View Full Version : Who's going to get Franklin this week?

Boris_Bewick
31 Jul 2007, 23:07
From all reports Buddy is playing, and would have to be our most important match up this weekend.

After him doing a job on McPhee last time, and then kicking some more on the Bin, what's our best way to stop him. Mal even after his great form against Adelaide, would be too slow on the lead and not as mobile. I'd say Fletch, if he plays would be his best matchup, but is he quick enough these days to keep up with him?

What do you guys think?

Buddy
31 Jul 2007, 23:11
Perhaps Ryder?

Cmon people, i'm dying to see the two match up! Two of the best young athletes in the game going toe to toe!

BomberAce7
31 Jul 2007, 23:14
From all reports Buddy is playing, and would have to be our most important match up this weekend.

After him doing a job on McPhee last time, and then kicking some more on the Bin, what's our best way to stop him. Mal even after his great form against Adelaide, would be too slow on the lead and not as mobile. I'd say Fletch, if he plays would be his best matchup, but is he quick enough these days to keep up with him?

What do you guys think?

Yep give it to Paddy! Throw him the challenge.

kelvin_sheedy
31 Jul 2007, 23:16
NLM can do the job. ;)

Phil McCreviss
31 Jul 2007, 23:24
Wouldnt matter who plays on Franklin - the team that wins the clearances will win the game. If you can stop our midfield, Buddy doesnt get the supply. Same applies for Lucas and Lloyd

Ludwig van Bertstare
31 Jul 2007, 23:32
I would say Fletch, but he got owned by Cloke a few weeks ago. I say put Ryder on him, and if he has any trouble switch to Fletcher.

Bomberland06
1 Aug 2007, 00:29
Ryder should be the man to go on franklin should be very good contest between the young men.

Bombers1234
1 Aug 2007, 00:37
Double team the bastard, who else have they got down there?

Mojo
1 Aug 2007, 07:09
Wouldnt matter who plays on Franklin - the team that wins the clearances will win the game. If you can stop our midfield, Buddy doesnt get the supply. Same applies for Lucas and Lloyd

So right! I would focus on stopping the midfield! If essendon can do that, buddy's impact will be minimal!

wazzabp
1 Aug 2007, 07:18

Spot on mate.

strategy
1 Aug 2007, 08:19
Its not so much of who is going to get him ,its stopping the delivery to him as much as possible , along with starving their other players as well.
The defensive and fwd and centre pressure from the Bomber players has to be at its maximum ALL DAY otherwise its curtains for us .

Don Envy
1 Aug 2007, 08:46
I think we need to employ similar tactics to the ones we used on Jonothan Brown. Fletch in front blocking up space and Mal to take him on in the 1 on 1 body duels

David_Hilley#19
1 Aug 2007, 15:34
Here something different what about courtney JOhns. He is bullet fast and is very strong also he is 194 centimetres so would be an interesting match-up

Boris_Bewick
1 Aug 2007, 16:24
Too risky as Johns would have no where near the athleticism and mobility that Franklin has.

kirbatron
1 Aug 2007, 16:51
jobe watson

Chainsaw Al
1 Aug 2007, 16:53

Tim Boyle should be back in to the team & very important player for us and will play forward. Roughead along with one of Thorp/Dowler, probably Thorp if fit. Dixon will prob have a spot and isn't in the best of form. Hodge & McGlynn will play forward at times.

Game will definately be won in the middle agree with earlier comments.

Hawkk
1 Aug 2007, 17:18

Roughead, Boyle and perhaps Thorp and Hodge

Bomber57
1 Aug 2007, 20:46
Fletch and Mal and Ryder and more what very it's takes, he was the only reason we lost to them last time.

angus6
1 Aug 2007, 20:55
Here something different what about courtney JOhns. He is bullet fast and is very strong also he is 194 centimetres so would be an interesting match-up
you cannot be serious. i would rather see kepler bradley play on him then johns.

God no please dont play kepler on him :o

ant555
1 Aug 2007, 20:58

No thanks , Johms has good initial speed but Buddy would simply run him off his legs. Would be a terrible match up.
Johns would be more likely to play on Roughhead if he plays.

Bombers 4 premiership
1 Aug 2007, 21:17
they should give him to ryder, cos michael's too slow to keep up with him and we need fletcher's rebound. but if ryder struggles..fletcher.

jnash196
1 Aug 2007, 21:19
Fletcher can't keep up with Buddy with a busted groin. Play Ryder on him with McPhee in front. Fletcher to be cheap in the backline instead of McPhee

Phil McCreviss
1 Aug 2007, 21:21
Fletch and Mal and Ryder and more what very it's takes, he was the only reason we lost to them last time.

