View Full Version : Hawthorn Board Drafting Game - Discussion
Cosmo Kramer
10 Aug 2007, 12:56
This is the thread for any discussion about picks/list management all that stuff for the Hawthorn Board Drafting Game.
All the previous discussion can be found in http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=356735
To put in your round 1 draft pick if its your pick or for the draft order see
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=357451
I require a backup manager / or full time manager for the Cats. I will be off the web at 2.30pm Melbourne time today and may not be back on till Sunday. Anyone interested???
Cheers
hawka_fan
10 Aug 2007, 17:20
Ill do it
Cosmo Kramer
10 Aug 2007, 17:23
Ill do it
The situation is that wata has resigned as manager. As so I have offered it to the first person to miss out (kirbatron). You were the 2nd. If he doesnt take up the offer by midnight tonight(by posting in the original hawthorn board draft game page) then he the job will be offered to you. In any case I'm sure some people will need an assistant manager.
hawka_fan
10 Aug 2007, 17:41
i might need to sabotage kirbatron's username and make sure he cant post:p
i wouldnt mind an assistant coach, im the kangaroos and took judd with pick 5, not sure who to get with pick 28.
hawka_fan
12 Aug 2007, 08:38
ill try and help
play2win
12 Aug 2007, 19:36
gidday fellas, anyone want to take up the position of the coach for the collingwood team?
i am in trouble with the police and may not be able to log on for a stretch:mad:
no seriously, with what started off as something that'd be fun, i've lost a bit of heart and couldn't be bothered actually (and being collingwood i would deliberately sabotage any chance of getting any quality players :D , someone else will get more enjoyment out of it)
Cosmo Kramer
12 Aug 2007, 21:52
gidday fellas, anyone want to take up the position of the coach for the collingwood team?
i am in trouble with the police and may not be able to log on for a stretch:mad:
no seriously, with what started off as something that'd be fun, i've lost a bit of heart and couldn't be bothered actually (and being collingwood i would deliberately sabotage any chance of getting any quality players :D , someone else will get more enjoyment out of it)
No worries mate I'm sure hawkafan will take your place.
kirbatron
13 Aug 2007, 09:54
Players submitted :)
Good luck Kirbatron...I pulled out as I wasn't availabble for the weekend and the Cats haven't pick yet. :eek: Could I get a seek peek at your list as an ex manager??? Please:D:D
Cheers
hawka_fan
13 Aug 2007, 19:10
How many more need to submit there 1-16 players???
Cosmo Kramer
13 Aug 2007, 19:20
How many more need to submit there 1-16 players???
Umm a couple haven't they will just get a pass for this round. I'm just putting the list up now.
Cosmo Kramer
13 Aug 2007, 19:28
Just thought I'd point out what I thought was the most obvious thing about round 1. Everyone took the big blokes first. Judd and Ablett (argueably the 2 best midfielders in the comp) slipped to picks 10 and 11. The players the people really valued were the big guys with the first 6 picks being Brown,Pavlich,Cox,Franklin,Cornes,Riewoldt.
I thought I would also mention that the order for round 2 is the reverse of the round 1 order. I will put those selections up tomorrow night. Good luck with the drafting. I don't want to pre-empt round 2, but if round 1 was a power grab for the big fowards dare I say round 2 may be the round to secure a ruckman/backman. Thats a guess of mine anyway, it could go anyway though because there are several good midfielders and several brownlow medalists left to choose from.
xDOUG69COOLx
13 Aug 2007, 20:01
post what players people got now mate
hawka_fan
13 Aug 2007, 20:15
its in the other thread
Cosmo Kramer
13 Aug 2007, 20:51
1. Richmond Tigers - Pass
2. Carlton Blues - Jonathon Brown
3. West Coast Eagles - Matthew Pavlich
4. Port Adelaide Power - Brendan Fevola
5. North Melbourne Kangaroos - Dean Cox
6. Western Bulldogs - Pass
7. Melbourne Demons - Lance Franklin
8. Fremantle Dockers - Chad Cornes
9. Essendon Bombers - Nick Riewoldt
10. Adelaide Crows - Chris Judd
11. Hawthorn Hawks - Gary Ablett Jnr
12. StKilda Saints - Nick Dal Santo
13. Brisbane Lions - Pass
14. Sydney Swans - Pass
15. Geelong Cats - Daniel Kerr
16. Collingwood Magpies – Brad Johnson
I have no doubt this is in the wrong thread and I'm probably interpreting the rules wrong but A - why do I no longer have Pavlich and B - do I know just pick from the players that haven't been selected?
