View Full Version : Efl

Pages : [1] 2

stanton_monfries
22nd August 2007, 12:51
As there is no Official EFL Thread I will put up news each week mainly for Division 1 but i will try to include other divisions as well.

DIVISION 1

Lilydale have wrapped up the top 5 with a 1 point come from behind win over scoresby. Lilydale were down by 6 goals at 3 quarter time but stormed back with 8 goals in the final quarter. Scoresby needed to win this game to keep their maiden Division 1 finals hopes alive.
Lilydale 17.15.117 def Scoresby 17.16.116

Vermont beat Balwyn on the weekend. This was to be Balwyns first loss at home this season. This win wrapped up top spot for Vermont.
Balwyn 12.14.86 def by Vermont 13.12.90

Noble Park came out firing against Donvale at the weekend kicking 9.3 to Donvales 0.0 in the first quarter. Noble Park finished the game like they started it running out winners.
Noble Park 22.15.147 def Donvale 10.4.64

In other Division 1 matches-

Croydon 8.8.56 def by East Ringwood 21.14.140
East Burwood 16.13.109 def by Blackburn 18.10.118
Ringwood 8.4.52 def by Norwood 25.17.167

With ony 1 round to go in Division 1, from 2nd spot down to 5th spot are yet to be determined.
NAME W-D-L % PTS
1. Vermont 15-0-2 166.64 60
2. East Ringwood 13-0-4 149.59 52
3. Balwayn 12-0-5 158.69 48
4. Noble Park 12-0-5 141.97 48
5. Lilydale 12-0-5 116.35 48

6. Scoresby 9-0-8 130.32 36
7. Blackburn 8-1-8 87.03 34
8. Croydon 6-1-10 91.87 26
9. Norwood 6-0-11 91.52 24
10. Donvale 5-0-12 74.77 20
11. East Burwood 2-0-15 57.57 8
12. Ringwood 1-0-16 31.23 4

Fixtures for Round 18

2:10 PM
Sat 25/Aug

Croydon Oval (http://www.sportingpulse.com/nf/comp_info.cgi?round=18&a=VENUE&venueid=3922922&c=1-722-0-51386-0&fID=23023299)
Croydon (http://www.sportingpulse.com/nf/team_info.cgi?id=5242554&c=1-722-0-51386-0) vs East Burwood (http://www.sportingpulse.com/nf/team_info.cgi?id=5242625&c=1-722-0-51386-0)

Sat 25/Aug

Donvale Reserve (http://www.sportingpulse.com/nf/comp_info.cgi?round=18&a=VENUE&venueid=3922880&c=1-722-0-51386-0&fID=23024417)

Donvale (http://www.sportingpulse.com/nf/team_info.cgi?id=5242580&c=1-722-0-51386-0) vs East Ringwood (http://www.sportingpulse.com/nf/team_info.cgi?id=5242587&c=1-722-0-51386-0)

Sat 25/Aug

Morton Park (http://www.sportingpulse.com/nf/comp_info.cgi?round=18&a=VENUE&venueid=3922856&c=1-722-0-51386-0&fID=23025624)

Blackburn (http://www.sportingpulse.com/nf/team_info.cgi?id=5242633&c=1-722-0-51386-0) vs Ringwood (http://www.sportingpulse.com/nf/team_info.cgi?id=5242576&c=1-722-0-51386-0)

Sat 25/Aug

Pat Wright Senior Ground (http://www.sportingpulse.com/nf/comp_info.cgi?round=18&a=VENUE&venueid=3922912&c=1-722-0-51386-0&fID=23025136)

Noble Park (http://www.sportingpulse.com/nf/team_info.cgi?id=5242567&c=1-722-0-51386-0) vs Balwyn (http://www.sportingpulse.com/nf/team_info.cgi?id=5142786&c=1-722-0-51386-0)

Sat 25/Aug

Scoresby Recreation Reserve (http://www.sportingpulse.com/nf/comp_info.cgi?round=18&a=VENUE&venueid=3922865&c=1-722-0-51386-0&fID=23025454)
Scoresby (http://www.sportingpulse.com/nf/team_info.cgi?id=5242586&c=1-722-0-51386-0) vs Norwood (http://www.sportingpulse.com/nf/team_info.cgi?id=5242595&c=1-722-0-51386-0)

Sat 25/Aug

Vermont Recreation Reserve (http://www.sportingpulse.com/nf/comp_info.cgi?round=18&a=VENUE&venueid=3922920&c=1-722-0-51386-0&fID=23026027)
Vermont (http://www.sportingpulse.com/nf/team_info.cgi?id=5242609&c=1-722-0-51386-0) vs Lilydale (http://www.sportingpulse.com/nf/team_info.cgi?id=5242624&c=1-722-0-51386-0)

DIVISION 2

Knox continue to have their outstanding year. This week thumping Rowville.
Rowville 7.12.54 def by Knox 33.24.222

South Croydon continue to impess in their maiden year in Division 2. This time smashing North Ringwood.
South Croydon 30.17.197 def North Ringwood 10.18.78

Bayswater caused the upset of the round, narrowly beating Doncaster. The Waters withstood a 3rd quarter fightback by Doncaster, in which Doncaster kicked 9 goals to 6. But Bayswater answered every challenge Doncaster had.
Bayswater 16.15.111 def Doncaster 15.14.104

In other Division 2 results-

Mitcham 10.10.70 def by Montrose 28.17.185
Wantirna South 16.15.111 def Mulgrave 14.10.94

With the last round coming up this weekend. I think it is safe to say that Knox has wrapped up top spot with South Croydon set to finish second. 3rd spot will be on the line in the final round. With Doncaster playing Wantirna South who are proving themselve to be worthy finals contenders even though just missing out. And 4th placed Mulgrave play South Croydon who have been very impressive this year.

1.Knox 15-2 180.29 60
2.South Croydon 14-3 143.53 56
3.Doncaster 11-6 103.39 44
4.Mulgrave 11-6 100.92 44

5.Wantirna South 9-8 104.21 36
6.Montrose 8-9 92.14 32
7.Rowville 7-10 87.64 28
8.Bayswater 7-10 84.49 28
9.North Ringwood 3-14 80.27 12
10.Mitcham 0-17 63.19 0

Fixtures for Round 18

Sat 25/Aug

Knox Gardens Reserve

Knox
vs
Mitcham

Sat 25/Aug

Montrose Reserve

Montrose
vs
Bayswater

Sat 25/Aug

Mulgrave Reserve

Mulgrave
vs
South Croydon

Sat 25/Aug

Quambee Reserve

North Ringwood
vs
Rowville

Sat 25/Aug

Schramms Reserve

Doncaster
vs
Wantirna South

DIVISION 3

FINALS FIXTURE

Sat 25/Aug

Walker Park
Second Semi-Final

Doncaster East
vs
Boronia

Sun 26/Aug

Walker Park
First Semi-Final

Upper Ferntree Gully
vs
Nunawading

DIVISION 4

FINALS FIXTURE

Sat 25/Aug

Tormore Reserve
Second Semi-Final

Whitehorse Pioneers
vs
The Basin

Sun 26/Aug

Tormore Reserve
First Semi-Final

Eastern Lions
vs
Heathmont

Let's hope for a great weekend of Footy

blangers51
22nd August 2007, 19:01
Go the Bears

monfries_stanton_guns
22nd August 2007, 19:23
as stanton_monfries has the red card...i will take over this thread now

SonOfReep
22nd August 2007, 19:27
as stanton_monfries has the red card...i will take over this thread now

Wow what a coincidence your names are similar.

Posting under an alias while red carded is a red cardable offence mate :)

monfries_stanton_guns
22nd August 2007, 19:29
lol we will wait n see

SonOfReep
22nd August 2007, 19:32
lol we will wait n see

I guess we will.

Billy the Kid
30th August 2007, 15:35
How is Paul Sheehan going this year for East Ringwood? Very handy footballer, would have thought he was going alright.

hawka_fan
30th August 2007, 16:02
go ringwood. meh

eddiesmith
1st September 2007, 23:30
Shocking loss for the Roos today, oh well, gotta do it the hard way now and probably have a rematch with Noble Park in the Prelim

hotpies12
4th September 2007, 15:39
Can you see Bayswater improving next year and maybe pushing for a finals berth?

Creeker35
5th September 2007, 13:24
How has Adrian Cox's form been for Lilydale this year? I'm told he is ass coach? Anyone enlighten me?

bromanbomber
6th September 2007, 16:01
Does anyone know how Keiren O'Dwyer has been playing at Balwyn??

hawka_fan
7th September 2007, 16:33
How has Adrian Cox's form been for Lilydale this year? I'm told he is ass coach? Anyone enlighten me?
he weards red boots:thumbsu: he looked skinny as for the hawks but like a mammoth for lilydale.

Slug
8th September 2007, 22:16
How is Paul Sheehan going this year for East Ringwood? Very handy footballer, would have thought he was going alright.

Paul "Sheenedog" Sheehan broke his foot earlier in the year but should be OK for the second week of the finals

soupaman
17th September 2007, 15:21
Just in case anyone is interested how the divvy two finals went.
Knox beat Sth Croydon in the first semi-final, Doncaster beat Mulgrave in the elimination.

Sth Croydon the annhilated Doncaster to have a Knox vs Sth Croydon rematch in the grand final.

At full time of the grand final, Knox and Sth Croydon were level. So they played extra time, seeing Knox come out winners.

banggoal
22nd September 2007, 12:54
anyone know a bloke called David Roose.think he plays at Mulgrave.from all reports he is a deadset DUD!!!:D

PINNACLE HEALTH
25th September 2007, 11:53
Was anyone at the divy 1 granny , a mate went and said a n/park player took a mark 15metres out in front of goals just before the siren and mist costing them a flag.

justthedukes
25th September 2007, 16:03
Was anyone at the divy 1 granny , a mate went and said a n/park player took a mark 15metres out in front of goals just before the siren and mist costing them a flag.

Yeap it was unbelivable. Didnt think he marked it, got paid, bit of an angle as he took it just outside of the goal sq, everyone thought noble won, just assuming he would kick it, then he sprayed it. Unbelivable. It wasnt just before the siren, the siren had gone about 2 seconds after he 'marked' it. He wouldavle kicked that 99 times out of 100.

Saying that, Kris Barlow missed 2 shots that were basically directly in front aswell. They kicked about 1.4 in the last 5 minutes of the game to lose by 5 points.

The Under 18s was pretty amazing aswell. Siren had gone, the scoreboard read 94 - 94. Everyone thought it was gonna be extra time, umpires converged and added their scores, 94-95 East Ringwood won.

Feel pretty bad for the bloke that missed that shot.

chuggg
27th September 2007, 09:48
I was standing underneath the siren, and the siren was clearly sounded before the marking contest even began. But I can understand how/why the field umpires did not hear it until later on.

The mark itself; how that was even paid a mark was a bit of a joke, but thankfully the correct team won.

bitta leverage
2nd October 2007, 10:52
i was there. it was hard to tell if it was a mark. i was standing in front of the goals, where Noble park was kicking to. the siren and scoreboard were up the other end. it was a little hard to tell if it was a mark. in all honesty (being a Vermont supporter that i am) i would have paid it as a mark. also as you are up the other end, the siren takes that fraction of a second longer to reach the umpire/players/supporters. the Vermont supporters were all filthy as they were right underneath the scoreboard at the other end.
but even though it was over-ruled as a mark by the senior umpire, it was the most horrible kick i have seen from 15-20 meters out (bar mine from 5 meters out at the start of the year). the poor bloke would have felt horrible. also i think the ex-Vermont, ex-hawthorn, ex-Vermont again, ex-(some country team paying $50 grand +) and now noble park star had two easy shots in the last quarter and noble kicked something like 1 goal 5 in the last little bit of the game, so they certainly most have rued their missed opportunities.

very good fast and physical game

justthedukes
2nd October 2007, 15:18
also i think the ex-Vermont, ex-hawthorn, ex-Vermont again, ex-(some country team paying $50 grand +) and now noble park star had two easy shots in the last quarter and noble kicked something like 1 goal 5 in the last little bit of the game, so they certainly most have rued their missed opportunities.

very good fast and physical game

Yeah, Barlow was shocking. For the amount he would be getting paid, it was a joke. bitta leverage, did u go/go to vermont secondary?

bitta leverage
2nd October 2007, 22:35
yer mate went to vermont. why?

justthedukes
3rd October 2007, 09:40
yer mate went to vermont. why?

Yeah so did I, was just wondering ahahah, didn't think there was any other vermont blokes on here.

bitta leverage
3rd October 2007, 10:57
thats pretty funny
how long ago did u go. or if ur still at school, wat year are u in?
did u play footy for vermont?

justthedukes
4th October 2007, 20:09
Finished in 05 mate. Played for vermont ages ages ago, like U14's.

Bright Boy
20th October 2007, 18:30
David Banfield re-appointed as coach of Vermont for 2008. Interesting to see which players remain.

Kris Bardon has mentioned show me the captaincy or Im gone. Bernie Dineen has said I'll take top $$ whereever

Neale Daniher to coach Balwyn?

robbo07
24th October 2007, 12:50
David Banfield re-appointed as coach of Vermont for 2008. Interesting to see which players remain.

Kris Bardon has mentioned show me the captaincy or Im gone. Bernie Dineen has said I'll take top $$ whereever

Neale Daniher to coach Balwyn?

Daniel Harford appointed new coach of Balwyn. They will also have some new players next year. Matthew lappin (ex Carlton), Joel Smith (ex Hawthorn) and Matthew Allen (ex Carlton/Essendon) have all been spoken to and look like playing at Balwyn next season. Along with some very good VFL players

ablett
25th October 2007, 11:38
Daniel Harford appointed new coach of Balwyn. They will also have some new players next year. Matthew lappin (ex Carlton), Joel Smith (ex Hawthorn) and Matthew Allen (ex Carlton/Essendon) have all been spoken to and look like playing at Balwyn next season. Along with some very good VFL players

Where's McGuane off too then?

Rufus Red
27th October 2007, 11:07
Who have Sth Belgrave replaced?? Has a club folded or are teh top two sides being promoted???

Dee Snider
2nd November 2007, 11:27
Any info on why McGuane only spent 1 season at Balwyn?? Was that the original deal - whats the story? Anyone know?

Valley Spy
3rd November 2007, 00:08
Any info on why McGuane only spent 1 season at Balwyn?? Was that the original deal - whats the story? Anyone know?

Pretty sure he's got a job at Richmond Football Club.

Hillite
3rd November 2007, 22:13
Who won the league medal and the B&Fs in the Div 1 clubs?

obe1
8th November 2007, 17:00
Pretty sure he's got a job at Richmond Football Club.

Mick McGuane is the new coach of Essendon District club - Keilor

Buckster
12th November 2007, 14:25
whats the go with Mitchem football club? there last 2 yrs have been shocking - absolutely shithouse - any info anyone?

litening
14th November 2007, 14:18
Can anybody help me with a player by the name of Lee Wickham, Ringwood I think???

Any info would be appreciated.

The Falcon
19th November 2007, 13:29
Has anybody got any news on Lilydale is it true that Justin Charles is coach ?

GG Rides Again
19th November 2007, 19:23
whats the go with Mitchem football club? there last 2 yrs have been shocking - absolutely shithouse - any info anyone?

At the start of the year they lost 30+ players including about 14 quality senior players. The biggest loss was the Full Forward who went to EDFL I think. Coached by Daniel Bellissimo until about mid year and had no wins on the board when coachingv staff wanted discussions with committee on how they were moving forward and why they would be in division 3. Talks turned into finger pointing and President accepted resignagtion of the coach and the chairman of selectors.
The rest of the year they continued not to win a game and are now divison 3.
The first poor year in Divison 1 was just about lack of cattle and if you dont have a solid nucleus teams like Vermont and Noble just smash you.

