View Full Version : Daniel Bradshaw

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Grimreepah
17 Mar 2008, 23:54
Link (http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/news/sport/lions-to-tame-wild-west/2008/03/17/1205602272316.html)

Goal-machine Daniel Bradshaw will make his AFL return after missing last season with a knee injury, giving the Lions a much-needed second weapon to complement star forward Jonathan Brown. "I think when Jonathan Brown and Daniel Bradshaw have both played over the last couple of years, I'd think our win-loss ratio has been pretty good. The two of them there it makes it harder for the opponents to double-team," Matthews said.

http://img255.imageshack.us/img255/2800/bradshawxg0.jpg

konstas_87
18 Mar 2008, 11:31
Heard some interesting info the other night. Bradshaw was actually considered to play late last year when we were making a dash at the finals. A minor hiccup with the knee put those thoughts to rest and caution was taken to have him cherry ripe for this year. He is now a certain starter for round 1 and by all reports very fit also, hopefully a big year for big guns!!

i dont think at 28 or 9 or whatever he is they would have risked him no matter how far we progressed, just like the Kangas wouldn't have risked nathan thompson.

lookagoose
18 Mar 2008, 16:26
Was just passing on some info from someone involved in the on-field side of things. I did say "considered", no final decision was made as he hit a speedbump. Thought it was interesting however that he was in the mix late in the year, just shows the joint was in good shape late last year which is a positive sign for this season!:thumbsu:

xplo
18 Mar 2008, 18:06
i dont think at 28 or 9 or whatever he is they would have risked him no matter how far we progressed, just like the Kangas wouldn't have risked nathan thompson.

Thompson's was a near perfect recovery -- no swelling whatsoever after the operation and no setbacks -- and he was in full training for about 5 weeks before the prelim. Medical staff gave Thompson the all clear to play but in the end, the club apparently decided against it on two grounds.

1). It was a risk dropping a non-match hardened guy straight into a prelim. The had no twos side available to try him in.

2). If anything did go wrong, it would probably be the end for him as a 29yo.

But, yeah, Bradshaw's was a month later than Thommo's injury and we had much less to gain -- scraping into finals was always unlikely with our run home, so there wasn't much to be gained by rushing him back then.

Grimreepah
21 Mar 2008, 00:19
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=56622)

Bradshaw set for senior return
3:39 PM Thu 20 March, 2008

The Vodafone Brisbane Lions have named a strong team ahead of their AFL season opener against the Eagles on Saturday night at Subiaco.

Dual club leading goal kicker Daniel Bradshaw has been named in the Lions team and will travel to Perth and play his first senior match in almost 18 months. After playing for a half against the Swans in the Lions’ final NAB Challenge match, the match committee felt that Bradshaw offered another quality option up forward.

The 29 year-old and co-captain Jonathan Brown are set to play their first senior match alongside each other since Round 10 of 2006. The ‘dynamic duo’ will also join Jared Brennan in what shapes as an explosive forward set-up.

http://img526.imageshack.us/img526/8749/bradshawdq1.jpg

Gabbatoir
21 Mar 2008, 00:42
is it just me, or does bradshaw look very happy in the majority of the pics posted in the thread?

Grimreepah
22 Mar 2008, 23:33
Kicked 3 goals in an encouraging come back game. More importantly he stops defenders from zoning off, which allowed Browny to dominate.

konstas_87
23 Mar 2008, 12:00
yeh that was very successful for his first real game back.
he will only get better now as long as they can both stay fit it's going to be an exciting year.

LuckyLuke
24 Mar 2008, 11:32
I just thought i'd make it official, Cozi was wrong.

Braddles came back and played Rd1, not Rd2 like she predicted over and over again.;)

Grimreepah
26 Mar 2008, 01:17
Link (http://news.theage.com.au/bradshaws-best-yet-to-come-for-lions/20080325-21go.html)

Bradshaw's best yet to come for Lions
March 25, 2008 - 5:54PM

A cameo performance by Daniel Bradshaw has convinced Brisbane Lions coach Leigh Matthews that his recovering forward can get back to his best - albeit in a month's time.
Matthews once again lamented the Lions' reliance on Jonathan Brown after the Coleman Medallist kicked six goals in their AFL season opening 16-point loss to West Coast at Perth last weekend.
In his first game since missing 2007 due to a knee reconstruction, Bradshaw kicked three second half majors in a burst of inspiration but otherwise went missing.
Matthews said Bradshaw "came up well" after the season opener - but was taking a long term view to the goal machine's recovery.
"He only got involved in the match a little bit but he should be much better in a month than he is now," he said.
"We are just playing him now because we believe he is better than the other alternatives."
Matthews once again made it clear he did not want Brown to shoulder the Lions' goal scoring burden in their blockbuster against Collingwood at the Gabba on Friday night.
Asked what he thought of Brown's six goal effort marked by key AFL defender Darren Glass, Matthews said: "I am thinking I wish a few others could join in.
"Jonathan was exceptional. When Daniel Bradshaw joined in for a quarter we actually looked okay.
"But you just can't be a one man forward line.
"Clearly no player is good enough to be a one man forward line.
"We want to get from Jonathan what he is capable of giving - which is a lot - but we really need a few more to assist."

http://img252.imageshack.us/img252/5749/bradshawwy6.jpg

ZoBlitz
27 Mar 2008, 17:08
Give him half a season and he'll be looking very dangerous. Shouldn't expect too much at this point.

Grimreepah
29 Mar 2008, 01:55
Bradshaw has come back stronger than I expected. He looks dangerous and kicked another 3 today. Here he lays a copybook tackle on Goldsack.

http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/1025/bradshawzj9.jpg

Grimreepah
4 Apr 2008, 03:09
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=57276)

Lions roar keeps lifting Bradshaw
Author: Simon White
10:32 AM Thu 03 April, 2008

STAR Brisbane Lions forward Daniel Bradshaw was grateful for the noise of the Gabba faithful last Friday night when he successfully ran down Collingwood opponent Tyson Goldsack.
Bradshaw’s chase, which earned a “holding-the-ball” decision and set up his second goal of the second quarter, was greeted with a roar of delight by Lions fans – happy to see the two-time leading goal-kicker back in full flight after a year out with a knee reconstruction.
In fact, Bradshaw believes the electric atmosphere during the fiercely-contested blockbuster may well have been a factor in his crowd-pleasing effort.
"Being a key forward, you don’t get too many opportunities to chase a guy down like that, so it was great," Bradshaw said.
"One thing we try and do as forwards is push up the ground a bit when the ball is going the other way and I was just making my way up to the midfield when it happened.
"I don’t think the other Collingwood player that handballed it to Goldsack realised I was there and I don’t think he heard me either - even though I was only a few metres away - the crowd was pretty loud.
"Luckily I was able to sneak up and pin his arms and then managed to kick the goal."
Bradshaw’s three goals – all kicked in the first half – helped the Lions to a thrilling two-point win over the Magpies.
Having also kicked three goals in the third quarter of the round-one clash with West Coast, Bradshaw has certainly had an impact in his return from a year on the sideline.
He hopes that impact will become more sustained and consistent as he gains match fitness.
"I’ve been feeling pretty good out there but so far I’ve really only been getting involved in small patches – one or two quarters," he said.
"I think it’s just a matter of getting games under my belt and building a bit of consistency into my play over four quarters.
"The more times I can get my hands on the footy, the more comfortable I’m going to feel and the more confident I’m going to become."
While he’s aiming for more consistent contributions to the Lions’ cause, the 29-year-old says his body has coped well with his three games back from injury.
"I’ve actually been pulling up really well," Bradshaw said.
"Obviously there was a fair bit of rehab involved in the injury and on the way back I did heaps and heaps of work involving turning – which I how I did the knee in the first place.
"Before the first game back (against Sydney) in the pre-season, I spoke to my doctor and he said that once you are able to do that kind of turning work, it means you are pretty much right to go.
"The knee has felt really strong and hasn’t really played on my mind at all."

