View Full Version : The Gaming thread

relapse
27th July 2007, 11:05
I'm in a good mood now, mainly because I got my birthday presents today (turned 19 :D). I got FOUR different Crows shirts (each of them look AWESOME) and two Sherrin footballs - one for kicking and one that my dad is leaving with the club next week for all the boys to sign. :D

Plus I got an Xbox 360 hard drive, some cash and other thingamajigs. X)

ANYWAY, since I'm in this good mood....in fairness to Craig the simple fact is nearly all of our young guys have had injury problems throughout the year and have not been able to string some weeks together in the SANFL. I mean....Sellar, Gill, Campbell, Meesen, Maric, Vince, Pfeiffer, MacKay etc etc, they have all been injured....and then Maric came back, got into some good form in the SANFL and bam, he gets a gig. Now Gill has played a number of weeks and has been on the emergency list several times and now gets his debut. Campbell has put some good weeks together and is in line for selection. Maybe it's just the alcohol/happiness with my presents talking....but maybe Craigy is willing to give our untried guys a go when they're -fit- and -playing good footy in the SANFL-.

If Pfeiffer and Meesen play good games again they'll be right in the mix for the Showdown I think (they're both a little behind Campbell and Gill in terms of how much footy they've played since returning from injury/illness aren't they?) Anyway I'll probably read all this tomorrow and think "wtf" but meh...

OMG you bought a Core 360, I didnt think anyone bought those, I thought everyone just bought the premium.

Just be mindful of the Red Ring of Death :mad:

jmorg1
27th July 2007, 11:25
OMG you bought a Core 360, I didnt think anyone bought those, I thought everyone just bought the premium.

Just be mindful of the Red Ring of Death :mad:

Aren't you a little old to be still playing with XBOX's? ;)

relapse
27th July 2007, 11:32
Aren't you a little old to be still playing with XBOX's? ;)

Nah never too old for that, been pretty much a hardcore gamer most of my life and not about to let that change.

I dont get as much time as I used to, but often I find when I have some spare moments I devote them to gaming and have a PSP which I play on the bus on the way to work every day.

CarnCrows
27th July 2007, 11:36
Nah never too old for that, been pretty much a hardcore gamer most of my life and not about to let that change.

Amen to that!

Capitalist
27th July 2007, 11:49

I dont get as much time as I used to, but often I find when I have some spare moments I devote them to gaming and have a PSP which I play on the bus on the way to work every day.

i agree - never too old

i still love my games - but work and social commitments kind of take away my time to play them, so internet games such as battrick and tribes of war have taken over

ICanDressMyself
27th July 2007, 12:18
GP2X? Core 360?

Anyone else lost?

Sometimes I wonder how you guys have time to play those things. I have a PS2 which I hardly ever use purely because work, tv, crows and pub take up most of my life.

relapse
27th July 2007, 12:32
I'm a bit old skool these days. I bought a GP2X and tend to play a whole bunch of older stuff on the run.

My friend bought a gp2x and is nowhere near as tech savy as I am so it has basically sat in its box. Which is a shame because as far as emus and stuff goes it would be great for that.

I have tried to explain to him that its pretty easy to just download the correct emulators for the system and the roms, but it seems to go over his head.

As for getting the 360 with a game, I havent bought a game for it yet :p

Malibu#27
27th July 2007, 12:35
GP2X? Core 360?

Anyone else lost?

Sometimes I wonder how you guys have time to play those things. I have a PS2 which I hardly ever use purely because work, tv, crows and pub take up most of my life.

I agree - I also feel sorry for you - your priorities are back to front.

relapse
27th July 2007, 12:36
GP2X? Core 360?

Anyone else lost?

I guess it is difficult at times and my fiance doesnt always enjoy the idea of me doing anti-social things like gaming, internet etc.

My step son is getting into gaming now which is good and gives me more excuses and time to get some gaming time in.

I actually play my PSP heaps on the bus to and from work so at least I get some gaming time in each day.

ICanDressMyself
27th July 2007, 12:36
I feel sorry for you.

Soz!!!1 I'll try and keep up next time.