I am not sure who they appointed as coach for 2008 but EFL website will tell you.

Buckster
20th November 2007, 10:38
At the start of the year they lost 30+ players including about 14 quality senior players. The biggest loss was the Full Forward who went to EDFL I think. Coached by Daniel Bellissimo until about mid year and had no wins on the board when coachingv staff wanted discussions with committee on how they were moving forward and why they would be in division 3. Talks turned into finger pointing and President accepted resignagtion of the coach and the chairman of selectors.
The first poor year in Divison 1 was just about lack of cattle and if you dont have a solid nucleus teams like Vermont and Noble just smash you.

I am not sure who they appointed as coach for 2008 but EFL website will tell you.

Thanks. I watched them play a few games in 2006 (div 1) and the 2 games i saw - they won agaisnt east ringwood and were competitve in the other game but lost. Loss of 30 players is tough - who was the fullforward?

Shakermaker94
21st November 2007, 16:56
Brodie Ross is 2008's player to watch out for. Courageous & and can kick a good goal or 2. Half forward flanker, or wingman. Runs all day like Steve Monaghetti. Real work horse.

Bright Boy
26th November 2007, 10:42
Who won the league medal and the B&Fs in the Div 1 clubs?

Vermonts Nathan Henley tied with a Noble Park player - Anderson? to win the Chandler Medal, capped off a great year for him with selection in the team of the year and BOG in the Grand Final.

Dean Stephen won Vermonts B&F

McGuane had apparently repaid his dues at Balwyn and moved on...

Bernie Dineen will be back at Vermont next year, and with Ryan Cassidy back on track the Eagles will have one formidable midfield with Dineen, Stephen, Mullett, Cassidy, Morse, Henley & Bardon.

PAUL Willard
28th November 2007, 20:20
gee the eastern footy league thread is not exactly a lively place is it? come on all, get some news on recruits or departures up here. i can start by stating that noble park are looking to sign former ovens and murray ruckman/kpp andrew gilbert, only played a few games in div 4 with eastern lions this season because of work commitments. any news on recruits for other teams would be greatly appreciated

Bright Boy
29th November 2007, 09:26
Vermont
In: Bernie Dineen
2 Tassie KP Players

Out: A Wylie (WA)
C Durie (NSW)
M Browne (Qld)
D Reay (WA)

number31
29th November 2007, 10:07

A bloke called Paul Nigro is coaching Mitcham.He has played and coached at Bulleen Temp in the ammos and also coached Northcote Park in the Northern League for 1 year

Buckster
29th November 2007, 11:54
A bloke called Paul Nigro is coaching Mitcham.He has played and coached at Bulleen Temp in the ammos and also coached Northcote Park in the Northern League for 1 year

Will be interesting to see how the tigers travel in 2008! surely a promotion is minimum for 2008??
Has there been a club drop 4 grades in 4 years?

GG Rides Again
29th November 2007, 17:31
Will be interesting to see how the tigers travel in 2008! surely a promotion is minimum for 2008??
Has there been a club drop 4 grades in 4 years?

I wouldnt think so.
The best performance going up in the last 10 years would have been Donvale who started Div 3( I think) and promoted every year into Div and finals by 3rd year

Bobby Beecroft
1st December 2007, 07:50

Was assistant coach at Doncaster in 2006.
Nice bloke hope he goes well.
Tough job & I'm tipping a few more will leave.

Some Recruiting news:
Troy Hill to return to Doncaster from Mitcham after 1 season
David Searl to take the same route.

fromthebackline
4th December 2007, 09:39
Was assistant coach at Doncaster in 2006.

Some Recruiting news:
Troy Hill to return to Doncaster from Mitcham after 1 season
David Searl to take the same route.

Looking for lifestyle change, why not Cairns. Good climate and footy. Powerfull club in Cairns Looking for ruchman, all players welcome. Good remuneration. Our coach is Steve Daniels, twice Vic Country Coach of the year and dual premiership coach in the G.V Also Qld Country State Coach for 2008 Nationals. Assist with work an accomodation. If interested contact me through this site.

WALKERTOBETTS
5th December 2007, 05:19
FYI specially to those who have got no where else to go!

All is welcome - please PM me for futher info

The Fitzroy Stars FC are holding a BBQ to seek interest of potential players. The Northern Football League are seeking a list of potential players to coincide with our application, the NFL will be considering our entry into the NFL on Monday 10th December;

When:
This Wednesday 5th December 2007

Where:
Aborigines Advancement League
2 Watt Street, Thornbury

Time:
5.30pm Onwards

Supporters and any Interested Members are encouraged to come along, we hope to see you there.

justthedukes
6th December 2007, 13:35
Ive heard that Daniel Mcconnell is back training with Vermont? Any truth behind this?

Half Back Pocket
6th December 2007, 14:46
[quote=Bobby Beecroft;9585330]Was assistant coach at Doncaster in 2006.

Hmmmm..only having a handful at pre-xmas training doesn't bode too well.

goblues09
5th January 2008, 14:26
just wondering if anyone has any info on any new recruits for Bayswater, or any news on the new coach there

blueeyes
7th January 2008, 09:00
gee the eastern footy league thread is not exactly a lively place is it? come on all, get some news on recruits or departures up here. i can start by stating that noble park are looking to sign former ovens and murray ruckman/kpp andrew gilbert, only played a few games in div 4 with eastern lions this season because of work commitments. any news on recruits for other teams would be greatly appreciated
blackburn have picked up two young blockes from port douglas in the cairns league. lee smith, who won the b&f and anthony jones 4th b&f both played rep footy 2007

puffpuffgivemo
9th January 2008, 13:55
Donvale have lost some quality players haven't they.