Cause if so can I take Hodge?
Cosmo Kramer
14 Aug 2007, 11:16
I have no doubt this is in the wrong thread and I'm probably interpreting the rules wrong but A - why do I no longer have Pavlich and B - do I know just pick from the players that haven't been selected?
Cause if so can I take Hodge?
Hodge is now taken.
The round 1 picks are
13. Brisbane Lions - Luke Hodge
14. Sydney Swans - Pass
That is round 1, sorry I tried to make it clear in the emails that we just re-did round 1 because it was never gunna get finished the old way. So send me your picks for round 2 by 7pm tonight. If you can send me a player you want for round 1 before that consider it yours but just as early as you can because it may affect some peoples choices for the round 2 selections they are going to give me.
Bah just give me McIntosh then.
Big step down from Pav :(
Cosmo Kramer
14 Aug 2007, 11:57
Bah just give me McIntosh then.
Big step down from Pav :(
Well on the good news side, Pav was gone a bit before your pick. And for your second pick there are still plenty of stars left eg mitchell/bartel and you don;t have to consider picking a ruckman with your second pick like some others do. Sorry for any confusion.
Nah my bad.
Out of interest why does WCE get such a low pick?
Cosmo Kramer
14 Aug 2007, 12:33
philhawk started it up and just did a random thing and picked names out of a hat, just a fluke that richmond and carlton got pick 1 and 2. Its not that big an advantage because each round the order is reversed. Eg richmond gets the last pick in round 2, first pick in round 3, last pick in round 4 and so on.
hawka_fan
14 Aug 2007, 19:30
Hodge is now taken.
The round 1 picks are
13. Brisbane Lions - Luke Hodge
14. Sydney Swans - Pass
That is round 1, sorry I tried to make it clear in the emails that we just re-did round 1 because it was never gunna get finished the old way. So send me your picks for round 2 by 7pm tonight. If you can send me a player you want for round 1 before that consider it yours but just as early as you can because it may affect some peoples choices for the round 2 selections they are going to give me.
Hopefully not too many big gun rucks/backs are taken this round.
Cosmo Kramer
14 Aug 2007, 19:51
Hopefully not too many big gun rucks/backs are taken this round.
We'll see the list will be up in about 30 minutes, but there will be some key fowards/backs taken this round.
Cosmo Kramer
14 Aug 2007, 20:05
I thought i'd throw up the idea that was raised in the thread before this one was created. That once the teams are completed that we each make a team of 22 (all australian style) with 3 emergencies and get people to vote on which one is the best. I think thats fair.
hawka_fan
14 Aug 2007, 20:44
i was hoping foley could slip down another few rounds:p oh well. i'm happy with chapman:D
Cosmo Kramer
14 Aug 2007, 20:47
I think its very interesting seeing the different strategies. Some people have gone bookends like myself, franklin/scarlett whereas someone from memory has both Judd and Bartel and others have gone fevola/hall and riewoldt/lloyd. Also another thing of note from this round is the way that the key fowards and backs were snapped up but people aren't valueing the ruckman at all with none being picked.
I'm happy with rutten and Cox, keeping secret my next picks. Hawkfan15 i think i speak on behalf of everyone on the hawks board in applauding and thanking you for your great work:thumbsu:. This new system is working really well now aswell.
kirbatron
15 Aug 2007, 09:18
^ you have the players i want :)
Cosmo Kramer
15 Aug 2007, 10:22
The thing I'm finding interesting is that we haven't got deep into the draft yet but the most noticeable thing will be if people go based on current form or if they go for the names, eg do you get jordan lewis or james hird. Do you go shane crawford or heath shaw. Its up to everyone, again I don't want to pre-empt what will happen this round but I think we will see round 3 dominated by midfielders and ruckman. There is still plenty of quality, by the looks of it (the fact that most people are picking very different players, I will say most people in round 2 got their first or second choice) I don't think it will be until about round 10 that people have any problems trying to come up 10 or so names. Jaydub I think its fair to say you can build a decent 25 man squad around those names.