ICanDressMyself
27th July 2007, 12:39
I guess it is difficult at times and my fiance doesnt always enjoy the idea of me doing anti-social things like gaming, internet etc.

My step son is getting into gaming now which is good and gives me more excuses and time to get some gaming time in.

I actually play my PSP heaps on the bus to and from work so at least I get some gaming time in each day.

That's the portable one right?

Yeah I suppose seeing as the net also takes up a bit of my time, I try and get out most nights to the pub with mates or out to dinner somewhere. Either that or go for a run. Just hate spending all day couped up inside then come home and do exactly the same thing.

Redlegs14
27th July 2007, 12:52
That's the portable one right?

Yeah I suppose seeing as the net also takes up a bit of my time, I try and get out most nights to the pub with mates or out to dinner somewhere. Either that or go for a run. Just hate spending all day couped up inside then come home and do exactly the same thing.You should take up golf ICDM.

It's far mor exhilirating than running.

CarnCrows
27th July 2007, 12:58
You should take up golf ICDM.

I think you meant "It's far more bloody frustrating than running"

Redlegs14
27th July 2007, 13:02
I think you meant "It's far more bloody frustrating than running"Yeah, that too :)

But there is no better feeling than a sweetly struck shot right out of the middle of the blade.

But that's just my opinion.

ICanDressMyself
27th July 2007, 13:08
..................so anyway IMO running > golf.

Vic Crow
27th July 2007, 13:13
You should take up golf ICDM.

I play golf on the Wii. All the frustration of golf with less energy expended.

(Maybe we should have a gaming thread on Bay 114...I'm a geek too)

Redlegs14
27th July 2007, 13:22
I play golf on the Wii. All the frustration of golf with less energy expended.

(Maybe we should have a gaming thread on Bay 114...I'm a geek too)You could always hire a buggy, which is a good option for the lazy, unfit golfer.

Campbell's Chunky
27th July 2007, 13:25
James Sellar Footy 2011.

Pre order it now.

Capitalist
27th July 2007, 13:33
In CIV fans on here

I was a mad fan of Civ 1, Civ 2 was alright Civ 3, was good and really enjoyed Civ 4

CarnCrows
27th July 2007, 14:39
In CIV fans on here

I was a mad fan of Civ 1, Civ 2 was alright Civ 3, was good and really enjoyed Civ 4
Civ rocked, esp 2 & 3, havent played 4.

For those on 360's whats your Live tag - Im "Killer Crows"

Mr_Smooth
27th July 2007, 16:01
battlefield 2 >>>>>> everything else (except pubbing and rooting, and maybe kfc hot & spicy.. ;))

relapse
27th July 2007, 16:58
Gun!! :D :thumbsu:

Hm....*looks through gaming collection*

I have:

PSX
PS2
Xbox 360
Gamecube
Wii
GBA
DS
Dreamcast
Lynx
GP2X
Saturn
Mega Drive
Gaming PC (which covers all the old skool bases along with the GP2X)

How about you peeps?

Impressive

my collection

Atari 2600
Celecovision
Sega Master System
NES
Megadrive (+mega cd +32x)
SNES (have a us SNES and a PAL one)
Game Gear
LYNX
Sega Saturn
Playstation 1
N64
XBox
PS2
Gamecube
XBox 360
GBA
PSP

I did have an intellivision I picked up at Trash and treasure, but I gave it to a friend and will eventually sell the games through Ebay. I am also gunna sell off my GBA cos it never gets played anymore.

I am undecided at this point about the PS3, May get it down the track (if it can be hacked) when it is cheaper and will pick up a WII closer to christmas.

relapse
27th July 2007, 16:59
Civ rocked, esp 2 & 3, havent played 4.

For those on 360's whats your Live tag - Im "Killer Crows"

I am not on live yet, I have to update my firmware first otherwise I will get locky lockied from Microsoft.

relapse
27th July 2007, 17:37
I'm actually looking at a couple of the more obscure systems atm - Wonderswan, Neo Geo, 3DO although like my Lynx I'd probably never play them given I can just fire up the same games on my PC.

