bruce29
26 Aug 2007, 20:32
Thoughts on the match? Be nice:cool:

bruce29
26 Aug 2007, 20:57
There would HAVE to be some positives from tonights showing.anything at all

didaka
26 Aug 2007, 21:03
Positive. The way your supporters sent off 2 of the all-time greats.

Great scenes that will never be forgotten.

Dempsey was ok aswell.

danzan22
26 Aug 2007, 21:05
Dempsey coming in for his first game this year from injury played a good game considering.

sen entertainment bloke
26 Aug 2007, 21:11
The new era began shortly into the last quarter.

Would say the emotion got to Hird. Got his possessions but his head seemed to be more on the day than the game at various times.

Dr Moose
26 Aug 2007, 21:23
Plenty of positives - but also too many negatives:
Lovett, McPhee, Stanton all followed Hird's lead and gave 110% - still gave away turnovers, but at least busted a gut trying
Dempsey, Lloyd, Hille, McVeigh, Lovett-Murray, Monfries - Workman like performances, but didn't lift
Laycock, Nash, Winderlich, Ryder, Slattery - probably got overawed by the occasion
Reimers, Gumbleton - brave inclusions but not up to the task tonight
Michael, Lucas - Dreadful half-hearted effort all night, both grossly unfit

Fitness is going to have to be a big off-season focus. All those free Tigers floating everywhere when the game was still in the balance really did show us up, especially our defensive 50 where the goalpost prevented more goals than our backs

sen entertainment bloke
26 Aug 2007, 21:31
Lovett, McPhee, Stanton all followed Hird's lead and gave 110% - still gave away turnovers, but at least busted a gut trying
Dempsey, Lloyd, Hille, McVeigh, Lovett-Murray, Monfries - Workman like performances, but didn't lift
Laycock, Nash, Winderlich, Ryder, Slattery - probably got overawed by the occasion

Fitness is going to have to be a big off-season focus. All those free Tigers floating everywhere when the game was still in the balance really did show us up, especially our defensive 50 where the goalpost prevented more goals than our backs

We were down to 19 fit men.

When it comes to Gumbleton, I don't see anything better than WestHoff.

Hope it comes good, but Luenburger (sp) looks a much classy player.

Michael wasn't a half hearted efforted. He hasn't the tank to go with Richardson and was definitely servicable. Lucas had a bit of trouble reading the play down back.

We fumbled and a straight kicking Richo would have had us buried by half time.

You have to look at things from the perspective of a new coach coming in.

mike14
26 Aug 2007, 22:08
A question about coaching: Why did Sheedy leave Lucas in the backline? He was woeful back there and Essendon was constently falling down acroos half forward

Bomber57
26 Aug 2007, 22:22
A question about coaching: Why did Sheedy leave Lucas in the backline? He was woeful back there and Essendon was constently falling down acroos half forward

I agree here, whenever I here Lucas is in the backline I hold my breath, close my eyes and go O F**K. There must be some other position he can play, if not it is time to say goodbye to him.

We play one dimension most of the time and all the other sides know this and it is costing us wins, a major clean out is needed or we will be at the wrong end of the ladder for a long long time to come.

I feel like my AVATAR

Sean.
26 Aug 2007, 22:22
I went to the game. We played pathetic. We turned the ball over too many times and didn't have any passion. Why could we not rise to the occasion and send Hirdy and Sheeds off on a good note?

After the match was brilliant. The send off was fantastic and the fireworks was nice.

I got tears in my eyes when they walked around. Very emotional!

sen entertainment bloke
26 Aug 2007, 22:26

Fletcher was out, Lucas played CHB well a couple of years ago and Gumbleton was being used up forward along with Laycock, Hille and Hird at various stages.

Once Fletcher was out, it was trouble, particularily at the G.

Darealrath
26 Aug 2007, 22:28
Dempsey showed some great signs. About the only on field positive apart from a few great Hird moments. His hammies need a lot of attention though.

Hope Nash is OK. That looked really bad.

hulld
26 Aug 2007, 22:29
my boy dempsey was the only highlight

bmwofoz
26 Aug 2007, 22:32
First congrats to richmond for outplaying Essendon.