Cosmo Kramer
15 Aug 2007, 10:25
Also if anyone wants the job of manager, there are a couple of jobs availaible, I know a couple of people missed out, if so let me know and you will have a managers job. You still get your first round and second round picks but obviosuly about 25-30 players have already been taken.
PADJUAN
15 Aug 2007, 10:29
your pretty well set up too, HF15... the only 'manager' with a KPP at both ends! interesting to see guys like lethal, roughie and quiksilver score 2 pretty handy gun forwards, while others are spreading positions. I agree about getting interesting around the 10th round, when well see whos approaches have paid off..
Cosmo Kramer
15 Aug 2007, 10:33
your pretty well set up too, HF15... the only 'manager' with a KPP at both ends! interesting to see guys like lethal, roughie and quiksilver score 2 pretty handy gun forwards, while others are spreading positions. I agree about getting interesting around the 10th round, when well see whos approaches have paid off..
I do have the slight advantage of picking just one player when it comes to my pick rather than having a list so I can tailor it a bit, but other people do basically the same thing anyway, I won't mention names but I have seen 2 lists so far, one with 10 fullbacks as the first 10 picks and another with 10 ruckman as the first 10 picks. So people are definatley keen to sure up the keyposts because they realise there are alot more key mids than ruckman and quality talls. Also I think we will see as we get a bit over the 10 round mark then people will start selecting players for positions like back pocket/wingman/half back eg birchall,attard,bateman.
As good as it is having 2 bookends. Someone has Judd and Bartel with plenty of key fowards and backs left they are in pretty good shape if they could snare a mooney or harris or similar with their next pick.
quiksilver83
15 Aug 2007, 12:52
I was going to develop an online drafting game but work has picked up considerably since the last week or so... doesn't look like i'll be able to do it. Sorry guys. Maybe something for 2008?
hawka_fan
15 Aug 2007, 14:51
When do we need to submit our round 3 players by?
Also are we going to do a round each weekday or a round every 2 days?
Cosmo Kramer
15 Aug 2007, 18:21
each weekday
Cosmo Kramer
15 Aug 2007, 18:23
I thought i'd raise a point for discussion, do people think that players who are out for the year with injuries eg thompson,williams,bailey etc should be allowed to picked in peoples teams? its not a problem this round that I can see but some people have them towards the top half of their lists for this round.
hawka_fan
15 Aug 2007, 18:31
well someones picked sandilands
Cosmo Kramer
15 Aug 2007, 18:37
well someones picked sandilands
I'm not talking about him so much but more nathan thompson and leigh harding even willo guys who haven't played all year really. Are they fair game you reckon?
Also in news anyone who does select cambell brown in this draft game in accordance with AFL rules will be fined heavily.
PADJUAN
15 Aug 2007, 18:52
if theyre on a list they should be fair game.. who's to say someone wont pick renouf or muston if theyre looking to the future?
Cosmo Kramer
15 Aug 2007, 19:17
Yep everyone's fair game
All right thats how we roll then.
PADJUAN
16 Aug 2007, 09:05
just an idea... what does everyone think of a trade period after the draft to give everyone the chance to fill any gaps in theyre starting lineup eg. someone has ample midfielders but lack ruckman (ala grant thomas) whilst another coach has too many ruckman (ala choco williams of 2005) > straight swap.. thoughts?
Sounds alright but the system could be abused :p
PADJUAN
16 Aug 2007, 09:29
we could make it so you can only trade for players already on a list of 25 and not for the leftovers that havent been picked.. perhaps only straight swaps and a limit of maybe 3 trades per team?? any other ideas?
kirbatron
16 Aug 2007, 11:32
fairly happy with my 3 so far...
SodaPop
16 Aug 2007, 12:05
we could make it so you can only trade for players already on a list of 25 and not for the leftovers that havent been picked.. perhaps only straight swaps and a limit of maybe 3 trades per team?? any other ideas?