A friend of mine has a neo geo, they are still releasing KOF carts for it, he paid some rediculous amount for a japanese KOF 2004 cart. Crazy.

I once bid on a 3d0 console on ebay and for about three days I was the top bidder and i thought I was going to win it, thankfully someone else sniper bidded me a the end of the auction cos it was one of impulsive things that I later regretted bidding on and iwas stressing that I was going to win the auction.

RooDog
27th July 2007, 19:17
clearly me just having a good ol ps2 doesnt cut it anymore

relapse
27th July 2007, 19:25
clearly me just having a good ol ps2 doesnt cut it anymore

Nah you would be surprised how well the PS2 is still selling in the US. Its is still selling more a month than the XBox 360. Even though Sony will focus on the PS3 there are still tons of 3rd party stuff coming out.

The PS2 is the biggest selling console EVER I think the support for this system will last a very long time.

Have you picked up AFL 2007 yet ???

relapse
27th July 2007, 22:24
I have. All-round improved game. I've been editing player names which is rather amusing - I changed Gill to "Get on the Gill Train" and Bock to Bock Choy etc etc. Hilarious to see "Gill Train" chasing Giansiracusa through the midfield.

Ah okay excellent, I have only given 2006 limited time, but I will eventually get a "copy" of this game. There are a still alot of issue in the game engine, but its okay. I still think 2004 premiership edition was the better game engine and should of just spent time refining that instead. It is near impossible to take a speccy mark etc in 2006.

Dandy_GO
27th July 2007, 22:26
battlefield 2 >>>>>> everything else (except pubbing and rooting, and maybe kfc hot & spicy.. ;))

yah pretty much :thumbsu:

RoosterLad
31st July 2007, 21:15
2007 is a huge improve on 2006 i reckon, i actually bought this game, first one i've bought for a while ;)

I still have just a ps2, i might get a ps3 one day...

Dandy_GO
31st July 2007, 21:36
2007 is a huge improve on 2006 i reckon, i actually bought this game, first one i've bought for a while ;)

I still have just a ps2, i might get a ps3 one day...

You might wanna wait until they release a single good game for it first.

RoosterLad
31st July 2007, 22:20
That is exactly why I haven't considered getting one yet. A mate of mine has one and does have some alright games from what I've played but I ain't shelling out a grand for an awesome console with **** all games.

RoosterLad
1st August 2007, 19:34
Yep it's a great system and their controller is very responsive, I used it on a plane game (which i normally hate) and it did everything I wanted so I ****en loved it. They really should have waited to bring out some big games (PES!) for the release, would have been so much better.

jenny61_99
2nd August 2007, 21:02
Not up with the PS2/ or 3 or xBoxes but bought my son a Wii and it's awesome. He hardly get's a look in! :o Love all the sports - particularly love the training when it tells me I am 23 years old! :p Was given World Series Poker which I really like playing, and Pirates of the Caribbean which is absolutely exhausting to play! Graphics are probably not as good as the more expensive units but I really enjoy the interactive nature of it.

relapse
9th August 2007, 01:23
You might wanna wait until they release a single good game for it first.

I gotta agree, Resistance is okay, but when you see what is out and coming out soon on the 360 it has a far better game library. The only thing that looks remotely worthwhile so far on the PS3 is Metal Gear 4

relapse
9th August 2007, 01:30
Yep it's a great system and their controller is very responsive, I used it on a plane game (which i normally hate) and it did everything I wanted so I ****en loved it. They really should have waited to bring out some big games (PES!) for the release, would have been so much better.

When I read that I think back to Sony disasterous E3 2006 when they tried to show off the sixaxis with Warhawk and the plane wasnt responding properly.

Fifa 2008 will be the soccer game to get this year because while it hasnt been confirmed its about 99.9% certain from various sources that EA have done a deal with the A League and the Australian A League will be one the new leagues in Fifa 2008. The other new leagues to be included are the Irish league and I think the Chzec league.

fightingdreamer88
9th August 2007, 12:37
Panzer Dragoon Orta. Gunnage. :thumbsu: