View Full Version : Triple MMM's top 500 - What will be number one
Not sure if they are playing the top 500 down in Melbourne, or wherever triple mmm broadcasts, but they are up in Sydney.
What do you think will be number 1????
In 2000 it was Pink Floyd - Another Brick In the Wall, last year i didn't get to hear it cause i was away :mad: but i got told it was Enter Sandman by Metallica, but i dont believe that till i see (hear :confused: ) it as much as i love the band.
This year, i reckon Stairway to Heaven will get the number one guernsey.
Originally posted by hourn
This year, i reckon Stairway to Heaven will get the number one guernsey.
As it should every year but it should be the re-recorded versions such as JPY's, Rolf Harris's or Leonard Teale's.
no way, Led Zeppelin's is the one and only.
Savatage
7 May 2002, 09:47
no way, Led Zeppelin's is the one and only.
Correct, and has the clearest subliminal messages also.
ozcoltsfan
7 May 2002, 10:50
it was enter sandman last time !!! they should make it another metallica song this time
how bout nothing else matters !
Originally posted by roofus
As it should every year but it should be the re-recorded versions such as JPY's, Rolf Harris's or Leonard Teale's.
Is this a piss-take? :confused:
I thought it was a p1ss-take too. :)
Depends on what they're flogging ad nauseum, so they can justify their repetition to the masses, saying "this is number one, it's obviously what the people want."
Problem is, fans of the bands they flog are the only listeners still interested in their over-hyped station, so who else would they vote for.? :rolleyes:
A few years ago, when they were flogging Barnesy and Chisel, Khe Sanh topped the poll.
Last year when they tried to murder us with Powderfinger, My Happiness won.
Look for a nu metal song to top it this time, probably Creed's With Arms Wide Open or Anal Ant Farm's Smooth Criminal, or maybe that shyteful Nickelback song.
Originally posted by hilly
Is this a piss-take? :confused:
If you haven't worked it out by now, you never will! Maybe if you heard the album from Andrew Denton's show you'll understand :p
The_Flying_Egg
8 May 2002, 10:07
Originally posted by Darky
Depends on what they're flogging ad nauseum, so they can justify their repetition to the masses, saying "this is number one, it's obviously what the people want."
Problem is, fans of the bands they flog are the only listeners still interested in their over-hyped station, so who else would they vote for.? :rolleyes:
A few years ago, when they were flogging Barnesy and Chisel, Khe Sanh topped the poll.
Last year when they tried to murder us with Powderfinger, My Happiness won.
Look for a nu metal song to top it this time, probably Creed's With Arms Wide Open or Anal Ant Farm's Smooth Criminal, or maybe that shyteful Nickelback song.
Creed are nu-metal :confused: :confused:
The Hitman
8 May 2002, 13:39
Originally posted by The_Flying_Egg
No. Just sh*t.
The Hitman
Just another Eddie Vedder clone (with a bit more guitar), so yeah I'd lump them in with all the other derivative chart dirge.
They're not exactly Iron Maiden, are they. :p
The_Flying_Egg
8 May 2002, 20:23
Just another Eddie Vedder clone (with a bit more guitar), so yeah I'd lump them in with all the other derivative chart dirge.
They're not exactly Iron Maiden, are they. :p
You can't have it both ways. How can they be a clone of Pearl Jam and be new metal???
Make up your mind
You can't have it both ways. How can they be a clone of Pearl Jam and be new metal???
Make up your mind
Nu metal ISN'T metal, a complete misnomer.
Creed (most of all), Staind, etc etc owe a lot to Eddie Vedder for their sound. It all sounds derivative of grunge, with only slight differences, but I think there's enough common ground to lump all that rubbish together.
If you are all-knowing as to what clearly defines nu-metal, and which bands are & aren't, how about telling us then?
I reckon they're a chance of chucking an Aussie song up there.
I've cheated and looked at the Triple M Sydney site which lists songs 500 through 21. The top 20 are a mystery but I can safely eliminate the following:
Living End: Prisoner of Society/Roll On/Second Solution/Pictures in the Mirror
Powder Finger: Waiting for the Sun/These Days/DAF/The Day You Come/My Kinda Scene/Passenger/Already Gone/Pick You Up/The Metre/Like A Dog
Hunters & Collecters: Do You See What I See/Holy Grail/Throw Your Arms Around Me/When the River Runs Dry
Cold Chisel: Saturday Night/Choir/Cheap Wine/Flame Trees/Forever Now
Silverchair: Tomorrow/Anthem for the Year 2000/Abuse Me/Ana's Song/The Greatest View/Cemetry
Killing Heidi: Weir/Live Without It/Mascara
Screaming Jets: Better/Helping Hand/Eve of Destruction
Hmmm.. Khe Sahn is a given to appear in the top 20 along with You Shook Me All Night Long & Stairway to Heaven.
So I'm down to the following shortlist for my number one...My Happiness, All Torn Down, Freak, You Don't Make Me Feel or Shivers...
Originally posted by 35eye
Hmmm.. Khe Sahn is a given to appear in the top 20 along with You Shook Me All Night Long & Stairway to Heaven.
along with Bohemain Rhapsody and Hotel California.
I also had a look at that page and was greatly dissapointed with what i saw. Seriously, how can No Secrets by the Angels be at number 423 after being number 16 or 17 in 2000 :mad: :mad:
also,
Jimmy Barnes - Working Class Man at 281 :mad:
ZZ Top - Legs at 203 :mad:
Kiss - I was made for loving you at 200 :mad:
AC/DC - High Voltage at 391 :mad:
Paul Kelly - To Her Door at 440 :mad:
All of those should be top 100 at worst, and probably top 50 for all of the above mentioned.
and there are number of other that ones would assume would be in the top 20 or 30, that went way down around the 70-150 mark. From the top 10 in 2000 (which i think was the best top 1000 (as opposed to 500 now)) only 4 managed to get a spot in the top 20 this year, and only 5 got in the top 40 this year.
Also, when you see the songs at number 24 and 26 (i wont say which ones because people might not want to know, but those who do go here ------> http://www.mrock.com.au/legal/top500.pdf) it really makes the blood boil.
So I'm down to the following shortlist for my number one...My Happiness, All Torn Down, Freak, You Don't Make Me Feel or Shivers...
Im hoping it will be out of Stairway, Khe Sahn, Bohemain or Shook Me but i also reckon Creedence - Heard it through the Grapevine could be a bolter or Sweet Child O' Mine which wouldn't dissapoint me either. As much as i like Metallica, i really hope Enter Sandman doesn't get it again. There are plenty of other songs better, and about 40 better Metallica songs.
......and there are number of other that ones would assume would be in the top 20 or 30, that went way down around the 70-150 mark. From the top 10 in 2000 (which i think was the best top 1000 (as opposed to 500 now)) only 4 managed to get a spot in the top 20 this year, and only 5 got in the top 40 this year.
I reckon they're under pressure to keep the 90's and new stuff format high up. That's assuming Triple M Sydney are following the same tag as the Melbourne counterpart.
I think the difference between Melbourne & Sydney is funny though. The Radiators would never score a mention down here.
:D
I reckon they're under pressure to keep the 90's and new stuff format high up. That's assuming Triple M Sydney are following the same tag as the Melbourne counterpart.
:D
Yea they are, the only problem is that post '95 there is pretty much nothing worth listening to. Even 90-95 was pretty thin, even though the occasional screamer got done (Lightning Crashes, Novemeber Rain, Smells Like Teen Spiriti etc,.) but they are few and far between.
There are some allright bands out now, but none that will be remembered any more than 5 years after theyre gone. Also, something that really has made me angry is that a lot of the songs they play most people wouldn't even consider rock. Nine Inch Nails - Closer <---- great song for its genre and i like it, but it isn't rock. WTF :eek: :eek:
Savatage
9 May 2002, 14:12
Triple M isn't worth pissing on these days!
The day they refused my request to play a Boston song was the day I switched off in disgust.
Also, something that really has made me angry is that a lot of the songs they play most people wouldn't even consider rock. Nine Inch Nails - Closer <---- great song for its genre and i like it, but it isn't rock. WTF :eek: :eek:
Yeah I heard Pink played tonight. 'Don't Lemmie Get Me' or whatever its called. Pink ain't Rock. These loose definitions of rock have annoyed me about Triple M for a while. I don't think anything that isn't predominantly guitar based belongs under the category.
Eg - Garbage's Cherry Lips, Alanis Morisette's Hands Clean, Killing Heidi's Masara, The Verve's Bittersweet Symphony, Fatboy Slim's Praise You etc..
Well Enter Sandman got number one for the second year in a row.
Was hoping for Stairway or Khe Sahn, or a classic like that.
O well, not to be, bit dissapointed with this years countdown.
2000 is still the best ever.
But the number one big dissapointment for this year beyond anything - Hotel California didn't even get a mention. I'm really hoping i just can't find it on the page, because i seriously can't see how this song doesn't rate a mention. It should be top 30 everytime no questions asked.
But if i'm right, and it is not on the top 500, then hang your heads in shame triple m listeners :(:(:(
20 - EVEN FLOW - PEARL JAM
19 - DOWN UNDER - MEN AT WORK
18 - YOU SHOOK ME ALL NIGHT LONG - AC/DC
17 - BLACK HOLE SUN - SOUNDGARDEN
16 - SWEET CHILD O'MINE - GUNS 'N' ROSES
15 - MY HAPPINESS - POWDERFINGER
14 - EPIC - FAITH NO MORE
13 - U.S. FORCES - MIDNIGHT OIL
12 - TIME OF YOUR LIFE - GREEN DAY
11 - SUNDAY BLOODY SUNDAY(LIVE) - U2
10 - ALL TORN DOWN - THE LIVING END
09 - BOHEMIAN RHAPSODY - QUEEN
08 - SMELLS LIKE TEEN SPIRIT - NIRVANA
07 - STAIRWAY TO HEAVEN - LED ZEPPELIN
06 - COME OUT AND PLAY - THE OFFSPRING
05 - UNDER THE BRIDGE - RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS
04 - THUNDERSTRUCK - AC/DC
03 - KHE SANH - COLD CHISEL
02 - ALIVE - PEARL JAM
01 ENTER SANDMAN - METALLICA
Hmmmph!
The_Flying_Egg
11 May 2002, 00:57
That is a fine list.
Enter Sandman is brilliant and Alive is the second best song of all time.
Khe Sahn has to be there and Under the Bridge is brilliant
And Im glad Pearl Jam got 2 songs in there
Reckon this list from 2000 absolutely ****s over this years.
1 Another Brick In The Wall Part 2 Pink Floyd
2 Khe Sahn Cold Chisel
3 Stairway to Heaven Led Zeppelin
4 Better Man Pearl Jam
5 Rock and Roll Led Zeppelin
6 November Rain Guns ‘n’ Roses
7 You Shook Me All Night Long AC/DC
8 Bohemian Rhapsody Queen
9 Power and the Passion Midnight Oil
10 Am I Ever Gonna See Your Face Again The Angels
11 I Was Made For Loving You Kiss
12 Bat Out Of Hell Meatloaf
13 Down Under Men at Work
14 Dirty Deeds, Done Dirt Cheap AC/DC
15 No Secrets The Angels
16 Hey Jude Beatles
17 Smells Like Teen Spirit Nirvana
18 Flame Trees Cold Chisel
19 Bad to the Bone George Thorogood
20 Heard It Through the Grapevine Creedence Clearwater Revival
ozcoltsfan
11 May 2002, 22:58
ahhhhhh yes the mighty metallica win again
pity that enter sandman is only about their 50th best song out 105
Originally posted by ozcoltsfan
So true.
I don't reckon All Torn Down is The Living End's best, nor is Black Hole Sun for Sound Garden.
Men at Work and Midnight Oil don't belong in the top 20 (just my taste).
Ballads shouldn't be allowed in the top 20 because IMO ballad & rock are a contradiction. That removes Time of Your Life, Better Man, Sweet Child O' Mine & My Happiness.
I'm hoping that in future years, Khe Sahn will eventually slip out of these lists as Barnsey fans thin out.
:mad:
The_Flying_Egg
12 May 2002, 10:03
Ballads shouldn't be allowed in the top 20 because IMO ballad & rock are a contradiction. That removes Time of Your Life, Better Man, Sweet Child O' Mine & My Happiness.
Betterman should be number 1 on any rock list.
And all 4 of those songs u mentioned there are clearly rock songs and should definetely be allowed in any rock lists
And I reckon Enter Sandman is in Metallica's top 4 or 5 songs
go team
12 May 2002, 10:39
the ballad is the staple tune of any stadium rock band, and they're the only rockbands that triple m play. The bogans rejoice! As good of a song as KHE SANH is, Cold Chisel has no right to be placed ahead of Midnight Oil, Led Zeppelin or ACDC.