Disagree with this. Buddy finished it off but Mitchell, Hodge and Lewis did the damage last time. They gave Franklin the pill more times than your midfield gave it to Lucas.

dave_27
1 Aug 2007, 21:24
Lets hope the umpires actually enforce the in the back rule against buddy this week unlike the last time we played them.

donsman4eva
1 Aug 2007, 21:58
I'm hoping Ryder gets him, just for the spectacle it will be. But I'm unsure whether or not Ryder can hold Franklin. We need Fletcher back, otherwise I have a bad feeling Kepler will end up on him :mad:

High Ryder
1 Aug 2007, 22:04
Lets hope the umpires actually enforce the in the back rule against buddy this week unlike the last time we played them.
Agreed, he got away with murder compared to others that have been given 3-4 times at least.

The Cryptkeeper
1 Aug 2007, 22:36
Boyle and Roughead for starters.:rolleyes:

The Cryptkeeper
1 Aug 2007, 22:38
Agreed, he got away with murder compared to others that have been given 3-4 times at least.

Wtf? He played in front of McPhee and Fletcher all day. Watch the replay, maybe there was one dodgy decision that he got away with. Now let's discuss the other 8 goals he kicked......;)

And you guys shouldn't be complaining about umpires in Hawthorn games. Does the Soloman "goal" and the Goldspink disgrace in the 2001 PF ring any bells?

kelvin_sheedy
1 Aug 2007, 22:39
Boyle and Roughead for starters.:rolleyes:

I reckon Henneman and Bolton could do the job on those two. ;)

delirious1
2 Aug 2007, 00:07
Double team of Bolton+Bradley
Franklin could do whatever he wanted to and essendon down two players by the starting siren:thumbsu:

DaSawx
2 Aug 2007, 10:01
No thanks , Johms has good initial speed but Buddy would simply run him off his legs. Would be a terrible match up.
Johns would be more likely to play on Roughhead if he plays.

Which means he probably will get the job.

The logical thing to do would be to fill the space in front, stop Buddy and we have a big chance.

Unless of course we're out-numbered 4-2 all day on the wings again while we stand and watch in the centre.

jack_mack50
2 Aug 2007, 10:42
NLM for mine, has the speed to cover Buddy and also the physicality

to match him as well.

Saw his arms one day at a Bendigo game and by jesus are they big.

DapperDon
2 Aug 2007, 10:53
Just get Bolts and Kep to kick the shit out of him in the first quarter, they both get reported and get 10 weeks, no matter as they'll both be gone next year and we don't have to worry about Franklin for 3 hours.

I should be the next coach.

donsman4eva
2 Aug 2007, 10:56
The problem with that plan is that we would still have Bolton and Bradley in for the rest of the game :o

Boris_Bewick
2 Aug 2007, 12:28
NLM for mine, has the speed to cover Buddy and also the physicality

to match him as well.

Saw his arms one day at a Bendigo game and by jesus are they big.

Not sure if NLM can cover him in the air. Just something I've noticed over the years, while he has great hands, he struggles to read the flight of the ball, especially when he is running back with an opponent.

jules101
2 Aug 2007, 12:34
I hope Paddy does not get Buddy because if he did then Buddy would be on track to break the 18 goals in a match record. Paddy has been shocking the last few weeks and Buddy would absolutely kill him

cradle of filth
2 Aug 2007, 22:30
Kepler Bradley:thumbsu:

jhgoat
2 Aug 2007, 22:33
let johns snap him in half.

if not NLM will killllll him...

The Big W
2 Aug 2007, 22:44
Would like to see bolton get him as he has done the job on goodes who is as athletic as franklin playing deep may worry him though. Franklin doesn't take many contested grabs but takes more on the lead and this is why kris massie did so well against him. Fletcher to Roughead, Mal to boyle, NLM to franklin maybe. Johnson on dixon, i think essendon matches up well against hawthorn as long as they play a quick athletic type and not fletcher or michael. Peverill and hodge, watson on mitchell. I think the midfield will be even but essendon are too strong in the forwards with smith, jacobs, gilham to take the power forwards. Play lucas at chf and push up, lloyd deep with lovett welsh and laycock for support. Look for bombers top 4 at the end of the year

The Big W
2 Aug 2007, 22:46
By the way kepler bradley should not pull on the boots for the bombers ever again. so clumsy infront of goals could cost essendon the game again!!

danzan22
2 Aug 2007, 22:46
Double team him with NLM and Ryder, both would ave the pace to go with him

HBF
2 Aug 2007, 23:24
Double team him with NLM and Ryder, both would ave the pace to go with him

One on one footy is the way to go Dan.

danzan22
2 Aug 2007, 23:31
One on one footy is the way to go Dan.
Franklin is to much of a freak to just have one person on him, cant have him destroying our team again.

HBF
2 Aug 2007, 23:38
Franklin is to much of a freak to just have one person on him, cant have him destroying our team again.

I'm just not so sure double-teaming him is the way to go. Could McPhee go with him?

danzan22
3 Aug 2007, 00:28
I'm just not so sure double-teaming him is the way to go. Could McPhee go with him?
Well let me take you back to rd 6 i think it was, buddy kicks 9, who do you think his opponent was for the majority of those 9, theres your answere.

The Cryptkeeper
3 Aug 2007, 10:49
Would like to see bolton get him as he has done the job on goodes who is as athletic as franklin playing deep may worry him though. Franklin doesn't take many contested grabs but takes more on the lead and this is why kris massie did so well against him. Fletcher to Roughead, Mal to boyle, NLM to franklin maybe. Johnson on dixon, i think essendon matches up well against hawthorn as long as they play a quick athletic type and not fletcher or michael. Peverill and hodge, watson on mitchell. I think the midfield will be even but essendon are too strong in the forwards with smith, jacobs, gilham to take the power forwards. Play lucas at chf and push up, lloyd deep with lovett welsh and laycock for support. Look for bombers top 4 at the end of the year

Lesson for all you kiddies out there: DON'T SMOKE CRACK AND POST ON A PUBLIC INTERNET FORM.

jhgoat
3 Aug 2007, 13:45
frankin is vastly over rated, he had a good game while being lucky last time round.

The Cryptkeeper
3 Aug 2007, 15:37
frankin is vastly over rated, he had a good game while being lucky last time round.

Yep, he's very overrated. He's 20 and would be leading the Coleman Medal if it wasn't for the 2 games he's missed.:rolleyes: And the only reason that he was lucky last time is that your three gun defenders (McPhee, Fletcher and Michael) weren't carrying firearms as that was the only way he was going to be stopped. Keep telling yourself that he is overrated and this guy will keep kicking your brains in.

Speaking of overrated, didn't Sheedy say that Ryder would be better than Polly Farmer?

Minglis
3 Aug 2007, 15:44
Crypt, I think it is you hawthorn blokes who are going to be on the recieving end of Buddy kicking brains in.

By the time he blows half a dozen games a season kicking 2.5, 0.4, 1.3, 3.6, youll be about as sick of him as pie fans are of Cloke ;)

kelvin_sheedy
3 Aug 2007, 15:56
Franklin is a good player but is very one trick and easy to defend at the moment.

He will get worked out sooner or later.

Can't take contested marks. Always swings onto the left boot so it's easy to corral and defend.

Peels off the contest to get cheap possies.

Seems to go missing at times.

Need to play a 6'1 defender on him with a bit of toe and you should be able to limit his impact.

The Cryptkeeper
3 Aug 2007, 16:22
Franklin is a good player but is very one trick and easy to defend at the moment.

Can't take contested marks. Always swings onto the left boot so it's easy to corral and defend.

Need to play a 6'1 defender on him with a bit of toe and you should be able to limit his impact.

There is not another player in the AFL that can do what he does. Good luck playing a 6'1 defender on him with some speed. Franklin will simply run with him and beat him that way as he has a huge tank and great pace. Otherwise he will take him back to the square and outmark him. It is a fallacy that Franklin cannot take a contested mark. It is just that he gets most of his marks on the lead becasue of his freakish pace and endurance.
He is all of 20 years old and in the words of your own coach "a brilliant young player." He kicked an easy 9 last time and you tried your three best defensive options on him. You tried McPhee and Franklin was too big and too quick. He was too slick for Michael and too slick for Fletcher. You could try Ryder on him but Franklin will just take him to the square and school him from there. I've seen NLM thrown up as an option but Franklin just outsizes and outsmarts him too.

Keep telling yourselves he is no good. One day you will learn.

Longy413
3 Aug 2007, 16:29

Almost sounds like you're talking about Scott Lucas.

jules101
3 Aug 2007, 16:32
Almost sounds like you're talking about Scott Lucas.

Especially the contested mark bit

Useful_Idiot
3 Aug 2007, 16:57

Tongue firmly in cheek when typing this im tipping. Or your an idiot!