View Full Version : sydney swans umpiring

moyledog
11th August 2007, 21:31
the standard of umpiring tonight has been nothing short of pathetic??? i have lost count of how many time the saints have been totally ripped off! who also thinks craig bolton is the biggest dud EVER!!!!

rb214
11th August 2007, 21:34
the standard of umpiring tonight has been nothing short of pathetic??? i have lost count of how many time the saints have been totally ripped off! who also thinks craig bolton is the biggest dud EVER!!!!

I agree 100% regarding the umpires Sydney are milking it. I have seen about five of them dive.

Bombers_Forever
11th August 2007, 21:54
I agree 100% regarding the umpires Sydney are milking it. I have seen about five of them dive.

They have done it for many years but if they get away with it and the umpires give you frees, you would be stupid not to continue with it.

arakaan
11th August 2007, 22:08
yeah we won the free kick count in a game 3 times this season because the umps love us. :rolleyes:

I can feel the Finals Fear from here and it is great. :D

Wally07
11th August 2007, 22:09
Just jumped onto this board for this very reason. It has cost the saints the match.

Was funny to see a sydney goal before and thought "sh*t the umps didn't have any involvement with it."

SMFC
11th August 2007, 22:17
Sooky sooky la-la.

Bloods were the better team and there was bad decisions both ways.

Top 4 here we come. :)

hotdish
11th August 2007, 22:21
i usually don't take digs at umpires - they are humans and make mistakes.

BUT, how the hell did Attard not get a free for getting run through in the last few minutes.

the guy was nearly killed - I thought that if you put your head over the ball, that umps take care of the player.

I can't express my anger enough.

SMFC
11th August 2007, 22:25

BUT, how the hell did Attard not get a free for getting run through in the last few minutes.

the guy was nearly killed - I thought that if you put your head over the ball, that umps take care of the player.

The ball was 50/50. 2 players going for the ball.

Wouldn't hinge the game on that decision though, but rather your untalented list. :thumbsu:

Stenglein's a Champ!
11th August 2007, 22:28
Wouldn't hinge the game on that decision though, but rather your untalented list. :thumbsu:

Untalented list?

The Saints have had one of the best lists for the past few seasons.

Injuries have been an absolute bitch to them though.

Scotland
Worse than the Dogs/Dees game?

sen entertainment bloke

Brownlow votes tonight.

SMFC
11th August 2007, 22:29
Brownlow votes tonight.

3 of them infact. :thumbsu:

moyledog
11th August 2007, 22:31
i am never going to watch the swans play again!!! i would rather watch an under 12s game than watch a sydney swans snooze fest! but i do like the paul roos game plan, bore your opposition to death and when the other team are having power naps, go in for the kill!!!!!

caboose
11th August 2007, 22:36

Shocking decision. But only one of many in the Swans' favour tonight.

And certainly not as bad as the one down the other end when Dal Santo grabbed the ball in defence for all of a milisecond before being tackled, and then had his head nearly knocked off by Hall, only to be pinged for HTB straight in front of Sydney's goal.

Some of these umpires are so witless it's just unbelievable.

saintsownthedome
11th August 2007, 22:52
They made some mistakes tonight which cost the Saints goals (Dal Santo getting called for holding the ball in front of goal, Schmidt's 'mark' in the last quarter) but the Saints poor disposal and not putting scores on the board when they really outplayed the Swans in the first half were the reason for the end result.

swanniez1983
11th August 2007, 22:54
i am never going to watch the swans play again!!! i would rather watch an under 12s game than watch a sydney swans snooze fest! but i do like the paul roos game plan, bore your opposition to death and when the other team are having power naps, go in for the kill!!!!!

So not watching next week's game? ;)

FixterFan
11th August 2007, 22:55

And certainly not as bad as the one down the other end when Dal Santo grabbed the ball in defence for all of a milisecond before being tackled, and then had his head nearly knocked off by Hall, only to be pinged for HTB straight in front of Sydney's goal.

What about the one where McVeigh had the ball for one millisecond before getting gang tackled and done for holding the ball? Or the one where the ball was in a pack, Bevan picked it up, got pushed in the back and was sat upon by 3 St Kilda players and was also caught holding the ball? Or the one where Brennan was caught high on the wing when he was going for the ball?

The umpires were red hot on holding the ball tonight - and I'm with you in that the inconsistency from week to week is just unbelievably frustrating. And that goes for both teams. We still lost the free kick count 27-26, in case you didn't notice, and "goals from frees" were 4-2 in our favour. Our better tackling played a part in this, overall I think it would be fair to say we were marginal beneficiaries of the umpires' inconsistency by 1 goal or so.

rufus t firefly
11th August 2007, 22:58
Sooky sooky la-la.

Bloods were the better team and there was bad decisions both ways.

Top 4 here we come. :)

Don't give me that Bloods rubbish - you are the Swans, a soulless Sydney franchise.

No-one can pretend that was a fair contest. Utterly disgusting.

SMFC
11th August 2007, 23:05
Don't give me that Bloods rubbish - you are the Swans, a soulless Sydney franchise.

No-one can pretend that was a fair contest. Utterly disgusting.

Pretty hot headed after the loss tonight are we?

Are you waving goodbye to your Premiership window?

Did you even have one to begin with?

ChrisL#12
Sydney supporters are so biased. Anybody could see we got the short end of the stick and still the Sydney faithful carry on. There were some absolutely disgraceful decisions that were paid to Sydney and hence at least 4 goals came of them. The result was the way it was due to the poor umpiring despite what you Sydney pricks say.

SMFC
Sydney supporters are so biased. Anybody could see we got the short end of the stick and still the Sydney faithful carry on. There were some absolutely disgraceful decisions that were paid to Sydney and hence at least 4 goals came of them. The result was the way it was due to the poor umpiring despite what you Sydney pricks say.

They were bad both ways.

Can't you accept that?

rufus t firefly
12th August 2007, 00:07
Pretty hot headed after the loss tonight are we?

Are you waving goodbye to your Premiership window?

Did you even have one to begin with?

I'm not a pathetic glory hunter.

Three years ago, when Sydney played in Melbourne, no-one was there to support them just as no-one supported them 25 years ago. In three years time, when they're rubbish again, they will no have no fans again.

There is a team in English football called MK Dons that killed Wimbledon - Sydney are their equivalent.

You could win the next 10 premierships and you wouldn't be taken seriously.

Hot headed and proud of it. But then you franchise fans wouldn't understand.

CAS79
12th August 2007, 00:09

Three years ago, when Sydney played in Melbourne, no-one was there to support them just as no-one supported them 25 years ago. In three years time, when they're rubbish again, they will no have no fans again.

There is a team in English football called MK Dons that killed Wimbledon - Sydney are their equivalent.

There was no one there in melbourne 2004... your not looking hard enough.

There has been a solid melbourne support for the swans since 95.. Back in 93 it was just me and my dad but.

Rough_Edges
12th August 2007, 00:10
9 goals from free kicks for the Swans..not directly...but the fre e played a part in it.

We were nothing short of terrible tonight though, it doesn't help.

Especially when we are up by 9 or so and Dal gets an elbow to the face from Barry 'dive' Hall and then he gets pinged for holding the ball.

Also the one on the flank when O'Keefe dragged it in to one of our players and the umpire is stupid enough to still pay holding the ball.

Both result in goals and Sydney get the lead.

****ing idiots.

Glenn_
12th August 2007, 00:31

Damn I must be a pathetic glory hunter sitting through the late 80's early
90's watching the Swans rack up loss after loss :rolleyes:
As for the umps the dodgy calls goes both ways, G-Train not getting pinged for a HTB running into a open goal and tackled by Craig Bolton for one :confused:

sen entertainment bloke
12th August 2007, 08:18
Both sides got penalized for non prior opportunity unfairly. That rule is out of hand.

No1SwansFan
12th August 2007, 11:26

Guys seriously the umpiring was pathetic both ways. McLaren could have been hung by Sydney supporters. You lot arent tking any notice of the nes that were missed for Sydney last night too. You talk of the Dal Santo incident which happened in an almost identical way at the other end in favour of the Saints. Im the first to admit the umpiring was a digrace last night but it was both ways they missed an awful lot in both directions.