http://img146.imageshack.us/img146/7480/bradshawkw0.jpg

Grimreepah
5 Apr 2008, 02:10
Jonathan Brown Den Diaries (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=57346)

The biggest disappointment of last season for me was losing my forward line ‘wing-man’ Daniel Bradshaw.

When Braddy’s knee collapsed in a reserves practice match before the premiership season had even started, my heart sank with it.

I was obviously gutted for the bloke because you wouldn’t wish having to undergo a knee reconstruction on your worst enemy, but I had been really excited about the prospect of teaming up together in our forward line.

So you can imagine how rapt I’ve been that Braddy got himself back for Round 1 and has been running around keeping the opposition defenders honest for the last couple of weeks.

It’s great to see him moving so well. It looks like he has lost none of his mobility, which is always a concern with a big fella coming back from a reco.

It’s not just me who is glad he is back, but it’s great for the team.

Any time you have got a multi-pronged attack, you are a hell of a lot more dangerous than if you are relying on the one big key position forward.

You are not so one-dimensional, it helps to spread the defence, and you are not having to put up with going against two or three blokes in a contest all the time.

The good thing about our partnership is that we play our footy a bit differently which I reckon helps.

I’m more of a natural centre-half-forward and he’s more inclined to full-forward.

We talk a bit when we’re out on the field about our positioning, but to be honest I don’t tell him a lot.

He’s an experienced bloke and knows what to do.

We seem to complement each other with what we do instinctively.

We both run hard, and it’s important that if I need a chop out, he is always there to give me a breather.

I was asked if we have any side wagers on who is going to kick the more goals, but I can guarantee you that is the last thing on our minds.

It’s all about us both doing the best thing for the team and to be honest, I’d like to set him up for a few more goals.

I guess if we can collectively kick eight goals between us each week, it will go a long way towards winning games, with the midfielders and other forwards chipping in with their bit.

We’ve got 13 between us at the moment, so we’re around about the mark after two games.

Some days it might only be four that we contribute, but if we’ve had a lot of possessions and set up other blokes, then we’ve done the job just as effectively.

I do feel very comfortable for the team when I see Braddy with the ball in his hands lining up for goal.

He’s a good kick for goal with that really nice relaxed action. He never seems to get flustered no matter what the situation, which is a good tip for kids out there.

http://img362.imageshack.us/img362/5011/bradshawkh6.jpg

Grimreepah
5 Apr 2008, 23:52
Bradshaw is showing no ill effects from the knee reconstruction. In fact I'd say he's looking as good as he ever has. Is now equal 2nd in the Coleman Medal.

Ruse
6 Apr 2008, 00:26
What's his odds on the coleman cause with the way he's been playing he's a real smoky to win it. might even pip browny for the 100.

Kochie 16
6 Apr 2008, 14:06
I wonder if the theory is that it takes 12 months after a knee reconstruction to fully recover, how good will he be next year?

konstas_87
6 Apr 2008, 18:05
What's his odds on the coleman cause with the way he's been playing he's a real smoky to win it. might even pip browny for the 100.

calm down big fella...

Grimreepah
7 Apr 2008, 01:33
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,23493138-5016169,00.html)

Daniel Bradshaw and Jonathan Brown must save Brisbane
Article from:http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_thecouriermail.gif (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/)
Andrew Hamilton
April 07, 2008 12:00am

DANIEL Bradshaw and Jonathan Brown kicked 13 goals between them the last time they hunted together at AAMI Stadium. Brisbane needs a simiar return from the duo against Port Adelaide on Saturday because at the moment it is getting little from their ground-level forwards. And hopes premiership crumber Ash McGrath could solve the prolem may have been dashed by an ankle he suffered in his comeback from off-season knee surgery in the reserevs on Saturday.
Bradshaw was almost a lone hand on Saturday night booting five of Brisbane's 10 goals in the 17 point loss to the Swans. The only other multiple goalkicker was second gamer Lachlan Henderson (two).
"Again we didnt have anyone to mop up in the forward line when ball went to ground," Lions coach Leigh Matthews said.
The ball barely hit the ground in Round 8, 2006, when Brown booted seven and Bradshaw six in a crushing victory. Brown played only another two games that year before succumbing to a hip injury while Bradshaw went on to boot 59 for the year before injuring his knee the following pre-season and missing 2007.
"'We had a pretty good day that day and it would be nice to be able to reproduce it this weekend," Bradshaw said. "We have still got to get used to both of us being there and the guys up the field probably have to adjust to having different targets, I can only see it getting better as the year goes along.
"We normally play alright there, so we shouldn't be too scared of going down there to meet Port, we are playing some OK footy at the moment, we just have to put four quarters together."
The Lions are certainly getting adequate productivity out of their multi-pronged attack and the blame for their two losses can't be laid at the feet of the big men but they haven't yet fired in tandem.
In Perth, Brown was the headline act, booting six and completelelly outclassing All-Australian defender Darren Glass while Bradshaw provided an encouraging first-up cameo with three third-quarter goals.
Bradshaw produced another three against the Pies in the two-point win in round two, although in that game Brown was again the more dominant player around the ground.
he co-captain pulled down seven strong contested marks and looked dangerous every time the ball was in the vicinity but his kicking boots had deserted him and he returned 2.3.
On Saturday night, it was the Bradshaw show as Brown was reduced to a bit part player by Swan Craig Bolton.
"It was was good to be able to take a few grabs and kick a few goals, just I suppose to realise you can still do it," Bradshaw said. "It doesn't really mean much in a loss but it was good to be able to get my hands on a few and hopefully each week it should get better."
Bradshaw says he has regained full speed and lateral movemernt after his knee reconstruction but feels his leap could improve with some more work in the gym.

http://img148.imageshack.us/img148/2498/bradshawcv2.jpg
KEY man . . . Daniel Bradshaw in action for the Lions against the Sydney Swans.

Grimreepah
12 Apr 2008, 23:40
Daniel Bradshaw is in white hot form. Is probably leading our best and fairest at this stage.

