View Full Version : Time to rest Gibbs and Murphy?

Alpha1
15 Aug 2007, 17:55
What do you guys think? Should we rest the two young guns especially Gibbs? He has played the whole season without a proper pre season and he prolly nned the rest more than most, what do you guys think?

EddieBettsIsAChamp
15 Aug 2007, 17:57
No ways. Experience is what they both need, Gibbs more than the Murph. Gibbsy has been showing some good form lately and I hope he continues it this weekend. Murphy is in spectacular nick, he's played a good year despite being tagged and we need him on the weekend and for the other 2 weeks to come to play the midfielder role.

Pamam
15 Aug 2007, 17:58
What do you guys think? Should we rest the two young guns especially Gibbs? He has played the whole season without a proper pre season and he prolly nned the rest more than most, what do you guys think?

i will rip up my membership if we rest those boys!!

and i am serious!!!

we have 3 games left. we are playing for more than just a win.

we are playing for the ability for the guys to play as a team, to unite!!

if we were to rest them i think this would not send a good message to them.

and quite frankly i dont want it to happen!

marcmurphy3
15 Aug 2007, 17:58
No these guys would be better off getting more games under their belt.

Gibbs himself has stated a number of times that it is his goal to play 22 games this year so I doubt he would want to miss games

Bluebear
15 Aug 2007, 17:59

Bit late now.
I would have given Gibbs a week off for either Sydney or Brissie, and let him freshen up for the last half of the season. With only a couple of games left theres not much point.

The only reason to rest Murph would be to tank.

He is a second year player now - should run out the season.:thumbsu:

HBF
15 Aug 2007, 18:05
Nah, let them play for the rest of the year. It's only 3 more games.

AndyWalkersGirl
15 Aug 2007, 18:18
No point. There are only 3 games left. If we were to have rested them, it should have been around the mid-season break.

If anything, perhaps play them on and off the bench, or a forward pocket IF they are feeling tired and run down. However, that's only if they are feeling that way.

Otherwise, experiment with them, especially Gibbs, let them play, and have fun.

blue gunslinger
15 Aug 2007, 18:18
Like Gibbs to continue not playing out back. Unless he is suffering with that ankle chuck him in the middle or in the forward line and lets see how he does!
Long days and happy nights
Out of chaos comes order

strat
15 Aug 2007, 18:19
rest???? they are AFL players for God's sake why would we need to rest them??????

[ToTTi]
15 Aug 2007, 18:28
Definitely not... If anything the older guys should be rested and prepared for next year, but unfortunately (or fortunately) we don't really have any old-timers who will be playing on next year...

The time is now for all the young kids to be played, not rested!

parrot
15 Aug 2007, 18:29
Not against them having a rest. Setanta should also be given a rest. And with Thornton having his end-of-season surgery, it will give some Bullants players a chance. :)

blue gunslinger
15 Aug 2007, 18:52
Not against them having a rest. Setanta should also be given a rest. And with Thornton having his end-of-season surgery, it will give some Bullants players a chance. :)

Gee I reckon I could do with a "rest" and have earnt it.Of course my boss would fire me for being pathetic! We want players to develop.Hard to do that when you are not on the park having a go. If Setanta is hurt than he should not play especially with injections.However he has come on leaps and bounds.Why stop now when teams are playing hard ball trying to make the finals.
Long days and happy nights
Out of chaos comes order

walshy93
15 Aug 2007, 20:23
i agree:rolleyes:

Jeremias
15 Aug 2007, 20:46
No point really, unless they are injured of course.

Let them play and experience what it's like to be an AFL player. They'll no doubt be better for it in the long run.

SharkBait
15 Aug 2007, 20:47

I couldnt agree more. Bryce has made massive steps in the last few games and we must remember Marc missed half of last year, play them and we will be better for it in the next couple of years

blues4flag
15 Aug 2007, 21:00
Murphy, keep him playing, he'll hold up.

Gibbs, he didn't have a full preseason and it's a lot tougher on the 1st years - very few are expected to play 22 games at AFL level - but unless he's really hurting, keep him in.

Alpha1
15 Aug 2007, 21:27
So the majority are for playing the young guns, fair enough.

Blue Dimension
15 Aug 2007, 21:29
Murphy, keep him playing, he'll hold up.

Gibbs, he didn't have a full preseason and it's a lot tougher on the 1st years - very few are expected to play 22 games at AFL level - but unless he's really hurting, keep him in.

I agree with what you've said whole heartedly.

Quazza
15 Aug 2007, 22:51
at this stage, i want em to get as many afl games under their belt as possible

jj1978
16 Aug 2007, 00:06
If we keep up of the form of the last few years... Round22 the whole team will be resting!

Monkey King
16 Aug 2007, 14:26
Gee I reckon I could do with a "rest" and have earnt it.Of course my boss would fire me for being pathetic!

At my company, if we have been completing large work loads or doing much more than is expected of us, we can have some time off if demand allows us. Maybe a week of consecutively pulling 14-16 hour days will get us a half a day off. A couple of weeks or more of this might get us 2-3 days off. This is not given as a reward, it is simply designed to get the best out of the staff by relieving fatigue so they can go full tilt when the work load is heavy or when they are needed most.

In footy parlance, I think the Gibbs case qualifies. First year player, playing every game. Hardly crucial games coming up for the Blues. Give the kid a rest.

Mr.X
16 Aug 2007, 15:17
Give Gibbs the full 22 games.
then straight into the gym.

Might also be time to get some more gametime into Josh Kennedy if he's available

whippersnipper
16 Aug 2007, 17:52
They have earnt their spots. Thats all that counts.