View Full Version : Hawks Eye the Future (Boyle, Dowler, Muston)
Hawthorn trio Tim Boyle, Beau Dowler and Beau Muston have each signed two-year extensions with the Club, securing their services until at least the end of the 2009 season.
Boyle has made the most significant impact on the AFL to date, with 29 goals in 14 appearances in 2007. Muston continues to impress at VFL level, while Dowler has three AFL appearances to his name, most recently in round 17 this season, with two goals against the Kangaroos in Launceston.
Hawks general manager of football, Mark Evans, has been encouraged by Boyle’s development in 2007, having started every premiership game until injury hit in round 12, sidelined with a hamstring injury.
“Tim has had a terrific season, playing an important role as part of a robust forward line. He has suffered from injury in previous years, however, he has showed great consistency to play at AFL level in 2007.
“It was great for him to come back in and contribute in the weekend’s win over Essendon, following four weeks on the sidelines.. He may have only kicked one goal but he had a hand in a couple of others. The way we have set up the forward line with a couple of key targets really helps when we have Tim available.”
Evans also believes Hawks supporters should be excited by the signing of 2005 AFL Draft pair, Dowler and Muston, who have showed much promise for the future, after both recovering from serious injury and develop well while playing mainly for Box Hill in the VFL this season.
Dowler was the Hawks first round draft pick in 2005, and despite suffering a hip-fracture in a car accident, has made a full recovery, and is now starting to repay some of the faith the club had shown in him.
“Beau is an exciting, young, tall forward. Whist it will take some time to develop his skills - as people would have seen in Tassie against the Kangaroos, he stepped up to the level, kicking two goals. He’s one to watch for the future.
While Muston missed the entire 2006 season following a knee reconstruction, he was champing-at-the-bit to play footy by the 2007 pre-season. Coach, Alistair Clarkson, let Muston loose in a pre-season Challenge Cup match, and he has continued to develop promisingly at VFL level.
“He’s showed enough in his time with Box Hill that we think he’s going to be an exciting player for us.”
http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/Season2007/News/NewsArticle/tabid/4742/Default.aspx?newsId=48744
Hedgehodgy
7 Aug 2007, 19:38
I thought dowler was going to be delisted according to some people on here. Guess the club rates him quite highly. Good to see more young players committ to the future
quiksilver83
7 Aug 2007, 19:46
I reckon Dowler could be alright, need to give him a chance...
I would have given Boyle 5 years!
Bennycoff
7 Aug 2007, 19:54
Awesome news for those three boys. Good work.
hawka_fan
7 Aug 2007, 20:14
Great news!
randall boner
7 Aug 2007, 20:18
got to make willo the next priority signing,the longer the season goes the more im getting worried he .may go
I thought dowler was going to be delisted according to some people on here. Guess the club rates him quite highly. Good to see more young players committ to the future
Its not a matter if the club rates him or not, its a matter of having faith in him which some fans could take a leaf out of that book. The book of faith.......... Not the bible
The Kipster
7 Aug 2007, 20:31
:thumbsu: with you Shotta :D
macdaddio
7 Aug 2007, 20:34
boyle is our future............
5 years atleast............
Bennycoff
7 Aug 2007, 20:34
Williams much?
Excellent news! :thumbsu:
shawthing09
7 Aug 2007, 20:54
boyle is our future............
5 years atleast............
I was of the understanding that you guys don't do contracts of more then two year except for in extreme circumstances (i.e if hodgey requested it or else he'd boot.) I think with all the youngsters in the system and all the unknowns of afl football i like the idea of only 2 year contracts. Saves the carlton kouta disaster etc. Plus with all your promising kids there is chance that some of them won't fit team structure long term. Making a hard fast rule of no contract longer then two years mean no player can take contract length personally
LuvMyHawks
7 Aug 2007, 21:10
Two years is good.I just wish they would sigh Buddy up for another two years. I know he is contracted until the end of 2008, but I would like to see him safely comitted to us for quite a few years yet..
I hope the Richmond posters read this about DOWLER.. They are the ones that started this crap about him talking to Greg Miller and moving to Richmond.
My goodness who would want to move there at present, Beau will be good for us, he will only get better. He is still young, and great to have on the list. Another one or two preseasons will make a HUGE difference to him..
Well done to all THREE and Viney for committing to us...:thumbsu:
PatientHawk
7 Aug 2007, 21:26
Great news, I hope b1 & b2 star for us.
Well done Boyle for your hard work, and AC and crew for their confidence in him.
Have we got room for new recruits...who is going to be let go?
I can't wait these guys to force their way into the team.
Competition is great....No free rides:thumbsu:
Two years is good.I just wish they would sigh Buddy up for another two years. I know he is contracted until the end of 2008, but I would like to see him safely comitted to us for quite a few years yet..
I hope the Richmond posters read this about DOWLER.. They are the ones that started this crap about him talking to Greg Miller and moving to Richmond.
My goodness who would want to move there at present, Beau will be good for us, he will only get better. He is still young, and great to have on the list. Another one or two preseasons will make a HUGE difference to him..
Well done to all THREE and Viney for committing to us...:thumbsu:
Yep, I was a little worried that Dowler might have fallen into the preseason draft, for Richmond to nab and us get nothing. He is beginning to show something, and a player of his type needs a big engine which will take another couple of preseasons.
It's satisying that players are showing loyalty and comitment to success.
The way the Williams thing falls out will be very interesting. On one hand he is a solid goal kicker, however since he's been gone, the tall structure is beginning to take shape. It may very well be, that the coaches may believe that a premiership team doesn't contain a small leading forward. Could it be possible we may trade him for a genuine small forward goal sneak?