TheBrownDog
12 Apr 2008, 23:48
Celebrated his fifth goal by showing his guns to the AAMI crowd. :D

Kochie 16
12 Apr 2008, 23:49
Gotta be leading the coleman medal count?!

konstas_87
13 Apr 2008, 00:10
what an unbelievable comeback from a such a long term injury.

shows the Lions medicos have got it right with their strict 12 month reco policy:thumbsu:

Cousin Jed
13 Apr 2008, 01:42

And I believe this was his 4th....

http://img02.picoodle.com/img/img02/4/4/12/f_Braddlesm_d7599d3.jpg

notting18
13 Apr 2008, 10:22
Just starting slowly after his Knee Reconstruction...;)

Tim the Toolman
14 Apr 2008, 12:06

I remember reading a Johnno profile when asked about nicknames and he said they called Daniel "Big-guns" because of those beauties! :D

After our loss to Hawthorn last year when Roughead and Buddy outgunned a lone Browny, I reckon we're going to give their twin towers a run for their money with a fit DB.

Grimreepah
14 Apr 2008, 16:24
Link (http://sportal.com.au/afl-news-display/matthews-franklin-is-a-freak-46624)

Matthews says he has been amazed by how well Bradshaw has returned this year from the knee injury that kept him out for all of 2007.
"Even back in February (during pre-season training) he didn't have the look of a player that hadn't played for 12 months," Matthews said of Bradshaw, the Lions' leading goalkicker in 2005 and 2006.
"In fact I have never seen him look better than he has this first month, at any stage of his career."
"He certainly doesn't look like a player who is on a physical and mental comeback from a long-term injury, he is in good shape."

http://img384.imageshack.us/img384/1536/bradshawzf1.jpg

Grimreepah
18 Apr 2008, 01:43
Coleman Odds:

Franklin - $2.25
Fevola - $2.75
Bradshaw - $6.00
Brown - $6.50
Lloyd - $17.00
Pavlich - $18.00
Hawkins - $21.00
Rocca - $31.00
Thompson - $41.00
Riewoldt - $41.00

Gabbatoir
18 Apr 2008, 19:31
if bradshaw won a coleman, i wonder when the last time two coleman medalists were to play in the same side?

chopperduck
19 Apr 2008, 12:03
very interesting question that one. especially winning it back to back but different players. nice beer lid trivia question me thinks

CoZi36
20 Apr 2008, 02:35
Love ya Braddles, great 7 goals tonight, enjoy your 11 goals on Carroll on Sunday next week, it will happen. Glad to have ya back.

konstas_87
20 Apr 2008, 11:20
bests pair of hands and set shot for goal in our side by the length of the straight, so great to have him back.

Grimreepah
21 Apr 2008, 00:10
Link (http://news.smh.com.au/hawks-coach-clarkson-defends-brown/20080420-27c5.html)

"It was a shootout. They were touting it as the Brown-Buddy show, it turned out to be Buddy-Bradshaw," Clarkson said. "Gees Bradshaw played well. I've been impressed with him for a long period of time but the way he has come back from his knee has been first class."
Matthews added: "Daniel did it for us but he (Franklin) was spectacular for them."

http://img501.imageshack.us/img501/332/bradshaw8jf0.jpg

Grimreepah
21 Apr 2008, 01:32
Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,23569321-5016181,00.html)

Daniel Bradshaw knocks up kicking goals
Article from:http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_thecouriermail.gif (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/)
Andrew Hamilton
April 21, 2008 12:00am

DANIEL Bradshaw is happy to be living in the moment. He is one of the form players of the competition and after a seven-goal haul against the Hawks at the Gabba on Saturday night, has re-written the pre-season market for this year's Coleman Medal. But you could excuse him for having a quick peep back at his record books and then looking forward to the round 6 clash with Melbourne and licking his lips in anticipation.
History shows the Bradshaw juggernaut should continue to roll on at the Gabba on Sunday.
The Lion's spearhead has kicked eight and nine goals the past two outings against Melbourne and given his remarkable consistency this season, should continue the party.
But football has taught Bradshaw to take nothing for granted.
"I don't want to go into the game too confident, that can bite you on the bum," he said. "I have been able to kick a few goals against them, but hopefully we can spread the load.
"The Dees aren't going too well so we can't go into the game overly confident and just assume it is going to happen."
Bradshaw was flying high in 2006 when he booted 59 goals for the season but a scratch match at Coorparoo before the kick-off of 2007 delivered a brutal reminder that fame can be fleeting.
The 29-year-old spent a year on the sidelines nursing a rebuilt knee, the type of injury that always raises questions about a player's ability to return the athlete he was, especially at Bradshaw's age.
"My expectations weren't that high, I really just wanted to be able to enjoy playing again," he said of his goals for this year.
"I'd been out for 12 months and I really just wanted to get back out there with the boys."
Bradshaw couldn't have asked for a better return, he has now booted 23 goals in five matches to be the side's shinning light in attack.
But his seven on Saturday couldn't override the disappointment of a win that went begging.
"It is always good individually to kick a few goals because that is what I am there for, but it doesn't really mean much when you lose by a couple," he said.
"I guess that is why we are sitting ninth or tenth, we are just a little bit off the mark.
"We were just a bit sloppy with our skills and turnovers, but there are good signs, we haven't been flogged all year, we can still take some positives out of the game."

http://img409.imageshack.us/img409/6173/bradshaw7co0.jpg

xplo
21 Apr 2008, 11:46
How funny was it when he pants Crawf, and then gave him the 'how do you like that, champ?'? And then Jed gives Crawf a little congradulatory pat on the arse too. Brilliant :D.

TheBrownDog
21 Apr 2008, 12:06
How funny was it when he pants Crawf, and then gave him the 'how do you like that, champ?'? And then Jed gives Crawf a little congradulatory pat on the arse too. Brilliant :D.

Replayed that a few times yesterday.

It appears Jed is developing into quite the sledger. :D

You always hear the umpires saying ..."Just walk away Jed.... walk away!"

Grimreepah
21 Apr 2008, 13:28
Link (http://afl.com.au/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsid=58265)

