for the size of the town.If that is the case that they are all locals then it is a huge effort i agree.
Hoggwash
27 Jul 2007, 10:59
Soumalis's, Marshs, Mckenna, Bow's, McFarlanes, all locals and all guns. Eastwell may be the only non Garfield players in there side i reckon. Imagine if they still had Withers, the Allen brothers and Danny Obrien in there side. All garfield boys that have had time at AFL clubs and played a lot of footy at garfield after that.
Thats a lot of bloody good footballers for a small country town.
Meanman
27 Jul 2007, 11:01
Buster the hawk, you are exactly right about the sale maffra traralgon situation. Traralfon and sale residents cope shit from maffra all the time about poor performances in the season. But maffra do not realise that the teqam the have had playing is there best team that they can possible put together (maybe robbins and pleming are missing). however sale has 7 AFL 3 SANFL, 3 VFL, 1 NTFL, and countless others who do work offshore. Traralgon has the likes of McQualter, Goddard, Murphy in the AFL system as well.. So the last laugh is on Mafrra at the end of the day becasue they have only been able to beat these teams becasue they are basically there seconds running around on the park.
Hoggwash
27 Jul 2007, 12:01
Terrible post meanman, dont think the last laugh is on maffra. I am sure sale would love to have as many flags as maffra has in the last 5 years. Dont think many ppl would be laughing at maffra becasue of there lack of AFL players.
woodrow levi
27 Jul 2007, 15:18
Terrible post meanman, dont think the last laugh is on maffra. I am sure sale would love to have as many flags as maffra has in the last 5 years. Dont think many ppl would be laughing at maffra becasue of there lack of AFL players.
i agree with meanman, for teams such as garfield traralgon and Sale and even wonthaggi to be competitive up against maffra over the last 5 years isn't saying much for maffra's development. Are they forcing kids to stay at the club and being selfish not worrying about their personal development? or is it just a case of small town syndrome and the kids don't want to leave?
I think some people severely underestimate the player turnover that has occured at Maffra. If someone was to list their 02, 03 or 04 premiership side against that of the team today, I'm pretty sure a few people would be surprised.
Just a few names that pop into my head: Lee Anderson (an absolute gun), Ben Coleman, Darren Cheeseman (?), Justin Staley, Sam Hunt, Scott Henning and I know there are plenty of others. Gary Jones left and came back, Adrian Burgiel missed at least the 1st flag.
Maffra's success isn't soley attributable to their ability to hold onto their own or any luck with nobody getting drafted, no doubt they shell out a bit of money which helps keep the likes of a Burgeil etc leaving for Canberra or the Goulburn Valley but their ability to blood/develop their own home grown as well as recruit from the surrounding minor leagues is second to none. A very well run club. And FWIW I am speaking from an opposition view point.
Hoggwash
27 Jul 2007, 15:59
Sale and Traralgon are far bigger towns than Maffra so they should be able to beat them. Maffra are one of the most successful clubs and best sides in the VCFL, great effort by them, i am sure they are the envy of many clubs. Wonthaggi and Leongtha had at least 10 blokes on huge cash when they made the GF's and still could not beat maffra. A bit of jealously i sense from these other clubs.
youngsaint
27 Jul 2007, 18:46
i agree with meanman, however all that really matters around here is who wins the premiership and in maffra's case they have dominated recently and are very proud about it to say the least... Maffra will be able to claim possibly 2 more afl players is a couple of years.. John butcher 6ft 5inch 16 year old played his 2nd game of power the other week but didnt play in u16 national champs due to back problems and brendan rathnow 16yo athlete who has scorarship to melbourne grammar im pretty sure and has played power also...
Here it is:
(carlton)
(north melbourne)
(st kilda) (collingwood)
(st kilda)
(adelaide)
(carlton) (st kilda)
Wicked team. Brendan Martin and Rhys Carter would be the only players i can think of that should make the cut. Fyfe is a bit unlucky not to be starting on the ground. Power captain and b&f and now a 4 time Sale B&F winner.
With Rhys Carter, back when Gram was at Brisbane (I cant remember the exact year, but around the start of their p-ships) Brisbane garenteed that they would draft him with there first round pick if he would swap from basketball to football. I was still surprised he didnt even get rookie listed after he came back to Sale to try and get drafted. He then went to werribee i think and worked his way up form the ressys to the firsts but didnt play well enough. There were issues going around because Sale had him on a large contract and wouldnt let him go and play more games for werribee for a chance to get drafted.
also dyl maclaren would have to be a chance to be back at sale next year. Hypothetically imagine there ruck combo, Kelf-Maclaren. Kelf who is already the best ruckman in the league and Maclaren who would surely knock him back to number 2. Sale also tryed to get Peter Mcpharlane back this season but it didnt go ahead. Now imagine if they had
Kelf - WGLFL best ruckman, 2nd in the followers media voting award
McPharlane - Gun ruckman, Sale B&F years ago (he must have only been 18 or 19)
McLaren - AFL listed ruckman.
