View Full Version : Little Creatures

Freo Big Fella
25th August 2007, 12:51
Well?:D It's Freo beer after all!

Pale Ale for me.

estibador
25th August 2007, 15:15
Now this is my kind of thread. About time we started talking beer.

I'd have to agree on the Pale Ale. Beautiful fruity flavour.

The Pilsner's pretty good for a few but if you want a really good Aussie pilsner nothing beats the James Squire Pilsner from the Malt Shovel brewery.

The Bright Ale doesn't do it for me. It's been a while since I've had one so I can't remember exactly why, but there was just something about it that didn't agree with my tastebuds.

delirious1
25th August 2007, 15:22
Good for now and then, couldnt tolerate it drinking one every afternoon though

NiGHTFuRY
25th August 2007, 15:24
A nice pilsner - even though it's from a large brewery is Toohey's Pils.... Thats is one noice beer..
But my favourite Pilsner would have to be Becks.. top brew:thumbsu:

wooostace
25th August 2007, 15:27
Now this is my kind of thread. About time we started talking beer.

I'd have to agree on the Pale Ale. Beautiful fruity flavour.

The Pilsner's pretty good for a few but if you want a really good Aussie pilsner nothing beats the James Squire Pilsner from the Malt Shovel brewery.

The Bright Ale doesn't do it for me. It's been a while since I've had one so I can't remember exactly why, but there was just something about it that didn't agree with my tastebuds.
Don't rate Squire.

Pale Ale is pretty nice and the Pilsner is drinkable, but yeah, not a beer I could keep drinking repeatedly.

Reveler
25th August 2007, 20:34
I like all of them really :)

any other Docker supporting brewers?

I am going to put down a Bavarian Lager tommorow. Using the Coopers Kit, Wyeast 2124, Hersbrucker and Saaz Hops, and some Crystal and Carapils grain for a bit of fun.

Should come out a corkers!

inferno66
25th August 2007, 20:41
I would go with the Pale Ale :)

dominguez
25th August 2007, 23:36
Why isn't Rogers on the list?

Lach72
26th August 2007, 02:52
Why isn't Rogers on the list?

Low alcohol?
Soft :cool:

GentlemanJeff
27th August 2007, 14:46
I have a real problem with Little Creatures - they seem to have a policy that they will only employ bleeding heart commie beatniks.

You cant order a meal at Little Creatures without being served by some dreadlocked hippie wearing a Che Guevara t-shirt.

Not my kinda scene boys. Not my scene at all.

Belnakor
27th August 2007, 14:56
Its particularily ironic that Little Creatures hire a bunch of beatniks while they are making an absolute killing on the beer, 7 bucks for a pint that would have cost them 20c. And these idiot beatniks are happy to work for them because Little Creatures gives him a few free beers. Way to dog it to the corporate machines boys.

Reveler
27th August 2007, 18:19
I have a real problem with Little Creatures - they seem to have a policy that they will only employ bleeding heart commie beatniks.

You cant order a meal at Little Creatures without being served by some dreadlocked hippie wearing a Che Guevara t-shirt.

Not my kinda scene boys. Not my scene at all.

I don't like there little brew house in Freo, but I find their beer delicious.

legitimatic
27th August 2007, 18:24
Pale Ale is a high quality brew :thumbsu:

prattsta
28th August 2007, 18:31
Pale Ale for mine. I'd take a Mountain Goat pale over a Little Creatures pale any day of the week though. Only one place in WA you can buy that though, the International Beer Shop in Leederville.

There is a new brewery opening up in Freo where the old Miss Maud site is, Oz Brewing is the owner, it will be called the Mad Monk Brasserie. I also remember reading something about Empire Beer Group (Colonial) buying part of E-Shed to set up another brewery. With Little creatures buying the nightclub next door to expand, Freo is fast becoming WA's beer capital.

Might have to change our name to the Brewers...

wizard_9
28th August 2007, 18:52
There is only one beer for me.............................................

http://www.public.iastate.edu/~jstanek/me519/hw6/data/jstanek.budweiser.bmp

estibador
28th August 2007, 20:52
Bud's ok. Nothing special though.

My alltime favourite beer so far would have to be Asahi Super Dry from our good friends in Japan.

http://www.beerstore.com.au/beerstore/uploads/beerImages/Asahi_Large.jpg

dominguez
28th August 2007, 22:43
Budweiser sucks, it's like fizzy water. Corona's another example of a bland beer, instead of putting lemon/lime in your beer just buy one with some bloody flavour!

prattsta
29th August 2007, 11:55
Corona is the ipod of the beer world. Far better at marketing a product than they are at actually making one

NiGHTFuRY
29th August 2007, 13:54
http://www.sasco.gm/images/becks3.jpg (http://www.sasco.gm)

Big In Taste :thumbsu:

Reveler
29th August 2007, 21:07
http://www.epica-awards.org/assets/epica/2005/winners/films/screenshots/images/05512_guinness12.jpg

wooostace
1st September 2007, 04:06
Its particularily ironic that Little Creatures hire a bunch of beatniks while they are making an absolute killing on the beer, 7 bucks for a pint that would have cost them 20c. And these idiot beatniks are happy to work for them because Little Creatures gives him a few free beers. Way to dog it to the corporate machines boys.

God knows I would.

hoss
2nd September 2007, 12:46
I love their pale ale and as far as light beers go, don't mind Roger's. Bout the best thing Little Creatures does though, is their frites. :thumbsu:

docker_azza
3rd September 2007, 12:04
Have olky tried their Pale Ale atm, took a few drinks to get into it as I have been used to drinking those easy to drink beers and the bourbons for a while, but I have developed a good taste for it.

ImperialPurple
4th September 2007, 22:38
Right now - I am about to crack open a "Pale Ale" and watch an episode of "The Young Ones" with my kiddies just before I send them off to beddibyes for the night..... ;)

Underdog
5th September 2007, 01:32
I am going to put down a Bavarian Lager tommorow. Using the Coopers Kit, Wyeast 2124, Hersbrucker and Saaz Hops, and some Crystal and Carapils grain for a bit of fun.

whilst not a freo fan I also brew - I need an old fridge for my new house though. I don't have anywhere adequately insulated to keep the beer at a constant temp

Dyslexic Emo
5th September 2007, 05:11
whilst not a freo fan I also brew - I need an old fridge for my new house though. I don't have anywhere adequately insulated to keep the beer at a constant temp

You need a fridge? I'll sort you out with one....Free of Charge....all you need to do is pick it up....mind you I will say this to you....If only drinks are going to be put in it then she's prefect....Food however I would warn you against as well it's a pretty old fridge (but still works fine)

My mate wants to get rid of it and well I said i'd take it off her hands but I have since sobered up and forgotten about it up until just now....let me know If your interested and we'll work it out...If not

FREE FRIDGE ANYONE???

shibz_1989
5th September 2007, 21:18
Corona is the ipod of the beer world. Far better at marketing a product than they are at actually making one

Eh Corona is the best beer I've had.

Keyser Soze
5th September 2007, 21:34

Is that you in my avatar?:confused:

Reveler
5th September 2007, 21:59
You need a fridge? I'll sort you out with one....Free of Charge....all you need to do is pick it up....mind you I will say this to you....If only drinks are going to be put in it then she's prefect....Food however I would warn you against as well it's a pretty old fridge (but still works fine)

My mate wants to get rid of it and well I said i'd take it off her hands but I have since sobered up and forgotten about it up until just now....let me know If your interested and we'll work it out...If not

FREE FRIDGE ANYONE???

put it on ebay, you'll get 40+ buckaroos for it. I bought a shitty old fridge for $80 on ebay, works well and keeps my beer at a nice constant temperature (around 10 degress at the moment!)

shibz_1989
5th September 2007, 22:28

Haha no...:confused:

MissMel
6th September 2007, 00:32
i tried the little creatures pale ale for the first time a couple of months ago wanst too bad but still prefer coopers(actually love the stuff). but did like the brewery, nice very nice

estibador
6th September 2007, 00:36

She does look like she's enjoying that beer. ;)

Underdog
6th September 2007, 10:25

FREE FRIDGE ANYONE???
thanks for the offer buddy but then i'm left with the conundrum of where to put it! I dont have enough room :p

cheers anyways

I guess in a sense that's lucky as it stops me from needing to travel into purple territory

Underdog
6th September 2007, 10:26
i tried the little creatures pale ale for the first time a couple of months ago wanst too bad but still prefer coopers(actually love the stuff). but did like the brewery, nice very nice

Yes, I prefer Coopers too

I also find that Little Creatures isn't quite as good as a session beer

prattsta
6th September 2007, 11:07

Each to their own i guess. I'd suggest you try some different beer's though. Corona is closer to water than beer, and like water in pubs it's served with lemon. It's not a real beer.

Belnakor
6th September 2007, 11:26
Corona is alright, so long as you don't actually want to drink beer, and you prefer the taste of watered down horse piss.

Reveler
6th September 2007, 21:10
Corona is alright, so long as you don't actually want to drink beer, and you prefer the taste of watered down horse piss.

I like Corona, bit of lemon/lime it taste alright. However I don't think it qualifies as beer does it?

haha!

Nothing like a bit of beer-snobery

prattsta
7th September 2007, 11:20
I like Corona, bit of lemon/lime it taste alright. However I don't think it qualifies as beer does it?

haha!

Nothing like a bit of beer-snobery

Thats the whole point though isn't it, it should have enough flavour on its own. If i want to drink flavoured water i'll go buy myself some cordial.

After the Great Britain Beer Festival, in London, all the brewery presidents decided to go out for a beer.
The guy from Corona sits down and says "Hey Sen~or, I would like the world's best beer, a Corona." The bartender dusts off a bottle from the shelf and gives it to him.
The guy from Budweiser says "I'd like the best beer in the world, give me 'The King Of Beers', a Budweiser." The bartender gives him one.
The guy from Coors says "I'd like the only beer made with Rocky Mountain spring water, give me a Coors." He gets it.
The guy from Guiness sits down and says "Give me a Coke." The bartender is a little taken aback, but gives him what he ordered.
The other brewery presidents look over at him and ask "Why aren't you drinking a Guiness?" and the Guiness resident replies "Well, if you guys aren't drinking beer, neither will I."

Dyslexic Emo
7th September 2007, 13:17
OK I have to say I this just to stop it from happening EVER again, last night, out of sheer stupididy and a bit of curiosity and a soda stream soda maker, I aerated a bottle fo scotch whisky.....thats right, forget champagne, beer or soft drink, it's the new sensation bubbles ballentines. It was hilarity at it's best drinking it, seriously, having a shot of something that's 40% and bubbling is a feeling that I won't forget anytime soon.

docker_azza
6th November 2007, 22:08
Try telling all those who buy Corona at Ascot that it's not real beer. Theres lot's of them. As a beverage runner at Ascot it's insane the amount of times we have to keep re-stocking bars with Crownies and Coronas.

shibz_1989
6th November 2007, 22:36
Corona is yuuum.

Heinekin is aight too.

thebaxters
7th November 2007, 03:54
I like all of them really :)

any other Docker supporting brewers?

Should come out a corkers!
Hope it's light crystal; and <100gms of it... or it will be more like an amber!

2124 goes alright fermented at 10C, but be sure to warm it to 14C for a day or two after it's fiished or you'll end up with some serious diacetyl. Likes to lager for ~4-6 weeks after the diacetyl rest to clear out the sulfur. You should have a crack with 2278. Nice yeast.

Try 4.5kg Weyermann pils grain, bitter with Sterling to 18-25 IBU, Sterling instead of Saaz in secondary, 2278 at 12C, diacetyl rest at 14-16 for a couple of days, 4 weeks at 0-2C. It will finish a beautiful straw colour, nice and dry and the Sterling is a pleasant change in aroma to Saaz.

FWIW - LCPA rocks.

SPEEDWAGON
7th November 2007, 11:19
It was the Pale ale for me.

I am addicted to the ales right now.

Golden Ale will be the shiz for summer..........

A beer you all must try is the

Gage Roads - IPA (India Pale Ale)

It is outstanding, if you are in your bottle shop just grab one and give it a try.. you will probably go back for more.

Underdog
7th November 2007, 11:34
Try telling all those who buy Corona at Ascot that it's not real beer. Theres lot's of them. As a beverage runner at Ascot it's insane the amount of times we have to keep re-stocking bars with Crownies and Coronas.

It's a shame the 2 most trendy and marketable beers in Australia are also 2 of the worst

Reveler
7th November 2007, 19:16
Hope it's light crystal; and <100gms of it... or it will be more like an amber!

2124 goes alright fermented at 10C, but be sure to warm it to 14C for a day or two after it's fiished or you'll end up with some serious diacetyl. Likes to lager for ~4-6 weeks after the diacetyl rest to clear out the sulfur. You should have a crack with 2278. Nice yeast.

Try 4.5kg Weyermann pils grain, bitter with Sterling to 18-25 IBU, Sterling instead of Saaz in secondary, 2278 at 12C, diacetyl rest at 14-16 for a couple of days, 4 weeks at 0-2C. It will finish a beautiful straw colour, nice and dry and the Sterling is a pleasant change in aroma to Saaz.

FWIW - LCPA rocks.

yeh it was light crystal.. I gave a diacetyl rest at 18 degrees for 48 hrs and has been in a jerry can in the serving fridget at 2 degrees for the past 6 weeks. I am about to bottle it on Friday. Should be a corker.