I've got dibbs trading with the Kangas and Freo :p
Cosmo Kramer
16 Aug 2007, 14:56
I've got dibbs trading with the Kangas and Freo :p
Dammn that was my idea. I reckon we can work out some sort of a draft if thats what people want, post the 25 rounds of picks. It could be something like straight swaps, not sure if it would work because most people seem to be targeting 1 key foward, 1 key mid, 1 key backman, 1 key ruckman and so on so they will already have pretty well structured teams.
On another note I thought I would just ask if people in their lists could try to only put players that havent yet been selected because it just makes my job harder and you might miss out, eg I have seen a list where the first 5 picks on it are already gone.
hawka_fan
16 Aug 2007, 20:16
hawksfan15 you are doing an awesome job must be hard to get all those lists together well done:thumbsu:
Cosmo Kramer
16 Aug 2007, 22:28
Round 4 picks are up guys. On another note round 5 is crucial, why you ask, I have removed the managers that have submitted no picks or picked 1 or 2 players, and put their PLAYERS BACK ON THE MARKET so if you can work out who is available (and there are some HUGE names) and some duds, tambling is back on the market cough. Look carefully and you could snare yourself an all australian no worries.
hawka_fan
17 Aug 2007, 08:20
Round 4 picks are up guys. On another note round 5 is crucial, why you ask, I have removed the managers that have submitted no picks or picked 1 or 2 players, and put their PLAYERS BACK ON THE MARKET so if you can work out who is available (and there are some HUGE names) and some duds, tambling is back on the market cough. Look carefully and you could snare yourself an all australian no worries.
That sucks the round the players get put back up I have the last pick of the round, not the 1st:thumbsd:. I'm sure the players you refer to are mids and i'm not looking for a mid this round anyway.
kirbatron
17 Aug 2007, 09:43
damn. i have 2nd last pick and need desperately one of the players back in the pile...
PADJUAN
17 Aug 2007, 10:04
im strugglin to work out whos back in the mix... the 1st round is obvious but the other rounds are tough, if ya can work them out you could get one anywhere in the draft...
Cosmo Kramer
17 Aug 2007, 12:22
I've thought about it and the fairest way to do this is to take the players off the market because some people are going to get a massive unfair advantage. So though they don't appear the players off the market are Matthew Pavlich, Luke Hodge and Aaron Sandilands. I will let tambling go back into the market because I doubt he will be in high demand this round.
...so the player I had with my first round pick (Pavlich) and the player I wanted with my first round pick the second time round (Hodge) are now on no-ones list? :(
Cosmo Kramer
17 Aug 2007, 15:38
Yeh sorry thats the way the cookie crumbles I guess. With Pavlich having your first round pick everyone got those re-set so don't feel like you were hard done by. And as for Hodge he was gone by time you got your picks in so it would have been unfair for me to draft him to someone and then take it back. I would like to put hodge/sandilands/pavlich all back on the market but its just unfair, if I did it this round hawka_fan and kirbatron would be filthy and if I did it next round bagda and roughie would be filthy. Those are the top 2 and bottom 2 picks and hence the people who would snaffle them up.
Roughie
17 Aug 2007, 15:58
So are we drafting tonight, and then commencing on Monday? Because ill be out tonight and want to get my list in if we are drafting tonight.
Cosmo Kramer
17 Aug 2007, 16:05
Drafting round 5 tonight. Round 6 is on monday night.
Cosmo Kramer
18 Aug 2007, 00:38
Round 5 picks are up, can I make a request though for future lists, can you put a first initial because I don't know which players you want and have to guess if you put fletcher,johnson,brown,davey,selwood etc. Also I had the ridiculous case where someone did the right thing and said A.Davey(aaron or alwyn?) so just be careful that I know which player you are talking about because if not I will have to guess,skip you or go down to your next pick and you miss out.
quiksilver83
18 Aug 2007, 10:47
Thanks Hawk Fan for getting this game up and going. Here's my team's list as it stands after round 5.
http://home.people.net.au/~jkc/Untitled-3%20copy.jpg
Roughie
18 Aug 2007, 11:23
That actually looks great, bar petrie for the skin colour, but that is done really well mate! like the looks of it
quiksilver83
18 Aug 2007, 14:40
LOL yeh he was the last one that I photoshopped.... so couldn't be bothered as much at that stage. Thanks
Cosmo Kramer
20 Aug 2007, 21:11
Round 6 picks will be up in about 5-10 minutes just working them out now. Round 7 tomorrow. Sorry bout being a bit late its my b'day today so just got home from dinner. Oh also although Goldie/Chamberlein are an asset to have on any team, I have mad a decision that because they can be so influential on contests that I won't allow either to be drafted, sorry for any inconvenience.