Monday analysis: Killer 'Bs'
Author: Matt Burgan
11:56 AM Mon 21 April, 2008

COULD we be headed for our first centurion goalkicker in a home-and-season since Tony Lockett kicked a ton a decade ago?
It's been 10 years since "Plugger" bagged 107 goals in 22 rounds, although Matthew Lloyd (2000-01) and Fraser Gehrig (2004) have since reached the triple-figure milestone during their respective finals series.
But at the rate the three "Bs" are going - "Buddy", Brendan and Bradshaw - there is a genuine possibility the trio could be headed down the 100-goal mark, before any finals are taken into account, such has been their stunning start to the 2008 season.
After five rounds, Lance Franklin (29 goals), Brendan Fevola (26) and Daniel Bradshaw (23) are the three standout forwards on the goalkicking table.
Collectively that's 78 goals from three players, with Bradshaw seven goals clear of the next best on the table.
Still, that next best is Adelaide skipper Simon Goodwin (16 goals) and his effort cannot go unnoticed either, since the elite midfielder has further elevated his status by becoming a dangerous forward option.
But back onto the "B" squad.
Their ability to kick 22 goals between them in round five was simply first-class.
Franklin was dynamic yet again. He is the most exciting player in the game. The only question remains - how far away is he from becoming the best?
He is averaging 5.8 goals per round, having jagged bags of six, four, five, six and eight since round one - a sterling effort.
His performance against the Brisbane Lions at the Gabba on Saturday night was nothing short of superb. He had 14 scoring shots and created havoc for the opposition in a best-on-ground display.
At the MCG on Sunday, Fevola registered his 22nd goal in three rounds - an extraordinary effort - after booting bags of eight, seven and seven respectively. He is now averaging 5.2 goals per match this season.
Not only is he kicking a swag of goals, Fevola is also providing forward pressure - highlighted especially against Collingwood in round four - with his chasing and tackling earning the praise of his coach Brett Ratten.
"Fev" is not only fulfilling his talent, he is arguably in career-best form - even better than Coleman Medal winning effort in 2006.
As for Bradshaw, his effort to comeback from a knee reconstruction - he missed the entire 2007 premiership season - is already one of the great individual stories of the year.
Bradshaw, despite being a dual premiership player, is playing the best football of his career and is teaming beautifully with another powerhouse "B", co-captain Jonathan Brown, who has also kicked 13 goals after winning last year's Coleman Medal.
The Lions may have gone down in a classic tussle against Hawthorn, but Bradshaw did everything in his power to will his side across the line, booting seven majors to average 4.6 goals for the season.
What the three "Bs" have in common is they are right in contention to crack the ton this year.
All are averaging more than the required number - 4.54 goals per rounds - needed to kick 100 goals in 22 rounds and based on their efforts so far, who could doubt them from achieving this, barring any major mishap.
Oh and here's some food for thought, on May 10, Brendan and Bradshaw (Victoria) will take on "Buddy" (Dream Team) at the MCG. If that doesn't whet the appetite, nothing will.
It promises to be a beauty.

http://img182.imageshack.us/img182/6265/bradshawfv6.jpg

acuguy
24 Apr 2008, 07:24
Bradshaw has to be selected for Victoria in the final 25

TheBrownDog
24 Apr 2008, 12:14
Bradshaw has to be selected for Victoria in the final 25

Comes down to whether they are being chosen on form or reputation.

On form, he'd romp it in.

Grimreepah
25 Apr 2008, 11:23
The author would have to be Browny.

Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,23593562-10389,00.html)

Just rapt that Braddy's back
Article from: http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_thecouriermail.gif (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/)
April 25, 2008 12:00am

IT seems most AFL fans have been surprised by the magnificent comeback form of Daniel Bradshaw.
Not me. And not anyone in the inner sanctum at the Lions.
As much as Braddy might seem like a pretty laid-back fella and is the most down-to-earth bloke in the group, he's also fiercely competitive and totally dedicated. His rehabilitation from a knee reconstruction in February last year had to be seen to be believed.
As soon as he got the all-clear from the medics to get into it he didn't miss a beat. He did extras and right through last year a lot of the boys were saying "how good does Braddy look"? His commitment to the monotonous rehab drills was just sensational, so his early return of 23 goals in his first five games back, third in the AFL behind Lance Franklin and Brendan Fevola, is just reward for effort.
I'm rapt to have him back because we've always worked pretty well together.
It's always better to have two big marking targets because it spreads the defence and gives the midfielders two options going forward. A knee reconstruction affects key forwards more than anyone else because they rely so much on speed, jumping, twisting and turning.
But at 29 he's moving like a 21-year-old and is in career-best form so it's a lesson for others on just what it takes to come back from an injury like that.
With Nigel Lappin, Braddy is the last survivor from the Brisbane Bears on the Lions list and now with four kids, including three future father/son picks for the Lions, he's nicely settled and if recent form is any indication he's got a few good years left yet.
We call him "Big Guns" because he's got arms bigger than my quads.
Besides Alastair Lynch, he's the strongest guy I've played with, but apparently those bulging biceps are hereditary and not just from all those bench weights he pumps in the gym.
Seriously, I reckon he's done enough to get a start alongside Fevola in the Victorian side for the Dream Team game next month.
Now, when I'm giving one of the boys a bit of a pump up I want to make sure they don't get ahead of themselves.
So, while Braddy might be playing like a young fella, there's one big giveaway that he's getting on a bit – have you spotted his receding hairline?
Must remember to give him Shane Warne's number.

http://img87.imageshack.us/img87/4593/bradshaw2mf2.jpg

danielcanberra
25 Apr 2008, 18:25
The author would have to be Browny.

Yeah, especially that bit about the receding hairline. Only Browny would say that... and get away with it.

Grimreepah
27 Apr 2008, 17:55
http://img404.imageshack.us/img404/89/bradshaw2sj1.jpg

Bradshaw kicks another 6 to take his tally to 29 goals from six games and a share the lead for the Coleman.

Grimreepah
29 Apr 2008, 11:48
Kevin Sheedy (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,23613277-5016181,00.html)

What a wonderful performance from Bradshaw to kick so many goals so early in the season. We are looking closely at him for the Victorian side to play the Dream Team and with the reduced squads to be chosen over the weekend, he is a strong chance.

Grimreepah
3 May 2008, 21:18
http://img181.imageshack.us/img181/269/bradshaw11gy2.jpg

This was posed by the Herald Sun last week, but I think today showed how much Bradshaw benefits from having Brown in the side. Only 3 disposals and 1 goal today.

acuguy
3 May 2008, 21:54
Not the first or last bloke Scarlett has touched up, as Thompson said in the press conference Bradshaw has had the better of Scarlett on several occasions. Matty was keyed up and got the better of Braddles. Should be playing next week for the Big V together

Big Nasty
4 May 2008, 00:40
Not the first or last bloke Scarlett has touched up, as Thompson said in the press conference Bradshaw has had the better of Scarlett on several occasions. Matty was keyed up and got the better of Braddles. Should be playing next week for the Big V together
Bomber said he's kicked a few goals on him, somehow I don't think Thompson said he has had the better of Scarlo. :confused:

acuguy
4 May 2008, 09:23
Bradshaw has beaten Scarlett previously and has also beaten Fletcher quite regularly. That is what makes him such an interesting player. Geelong defenders zoned Braddles leading space well and Scarlett matched him one on one and then smashed him on the ground. Scarlett is a champion and Bradshaw had a poor day. I guess he will be hoping Browny is back for the Carlton game and Braddles next opponent will probably get smashed!:thumbsu:

Judge
4 May 2008, 11:20
Bomber said he's kicked a few goals on him, somehow I don't think Thompson said he has had the better of Scarlo. :confused:

The 2004 preliminary final comes to mind - I was there that night and whilst Braddy only kicked 4 it is fair to say that Scarlett was well and truly beaten in his most important game to that point.

TheBrownDog
4 May 2008, 12:57
The 2004 preliminary final comes to mind - I was there that night and whilst Braddy only kicked 4 it is fair to say that Scarlett was well and truly beaten in his most important game to that point.

Bradshaw also destroyed someone else that night.... Shaun Hart. :( Completely unintentional of course, but a sad end to the career of a great club man.

kizzel
4 May 2008, 13:28
I'd say the person that missed Blacky the most yesterday was Bradshaw. Our younger lions just popped it over his head all day and consitently gave Scarlett the sit.

Brown too would have helped :thumbsu:

greendiesel
4 May 2008, 13:31
I reckon Scarlett was on Lynch for most of the night and Lynchy gave him a bath.
Regardless, it took Scarlett 12 months to get over that one.

TheBrownDog
8 May 2008, 14:09
http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/140276.jpg

Grimreepah
9 May 2008, 21:53
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=59349)

Bradshaw likens V to flags
Matt Burgan
9:28 AM Fri 09 May, 2008

VICTORIAN forward Daniel Bradshaw is a dual premiership player.

But even the Brisbane Lions' second greatest goalkicker believes the honour of wearing the Big V is bordering his 2001 and 2003 premiership medallions.

"This would be right up there and right near the top," Bradshaw said after Victorian training at the MCG on Thursday.

"Obviously grand finals with the team are No. 1, but this would be up there with the top, for sure."

The fact Bradshaw is able to accept his latest football accolade is a remarkable effort, considering he missed the entire 2007 season with a knee injury.

Traditionally, players returning from season-ending knee injuries need to be given one to two years to re-adjust, but Bradshaw's return in 2008 has been one of the great football stories of the year.

He has kicked 30 goals in seven matches - including 23 goals from rounds three to six - but even the 29-year-old conceded he had passed his own expectations upon return.

"This time last year I was probably laid up on the couch with my knee and this year I didn't expect to be playing well enough to get in the squad for Victoria, so it's been an exciting few weeks and I'm really looking forward to the game on Saturday," Bradshaw said.

"Blokes with knees, they say it takes 18 months to get back to playing where they were before they did their knee, so I'm a little bit surprised about how well I've played.

"I came into the season not expecting too much. I just wanted to get out there and enjoy footy and play again, so kicking the goals has been a bonus, but being in the squad for Victoria has been amazing and a very proud moment."

Bradshaw said having fellow Lions players - Victorian captain Jonathan Brown and ball-winner Luke Power - in the Victorian squad reflected well on his club (Nigel Lappin was also in the 40-man group before an achilles injury ruled him out).

"We've been playing okay this year, so we've got a few players that have been getting a kick and it's going to be good playing against [Lions teammate and Dream Team ruckman] Jamie Charman on Saturday night," Bradshaw said.

"Him and Lukey Power have had a bit of banter and he [Charman] reckons he's going to bash us when we're out there, so it'll be interesting to see what he gets up to on the weekend."

Even for someone as experienced as Bradshaw, mixing with other elite AFL players was initially daunting.

"We met up last night for dinner and obviously you're a little bit nervous, because you don't know a lot of the boys, but it's good to get out there training in that environment and kicking the ball around and getting to know the boys," he said.

"We've only got a couple of days to go, so it'll be good to get stuck into them."

Originally from Wodonga, Bradshaw said pulling on the Big V with Brown and Carlton star Brendan Fevola in attack would be a great opportunity.

"I'm not sure what we're going to do game-wise, but I'm sure we can work it out, as long as we don't get in the way of each other and spoil each other and we've got to make sure that we work together," Bradshaw said.

"Browny is really good at organising the forward line, so I can't see that being any different on Saturday night."

http://i27.tinypic.com/24yo4zq.jpg

VICTORIA
B: C.Brown, Scarlett, Milburn
HB: Shaw, Croad, Waite
C: Harvey, Mitchell, Goodes
HF: O'Keefe, J.Brown, Murphy
F: S.Johnson, Fevola, Bradshaw
FOLL: Simmonds, Bartel, Judd
I/C: Fraser, Power, Chapman, Kelly, Foley, Pendlebury, J.Selwood

TheBrownDog
10 May 2008, 23:28
Spent the second half of the HoF match playing as Victorian fullback... cool and composed as usual. :thumbsu:

Cousin Jed
10 May 2008, 23:44
Even took some of the kick ins!

TheBrownDog
10 May 2008, 23:46
Even took some of the kick ins!

Yeah, was essentially fullback for most of the second half.

Forward... back... no problem.

Grimreepah
11 May 2008, 02:49
Player Ratings: Matt Burgan (http://www.afl.com.au/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=59413)

Daniel Bradshaw (36)
After starting on the bench, was soon in the action up forward, but he kicked two behinds - including a poster. Kicked his only goal in the second quarter, before shifting down back in the third term onto Matthew Richardson, where he was solid.
Rating: 4

Tim the Toolman
19 May 2008, 11:39
After having an absolute shocker against Carlton I heard Robert Walls say ont he radio "he won't play that game again" meaning he won't put in another one like that next week.

My concern is, he has had pretty much 2.5 shockers in a row with his match against Geelong, albeit the best defender ever, very bad but perhaps just beaten by a much better player on the day; a 1-goal return in the Vic guernsey but I guess you're up against the best as well plus his very ordinary effort on Saturday night against the lowly defence of Carlton.

Where is he at?

LuckyLuke
19 May 2008, 13:35
A bit critical of Braddles me thinks.

I recall at least 2 goals of Browns that you can attribute to Daniel because of good sheparding and blocking.

Granted he dropped a couple of sitters and missed another gimmie goal, but it's all part of footy.

Point is he makes our foward line difficult to match up on and makes the defenders accountable. The Blues needed to have an extra defender back there all night.

acuguy
19 May 2008, 20:32
Bradshaw's leads were chopped off all night and the ball was often kicked to his wrong side when he was in the one on one contest. I think it is predominantly a midfield delivery issue. Braddles got alot of attention and as a result we were able to hit browny up on the lead more often than not. It could be Braddles turn this week!

Dylan12
19 May 2008, 22:38
Well he almost had 2 if the ump had allowed advantage which he kicked only for the kick to go back to Jed who nicely slotted the goal anyway.

notting18
19 May 2008, 22:45
Well he almost had 2 if the ump had allowed advantage which he kicked only for the kick to go back to Jed who nicely slotted the goal anyway.

2nd time this year Jed has been in that position and delivered!

Gabbatoir
19 May 2008, 22:53
2nd time this year Jed has been in that position and delivered!

Much to my goal kicking competition relief. :)

chopperduck
20 May 2008, 08:56
the advantage we have is if braddles is quiet, brown fires and vice versa. braddles played very well and when one of the forwards is on a roll, you keep it going for them and thats what braddles did. brown even had the lucky bounces of the ball his way last night, and braddles did everything to make his life easier. he had a couple of moments where he was unlucky, and you will get those games.

i though he was still pretty good for the vics. lots of rotations so hard to get settled, but was always a target. was only the geelong game where scarlett got the best of him, but scarlett is in fantastic form this year. wasn't best delivery to him that game and there was no brown.

some games they will both fire, other times only one, but when just one fires, its usually because the other is sacrificing their game to help the other but blocking or leading away to give them a one out contest. stats didn't suggest it, but it was a very smart and well played game from braddles vs the blues.

one last point, in a few of braddles games this year, he has got a lot of his goals in one or two quarters, and that will happen if defense becomes to worried with brown. all of a sudden braddles will pop up with 3 or 4 in a quarter and look the goods.