I am trying to slowly gather the equipment required for an AG brew, but have decided I want a keg system first.

I just put down a TC Pilsner kit, CZ Saaz hops and some Carapils using the 2278 so i'm glad you recommend the yeast. I love Saaz hops so I can't help myself :D

ImperialPurple
7th November 2007, 21:21
Small family joint in the Barossa - Whistler Winery... dropped in there in July and picked up a carton of their Cab Merlot. Absolutely delightful drop and am almost at the bottom of the last bottle as I type...

But I do like a drop of Little Creatures. For a light beer Rogers absolutely kicks arse. :thumbsu: I have long been a fan of a good Pilsner - and Little Creatures Pilsner is very good. The Pale Ale is a great drink and I do enjoy the Bright, although I tend to think of this as bit of a "decorative" drop - one for "show" rather than a true beer drinkers beer... and Speedwagon I agree - Gage Roads IPA is a ripper!

Polly
8th November 2007, 08:57
Can't say I'm that keen on the LCPA. I'd have to say the best beers for flavour and originality are at the Ironbark Brewery in the Swan Valley. Good value to, $5 for a schooner and cheap food.
Cherry Ale for the ladies, Bock, Brown Ales, Wheat Beers, Pils nd original recipes like Desert Lime Lager.
All you Freo folk should come to the Valley once in a while and see what it has to offer, can have a very nice day out catering for everyones tastes. Technically you may have to cross the river at some stage but east of Bayswater theres none of this North/South stuff, we're all just Bogans. LOL.:p

Underdog
8th November 2007, 10:31
Ironbark brews aren't bad at all...

Last time I was there I went home with a 6-pack of their Iron Bock....good stuff

However, the food and service is appalling. The pizzas are average at best and nobody I know has been fussed with the rest of the menu. The Kangaroo burger is simply ridiculous...too big, too thick of a patty and too many flavours.

That's after you get served. Last I was there we ordered some pizzas and some food from the main menu. The pizzas took 40 minutes, then we didn't receive anybody else's food for another hour

dominguez
11th November 2007, 23:29
Can't say I'm that keen on the LCPA. I'd have to say the best beers for flavour and originality are at the Ironbark Brewery in the Swan Valley. Good value to, $5 for a schooner and cheap food.
Cherry Ale for the ladies, Bock, Brown Ales, Wheat Beers, Pils nd original recipes like Desert Lime Lager.
All you Freo folk should come to the Valley once in a while and see what it has to offer, can have a very nice day out catering for everyones tastes. Technically you may have to cross the river at some stage but east of Bayswater theres none of this North/South stuff, we're all just Bogans. LOL.:p

The Swan Valley is really good. The problem for us city folk is getting there then getting home.

docker_azza
12th November 2007, 08:17
Was getting stuck into a six pack of Feral White last night, pretty good.

docker_azza
18th April 2008, 21:54
Getting stuck into a six pack of Tiger atm, have heard mixed reviews of it but it's not bad.

shibz_1989
18th April 2008, 21:59
Getting stuck into a six pack of Tiger atm, have heard mixed reviews of it but it's not bad.

When I went to Malaysia and Vietnam that was the only beer you could get that didn't cost an arm and a leg. You could get like a 2 litre bottle for around $2.

Didn't really like to tbh...my grandmother was obsessed though. Before we flew back from Malaysia, I spent 2 hours running after her while she tried to find somewhere in the train station (KL Sentral or whatever in was) looking for the friggen stuff. :D

Stronzo
19th April 2008, 14:28
Coopers Pale Ale :thumbsu:

Otherwise Boags, but it is often out of my price range.

Kram81
19th April 2008, 14:35
Coopers Pale Ale :thumbsu:

Agree with that, quality beer.

LiZ4RD
19th April 2008, 18:04
I voted pale ale, leftover 6 pack of that and a fresh carton of squires golden ale in the fridge now. But you can't call yourself a beer drinker until you've tried Chimay Blue

http://images.thestreet.com/funds/goodlife/31584.jpghttp://img59.imageshack.us/img59/7519/beerxd3.gif (http://imageshack.us)

Stronzo
25th April 2008, 02:09
I voted pale ale, leftover 6 pack of that and a fresh carton of squires golden ale in the fridge now. But you can't call yourself a beer drinker until you've tried Chimay Blue

http://images.thestreet.com/funds/goodlife/31584.jpghttp://img59.imageshack.us/img59/7519/beerxd3.gif (http://imageshack.us)
Belgium beer in general is bloody good.

Love going to the Belgian Beer Cafe and having some of their finest :thumbsu: