View Full Version : Pre-season Training
nick_savo
27th August 2007, 20:49
For those of you who play footy out there
Im going from under 16s to under 18s next year and am looking to put in a big pre-season.
How long before the start of the season do you start your pre-season training?
What do you do for your pre-season?
My main aim is to bulk up a bit and get my fitness right up, im really going to work hard this year as I want to become a much better player.
Any tips would be great.
Cheers
nick_savo
Teh_Nub
27th August 2007, 21:03
Do you have or do weights?
Im not a pro with fitness but no a tiny bit about weights.
Also sooner you start the better, i started pre-season like november/december.
btw jw what league u play and what position
nick_savo
27th August 2007, 21:07
I play in the EFL (Eastern Football League)
Play on the Wing mainly with spurts onball
I only have dumbells, want to get a bench press but just dont have the money at the moment
Dazman
28th August 2007, 12:59
Get to as many sessions at the club as you can because most clubs have a fitness guy/guru (sometimes its just one of your fittest players) and they really know how to get the best out of you and how to get your body perfect for footy.
No good just whacking on your runners and pounding the pavement for 30 minutes. See what they do at the club and try and replicate it if you want to do extra stuff :thumbsu:
Every year I say I'm keen for a big one but work always gets in the way.
dmac
28th August 2007, 13:17
Nathan Buckley co-wrote a book on weight training for Australian Rules players. Get yourself a copy it is a good source of info.
Teh_Nub
28th August 2007, 20:36
Nick get yourself a gym membership and eat heeps.
I also played in the EFL this year and in U16's, South Croydon. We won the premiership :D Whats your team
nick_savo
28th August 2007, 20:40
Nick get yourself a gym membership and eat heeps.
I also played in the EFL this year and in U16's, South Croydon. We won the premiership :D Whats your team
Ferntree Gully Eagles :o
Congrats on the flag,I was really surprised when I saw you beat them, bout time someone did :thumbsu:
Teh_Nub
28th August 2007, 21:08
lol exactly the same as U14's. We lost every game to Kilsyth then in Granny took it away from them.
Well get a gym membership
nick_savo
28th August 2007, 21:10
Yeh will look into it thanks mate
Stakerz
28th August 2007, 22:36
Nathan Buckley co-wrote a book on weight training for Australian Rules players. Get yourself a copy it is a good source of info.Got it for my b'day last year :thumbsu:
Teh_Nub
29th August 2007, 19:39
Whats it called?
PieLebo87
29th August 2007, 20:16
Gym membership wont do anything.
If you're really committed on getting fit, do what was done at Collingwood with one of the players and Paul Licuria. Pick out the fittest player at the club, and run side by side with him, do not let him get away from you. Try matching him and surpassing him.
If you want to put on some muscle, get as many sit ups and push ups done. Work your middle/upper body because those are important muscles for ball-winners.
I never did leg muscle exercises and I was a midfielder for most of my junior days. You cant put too much stress on your leg muscles while growing up, let the games and training sessions be your leg muscle exercises.
nick_savo
29th August 2007, 20:21
Gym membership wont do anything.
If you're really committed on getting fit, do what was done at Collingwood with one of the players and Paul Licuria. Pick out the fittest player at the club, and run side by side with him, do not let him get away from you. Try matching him and surpassing him.
If you want to put on some muscle, get as many sit ups and push ups done. Work your middle/upper body because those are important muscles for ball-winners.
I never did leg muscle exercises and I was a midfielder for most of my junior days. You cant put too much stress on your leg muscles while growing up, let the games and training sessions be your leg muscle exercises.
Thanks mate
Who did the Pies line Licuria up with?
Bucks?
At the moment im just doing bicep curls and push ups, should I keep doing that and start running around every second day?
PieLebo87
29th August 2007, 20:30
Thanks mate
Who did the Pies line Licuria up with?
Bucks?
At the moment im just doing bicep curls and push ups, should I keep doing that and start running around every second day?
Ummm it was one of the youngsters, I cant remember which one. One of the midfielders I think. Can anyone remember who said it?
Try getting some running done every day a couple of months before your official club pre-season starts. Every 2nd day at the moment is good, help build some base fitness slowly first. Try getting upper body exercises done on the same day as your runs so all your muscles are working, plus your blood is flowing throughout your body, so all your muscles are working.