No1SwansFan
12th August 2007, 11:30
Damn I must be a pathetic glory hunter sitting through the late 80's early
90's watching the Swans rack up loss after loss :rolleyes:
As for the umps the dodgy calls goes both ways, G-Train not getting pinged for a HTB running into a open goal and tackled by Craig Bolton for one :confused:
Again same thing happened at the other end on McVeigh with no free kick awarded. Happened right in front of me with the number 30 umpire not 7 or 8 feet away and on the same ange as we were so he would have seen it. How about the fact that Schneider's (i think it was) head was nearly ripped off coat hanger style right in front of he umpire n the wing yet he gets away with it. Or the saints goal that came from X. Clarke running over the behind line. And how about Milne being over the boundary line so far that he even had a look himself. Just think about it.

No1SwansFan
12th August 2007, 11:37
Couldnt have anything to do with the old and totally unfit for football Gherig sitting on the bench for most of the last quarter. All he needed was a blanket and a pillow. He will have plenty of time to sleep in gaol i guess.

giantsully
12th August 2007, 11:45
The umpiring was just disgraceful - how McLaren continues to be considered one of the game's elite umpires is beyond me.

And for the first time I can remember in a very long time the Swans did very well out of it indeed - the high tackle call on Mathews & the Schmidt "mark" were just appalling decisions (and unquestionably critical in terms of the game's result).

Still, I just see it as some sort of downpayment for the rapings we've received from the umps when we've played you in the past, including the first round this season and the 2005 prelim final.

giantsully
12th August 2007, 11:52
Both sides got penalized for non prior opportunity unfairly. That rule is out of hand.

The only thing you could say about their interpretation of this rule last night was that it was consistent. Consistently appalling.

Seriously, there were moments last night when you felt like you were watching a church bingo game - the umpire would blow the whistle and 15 players would stop, wondering who's number was going to get called.

I've watched the game for 30+ years and there were probably 15-20 decisions from last night that I still don't understand why they were given.

Bloody dreadful.

mattyh
12th August 2007, 11:57

Post of the year. At least our club has heart and soul and a premiership to show for it. My friend, your premiership window has shut again.

Jizza9
12th August 2007, 13:09
who also thinks craig bolton is the biggest dud EVER!!!!
Fraser Gherig would probably disagree.

caboose
12th August 2007, 14:58
What about the one where McVeigh had the ball for one millisecond before getting gang tackled and done for holding the ball? Or the one where the ball was in a pack, Bevan picked it up, got pushed in the back and was sat upon by 3 St Kilda players and was also caught holding the ball? Or the one where Brennan was caught high on the wing when he was going for the ball?

The umpires were red hot on holding the ball tonight - and I'm with you in that the inconsistency from week to week is just unbelievably frustrating. And that goes for both teams. We still lost the free kick count 27-26, in case you didn't notice, and "goals from frees" were 4-2 in our favour. Our better tackling played a part in this, overall I think it would be fair to say we were marginal beneficiaries of the umpires' inconsistency by 1 goal or so.

Guys seriously the umpiring was pathetic both ways. McLaren could have been hung by Sydney supporters. You lot arent tking any notice of the nes that were missed for Sydney last night too. You talk of the Dal Santo incident which happened in an almost identical way at the other end in favour of the Saints. Im the first to admit the umpiring was a digrace last night but it was both ways they missed an awful lot in both directions.

I'm not saying I have the energy or patience to do it. But I guarantee both of you that, if we were go through the match incident by incident for bad umpiring decisions, then it'd be clear that St Kilda got the worst of it. Very clear.

It was actually a much better result for me (as it suited Essendon) for the Swans to win. But I was disgusted at how bad - and how favourable to Sydney - the umpiring was. What St Kilda copped last night was a disgrace, plain and simple.

How about the fact that Schneider's (i think it was) head was nearly ripped off coat hanger style right in front of he umpire n the wing yet he gets away with it. Or the saints goal that came from X. Clarke running over the behind line.

Your case certainly isn't improved when you cite incidents like this.