Ha that would be lethal
woodrow levi
29 Jul 2007, 18:24
I think some people severely underestimate the player turnover that has occured at Maffra. If someone was to list their 02, 03 or 04 premiership side against that of the team today, I'm pretty sure a few people would be surprised.
Just a few names that pop into my head: Lee Anderson (an absolute gun), Ben Coleman, Darren Cheeseman (?), Justin Staley, Sam Hunt, Scott Henning and I know there are plenty of others. Gary Jones left and came back, Adrian Burgiel missed at least the 1st flag.
Maffra's success isn't soley attributable to their ability to hold onto their own or any luck with nobody getting drafted, no doubt they shell out a bit of money which helps keep the likes of a Burgeil etc leaving for Canberra or the Goulburn Valley but their ability to blood/develop their own home grown as well as recruit from the surrounding minor leagues is second to none. A very well run club. And FWIW I am speaking from an opposition view point.
You've got a point, but to put things clear, those players you have mentioned are nothing in comparsion to the sale players absent from Sale's team!!!
This Sale team that i have put together would have beaten Maffra in all there premiorship years from 2001-2006 quite convincingly and its as simple as that... Seriously think about it, look at the players on my list!!!
youngsaint
29 Jul 2007, 18:56
You've got a point, but to put things clear, those players you have mentioned are nothing in comparsion to the sale players absent from Sale's team!!!
This Sale team that i have put together would have beaten Maffra in all there premiorship years from 2001-2006 quite convincingly and its as simple as that... Seriously think about it, look at the players on my list!!!
Agreed
But thats all it is though, names on a list.
Names on a list could beat anyone. Its just an opinion.:cool:
Good discussion point though, and a good list.:thumbsu:
Buster the hawk
29 Jul 2007, 21:49
Sale and Traralgon are far bigger towns than Maffra so they should be able to beat them. Maffra are one of the most successful clubs and best sides in the VCFL, great effort by them, i am sure they are the envy of many clubs. Wonthaggi and Leongtha had at least 10 blokes on huge cash when they made the GF's and still could not beat maffra. A bit of jealously i sense from these other clubs.Maffra are a very well run club ,and as in many small towns ,the whole community is behind the football team.Successful teams like myrtleford and Yarrawonga in the Ovens and Murray show that larger populations count for nothing in country footy .Sale has a population of around 16000 people and if our entire community got behind the Magpies as Maffra's 4000 inhabitants do then we would be in a lot better shape.We have two footy clubs in the town as well as a soccer and baseball club and two hockey clubs active during winter.My point being the entire population doesn't follow football and of those that do ,the support and sponcership dollars are split between the two clubs.
Back to the thread topic ,it's a fact that Sale has lost a whole generation of champion footballers to higher leagues where as Maffra's corresponding generation of players has stuck around as well as having two once in a century type players in the Burgiel brothers.Good luck to them but football is fairly healthy in this neck of the woods too ,we just don't have the flags to show for it only the prestiege of producing high draft picks.
You're probably right. I just noticed that someone was implying Sale had lost all of their guns whereas Maffra had managed to hold onto them and this was the main difference in their success. It clearly isn't.
You're list is quite impressive, but if you're aunty had balls.........
Bourky23
31 Jul 2007, 11:59
what about the old school veterans in allan morrow and bill stephenson?? rex hunt rates bill stephenson as the best KPP he ever saw until he did his knee which ended his career after only a handful of games... and well allan morrow, speaks for itself really.. in St.Kilda's team of the century
Buster the hawk
31 Jul 2007, 19:17
what about the old school veterans in allan morrow and bill stephenson?? rex hunt rates bill stephenson as the best KPP he ever saw until he did his knee which ended his career after only a handful of games... and well allan morrow, speaks for itself really.. in St.Kilda's team of the centuryDuring that era you speak of in the mid to late sixties ,almost the entire CHF and FF lines at St Kilda were from Sale as well as the ff in Bill Young who was from Stratford.Bill Stephenson they say could 've been as good as Lockett had he not done his knee.
another player not in the side, nick fowler. Gun chf and played his 100th club game on the w.e. Crucial component of there current side and would get in ahead of a few players there. Probably find himself on the bench.
woodrow levi
10 Aug 2007, 20:12
Maffra are a very well run club ,and as in many small towns ,the whole community is behind the football team.Successful teams like myrtleford and Yarrawonga in the Ovens and Murray show that larger populations count for nothing in country footy .Sale has a population of around 16000 people and if our entire community got behind the Magpies as Maffra's 4000 inhabitants do then we would be in a lot better shape.We have two footy clubs in the town as well as a soccer and baseball club and two hockey clubs active during winter.My point being the entire population doesn't follow football and of those that do ,the support and sponcership dollars are split between the two clubs.