Its simple. Just push yourself past what you think you're capable, you'll notice subtle improvements, keep pushing yourself to new levels. You've got time, make the most of it.
nick_savo
29th August 2007, 20:39
Awesome thanks heaps for the replys mate
What do people think or Skins, are they worth it?
Teh_Nub
29th August 2007, 20:39
He wont bulk up much like that though. Gym would make ur muscles massive as long as u eat heeps.
I think your abdominal core is relly important, not sure why but mayeb some1 else has more info.
nick_savo
29th August 2007, 20:40
Im not particually interested in looking all muscly but just want some more strenghth to break tackles and lay harder tackles, going to 18s im gona being facing some big blokes so i think i need it
scottyD
31st August 2007, 12:42
Awesome thanks heaps for the replys mate
What do people think or Skins, are they worth it?
Personally i think they are a waste of dough.
Best thing is early morning running..... into town and that. The next Rocky Balboa!
hellfire
31st August 2007, 12:47
I'm starting my pre-season in October. Only because I haven't played since under 13s, and I'm going into seniors. Need to bulk up a tad, though I'm relatively built as it is.
Teh_Nub
31st August 2007, 20:22
More weight, harder to take down and easier to flatten. Id say do some simple weights if ur not wanting to get a gym membership and eat a bit. You can burn off the extra fat when your team starts its pre season
borgy
31st August 2007, 20:30
Personally i think they are a waste of dough.
Best thing is early morning running..... into town and that. The next Rocky Balboa!
Yeah skins are only a waste of money if you have no history of soft tissue injuries so you wouldnt need then Nick.
But a pair of the Adidas tights keep you warm during the cold winter nights at training. They dont have the same effect as skins but are half the price.
Skins are used to improve oxygen and blood flow to the legs whereas tights keep you warm.
nick_savo
1st September 2007, 20:27
Yeah skins are only a waste of money if you have no history of soft tissue injuries so you wouldnt need then Nick.
But a pair of the Adidas tights keep you warm during the cold winter nights at training. They dont have the same effect as skins but are half the price.
Skins are used to improve oxygen and blood flow to the legs whereas tights keep you warm.
Yeh, thats more what I am looking for thanks borgy
I remember seeing the adidas tights for about $80, that sound about right?
Teh_Nub
1st September 2007, 20:36
Just do a few laps to warm up, ull be fine lol.
Coin_Toss
1st September 2007, 20:39
I hit the weights at 16 but I stopped growing after that. Worst decision of my life.
nick_savo
1st September 2007, 20:47
Just do a few laps to warm up, ull be fine lol.
What number were you and what position did you play when you played us?
Teh_Nub
1st September 2007, 21:30
4 and probably back pocket.
davey_23
1st September 2007, 21:39
I know 2 guys who play for you team i think.
C's yeah?
Anyway my advice would be to work on you core. It will help you break tackles better and having a strong core reuces the risks of alot of injuries.
Teh_Nub
1st September 2007, 22:31
how do u work on ur core?
Davey which team and who are they?
nick_savo
3rd September 2007, 15:33
I know 2 guys who play for you team i think.
C's yeah?
Anyway my advice would be to work on you core. It will help you break tackles better and having a strong core reuces the risks of alot of injuries.
yeah c's, who do you know?
davey_23
3rd September 2007, 22:47
yeah c's, who do you know?
James D, Jordan A and Tim W.
James and Jordan used to go to Rowville and i went to primary school with Tim.
didaka
4th September 2007, 00:07
Righto Nick-Savo. I'll help you out.
I'm a personal trainer, and played 16 seasons of footy until I stuffed my achilles at 22. I train a lot of athletes and do my share of younger fella's looking for some sports conditioning.
I'll give you a few tips. You need some help and have any questions about this just ask me.
Firstly moving into U18 where the whole pre-season type of training takes form from the U16's can be a big step if you're not ready to go at full pace with the senior fella's as you'll be doing the majority of your pre-season with the older blokes who have been around for a while. I suggest you take a conservative approach to start off with. Get your sessions up, but don't be affraid to take a session or 2 off. You're just a kid remember and by the sounds of it due to being after some size gain, you're not an overly big kid.
The pre-season will help early on, but over training will definately have effect on the mid to later part of your season.
I'll start you with some info on some weights training.
I noticed there was a fella who commented saying that he started with resistance work when he was 16 and hasn't grown alot. This can happen on occassion. That's why a safe requirement for a kid your age is to 2-3 sets of 12+ reps with between 30-45 seconds rest on your muscle groups at RM (which means Rep Maximum). When I say RM, I mean make sure that when you hit your desired target, whether it be 12 or 15 reps, make sure you can't lift anymore. Adjust your weight so that your hitting these targets.
This will predominately target hypertrophy (which is muscle growth) at your age, strength and power will come with this.
Size can be hard to gain when playing footy due to the ammount of cardio the game involves.
Take a look at what you want to do, but I would suggest 2 sessions with your club a week (alot of clubs run 3 over the pre-season) and 2-3 weight sessions. All full body workouts. I wouldn't bother segrigating muscle groups at this stage as you're a beginner and I think 3 days across the body will see plenty (if not heaps) of improvement, and sticking with the reps and rest i've told you, you should be pretty right.
To get through the sessions in say 40-60 minutes try some super sets and tri sets. Even quad sets.
This means instead of resting after a set, move onto another muscle group. This will shorten your workout period.
Here is a run down.
Do some bench press (chest) and then instead of sitting around for 45 seconds, move onto some Lat-pulldowns (upper back).
Try to hit out Multi-joint exercises instead of isolation (1 joint).
Bench Press will work your chest, but will also work your triceps and anterior deltoids.
Lat pull-down or seated row (depending on grip) will work your upper-back, but will also work your biceps.
If you're looking for a little bit of image as we all do and want some good looking ceps, do a little more if you have to. It helps. When I say this I mean do you extra 1 or 2 sets of Bicep curls or Tricep pushdowns etc. If that bit of extra work helps you and you like doing that bit extra, then it may just be one of those things that keeps you on your program.
I'm sure your club will have a good cardio program in place, but don't get sucked in to all this punishment crap.
1 more thing. Try not to run on the road.
I'll give you a little resistance program. If you're going to do the gym setting there should be instructors to help your technique. If you're not going to then please read up on this sort of stuff before really moving in, because doing it right can be the difference between a crook back for the rest of your life or not.
Exercise
Tri-set
Bench Press 2 sets, 12-15 reps
Seated Row 2 sets, 12-15 reps
Shoulder Press 2 sets, 12-15 reps
* 45 secs rest after completing 1x tri-set
Tri-set
Incline Bench Press 2 sets, 12-15 reps
Lat-Pull down 2 sets, 12-15 reps
Lat Raise 2 sets, 12-15 reps
*45 secs rest after completing 1x tri-set
Superset
Dumbell Squats 3 sets, 12-15 reps
Dumbell Lunges 3 sets, 12-15 reps
*45 secs rest after completing 1x superset
Note: Unless you know the proper technique for Barbell squats, don't attempt them. First step to a slipped disc my friend. And if you look at Buck's book, stay away from what he calls BB Good Mornings and Deadlifts. Dangerous without the exact proper technique.
Sit-up 3x 30, 45 secs rest between sets.
Oblique cruch (either side) 2 sets each side, x 20 reps.
Back extension 3 sets 12-15, 45 secs rest.
With you movement, each set should take around 1 minute. The recommendation is to contract in a 2, 1, 2 motion, that being 2 seconds up, 1 second hold, 2 seconds down. But you will look like a complete nobby doing that. I like a 1, 1, 1 motion.
Remember, get some info on techniques before starting as the right posture is so important.
Good Luck and don't be affraid to ask question.
scottyD
4th September 2007, 14:09
Righto Nick-Savo. I'll help you out.
I'm a personal trainer, and played 16 seasons of footy until I stuffed my achilles at 22. I train a lot of athletes and do my share of younger fella's looking for some sports conditioning.
I'll give you a few tips. You need some help and have any questions about this just ask me.
Firstly moving into U18 where the whole pre-season type of training takes form from the U16's can be a big step if you're not ready to go at full pace with the senior fella's as you'll be doing the majority of your pre-season with the older blokes who have been around for a while. I suggest you take a conservative approach to start off with. Get your sessions up, but don't be affraid to take a session or 2 off. You're just a kid remember and by the sounds of it due to being after some size gain, you're not an overly big kid.
The pre-season will help early on, but over training will definately have effect on the mid to later part of your season.
I'll start you with some info on some weights training.
I noticed there was a fella who commented saying that he started with resistance work when he was 16 and hasn't grown alot. This can happen on occassion. That's why a safe requirement for a kid your age is to 2-3 sets of 12+ reps with between 30-45 seconds rest on your muscle groups at RM (which means Rep Maximum). When I say RM, I mean make sure that when you hit your desired target, whether it be 12 or 15 reps, make sure you can't lift anymore. Adjust your weight so that your hitting these targets.
This will predominately target hypertrophy (which is muscle growth) at your age, strength and power will come with this.
Size can be hard to gain when playing footy due to the ammount of cardio the game involves.
Take a look at what you want to do, but I would suggest 2 sessions with your club a week (alot of clubs run 3 over the pre-season) and 2-3 weight sessions. All full body workouts. I wouldn't bother segrigating muscle groups at this stage as you're a beginner and I think 3 days across the body will see plenty (if not heaps) of improvement, and sticking with the reps and rest i've told you, you should be pretty right.
To get through the sessions in say 40-60 minutes try some super sets and tri sets. Even quad sets.
This means instead of resting after a set, move onto another muscle group. This will shorten your workout period.
Here is a run down.
Do some bench press (chest) and then instead of sitting around for 45 seconds, move onto some Lat-pulldowns (upper back).
Try to hit out Multi-joint exercises instead of isolation (1 joint).
Bench Press will work your chest, but will also work your triceps and anterior deltoids.
Lat pull-down or seated row (depending on grip) will work your upper-back, but will also work your biceps.
If you're looking for a little bit of image as we all do and want some good looking ceps, do a little more if you have to. It helps. When I say this I mean do you extra 1 or 2 sets of Bicep curls or Tricep pushdowns etc. If that bit of extra work helps you and you like doing that bit extra, then it may just be one of those things that keeps you on your program.
I'm sure your club will have a good cardio program in place, but don't get sucked in to all this punishment crap.
1 more thing. Try not to run on the road.
I'll give you a little resistance program. If you're going to do the gym setting there should be instructors to help your technique. If you're not going to then please read up on this sort of stuff before really moving in, because doing it right can be the difference between a crook back for the rest of your life or not.
Exercise
Tri-set
Bench Press 2 sets, 12-15 reps
Seated Row 2 sets, 12-15 reps
Shoulder Press 2 sets, 12-15 reps
* 45 secs rest after completing 1x tri-set
Tri-set
Incline Bench Press 2 sets, 12-15 reps
Lat-Pull down 2 sets, 12-15 reps
Lat Raise 2 sets, 12-15 reps
*45 secs rest after completing 1x tri-set
Superset
Dumbell Squats 3 sets, 12-15 reps
Dumbell Lunges 3 sets, 12-15 reps
*45 secs rest after completing 1x superset
Note: Unless you know the proper technique for Barbell squats, don't attempt them. First step to a slipped disc my friend. And if you look at Buck's book, stay away from what he calls BB Good Mornings and Deadlifts. Dangerous without the exact proper technique.
Sit-up 3x 30, 45 secs rest between sets.
Oblique cruch (either side) 2 sets each side, x 20 reps.
Back extension 3 sets 12-15, 45 secs rest.
With you movement, each set should take around 1 minute. The recommendation is to contract in a 2, 1, 2 motion, that being 2 seconds up, 1 second hold, 2 seconds down. But you will look like a complete nobby doing that. I like a 1, 1, 1 motion.
Remember, get some info on techniques before starting as the right posture is so important.
Good Luck and don't be affraid to ask question.
Hooray!
nick_savo
4th September 2007, 15:29
Thanks heaps for your reply didaka
Just a question, one of the main things I really want to work on aswell as weight training is my fitness, I am going to start running again ASAP
I was think of start with maybe run every second day just a few kilometers, just a jog, do you have any tips or ideas on that?
nick_savo
4th September 2007, 15:30
James D, Jordan A and Tim W.