Delisted
20 Aug 2007, 21:36
Happy Birthday :thumbsu:
Cosmo Kramer
20 Aug 2007, 21:42
Happy Birthday :thumbsu:
Thanks mate, you've picked up the NAB rising star for this year (well in my eyes anyway) Joel Selwood. Also if hawks2008premiers is reading this thread i haven't got any picks from you for the last couple of rounds, if I don't hear from you by tomorrow I will have to cut you from the contest and remove more players which I really don't want to do.
Roughie I didn't get your picks for this round, so I just used your round 5 list. Can people try to send me a list every round(as most people do) or tell me if their list is to cover a couple of rounds because my private message inbox gets really crowded if I have to keep peoples lists from previous rounds just in case.
Personally can I say I am filthy with hawka_fan and kirbatron. I came into this round saying that I was going to get a CHF or CHB, so I had in mind Scott Lucas or Sam Fisher and sure you get them with the first 2 picks in the draft, so I had to settle for Richo, who is better than them he just needs to learn how to kick.
kirbatron
20 Aug 2007, 22:22
hehe ^
Cosmo Kramer
20 Aug 2007, 22:56
hehe ^
Don't worry mate i'm picking a guy in round 7 that is all quality and i'm shocked that no one has actually gone for yet. But if only you had switched your 2 picks around, the guy you had second on your list I don't really rate. I've still gotta figure out a way to fill this hole at CHB, its not that hard to see how the hawks have such a big hole their and at FB, their just aren't that many quality tall backs around.
hawka_fan
21 Aug 2007, 08:21
How do you guys think my picks are going so far?
Brad Johnson
Paul Chapman
Brendan Lade
Ben Cousins
Mal Michael
Scott Lucas
PADJUAN
21 Aug 2007, 08:44
Brad Johnson
Paul Chapman
Brendan Lade
Ben Cousins
Mal Michael
Scott Lucas
Think your travellin nicely if ya can snatch a key back then work on your midfield..
Ive got:
Chad Cornes
Peter Burgoyne
Craig Bolton
Darren Jolly
Matthew Priddis
Quentin Lynch
Its going to be a struggle for quality talls soon, with most teams needing 1 or 2 KPPs.. Will be interesting who everyone goes after once the big name talls are gone.
kirbatron
21 Aug 2007, 09:57
Don't worry mate i'm picking a guy in round 7 that is all quality and i'm shocked that no one has actually gone for yet. But if only you had switched your 2 picks around, the guy you had second on your list I don't really rate. I've still gotta figure out a way to fill this hole at CHB, its not that hard to see how the hawks have such a big hole their and at FB, their just aren't that many quality tall backs around.
hmmmm...
i think the guy i picked 2nd is coming on ok this year - alot of work to do tho. I havent picked one forward yet.. could be costly - however i'm happy with my 6 atm.
Cosmo Kramer
21 Aug 2007, 11:21
Brad Johnson
Paul Chapman
Brendan Lade
Ben Cousins
Mal Michael
Scott Lucas
I'm biased obviously and think my own list is the best. I think you have the next best list of everyone although I think the people who are best placed are
-Badga
Jonathon Brown
Shaun Burgoyne
Brian Harris
Jarred Waite
Tim Boyle
Robert Campbell
-Roughie
Brendan Fevola
Barry Hall
Matthew Egan
Leo Barry
Josh Fraser
Ben Hudson
With key talls dissapearing quickly they have really got all posts covered. Wheras for myself i'ver gone the path of one key ff, chf,ruck,rover,fb and a goal sneak/mid. Now i just need to find a chb. I will say that the bloke I pick tonight will start a new drafting strategy for me.
xDOUG69COOLx
21 Aug 2007, 12:32
badgas list is awful and should give up immediately.
hawka_fan
21 Aug 2007, 15:54
Think your travellin nicely if ya can snatch a key back then work on your midfield..
