View Full Version : The Port Magpies Saga

RoosterWedgie
16 May 2002, 21:17
I've been meaning to write this for a while and hope what I say contains facts (well a couple anyway).

Now, to start with, I cant believe my ears with the recent crap about how they Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club are close to folding, blah, blah, blah.

When this NEW club the Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club was formed around 1996 they were given $1,000,000 from the Port Adelaide Football Club to begin their operations, now since then they have (taking into account their losses and profits each year) made a total profit of something like $340,000 so in essence including all their assets they should be something like $1.3 million in the black, now I'll be fair and allow a couple of hundred thousand for depreciation so they should still be $1.1 million in the black.

And they're crying like bushpigs that they need some money (and some fools are falling for this).

Now take my club for eg, in 1990 before the Crows came in (my darkest day) my club had over 1 million dollars in assets (ie $1 million in the black) they even owned a couple of houses. Since then with the AFL crippling the SANFL for those clubs not in the poor socio economic areas that can make money from pokies North have cut costs everywhere but virtually have nothing and have to borrow to pay players, they dont whine, they just go about their business recruiting the most paying members out of any SANFL club as they did last year, they're still and will continue to struggle big time but do they try and dupe some poor fools into handing over money to them? no!
Well not unless his name is Robert Gerard who virtually has been keeping us afloat, Robran bless him.
Now I would suspect there'd be at least 6 clubs with less in assets than this NEW club, the Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club but do they whine?
NO, Glenelg for eg are building a convention centre, hoping this will increase profits raising revnue in a new area.
South moved down to Noarlunga to try and capitilise on a growing area and a better base for their pokies (and its paying off).
Westies expanded their public club area to increase revenue and this has been succesful.
Sturt moved back to Unley Oval, this has seen a huge turnaround for the club.
Woodville and West Torrens amalgamated, not that Im condoning that, as I reckon its pathetic to merge.
North are moving their pokies to Sefton Park (great for 2 reason, 1 it gets the bloody things out of the clubrooms and 2, theres a lot more chance of making money out there).
ie these clubs are thinking laterally and they are in a much worse state than the Magpies Football Club.

NOW, IMHO, I think the real problem that exists for the Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club is that their supporter base is a dying breed, I think that most young "Port" supporters will not and have not embraced this NEW club as they get to see the Power on TV everyweek, read about them in the paper everyday, see their merchandise at every sports store, etc, etc and would rather go see the Power play.
To me this is the REAL problem facing the Port Adelaide Magpies Club as I can see the day that most of the young Port supporters of today, ie the future members, paying customers, etc will not give a brass razoo about the Port Adelaide Magpies.

Sorry about how long winded that was, an interesting topic none the less.

Unley Legend
16 May 2002, 22:11
Remind me to buy you a drink! Well said young man!

Blues_Brat
16 May 2002, 23:21
Those f***ing pokies, that was one of the main reasons we nearly went under. At least North have thought well about their placement.

Shame we couldn't have bought out the Cremorne. That's one of the few profitable pokie pubs in the Unley area.

Thank **** we dont have to worry about that curse over here.

Macca19
16 May 2002, 23:56
Originally posted by RoosterWedgie
I've been meaning to write this for a while and hope what I say contains facts (well a couple anyway).

Now, to start with, I cant believe my ears with the recent crap about how they Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club are close to folding, blah, blah, blah.

Port arent close to folding. What they have done is recognise that in a few years time they might be in a lot of trouble as our major source of income has stopped (draft pick compensation or something similar). It is best to recognise that we could be in trouble in the future right now than do what your own club did which was do sweet FA and come close to closing shop.

When this NEW club the Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club was formed around 1996 they were given $1,000,000 from the Port Adelaide Football Club to begin their operations, now since then they have (taking into account their losses and profits each year) made a total profit of something like $340,000 so in essence including all their assets they should be something like $1.3 million in the black, now I'll be fair and allow a couple of hundred thousand for depreciation so they should still be $1.1 million in the black.

Im not quite sure about those figures, i could check them but not right now. Yes we might be 1.1 million in the black at the moment...but if youve done your research properly and got your facts right you would realise that Port have said that they are looking down the barrel of losing minimum $250,000 this year and in future years. This will mean in 3-5 years time we could be in a real spot of trouble which is why the club has recognised this NOW and have made moves to prevent this from happening.

And they're crying like bushpigs that they need some money (and some fools are falling for this).

Instead of crying like a fool yourself maybe you should recognise that the club right now has recognised that in a few years we could be in some real trouble, and that they have made some steps to ensure that they do infact survive. If your own club had formed this strategy, instead of doing sweet fa to ensure their own survival, then maybe North Adelaide might not of come within a bee's penis of shutting down.

Since then with the AFL crippling the SANFL for those clubs not in the poor socio economic areas that can make money from pokies North have cut costs everywhere but virtually have nothing and have to borrow to pay players,

Port make no money from pokies...port have no clubrooms, port make littl emoney from merchandise. So tell me how they are any different to your own club?? The only club that makes any significant amount from the pokies is Centrals. What else is there to do in Elizabeth.

they dont whine,

How is recognising that your club is in trouble and making progress and plans to ensure its survival "whining". Stop your trolling.

they just go about their business recruiting the most paying members out of any SANFL club as they did last year, they're still and will continue to struggle big time

If North Adelaide dont want to go to any great lengths to ensure their own survival in the SANFL then I for one wont be upset to see them leave. You are having a go at a club making sure it survives in the length. Either you are going fishing here or you are just a fool. Just because your club is inept doesnt mean everyone elses should be.

but do they try and dupe some poor fools into handing over money to them? no!

People dont have to give their money over. Port have not gone to any lengths to ask anyone else other than Port supporters to hand over a small amount of money to ensure it can continue playing in this league. Maybe if your own club took this approach and asked its 15 members to supply a small amount of money then maybe your club would not be in trouble. Instead of keeping quiet and doing nothing at all...maybe your club should of taken steps to ensure it survives in this league. The fact you are having a go at my club for taking steps to ensure it stays in the SANFL makes me think you are seriously lacking in the brain department. Maybe you'd like all the struggling clubs to take Norths example and do nothing about it and rely on one person to get them out of trouble.

Well not unless his name is Robert Gerard who virtually has been keeping us afloat, Robran bless him.

Ah so instead of asking your supporters for money you rely on one fool to pour money into North Adelaide.

Now I would suspect there'd be at least 6 clubs with less in assets than this NEW club, the Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club but do they whine?

Please tell me what assets Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club owns??

You really are lacking in the brain department arent you?? How dishonourable for my club to take steps to ensure its own survival by asking its supporters to give them a small amount of money. Wow. What a horrible thing to do.

ie these clubs are thinking laterally and they are in a much worse state than the Magpies Football Club.