Originally posted by ozcoltsfan
Amazing how Enter Sandman is number one, but there's 100 other Metallica songs that a) won't ever get heard on that same radio station and b) will remain foreign to many of the legions of brainwashed radio-fodder fans that voted for it.Originally posted by 35eye
I'm hoping that in future years, Khe Sahn will eventually slip out of these lists as Barnsey fans thin out.
:mad:
While I don't agree on Sweet Child O' Mine being a pure ballad (because it still rocks), it's disappointing that this type of song is used to represent some of the harder-edge type of bands, because it's one of only a few that MMM will play.
Danny Chook Fan Club
13 May 2002, 10:10
19 - DOWN UNDER - MEN AT WORK
18 - YOU SHOOK ME ALL NIGHT LONG - AC/DC
17 - BLACK HOLE SUN - SOUNDGARDEN
15 - MY HAPPINESS - POWDERFINGER
13 - U.S. FORCES - MIDNIGHT OIL
12 - TIME OF YOUR LIFE - GREEN DAY
11 - SUNDAY BLOODY SUNDAY(LIVE) - U2
10 - ALL TORN DOWN - THE LIVING END
09 - BOHEMIAN RHAPSODY - QUEEN
06 - COME OUT AND PLAY - THE OFFSPRING
05 - UNDER THE BRIDGE - RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS
04 - THUNDERSTRUCK - AC/DC
01 ENTER SANDMAN - METALLICA
Surely you jest? These are all time great rock songs are they? My goodness.
Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
Hey, this ain't my choice! Blame the listeners of Triple M Sydney.
I'm interested to hear you pick the shet out of this list though DCFC because I certainly respected your favourite songs of the past decade in a previous thread.
The_Flying_Egg
14 May 2002, 00:44
Every one of the songs u listened too are all time great rock songs, hence the reason so many people still love them today
Danny Chook Fan Club
14 May 2002, 10:22
I should elaborate slightly. Some of those songs are quite good, but there's some very significant numbers next to them. They're just not that good.
Down Under - Just a p|ss take that has got out of control. Great rock song? I think not.
You Shook Me All Night Long - I have severe issues with this song, but I can see that others like it.
Black Hole Sun - good band, fair sort of a song, but seriously, 17th best rock song ever?
My Happiness - I like Powderfinger, but they'd have a dozen better songs than this.
US Forces - Again, I like the song, but there's better Midnight Oil songs.
Time Of Your Life - Another p|ss take gone wrong. Bloody Seinfeld.
Sunday Bloody Sunday - This is not a protest song. Nor is it the 11th best rock song ever. It's not even the 11th best U2 song ever.
All Torn Down - No.
Bohemian Rhapsody - Does anyone get excited when hearing this any more? Hasn't it been done to death? Great song and all, but when you're heard it hundreds of times, it tends to lose its impact.
Come Out And Play - Number 6. I ask you. Number 6. If (and it's a massive bloody if) you were going to put in an Offspring song, at least make it Self Esteem
Under The Bridge - Just a wet RHCP number that Kiedis probably wishes he never wrote.
Thunderstruck - Absolutely farcical. Dead set joke of a song. Who is voting for this?
Enter Sandman - I'll let the Metallica experts' opinions speak on this one. Best rock song ever? Highly dubious.
The_Flying_Egg
14 May 2002, 14:52
Under The Bridge - Just a wet RHCP number that Kiedis probably wishes he never wrote.
Im sure he's devastated :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
Danny Chook Fan Club
14 May 2002, 15:19
Eggy, give me a hug. Go on.
DCFC, your wisdom knows no boundaries.
The_Flying_Egg
14 May 2002, 23:46
Eggy, give me a hug. Go on.
Why would Keidid regret writing a song that made the Chili Peppers a household name, made the Chili Peppers a helluva lot fo money and above all is a brillaint song?
And if he regretted it he wouldn't have wrote similar sorts of 'wet' songs like Luve Hurts and Tearjerker
Danny Chook Fan Club
15 May 2002, 08:57
DCFC, your wisdom knows no boundaries. That's what I keep telling the men in the lab coats.
Where's my hug Eggy? Come on, ya big lug, give us a cuddle.
The_Flying_Egg
15 May 2002, 16:56
Where's my hug Eggy? Come on, ya big lug, give us a cuddle.
:eek: :eek: :eek: