View Full Version : The Other Purple Team

NiGHTFuRY
22 Aug 2007, 20:09
Apologies for posting this here, but we still do not have our sub-forum so I have no where else to post this. I realize the soccer is for ----s brigade may be offended somehow, but thats there problem.
I know a few of my fellow Bigfooty Freo Board family members are big football (soccer) fans.
I was wondering is anyone else going to catch the first game for the Glory On Sunday Afternoon?
Meet up for a pre-game beer perhaps?
[Not extended to Chelsea Fans;):p]

summerthebat
22 Aug 2007, 20:49
I'll probably end up going, the purchase of Hayden Fox was the dumbest choice made in a long time.

NiGHTFuRY
22 Aug 2007, 21:04
I'll probably end up going, the purchase of Hayden Fox was the dumbest choice made in a long time.

Well
He is a Perth Boy.... but geez he get injured all the time. It's certainly looking like it wasnt such a good signing.
Still he has premier league experience - if we can get him up and running we'll be better for it.
The injury to "Neville Bartos" Bertos is rather concerning. We cannot afford to loose any creative midfielders at all.

DOCKER MAN
22 Aug 2007, 21:12
I would rather watch a decent sport

ditto
22 Aug 2007, 21:13
The Glory aren't the "other" purple team, they are THE purple team.

At least they have something in their trophy cabinet. :p

dugrene
22 Aug 2007, 21:46
I'll be going to one of the Perth Spirit games in September. Never seen a Union game (or RL) for that matter. Couldnt be bothered to watch the Force at Subi but watching the Spirit at ME stadium would be a buzz reckon.

Soccer is more fun to play than watch. So wont be going to any Glory games.

NiGHTFuRY
22 Aug 2007, 21:46
I would rather watch a decent sport

Like what? Female Bikini Jelly Wrestling, Dwarf Tossing, Bum Fights, Full Contact Chess?
Football is the world game and the only other sport I love just as much as AFL...
The one thing our AFL lacks is world cups and the such...
The Glory are our local team - Ive supported them from the start.

Yes well.... thanks for trolling by.
Sure The Glory are multiple champions, but Nick Tana has kept all the trophy [the wanker - like he earnt them pfffffffft] so we don't even have them at the club.
Freo have some minor trophies - the Western Derby trophey ... that was good wasn't it. Well it was good for a laugh ....
Yes you have your premierships trophies - you guys announce it everyday
But we have integrity.....;)

dominguez
22 Aug 2007, 21:55
The glory's off season signings have been uninspiring, but I'll be there Sunday. I don't have work on Monday so I'll be the really drunk guy up the back of the shed, just left of centre. :thumbsu:

DOCKER MAN
22 Aug 2007, 22:19
Like what? Female Bikini Jelly Wrestling, Dwarf Tossing, Bum Fights, Full Contact Chess?
Football is the world game and the only other sport I love just as much as AFL...
The one thing our AFL lacks is world cups and the such...
The Glory are our local team - Ive supported them from the start.

I just hate soccer, i hate almost everything about it. It is just so boring and lame in my view. One thing that gets me about soccer is when people (mostly tv, radio etc...) call it football, in Autralia it is soccer. AFL is footy, hense the Australian in Australian rules footy. I'm not having a go at you but i just can't stand soccer. However if i'm asked which soccer team i support its Perth Glory:)

NiGHTFuRY
22 Aug 2007, 23:18
I just hate soccer, i hate almost everything about it. It is just so boring and lame in my view. One thing that gets me about soccer is when people (mostly tv, radio etc...) call it football, in Autralia it is soccer. AFL is footy, hense the Australian in Australian rules footy. I'm not having a go at you but i just can't stand soccer. However if i'm asked which soccer team i support its Perth Glory:)

Fair enough - you don't have to like it... however in reagrds to AFL being the "football" of Australia.... you'll notice the rugby league fans call there game football and even some union fans refer to their game as football.
I don't think any one sport can nationally be called "football" as the various codes influences ebb and wane from state to state.
Only AFL & A-League are truely national "football" leagues.

Freo Big Fella
22 Aug 2007, 23:29
I'm going to leave it for three or four rounds to make sure they're not still playing the sort of roundball that makes me want to scrape my eyes out with a teaspoon before I start heading to games again.

wizard_9
23 Aug 2007, 08:59
I'd prefer to watch the Might reds from Adelaide. Retribution is on the cards this season.

estibador
23 Aug 2007, 14:13
Meet up for a pre-game beer perhaps?

If I was in Perth I'd be happy to meet up for a brew. But alas I'll have to settle for watching on Fox for now. Here's hoping the Glory go better than last season. Though that wouldn't be too hard.

[Not extended to Chelsea Fans;):p]

Don't forget the Manc skanks like Lachy. They're even worse. ;)

FootyEater
23 Aug 2007, 14:27

completely agree. its a poo.ter sport, boring, just allround shite. if people ask me who i support, i just say i couldnt tell you a team. Footy is australian rules. rugby is rugby and soccer is a joke

FootyEater
23 Aug 2007, 14:30

ditto get f....d, and go back to your own board

summerthebat
23 Aug 2007, 14:48
Here is how I see it.

I can watch any game of soccer, no matter what the level and be entertained, yet I can watch a game of AFL and put up with it for 20 minutes and get frustrated and turn it off (Swans vs Saints the other week).

BUT the greatest games of AFL I have seen are better than the best Soccer games I have seen.

marc81
23 Aug 2007, 15:09
glory will finish top four this year with nikita to bang the goals in:thumbsu:

estibador
23 Aug 2007, 15:27
Here is how I see it.

I can watch any game of soccer, no matter what the level and be entertained, yet I can watch a game of AFL and put up with it for 20 minutes and get frustrated and turn it off (Swans vs Saints the other week).

I'm a bit the opposite.

Love my soccer but sometimes I struggle to watch average games that don't involve a team I'm barracking for. But the tension and drama you feel in soccer when you're really supporting one of the teams is almost unmatched by any sport. And no other sport can come close to the elation you feel when you've been riding every pass and tackle and that damn ball finally hits the back of the net.

I heard a good analogy once - a goal in Aussie rules is like a passionate kiss, but a goal in soccer is like an orgasm.

I think the reason people get frustrated by a boring game of Aussie rules is because we know what heights the game is capable of reaching and we're disappointed if it doesn't live up to those expectations. But when you look at it in isolation, a boring game of tempo keepy-offs footy is still at least as entertaining as watching two soccer teams pass it back and forth between their midfield and backs.

BUT the greatest games of AFL I have seen are better than the best Soccer games I have seen.

Undoubtedly. A great game of Aussie rules is so much more entertaining than any other sport in the world that it's not funny. It's not even close. And this coming from someone who only started watching AFL the same time as a lot of other sports, so I haven't been indoctrinated from birth that Aussie rules is the only sport worth watching.

We really are the lucky country.

PS. Rip/Sabre - any word on when we're getting our sub-board up and running?

Belnakor
23 Aug 2007, 15:40
we're the middle, we're the middle, we're the middle of the shed, f the left right, f the right side, we're the middddle of the shed. Probably about 3 years old. Still funny.

NiGHTFuRY
23 Aug 2007, 17:37
we're the middle, we're the middle, we're the middle of the shed, f the left right, f the right side, we're the middddle of the shed. Probably about 3 years old. Still funny.

Middle side!! pfft:p;)

Left side is where its at....

"Keeper.. keeper give us a wave... keeper.... give us a wave"

[not the most sung chant but funny as it offers the visiting teams goalie absolutely no chance of a win - if they ignore - we boo - if they wave - they have a milli second of cheer - then a boo.... cracks me up every time]

And I love how occasionally you 'll never walk alone gets sung....Car'n the Reds!

Wouldn't it be cool if we could invent a soccer style Freo chant to mess with visiting teams... or perhaps an ode to the slime..

summerthebat
23 Aug 2007, 17:39
I always thought we could do the old Alan Shearer chant for Jeffrey.

There's only one Jeffrey Farmer
Onnneeeeee Jeffrey Farmer
Walking along, singing his song, walking in a Farmer wonderland!

Repeat x 10000

NiGHTFuRY
23 Aug 2007, 18:13
I always thought we could do the old Alan Shearer chant for Jeffrey.

There's only one Jeffrey Farmer
Onnneeeeee Jeffrey Farmer
Walking along, singing his song, walking in a Farmer wonderland!

Repeat x 10000

:thumbsu:I would do it - as loud as I could....
Good idea - and interchangable for any player name.....

summerthebat
23 Aug 2007, 18:18
:thumbsu:I would do it - as loud as I could....
Good idea - and interchangable for any player name.....