Right. But of course. Port taking the same steps is suddenly such a horrible thing.

NOW, IMHO, I think the real problem that exists for the Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club is that their supporter base is a dying breed, I think that most young "Port" supporters will not and have not embraced this NEW club as they get to see the Power on TV everyweek, read about them in the paper everyday, see their merchandise at every sports store, etc, etc and would rather go see the Power play.

You could say the same thing for the Crows. A lot of young Crows supporters would not give a hoot about the SANFL. Which is one of the reason why a lot of the SANFL clubs are in trouble.

To me this is the REAL problem facing the Port Adelaide Magpies Club as I can see the day that most of the young Port supporters of today, ie the future members, paying customers, etc will not give a brass razoo about the Port Adelaide Magpies.

Its the same REAL problem for every other club. Why are half the other SANFL clubs in trouble?? Because they dont have enough support. I remember when North were in the depths of hell a year or so ago and i heard they had about 400 members or something. What cna you account this to?? The Crows. So how is this any different to Ports situation?? its the exact same thing. Most of the young Crows supporters of today, ie the future members, paying customers, etc will not give a brass razoo about North or West or South or Glenelg.

Really i shouldnt of bothered replying to this crap. But geez....you call Port supporters fools for giving money to the club they love....you are the bloody fool for suggesting Port are "whining" because they want to ensure their survival.

If North did the same thing you'd be the type of person that would applaud it....but of course...because its Port Adelaide doing it, they are whining. Pathetic. :mad:

Ford Fairlane
17 May 2002, 00:08
I don’t know if this is an attempt at serious discussion or another of your Port bashing ***** stirring trolls but ok, I’ll bite.

Well said? If you can work out what it is he’s trying to say. You start out by saying that Port are rolling in cash, and by implication its future secure, and has no right to ask its supporters for money. You finish by saying the club is doomed because its supporter base will soon all have died of old age. In between you imply that the Club is trying nothing new to alleviate its financial position.

Alright, let’s look at the comments by the Finance Director’s Report in the 2001 Annual Report:

The Club does indeed enjoy a solid net asset position and a good cash surplus with minimal external debt and the end position is the result of much hard work completed by the board and administration staff over the past few years

Each year sees a new challenge presented to the Club to maintain this position and next year will see this continue with a budgeted downturn in clearance income and the likelihood of further pressure on expenditure that is, in the main, outside of the Club's control.

Think of in terms of once off versus ongoing expenditure. Sure a solid asset base is nice, but if you keep selling those assets soon there will be no base left. Look at it using a John Martins type example. You have a store in a beautiful big building on prime city real estate. But if you can’t get sufficient ongoing financial turnover happening through that store, all that big beautiful asset is worth is to help pay off your creditors once they close your doors. Over recent years Port Adelaide have cut spending in every aspect of their operations except football operations – player recruiting and equipment. That’s what’s next if new sources of funding are not identified and explored. Port Adelaide is the lowest spending club in the SANFL.

And that is why the True Believers fund was initiated. To ensure Port Adelaide has funding available for its football operations to ensure its success on the football field. If you can, get hold of the letter featuring Tim Ginever as the champion of the campaign. It clearly states:

EVERY CENT RAISED THROUGH THE TRUE BELIEVERS' CAMPAIGN WILL BE USED TO FURTHER THE CLUB'S FOOTBALL OPERATIONS, EITHER IN RECRUITING OR THE PURCHASE OF MUCH NEEDED PLAYER EQUIPMENT.

Sure some reference is made to ensuring financial stability to secure the future of the club, but the clear message is that this funding is aimed at ensuring the competitiveness and success of Port Adelaide on the football field.

But why are you so offended that Port Adelaide has turned to its members and supporters for financial assistance? If this is what the Club chooses to do and the members and supporters choose to respond, what issue is it of yours? Sure the Club has put itself in a position to be ridiculed by taking this stand, but seeing people like you who are all too willing to take the opportunity to sink the boot only strengthens the resolve of Port supporters to respond to ensure it doesn’t happen again.

You say that soon Port will have no supporters because all the young people have been seduced by the Power to the AFL. Now there’s a quantum leap in reasoning if ever I saw one. And what do you base this on? Do you have match attendance and Port membership figures broken down by age to prove this assertion? I doubt it. This is the sort of “reasoning” that sounds good in a pub debate with fellow Port bashers, but seems to lack a bit of hard edged empirical evidence in the cold light of day. And on that basis I could make the same claim about every other league club, whose supporters have been seduced to the dark side by the Team For All South Australians, couldn’t I? Stands up to the same brand of fallible logic you’ve applied.

I’m no accountant so it is risky for me to make assertions from Financial Statements, but I’ll give it a go. Port Adelaide’s operating revenue from “Membership, Match, Sponsorship, Bingo, Fundraising and Booth Income” was up from to $694,613 in 2000 to $708,258 in 2001. So if Port supporters are dying off, at least the ones remaining are spending their inheritances wisely.

Now you’ve also implied that Port are making no attempts to identify alternative forms of financial income. Again, what do you base this on? Did you ring Paul Belton at the Port office and ask him and hear nothing but stony silence from the other end of the phone? Again, I don’t think so. Why do you think Port transferred three home matches to Adelaide Oval? To maximize the revenue benefits to the Club. Port Adelaide have established links with a US Australian Rules Football Club (the New York Magpies). Again this creates financial opportunity for the Club. Port Adelaide are pursuing alternative financial avenues. Just because they’re not reported in The Advertiser doesn’t mean they are not happening.

Anyway, you’ve had your fun, and I’m tired of typing. Maybe if you can decide whether you think Port are doomed or immortal would be a good starting point for further rational debate.

Bye for now.

FF

UDOGS
17 May 2002, 00:18
Since then with the AFL crippling the SANFL for those clubs not in the poor socio economic areas that can make money from pokies North have cut costs everywhere but virtually have nothing and have to borrow to pay players, they dont whine, they just go about their business recruiting the most paying members out of any SANFL club as they did last year, they're still and will continue to struggle big time but do they try and dupe some poor fools into handing over money to them? no!

A bit of success and the sneaky bitch remarks come out. If the profits from the pokies from those poor socio economic areas (of which I am proud to live in) was going to some greedy publican I could understand this bitter comment. However the funds are going to a community organisation, sposoring community events and grassroots football. Its a shame you cant share in the pride of a true rags to riches success story. I say without shame I am truly proud of the CDFC and where their funds are generated. Those people who I share a drink, a meal, a bet and a laugh look real miserable in the pokie's room after the dogs have flogged another visiting team.

An interesting post. Pity about the aforementioned comment.

Macca19
17 May 2002, 00:30
Well said FF

sapaul
17 May 2002, 00:30
Originally posted by Ford Fairlane

Well said? If you can work out what it is he’s trying to say.