Well what can I say about the Essendon Football Club, disappointing, what Essendon needed tonight was someone to take the game by the neck, Lovett threaten to but didn't, Dempsay good game and a few others were okay.

Considering the importance of the game to Essendon's season I'm very disappointed, its as thou we didn't want it, while Richmonds skill level was poor at least when they went forward they did so with intend, they looked dangerous and hungry for the ball.

Full credit to Richmond, thanks to Sheeds and Hird for the years of services, in closing on tonight's effort its a good thing we wont be there in September for we don't deserve it.

Look its would be very easy to verbally run thought the team, but there is enough there for 2008.

ant555
26 Aug 2007, 22:34
Yep everyone gives Dempsey a big tick becasue he showed some dash. Too bad he cant hit targets by foot. 12 possessions 4 turnovers. Ouch.

The Dustbin
26 Aug 2007, 22:35
I think we all agree that Dempsey looked pretty impressiv tonight. Hille I hope for his sake is carrying a injury, he was shite tonight.

Any chance of Lovett playing 4 qrts of football? His fourth quarter seems to be his first.

Sad to see Campo finish the way he did with his bad injury. I reckon with the games he played with us, he has been most servicable. Unlucky with injuries.

All the best for Jay, hope everything will be alright with him. Serious injury.

Sean.
26 Aug 2007, 22:35
When Lovett got the ball, no one could catch him. He was so quick. One thing that pissed me off was how many times Richmond kicked it to a man on their own and the just strolled away...

bmwofoz
26 Aug 2007, 22:36
Yep everyone gives Dempsey a big tick becasue he showed some dash. Too bad he cant hit targets by foot. 12 possessions 4 turnovers. Ouch.

Yeah like the one at the start of the last quarter. :(

jules101
26 Aug 2007, 22:36

Hird's disposal was worse...

kelvin_sheedy
26 Aug 2007, 22:39
Demspey was the only highlight. Now if only we can get his body right we might start to develop a team that can run.

MJ was pathetic again and his selection tonight has got me staggered. He's been poor all year, especially at the G and should not have played. The only conclusion I can come to is Sheeds played the sentiment card and gave him a game.

Hille looks disinterested and doesn't want to be there anymore.

Stanton and Winderlich both look injured as they can't run anymore.

Selection again was too top heavy but we've been making the same mistakes all year so why stop now.

We have to be the dumbest team in the league as we constantly pick the wrong option or we never support each other enough. How many times has a team taken uncontested marks 15m out in front of goal this year - it's criminal.

Welsh, NLM, Slattery are one good ordinary players in the side too many.

The Dustbin
26 Aug 2007, 22:42
Demspey was the only highlight. Now if only we can get his body right we might start to develop a team that can run.

MJ was pathetic again and his selection tonight has got me staggered. He's been poor all year, especially at the G and should not have played. The only conclusion I can come to is Sheeds played the sentiment card and gave him a game.

Hille looks disinterested and doesn't want to be there anymore.

Stanton and Winderlich both look injured as they can't run anymore.

Selection again was too top heavy but we've been making the same mistakes all year so why stop now.

We have to be the dumbest team in the league as we constantly pick the wrong option or we never support each other enough. How many times has a team taken uncontested marks 15m out in front of goal this year - it's criminal.

Welsh, NLM, Slattery are one good ordinary players in the side too many.

When Tivendale is taking a uncontested overhead mark 15m out from goal. You know as a team you are struggling.

matty lloyd the champ
26 Aug 2007, 22:49
stanton's disposal improved today but didn't get enough of the ball.
His delivery to the forward line was pretty good

bossco
26 Aug 2007, 22:54

You have got to be kidding, the worst player by far, continually turned it over and when he did, didn't seem to care. Massive chance to be dropped next week.

mike14
26 Aug 2007, 22:56
Fletcher was out, Lucas played CHB well a couple of years ago and Gumbleton was being used up forward along with Laycock, Hille and Hird at various stages.

Once Fletcher was out, it was trouble, particularily at the G.

I realise that Fletch was out (and they always struggle when he is) but something else could have been tried back there

bacon buster
26 Aug 2007, 22:57
you could just about throw a blanket over the whole team tonight. i know it's unfair, but as a group, they just didn't care, and didn't try hard enough.

i was ashamed of the performance. we were embarrassed by the bottom team. i think it just goes to show we belong in the bottom 4, really.

marcuz
26 Aug 2007, 23:00
We were down to 19 fit men.

When it comes to Gumbleton, I don't see anything better than WestHoff.

Lets see how good Gumby is in 2 years because thats how many years he's spotting westhoff.

Hope it comes good, but Luenburger (sp) looks a much classy player.

Luenberger is running around with out an opponant , Gumby is fighting for scraps in a forward line full of veterans who demand the ball from a mediocre midfield.

marcuz
26 Aug 2007, 23:02

He is a latecomer to aussie rules so his development curve will be late and steep. The main thing is getting his body right as he as added weight and height to a skinny frame and its taking its toll.

At least he took the game on tonight which is something only a select few do in our side. Our static kick dominated style wont win us many games, hopefully our new coach gets us to run harder both offensively and defensively.

foj1
26 Aug 2007, 23:05
Did John Quinn walk a lap around the G? It should be his last game as well. I am sick of seeing our players unable to run with and then away from their opponents.
New coach and a very very very very long pre season I suggest.
What a heartless and insipid performance for two men who deserve a hell of a lot better. I dont mind my footy club losing a game but I do mind when my footy club shows a lack of CHARACTER:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

M29
26 Aug 2007, 23:05
ANALysis. We were practically sodomised.

I've had harder sh|ts than some of the players.

Our 'skill level' would be amongst, if not the, worst in the league by far. richmond were awful as well and still managed to win decently.

The Dustbin
26 Aug 2007, 23:19
You have got to be kidding, the worst player by far, continually turned it over and when he did, didn't seem to care. Massive chance to be dropped next week.

I agree. Might get a new lease of life with the new coach coming in next year. That is if he is there, of course.

Dr Moose
26 Aug 2007, 23:48

Did turn it over too many times but was the only defender to get to the ball at all

~RFM~
27 Aug 2007, 08:29
Campo and Nash were playing pretty well before they were injured - so that obviously didn't help. Not saying we would have won it with them, but we lost momentum after that.

Stats throughout the match showed Richmond way ahead of us for kicks...and we made some costly errors through bad handballing, so for sure we should be kicking the ball a lot more.

The main chant I've heard from fans at the last two games is 'MAN UP', and with good reason...when we are playing shite and not getting the clearances the very least we can do is ensure a contest with our opponent by manning up.

I don't think we had the right team on the ground, not at all, but honestly the passion was not there as far as I could see and it's looked like that ever since Sheeds started interviewing for Melbourne...I just think a lot of our guys are nowhere near tough enough mentally, and are struggling to play with all the uncertainty ahead.

Ron The Bear
27 Aug 2007, 09:08
Expected a lot more ferocity and determination from your blokes. Off-field events have taken a toll I'd suggest.

Drunken Wookie
27 Aug 2007, 09:41
who was minding foley? whoever it was did a damn good job of curbing any influence from him. had kane johnson not decided to stand up and play we'd have been in alot of trouble in the middle.

ant555
27 Aug 2007, 10:11
who was minding foley? whoever it was did a damn good job of curbing any influence from him. had kane johnson not decided to stand up and play we'd have been in alot of trouble in the middle.

