View Full Version : Tim Notting
The Flying Belgian
24th July 2007, 21:40
Possum doesn't seem to have a thread of his own, so.....
The Flying Belgian
24th July 2007, 21:41
I'd reckon Timmy's having his best season yet. It's flown pretty much under the radar.
Lace Out
24th July 2007, 21:53
He looks like he is peaking.Hopefully he can play like this for 2-3 more years.
notting18
24th July 2007, 22:10
I'd reckon Timmy's having his best season yet. It's flown pretty much under the radar.
He had a great start to the year in 06 playing down back, but trailed off towards the end....but like with quite a few players a bit of time down back seems to have kicked started his game up the field. He has had two truely bad games IMO - Richmond and Geelong, but besides that has done his role very well!
Grimreepah
3rd August 2007, 17:41
http://i10.tinypic.com/5xxmkon.jpg
Although not featured among many votes this week the guy who utilises the corridor (and usually does it) best is Tim Notting. With his pace and penetrating kick, it is his style of footy.
I agree Snuka. He seems to have good acceleration off the mark, which allows him to play on quickly. He is also a fairly instinctive player. When he stops and thinks too long that's when he can make mistakes.
MacMum
3rd August 2007, 21:52
Timmy is "my boy".......we come from same neck of the woods in Vic...have thought he has been underrated for a while now...has always ran miles in a game and tries his heart out....
ReluctantLion
3rd August 2007, 22:13
Timmy is "my boy".......we come from same neck of the woods in Vic...have thought he has been underrated for a while now...has always ran miles in a game and tries his heart out....
You from Stawell??
notting18
4th August 2007, 10:29
I agree Snuka. He seems to have good acceleration off the mark, which allows him to play on quickly. He is also a fairly instinctive player. When he stops and thinks too long that's when he can make mistakes.
I think that also applies to his inaccuracy when closer to goal.
MacMum
4th August 2007, 13:53
You from Stawell??
St.Arnaud....Tim played for Navarre, which is near St.A...Quite a few Nottings in St.Arnaud area
ReluctantLion
4th August 2007, 17:56
St.Arnaud....Tim played for Navarre, which is near St.A...Quite a few Nottings in St.Arnaud area
Oh OK. Thought you might have known him from Stawell.
His old boy used to play for Navarre Reserves in bare feet when Tim was playing U/16's :eek: True story!!
MacMum
4th August 2007, 18:08
Oh OK. Thought you might have known him from Stawell.
His old boy used to play for Navarre Reserves in bare feet when Tim was playing U/16's :eek: True story!!
Last I heard, Tim has a young cousin (also a Notting) playing very well for Navarre......who knows, may follow the same path Tim did!......which by the way, another reason for my admiration for Tim is that he came from playing with Navarre, which is seriously a dot in the middle of nowhere, to make it up to the Lions!
Raav
4th August 2007, 20:14
I'm a big fan of Tim always runs his guts out. Stepped up big time this year.
jimjim
5th August 2007, 08:44
Ha Ha, very true, they dont call Brian "wild man" for nothing, also throws a very good left right combo.
In reference to Possom being drafted from Navarre, I think you will find an old grey haired fella playing full forward at Avoca at the time had everything to do with him getting 5 games in Richmond two's in 96. He played 2 ripper games, with the coach Rod O'Rielly moving to Brisbane the following year as the recruiting officer, obviously appreciating what he saw in these few games. So if you appreciate Tim being in Brisbane and you by chance run into Richmond legend Jim Jess, shout him a beer cause he discovered him. Lucky set of circumstances, but he was doing freakish things as a kid at Navarre in 96.
Grimreepah
5th August 2007, 15:56
Link (http://lions.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsId=48622)
Fine tuning helps Notting kick on
3:33 PM Sun 5 August, 2007
By Simon White
for lions.com.au
IT’S NEVER too late to teach an experienced Lion new tricks or, in the case of in-form midfielder Tim Notting, for a subtle, but important re-tooling of a kicking technique.
Notting has put boot to ball 229 times so far this season, more than any other Lion.
Always known as a long kick, he says mid-season work on his action has helped make him more consistent.
The 28-year-old was once again a strong contributor during Saturday night’s 37-point home win over the Kangaroos, gathering 25 disposals.
”The last four weeks or so, I’ve been kicking better and more consistently – my percentages are up,” Notting explained.
”Before that I had a patch where I was kicking a few floaters and mongrel punts. But I’ve been working hard on it at training, and that’s paying off.
”I wasn’t really having a go at my kicks and I was a bit being indecisive.
”Now that we’re moving it into our forwards a lot quicker, it’s probably easier because you’re not thinking so much about where you are going to kick it – you just get it and go.
“But I also drop the ball from really high and that’s something I looked at. I’ve changed my grip a bit in the last few weeks and it seems to be working.”
Notting has averaged 25 possessions per game during the Lions’ five-matching winning streak and he rates his current run of form as good, if not better, than any he has produced during his previous nine seasons at AFL level.