If you managed to get 35,000 people singing it, it's the kind of thing that makes our club's community and solidarity the envy of all the others... regardless of the success. I think it's fairly well established that we are suckers for punishment by now.

ditto
23 Aug 2007, 22:13
ditto get f....d, and go back to your own board

Ohh, I spend a lot of time there, talking finals, grand finals, premierships, brownlow medalists, all the things that's missing on this board. But this board has to be the funniest of them all, so I do like to visit occasionally.

But thanks for showing me that the intelligence levels are as low as ever. And I thought comedians needed intelligence, I have to admit I was wrong on that one. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

summerthebat
23 Aug 2007, 22:17
Ohh, I spend a lot of time there, talking finals, grand finals, premierships, brownlow medalists, all the things that's missing on this board. But this board has to be the funniest of them all, so I do like to visit occasionally.

But thanks for showing me that the intelligence levels are as low as ever. And I thought comedians needed intelligence, I have to admit I was wrong on that one. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Hard hitting post brah.

NiGHTFuRY
24 Aug 2007, 03:33

And you have fellow WC fans wonder why they are treated with disdain when they visit here...

This is a Glory thread so;

F--- O-- Troll

Your Representing you club well here champ....

Your upcoming crocodile tears will give me the chuckles... momentarily ;)

Kram81
24 Aug 2007, 15:46
Only been to one Glory game a few years ago. Although plenty of fun not a patch on AFL. Might go to another one this year if I get around to it.

What has happened the crowds recently? Perth used to lead the way in soccer crowds but have gone backwards whilst the Eastern states have became much larger?

summerthebat
24 Aug 2007, 15:51
Nick Tana did a hit and run. Made some absolutely ridiculous decision that were clearly personal.

This is the same guy that wants to run Fremantle.

dominguez
24 Aug 2007, 18:59
What has happened the crowds recently? Perth used to lead the way in soccer crowds but have gone backwards whilst the Eastern states have became much larger?

i) The ticket price doubled when the A-League started up.

ii) Games are live on telly.

iii) The team is shit. That probably won't change this year, Ron Smith has recruited bugger all.

iv) They got rid of the members bar.

NiGHTFuRY
24 Aug 2007, 20:08
i) The ticket price doubled when the A-League started up.

ii) Games are live on telly.

iii) The team is shit. That probably won't change this year, Ron Smith has recruited bugger all.

iv) They got rid of the members bar.

all points correct...
However some of our signings are quite good.
Topor-Stanley is a fantastic player whilst I think Little Nakita is gonna abe a star.Billy Celeski back is a good thing as well. I think we'll be competitive. Velapu was signed to goals - we are at least not short of a good goalie.

Kram81
25 Aug 2007, 22:57
i) The ticket price doubled when the A-League started.

What are the prices for tickets now?

dominguez
26 Aug 2007, 01:08
What are the prices for tickets now?

Was $25 last season, I assume it'll be the same tomorrow. Not that $25 puts a massive hole in the wallet, but the fact that you are standing up and paying $5 for a can of xxxx it's a bit much.

Was only $13 when the NSL wrapped up a couple of years ago.

Free t-shirt for the first 5,000 through the gates tomorrow though.

dominguez
26 Aug 2007, 01:15
all points correct...
However some of our signings are quite good.
Topor-Stanley is a fantastic player whilst I think Little Nakita is gonna abe a star.Billy Celeski back is a good thing as well. I think we'll be competitive. Velapu was signed to goals - we are at least not short of a good goalie.

I reckon we'll be competitive at home but struggle away. Stan's out for a few more months, Foxe is out for 8 weeks, and I'm pretty sure Leo Bertos is injured too? Collosimo will be a shitty captain.

The five "experts" on foxtel all had us in the bottom two, if we don't win tomorrow I reckon it'll be a long season.

iscah
26 Aug 2007, 14:11
Fair enough - you don't have to like it... however in reagrds to AFL being the "football" of Australia.... you'll notice the rugby league fans call there game football and even some union fans refer to their game as football.
I don't think any one sport can nationally be called "football" as the various codes influences ebb and wane from state to state.
Only AFL & A-League are truely national "football" leagues.

Love soccer and aussie rules. Soccer is by so so far the most popular code of "football" played in Australia and Aussie Rules by so so far the most popular code of "football" watched in Australia that both will always have a prominent role.