McVeigh had him for a fair bit of the game.

ant555
27 Aug 2007, 10:17
Did John Quinn walk a lap around the G? It should be his last game as well. I am sick of seeing our players unable to run with and then away from their opponents.
New coach and a very very very very long pre season I suggest.
What a heartless and insipid performance for two men who deserve a hell of a lot better. I dont mind my footy club losing a game but I do mind when my footy club shows a lack of CHARACTER:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Seriously foj you have no idea on this one. I saw pre season this year and they where pushed to their limits and then some.I saw several times where they did runs like a beep test and players where run to a stand still with most of them throwing up while trying to complete the run. There where days where this happened two or three times in a day. Quinn isnt a miracle worker. He hasnt got some sort of magic potion that turns slow blokes into quick blokes or turns people into endurance runners. You have either got it or you havnt. It is not Quinn's fault we have drafted the wrong type of player for todays game. He can only work with what we have. If the players havnt got the ability to perform the task or simply dont put in on match day then what the F*** can Quinn do about it ! If the players themselves dont want it or have a lack of character then that is well out of Quinn's control.

Bombs Away
27 Aug 2007, 14:26
Just my thoughts ont he players and how they went in number order. I thought we were beaten in the coaches box especially. Only a year or more until Jimmy can coach us - stuff his apprenticeship

I thought our players early on were too hird conscious and just kicking to him always.

MJ - damm ordinary performance, looked half arsed out there last night and was lucky to hold his spot, will he be this lucky this week
Gumby - still a kid and had a down game, it happens when that young
Hird - no comment - I feel he should hang up the boots now, he has had enough and tired and sick of carrying this team. the memories from your final lap is what you want, not a flogging in the other side of the country.
Monfries - going heaps better now playing in the midfield
Winders - why was he playing in the back pocket, he is one of our running midfielders
McVeigh - quiet night
Welsh - average performance
Lovett - good run at times and in our best
Dempsey - was underdone coming in and has shown can play, just needs to get fit. Shame he did his hammy again this season
Campo - was not having an impact prior to injury, that is it for him now, shame to be injured like that in his last game
Lloyd - started like a house on fire but still in our best
Hille - will try to keep it nice so will just say probably his worst game for the club, has now proven that he is not a ruckman
Slattery - usual role but was quiter with his own possession
Mal - beaten comprehensively tonight, probably his worst game for us (everyone is allowed one so we will put it behind us)
Stanton - obviously playing injured (op) and just not the penetrating player we all know
Lucas - servicable at best but played out of position and also carrying an injury
Laycock - great one week, nothing the next, does this mean he will go well against cox next week. probably better with hille out of the side and ryder supporting him
Ryder - quiet game tonight
Mcphee - not one of his best either
Reimers - struggled with the pace of the game tonight
Nash - was just starting to get possessions when got injured. I have said on other threads that would like him to get No 5 (if doesnt go back to a daniher and getting injured like that was so hirdlike - bloody unlucky there pal)
NLM - one of our best tonight,

Overall our worst performance for the year by a mile. Turnovers were disgraceful, tackling was non existant and skills were ordinary. You played with no passion tonight. I thought that it would have been the tigers that would get blown away with the big crowd not us.

The first half of football was worse than watching an U10 game.

Runknisse
27 Aug 2007, 14:46
Just my thoughts ont he players and how they went in number order. I thought we were beaten in the coaches box especially. Only a year or more until Jimmy can coach us - stuff his apprenticeship

I thought our players early on were too hird conscious and just kicking to him always.

MJ - damm ordinary performance, looked half arsed out there last night and was lucky to hold his spot, will he be this lucky this week
Gumby - still a kid and had a down game, it happens when that young
Hird - no comment - I feel he should hang up the boots now, he has had enough and tired and sick of carrying this team. the memories from your final lap is what you want, not a flogging in the other side of the country.
Monfries - going heaps better now playing in the midfield
Winders - why was he playing in the back pocket, he is one of our running midfielders
McVeigh - quiet night
Welsh - average performance
Lovett - good run at times and in our best
Dempsey - was underdone coming in and has shown can play, just needs to get fit. Shame he did his hammy again this season
Campo - was not having an impact prior to injury, that is it for him now, shame to be injured like that in his last game
Lloyd - started like a house on fire but still in our best
Hille - will try to keep it nice so will just say probably his worst game for the club, has now proven that he is not a ruckman
Slattery - usual role but was quiter with his own possession
Mal - beaten comprehensively tonight, probably his worst game for us (everyone is allowed one so we will put it behind us)
Stanton - obviously playing injured (op) and just not the penetrating player we all know
Lucas - servicable at best but played out of position and also carrying an injury
Laycock - great one week, nothing the next, does this mean he will go well against cox next week. probably better with hille out of the side and ryder supporting him
Ryder - quiet game tonight
Mcphee - not one of his best either
Reimers - struggled with the pace of the game tonight
Nash - was just starting to get possessions when got injured. I have said on other threads that would like him to get No 5 (if doesnt go back to a daniher and getting injured like that was so hirdlike - bloody unlucky there pal)
NLM - one of our best tonight,