The athletic utility finished equal-seventh in the club champion award in the 2001 premiership year and has charted top-10 finishes in the past two years.
"I had a pretty consistent 2001 during the first flag but I think I’ve probably been more productive this year,” Notting said.
"I had a really good pre-season and got really fit. I’ve got a young boy now (son Baxter), so I probably look after myself a fair bit better and he keeps me pretty level.
"I’ve got a bit more game time and the structure we are playing helps me and Cheynee Stiller out on the wings.”
The Lions now find themselves in seventh spot and in the reckoning for a finals berth – something which seemed improbable only six weeks ago.
Like his coach, Leigh Matthews, Notting isn’t about to start talking September action just yet.
But he admits that, with fellow top-eight aspirants Hawthorn, Sydney, Adelaide and Geelong to come, the Lions will certainly help shape the make-up of this year’s finals.
"The last five weeks have just been fantastic – the side has really gelled, we are playing hard-at-it footy and you couldn’t ask any more of the boys,” he said.
"The results have showed that when we get the ball into our forwards, we can kick winning scores.
”From where we were five weeks ago, we’ve improved a lot. Even if we don’t end up making the finals, we’re going to have a lot of fun rearranging that seventh and eighth spot.”
http://img46.imageshack.us/img46/8501/nottingqi1.jpg
konstas_87
5th August 2007, 22:13
How good was Poss V the Roos?
i wish (like Roe a bit) he wouldnt do these blistering runs then hanball into trouble at the end, although maybe part of that is "modern footy". Sometimes the most dangerous thing is to just bang it in!
i think guys like Robbie and Possum are really enjoying being some of the senior players in the team now, both having close to their best ever seasons consistency wise.
ReluctantLion
6th August 2007, 20:34
Ha Ha, very true, they dont call Brian "wild man" for nothing, also throws a very good left right combo.
Very true. Not many blokes could play a game of footy in bare feet unless they could truly hold their own.
In reference to Possom being drafted from Navarre, I think you will find an old grey haired fella playing full forward at Avoca at the time had everything to do with him getting 5 games in Richmond two's in 96. He played 2 ripper games, with the coach Rod O'Rielly moving to Brisbane the following year as the recruiting officer, obviously appreciating what he saw in these few games. So if you appreciate Tim being in Brisbane and you by chance run into Richmond legend Jim Jess, shout him a beer cause he discovered him. Lucky set of circumstances, but he was doing freakish things as a kid at Navarre in 96.
Played against Jess in the Lexton League myself a couple of years earlier. For an old bloke he could still play kicking over a hundred goals for the year.
Didn't Tim play for the Ballarat Rebels? That's where I thought he really got noticed. When they did all the tests at the end of the year for potential draftees he stood out head and shoulders above all the rest from what I heard.
notliondown
6th August 2007, 20:54
How good was Poss V the Roos?
i wish (like Roe a bit) he wouldnt do these blistering runs then hanball into trouble at the end, although maybe part of that is "modern footy". Sometimes the most dangerous thing is to just bang it in!
i think guys like Robbie and Possum are really enjoying being some of the senior players in the team now, both having close to their best ever seasons consistency wise.
Yeah Konstas... he worked his guts out hey... He's just stepped up big time this season... he deserves the security of his position this year - hes earned it.
jimjim
7th August 2007, 08:32
Didn't Tim play for the Ballarat Rebels? That's where I thought he really got noticed. When they did all the tests at the end of the year for potential draftees he stood out head and shoulders above all the rest from what I heard.
Yeah he did play maybe 6 or 7 with the rebels but only had 1 really solid game when he played on future Essendon and Melbourne player Hefernan, who was a wonder kid at the time, and took the points easily. They wern't overly keen on him mainly cause they were pushing for O'Bree and Brent Tuckey to get drafted and Goodes was coming through, but that didn't stop them putting him in the team of the century after he won a couple of flags. He did excell at the draft camp and this was around the time everyone was turning to the athletes ahead of footballers that is common today.
Grimreepah
6th October 2007, 23:56
Link (http://www.lions.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=5085&newsId=52232)
Tim Notting had a personal best finish in the club champion award eclipsing his personal best finish of seventh from back in 2001.
2007 Merrett-Murray Medal Top Ten
Jonathan Brown - 68.0
Jed Adcock - 62.5
Tim Notting - 52.5
Luke Power - 51.0
Simon Black - 48.5
Nigel Lappin - 48.5
Cheynee Stiller - 45.5
Daniel Merrett - 44.0
Robert Copeland - 43.0
Joel Patfull - 42.0
http://img211.imageshack.us/img211/6474/nottingpa8.jpg
notting18
7th October 2007, 00:59
A top result for Possum, especially in a year where he could've easily been playing in the Navy Blue:D A Well deserved performance for his commitment to the club1
Lace Out
7th October 2007, 11:06
He seemed to play a bit tougher this year and still has that wonderful acceleration.Well deserved third placing IMO.
MacMum
7th October 2007, 14:53
As I put in another thread, considering all the off field hoo haa he had to put up with, Timmy has done himself and the club proud with his results this year...Well done Tim...
BBFFC
7th October 2007, 20:30
Very happy with the way Possum has gone about it on field.
I have a feeling he will be an important figure in our finals push next year.
Raav
8th October 2007, 13:16
was it this year or last year that he popped his shoulder in the nab cup
Grimreepah
8th October 2007, 13:27
was it this year or last year that he popped his shoulder in the nab cup
this year
Tim the Toolman
12th October 2007, 11:48
As I put in another thread, considering all the off field hoo haa he had to put up with, Timmy has done himself and the club proud with his results this year...Well done Tim...
According to RALPH he hasn't! :D
MacMum
12th October 2007, 16:22
Haven't read it......Whats Timmy done wrong?.....I shudder to think what they have written about him...
Grimreepah
2nd November 2007, 11:24
End of Season Player Review
The season was almost over before it began for Notting, suffering what looked to be a serious shoulder injury in the NAB Cup final. But it was not as bad as it first looked and he lined up for the round 1 clash against the Hawks, and indeed played all 22 games for the year.
It was a good thing for the Lions too, as he was as fit as he had ever been and had his best year by quite a margin, and ended up finishing 3rd in the B&F. Perhaps seen as somewhat of a front runner in the past, this year Notting led from the front when the chips were down. He finished the year as our second highest disposal getter (463) averaging 21 a game.
One of the things he worked on this year was not having such a high ball drop when kicking the ball, and although his disposal was still poor at times, it was a lot better overall. He was kicking goals again too – after kicking 2.14 last year he had a good contribution with 16.11 in 2007.
Possom ended up having a very consistent season and the Lions will be pleased he is still improving this late in his career. Having recently turned 29, he looks to have a few years left in him yet.
http://img340.imageshack.us/img340/1203/nottingkp6.jpg
Grimreepah
20th November 2007, 17:52
And the best Mo goes to.....
Tim Notting.
http://img401.imageshack.us/img401/7084/nottingiz9.jpg
blynd_freddie
20th November 2007, 19:19
What a great collection of photos.
Makes you wonder if their mothers currently love them just that little bit less...
Of course not... a great effort guys.
dmac_55
21st November 2007, 11:10
I actually like Charmo's myself...
Hardings looks the neatest imo... He could pass having that all year round.
TheBrownDog
21st November 2007, 12:08
Lambert looks like a low budget porn star.
MacMum
21st November 2007, 16:00
Timmy's looks hideious!! Hardings and Leighs the best.....Browny looks like Chopper Read with ears!! (and hair)...
Grimreepah
28th November 2007, 09:40
Link (http://www.lions.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=5085&newsId=53873)
Notting dishes up a surprising triple treat
9:25 AM Wed 28 November, 2007
By Simon White
WHO was the only Brisbane Lion to rank in the club’s top five for disposals, marks and goals in 2007?
The names that immediately spring to mind are the likes of Jonathan Brown, Jed Adcock, Simon Black, Nigel Lappin or Luke Power.
But none of these high profile Lions achieved the unique triple play, and you might be surprised when it's revealed the honour rests with Tim Notting. But then again, Notting has, for the most part, been sliding under the radar for more than a decade.
Quietly going about his business, he compiled perhaps the best two seasons of his 11-year career in 2006 and 2007.
Last season he ranked third among all Lions in disposals (463) and marks (133) and fourth for goals (16), while extending a club-high consecutive games streak to 61 matches.
"It’s probably only in the last three of four years that I’ve really worked out how to best prepare myself for a full season," Notting told lions.com.au.
"It’s a bit bizarre to think I’m turning 30 and that I’m now the second-oldest player at the club – I certainly don’t feel that old.
"But I do feel more confident about where I stand around the place and what my role is at the club.
"I’ve watched guys like Michael Voss and Alastair Lynch retire and you could probably name another 10 guys who have gone.
"All of a sudden they aren’t around to rely on and you realise you can’t just sit back; that you’ve got to go and get your own footy and play a more [of a] senior role."
Nowhere was Notting’s continued improvement more noticeable last year than in his goalkicking.
En-route to third in the Lions’ club champion award (a career-best), Notting booted 16.11 – a dramatic upgrade on 2.14 in 2006.
Always known as a long and raking kick, he credits better conditioning for his increased efficiency in front of the big sticks.
"I think a lot of it comes down to fitness – last year I was a lot fitter than I had been in previous years," Notting said.
"When you are taking shots from where most of mine are, out at 40m or 50m, if you don’t have that fitness, you tend to try and put a bit of extra into it.
"And when you are doing that, you can often spray the ball."
Notting, now in the midst of a 12th pre-season, watched with interest this week as the Lions’ new draftees arrived at the Gabba.