Casey, Woods, Grigg and DeAngelis.

GG Rides Again
15th January 2008, 07:16
blackburn have picked up two young blockes from port douglas in the cairns league. lee smith, who won the b&f and anthony jones 4th b&f both played rep footy 2007

Have heard that a couple of the Rochester boys will be playing with Jez and Timmy this year at Blackburn. Heath Aitken looks likely and was captain of Rochester for the last few years. Plays on ball. Not sure about a coupe of others but another onballer and a key position player may as well.

mudshake
15th January 2008, 14:20
Ive heard that Daniel Mcconnell is back training with Vermont? Any truth behind this?

Daniel has signed with North Ballarat in the VFL. Can't understand why he would want to go all the way there when he could have got a reasonable contract with a more local VFL club.

BlindTurn
18th January 2008, 12:39
Norwood have signed Simon Godfrey and 3 players from Euroa in the GVFL in Luke Hyatt(CHF), David King(winger/hbf) and Matthew Pascoe(CHB).. Must be throwing a bit of coin around.

Also heard on the grapevine that Patrick Bowden is playing at Balwyn.

Hillite
21st January 2008, 10:15
Donvale have lost some quality players haven't they.

Casey, Woods, Grigg and DeAngelis.

We're they going??
How good are they??

hillsby
21st January 2008, 15:47
Donvale Mitcham Merger:)Hear that not only have they lost 12 good players! They are in merger talks with Mitcham! What will the new club be called? Which ground will they use? What jumpers will they use? What do you think? Should they be Div1 or Div3?

Spuddy23
22nd January 2008, 13:30
Donvale Tigers. Mitchams jumper with Donvale's ground, they could give Mitchams ground to some1 else who needs it. They will play div 1. I like the sound of that. No one involved with both clubs would though.. Shame if it happens

Bobby Beecroft
22nd January 2008, 17:48
Donvale Tigers. Mitchams jumper with Donvale's ground, they could give Mitchams ground to some1 else who needs it. They will play div 1. I like the sound of that. No one involved with both clubs would though.. Shame if it happens

They would get slaughtered in Division 1. Both sides at this stage appear to be decimated from what was presented in 2007 (Mitcham especially - just wait for the clearances to start kicking in).
Would have thought the attraction of senior finals would make Mitcham's ground the obvious choice, considering the economics of it all.
Agree it would be a shame if it happened, & I would be suprised if it did.

hillsby
23rd January 2008, 17:57
They would get slaughtered in Division 1. Both sides at this stage appear to be decimated from what was presented in 2007 (Mitcham especially - just wait for the clearances to start kicking in).
Would have thought the attraction of senior finals would make Mitcham's ground the obvious choice, considering the economics of it all.
Agree it would be a shame if it happened, & I would be suprised if it did.

I guess this means Div3 - believe getting close to being finalised! Both clubs look like they are in serious trouble! A sad situation

Would this mean a bye in Div 1 or promotion/introduction of new team!!

Time will tell!:rolleyes:

footy luver
23rd January 2008, 19:49
nortcote park in the northern football league need a practice match on april 5 ph 0412298231

ROCK07
23rd January 2008, 23:31
Port Melbourne Colts fc [wrf] are looking for a practise game in march, willing to play away , if interested pm me

Rufus Red
28th January 2008, 09:01

EFL would knock the jumper on the head- too many yellow and black already- the new entity(if it happens) would need different colours.

Sounds liek Mitcham supporters will do a Hawthorn and stop this happening if the rumors are correct. I understand this , but if numbers are what people suggest Donvale will get relagated and Mitcham will forfeit many games and end up in the same boat. Sometimes sense is better than passion. If Mitcham does vote against they may almost be better going into recess for a year then reforming in 4th div the following year with a fresh start rather than having another disasterous year on the field.

GG Rides Again
28th January 2008, 19:14
EFL would knock the jumper on the head- too many yellow and black already- the new entity(if it happens) would need different colours.

Sounds liek Mitcham supporters will do a Hawthorn and stop this happening if the rumors are correct. I understand this , but if numbers are what people suggest Donvale will get relagated and Mitcham will forfeit many games and end up in the same boat. Sometimes sense is better than passion. If Mitcham does vote against they may almost be better going into recess for a year then reforming in 4th div the following year with a fresh start rather than having another disasterous year on the field.

The sad issue about Mitcham is the previous coach told them after 6 rounds last year to start thinking of how they can improve in Div 3 and to save some cash to get some recruits in 2008.
This fell on deaf ears and the coach ended up resigning but with no confidence from the board lead by the President.
Some would say the board have caused a huge issue in not listening to the people who are in charge of the footy teams.

obe1
31st January 2008, 09:37
G'day

After some info on former Donvale player Chris Jones.

Please pm me with a profile/opinion.

Cheers

GG Rides Again
5th February 2008, 07:45
I guess this means Div3 - believe getting close to being finalised! Both clubs look like they are in serious trouble! A sad situation

Would this mean a bye in Div 1 or promotion/introduction of new team!!

Time will tell!:rolleyes:

Extraordinary general meeting next week ( 13th) at Mitcham to confirm the merger. Play Div 3 and willbe know as Mitcham Donvale Tigers.
I think the Donvale coach Matt Young will get the gig as senior coach. There willbe a spill of the board positions and members can vote president and other positions in. Once board is annointed I think the rtification of coaching positions willbe done on the night.

Sad state of affairs for Mitcham with so much history. Will this be a common issue in the coming years as the clubs with the assetts of pubs and clubs will continue to gain strength and leave a few behind.

Cockle doodle doo
6th February 2008, 10:46
Extraordinary general meeting next week ( 13th) at Mitcham to confirm the merger. Play Div 3 and willbe know as Mitcham Donvale Tigers.
I think the Donvale coach Matt Young will get the gig as senior coach. There willbe a spill of the board positions and members can vote president and other positions in. Once board is annointed I think the rtification of coaching positions willbe done on the night.

Sad state of affairs for Mitcham with so much history. Will this be a common issue in the coming years as the clubs with the assetts of pubs and clubs will continue to gain strength and leave a few behind.

I have never read three paragraphs of such rot in all of my life! The only thing that is true in this quote is there is a meeting on the 13th. The rest is made up.

TapRuck
6th February 2008, 12:46
What happened at Donvale? I thought they were a strong club on and off the field... Were finals contenders in recent years, where did it go wrong?

GG Rides Again
6th February 2008, 18:37
I have never read three paragraphs of such rot in all of my life! The only thing that is true in this quote is there is a meeting on the 13th. The rest is made up.

Mate get on the Mitcham website and see for yourself. It actually has the meeting agenda for next week. When you look dont be afraid to come back online and apologise chump.

GG Rides Again
6th February 2008, 18:49

Just to prove you know cocko:

MITCHAM FOOTBALL CLUB
Eastern Football League (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?c=0-722-0-0-0) > Mitcham (http://www.sportingpulse.com/club_info.cgi?c=0-722-12983-0-0)
mySport (http://www.sportingpulse.com/mysport.cgi)

EXTRA ORDINARY GENERAL MEETING

NOTICE OF EXTRA ORDINARY GENERAL MEETING
To the Life Members & Financial Members of the Mitcham Football Club, please be advised that an extra ordinary general meeting will be held at the Mitcham Sporting Club Social Rooms on Wednesday February 13th at 7.30 pm. The agenda for this meeting is as follows. Presidents Address
Proposed merger of Mitcham Football Club with Donvale Football Club & Donvale Magpies Junior [/B]Football Club.
Questions from the floor
Members vote on proposed resolution.

The committee of the Mitcham Football Club 2008 has been faced with some serious concerns heading into season 2008. After two consecutive relegations in 2006 & 2007 the club has found it extremely hard to secure reasonable player numbers for the upcoming season. After being approached by the Donvale Football Club regarding a proposed merger, the committee of the Mitcham Football Club entered into preliminary talks with the Donvale Senior Football Club and the Donvale Magpies Junior Football Club. The current committee strongly believes the club must explore all avenues that present itself in relation to our clubs future. [/FONT][/SIZE]
After holding preliminary talks with the above clubs, the committees have agreed to take the proposed resolution to the members of each club. The president and his committee will endeavor to provide as much information on the proposed merger which will then be voted on by the life members and financial members in attendance. Extra ordinary meetings for the Donvale Football Club and the Donvale Magpies Junior Football Club will be held on the same night
Please be advised that only life members and current financial members of the Mitcham Football Club will be eligible to vote. Current financial members must be deemed financial as of season's end 2007
Kinds regards
Wayne Lowe
Senior President, Mitcham Football Club

Cockle doodle doo
7th February 2008, 07:32
Just to prove you know cocko:

MITCHAM FOOTBALL CLUB
Eastern Football League (http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?c=0-722-0-0-0) > Mitcham (http://www.sportingpulse.com/club_info.cgi?c=0-722-12983-0-0)
mySport (http://www.sportingpulse.com/mysport.cgi)

EXTRA ORDINARY GENERAL MEETING

NOTICE OF EXTRA ORDINARY GENERAL MEETING
To the Life Members & Financial Members of the Mitcham Football Club, please be advised that an extra ordinary general meeting will be held at the Mitcham Sporting Club Social Rooms on Wednesday February 13th at 7.30 pm. The agenda for this meeting is as follows. Presidents Address
Proposed merger of Mitcham Football Club with Donvale Football Club & Donvale Magpies Junior [/b]Football Club.
Questions from the floor
Members vote on proposed resolution.

The committee of the Mitcham Football Club 2008 has been faced with some serious concerns heading into season 2008. After two consecutive relegations in 2006 & 2007 the club has found it extremely hard to secure reasonable player numbers for the upcoming season. After being approached by the Donvale Football Club regarding a proposed merger, the committee of the Mitcham Football Club entered into preliminary talks with the Donvale Senior Football Club and the Donvale Magpies Junior Football Club. The current committee strongly believes the club must explore all avenues that present itself in relation to our clubs future. [/font][/SIZE]
After holding preliminary talks with the above clubs, the committees have agreed to take the proposed resolution to the members of each club. The president and his committee will endeavor to provide as much information on the proposed merger which will then be voted on by the life members and financial members in attendance. Extra ordinary meetings for the Donvale Football Club and the Donvale Magpies Junior Football Club will be held on the same night
Please be advised that only life members and current financial members of the Mitcham Football Club will be eligible to vote. Current financial members must be deemed financial as of season's end 2007
Kinds regards
Wayne Lowe
Senior President, Mitcham Football Club

Where in this statement does it say from your previous post " Mitcham Donvale Tigers","will play in division 3","Matt Young will be coach". I will say it again, the only thing true is there will be a meeting on the 13th.

