Int: Bradley, Campo, Dempsey, Hille, MJ, Hocking, Nash
In: Hilley, Dempsy, Kepler
NOt Kepler Please not kepler
cbreban
23 Aug 2007, 18:36
Dempsey :thumbsu:
dave_27
23 Aug 2007, 18:41
Dempsey is nowhere near ready fitness wise you would think.
The blokes a winger, he's not a goal sneak or James Hird who we could get away with playing off a limited fitness base.
Dont see the logic in that IF he plays.
Dempsey is nowhere near ready fitness wise you would think.
The blokes a winger, he's not a goal sneak or James Hird who we could get away with playing off a limited fitness base.
Dont see the logic in that IF he plays.
short bursts off the bench?
Not everybody plays the majority of the game, he could be value playing 60 minutes off the bench.
bomberstomake8
23 Aug 2007, 18:53
leave the team as it is this week...
no more youth, hird and sheedy deserve to go off with a win...
mattdavies_03
23 Aug 2007, 18:56
My Prediction of the outs:
Hocking, Bradley, Campo
TELLIMAN1
23 Aug 2007, 18:59
PLEASE!!!!dont play kepler on Richo!!!!!!!!
Any thoughts on if Fletch will play....
dodgyJim
23 Aug 2007, 19:06
Remember this time last year when Bradley played on Richo?
Kicks: 21
Marks: 19!
Hball: 3
Goals: 9
Behinds: 5
19 marks and 14 shots at the sticks. This was the final straw saying that Bradley should never ever be played as a defender again. Sheedy I am glad you are leaving, just because Bradley's gangly body shape reminds you a bit of Fletcher doesn't mean he is or ever will be the same player!
jack_mack50
23 Aug 2007, 19:14
Hocking, Bradley, Campo
Don't think Campo will be dropped, as much as it pains me to say it, he was good last week.
I hope Dempsey plays, whether he is match fit or not i'm not too sure. But he will be another excitement machine when up and going.
DonMania#5
23 Aug 2007, 19:18
No Kepler, please.
Longy413
23 Aug 2007, 19:26
Remember this time last year when Bradley played on Richo?
Kicks: 21
Marks: 19!
Hball: 3
Goals: 9
Behinds: 5
19 marks and 14 shots at the sticks. This was the final straw saying that Bradley should never ever be played as a defender again. Sheedy I am glad you are leaving, just because Bradley's gangly body shape reminds you a bit of Fletcher doesn't mean he is or ever will be the same player!
I still reckon he would have kicked 6+ on Fletch that night.
Richmond played a two man forward line nearly all night, Richo had the whole 50 to himself a lot of the time.
Darealrath
23 Aug 2007, 19:41
I really like the look of the 18.
I'd go with Nash, Hocking, Campo and MJ.
Hille in if Fletch isn't right so Ryder can play permanently back.
rhino49
23 Aug 2007, 19:55
Hocking, Bradley, Campo
campo? did you actually watch last weeks game?
itsintheblood
23 Aug 2007, 21:43
Kepler in??? You little beauty Richo!!!!
High Ryder
23 Aug 2007, 21:48
Kepler in??? You little beauty Richo!!!!
If he plays it'll be as a forward.
polakthetiger
23 Aug 2007, 22:01
If he plays it'll be as a forward.
There is no way Sheeds would put Bradley on Richo. I seem to remember Lucas did OK on him. That is likely match up if Fletcher is out IMO.
The smokey might be Schulz. Done nothing, but finally did a few well deserved weeks at Coburg and knows his career is on the line.
Maybe that is the match up for Kepler...the two duds can run around not getting anywhere near it all game!
High Ryder
23 Aug 2007, 22:06
There is no way Sheeds would put Bradley on Richo. I seem to remember Lucas did OK on him. That is likely match up if Fletcher is out IMO.
The smokey might be Schulz. Done nothing, but finally did a few well deserved weeks at Coburg and knows his career is on the line.
Maybe that is the match up for Kepler...the two duds can run around not getting anywhere near it all game!
Like i said, Kepler wont play unless he is in the Essendon forward line.
DoubleA
23 Aug 2007, 22:34
Any word on Fletch?
mattdavies_03
23 Aug 2007, 23:05
campo? did you actually watch last weeks game?
Of course I watched it, who do you suggest gets dropped mate?
Reimers adds a forward threat, nash has good run off the backline and MJ is playing for his career
Of course I watched it, who do you suggest gets dropped mate?
Reimers adds a forward threat, nash has good run off the backline and MJ is playing for his career
Did you really watch it? I dont believe you. Campo was in the top 3 players on the ground. He deserves a spot MILES ahead of the three you mentioned and about 5 others.
Stants_24_Legend
24 Aug 2007, 08:21
Hocking, Bradley, Campo
yeah lets get rid of a guy who got 35 touches against Carlton:rolleyes:
keepzitreal
24 Aug 2007, 10:29
Team looks good.