Freo fans should root for the Glory if only for the purple tradition, and vice versa ...

Rob
26 Aug 2007, 14:28
Love soccer and aussie rules. Soccer is by so so far the most popular code of "football" played in Australia

It's not by that far. And even then, it's only because of the monster advantage soccer has in participation in NSW and Qld, who make up around 75% of soccer players nationally. In the remaining states, soccer has far fewer participants than Australian football.

iscah
26 Aug 2007, 14:46
It's not by that far. And even then, it's only because of the monster advantage soccer has in participation in NSW and Qld, who make up around 75% of soccer players nationally. In the remaining states, soccer has far fewer participants than Australian football.

Bureau of Stats has soccer at around 1.2 million, Aussie rules about 600,000. Only those over 14 count. Our best 100 soccer players play overseas as that is where the money is. As more money comes into Aussie soccer through being in the Asian confederation you will see name players coming into the local league. Will be fan-tas-tic if we get a world cup qualifying game or two in Perth for the next world cup.

Aussie rules will for many years be the number one spectator sport in Australia for a number of reasons. But we definitely need both a new football for Freo/WC and SEPARATE and NEW SQUARE stadium for soccer and rugby in Perth.

NiGHTFuRY
26 Aug 2007, 15:22
Bureau of Stats has soccer at around 1.2 million, Aussie rules about 600,000. Only those over 14 count. Our best 100 soccer players play overseas as that is where the money is. As more money comes into Aussie soccer through being in the Asian confederation you will see name players coming into the local league. Will be fan-tas-tic if we get a world cup qualifying game or two in Perth for the next world cup.

Aussie rules will for many years be the number one spectator sport in Australia for a number of reasons. But we definitely need both a new football for Freo/WC and SEPARATE and NEW SQUARE stadium for soccer and rugby in Perth.

We need new stadium/s for sure.
The Government need to get with the 21st century.
I don't think its an exaggeration that you could build a 70 -75k capacity stadium and be able to fill it for Derbies, finals matches, international matches of all codes... heck we'd get decent matches if we had a stadium like that in Perth if whenever the next world cup in what ever code is hosted by Australia.
The WA Government suffer from stadium constipation and a biased that everything must be built NOR.

NiGHTFuRY
26 Aug 2007, 19:10
Oh Dear...:(
nil all draw - almost a bad as a defeat.

Nikita Rukavytsya [ I love the name - has a Ivan Drago feel to it ] missed point blank, but then again so did Newcastle.
Loosing Tarka early stuffed up the balance. Prentice did not look conmfortable down back....
What is it with the Glory and shit luck with injuries - it's getting beyond a joke.

what a flat game.....
thats the worst I've seen Perth Oval's surface ... ever
Those Perth spirit rubgy games have hammered the surface....

Anyways I hope we lift because it's gonna be a long season if were like that

estibador
27 Aug 2007, 01:01
I only caught the second half but it was pretty uninspiring. How that Newcastle bloke managed to lift the ball over the bar from point blank range is beyond me. But thank god he did.

We're certainly going to have to improve because we're looking a fair way behind some of the other eastern state teams in quality so far.

Rob
27 Aug 2007, 19:34
Bureau of Stats has soccer at around 1.2 million, Aussie rules about 600,000. Only those over 14 count.

No it doesn't. The ABS has it at 419,000 to 268,000, although if you take girls out it's much closer at 311,000 to 240,000. Over half of all soccer participants are in NSW.

Source: http://www.ausstats.abs.gov.au/ausstats/subscriber.nsf/0/A36EC2C4EAD3937BCA257281001ADA51/$File/41770_2005-06.pdf

ashley12
28 Aug 2007, 15:38

Ditto, we are on the Fremantle board. give our hosts a bit of respect.

I don't like Fremantle Football Club and will always beleive they are inferior to WCE. But that is just my opinion. In a soccer thread talk about soccer.

Any perth glory fan is a friend of mine while we talk about soccer regardless of their afl team.

Grow up man

ashley12
28 Aug 2007, 15:40
Glory were pretty uninspiring on the weekend, how do we think we will go against the Victory on friday night. I think we can get a draw if we play at our best.

ashley12
28 Aug 2007, 19:59
Tarka is out for the season, ripped his hamstring from the bone.

Bugger, he was in my dream team