Hedgehodgy
7 Aug 2007, 21:56
I was of the understanding that you guys don't do contracts of more then two year except for in extreme circumstances (i.e if hodgey requested it or else he'd boot.) I think with all the youngsters in the system and all the unknowns of afl football i like the idea of only 2 year contracts. Saves the carlton kouta disaster etc. Plus with all your promising kids there is chance that some of them won't fit team structure long term. Making a hard fast rule of no contract longer then two years mean no player can take contract length personally
Dont have to stray so far, nick holland killed us
I guess all those rumours arent true about Dowls, which is great to hear!
Gary Shadforth
7 Aug 2007, 22:45
Alastair Clarkson and Mark Evans would find it easier to convince youngsters to stay at the club having been in the top four for a greater part of the season.
Watch all the Richmond fans change their tune on Dowler now.They'll say he is a dud and they never wanted him now that he's signed, when alot of them were very keen on pinching him in the psd.
Collins-Langford-Ayres
8 Aug 2007, 00:20
Dont have to stray so far, nick holland killed us And because of this, for many fans, he'll never be looked on in a positive light. Hope those extra bucks keep you warm at night Nick !!! :thumbsd:
hawkslore
8 Aug 2007, 00:22
Yep, I was a little worried that Dowler might have fallen into the preseason draft, for Richmond to nab and us get nothing. He is beginning to show something, and a player of his type needs a big engine which will take another couple of preseasons.
It's satisying that players are showing loyalty and comitment to success.
The way the Williams thing falls out will be very interesting. On one hand he is a solid goal kicker, however since he's been gone, the tall structure is beginning to take shape. It may very well be, that the coaches may believe that a premiership team doesn't contain a small leading forward. Could it be possible we may trade him for a genuine small forward goal sneak?
Couldnt even entertain the idea of the hawks getting rid of willo,to good a footballer to trade!if theres a spot for dixon in our current team surley theres a spot for a fit williams:thumbsu: whose best is possibly better than buddys!!:eek:
How much more lethal would our forwardline be with willo in the pocket??
Also depth if one of our talls goes down with injury,we have a ready made goalkicker who can play as a tall!!Maybe im to biased but to me getting rid of williams would be as ludicrous as trading luke hodge!! IMO WILLO is the goal sneak we are after!:thumbsu:No point in trading willo for willo:confused:
hawkstars
8 Aug 2007, 10:05
Definately not biased mate. People are quick to forget how much of a massive difference will make in our side. He is an absolute gun and I personally can't wait to see him back. Why do we need a crumbing forward ? We have a gun in willo!:thumbsu:
BigAl3001
8 Aug 2007, 12:56
Just goes to show most people on BF are FOS.
Also smart by the club to sign them now on a light contract I would imagine before they get a big profile and are able to demand more in the market.
Chainsaw Al
8 Aug 2007, 13:40
Yes good call Shawthing. We learnt our lesson I think with Nick Holland's contract.
Couldnt even entertain the idea of the hawks getting rid of willo,to good a footballer to trade!if theres a spot for dixon in our current team surley theres a spot for a fit williams:thumbsu: whose best is possibly better than buddys!!:eek:
How much more lethal would our forwardline be with willo in the pocket??
Also depth if one of our talls goes down with injury,we have a ready made goalkicker who can play as a tall!!Maybe im to biased but to me getting rid of williams would be as ludicrous as trading luke hodge!! IMO WILLO is the goal sneak we are after!:thumbsu:No point in trading willo for willo:confused:
Couldn't agree more!
I can only think that perhaps the delay in him re-signing is related to his knee injury.
Boyler_Room
8 Aug 2007, 16:16
10 years more like, lock him in.
MinerBoy
8 Aug 2007, 16:26
And because of this, for many fans, he'll never be looked on in a positive light. Hope those extra bucks keep you warm at night Nick !!! :thumbsd:
Poor form CLA.
The club was to blame, not Dutchy. He had every right to get the best deal for himself. Injuries are part of the deal and the club lost big time. Their problem.
Tasmaniac
8 Aug 2007, 16:31
More good news.
Happy to see B1 & B2 given two years to really show what they've got after recovering from serious injuries.
Plus locking in Boyle, our 'new' top quality KPP forward. Being able to stretch opposition defences with genuine quality talls will be a strength for Hawthorn for many years to come.
P.S. On another thread, someone mentioned Willo is already signed up for next year.
kirbatron
8 Aug 2007, 17:03
I've given Dowler a fair spray before but i am genuinely pleased that he has signed and committed to the HFC. I am sure he will have a massive summer and start to show his talent next year.
The Mustang - looks a quality player and cant wait to see him play senior footy soon. Ready to go!
Kettle - Its understood that he thought he was pretty close to being delisted last year. Knows where to position himself and has a smart footy brain which is super important for our structure. I see him as the general down there.
Chrissie90
8 Aug 2007, 19:44
Watch all the Richmond fans change their tune on Dowler now.They'll say he is a dud and they never wanted him now that he's signed, when alot of them were very keen on pinching him in the psd.
I dont understand. Cant we still trade him if he is contracted? Doesnt it just put Pelchen in a better position to ask more for him in a trade?
HawkXNtric
8 Aug 2007, 22:05
Yep, Chrissie's right - you can't trade a player if he's not contracted on your list. All the more reason to have all required players signed up!
awesome for Beau D to stay...great too see commonsense prevailed in the end