Overall our worst performance for the year by a mile. Turnovers were disgraceful, tackling was non existant and skills were ordinary. You played with no passion tonight. I thought that it would have been the tigers that would get blown away with the big crowd not us.

The first half of football was worse than watching an U10 game.

Agree totally although I thought you were way to nice on Andrew Welsh.
He's been a massive disappointment in my eyes and I'm no fan.
Did nothing to disuade me otherwise. Same too with Winderlich.
The less said about Adam 'I'm more interested in getting my photo in the Who's Who section of the paper than playing footy' McPhee the better. Such a figjam.

donsman4eva
27 Aug 2007, 15:19
Agree totally although I thought you were way to nice on Andrew Welsh.
He's been a massive disappointment in my eyes and I'm no fan.
Did nothing to disuade me otherwise. Same too with Winderlich.
The less said about Adam 'I'm more interested in getting my photo in the Who's Who section of the paper than playing footy' McPhee the better. Such a figjam.
I thought Welsh was pretty good last night. I gave him votes in fact. I struggle to understand why he is so hated on this board.

kelvin_sheedy
27 Aug 2007, 15:36
I thought Welsh was pretty good last night. I gave him votes in fact. I struggle to understand why he is so hated on this board.

He's not hated.

He just symbolises what kind of team we've become.

donsman4eva
27 Aug 2007, 15:37
He's not hated.

He just symbolises what kind of team we've become.
Well maybe not hated, but there are alot of people on here that fail to give him the recognition he deserves. He finished 4th last year in the B&F didnt he? And he could well finish top 5 again this year, yet people continue to disclude him from their best 22. It quite bewildering really.

Merv
27 Aug 2007, 15:42
Well maybe not hated, but there are alot of people on here that fail to give him the recognition he deserves. He finished 4th last year in the B&F didnt he? And he could well finish top 5 again this year, yet people continue to disclude him from their best 22. It quite bewildering really.

The thing about that is what is a top 5 finish in our best and fairest worth in comparison to other clubs?

Sure it's a personal reward for players but where would some of those players finish in another clubs B&F?

Where do you think Welsh would finish in any teams B&F from the top 8?

I'm not having a go at him, but you need to put it into perspective when you use the "finished xxxx in our B&F" argument

donsman4eva
27 Aug 2007, 15:45
The thing about that is what is a top 5 finish in our best and fairest worth in comparison to other clubs?

Sure it's a personal reward for players but where would some of those players finish in another clubs B&F?

Where do you think Welsh would finish in any teams B&F from the top 8?

I'm not having a go at him, but you need to put it into perspective when you use the "finished xxxx in our B&F" argument
It doesnt matter where he would finish at other clubs. He is at ESSENDON, and the fact that some people cant fit him into ESSENDON'S best 22 is what I find weird.

He might not finish that highly on other teams B&F count, but it doesnt take away from the fact that he is one of Essendons most important players.

kelvin_sheedy
27 Aug 2007, 15:48

But would he get a game at a club like Geelong? I doubt it.

What about West Coast? Probably not.

Hawthorn? I don't see them using a player of his ilk.

Top 5 in a bottom 4 side is nothing really to get excited about.

donsman4eva
27 Aug 2007, 15:50

Top 5 in a bottom 4 side is nothing really to get excited about.
Top 5 still means he is better than what, 39 others in our club? If Welsh is in the top 5, and he cant get a spot in our best 22, then what does it say about others at our club?