Back to the thread topic ,it's a fact that Sale has lost a whole generation of champion footballers to higher leagues where as Maffra's corresponding generation of players has stuck around as well as having two once in a century type players in the Burgiel brothers.Good luck to them but football is fairly healthy in this neck of the woods too ,we just don't have the flags to show for it only the prestiege of producing high draft picks.
On the note of Sale v Maffra, big game this weekend at sale. Battle of the birds!!! Hopefully weather prevails and we see a great game!!!!!!!!
bigpapagman
10 Aug 2007, 22:27
sale will cane it in.
woodrow levi
13 Aug 2007, 12:45
sale will cane it in.
Sale won by 30 odd points, at one stage in the second quarter sale were up by 48 points. But at half time were only up by 4 points. any one could still win the west gippy grand final..
bigpapagman
13 Aug 2007, 13:27
no, i think sale will.
maffra & garfield are oustide chances.
woodrow levi
13 Aug 2007, 14:14
no, i think sale will.
maffra & garfield are oustide chances.
Sale is the far better team, but for some reason they never seem to play to full ability against maffra, its always a dog fight.. Sale Was too strong in the ruck and dominated clearances on the weekend.
youngsaint
13 Aug 2007, 19:43
Sale is the far better team, but for some reason they never seem to play to full ability against maffra, its always a dog fight.. Sale Was too strong in the ruck and dominated clearances on the weekend.
i wouldnt say far better but they have a greater group of 'a' grade players... James Bristow (Gippsland Power) played in the ruck in the first half won almost every tap out, didnt go on in second half not sure why. Sale was missing Chris Kelf (no 1 ruckman in west gippy) so we were very happ to have 'chucka' playing
bigpapagman
14 Aug 2007, 08:02
agreed. much better group of top players.
Buster the hawk
16 Aug 2007, 23:16
Sale won by 30 odd points, at one stage in the second quarter sale were up by 48 points. But at half time were only up by 4 points. any one could still win the west gippy grand final..I think the final margin was 41points,has to be put into perspective though maffra only had 17 men for the last quarter due to horsford being sent off in the 3rd quarter for unduely rough play for the second time during the match .they didn't have Bramish either .Having said that Sale's big men definitely handled the slippery conditions a lot better than Maffra's and were able to hold the big marks in the wet where this time Maffra it seemed were the ones who cracked under pressure and were really sloppy with their disposal.All things being equal ,still looks like another Sale /Maffra GF unless Garfield can snag a home final .Before saturday i would've said Maffra would have to be favorites but i think now it will be very closely contested.The fact that most of the Maffra team have experienced 4 flags already this decade might actually go against them if they come out may be not as hungry to win as other years.
bigpapagman
17 Aug 2007, 08:08
can warragul hold a bar to sale this w/e?
The Storyteller
17 Aug 2007, 11:25
unfortunately i don't think the guls will get close to sale this weekend - despite their solid performance agains the stars last weekend. i reckon the gap between 1 and 4 is pretty wide at present and it would be a huge upset if sale lost this one.
maffra would be hoping for fine weather come finals time. for the most part, they looked sloppy and tired in the wet against sale last sunday - and we all remember the 2005 grand final.
bigpapagman
17 Aug 2007, 11:44
i think if it is a sale/maffra granny, anyone could win....... maffra are known winners....................
youngsaint
17 Aug 2007, 16:51
how's the warragul ground? if its as shit as pretty much always i wont be happy tomoz
bigpapagman
17 Aug 2007, 20:12
not bad around the ground, but the centre is ABSOLUTELY ROOTED. as per usual.
Budda 230
27 Aug 2007, 15:35
Pendlebury probably isn't going to win the rising star award. Selwood is too good. Unlucky Sale....
bigpapagman
27 Aug 2007, 15:36
well put.
Budda 230
27 Aug 2007, 15:37
Thank you.
bigpapagman
27 Aug 2007, 16:20
not a problem.
Budda 230
27 Aug 2007, 16:22
You are very polite.
bigpapagman
27 Aug 2007, 16:23
I've Heard That.
Budda 230
27 Aug 2007, 16:25
I've Heard That.
Who from?
bigpapagman
27 Aug 2007, 16:25
yourself. amongst many others.
Modra93
15 Sep 2007, 18:25
wheres daniel mclinden?
youngsaint
16 Sep 2007, 17:44
playing seniors for sale.. James Bristow should be playing in the grand final this weekend now that power are out
bigpapagman
17 Sep 2007, 08:17
are maffra a chance?
youngsaint
17 Sep 2007, 08:43
they are always a chance because they have the burgill's... But sale have played very well against them in their last two wins against maffra and my money will be on sale.
bigpapagman
17 Sep 2007, 08:53
yeah same here. sale should win but maffra cant be discounted.
Modra93
17 Sep 2007, 16:01
it will be a close match, anything could happen. im tipping sale by a few goals
bigpapagman
17 Sep 2007, 16:23
23 points.
much closer than our granny.
Modra93
17 Sep 2007, 16:32
yours?
do u play warragul thirds?
bigpapagman
17 Sep 2007, 16:45
used to.
won back to back flags actually.
then maffra etc. came into the comp, it was all over.
i play for the dusties now.
i was talking about the EDFL grand final.
vafa guru
19 Sep 2007, 10:00
There are three guys who i can think of of the top of my head that would walk into that Sale side you have named:
Tristan Lynch - 70 odd AFL games with Brisbane and Geelong
Was a former Rookie of the year for Latrobe Valley Footy and made the Team of the year - could play on ball, wing, half back, half foward or fullfoward
Craig Lazzaro - one of the best players never to play AFL to come out of sale - regular Latrobe Valley Rep Player - gun on baller
Daniel Surkitt - (Stuart Andersons 1st cousin) - absolute jet of a rover - selected for vic country Teal cup in the early 90's but got injured and didn't play - think he won a couple of b&f's at Sale as well.
These guys are all intheir early 30's now and would walk into that side you have named.
I could go back further -
Damian Hogan - would be in any best of Sale Team - superstar who had a short stint at Sydney
That will do for now.
bigpapagman
19 Sep 2007, 10:32
There are three guys who i can think of of the top of my head that would walk into that Sale side you have named:
Was a former Rookie of the year for Latrobe Valley Footy and made the Team of the year - could play on ball, wing, half back, half foward or fullfoward
Craig Lazzaro - one of the best players never to play AFL to come out of sale - regular Latrobe Valley Rep Player - gun on baller
Daniel Surkitt - (Stuart Andersons 1st cousin) - absolute jet of a rover - selected for vic country Teal cup in the early 90's but got injured and didn't play - think he won a couple of b&f's at Sale as well.
These guys are all intheir early 30's now and would walk into that side you have named.
Damian Hogan - would be in any best of Sale Team - superstar who had a short stint at Sydney
That will do for now.
is that the same damien hogan who hangs out in warragul now?
Budda 230
19 Sep 2007, 11:56
I used to love Lynchy when he was at Geelong!! I'm not sure why I liked him because he was a bit of a fringe player. Twig of a man. Was a better player at Brissy.
bigpapagman
19 Sep 2007, 12:18
T'was a horrible AFL footballer.
Budda 230
19 Sep 2007, 13:44
T'was a horrible AFL footballer.
T'wasn't a "horrible" footballer. Did well for his limited ability. Ray Hall = horrible footballer.
bigpapagman
19 Sep 2007, 14:09
Ray Hall is better than Henry Playfair.
Playfair.
Horrible Footballer.
That will do for now.
Are all these blokes still playing? In the city are they?
I remember Surkitt. Lead the come back in the 96 GF v Morwell. I think Sale were 8 or so goals down at half time and they drew back within a couple, he had a heap of it and may have kicked one or two, if memory serves.
youngsaint
19 Sep 2007, 17:29
Sale is most likely getting Craig Flint (Carlton) back next year.. Also dyl mclaren is rumoured to be coming back but wouldnt surprise me if he stays in the VFL
bigpapagman
20 Sep 2007, 08:16
that could be a very serious side next year.
Budda 230
20 Sep 2007, 08:48
Ray Hall is better than Henry Playfair.
Playfair.
Horrible Footballer.
Playfair is a much better footballer than Ray Hall and would easily be getting a game for Richmond. At least Playfair dominates the VFL.
Playfair = horrible Geelong footballer.
Playfair = useful Richmond footballer.
Budda 230
20 Sep 2007, 08:50
Sale is most likely getting Craig Flint (Carlton) back next year.. Also dyl mclaren is rumoured to be coming back but wouldnt surprise me if he stays in the VFL
I'm not sure why Carlton didn't give Flint a game this year. Makes no sense.
bigpapagman
20 Sep 2007, 09:02
probably because he's not good.
Budda 230
20 Sep 2007, 09:08
probably because he's not good.
Come on, its Carlton we are talking about here..... If he wasn't good enough, he definitely would have got a game!!
bigpapagman
20 Sep 2007, 09:10
maybe he was too good for their tanking structure.