Schneider very clearly took a dive in the instance above, and the umpire (thankfully for once) was smart enough to recognise that it was a pathetic piece of staging. The replay showed this in spades. There was not even so much as any contact to the head at all, let alone a "coat hanger" like you reckon. I'm guessing of course that, if Lloyd had been caught taking such a dive, it would have probably attracted about 10 separate threads on the main BF board by now. :)

As for the X.Clarke goal, that's also nonsense. He clearly kept the ball in play (his feet were perhaps very marginally over the line but the ball wasn't) and, again, the replay proved this.

smasha
12th August 2007, 16:27
This game the Saints got shafted.

All the little 50/50s went to Sydney,the AFL's lovechild.

Ted Ed Fred
12th August 2007, 17:39
The Saints were robbed. Vlad is obviously desperate for another "growth market" flag before Sydney's lack of youth catches up with them and they bottom out for a decade.

Sydney deserve nothing :thumbsd:

TheMase
12th August 2007, 17:41
The umpiring was very poor overall. Sydney probably had slightly the better of it (which we rarely do, lovechild rubbish).

The reason we won the game however, was because we played better football for four quarters. The umpires had no influence on the result.

swanniez1983
12th August 2007, 17:41
The Saints were robbed. Vlad is obviously desperate for another "growth market" flag before Sydney's lack of youth catches up with them and they bottom out for a decade.

Sydney deserve nothing :thumbsd:

Lol...the eagles have a cry after last week and they get a gift run with the umpires this week. No surprises there :rolleyes:

FixterFan
12th August 2007, 17:47
The umpiring in today's West Coast-Kangaroos game is way more biased than anything that happened in the Swans-Saints match. I mean, Kerr throws his head back like he'd been shot every time he's touched, and all the Eagles players lunge forward as soon as they're tackled to milk in-the-back free kicks. In the end the goals from free kicks count ended up 6-1 in West Coast's favour (and that's ignoring the 3 or so misses that West Coast had from more free kicks inside 50).

Swans were favoured in yesterday's match by a goal's difference or so (usually, in Swans games it is our opponents who are favoured by 2 goals or so). Not a decisive factor as such, and believe me, Swans fans have seen much worse umpiring against them year after year after year.

bleeding red and white
12th August 2007, 17:53
**** saints supporters are whingers! GET OVER IT! you were clearly beaten by the better team and now just because your preety much out of the finals race you all start to sook sook sook!

Look how many ****ing times the swans have been buried by the level of umpiring over the past few years, we bearly come out on top in the free kick count. You can even look back to last time we met, the level of umpiring there was disgraceful, i can remember umpire Ryan making a lot of bad decisions BUT at the end of the day i went on with it without whinging or raving on.

Juza
12th August 2007, 18:22
Their HOB yesterday night was hopeless.

They could have payed it either way.

ChikoRoll
12th August 2007, 18:24
I know Stkildon will prob yellow card me again for this - but to be fair i am just replying to this idiots dribble.

hahah it's so sweet beating the aints. Just too see the hate go through their veins. Ask us about how it feels to watch our team win a flag?! You know the pathetic rabble that has had a hardcore supporter base since 96 (thats um 11 years now..would that qualifying for the longest ever bandwagon?) and what do the aints have to show since that period? Nothing but negative results and a sad culture that even gifts from a draft a few years ago to make you once again competitive - failed. Terrible club with a terrible history! Must hurt that the only picture and footage your club has of a premiership glory the players are seen wearing collingwood tops - regardless of the custom of the time.

http://localhistory.kingston.vic.gov.au/img/article/238_5.jpg

Oh well maybe one day.

http://www.smh.com.au/ffximage/2005/09/24/swanswin_wideweb__430x291.jpg

CARN BLOODS!

:thumbsu:

J-swan
12th August 2007, 18:55
I know Stkildon will prob yellow card me again for this - but to be fair i am just replying to this idiots dribble.

hahah it's so sweet beating the aints. Just too see the hate go through their veins. Ask us about how it feels to watch our team win a flag?! You know the pathetic rabble that has had a hardcore supporter base since 96 (thats um 11 years now..would that qualifying for the longest ever bandwagon?) and what do the aints have to show since that period? Nothing but negative results and a sad culture that even gifts from a draft a few years ago to make you once again competitive - failed. Terrible club with a terrible history! Must hurt that the only picture and footage your club has of a premiership glory the players are seen wearing collingwood tops - regardless of the custom of the time.

http://localhistory.kingston.vic.gov.au/img/article/238_5.jpg

Oh well maybe one day.

http://www.smh.com.au/ffximage/2005/09/24/swanswin_wideweb__430x291.jpg

CARN BLOODS!

:thumbsu:

Hahaha, I can turn my little computer off now and rest for the evening as I have read the absolute, number one thread of all time! Congrats Chicko :thumbsu:

swantastic
12th August 2007, 19:20
the standard of umpiring tonight has been nothing short of pathetic??? i have lost count of how many time the saints have been totally ripped off! who also thinks craig bolton is the biggest dud EVER!!!!You are dead set ******** mate,with a comment like that it just goes to show every one that YOU know nothing about football.

Liesha
13th August 2007, 13:08

Im sure the Swans are crying on the inside because you wont watch them play anymore :p

The game plan cant be too bad, back to back GF appearances and a premiership, I aint complaining.

flyinghi64
13th August 2007, 15:15
Sydney Swans are the most protected AFL side by the ump's and that even includes Collingwood. Barry Hall is the only player who can be tackled 3 times in the same contest, turn 720 degrees and be called "play on" except for maybe Goodes.

Whenever people people jump on and say they were ripped off or the Eagles were favoured by the ump's (I use Eagles as an example as they are my team) I say wait till you play Sydney and then you will see favourtism.
Don't feel bad Saints fans, just like the Pies play 15 times on their home ground and the tribunal is like rolling a dice, the Swans will be protected/favoured by the Ump's.:rolleyes:

SCARD
13th August 2007, 15:17
To all Sydney supporters; don't get sucked in by this pathetic mob known as St Kilda. They are losers with a loser mentality. Talented list but no heart and this is reflected in their supporters. Ignore them. They have no understanding of the game or its rules and no appreciation of teams with inferior lists that beat them. I understand they are using St Kilda supporters in scientific experiments. Yes, there are some things rats won't do.

ChikoRoll
13th August 2007, 15:39
Sydney Swans are the most protected AFL side by the ump's and that even includes Collingwood. Barry Hall is the only player who can be tackled 3 times in the same contest, turn 720 degrees and be called "play on" except for maybe Goodes.

Whenever people people jump on and say they were ripped off or the Eagles were favoured by the ump's (I use Eagles as an example as they are my team) I say wait till you play Sydney and then you will see favourtism.
Don't feel bad Saints fans, just like the Pies play 15 times on their home ground and the tribunal is like rolling a dice, the Swans will be protected/favoured by the Ump's.:rolleyes:

I wouldn't say a word illegal. If any club or team is protected by the AFL the illegals are. A team riddled with criminals and a history of tarnishing the AFL brand and the AFL does nothing at all..heck rthe CEO goes and pays ICE MAN a personal visit to re assure him he can do whatever he wants.

Scum.

swanniez1983
13th August 2007, 16:09

This coming from an Eagles fan.

Free kick ladder based on for vs against

#1 Eagles
#16 Swans

So how are the swans favoured by the umps? :rolleyes:

Try again when you have something vaguely intelligent to contribute

Sedition
13th August 2007, 16:26
i am never going to watch the swans play again!!!

Wat and miss GF2007?:)

legend166
13th August 2007, 21:09

#1 Eagles
#16 Swans

More people need to see that statistic. Do you have a link? I want to make a thread on the main board.

swanniez1983
13th August 2007, 22:29
More people need to see that statistic. Do you have a link? I want to make a thread on the main board.

http://afl.allthestats.com/statistics/diffladders.php?ty=3

There ya go :)

flyinghi64
14th August 2007, 10:30

#1 Eagles
#16 Swans

It's not how many it's where, when and why.
Intelligent enough for you?

swanniez1983
14th August 2007, 17:36

So....what's your point? You haven't really explained how the umpires favour the swans. Simply stating a few swans players get away with holding the ball decisions doesn't really explain your belief, particularly given that Judd does the same.

Stats show that the swans give away more free kicks than what they receive. This can be partially attributed to the swans' gamestyle.

Do you think the difference in terms of the free kick count (FOR versus AGAINST) for the swans should in fact be far greater? If so, what do you think the % gap between FOR and AGAINST should be in order for you to believe that the swans aren't being favoured by the umpires? It's currently sitting on ~85% (compared to 124% for the Eagles).

Footylover1
14th August 2007, 18:16

I shall remember that the next time West Coast gets dudded with the free kick count. ;)

Footylover1
14th August 2007, 18:18
To all Sydney supporters; don't get sucked in by this pathetic mob known as St Kilda. They are losers with a loser mentality. Talented list but no heart and this is reflected in their supporters. Ignore them. They have no understanding of the game or its rules and no appreciation of teams with inferior lists that beat them. I understand they are using St Kilda supporters in scientific experiments. Yes, there are some things rats won't do.

Well said mate! I find St.Kilda supporters the most pathetic sore losers in the AFL.

Mitchell Madness
14th August 2007, 18:19
so when a few of us hawks complained we are just complaining, yet you mob think you have it hard? we had a chance to pump the swans, but every time we went near the ball we got done for holding it. either you agree we also had a tough trot witht he umps vs the swans, or stop being such a twat:D

Footylover1
14th August 2007, 18:20
so when a few of us hawks complained we are just complaining, yet you mob think you have it hard? we had a chance to pump the swans, but every time we went near the ball we got done for holding it. either you agree we also had a tough trot witht he umps vs the swans, or stop being such a twat:D

Every team gets dudded by the umps with the exception of the Eagles and yet the Aints supporters think they're the only team that gets dudded. They should really have a look at their free kick count for the season to realise who gets looked after.

SWANNIES RULE
14th August 2007, 18:38
Originally Posted by SCARD http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=8396618#post8396618)

Well said.

flyinghi64
14th August 2007, 19:12
So....what's your point? You haven't really explained how the umpires favour the swans. Simply stating a few swans players get away with holding the ball decisions doesn't really explain your belief, particularly given that Judd does the same.

Stats show that the swans give away more free kicks than what they receive. This can be partially attributed to the swans' gamestyle.

Do you think the difference in terms of the free kick count (FOR versus AGAINST) for the swans should in fact be far greater? If so, what do you think the % gap between FOR and AGAINST should be in order for you to believe that the swans aren't being favoured by the umpires? It's currently sitting on ~85% (compared to 124% for the Eagles).

What I am trying to point out is that it seems as though when the Swans play, and this in no part a dig at or blame of, the games are umpired in different halves or qtrs. What you were able to do and get away with in the first qtr is suddenly a free kick when the game is up for grabs in the last qtr.
When this happens against Sydney it is generally a close game and still up for grabs in the last qtr and one or two cheap easy free kicks can swing the momentum of a game, especially if it is for things that have happened all day and not been paid.
Very frustrating.

Footylover1
14th August 2007, 19:15
What I am trying to point out is that it seems as though when the Swans play, and this in no part a dig at or blame of, the games are umpired in different halves or qtrs. What you were able to do and get away with in the first qtr is suddenly a free kick when the game is up for grabs in the last qtr.
When this happens against Sydney it is generally a close game and still up for grabs in the last qtr and one or two cheap easy free kicks can swing the momentum of a game, especially if it is for things that have happened all day and not been paid.
Very frustrating.

I wonder what you think of the soft pathetic free kick that was paid to Daniel Kerr on the weekend which turned the game around for the Illeagles? :rolleyes:

SWANNIES RULE
14th August 2007, 19:37
Very frustrating.

Cry me a river.

flyinghi64
15th August 2007, 11:25
Cry me a river.

I thought this thread was for you guys to do this.:confused:

flyinghi64
15th August 2007, 11:27
I wonder what you think of the soft pathetic free kick that was paid to Daniel Kerr on the weekend which turned the game around for the Illeagles? :rolleyes:

Did you watch the Roos Eagles game on the weekend?
Good game wasn't it.

Footylover1
15th August 2007, 16:35
Good game wasn't it.

Despite that one free kick which was wrong yes it was a good game. ;)

SWANNIES RULE
15th August 2007, 18:29
Good game wasn't it.

Yep. Have a go at the way Sydney games are umpired but close up shop when the spotlight turns to the favourable weagles umpiring.