I couldn't be arsed reading it.

dreamkillers
17 May 2002, 01:01
Ford Fairlane very well put............at least our club hasn't left it til the door was practically shut to do something about the future like other SANFL clubs......

One other point to add is the club has got a group of affluent members and supporters together who are volunteering their time to look at new fund-raising methods for the club.......

A couple of other points on the original cast.......

The Port Magpies were not actually given $1.1 million from the Power (there would be no way known the SANFL & other clubs would have allowed that).........the $1.1 million was for the transfer of the Alberton Oval Assets at the time to the Power.

Port Magpies will in fact have some income from the Social Club at Alberton Oval once the debts from the $2 million upgrade are paid off. The split between the 2 clubs is 75/25 but there will be no income until these borrowings are cleared which is scheduled to be complete by the beginning of the 2003 season. It is because of this that Port Adelaide has the smallest turnover of any of the SANFL clubs and plans are underway to turn this around in other areas.

As many others have said at least our club has the fore-sight to acknowledge a problem if current income streams are maintained and are doing something to ensure the long term future and viabaility of our club.

RoosterWedgie.....can you tell me if the coaching staff at North are being paid yet or are they still volunteers for the club - I remember Hart saying he was donating his services to the club as they couldn't afford to pay him when he took on the job.........

We will survive and become stronger in the long term..........I'm not so sure about the 8 other clubs.........

UDOGS
17 May 2002, 01:03
Originally posted by Macca19

Port make no money from pokies...port have no clubrooms, port make littl emoney from merchandise. So tell me how they are any different to your own club?? The only club that makes any significant amount from the pokies is Centrals. What else is there to do in Elizabeth.

Yeah - just like all of those wonderful activities happening around the bright lights of Alberton. Maybe sit and watch the cement kiln spinning, or fish in stinking polluted waters as another river dolphin rolls over and frollicks in the scum, or watch the beggars around the black diamond fight for loose change etc...

People dont have to give their money over. Port have not gone to any lengths to ask anyone else other than Port supporters to hand over a small amount of money to ensure it can continue playing in this league.

I did not see any differentiation between supporters within the begging for money posters at Adelaide Oval. They want money from anyone - not just Port supporters. Port have not asked for money from other supporters directly. Instead they have gone about it in their typically manipulative ways - like swapping games that will attract larger crowds from Alberton to Adelaide.

The club is being proactive.

This is the same argument and responding tactic which was the basis for the original failed attempt at entry into the AFL. Port have to survive no matter the tricks, half truths and deceipt. Port have the money but are begging for more, insinuating that if they dont get any soon they will go bust. An outright lie. Other SANFL clubs are more deserving.

Right. But of course. Port taking the same steps is suddenly such a horrible thing.

Anything Port does is horrible.

You could say the same thing for the Crows. A lot of young Crows supporters would not give a hoot about the SANFL. Which is one of the reason why a lot of the SANFL clubs are in trouble.

Quite true - with the exception of the northern area of Adelaide which has the highest youth population; of which a healthy proportion follow the DOGS.

Macca19
17 May 2002, 09:17
Originally posted by UDOGS

Yeah - just like all of those wonderful activities happening around the bright lights of Alberton. Maybe sit and watch the cement kiln spinning, or fish in stinking polluted waters as another river dolphin rolls over and frollicks in the scum, or watch the beggars around the black diamond fight for loose change etc...

If everyone here stereotypes about my club ill stereotype about everyone elses.

Instead they have gone about it in their typically manipulative ways - like swapping games that will attract larger crowds from Alberton to Adelaide.

I dont see how changing a home game is 'manipulative'. Its no different to Melbourne moving a home game to Brisbane, Kangaroos moving a home game to Manuka etc. Its to gain some extra money which i think is a good move.

Port have the money but are begging for more, insinuating that if they dont get any soon they will go bust. An outright lie. Other SANFL clubs are more deserving.

Well maybe other SANFL clubs should start working out more ways to make more money then.

Anything Port does is horrible.

touche

Quite true - with the exception of the northern area of Adelaide which has the highest youth population; of which a healthy proportion follow the DOGS.

Yeah i agree with that.

Jars458
17 May 2002, 11:08
Woodville and West Torrens amalgamated, not that Im condoning that, as I reckon its pathetic to merge.

If they had not

Both clubs would be dead.

Very good decision if you ask me

No point standing on principle and commiting suicide.

McAlmanac
17 May 2002, 11:18
Agreed - I put my hand up in the club (Woodville in my case) and voted for it. The only few who didn't were League footballers - it was pretty much unanaimous. If we hadn't done it, we'd both be dead. So our clubs DID take steps, just as the Magpies are doing, just as a few other clubs have done.

Petty sniping at other SANFL clubs is stupid. Without each other, there's no competition.

UDOGS
17 May 2002, 12:15

I dont see how changing a home game is 'manipulative'. Its no different to Melbourne moving a home game to Brisbane, Kangaroos moving a home game to Manuka etc. Its to gain some extra money which i think is a good move.

Fair enough.

RoosterWedgie
17 May 2002, 20:08
Geezus, where do I start?
Talk about copping a barrage! lmao.

I'll try and clear up a few things, couldn't be stuffed addressing all the dribble though! lol

My comment re PMFC being close to folding, while not being factually correct is the impression a lot of people get in the community (especially simpler people) when constant media barrage about Port Magpies asking for money is thrust upon us.
Might I point out this is only indirectly Ports fault (as it is the medias and the simpler peoples assumptions).

I wasnt bashing the PAMFC, just making a topic for discussion, which it obviously done, I personally would never like to see this new club the Port Magpies fold as every team that has won less premierships than North (ie every team except Norwood) I want to continue so I can give their supporters heaps! lol

Now some called me hypocritical for mentioning how the Port Magpies isnt in trouble and then professing that they are in trouble with a dying supporter base. I was in fact pointing out where I think the Magpies should be concentrating their efforts, might I add a simple thing such as having someone at Power gates offering kids free pies, cokes, etc vouchers for Magpies games would be a good start (full marks to the Magpies if this is alreay done).

One point was made that all SANFL clubs are having this problem with the Crows taking kids away from SANFL clubs, I agree with this, I just think it is more pertinent for Port supporters. For eg, my kids continue to go to every Roosters game with me, but if we had a team in the AFL as well as SANFL (yeah, I know, dream on! lol) Im sure theres a good chance they'd only worry about the Roosters team with the best coverage. Plus the Crows max attendance and high prices limits a lot of kids from actually seeing the Crows so while I agree this is a problem with all SANFL clubs I just dont think it is as severe. BTW I have a mate who's a magpies fan and a Crows fans and doesnt like the Power, how funny is that? lmao

Hell Ive forgotten a lot of points I was going to reply to as there was so many, I luv the insults, must only prove Im close to home as I never set out to offend, but just to make a couple of points.

May I end up by retorting to a few remarks made about my club:
1) Someone said North were in the past within a bees penis of going out of business, the fact is we still are, we're a small supporter base, I have a few probs with the board but the fact that we have the highest membership per supporter in the SANFL is testament they might be doing somthing right as is moving the pokies.
2)Good old Macca was talking about North's 15 members, lmao, gotta luv facts, well Macca, the fact is North actually had the most PAYING members in the SANFL last season, a couple of teams actually include Life Memberships and Sponsors in their tally but North do not, this is information from the person who actually runs the membership database for at least 3 clubs in the SANFL.
3) Dreamkillers asked/said if Hart was the only coach in the SANFL doing his job voluntarily! LMAO! Once again, why let facts get in the way of a story, the fact is Darel Hart is the only Full Time Paid coach in the SANFL and his package includes a car as well as a full time salary package.
Where he gets paid from though is another story. he he.

Anything else guys?

Uncle Steve
17 May 2002, 20:18
Originally posted by dreamkillers
The Port Magpies were not actually given $1.1 million from the Power (there would be no way known the SANFL & other clubs would have allowed that).........the $1.1 million was for the transfer of the Alberton Oval Assets at the time to the Power.

A corollary of this statement:

Port Magpies existed prior to the Port Power. Port Magpies is the original Port, and Port Power is the new club.

RoosterWedgie
17 May 2002, 20:22
wrong Uncle Steve, the Port Adelaide Football Club which has been in existence for over 100 years is now in the AFL.

The Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club was registered and began operation around 1996/97.

Personally I luv it as my AFL Club in Geelong has won 5 (or is it 6) more VFL/AFL premierships than PAFC and my SANFL club has won 11 more premierships than the PAMFC.

Uncle Steve
17 May 2002, 20:26
Now take my club for eg, in 1990 before the Crows came in (my darkest day) my club had over 1 million dollars in assets (ie $1 million in the black) they even owned a couple of houses.

I have a newspaper article dated 14 Feb 1989, in which it is claimed that North Adelaide's net worth was $32,177 - after a trading loss of $167,889 in the previous year.

In fact only two clubs were rated as being in a more perilous financial position than the Roosters at this time: Port and Glenelg!

These three along with West Torrens were earmarked as four clubs that would likely fold if the SANFL was to join the extended VFL.

I do not have any information regarding North's finances in 1990 but I find it hard to believe that the club had a million-dollar windfall in the space of 12 months.

RoosterWedgie
17 May 2002, 20:35
Uncle Steve, I have the official financial statement of every year since 1989 including 1990 if you wish to peruse it.
sorry champ, you're wrong again!
:(

Uncle Steve
17 May 2002, 20:35
wrong Uncle Steve, the Port Adelaide Football Club which has been in existence for over 100 years is now in the AFL.

The Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club was registered and began operation around 1996/97.

Personally I luv it as my AFL Club in Geelong has won 5 (or is it 6) more VFL/AFL premierships than PAFC and my SANFL club has won 11 more premierships than the PAMFC.

Believe what you wish.

You have your own agenda: the right to claim that your clubs have outperformed Port in their respective competitions.

The Power fans have their agenda too: typically, the mindset to believe that they haven't jumped bandwagons - or even just a convenient excuse to stop following the Magpies.

It is nevertheless a fact that all available evidence - including, but by no means limited to dreamy's statement - suggests the opposite case. Port Magpies is the original; Port Power the newcomer.

The only support for the argument that Port Power is the original is "because they say so". Frankly I need a better reason than that. But if you personally want to believe that the Port Power emperor is fully clad in exotic robes, well you go right ahead.

RoosterWedgie
17 May 2002, 20:42
Originally posted by Uncle Steve

Believe what you wish.

You have your own agenda: the right to claim that your clubs have outperformed Port in their respective competitions.

The Power fans have their agenda too: typically, the mindset to believe that they haven't jumped bandwagons - or even just a convenient excuse to stop following the Magpies.

It is nevertheless a fact that all available evidence - including, but by no means limited to dreamy's statement - suggests the opposite case. Port Magpies is the original; Port Power the newcomer.

The only support for the argument that Port Power is the original is "because they say so". Frankly I need a better reason than that. But if you personally want to believe that the Port Power emperor is fully clad in exotic robes, well you go right ahead.

No agenda champ, just the facts, check the ABR if you dont believe me, Port Adelaide Magpies Football Club first started trading 96/97, its a fact.
The Port Adelaide Football Club is now in the AFL and has been since 1996/7, its a fact.
The PAFC had to adopt new colours and a new mascot due to Collingwoods objection hence the Power and the pansy Teal.
The PAMFC then took the colours and mascot that the PAFC was no longer using.
All facts champ, no emotions or agendas, that's just the way it is.

Uncle Steve
17 May 2002, 20:46
Uncle Steve, I have the official financial statement of every year since 1989 including 1990 if you wish to peruse it.
sorry champ, you're wrong again!
:(

My source: "Four clubs will fold if we join the VFL", page 17, The Advertiser, 14/2/89. Author Ashley Porter. According to him North's net worth (by which I assume he means assests minus liabilities) was $32,177. North's operating loss in the 1989 season was $167,889.

I should be interested to see how the Roosters' financial statements compare with this.

Uncle Steve
17 May 2002, 20:47
Doesn't the emperor look marvellous in his new clothes?

RoosterWedgie
17 May 2002, 20:48

My source: "Four clubs will fold if we join the VFL", page 17, The Advertiser, 14/2/89. Author Ashley Porter. According to him North's net worth (by which I assume he means assests minus liabilities) was $32,177. North's operating loss in the 1989 season was $167,889.

I should be interested to see how the Roosters' financial statements compare with this.

My source, the North Adelaide Football Club's Official Annual Reports as audited by chartered accountants.

cheers.

Uncle Steve
17 May 2002, 20:53

My source, the North Adelaide Football Club's Official Annual Reports as audited by chartered accountants.

cheers.
Excellent. That means you'll be able to post the figures here, so we may compare them to Mr. Porter's.

RoosterWedgie
17 May 2002, 20:57
no problems champ, just located my 1992 annual report but it has the figures to back me up (my older stuff is in a crate in the shed, trust me ;))
As of 31/10/91 we had $546,647 in assets and in the 91 season we made a loss of $287,191 which means as of 31/10/90 we had $833, 838 in assets.
Im pretty sure we had a similar loss (im sure we didnt have a profit of $800,000! lol) in 1990 hence the million dollar figure I quoted.
Now do you want me to break those assets down?