Gabbatoir
20 May 2008, 21:16
Who is the poor team going to be when they both fire at the same time?

TheBrownDog
21 May 2008, 01:53

Port Adelaide copped it for a quarter.

chopperduck
21 May 2008, 08:55
thats right. was a great example of how in just one quarter, 2 players can blow the game apart.

but as i said, goal tally isn't an indication of how well they are working together.

nothing better than having 2 such good forwards. we dont need goals from both. its a great luxury to have. and if one goes down, as we have seen in the past, both are good enough to still be effective on their own.

i must admit tho, i do like seeing browny closer to goal and slotting them thru. they seem to be really working on creating space behind brown so we can run back towards goal and get a one out contest. bradshaw was just waiting to see where brown goes and takes his man out.

bradshaw could be a key FF at any other club...but he is ours :D

Grimreepah
22 May 2008, 19:15
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=60029)

At the Lions however, ACL victims Daniel Bradshaw, Joel Macdonald and Anthony Corrie have all returned in fine fettle more or less immediately. Not only that, but Macdonald and Corrie are in career-best form.
So what’s the secret? Lions strength and conditioning manager Lachlan Penfold isn’t sure there is one, other than pure hard work and rehabilitation exercises that put players in physical situations they will confront on the field.
"It’s really interesting – I think if you look at just Braddy, I don’t think any of us had any idea that he’d come back in this good a form," Penfold said.
"I think it’s mainly a confidence thing and over the 12 months that they were out, all of our guys – Braddy, Paddy Garner, Joel Macdonald and Anthony Corrie – put in an awful lot of work.
"As part of that rehab, you structure what you do around movements that players will be required to do in game situations. I think that really helps them with their confidence when they do get back to playing."

notting18
25 May 2008, 16:25

Mark it down, St Kilda was the answer IMO

Also the day Braddles kicked his 400th goal!

CoZi36
25 May 2008, 23:37
OMG I was like a mother today!

So proud of my boy Braddles when he kicked his 400th, i stood up - cheered and clamped for ages. Love ya Braddles, you do me proud. :thumbsu:

TheBrownDog
25 May 2008, 23:41
OMG I was like a mother today!

So proud of my boy Braddles when he kicked his 400th,:

Isnt he 9 years older than you?

CoZi36
25 May 2008, 23:51
Isnt he 9 years older than you?

Yer but he is still my boy, I'm his biggest fan lol. For the record he is 10 years older.

Fairley
26 May 2008, 18:57
I loved the "Braddshaww Braddshaww Braddshaww Braddshaww" chant after he kicked that 400! It went on for about 30 seconds!

Vipertooth
26 May 2008, 21:20
I loved the "Braddshaww Braddshaww Braddshaww Braddshaww" chant after he kicked that 400! It went on for about 30 seconds!

That was amazing, sent chills up my spine and i was only watching it on T.V, would have loved to have been there.

No doubt Cozi started the chant lol :p

Grimreepah
27 May 2008, 03:06
Link (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23763598-19742,00.html)

Must-see sequel
Article from:http://www.news.com.au/images/sources/h14_heraldsun.gif (http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/)
Sam Edmund
May 27, 2008 12:00am

IT is fast becoming the biggest comeback since Indiana Jones. Brisbane forward Daniel Bradshaw, nine games into life after knee surgery, is arguably in the best form of his 12-year career.
Champion Data statistics show the AFL's own Harrison Ford is the modern-day comeback king of the dreaded knee reconstruction.
Bradshaw, 29, averages 93.9 ranking points a game - the most accurate gauge of a player's effectiveness.
His average of 10.7 disposals, 5.3 marks and 4.1 goals a match belie the fact he missed last season while recovering from surgery.
Former Geelong and North Melbourne utility Leigh Colbert said he had been amazed by Bradshaw's return.
Colbert ruptured the anterior cruciate ligament in his left knee in 1999 and battled to recapture his best form after joining the Kangaroos.
"It's been extraordinary to watch Daniel," Colbert said yesterday.
"The position he plays is very much a stop-start power position. I know a lot of guys who do their knee end up playing backward of the ball so that the play is in front of them, whereas he is leading out and turning 180 degrees back to goal.
"To do what he's done after coming back is amazing."
Bradshaw injured his right knee just 10 minutes into a practice match before the 2007 season.
As a 191cm, 95kg key position player, it was always going to be a long road back.
But 18 months on, Bradshaw sits equal second with Carlton's Brendan Fevola in the race for the Coleman Medal with 37 goals.
His career-best 59 majors in 2006 will almost certainly fall this year.
He has kicked bags of seven, six (twice) and five (twice) in a two-pronged Lions attack with Jonathan Brown, and represented Victoria in the Hall of Fame tribute match.
Colbert, who retired after the 2005 season, said Bradshaw's recovery was aided by a mature approach.
"I think it helps that he's a little bit older," he said.
"As you get older you get a little smarter. For mine, if I had my time again . . . I ended up training more often but it wasn't necessarily smarter.
"Full credit has to go to his medical staff. The training techniques have definitely improved out of sight."

http://img365.imageshack.us/img365/1374/bradshaw8iw3.jpg

Grimreepah
27 May 2008, 13:59
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=60303)

Daniel Bradshaw became only the eighth player in the merged Club’s history to reach 400 career goals when he kicked his sixth goal against St Kilda on Sunday. Bradshaw currently sits behind only: Alastair Lynch (633 goals), Jack Moriarty (626 goals), Bernie Quinlan (576 goals), Garry Wilson (452 goals), Jim Freake (442 goals), Allan Ruthven (442 goals) and Richard Osborne (411 goals) in the Club’s all-time leading goal kickers.

http://img530.imageshack.us/img530/2469/bradshaw5ym7.jpg

POBT
27 May 2008, 16:13
Bring on the Superboot!

Cara_Cougar #16
27 May 2008, 17:39
Yer but he is still my boy, I'm his biggest fan lol. For the record he is 10 years older.

lol coz, battled though the senisis to watch your boy lol :p

chopperduck
27 May 2008, 20:04
That was amazing, sent chills up my spine and i was only watching it on T.V, would have loved to have been there.

No doubt Cozi started the chant lol :p

definitely one of those things that you love to look back and say you were there for. got a huge cheer when the 400 came up and the clapping lasted ages, and then the chant. we love our braddles up here, you could really feel the appreciation the crowd had for him. wasn't an obligation cheer.

27k for the crowd too i thought was pretty good on a sunday arvo.

Grimreepah
1 Jun 2008, 12:26
"If Lillee don't get you, Thommo will"

http://img71.imageshack.us/img71/3535/bradshaw12li7.jpg

In the last two weeks Brown and Bradshaw have had 62 possessions, 44 marks, 24 goals from 36 scoring shots and 553 Super Coach points.