Ive got:
Chad Cornes
Peter Burgoyne
Craig Bolton
Darren Jolly
Matthew Priddis
Quentin Lynch
Its going to be a struggle for quality talls soon, with most teams needing 1 or 2 KPPs.. Will be interesting who everyone goes after once the big name talls are gone.
i have gone with Chapman who is basically a midfielder and I will [ut him on the HFF
Roughie
21 Aug 2007, 16:37
The teams are starting to take shape and it is starting to get very interesting esspecially in the Key Position stocks!
Cosmo Kramer
21 Aug 2007, 22:04
badgas list is awful and should give up immediately.
If thats not brotherly love then I don't know what is.
Round 7 picks will be up in 5 minutes. Interesting to see that the last of the quality talls have now almost dissapeared.
Roughie
22 Aug 2007, 20:30
B:_________Leo Barry
HB:________Matthew Egan
C:
HF:________Barry Hall
F:_________Brendan Fevola
R: Josh Fraser Kane Cornes
INT:Ben Hudson
So far thats how my team is shaping up, still hoping a couple more players fall my way but I am definatly happy how my spine is shaping up.
I'm very ahppy with my team and am looking forward to a good player this round. so far i have
FB: Rutten
HB: Hunter
C: Corey
HF: T.Cloke O'Keefe
FF: Ottens
Followers: Cox
PADJUAN
22 Aug 2007, 20:55
At the moment im sitting on:
B: C Bolton
HB: C Cornes
C: P Burgoyne
HF: S Johnson
F: Q Lynch
R: D Cox M Priddis
Need one more tall for CHF then im just filling the gaps
Roughie
22 Aug 2007, 20:56
You guys have some great teams its really going to be hard when the voting comes around.
May aswell post mine aswell
Harris
Waite
S. Burgoyne
J. Brown
Boyle
Ruck: Campbell
Int: Seaby
Roughie
22 Aug 2007, 21:16
May aswell post mine aswell
Harris
Waite
S. Burgoyne
J. Brown
Boyle
Ruck: Campbell
Int: Seaby
Thats a good team I really wanted Waite for the fact of his versatility.
Cosmo Kramer
22 Aug 2007, 21:26
Interesting round, the picks will be up in 5 minutes. Definatley the shortest round we have had so far. Good to see PADJUAN got what he was wishing for and pulled a big CHF and Roughie sneaked one of the best/forgotten/underated true centremen in the game. As for myself I caved to temptation and got another centreman, expect me to go for a defender next round I desperatley need one.
Also on another note, Cynic I didn't get any round 8 picks from you and had to use your round 7 picks. Also Cynic I believe you are quietley building the youngest team of anyone by an absolute mile.
Also TheTACHAWKS I was nearly tempted to suspend you from the game, James Clement, dammn it, I was going to take him this round I thought everyone had forgotten about argueably the best backman in the game. Great pickup mate.
Cosmo Kramer
22 Aug 2007, 21:40
Considering everyone is posting their teams and how they are setting it up I may as well. People feel free to post your teams or comment on how others are going or what they lack. And yes I know I lack a CHB, I'm getting one this round (I think, or a medium foward) except I'm not sure if this guy (CHB) is rated by most people or not so its going to be an interesting, I can't remember him being on a single persons list yet.
FB: Matthew Scarlett
CHB: Coming Soon
Centre: Sam Mitchell, Brent Harvey, James Hird, Simon Goodwin
CHF: Matthew Richardson
FF: Lance Buddy Franklin
Ruck: Peter Everitt
I still haven't worked out yet if Harvey and Hird would be best in my team foward or in the centre, oh well we'll see I have the feeling though I will have too many mids and they will end up foward.
Roughie
22 Aug 2007, 21:43
Considering everyone is posting their teams and how they are setting it up I may as well. People feel free to post your teams or comment on how others are going or what they lack. And yes I know I lack a CHB, I'm getting one this round (I think, or a medium foward) except I'm not sure if this guy (CHB) is rated by most people or not so its going to be an interesting, I can't remember him being on a single persons list yet.