I reckon Fletch wont play, Lucas goes back and Keps up forward. I will be cursing if I see Kepler start in defence.
Got a feeling Jimmy won't play also and that's where Dempsey comes in.
Either that or Sheeds drops Lonergan and Reimers since they haven't played much footy under him.
Don't think Hille and Kepler should both come in.
GOD confirmed said last night that if Kepler plays it will be as a forward.
Fletcher is 50/50 at the moment.
Not sure where the Hird rumour came from. He trained ok on wednesday.
Team looks good.
I reckon Fletch wont play, Lucas goes back and Keps up forward. I will be cursing if I see Kepler start in defence.
Got a feeling Jimmy won't play also and that's where Dempsey comes in.
Either that or Sheeds drops Lonergan and Reimers since they haven't played much footy under him.
Don't think Hille and Kepler should both come in.
I think you meant Hocking ;)
As far as Demspey goes he could be in line for MJ's spot given he played at half back for Bendigo last week.
David_Hilley#19
24 Aug 2007, 16:41
I can't waity to see Dempsy playing at the top level again. Hope he plays
High Ryder
24 Aug 2007, 18:54
Essendon has brought back exiled ruckman David Hille for its emotional Melbourne farewell to Kevin Sheedy and James Hird on Sunday afternoon. Injury-plagued youngster Courtenay Dempsey also comes in to the side to take on Richmond in front of what should be a massive crowd.
Dustin Fletcher is a late withdrawal due to injury, while rookie Heath Hocking has been dropped.
Hocking will join Kepler Bradley and Jay Neagle as emergencies for the big match.
Thats disapointing, would've much prefered Kepler and Dempsey in and Mj and Fletch out.
RichosGuns
26 Aug 2007, 12:08
I don't understand Sheedy
Who are you're tall backman now. Richmond look like playing a heap of tall foward in Richo, Schultz, Polak and Reiwoldt + 189cm Deledio. I'm not super familiar with your list these days but looking at the team I Mal Micheal is the only one that jumps out to me as a tall defender
Who ele do you have?
Stants_24_Legend
26 Aug 2007, 12:13
I don't understand Sheedy
Who are you're tall backman now. Richmond look like playing a heap of tall foward in Richo, Schultz, Polak and Reiwoldt + 189cm Deledio. I'm not super familiar with your list these days but looking at the team I Mal Micheal is the only one that jumps out to me as a tall defender
Who ele do you have?
We have Ryder...Gonna be a very very good player...
Nathan Lovett-Murray - very athletic and has pace for a big man...
Welsh is in the 180+cm range so he could be alright...
Laycock will play in the hole as he did last week against Carlton
Lucas can play down back
McPhee can also play down there so we have a bit of talent down in the backline...should be a good game...
Longy413
26 Aug 2007, 13:04
Lucas will play down back.
Mal, Lucas, Ryder, McPhee, Lovett-Murray.
We should have the Richmond forward line covered.
But if Hille and Laycock play at their best, our backline will be irrelevant.
RichosGuns
26 Aug 2007, 13:53
Yep, we'll get smashed in the rucks again:(...luckily we have Tuck and Foley;)
I forgot about Ryder and Mcphee btw but how tall is Lovett Murray
Would that match ups go?:
Micheal - Richo
Polak/Schultz - Lucas
Ryder - Riewoldt/Pattison
Lovett Murray - Deledio/Brown
McPhee who ever out of Polak, Schultz, Riewodlt and Pattison
McViegh - Pettifer
Or would McViegh be used foward, I think hes an awesome player, should win your BNF.
Longy413
26 Aug 2007, 13:57
McVeigh will play midfield/forward.
Don't know if Richmond can afford to play Polak forward.
We'll have Lloyd, Hird, Gumbleton and Layock/Hille forward at times.
I'd imagine Lovett-Murray will play on Riewoldt, Slattery/Mark Johnson on Deledio/Brown, Michael on Richo and Lucas to play at CHB on whoever plays at CHF.
RichosGuns
26 Aug 2007, 17:22
McVeigh will play midfield/forward.
Don't know if Richmond can afford to play Polak forward.
We'll have Lloyd, Hird, Gumbleton and Layock/Hille forward at times.
I'd imagine Lovett-Murray will play on Riewoldt, Slattery/Mark Johnson on Deledio/Brown, Michael on Richo and Lucas to play at CHB on whoever plays at CHF.
If Deledio plays out of the sqare Mark Johnson would be way to slow for him, Pettifer would be a better option.
Meanwhile, Polak will probably start foward, then play in the ruck for about 30% of the game aswell. We have McGuane, Thursty and Bowden as our tall backs to take Gumby, Lloyd and Lucas accordingly. Polak will play back if he is needed as probably a looseman, esspeacially as we have Riewoldt, Schultz and Richo