Merv
27 Aug 2007, 15:52
It doesnt matter where he would finish at other clubs. He is at ESSENDON, and the fact that some people cant fit him into ESSENDON'S best 22 is what I find weird.

He might not finish that highly on other teams B&F count, but it doesnt take away from the fact that he is one of Essendons most important players.

I can see where you and kelvin are both coming from.

You say he's an important Essendon player, and i agree.

Kelvin is saying while he may be important at Essendon in the big scheme of things he is an average player that would struggle to be in the best 22 at a lot of clubs, so that says something about him as a player and us as a club atm.

Correct me if i am wrong about what either of you are saying....lol

donsman4eva
27 Aug 2007, 15:53
Spot on, and I do think that Kelvin has a valid point. But at the same time, there is no way I'd consider getting rid of Welsh, which I'm sure Kelvin would agree with.

kelvin_sheedy
27 Aug 2007, 15:56
Top 5 still means he is better than what, 39 others in our club? If Welsh is in the top 5, and he cant get a spot in our best 22, then what does it say about others at our club?

Damien Peverill will also be in the top 5 - he's not going to get us to the next flag or be a major contributor in the next few years.

Top 5 means diddly squat.

If blokes like Pev and Welsh can command spots in our B&F then that is the reason why we are a bottom 4 side.

donsman4eva
27 Aug 2007, 15:59
I agree with your sentiments regarding Pev. But I thnk Welsh is very important to us, and will be part of our next premiership. However if we are to win one, he shouldnt be in the top 10 in our B&F

kelvin_sheedy
27 Aug 2007, 16:02
Spot on, and I do think that Kelvin has a valid point. But at the same time, there is no way I'd consider getting rid of Welsh, which I'm sure Kelvin would agree with.

The only reason I've actually not thought of him as trade bait is I don't think he has any currency.

Most clubs have an abundance of his types so are unwilling to trade for one unless they are an absolute standout.

I would cut him loose on the drop of a hat if we could get something that would make us a better team. :D

Longy413
27 Aug 2007, 16:07

Ahead of Dave Johnson, Hunt, Tenace, Byrnes, Rooke?

Of course he would.

He goes better than Rosa, Jones (both), Armstrong.

He's a better footballer and leader than their captain.

Ladson, Young, McGlynn.

kelvin_sheedy
27 Aug 2007, 16:07
Kelvin is saying while he may be important at Essendon in the big scheme of things he is an average player that would struggle to be in the best 22 at a lot of clubs, so that says something about him as a player and us as a club atm.

Sort of.

I don't think he's an important cog in our team.

He's a role player that is not going to make the difference between us being a finals side or not.

jules101
27 Aug 2007, 16:09
You need the Welsh types in the team, you can't fit a team of Hird and Lloyd's in a salary cap can you.. need good honest players in tyhe team, wont win you a premiership off their own boot but will be consistent and help get ya their...

kelvin_sheedy
27 Aug 2007, 16:13
Ahead of Dave Johnson, Hunt, Tenace, Byrnes, Rooke?

Of course he would.

None of those guys can command a spot in Geelongs best 22.

He goes better than Rosa, Jones (both), Armstrong.

Rosa and Brett Jones are better players. The rest struggle for a spot in the 22.

He's a downgraded version of Adam Selwood.

He's a better footballer and leader than their captain.

Ladson, Young, McGlynn.

I'd take all those guys above Welsh except Richie :D

Longy413
27 Aug 2007, 16:18
None of those guys can command a spot in Geelongs best 22.

There's at least one or two in each week.
Rooke is in their best side when fit.

Welsh is better than all of them, he'd get a game.

Rosa and Brett Jones are better players. The rest struggle for a spot in the 22.

Rosa is a turnover merchant, yet you bag Welsh for doing exactly that.

Rosa is an ordinary footballer who finds space on a big ground, in a dominant midfield. Put him in our side and he would be found wanting, he's not that much better than his brother.

The Jones boys are both ordinary.
Rowan Jones has played 20 games this year, Armstrong 12.

I'd take all those guys above Welsh except Richie :D

I'm glad you don't have an official role at the club then.