Lance Franklin
Matthew Scarlett
Sam Mitchell
Peter Everitt
Brent Harvey
Matthew Richardson
James Hird
Simon Goodwin
FB: Matthew Scarlett
CHB: Coming Soon
Centre: Sam Mitchell, Brent Harvey, James Hird, Simon Goodwin
CHF: Matthew Richardson
FF: Lance Buddy Franklin
Ruck: Peter Everitt
I still haven't worked out yet if Harvey and Hird would be best in my team foward or in the centre, oh well we'll see I have the feeling though I will have too many mids and they will end up foward.
Thats a great looking team mate, and having the ability to throw hird or harveys up forward looks good. If it was my team I would have Hird off the forward flank because I am sure more people would rate Harvey over Hird in the guts atleast in 07.
Cosmo Kramer
22 Aug 2007, 21:45
Thats a great looking team mate, and having the ability to throw hird or harveys up forward looks good. If it was my team I would have Hird off the forward flank because I am sure more people would rate Harvey over Hird in the guts atleast in 07.
Yeh thats interesting I was actually possibly thinking the other way. I thought people would see Hird as being most damaging in the centre. I was thinking of throwing Harvey up foward and possibly if needed throwing Goodwin to a wing or even the half back flank.
Roughie
22 Aug 2007, 21:50
Yeh thats interesting I was actually possibly thinking the other way. I thought people would see Hird as being most damaging in the centre. I was thinking of throwing Harvey up foward and possibly if needed throwing Goodwin to a wing or even the half back flank.
Well you definatly have some depth to throw your boys around, you lucky bastard haha.
Delisted
22 Aug 2007, 22:02
Nah TAChawks snagged Clement, I got Goose MqGuire. Clement was on my list though, though I thought a CBH would be better..
heres my team.
F - J Kositzke
HF - C. Mooney G. Ablett
C - A. Goodes L. Hayes
HB - M. Mcguire
B -
Rucks -
Also, Im spewin Cross is gone, I thought I could of grabbed him later on :p
Cosmo Kramer
22 Aug 2007, 22:28
Nah TAChawks snagged Clement, I got Goose MqGuire. Clement was on my list though, though I thought a CBH would be better..
heres my team.
F - J Kositzke
HF - C. Mooney G. Ablett
C - A. Goodes L. Hayes
HB - M. Mcguire
B -
Rucks -
Also, Im spewin Cross is gone, I thought I could of grabbed him later on :p
Don't sell short campbell brown and joel selwood. I can think of only one quality FB who is left (who everyone has forgot, and no I'm not saying who it is because I'm nabbing him in about 6 rounds) sorry I should say key back/foward is more accurate. As for the rucks there is still some quality out there if you look careful. Your problem like me and most others is finding the half back and foward flankers. They will be the features of the next 5-10 rounds if you ask me. I don't want to tell you who to pick but there is a FB named Firrito who kangaroo supporters think is close to GOD still available, I'm not a massive fan personally he is good but has conceeded more goals than any other FB in the comp.
Good team be interesting to see where you slot Goodes/Kositzke. Kosi could play ruck if you wanted and goodes well could play anywhere.
Does anybody want to trade some picks? I want another 9th round pick and maybe a 20th round and am willing to give up my 12th and 14th round picks.
Cosmo Kramer
22 Aug 2007, 23:06
I don't know how others feel but I just don't think that would work for oh so many reasons. Maybe at the end we could trade some players straight swap, but I'm not sure that would work either. Anyway I personally like it this way because it means you choose your own team entirely and you are in charge of your team and its makeup 100%.
Delisted
22 Aug 2007, 23:08
Don't sell short campbell brown and joel selwood. I can think of only one quality FB who is left (who everyone has forgot, and no I'm not saying who it is because I'm nabbing him in about 6 rounds) sorry I should say key back/foward is more accurate. As for the rucks there is still some quality out there if you look careful. Your problem like me and most others is finding the half back and foward flankers. They will be the features of the next 5-10 rounds if you ask me. I don't want to tell you who to pick but there is a FB named Firrito who kangaroo supporters think is close to GOD still available, I'm not a massive fan personally he is good but has conceeded more goals than any other FB in the comp.
Good team be interesting to see where you slot Goodes/Kositzke. Kosi could play ruck if you wanted and goodes well could play anywhere.
