View Full Version : Minor annoyance down Moorabbin way

NeXus_Helen
10 Aug 2007, 15:08
I rang the club earlier today to confirm if they were showing the Sydney game on the big screen. The receptionist said they don't do that anymore!!! When I asked her why she explained that at the start of the season when it looked like Foxtel were not going to be showing the footy they cancelled their subscription.:eek::eek:

Is this a joke or what?? I remember 15 years ago going to the Trevor Barker room and having dinner while watching the game live. It was wall to wall people and tables. In more recent times they have had the big screen nights with the bar doing a roaring trade and the snags and burgers sizzling away just outside in the grandstand. Now they have nothing.

This is a pathetic farce and just proves how far away we really are from being a professional organization!!! That's fine, if they don't want my money I'll just go to the Mathew Flinders Hotel.:o:o:mad::mad:

Saints Premiers 2006
10 Aug 2007, 15:36
I rang the club earlier today to confirm if they were showing the Sydney game on the big screen. The receptionist said they don't do that anymore!!! When I asked her why she explained that at the start of the season when it looked like Foxtel were not going to be showing the footy they cancelled their subscription.:eek::eek:

Is this a joke or what?? I remember 15 years ago going to the Trevor Barker room and having dinner while watching the game live. It was wall to wall people and tables. In more recent times they have had the big screen nights with the bar doing a roaring trade and the snags and burgers sizzling away just outside in the grandstand. Now they have nothing.

This is a pathetic farce and just proves how far away we really are from being a professional organization!!! That's fine, if they don't want my money I'll just go to the Mathew Flinders Hotel.:o:o:mad::mad:

my dad used to manage the matthew flinders in the 70s and 80s during its heyday...random

ChrisFooty
10 Aug 2007, 15:44
Just go to the flinders hotel then. I'm sure by next year they will get their foxtel subscription back (depends on demand)

I would disagree. I don't think there are big problems down at the club. Just because they canceled their foxtel subscription, doesn't mean the club is in dissaray.

Qsaint
10 Aug 2007, 15:53
How many games, or more specifically Night games have we been on Foxtel? Wouldn't be many this year

ChrisFooty
10 Aug 2007, 15:58
How many games, or more specifically Night games have we been on Foxtel? Wouldn't be many this year

Essendon (Round 4, Saturday Arvo)
Geelong (Round 10, Sunday twilight)
West Coast (round 12, sunday twilight)
Hawthorn (Round 16, Saturday Night)

The swans encounter will be our last foxtel match for the year.

panthers
10 Aug 2007, 16:00
nexus helen I can understand your frustration but also i can understand the Clubs stance. We are lucky to have the game on fox 5 times this season. You must realise that the fee to have Foxtel in a Hotel or a Club is a fairly expensive exercise. There isnt really a need for the club to outlay a fairly hefty amount to have foxtel on. Solve the problem yourself by getting foxtel at your house:) then you wouldnt have this problem :)

Qsaint
10 Aug 2007, 16:03
Essendon (Round 4, Saturday Arvo)
Geelong (Round 10, Sunday twilight)
West Coast (round 12, sunday twilight)
Hawthorn (Round 16, Saturday Night)

The swans encounter will be our last foxtel match for the year.

So only one other Saturday Night where the club could make some real $$$

Sunday twilights and afternoons don't quite cut it

JeffDunne
10 Aug 2007, 16:20
I think it's a valid criticism of the club. This isn't the first time this issue has come up this year.

I can understand not holding it at at the club but it wouldn't take too much organisation to find a venue more than willing to be host to a club function where members/supporters can watch the game together. Hell, we should do it even if it's on FTA. The club might not make much out of it, but it would be a great service to members if they knew where they could go with fellow Sainters to watch the game on a big screen.

Half Back Pocket
10 Aug 2007, 17:14
I think it's a valid criticism of the club. This isn't the first time this issue has come up this year.

I can understand not holding it at at the club but it wouldn't take too much organisation to find a venue more than willing to be host to a club function where members/supporters can watch the game together. Hell, we should do it even if it's on FTA. The club might not make much out of it, but it would be a great service to members if they knew where they could go with fellow Sainters to watch the game on a big screen.

I agree Jeff, however, it surely doesn't deserve the Thread Heading "Big problems down Moorabbin way". There's no need to over-dramatise this particular situation.
I quickly logged on expecting to see some sort of player scandal!!!!

JeffDunne
10 Aug 2007, 17:37
I agree with that HBP. I too had my concerns when I saw the title.

Kildonan
10 Aug 2007, 18:38
I edited the thread title as it was unnecessarily alarming.

Helen - if it took this long for you to find out that they no longer held these nights, then it would seem that you probably would not have attended many of these events this year anyway.
Your outrage seems a little bit of an overreaction in that case.

I do agree with you in principle though. The big screen with a whole bunch of like-minded individuals brought together by the love of the Saints. The club probably has plans to create a state of the art viewing centre in the new St kilda headquarters when all that is decided.

Don't forget to attend the AGM in the off-season to put forward your support for just such a viewing centre.

Fehring
10 Aug 2007, 21:03
I agree Jeff, however, it surely doesn't deserve the Thread Heading "Big problems down Moorabbin way". There's no need to over-dramatise this particular situation.
I quickly logged on expecting to see some sort of player scandal!!!!

Funnily enough, I kind of knew that it wasn't going to be anything important. This is bigfooty after all. We ain't saving the world.

sauce_head
10 Aug 2007, 23:18
I think the critisism is fair, it is meant to be a club for the supporters as well. It would not hurt to show the games, or organise a function. Personally, I would not go, but the club should be the one stop football shop.

Funnily enough, I kind of knew that it wasn't going to be anything important. This is bigfooty after all. We ain't saving the world.

I was about to say the same thing. Over-reaction and big footy go hand in hand, AND I AM DAMM WELL SICK OF IT!

Emmo
11 Aug 2007, 17:47

great pup used to live just arround the corner great pool tables.

But getting back to the topic you would think that a club(business) could justify the $40 a month if they are going to be pulling a couple of $K over the bar every 3 or 4 weeks.

NeXus_Helen
21 Sep 2007, 13:32

BUMP.

Hopefully Westaway can afford to pay the Foxtel subscription:D

Fehring
21 Sep 2007, 14:33
BUMP.

Hopefully Westaway can afford to pay the Foxtel subscription:D

Well, his only policy is to spend more money on stuff, so you maybe in luck NH.

Ice-Wolf
24 Sep 2007, 09:58
Well, his only policy is to spend more money on stuff, so you maybe in luck NH.

Yeah but i think they plan to focus more on Football than Foxtel

sauce_head
24 Sep 2007, 23:20
As long as you "think" that, and do not know it. May as well vote for them hey? (appologies if you have not but 1000s already have).

NeXus_Helen
26 Oct 2007, 10:08
Has Westaway paid for FOXTEL yet?:cool:

Persevering Saint
26 Oct 2007, 11:12
Has Westaway paid for FOXTEL yet?:cool:
If you DO end up ditching your membership for the Saints, NH, maybe you should become a Bulldog - you do enjoy gnawing on the same ol' bone, don't you...