National Australia Bank $27,829
National Australia Bank Youth Development $1,982
Investments - Deposits A/cs $338,564
Investments A/c Youth Development $7,383
Cash on hand $400
Receivables $43,426
Stock On Hand $5,086
Leasehold Building Improvements (at cost) $298,99
Less Accumulated Depreciatiatn -$252,034
House Property (at valuation) $80,000
Fixtures, fittings & equipment (at cost) $61,887
Less accumulated depreciation -$61,887
Motor Vehicles (at cost) $39,226
Less Accumulated Depreciated -$3,493

less current liabilities
Creditors (sundry) $19,366
Provision for LSL $11,480
Provision for Annual Leave $8964
Unsecured deposits $812.

Should add up to $546,647

anything else champ?
:)

Macca19
17 May 2002, 21:01

I wasnt bashing the PAMFC,

So you always call things bushpigs and fools every 3rd sentence when 'making a topic for discussion'??

1) Someone said North were in the past within a bees penis of going out of business, the fact is we still are, we're a small supporter base, I have a few probs with the board but the fact that we have the highest membership per supporter in the SANFL is testament they might be doing somthing right as is moving the pokies.

Yes they are still in the league and good on them for surviving and getting thru the hard times for a while. So why should you have a go at Port for trying to ensure their own survival??

Once again, why let facts get in the way of a story,

I dunno you tell us. I mean how dare a club make a public appeal to try and save their club. I hope North dont ever go public if they end up in serious financial trouble again. How would you feel?

RoosterWedgie
17 May 2002, 21:04

I dunno you tell us. I mean how dare a club make a public appeal to try and save their club. I hope North dont ever go public if they end up in serious financial trouble again. How would you feel?

I would feel very disappointed that the board of my club didn't follow other avenues and concentrate their efforts in more important matters, call for their sack and go for a board position myself to bring some insight to the place.

Anything else?

Macca19
17 May 2002, 21:06

The thing that i dont understand mate is the fact that you are having a go at a club (a club you obviously hate) that could well be in financial trouble in a few years time...yet you are having a go at Port for trying to get out of that trouble, and being proactive and recognising the signs early.

I thought considering youve been thru worse at North that you would not be having a go at another clubs possible future financial trouble. Its like you think that Port are in no trouble at all and they are making this lal up just to try and make some money :confused:

RoosterWedgie
17 May 2002, 21:09

The thing that i dont understand mate is the fact that you are having a go at a club (a club you obviously hate) that could well be in financial trouble in a few years time...yet you are having a go at Port for trying to get out of that trouble, and being proactive and recognising the signs early.

I thought considering youve been thru worse at North that you would not be having a go at another clubs possible future financial trouble. Its like you think that Port are in no trouble at all and they are making this lal up just to try and make some money :confused:

Geezus Macca, cant you read?
I dont hate the Magpies (6 years in existance is hardly enough time to develop hate! lol), my point is (and I thought it was obvious) is that they should be concentrating on other things and if they are so concerned about their revenue they should be thinking a bit more laterally instead of squealing for money.

BTW I noticed you havent touched the point I made about members last season! lmao.

Macca, do us all a favour and put your old man on the net, Im tired of trying to explain myself to a 13yo.
;)

RoosterWedgie
17 May 2002, 21:14
Hey Macca, perhaps I can make it a bit simpler for you,

the PAMFC has over 1 million dollars in assets (unless some company fraud has been going on) and they are getting a lot of people to give them $2pw.

I have about $400,000 in assets, I think it fair if those same people give me $5pw as I cant see myself making much money in the next 5-10 years, get it yet?

sheesh!

RoosterWedgie
17 May 2002, 21:16
of course those figures are assuming my dog's worth $200,000
:p

Nod
17 May 2002, 21:17
You guys have gotten off the original topic.

You need to consider that in the Power vs Magpies identity debate the vast majority of Port supporters that I know see Port Adelaide as one entity with teams in the AFL and SANFL. Technically this is not correct due to the AFL entry conditions and clearly the '2' entities sharing 40 gaming machines is causing the Magpies some financial problems. Pokies are very important to the SANFL clubs and this is why North are relocating, Eagles are planning the same and North, Eagles and Sturt have formed 'Club One'.

With regard the Magpies true believers fund - If it is supported by Port supporters and is causing concern to non Port people then it must be a good initiative.

RoosterWedgie - I have sent the link to your web site to all my North friends. Everyone who understands it loves the RWO concept. A Glenelg friend was not happy with the Glenelg review - he was blaming umpires ?

Macca19
17 May 2002, 21:17

Geezus Macca, cant you read?
I dont hate the Magpies (6 years in existance is hardly enough time to develop hate! lol), my point is (and I thought it was obvious) is that they should be concentrating on other things and if they are so concerned about their revenue they should be thinking a bit more laterally instead of squealing for money.

Which they are doing. Moving three home games to the Adelaide Oval for example. I see no problem with 'tin-rattling'.

BTW I noticed you havent touched the point I made about members last season! lmao.

I reckon you are the SANFL version of Joff with all yur LOLs and lmao's :D

Members...as i said...one or two seasons a go when North were in a lot of strife you had a very very low amount of members. Congratulations for having the most paying members last year. Its good to see an old traditional club get out of the struggling zone.

as for your 6 year of existence comment...i dunno about that....many people hated Port Magpies from day 1!!

Macca19
17 May 2002, 21:20

the PAMFC has over 1 million dollars in assets (unless some company fraud has been going on) and they are getting a lot of people to give them $2pw.

I have about $400,000 in assets, I think it fair if those same people give me $5pw as I cant see myself making much money in the next 5-10 years, get it yet?

sheesh!

You have a problem with it. I dont. Get over it

Sheesh!!

You have a lot of concern for this considering you arent going to give Port any money and it doesnt involve your lcub.

RoosterWedgie
17 May 2002, 21:21

Which they are doing. Moving three home games to the Adelaide Oval for example. I see no problem with 'tin-rattling'.

[

Actually, that is my point, that is good stuff by the PAMFC, I should have and forgot to pointed that out in my original post, that is a bit of lateral thinking moving some games to Adelaide Oval to make some more dosh.

Mind you having said that I hate Adelaide Oval and Geelong do the same thing in moving games to Melb to make more money, if we could get 12 home games at Kardinia/Shell/Baytec/Skilled, whatever the hell its called this week we'd be in the 8 every year.
Alas our financial situation dictates cash is more important than premiership points.

RoosterWedgie
17 May 2002, 21:22

I reckon you are the SANFL version of Joff with all yur LOLs and lmao's :D

Who's Joff?
:rolleyes:

RoosterWedgie
17 May 2002, 21:24
Originally posted by Nod
You guys have gotten off the original topic.

You need to consider that in the Power vs Magpies identity debate the vast majority of Port supporters that I know see Port Adelaide as one entity with teams in the AFL and SANFL. Technically this is not correct due to the AFL entry conditions and clearly the '2' entities sharing 40 gaming machines is causing the Magpies some financial problems. Pokies are very important to the SANFL clubs and this is why North are relocating, Eagles are planning the same and North, Eagles and Sturt have formed 'Club One'.

With regard the Magpies true believers fund - If it is supported by Port supporters and is causing concern to non Port people then it must be a good initiative.

RoosterWedgie - I have sent the link to your web site to all my North friends. Everyone who understands it loves the RWO concept. A Glenelg friend was not happy with the Glenelg review - he was blaming umpires ?

Cheers Nod, I appreciate it, tell em to email me if they want a tshirt! :)
BTW you guys were stiff against us that day, those 5 goals in 5 minutes killed the game off, and a lot of that had to do with some decisions made, having said that I was at the Southern End (in front of the scoreboard as usual) and couldnt see exactly what was going on.

RoosterWedgie
17 May 2002, 21:25

You have a problem with it. I dont. Get over it

Sheesh!!

You have a lot of concern for this considering you arent going to give Port any money and it doesnt involve your lcub.

Actually Macca earlier this year I put my hand up to help with the Magpies website as its run entirely through volunteers, I didnt see your name on the discussion group that was willing to help them.

Macca19
17 May 2002, 21:27

Who's Joff?
:rolleyes:

No insult. A passionate supporter of Collingwood who used to visit these boards.

Macca

ps. id be interested in meeting up for a beer at the next Port v North game or state game if you are interested.

RoosterWedgie
17 May 2002, 21:31

No insult. A passionate supporter of Collingwood who used to visit these boards.

Macca

ps. id be interested in meeting up for a beer at the next Port v North game or state game if you are interested.

Definately Macca, its a pity North are playing at the same time as Geelong tomorrow otherwise I could have seen you at Footy Pk tomorrow! lol

Glad I wasnt standing next to you or at the last Port v North game though! lol

BTW Sydney Kings and Townsville Crocodiles fans hate me too, it aint just Port supporters ;)
Hell I even barracked for Port in the 90 and 94 GFS (dont tell anyone though he he) and I cant see myself barracking against Adam Morgan once he gets in the Power team which is only a matter of time, Morgs rocks ;)

Macca19
17 May 2002, 21:34

Actually Macca earlier this year I put my hand up to help with the Magpies website as its run entirely through volunteers, I didnt see your name on the discussion group that was willing to help them.

I rarely visit either Port homepages. I usually go to PowerfromPort.com which is a great website and usually has more information.

Was going to put my name down but finishing my course came first. Then getting a job and trying to setup a business with a mate then occured and i simply forgot about the magpies website.

Thanx for reminding me actually...will be putting my name down this weekend

RoosterWedgie
17 May 2002, 21:34
Oh, and if its a cold day I wont be with my family but I'll definately be there with one of my best mate's whos a Port man (Alberton Lad), he used to change the scores down at Alberton as a little tacca.

RoosterWedgie
17 May 2002, 21:36
PowerfromPort.com rocks, and he has me on his links page
;)

Actually even though the Magpies site aint that professionally laid out Id rate it one of if not the best for content in the SANFL.

North's site sux but now it doesnt matter as they've got such a great alternate site in www.rocketrooster.com

;)

RoosterWedgie
17 May 2002, 21:43
BTW Macca I stand out like a sore thumb, especially at Port games.
Rooster jacket, Rooster hat, Rooster Scarf, Rooster guernsey and Rooster Stubby Holder. And usually waving my daughters Roosters flag.

Yeah I know, very sad for a 31yo but Im a fanatic.

Macca19
17 May 2002, 21:49
BTW Macca I stand out like a sore thumb, especially at Port games.
Rooster jacket, Rooster hat, Rooster Scarf, Rooster guernsey and Rooster Stubby Holder. And usually waving my daughters Roosters flag.

Yeah I know, very sad for a 31yo but Im a fanatic.

haha, nothing wrong with that!!!

I usually wear one of my premiership t shirts, my signed magpies lace up guernsey (unlaced), Port hat, Port scarf.

RoosterWedgie
17 May 2002, 21:54

haha, nothing wrong with that!!!

I usually wear one of my premiership t shirts, my signed magpies lace up guernsey (unlaced), Port hat, Port scarf.

My premiership T-shirts don't fit any more.

:( :( :( :( :( :(

dreamkillers
17 May 2002, 22:59
3) Dreamkillers asked/said if Hart was the only coach in the SANFL doing his job voluntarily! LMAO! Once again, why let facts get in the way of a story, the fact is Darel Hart is the only Full Time Paid coach in the SANFL and his package includes a car as well as a full time salary package.
Where he gets paid from though is another story. he he.

Anything else guys?

I actually asked if the coaching staff at North are being paid yet as when Hart first took on the job he said he would do it for free as your club couldn't afford to pay a coach.........as for him being the only full time coach paid for by someone outside the club I would have no idea as North Adelaide would be lucky to get mentioned once a year up here in Darwin.......

Pardon my ignorance for not knowing every fine little detail about the North Adelaide coaching finances......

RoosterWedgie
17 May 2002, 23:12
thats OK champ, just dont bring it up again unless you know the facts and I'll forgive you.

* yawn*

off to bed, its been fun guys!

BTW if you dont hear much in Darwin, Im interested to know how you heard something about the North coaching panel that noone else heard! lol

dreamkillers
18 May 2002, 00:12

sheesh!

They still have over $1 mill in assets......according to the 2001 annual report it is made up of....

In $000's

CURRENT ASSETS
Cash, Bank Deposits $412.6
Receivables $101.9
Inventories $9.5
Other $5.3
Total $529

NON CURRENT ASSETS
Investments $173.3
Prop, Plant & Equip $658.9
Total $832

TOTAL ASSETS $1,361

TOTAL LIABILITIES $207

NETT ASSETS $1,154

Going on the 2001 Annual Report again Operating Revenue comes from....

Membership, Match, Sponsorship, Bingo,
Fundrasing & Booth Income $708.2
SANFL Distribution $385.0
Rent $10.7
Interest/Dividends $36.2
Player Transfers $229.6

As stated by Macca and a few others the True Believers Fund is one of a number of initiatives the club has started (and there are others to come) to ensure the club's future income improves.

From the club's website re the True Believers Fund......

'After discussions with the Club’s Board they have agreed to assist me in setting up a "True Believers’ Fund" to help raise the dollars needed to ensure we not only survive in the SANFL but continue to be the dominant force.'

'EVERY CENT RAISED THROUGH THE TRUE BELIEVERS’ CAMPAIGN WILL BE USED TO FURTHER THE CLUB’S FOOTBALL OPERATIONS, EITHER IN RECRUITING OR THE PURCHASE OF MUCH NEEDED PLAYER EQUIPMENT.'

As a life long Port member and supporter I have no problem with the club's new ideas for increasing revenue to ensure the long term viability and success of the club.......if other club supporters have a problem with it or don't like it it's only their problem.......not Port's or their supporters..........

if that sounds a little arrogant it's in response to some of the other cynical comments mentioned in this thread........

As for the 2 clubs and different history.......I don't care what other supporters think as they are both Port Adelaide to me.......if it wasn't for the insistence of the SANFL that we retain a different club in the SANFL we still would be following the one club and maybe oneday in the future for the best interests of football in SA it may occur......

RoosterWedgie

........the thing about Hart's wage came from that daily Crows bulletin they call The Advertiser in Adelaide from the press conference when he took on the coaching role at North........I don't subscribe to the News archives so I can't retrieve the article that mentioned it.

I did see your name on the list of volunteers for the Magpie website - it was good to see.

I actually co run the Port Adelaide Top End Supporters Group which supports both clubs and my involvement has me sending out twice weekly emails to all of our members, fundraising for both clubs as well as organising our weekly match functions.

So although not actually working on the website a considerable amount of time is spent helping my clubs.

I'm looking forward to being down in Adelaide in September and catching up with fellow Port supporters down at the club as well as watching both clubs finals campaigns.........I'm confident both will still be playing then.........

Cheers
:D :D :D

smithy
18 May 2002, 01:13

.the thing about Hart's wage came from that daily Crows bulletin they call The Advertiser
Have you read this newspaper since Rucci has been back from the USA????? I doubt you are able to read it daily as you wouldn't of posted that comment.

He only writes about other teams cause he is paid to otherwise it would be a Port Paper. And with no other newspaper to compete, his job is safe for many years to come unfortunately.

The man is a disgrace and very biased, but hush hush, don't you dare mention it on 5aa otherwise they might dump you for telling the truth.
Smithy

RoosterWedgie
18 May 2002, 09:00

RoosterWedgie

........the thing about Hart's wage came from that daily Crows bulletin they call The Advertiser in Adelaide from the press conference when he took on the coaching role at North........I don't subscribe to the News archives so I can't retrieve the article that mentioned it.

See, that's really strange as its totally infactual and I have subscribed to the Advertiser for the last decade and make a big issue to read every article about North Adelaide and have never seen anything of the sort, I do however recall the article reporting he was to be the first full time SANFL coach.
Like he'd leave a good wage at the Crows to volunteer his services for free.
sheesh.

Unley Legend
18 May 2002, 10:25
Rooster Wedgie, you keep going, you're doing a fantastic job on this one. This is good stuff!

RoosterWedgie
18 May 2002, 10:42
he he thanks champ, Im actually known nationwide (I kid you not) for my stirring prowess.
;)

Santos L Helper
18 May 2002, 10:45
Originally posted by smithy

Have you read this newspaper since Rucci has been back from the USA????? I doubt you are able to read it daily as you wouldn't of posted that comment.

He only writes about other teams cause he is paid to otherwise it would be a Port Paper. And with no other newspaper to compete, his job is safe for many years to come unfortunately.

The man is a disgrace and very biased, but hush hush, don't you dare mention it on 5aa otherwise they might dump you for telling the truth.
Smithy

Smithy, I think you need to be straightened out on the facts. Yes Rucci may be biased towards Port, but that only leaves every other sport's writer biased towards the Cows.
The fact we have no other competing newspaper means that we will have to cope with a strong bias towards the Cows forever. If you remember, sapaul mentioned that Port suppporters whinge that we don't get enough coverage from the 'Tiser' (not that it bothers me), so other people see this anomaly too.
The FACT is, The Advertiser prints more stories about the Cows because they have a larger supporter base (The team for dumb South Australians ;)) so by writing more stories on them they sell more newspapers. The 'journo's' are given instructions on stories and how many they should write. I know this because I have a close friend who worked there as a sports journo with Rucci.
So while you're 'Rucci Bashing' just remember that you have to put up with one guy, while we have to put up with several biased idiots.

dreamkillers
18 May 2002, 10:47
Originally posted by smithy

Smithy

As the paper variety is a rip off up here (approx $4) I read the online variety everyday. If you ask Port supporters about Rucci most will say his bias swings both ways at times and even if you say he is biased towards Port this is more than made up for by the dribble written by Andrew Capel and David Burtenshaw.......

As for 5AA sounds no different to mentioning Andrew McLeod was guilty........luckily their words never make it up here.........

dreamkillers
18 May 2002, 10:49

See, that's really strange as its totally infactual and I have subscribed to the Advertiser for the last decade and make a big issue to read every article about North Adelaide and have never seen anything of the sort, I do however recall the article reporting he was to be the first full time SANFL coach.
Like he'd leave a good wage at the Crows to volunteer his services for free.
sheesh.

Well I'll take your word on it as I have nothing to back my comments up with.........might have been to do with where his money was coming from as I did think it was strange he was leaving the Crows.......

Cheers

Macca19
18 May 2002, 11:27
The whole Rucci bias thing is a big bloody myth i reckon. Big deal...there is one Port supporter that writes for the Advertiser....and EVERY crows fan whinges about him....but god help if they ever notice the biased ***** continuously poured out by Lance Campball (the biggest to$$ of a 'journalist' ever), Andrew Capel and David Burtenshaw. Crows fans are quick to go off at Rucci for being a biased idiot but they fail to realise that they have half a dozen biased idiots writing about the Crows every day not to mention 3/4 of talkback radio as well :rolleyes:

sapaul
18 May 2002, 11:47
MY mum has never complained about Rucci and 3/4 of talkback radio, well what is the % of Port and Adelaide support anyway? Would it be about 3/4 to 1/4?Talkback radio is upto the people who ring to talk about whatever they want.

Unley Legend
18 May 2002, 12:12
would of??????????????? WOULD HAVE!!!!!!!!!!!! Hence the joined word-would've , you don't see would'f !!!

RoosterWedgie
18 May 2002, 12:13
I actually like Rucci, really enjoy listening to him on the radio, he's one of the guys who actually talks a bit of sense on 5AA.

In regard to the paper content with the proportion of Crows fans to Port fans (un/fortunately Im neither) I think the PAFC gets a very fair run.

I dont care what it is though, I reckon we should get equal content of all the AFL teams as its club footy not state footy and more SANFL, but Im greedy :)

Uncle Steve
18 May 2002, 12:40
As of 31/10/91 we had $546,647 in assets and in the 91 season we made a loss of $287,191 which means as of 31/10/90 we had $833, 838 in assets.
[...]
anything else champ?

If your figures are dinkum, and if they indeed represent the club's net worth, and if your estimate of the club's early '90s losses is spot on, then it is at least possible that the NAFC was worth over a million in the late '80s.

I am quite prepared to believe that Mr. Porter would fiddle with the figures to support the argument he was driving in his article.

Nevertheless, reporting a million-dollar entity as being worth only $30K is more than creative journalism. Heck, it even transcends incompetence. Something doesn't add up.

CLICK HERE (http://www.chariot.net.au/~sjsearle/Four2fold.txt) to have a read of Porter's article and see if you can work out wherer he gets his figures from. I am probably breaking copyright laws by doing this so I will delete the file after you've had a read.

RoosterWedgie
18 May 2002, 12:48
I read it, and it looks like for some reason he didnt count the value of property, etc on council land, geez remind me not to park my car in Ashley's driveway! lol

smithy
18 May 2002, 13:26
Originally posted by Santos L Helper

Smithy, I think you need to be straightened out on the facts. Yes Rucci may be biased towards Port, but that only leaves every other sport's writer biased towards the Cows.
The fact we have no other competing newspaper means that we will have to cope with a strong bias towards the Cows forever. If you remember, sapaul mentioned that Port suppporters whinge that we don't get enough coverage from the 'Tiser' (not that it bothers me), so other people see this anomaly too.
The FACT is, The Advertiser prints more stories about the Cows because they have a larger supporter base (The team for dumb South Australians ;)) so by writing more stories on them they sell more newspapers. The 'journo's' are given instructions on stories and how many they should write. I know this because I have a close friend who worked there as a sports journo with Rucci.
So while you're 'Rucci Bashing' just remember that you have to put up with one guy, while we have to put up with several biased idiots.
Couldn't agree more.

Smithy

Santos L Helper
18 May 2002, 14:34
Originally posted by Unley Legend
would of??????????????? WOULD HAVE!!!!!!!!!!!! Hence the joined word-would've , you don't see would'f !!!

Banging your head against a wall here matey. My patience has been tested by this bastardisation quite often, and as a teacher of our children I'll do my best to stop it dead for ya's. ;)

Unley Legend
18 May 2002, 20:54
I woz gunna complane erlier butt eye choze not two!

bc bloke
19 May 2002, 05:47
I love this simplistic argument that the success of Centrals is all due to pokie revenue - Michelangelo Rucci revisited. There seems to be a fair bit of incorrect information being dribbled here, so here's some numbers quoted in The Advertiser on 19/3/2002: Eagles $158,000, North $90,000, West $409,000, South $403,503 and Glenelg $374,000, all receive significant licensed club revenue. Compare these figures to Centrals' $552,000 and then consider what this means in terms of pokie expenditure per head of population! One wonders where the relatively fewer people of the inner suburbs are getting all this money from to spend on Pokies!

Port Magpies got screwed by Port Power who take 75% of their licensed club revenue, leaving Port with $2,700 last year. It's a pity Port has taken so long to acknowledge their financial problem - Port's financial woes was being discussed on the Centrals website guestbook back n early 2000! My serious advice to the Maggies is to quit the SANFL - you're doomed so you might as well consolidate your 'history' through Port Power in the AFL.

As for Norwood, they rely heavily on rich buddies and Friday night footy to pay the bills - 9 of their 20 matches this year are under lights!

And as for Sturt, who knows! They seem to be left completely in the cold, like the Magpies, with no evident future income source. Sturt's failure to capitalise on Pokies is more likely to be due to poor management rather than a shortage of pokie addicts in their vicinity - Sturt supporters certainly like to hit the pokies when they visit Grand Central, and I know for a fact through my job that Unley/Mitcham is full of 'em just like everywhere else in the state.

Ford Fairlane
19 May 2002, 18:24
I thought the argument was that Central District's financial stability was strongly underpinned by income from pokies. bc bloke, the figures you quote appear to support that contention. Central's pokie income appears to be just under 40% higher than the nearest couple of clubs (BTW I'd hardly call South's catchment area the inner suburbs ...). The per capita argument is an interesting diversion, but is hardly relevant. The pokie income is going to a single entity, not being distributed out to the many.

BTW like your avatar. It's interesting that CDFC adapted the cows guernsey for themselves and now covet the Power's logo. You guys are starting to look like bigger AFL wannabes than Norwood!;)

RoosterWedgie
19 May 2002, 19:05
I thought the "Paw Power" emblem was quite cute personally! lol

Uncle Steve
19 May 2002, 22:56
I read it, and it looks like for some reason he didnt count the value of property, etc on council land, geez remind me not to park my car in Ashley's driveway! lol

This experience has shown me that Accounting has something in common with Quantum Physics: Reality is heavily dependent upon whoever happens to be making the observations.

RoosterWedgie
19 May 2002, 23:01

This experience has shown me that Accounting has something in common with Quantum Physics: Reality is heavily dependent upon whoever happens to be making the observations.

oh so true Uncle Steve, oh so true.

lol

Alberton Lad
21 May 2002, 21:15
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Ford Fairlane
[B]I don’t know if this is an attempt at serious discussion or another of your Port bashing ***** stirring trolls but ok, I’ll bite.

Well said? If you can work out what it is he’s trying to say. You start out by saying that Port are rolling in cash, and by implication its future secure, and has no right to ask its supporters for money. You finish by saying the club is doomed because its supporter base will soon all have died of old age. In between you imply that the Club is trying nothing new to alleviate its financial position.

Alright, let’s look at the comments by the Finance Director’s Report in the 2001 Annual Report:

I'm not gonna quote the entire post, but *Clap, Clap, Clap*...
Bravo, Mr Fairlane, Bravo.. I, too, love a post lacking research. It's too easy to shred, and I see the shredding has already taken place before I could flame it... ;)

If people love the Club that much and could afford and be prepared to part with their hard-earned, the stronger the Club will be financially. Now and in the future. Where is the problem? A Club, or even a business, cannot operate without assets behind it. The Club receives a pittance of the pokie and bar takings at Alberton Oval and it's own headquarters at Ethelton are inadequate for that sort of set-up..

The only thing they're guilty of is trying to secure their long-term financial future, just the same as every other football club in the country, I would hazard to guess. Every Club has their own gimmick and most people would actually appreciate hearing the truth about their Club's financial position so that processes can be put in place to stop it from happening. As opposed to the lies and cover ups until it's too late and a businessman bales you out temporarily.. ;)

Well, I'm off to collect my 40 cans a week to do my bit for the cause... :)

Alberton Lad
21 May 2002, 21:23
[QUOTE]Originally posted by UDOGS
[B]

ROFLMFAO!! That's pretty f****n funny... :)