I actually Just forgot about Brown and Selwood haha. As for rucks I have three that can pinch hit it, being Goodes, Kosi and Mooney. I can think of a few qaulity backs going around also and a few HFF's that im surprised havent been picked up.
Franklin and Richo could be a nice combo youd think.
Roughie
22 Aug 2007, 23:14
Does anybody want to trade some picks? I want another 9th round pick and maybe a 20th round and am willing to give up my 12th and 14th round picks.
I would love to but there is some one I have my eye on this round, I guess you want to reach to get some one this round? I would probably do a trade like that maybe next round? But not in the 9th
Cosmo Kramer
22 Aug 2007, 23:16
I actually Just forgot about Brown and Selwood haha. As for rucks I have three that can pinch hit it, being Goodes, Kosi and Mooney. I can think of a few qaulity backs going around also and a few HFF's that im surprised havent been picked up.
Franklin and Richo could be a nice combo youd think.
Yeh I'm going to play Richo so far away from goal though that he will never get the chance to shoot for goal, I will keep the crunch shots at goal for buddy and jimmy hird.
Cosmo Kramer
22 Aug 2007, 23:23
I would love to but there is some one I have my eye on this round, I guess you want to reach to get some one this round? I would probably do a trade like that maybe next round? But not in the 9th
Lets not trade picks, 1. It doesn't really achieve anything and 2. It makes it hard for me to work out the picks for each round then if the order is changing all the time.
Im open to at the end of the draft trading players but I don't think I will personally, the challenge and the fun bit I reckon is working our wether you go for kane cornes or mooney and deciding on which players you should get first and if a daniel cross will last a couple more rounds.
Also Roughie I have a feeling who you are going for this round (very underated player, close to AA this year), you are a couple of picks in front of me and I think you're going to select one of the two guys i'm tossing up between.
Roughie
22 Aug 2007, 23:32
Lets not trade picks, 1. It doesn't really achieve anything and 2. It makes it hard for me to work out the picks for each round then if the order is changing all the time.
Im open to at the end of the draft trading players but I don't think I will personally, the challenge and the fun bit I reckon is working our wether you go for kane cornes or mooney and deciding on which players you should get first and if a daniel cross will last a couple more rounds.
Also Roughie I have a feeling who you are going for this round (very underated player, close to AA this year), you are a couple of picks in front of me and I think you're going to select one of the two guys i'm tossing up between.
Yeah I think you know who I am going for but also have two in the wings that have slipped a bit aswell.
PADJUAN
23 Aug 2007, 07:35
didnt Lewis go pick 1 in round 5? was he on one of the withdrawn teams?
hawka_fan
23 Aug 2007, 07:57
FB:---,Michael,---
HB:Gilbee,Mcpharlin,---
C:---------
HF:Chapman,Lucas,---
FF:---,Johnson,---
F:Lade,Cousins
INT:
i'm happy with my backline and forward but i'm not sure whether to play Chapman off the HFF or in the centre as he basically is a midfielder.
i need to pick a few more mids but i'm dirty that goodwin and power are gone.
I haven't really picked to many mids yet as there are tons of them as compared to good forwards and backs.
Cosmo Kramer
23 Aug 2007, 10:06
didnt Lewis go pick 1 in round 5? was he on one of the withdrawn teams?
Lewis went last round from memory. I think you were the person who had a bit of a confused list and you said right just replace hodge with lewis if he isn't available and I said pick 1 of round 5 would be lewis because I had Badga's 1 selection (Lewis) what happened is he switched his mind and changed to Tim Boyle, thats maybe where you got confused.
Cosmo Kramer
23 Aug 2007, 10:08
FB:---,Michael,---
HB:Gilbee,Mcpharlin,---
C:---------
HF:Chapman,Lucas,---
FF:---,Johnson,---
F:Lade,Cousins
INT:
i'm happy with my backline and forward but i'm not sure whether to play Chapman off the HFF or in the centre as he basically is a midfielder.
i need to pick a few more mids but i'm dirty that goodwin and power are gone.
I haven't really picked to many mids yet as there are tons of them as compared to good forwards and backs.
Chapman should definatley play foward and dont worry I'm glad to have Goodwin but dirty that Power didn't slip down to the next round or 2.