James and Jordan used to go to Rowville and i went to primary school with Tim.
Yeh I know all those boys, I'm good mates with Timmy W, I go to school with him as well
Dazman
4th September 2007, 17:05
Hey didaka where abouts did you play footy?
didaka
4th September 2007, 17:23
Thanks heaps for your reply didaka
Just a question, one of the main things I really want to work on aswell as weight training is my fitness, I am going to start running again ASAP
I was think of start with maybe run every second day just a few kilometers, just a jog, do you have any tips or ideas on that?
Pre-season training is all about volume (amount) when it comes to cardio.
The more you do the better, but don't over do it as it can lead to leg issues.
Try and mix it up a bit.
Your club will hold mostly cardio fitness sessions during the PS which is good, but maybe do some work on your fitness another day or 2 per week.
To improve your cardio your best bet is to keep on increasing the volume. The intensity doesn;t have to be hectic as i'm guessing you're not looking to lose weight.
While you build up your base I would look to run at about 45-60% of your max.
I would look to up your volume by about 10% each run to start with. That means if you desire a start of about 3km, then maybe push it up to 3.3km on your next run, and keep building it up.
If you can get to a stage during your pre-season where you can run a very comfortable 3km time trial, then you are going to have a big advantage moving into your year.
Like I said mix up your sessions. Mix in a little sprint training and what not. If you do some leg work with your sprints your power off the mark will improve quite abit.
Just remember. Keep to the grass. ANd the most important factor in your pre-season is recovery. You do all this hard work, and don't recover right, then you might get yourself in a bit of trouble. I'm not sure where you live. But use the beach or bay if your near it. And use a pool. Ice is also a footballers best friend.:thumbsu:
didaka
4th September 2007, 17:34
Hey didaka where abouts did you play footy?
Around the Mornington Peninsula Area.
Teh_Nub
4th September 2007, 17:36
Are you saying to keep to the grass coz of shin splints and other injuries?
Wouldnt it be hard to find much grass to run on. Well depends where u live, also grassy areas might not have flat enough ground meaning a possible sprianed ankle
didaka
4th September 2007, 17:40
Are you saying to keep to the grass coz of shin splints and other injuries?
Wouldnt it be hard to find much grass to run on. Well depends where u live, also grassy areas might not have flat enough ground meaning a possible sprianed ankle
I would take a sprained ankle over shin splints any day of the week. Also to much road running can lead to stress fractures.
It's good to have good foot wear.
nick_savo
4th September 2007, 17:47
I live about 1km from an oval so if i run there and run a few laps and then home every second day until around November when I really get serious about my pre-season should that be good?
Teh_Nub
4th September 2007, 17:50
i had shin splint, wore some shoe gell things that go in ur shoe and im all fine.
Make sure you run with runners :D some people from my club ran on the footpath with footy boots.
didaka
4th September 2007, 17:52
I live about 1km from an oval so if i run there and run a few laps and then home every second day until around November when I really get serious about my pre-season should that be good?
That's a really good start. Great if you ask me. Just try and up your volume each time and wear good shoes.
didaka
4th September 2007, 17:53
i had shin splint, wore some shoe gell things that go in ur shoe and im all fine.
Make sure you run with runners :D some people from my club ran on the footpath with footy boots.
Now that's good advice :D:thumbsu:
Those gels are really good. Stops the impact of the ground on your lower leg.
Frederlick
4th September 2007, 18:12
Here is my 20 cents worth for really building cardio. BTW I reckon the weights program for bulk seems pretty good didaka.Go to a proper 400m running track, or if not available an oval. Once your warm and stretched run 800m at a hard clip, I mean not absolutely flat out but hard, about 80%. You'll know what I mean after a few times. Time the 800m run. Rest that amount of time after you finish. Then run 2 x 400m, again at a hard pace with the time it takes you to run the rest time. Now it gets hard, 3 x 200m sprints at about 85% again resting the time in between, which will probably be around 30 secs. I think you know where this is going now, yeah? Last 4 x 100m, you will be extremely fatigued, so walk slowly back to the start over 100m as the rest. Listen to your body, especially when you first start as this can be a hammy killer, but your 16 so you probably won't even feel it. Do this once a week.
Another good one to keep off the paths is the 'hour of power', if you can get into a gym. 20 minutes on the rower, 20 on the stepper and 20 on the running machine, this rests some of the joints which will get a pounding at footy training and from weights, and also gives you a target to keep at as you can set them with the machines. As far as bulk goes, just remember big muscle groups like the chest, back and abdominals help put on weight and really contribute to your strength, as these are the ones that appendages like your arms and legs hang off! Good luck, and don't run yourself into the ground. ;)
Frederlick
4th September 2007, 18:15
My father in law is an old school GP and this is his solution to shin splints. Coat Glad Wrap with deep heat or some such sports rub and wrap your shins in it. Leave it on for a few hours while you watch tv or whatever.(Remember, only your shins!) I know it sounds old fashioned and totally against Rest, Ice, Compression, Elavation, but it seems to work. :)
nick_savo
4th September 2007, 18:35
Here is my 20 cents worth for really building cardio. BTW I reckon the weights program for bulk seems pretty good didaka.Go to a proper 400m running track, or if not available an oval. Once your warm and stretched run 800m at a hard clip, I mean not absolutely flat out but hard, about 80%. You'll know what I mean after a few times. Time the 800m run. Rest that amount of time after you finish. Then run 2 x 400m, again at a hard pace with the time it takes you to run the rest time. Now it gets hard, 3 x 200m sprints at about 85% again resting the time in between, which will probably be around 30 secs. I think you know where this is going now, yeah? Last 4 x 100m, you will be extremely fatigued, so walk slowly back to the start over 100m as the rest. Listen to your body, especially when you first start as this can be a hammy killer, but your 16 so you probably won't even feel it. Do this once a week.
Another good one to keep off the paths is the 'hour of power', if you can get into a gym. 20 minutes on the rower, 20 on the stepper and 20 on the running machine, this rests some of the joints which will get a pounding at footy training and from weights, and also gives you a target to keep at as you can set them with the machines. As far as bulk goes, just remember big muscle groups like the chest, back and abdominals help put on weight and really contribute to your strength, as these are the ones that appendages like your arms and legs hang off! Good luck, and don't run yourself into the ground. ;)
Great thanks mate:thumbsu:
How many meters is the average oval?
I can get to a 400m track but it is about 15-20 minutes away and both my parents work full time so it could be tough to get down there
borgy
4th September 2007, 19:14
Hypthetically if one was to start smoking socially say about 5 time every week would that effect cardio performance? But one was going to stop when they start training again.
Teh_Nub
4th September 2007, 19:27
Well of course it would :S. Idk how long it would take to recover from it but i suggest that hypothetically the person shouldnt smoke.
Frederlick
5th September 2007, 17:21
I can get to a 400m track but it is about 15-20 minutes away and both my parents work full time so it could be tough to get down there
Difficult to say how far the 'average' oval is but would think around 500, depending on the width. Go to the 400 metre athletics track just once and count how many paces it takes you to walk the 400, and then go back to the nearby footy oval and work out the 800 (double it), 200 (halve it) and 100 (divide it by 4). I used to do this on Rugby League paddocks in NSW and ran between the goals which was an arse for times, but the times don't really matter, as it is about building speed and endurance. So you can use markers (coke bottle or something) for the 100 down the guts of the ground, and do the rest around the boundary. Have fun.
scottyD
6th September 2007, 18:40
Ride a bike? that would help.....
nick_savo
6th September 2007, 18:42
Its about 20 minutes in a car, a bike isnt going to help
scottyD
6th September 2007, 18:46
Its about 20 minutes in a car, a bike isnt going to help
I ride to Natimuk from horsham every now and again..... thats 20 mins in a car. anyways, hows the program going
nick_savo
6th September 2007, 19:14
Good
Every day I walk to school which is about 2 kms and I also walk home which is the same, I have been doing that for about 2-3 years now
When I get home I run 1km to the oval, run 2 laps and run home, I do that every second day
Also starting doing different exercises with my dumbells and am getting some therabands on the weekend to do some dirrerent exercises
Dale Didak #134
9th September 2007, 15:46
Ice is also a footballers best friend.:thumbsu:
Coughcough...Ben Cousins...coughcough