View Full Version : A moment of realism
Cyclops
14 May 2002, 08:45
What I would really really like for Christmas is to beat the Bears this week. It is possible, as we have a very tall forward line and out rucks are functioning well. The Bears are perhaps a tad short in defence, and can be challenged in the ruck.
I know the Teds are in good form and near peak fitness, but our team has started to knit, to the point we can play badly and still win (eg vs Footscray). If the strands of our teamwork can weather Brisbane's excellent strong play, we have a structure in place to extract the win.
Brisbane win by gripping the game by the throat and controlling it utterly. I reckon with that style they have to win three quarters of footy. They have the power and concentration to do that (as they often demonstrate). We need to beat them with smart footy, scoring smart goals as against their blitzing attack. We also need to win a decent half of footy. It's a big ask, but I have faith in the boys.
Originally posted by Cyclops
It's a big ask, but I have faith in the boys.
Me too. Absolute faith. We can match anyone.
cjwalkley
14 May 2002, 16:26
What I would really really like for Christmas is to beat the Bears this week. It is possible, as we have a very tall forward line and out rucks are functioning well. The Bears are perhaps a tad short in defence, and can be challenged in the ruck.
I know the Teds are in good form and near peak fitness, but our team has started to knit, to the point we can play badly and still win (eg vs Footscray). If the strands of our teamwork can weather Brisbane's excellent strong play, we have a structure in place to extract the win.
Brisbane win by gripping the game by the throat and controlling it utterly. I reckon with that style they have to win three quarters of footy. They have the power and concentration to do that (as they often demonstrate). We need to beat them with smart footy, scoring smart goals as against their blitzing attack. We also need to win a decent half of footy. It's a big ask, but I have faith in the boys.
There is absolutely no doubt the Pies will beat the Bears this week. For one simple reason....
.....all the Bears players are closer to 40 than 30 and most haven't played footy for a decade. I still think Mark Mickan can match Fraser and McKee in the ruck. John Hutton, Cameron O'Brien and Ray Windsor will cause havoc amongst your forward line, but Richard Champion and Martin Leslie are a little on the short side for your attack. Then when you have finished beating them, you can come down to Colonial and get your just desserts for picking on old men by the Lions!:D
BrainOfMorbius
14 May 2002, 16:35
I hear Johnny Gastev's out for revenge, too.
Cyclops
14 May 2002, 16:46
Gastev? We'll pick Daicos and take the lazy 13. the forward line of Fidge/Capper/Hardie has me worried though.
Originally posted by BrainOfMorbius
I hear Johnny Gastev's out for revenge, too.
No way, Gastev ain't playing!
There would be too much facial hair out there with White, O'Bree and Steinfort taking the field!!
And what if Wakelin decided to go for his Miami Vice stubble? There would be chaos!!!
Didn't Josh Gastev break down in tears after Daics kicked 13 that fateful night up at Cararra?
BrainOfMorbius
14 May 2002, 18:54
Originally posted by FIGJAM
No way, Gastev ain't playing!
There would be too much facial hair out there with White, O'Bree and Steinfort taking the field!!
And what if Wakelin decided to go for his Miami Vice stubble? There would be chaos!!! Look mate, if your mob's going to play the facial hair card I'll see you and raise you Mark Zanotti and Brad Rowe.
LIONS2001
14 May 2002, 21:24
If Collingwood come out and play like they did against the Bulldogs, they will be slaughtered. But if they come out with the good football that they sometimes do play, then this game will be close and it could go either way.'
pedrothelioness
15 May 2002, 17:52
I vote for danny dikfos as best on ground!
Roger Merrett might be a chance, but i think young Clokey should towl him up!
BrainOfMorbius
15 May 2002, 21:32
Originally posted by pedrothelioness
I vote for danny dikfos as best on ground! Well, duh.
Roylion
16 May 2002, 13:42
The Bears are perhaps a tad short in defence, and can be challenged in the ruck.
Gee, I dunno. Matt Rendell is a pretty good player. The dynamic duo of Mark Mickan and Rendell should give the Collingwood rucks a bit of a bath.
Wes Fellowes and James Manson could beat those dudes any day
cjwalkley
16 May 2002, 15:28
Watch out though, the Bears have Schaeche to back up Mickan and Rendell!
Bourke's knee should've recovered by now so he can have a shot first up in the ruck.
Wheels for P.M
17 May 2002, 03:19
todays Collingwood would kill the last bears team,But will they beat the brisbane lions this week ? no way in hell, sorry.
My girlfriend goes for the Pies (ya cant have it all ya know) and she agrees ,but goodluck Pies
But I think watching a bunch of old Bears playing todays Pies would be a better game (Rope Robert Walls in to coach).
DEATH TO ESSENDON
BrainOfMorbius
17 May 2002, 08:43
Originally posted by Wheels for P.M
todays Collingwood would kill the last bears team The side that made the 1996 preliminary final? I dunno about that, I reckon it'd be a pretty good game.
Cyclops
20 May 2002, 09:17
I have faith in the boys, they did it.