Grimreepah
1 Jun 2008, 13:11
Link (http://www.goldcoast.com.au/article/2008/06/03/11985_gold-coast-afl.html)

Brown and beefed up Bradshaw in another spree
03Jun08
AUSSIE RULES by Roger Merrett, Terry Wilson and Nick Smart

AS BRISBANE'S twin towers, Jonathan Brown and Daniel Bradshaw, went on another spree at the Gabba on Saturday night, I could not help but wonder how much work the latter put in during his enforced layoff.

Bradshaw must have spent a lot of time pumping iron as he recovered from a knee reconstruction. He looks much stronger in the arms and upper torso.

In their past two matches, 24 goals for the Brown-Bradshaw pairing shows just how much firepower the Lions have.

They looked good against North Melbourne and barring any injuries, the Lions are right in the race for a top-four finish.

mish33
1 Jun 2008, 13:31
62 touches for 44 marks. That's an incredible ratio of marks :thumbsu: Have only seen highlights of the game, but that mark Braddles took against 3 other opponents was something special. those big guns weren't coming down empty handed

On the radio last night they were saying we had something like 18 marks inside 50 to North's 6 :eek: I for one have no problem with our mob being labeled Brownshaw centric :D

Grimreepah
3 Jun 2008, 23:22
Coleman Watch:

Franklin - 50
Bradshaw - 43
Fevola - 40
Brown - 33
Roughead - 32
Pavlich - 31
Motlop - 29
Burton - 28

Odds:

Franklin - $1.30
Bradshaw - $5.00
Fevola - $8.00
Brown - $9.00
Roughead - $26.00
Pavlich - $51.00
Burton - $101.00
Motlop - $251.00

Grimreepah
4 Jun 2008, 01:19
Gerard Healy (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,23804332-5016169,00.html)

"I am just about to enter an all-Australian selection meeting and Bradshaw's name will be on the board for discussion."

Grimreepah
4 Jun 2008, 21:02
Link (http://news.theage.com.au/sport/bradshaw-ready-to-step-up-for-lions-20080604-2lt8.html)

Bradshaw ready to step up for Lions
June 4, 2008 - 7:18PM

Life without Jonathan Brown would have been unthinkable for the Brisbane Lions just last season.
While the Lions will still be sweating on their prized co-captain Brown's fitness before Sunday's AFL clash with Fremantle, Brisbane won't have to look far for inspiration if he succumbs to a knee injury.
Forward Daniel Bradshaw says he is more than comfortable with stepping into Brown's big shoes if the reigning Coleman Medallist pulls out.
And no wonder - after Brown carried the Lions in 2007, he has happily become a support act for new headliner Bradshaw.
The Lions' one dimensional forward line of last season has been replaced by the twin towers of Brown and Bradshaw in 2008, kicking 76 goals in 10 games to date.
That haul includes six goals each in the past two games.
Bradshaw has made a remarkable comeback from a knee injury that ruled him out of 2007, kicking 43 goals with more than half of the season still left.
His personal best haul of 59 majors is in serious threat and Alastair Lynch's club record of 78 in 2003 appears on borrowed time.
Now a player who gingerly walked onto the practice field with modest goals for 2008 has the confidence to step up if Brown falters.
"I feel reasonably comfortable if Browny doesn't pull up," Bradshaw said.
"I have played a bit on the forward line when Lynchy and Browny weren't there as well (in the past).
"And we've got other players - they aren't Jonathan Brown - but they can do their part and hopefully we can get a win."
Bradshaw's form has already sparked talk of everything from new club records to Coleman Medals for the Lions' comeback kid.
Bradshaw joked that there was only one way he would collect Brisbane's second straight Coleman Medal.
"Maybe if (Hawthorn's Lance) Franklin falls over and hurts himself, which of course I don't want to happen," he laughed.
But his 2007 injury heartbreak taught Bradshaw that it doesn't pay to look too far ahead.
"I had a little hiccup in the pre-season where I was still getting a bit of pain but once that went I did everything they asked of me and felt really confident in it," he said.
"I came into the season without big expectations, just enjoy myself - I'm not going out there putting too much pressure on myself.
"I don't want to look too far ahead, anything can happen like last year."

http://img184.imageshack.us/img184/9316/bradshaw7in8.jpg

CoZi36
4 Jun 2008, 22:16
Love ya Braddles, well done on your achievements thus far this year, let's hope they continue, including a Coleman, you can do it!

All the best.

Grimreepah
5 Jun 2008, 00:02
Link (http://lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=60839)

Bradshaw said he and Brown had learnt to complement each other.

"Browny is very good at organising the forward line and working the space so we don't bump into each other too often," he said.

"It's going to happen a couple of times a game, but as long as it doesn't happen every time it comes in there.

"I normally start a bit behind Browny, so I tend to see where he's going to lead first and try and lead to the space on the other side of the ground so we're one-out most of the time.

"I don't think we are doing anything different - it's been the way forwards have played for years.

http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/319/bradshawdz0.jpg

Link (http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/sport/afl/story/0,27046,23811349-5016169,00.html)

Matthews is a master of doing the basics right and the way Brown and Bradshaw are combining is no different to the manner in which successful centre half-forward/full-forward partnerships have always operated.

Brown plays further up the ground and will therefore mostly head to the attacking side, which, when Brisbane's game plan is working to its optimum, would see left-footer Josh Drummond starting an attacking raid from the left half-back flank.

That leaves Bradshaw to work to space.

Bradshaw said the leading patterns (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=11251752&postcount=524) had nothing to do with the side each player preferred to shoot at goal from.

"I actually thought I led to the other side a bit more and I'd prefer to kick from that side," he said.

Grimreepah
5 Jun 2008, 01:48
Link
(http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/bradshaw-better-stronger-faster/2008/06/04/1212258910227.html)
Bradshaw: better, stronger, faster
Martin Blake
June 4, 2008