Time might seemingly have flown quickly since his own draft day in 1996, but he also appreciates the manner in which the AFL environment has changed between then and now.
"Back when I got to the club the dietary advice was basically eat as much as possible," he laughed.
"Now it’s about eating certain foods at certain times. Even fruit, which you always think is good for you, is better eaten at certain times.
"It’s a really good sign to see all the draftees come up to Brisbane early this week – it shows they are really keen to make inroads into the pre-season.
"And they probably should be excited too. They’ve finished school and they’re starting a new life at a club that is really capable of going somewhere."
http://img263.imageshack.us/img263/9040/nottingpk2.jpg
MacMum
28th November 2007, 17:02
Yay Timmy!!.......
Newton Blues
28th November 2007, 17:26
Im from stawell tlaked to him a few times dont no him that well my parents no him pretty well though.
TheBrownDog
14th February 2008, 02:41
Top 6 for Inside 50s 2007
G. Ablett GEEL - 130
C. Young HAW - 113
T. Notting BRIS - 107
J. Corey GEEL - 103
K. Simpson CARL - 102
S. Thompson ADEL - 102
danielcanberra
16th February 2008, 12:40
Penny drops for Notting
By Andrew Hamilton
February 16, 2008
ATHLETES often talk about "the moment". Brisbane Lions player Tim Notting's came on his couch, watching a television sports show featuring Australia's world ironman champion Chris McCormack.
The AFL footballer, who had never held a nine-to-five job, was struck by how grateful McCormack, who has tertiary qualifications in economics and who graduated from school in the top 10 per cent, was to be earning a living from sport.
You could say the penny dropped.
"It was a great interview because he was so happy to be paid to do something that he loved. He respected that privilege," Notting said.
"He was a qualified professional but he preferred sport and he got a buzz out of being ultra fit.
"It took me a long while to realise it: We get paid to do something that was a hobby."
If that interview sharpened Notting's approach, the arrival in October 2006 of son Baxter changed the one-time party boy's life.
The combination has seen "Possum" emerge from his 12th pre-season in career-best shape.
"I think I would be in the top five for overall fitness at our club now," he said.
"It took me a while to work out how to push your body and what you can get out of it.
"My lifestyle changed as well. I have a young boy now and all my spare time goes into spending time with him."
Notting has had no shortage of inspirations to draw from. Anyone drafted to the Lions between 1995 and 2003 needed only look around to see a whole galaxy of stars.
Michael Voss, Chris Scott and Alastair Lynch, and later Chris Johnson, Jason Akermanis, Justin Leppitsch, Nigel Lappin and Simon Black were among the luminaries.
Notting's critics say he is a good player in a good team, but his stats over the past two years don't back that up.
Notting's best football, statistically speaking, has come in the past two seasons, when only Black from the above list played the majority of games.
Last year, Notting's numbers were staggering.
"It was a little bit of age and maturity and a few retirements," Notting said.
"There was no one to rely on to get the footy so you had to learn to get it yourself.
"I think the talent has always been there but it has been hidden a bit by the way I went about it and you should improve every year. You get wiser and prepare yourself better and when you stop I guess it's time to retire."
It is a fair enough answer.
With Brisbane in a rebuilding stage, Notting at 29 is suddenly the second oldest player on the club's list.
But with a bit of probing he reveals his form reversal is more to do with rediscovering his passion for the game.
"I went through a stage where it was a chore I guess," he said.
"It wasn't as much fun, we had some great players ... and I spent three or four years being a bench player.
"I didn't handle that well, I didn't enjoy the uncertainty."
Notting's position in the side is now assured ... last year coach Leigh Matthews appeared to give him a roving assignment to go find the footy.
The extra freedom resulted in a lot of possessions - his season tally of 463 was the best of his career and propelled him into third place in the Merrett-Murray Medal.
The fact he finished ahead of Black, who was a runner-up in the Brownlow Medal, suggests the club valued his role.
Every player says team success beats individual awards, which can be hard to believe but rings true at Brisbane.
Players such as Daniel Bradshaw, Robert Copeland and Notting may never be considered superstars but are multiple premiership players and the chance for another tilt at glory is what drives them.
"We have got a good side coming through and you'd hate to miss out on playing in another grand final," Notting said.
"The chance to win another flag is a huge driving force."
There's no doubt that Notting's life has slowed down but media interest has increased thanks to his blossoming relationship with Australian Olympic golden girl Jodie Henry.
The footballer is reluctant to talk too much about his private life but admits to being full of admiration for his partner.
"It is a completely different sport and we are at different stages of training," he said.
"In terms of me socialising and stuff, we go out to dinner a lot more, I guess, instead of partying.
"They do certainly train pretty hard. We had a few early mornings in the pre-season but once the games start we get looked after pretty well ... swimming would be a lonely sport. We're lucky in footy."
http://network.news.com.au/images/h14_thecouriermail.gif (http://www.thecouriermail.news.com.au/?from=ni_story%22)
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,23223189-23211,00.html
acuguy
16th February 2008, 13:55
Crap article, i hate how the media might play up that by becoming a dad a footballer will have changed his ways. Possum got bad press last year, the price you pay for being an elite footballer ( I am sure the 275k plus income this year will smooth over a bit of bad press). This article is not even local paper standard, there is not one moment that turns anything around, i put it down to possum realising 3 years back that he was fast becoming one of the senior players and probably thought to himself " Shit if i don't pull my finger out, get as fit as possible and play well then i am going to get the arse" Notting is one of my favourite players and i rate him as extremely important to our success, but this article is FLUFF!
Grimreepah
27th February 2008, 08:13
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,23282117-10389,00.html)
Notting, who enjoyed his best season in 2007 to finish third in the club's best and fairest, said he had not set any individual goals this year. "We want to make it back to play finals footy and I just want to have a consistent season," he said.
"We've got Daniel Bradshaw back from a knee reconstruction and (ex-Demon) Travis Johnson who is a 200-game player . . . that's got to help."
Notting said the problems of partner Jodie Henry, who is in danger of missing next month's Olympic swim trials because of injury, had not impacted on his football focus.
Henry, a gold medallist at Athens, has been restricted in training because of pain caused by an imbalance in the muscle group around her pelvis.
"She goes about her thing and I go about mine," said Notting.
"She doesn't ask anything about footy, and I don't ask anything about swimming."
http://img252.imageshack.us/img252/3220/nottinggs3.jpg
Grimreepah
14th March 2008, 13:34
Link (http://afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=56326)
Nick Maxwell's key players
Author: Nick Maxwell
8:45 PM Thu 13 March, 2008
AS ALL footy fans look forward to the 2008 season, here are some players who, at times, haven’t been given the publicity they deserve and are crucial to your team's finals hopes in the coming season.
Brisbane - Tim Notting
Was forced into defensive key position roles at times during the year and did them very well. For Brisbane, having him on a wing is crucial as he carries the ball and has a very penetrating kick. When playing there he kicks running goals and breaks the lines.
http://img339.imageshack.us/img339/7262/notting12vk0.jpg
Grimreepah
20th March 2008, 23:23
Link
(http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=56622)
...the durable Tim Notting has been named to play his 62nd consecutive senior match.
http://img185.imageshack.us/img185/1219/notting6qq0.jpg
Saigan
20th March 2008, 23:26
A question. Was he at one stage on the Tiges "supplementary list" back in the 90`s?
xplo
21st March 2008, 09:00
A question. Was he at one stage on the Tiges "supplementary list" back in the 90`s?
From memory, there was some kind of link between Tim and the Tigers before he got to Brisbane. Can't remember the exact circmstances, but sup list sounds feasible.
Don't think he would have done well at Tigerland though. He was a good but fringe outside player in a very good side for a long time. Is much more complete as a player in the last few years, but don't think he would have survived early in a club that wasn't able to set him up with the pill and space in front of him.
Similarly, Jordy looked ordinary in the first half while Carlton were controlling the ball.
MacMum
21st March 2008, 15:57
I'm also not sure, but what I can say, is that the area where Tim played, was in Richmonds zone before it was changed.....we lived in same area and my son was "noted" when young, by the Tiges......unfortunately he got injured, and that went no further...my son, that is........Anyway, if the zones were still in when Tim was playing for Navarre, that could well have been the case....
The Flying Belgian
21st March 2008, 16:30
Pretty sure that's correct. Played a couple of games for the Tiger Twos if memory serves.
TheBrownDog
21st March 2008, 17:15
Pretty sure that's correct. Played a couple of games for the Tiger Twos if memory serves.
Correct, he was a top up player for the Richmond reserves in 1995.
Gabbatoir
3rd April 2008, 19:44
I think notting is due for a big game.
Just putting it out there...
notting18
3rd April 2008, 20:09
I think notting is due for a big game.
Just putting it out there...
Notting has had a poor start to the year even by his career standards, let alone the high standards he set last year. On the positive side of it, I agree with you Gabbatoir - I saw some very promising signs in the last quarter and a half to suggest this week could be a strong one for Notting.
brisbanelioness
3rd April 2008, 20:37
I agree. Notting usually has quite an impact on the game, sometimes with a long kick to goal. Be looking forward to that on Saturday night!:thumbsu:
Kochie 16
3rd April 2008, 21:09
Unlike last week where notting only really came into the game after half time, I expect him to have an immediate impact as he is less likely to be tagged by the swans mids (unlike Blacky & Power).
TheBrownDog
6th April 2008, 14:44
Just watched a replay of last night's game.
Dwayne Russell revealed the mystery behind Notting facing the other way in team photos.
MacMum
6th April 2008, 18:12
AND????...please do tell....I'm intrigued.......must have missed that bit..
TheBrownDog
6th April 2008, 18:17
AND????...please do tell....I'm intrigued.......must have missed that bit..
Bit sensitive about one of his ears that sticks out.
MacMum
6th April 2008, 18:28
And Dwayne Russell tells the world?.....everyone will be looking at poor Tim's ears now......thanks..
I love footy
6th April 2008, 20:14
timmy is having a pretty good year so far he was awesome last yr.
joshhem
6th April 2008, 20:21
I don't understand why they couldn't just mirror the photo
TheBrownDog
6th April 2008, 20:40
I don't understand why they couldn't just mirror the photo
Because our sponsor would become enofadoV.
Dylan12
25th May 2008, 23:32
In the past month, Possum is starting to recapture career best form like last year. He certainly makes a difference to our side when we can take advantage of his run and long kicking which he did to good effect today. As a link man between defence and forward he provides us with many options.
Lynchy commented that he and Brown were waxing a bit today - that pass in the 3rd Q when Poss was running in full flight was nothing but class.
TheBrownDog
25th May 2008, 23:36
Lynchy commented that he and Brown were waxing a bit today - that pass in the 3rd Q when Poss was running in full flight was nothing but class.
They have an understanding with each other that has developed over years of ducking each other's bouncers on Browny's driveway. :thumbsu:
Love how Notting's instinct is to always play on when possible.
Dylan12
25th May 2008, 23:48
They have an understanding with each other that has developed over years of ducking each other's bouncers on Browny's driveway. :thumbsu:
Love how Notting's instinct is to always play on when possible.
Agreed - those cricket matches have quite the reputation. Imagine being a first year rookie and you get taken over to Browny's joint for the first time, you are at the crease at the big man comes barrelling in off a long run up - you would be shitting yourself.
Poss looks real fit atm and covering plenting of ground, a perfect role model for the Schmidt's, Hawksley's, Austin's etc and if they can take a leaf out of his book will be decent footballers.
awesome_assassin
26th May 2008, 10:03
Best game from Poss all year. It was like watching the Timmy of old circa 2001. :thumbsu:
Dylan12
13th June 2008, 00:30
Can't believe that Possum's thread has such little activity.
As one of our elder-statesmen at the club, his form has been ultra consistent and along with Black, you can almost guarantee that he will do an above-average job most weeks. This is far cry from the premiership era where he was in and out of the side and when in, starting on the bench as a pinch hitter.
One thing that I have noticed over the past weeks is how much he wax's with his good mate Browny, inevitably knowing where to put the ball and putting it down his throat. It would be real interesting to see the stats on how often this occurs.
Since the beginning of 2004, I reckon Tim has played the most out of any Lion in that period. IIRC he hasn't missed a game this year or the two before that and maybe the two before that. It has probably been a good 4 years at least since he last missed and I don't think anyone would come close to his consistency, even Lukey Power, but I could be wrong.
I hope I haven't jinxed him, but awesome player and from reports an awsome bloke.
Tassie4ever
13th June 2008, 10:19
The things this bloke does well, he does well- linking, running, kicking long [generally, but not totally reliably] handball [ditto] and general all-round, full game effort. The skills he doesn't execute so well he has always performed poorly at- tackling, hard shepherds, putting the body on the line. To me the Notting wave is a stand out.
Which is IMO why, when the Lions were at their best, he was always on the fringes.
To me Notting has always been something of an enigma in a team coached by one of the hardest ever- he seems to get away with things others [see Travis Johnson] don't. And because of this he stands out in a team when everyone [else] is required to put in.
But maybe it's just me- after all, week after week he seems to be in the best players list.
notting18
13th June 2008, 11:23
The things this bloke does well, he does well- linking, running, kicking long [generally, but not totally reliably] handball [ditto] and general all-round, full game effort. The skills he doesn't execute so well he has always performed poorly at- tackling, hard shepherds, putting the body on the line. To me the Notting wave is a stand out.
Which is IMO why, when the Lions were at their best, he was always on the fringes.
To me Notting has always been something of an enigma in a team coached by one of the hardest ever- he seems to get away with things others [see Travis Johnson] don't. And because of this he stands out in a team when everyone [else] is required to put in.
But maybe it's just me- after all, week after week he seems to be in the best players list.
Notting is definitely an outside player, it is his role as you said, but I think you are being a little harsh on what he doesn't do. How often do you see Notting jump in as a 3rd man up to spoil the ball out of a marking contest? That is just one example of ways he puts his body on the line. IMO it is another case of reputation affecting perception.
Old Den
13th June 2008, 12:22
The best thing that the youngsters can learn from Tim's career is to be aware that Tim did have a battle to break into and be a regular in the Premiership sides
And as well to know that Tim has continued to improve right through his career - in other words,he has kept on working hard and giving his all
acuguy
14th June 2008, 07:17
I think Notting will play for another 4 seasons, he has a young body for the amount of games he has played. I wonder if there has been anyone that has had less ground time than Notting in there first 100 games of football. What poss does now is fantastic, i rate his gut running up there with Lappin, he has got running gears and really backs himself to take on the opposition. His defensive work is outstanding, intercepts, third man up in the spoiling contests and his ability to work to the contests to create turnovers is pretty inspiring stuff. He would not have looked out of place in Big V jersey and wouldn't be out of place in an All Australian team either.
MacMum
14th June 2008, 08:20
It has been a joy to watch him over the years......no superstar, but tries his heart out, week after week......can't ask for anymore than that from any player..
Grimreepah
18th June 2008, 20:24
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=61686)
Barring unforeseen circumstances, Notting will play his 74th straight game on the weekend – comfortably the Lions’ longest streak, ahead of Jed Adcock (41).
It is a mark of Notting’s growing consistency as a footballer that he has attracted relatively little fanfare in the past two months, despite posting career-best statistics.
From the round six win over Melbourne through to the round 11 triumph against Fremantle, Notting averaged almost 24 possessions per game.
Last year, in finishing third in the club’s fairest-and-best award, he averaged 21-per outing.
”Like a fair few of us, I’d probably like to forget about the weekend against the Bulldogs,” Notting said.
”But other than that I’ve been pretty happy with the way I’ve been going this year. In the last couple of months I’ve started to find a bit of the ball and my disposal efficiency has been pretty good.
”Getting up to 70-odd games in a row – I’m pretty proud of that. I’m lucky in that my body seems to keep pulling up okay and hopefully it can continue to do that.
”I definitely don’t feel my age at the moment.”
Notting, who turns 30 in October, has been the oldest Lion on field for much of this year, with Nigel Lappin laid low by an Achilles problem.
http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/9076/notting20mo4.jpg
konstas_87
26th July 2008, 22:21
well overdue for a spell in the 2s i think.
Notting should be one of our better players every week, he is one of the experienced ones.
I think it's time for him to get sent back to the 2s for a fortnight and re-earn his spot.
Grimreepah
26th July 2008, 22:24
He looks to be winding down. Will this be his last year?
konstas_87
26th July 2008, 22:26
isnt he 150 games, 27-28???
should be peaking about now..
Grimreepah
26th July 2008, 22:32
isnt he 150 games, 27-28???
should be peaking about now..
He's 29 and 9 months. He was in career best form last year but he has declined a lot since then, and when you are on the decline at his age the end is usually not too far away. He has always been fairly laconic but he just doesn't seem to have the hunger, like he just wants to do enough to keep his spot. And it's getting touch and go whether he's even doing that.
konstas_87
26th July 2008, 22:34
He's 29 and 9 months. He was in career best form last year but he has declined a lot since then, and when you are on the decline at his age the end is usually not too far away. He has always been fairly laconic but he just doesn't seem to have the hunger, like he just wants to do enough to keep his spot. And it's getting touch and go whether he's even doing that.
we are a team trying to go somewhere in 2-3 years.
if you and me can see this then its time for him to be dropped.
notting18
26th July 2008, 23:38
It should be...
acuguy
27th July 2008, 07:33
Dramatic form decline, i stand by my earlier posts about him being in All Australian form earlier this year. He looks lost.
Lehmo87
27th July 2008, 10:12
Dramatic form decline, i stand by my earlier posts about him being in All Australian form earlier this year. He looks lost.
yeah, 4 kicks in a game of footy is no where near enough.
However, I think we should play him until the end of the year. He at least deserves the opportunity to regain his form.
Tassie4ever
27th July 2008, 19:27
Loss of form is one thing, and having credit in the bank will usually carry forward during difficult times. In Notting's case, his bank account isn't so full, unfortunately. Given he seems not to be getting the ball so much lately, he at least should be throwing himself into the contest, doing the hard blocking, tackling, setting the example, etc- in Tim's case, I'm only kidding, as he never has, never will. Others have excused this as "not his role"- well, what is his role if he isn't getting a kick?
Neverthless, as I have often repeated in this forum, he must be doing what the coaches want as he very often appears, to my utter astonishment, among the best players. Buggered if I know, but from where I sit at the Gabba, he is a distinct non-contributor who even at his best All-Australian [this is meant as a joke surely] form he never, repeat never, did the hard yards. If anyone thinks we are an improving side with him in our best 22 they're kidding themselves.
mish33
28th July 2008, 09:26
Yeah I think it's about setting the standard. Last year when Nige was struggling early on, I don't think there was much negative comment around because you just couldn't doubt his commitment. Possum is teaching our young lions bad tricks IMO.
The wing is such a vital position in modern footy, if you're struggling to make any contribution then that puts a massive hole in your team.
TheBrownDog
28th July 2008, 13:05
Tim is suffering a bad patch at the moment, but I think some of the enduring criticism of him is unfair.
There are different types of hardness... Poss has never been your Jonathan Brown/Michael Voss head over the ball at all costs... but he is hard in other ways.
I made a point of watching him alot live last year (admittedly his best season), and his hardness comes in his ability to gut run until he spews and then run some more. I know this because he has a tendency to throw up right in front of where we sit at the Gabba (I'm still proud of my "nice disposal Poss" off-the-cuff quip last year.)
He was a barometer for the side last year... but I will agree that he is in a slump at present. Deserves the rest of the season to pull himself out of it.
Quigley
28th July 2008, 13:13
He has been given the season to date to come good and hasn't. He doesn't warrant a spot in the 22 at the moment and dropping would be a reminder to the team as a whole that you can't take your position for granted.
Before last season I was very much for moving him on because I thought he did not do the things we needed to win. Credit too him though he had a very good season last year. Unfortunately he has regressed back to his 2006 form or worse.
Tassie4ever
28th July 2008, 14:20
Tim is suffering a bad patch at the moment, but I think some of the enduring criticism of him is unfair.
There are different types of hardness... Poss has never been your Jonathan Brown/Michael Voss head over the ball at all costs... but he is hard in other ways.
I made a point of watching him alot live last year (admittedly his best season), and his hardness comes in his ability to gut run until he spews and then run some more. I know this because he has a tendency to throw up right in front of where we sit at the Gabba (I'm still proud of my "nice disposal Poss" off-the-cuff quip last year.)
He was a barometer for the side last year... but I will agree that he is in a slump at present. Deserves the rest of the season to pull himself out of it.
Well why not give him the rest of the season, and anyone else in a "form slump" as well- after all, we're going so well we can afford to carry the odd passenger or 6. I'm sure that this wouldn't be setting a good example to the kids in the team battling for a [non-guaranteed] place. And while we're at it, why not give him a slip for next season as well- since by definition we won't have tried a replacement in the meantime.
No footballer, apart from the very rare rolled-gold legend, is any more than 4 to 6 games from "used to be", and that's the way it is and that's the way it should be, in all fairness- there are plenty who were/are calling for Sherman/Selwood/[somewhat amazingly] Rischitelli etc's head when they aren't perceived to be performing, why any different here?
As for his running ability, well yeah, he may be good runner- so what, if he ain't getting the ball? He ain't as good a runner, incidentally, as Adam Goodes, although I agree not that many are. In one of those rare occasions when Notting was given a specific role he was apparently [I say apparenty deliberately] asked to tag Goodes last year at the Gabba- never got near enough to lay the big tackle for which he is [not] renowned. As I recall, Goodes picked up over 30 possessions in this game. Not exactly All-Australian form. We all have our enduring memories, but as far as I'm concerned, as a senior player he sets a poor example.
MacMum
28th July 2008, 17:53
Tim Notting was one of our premiership players.........good enough reason to leave him in for the rest of the season IMO..
Tassie4ever
29th July 2008, 09:58
Tim Notting was one of our premiership players.........good enough reason to leave him in for the rest of the season IMO..
Well this is what we might do if we were content to continue as a so so side- on the other hand, if we were to take the Duke of Wellington approach when he hanged a few so as to send a message to the others, we might do as Richmond did when it dropped Joel Bowden.
Wallace showed that there was no such thing as a walk-up spot for anyone- and gee, look what it did for Bowden. And the rest of the team for that matter.
POBT
29th July 2008, 10:16
Bowden is a good comparison. Both have put in quality performances over a number of years. Both, fairly or unfairly, seem to be the 1st target of criticism when things are going badly. However, Bowden is in close to career best form. Poss hasn't played this bad in years.
knaf
29th July 2008, 12:30
I have just checked Notting's stats for the year. I know stats dont tell the whole story but they make very interesting reading.
He started the seasons slowly but appeared to have a purple patch from rounds 6 to 11 which coincidently correspondence to the team's best form of the year. Did he capitilise on the teams good form to have good games; or was his good form part of the reason the team was playing so well?
Any way the stats helped clarify to me that perhaps he does need a week or two in the twos, but I was too hasty in posting on another thread that he should be considered for delisting at the end of the season. In top form he is a close to A grade player who gives us plenty of run and carry and should be kept on the list.
Lace Out
29th July 2008, 13:59
Probably need to play him for the remainder while finals are still are a chance IMO.A least he is fit and experienced with thepossibility of turning it around-as players do from week to week.
Tassie4ever
1st August 2008, 09:55
Wellington has sent his message to the others- no more walkup starts, from now on selection on merit.
While Clouston is a welcome inclusion, I hope Tippett gets his chance this year as well.
Grimreepah
1st August 2008, 11:14
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=64576)
Notting will miss for the first time in 78 games.
Grimreepah
10th August 2008, 11:08
Notting got a recall after playing OK for Suncoast, but was again fairly invisible. You need to work hard playing on the wing, but he just seems to be going through the motions.
Grimreepah
17th August 2008, 00:17
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,24193057-5016169,00.html)
Brisbane went into battle minus dual premiership player Tim Notting, who may have played his last game for the season. The soon to be 30-year-old was named as an emergency but withdrew late on Friday with a hamstring problem.