The president of Donvale Juniors stated on the EFL website 2 weeks ago that it won't be merging with Mitcham.

Do you honestly think that there will be more than 70% of people from both clubs vote to merge considering the history that both individually have?

I suppose we will just have to wait and see who will have to apologise to who after these meetings are held.

GG Rides Again
7th February 2008, 15:00
Do you honestly think that there will be more than 70% of people from both clubs vote to merge considering the history that both individually have?

I suppose we will just have to wait and see who will have to apologise to who after these meetings are held.[/quote]

Take the high moral ground and fold then. If you dont have players you can have the greatest history of all time but you wont add to it. Both clubs cannot survive the way things are presently

In regards to the name and the coach I still stand by what has been posted.

As a supporter of the EFL I hope they dont merge but the issue is being viable this year for both clubs.

It makes sense in the short term with a chance to split the merger at a later date. Who knows could be the best thing both clubs ever do.

Cockle doodle doo
14th February 2008, 07:20
Well surprise surprise! the Donvale and Mitcham meetings have been held with the verdict being an almost unanimous "NO". Hopefully both sides can muster up some of the passion displayed at their respective meetings and get it all moving in the right direction for the betterment of the clubs.

good player out of luck
19th February 2008, 09:48
Can any one tell me the wereabouts of Will Sangster, which club he last played for?

cats35
19th February 2008, 10:15
GG, if both clubs merge do you think there would be a postion for "Moth" Nigro or do you think Matt Young would bring in his own people if he indeeds gets the senior job.

ECHUCABOY
19th February 2008, 15:28
You obviously dont read too many posts, before you post do you cats.....GG nice mail, look like a bit of a goose now dont we...

bloods05
19th February 2008, 18:48
Can any one tell me the wereabouts of Will Sangster, which club he last played for?

Fairly sure he was at noble park last year,could be wrong though..

GG Rides Again
21st February 2008, 14:18
You obviously dont read too many posts, before you post do you cats.....GG nice mail, look like a bit of a goose now dont we...

Did you attend Echuca Boy being a previous player?
I am very disappointed with MFC as I honestly think they could have almalgamated for a few years and saved their club. I am aware from a few that went to the meeting that the older blokes in both clubs were against but then again that always will happen. I dont think Mitcham have hit rock bottom yet. If any good players develop in the next 1-2 years, watch all the DIV 1 teams swoop and Mitcham will be no better off

Mail beforehand from a committee member basically suggested Mitcham cannot field a 3rds and will have a very ordinary 2nds team made up of older blokes and are just advertising every week at a fair cost to get enough players to fill roles. Seniors will be young and light again.

I am big and ugly enough to say I apologise and was wrong. I Was wrong.

The Big Arab
21st February 2008, 14:24
[quote=GG Rides Again;10144540]Did you attend Echuca Boy being a previous player?
I am very disappointed with MFC as I honestly think they could have almalgamated for a few years and saved their club. I am aware from a few that went to the meeting that the older blokes in both clubs were against but then again that always will happen. I dont think Mitcham have hit rock bottom yet. If any good players develop in the next 1-2 years, watch all the DIV 1 teams swoop and Mitcham will be no better off

At least you apologised but your post wasnt even close. I agree young blokes will be watched very closely by higher levels as juniors have been good in recent years and Vermont always love stealing our kids. I dont agree with your crap about hitting rock bottom as not winning a game for a season is about as low as you can go.

ECHUCABOY
22nd February 2008, 11:50
Did you attend Echuca Boy being a previous player?

Mail beforehand from a committee member basically suggested Mitcham cannot field a 3rds and will have a very ordinary 2nds team made up of older blokes and are just advertising every week at a fair cost to get enough players to fill roles. Seniors will be young and light again.

I am big and ugly enough to say I apologise and was wrong. I Was wrong.

Donvale was a fantastic Club I think they got very lucky with a large group of friends, who all decided to play together in 2005. Whats happened this year (is that while a few have dropped off from when we made the flag), the core group of players were basically being asked to contribute too much back to the club.

The committee was relying on these players (not myself), who were travelling from one side of the city to the other to train and play, but also relied on them heavily to raise funds, put money back into the club etc etc.

I think they have definetly taken a step in the right direction with the current committee, however the damage was done. The core group of senior players that came to the Club knowing each other ended up needing a change.

Just shows you how quickly a Club with a proud tradition can fall from grace.

BLPC08
22nd February 2008, 19:29
Mitcham = GAWN!!!!!!!

dissapointing for the die-hards, but it seems as though no-one wants to show any committment down there

Skut17
27th February 2008, 09:55
From the Sunshine F.C & wondering whether anyone is after a Practice match on the 29th of March. PM me to organise details.

The Big Arab
5th March 2008, 20:46
Daniel Bellissimo who coached for a half a year at Mitcham has signed on at Nunawading which is also Div 3 so could be an interesting match when the time comes. Is the balme game being placed on Daniel for how they travelled last year at Mitcham or have the committee stood up and taken it on the chin and taken on the blame?

Baba Ganoush
6th March 2008, 10:52
How do you reckon Nunawading will go this year TBA?

BLPC08
8th March 2008, 19:18
the Nuna Lions will have a fair tilt at the flag in div 3, always a consistant performer the lions.

footy luver
12th March 2008, 21:30
the Nuna Lions will have a fair tilt at the flag in div 3, always a consistant performer the lions.
northcote park looking for a practice game tues 18th march at 5.30 pm a 6 quarter game at nortcote pk ph 0412298231

pdog pizza's
12th March 2008, 21:58
When does the Eastern Football League start their season? Do the lower division begin a week before?

Rams
26th March 2008, 10:18
Round 1 is the 19th of April for the EFL Div 1 & 2. Div3 & 4 start the 12th of April.

The_Arm
2nd April 2008, 14:17
Sorry guys, off topic but I was just wondering if anyone who has played footy in the Northern Territory during our off-season could give me some advice on where to find information or contact details for leagues or clubs?

pupsta
2nd April 2008, 16:45
hey guys,
can anyone give me any info (position, any good?) on Rhys Campbell Croydon and Ben Smith Montrose. they are both joining our league this year.

Pheonix20
7th April 2008, 09:46
If any of you guys finish your practice matches early on saturday get up to the northern FL with Heidelberg (who reckon they can beat any of you with one wallet tied behind their back) V Lance Whitnall Lalor and Bundoora V Montmorency at Bundoora. Come over and see how the poor cousins do it.
Go Lilydale.:D

muesli
7th April 2008, 15:47
If any of you guys finish your practice matches early on saturday get up to the northern FL with Heidelberg (who reckon they can beat any of you with one wallet tied behind their back) V Lance Whitnall Lalor and Bundoora V Montmorency at Bundoora. Come over and see how the poor cousins do it.
Go Lilydale.:D
I was at the praccy game Noble Park Vs Heidelberrg on Saturday & Heidelberg lost by 14 goals so i dont think they can beat any Eastern team. Would be very competitive though. Eastern FL clearly the best metro league.

NewsFlash
7th April 2008, 15:54
I was at the praccy game Noble Park Vs Heidelberrg on Saturday & Heidelberg lost by 14 goals so i dont think they can beat any Eastern team. Would be very competitive though. Eastern FL clearly the best metro league.

Eastern is the best metro comp without doubt. Fast free footy, which is what we want to see. I just hope it doesn't turn into ______ Ammo footy!
GFL,GFL are also right up there also.

vtown
8th April 2008, 17:22
I'm not quite sure Geelong FL is Metro, so i wouldn't put them up their with the best of the metro.

The EFL is the best standard of metropolitan football i have ever seen. one aspect of it is that the grounds are quite small in size, so it demands quite a lot of strength. that is why it is unusual to see kids below the age of 20 playing first divvy senior footy.
also if a lot of side did play against the AMMOs, i don't think that they would fare as well if they played in the traditionally larger grounds. but still, the best standard of footy i have seen.

Bobby Beecroft
8th April 2008, 19:55

How are the Devils looking this year Muesli?
Been hearing they think they maybe there abouts.

muesli
10th April 2008, 16:03
How are the Devils looking this year Muesli?
Been hearing they think they maybe there abouts.
Know they have there B&F ruckman back from 2006, & there was talk of a 6ft 8 guy playing as well, so if thats true they will have solved their tall issues quite a bit. Couple of players back who didnt play last year as well from reports.
Didn't see them play there 2 praccy games so can't tell you much more, will be @ mulgrave round 1 though! Will comment more after that game.

Hows Doncaster looking? thats who your with from memory? Will have to catch up for a beer when we play.

Bobby Beecroft
10th April 2008, 20:43
Know they have there B&F ruckman back from 2006, & there was talk of a 6ft 8 guy playing as well, so if thats true they will have solved their tall issues quite a bit. Couple of players back who didnt play last year as well from reports.
Didn't see them play there 2 praccy games so can't tell you much more, will be @ mulgrave round 1 though! Will comment more after that game.

Hows Doncaster looking? thats who your with from memory? Will have to catch up for a beer when we play.

I expect the Sharks will improve on last year.
Have lost a couple of good one's, but on the upside they have picked up 5 that I would expect to play Round 1 if all available. 2 of these have recently been on VFL lists & another is still on one. The other upside will be the improvement of the half dozen Under 18s that played seniors last season. Depth should improve which has been a worry in the past.

Had one practice match & won very confortably in a good hitout. Would expect similar this week at Mt Evelyn.

Love the day at Tyner Rd & the banter in the crowd, its the closet Div 2 ground to where I live.
Unbelievable matches in 07 between the Devils & Sharks. The 1 at Tyner Rd was one of the best games of footy I had seen for years, certainly enjoyed the beers that day.

Local derby Round 1, I think East will be in for a bit of a shock.
Look forward to your views after the Mulgrave match.

PS. always up for a beer!!

Grass cat
11th April 2008, 16:42
Wanted Key Position Players
For Country Football Club located an hour’s drive East of Melbourne.
Excellent Faculties along with top remuneration will be offered for the right player/ person.
If interested please contact the following number 0418 172328

yikes
20th April 2008, 13:16

What did you think of the game yesterday? Mulgrave put on a very impressive show. what can you wantirna south take from the game?