"Gentlemen, we can rebuild him. We have the technology." - Introduction, The Six Million Dollar Man
That lame 1980s television show about the cyborg Steve Austin, an astronaut rebuilt as a super-human after a space accident, rings in the ears when you watch Daniel Bradshaw play. Bradshaw could be today's Six Million Dollar Man. He's come back better, stronger, faster from a knee reconstruction, and that's quite a feat.
In fact, Brisbane Lions' power forward can lay claim to a title that carries no statistic or trophy with it. By a strong consensus, Bradshaw has returned from the dreaded knee reconstruction better and more quickly than any AFL player before him.
Just ask Leigh Matthews, the Brisbane Lions' coach, who believes his full-forward is not merely playing as well as he was before he went down in the pre-season of 2007; he's actually improved. "We're pleasantly surprised," said Matthews. "I would have thought his last eight weeks are as good as he's every played, really. I've never seen him play any better than this over a period of a couple of months. I don't know what we expected, but I don't think we necessarily expected him to come back as well as he has as quickly as he has."
Or Michael Voss, his former skipper. "I can't think of anyone who's done it better," said Voss. "To be pressing for all-Australian selection the year after you do an ACL is quite impressive."
Bradshaw's 43 goals in 10 games put him second on the AFL's goalkicking list, only behind Lance Franklin. He is averaging career-highs in goals and contested football. In concert with Jonathan Brown (33 goals this season), he is providing the Lions with the best one-two punching forward line in the competition. Witness the past fortnight, during which the pair have buried St Kilda and North Melbourne with 24 goals between them.
It is not meant to be so. Conventional wisdom is that in AFL football, players returning from knee surgery take at least a month or two, sometimes longer, to reach anything approaching their optimum level of play. The Western Bulldog Robert Murphy, for instance, is playing brilliant football right now, but his knee surgery was in 2006.
Bradshaw has smashed the theory. "I reckon he's the best result ever," said Peter Brukner, The Age columnist and current Socceroos' travelling medico. "He'd have to be, wouldn't he? I can't think of anyone who's come back better."
Ironically, Bradshaw endured several complications to the 12-month rehabilitation that is being put up as the model for success. Firstly, he had an injured right shoulder, too, and the Lions opted to have that reconstructed as well.
In April, 2007, he had the reconstruction, in which surgeons inserted a piece of hamstring tendon inside his right knee to replace the anterior cruciate ligament that had pulled away from the bone. Secondly, when he began training toward the end of last season, his knee became chronically sore.
It was not the smooth progression that the club would have liked, for the 29-year-old was forced into a bout of arthoscopic surgery on the patella tendon in the same knee. But he was a good student of rehabilitation, according to the Lions' strength and conditioning manager, Lachlan Penfold, who has seen players in the same situation fall victim to boredom. Bradshaw virtually lived in the gym at the Gabba, churning out three and four-hour sessions on leg weights, in the pool and on the bike.
"The guys battle at times, mentally and emotionally," Penfold said. "They might not turn up for a session or something like that. 'Braddy' might have battled emotionally, but he didn't bring it with him."
By February this year, Bradshaw was flying on the track. Significantly, he showed none of the tentativeness that afflicts other players. "I remember saying to him one night: 'You just don't look like you've ever had anything wrong'," recalls Matthews. "Even at that point, it was out of his mind. He was able to move on really quickly. His confidence in his body, those mental scars weren't there."
Penfold believes that with all the leg weights Bradshaw lifted last year, he has come back physically stronger. Moreover, he appears to be hungrier. "Everyone takes things for granted at times," said Penfold. "Now there's a bit of mortality about it. It's like 'oh s..., this is what life's like without football. I better make sure I do the right thing'. It's a lonely road back. I think they do some soul-searching: 'I'm not going to have this for the rest of my life. I'm going to make the most of my opportunities'. It's a sobering experience."
Matthews agrees that Bradshaw looks more motivated. "There is that subliminal, subconscious aspect that your career is almost lost, or severely interrupted. OK there's a physical downer, but on the motivational side it makes you quite possibly hungrier to do what you can when you can. I think I'd offer the view that he appears to be a hungrier footballer."
Bradshaw is happy to stay in the moment. "I've actually been pulling up really well," he said yesterday. "Obviously there was a fair bit of rehab involved in the injury and on the way back I did heaps and heaps of work involving turning - which is how I did the knee in the first place. Before the first game back (against Sydney) in the pre-season, I spoke to my doctor and he said that once you are able to do that kind of turning work, it means you are pretty much right to go.
"Since I've started playing again the knee has felt really strong and hasn't played on my mind at all. The more times I got my hands on the footy, the more comfortable I began to feel. It was good to be able to take a few grabs and kick a few goals just, I suppose, to realise you can still do it."

DANIEL BRADSHAW'S NUMBERS
Year Goals a game
2000 2.9
2001 2.3
2002 1.9
2003 1.2
2004 1.8
2005 2.2
2006 2.7
2007 -
2008 4.3

http://img520.imageshack.us/img520/7452/bradshawfz2.jpg

Loyal Lion
5 Jun 2008, 12:43
If Braddy is the Six Million Dollar Man, Jmac must be his clone. Jmac never displayed his current form before his knee operation.

I would probably class Jmac's re-invigoration as better than Braddy's. They are both in AA form this year.

acuguy
5 Jun 2008, 16:33
Bradshaw has received heaps of press this week, let's hope he kicks 10 and sends the media into a coleman frenzy, in saying that Buddy will probably kick 10 this week

chopperduck
8 Jun 2008, 09:00
Bradshaw has received heaps of press this week, let's hope he kicks 10 and sends the media into a coleman frenzy, in saying that Buddy will probably kick 10 this week

you weren't far off, got 9 did buddy. if braddles can kick a bag of about 6+ he will stay in touch with buddy i think.

acuguy
8 Jun 2008, 12:33
you weren't far off, got 9 did buddy. if braddles can kick a bag of about 6+ he will stay in touch with buddy i think.

Bradshaw is your old style full forward and I love watching him play. Brown is your grunt chf blessed with class and courage. Franklin is a genius! Bradshaw can't catch him but god I hope he gets close. If Buddy stays injury free he will kick 120 plus goals this year. I hope Braddles can crack the ton with 3 or 4 finals games thrown in!

dlanod
8 Jun 2008, 16:47
Bradshaw is your old style full forward and I love watching him play. Brown is your grunt chf blessed with class and courage. Franklin is a genius! Bradshaw can't catch him but god I hope he gets close. If Buddy stays injury free he will kick 120 plus goals this year. I hope Braddles can crack the ton with 3 or 4 finals games thrown in!

You obviously forgot to knock on wood. :mad:

notting18
8 Jun 2008, 16:53
I think they were very cautious with Bradshaw today so it would be interesting to see how serious the injury is. Hopefully it is a 1-2 week injury at worst. It does open up a spot for Clark and Leuenberger in the same side if Roe or Drummond come back, but if they don't Henderson may see Senior Football again.

chopperduck
8 Jun 2008, 18:04
yup, i agree. as long as its only a week or two its not bad for us. clark can fill the role of bradshaw for a week or two, brings berger back in to ruck. im more worried about the 3 or so players missing from the back half. its these guys that give us our drive and make it easy for the forwards. clark is good enough to kick a few in bradshaws place if needed. best to rest now and be careful with him then risk making it a 4 week injury. split round isn't far off so a week off for all should help

acuguy
8 Jun 2008, 18:34
I didn't seem him go off, i am hoping he was benched and then he complained of hamstring tightness so they decided not to risk him. HOPE SO!

Cousin Jed
8 Jun 2008, 19:32
Link (http://www.lions.com.au/tabid/5085/Default.aspx?newsid=61062)

Daniel Bradshaw came off with a hamstring injury in the third quarter, and the Lions coach said he was "doubtful" the full forward would come up.

CoZi36
13 Jun 2008, 01:12
With Bradshaw not playing this weekend against the Bulldogs at the MCG, he may play his 200th at home (in rounds 20 or 21). If Daniel played every game up and including round 19 (against the Hawks at Aurora) that would have been his milestone match. Probably worked out for the best.

beatlesmith
16 Jun 2008, 02:24
what's his status for next week??

dlanod
16 Jun 2008, 08:48
what's his status for next week??

Clearing, but with some chance of showers.