View Full Version : Team Changes Vs Wc

High Ryder
30 Aug 2007, 17:44
IN:

Kepler Bradley, Mark Bolton, Chris Heffernan, Dustin Fletcher, Damien Peverill, Jay Neagle (Selection 39, 2005 National Draft - father/son selection, Gippsland Power)

OUT:

Mark Johnson (omitted), Courtenay Dempsey (hamstring), Kyle Reimers (omitted), Jay Nash (concussion), David Hille (omitted), Scott Camporeale (knee)

Emergencies: Hocking, Hille, Houli

BOMBERSG8
30 Aug 2007, 17:48
Hilles carrer at essendon looks over same as MJ

Stants_24_Legend
FFS Bolton, Bradley and Heffernan...
We wanna win the game while Judd,Cousins,Kerr,Embley,Hansen,Glass etc are all likely to miss.

hulld
some big losses there for bendigo

Stants_24_Legend
30 Aug 2007, 17:50
Hilles carrer at essendon looks over same as MJ
was over after round 8

kelvin_sheedy
Yay.. Bolts is back. Now I have something to giggle about when I watch the game.

Thank god MJ has been omitted.

Hocking or Houli (if fit) should have got a game ahead of Bolts or Heff.

Mundine
The next thing essendon should do is play their local pensioners. bloody unbelievable, they should play the young kids not going to win a premership with the old timers

Jono B
30 Aug 2007, 17:53
The next thing essendon should do is play their local pensioners. bloody unbelievable, they should play the young kids not going to win a premership with the old timers
Take it up with Hirdy.

Merv
30 Aug 2007, 17:54
I think you will find a couple of sentiment inclusions there for players that won't be there next year

Daytripper
30 Aug 2007, 17:56

3 older players out.
4 older players in.

There aren't too many younger players left that are available due to injury anyway.

Thanks for your thoughts anyway.

Daytripper
30 Aug 2007, 17:57
I think you will find a couple of sentiment inclusions there for players that won't be there next year

Agreed and I don't have a problem with that either.

B-Bomber
30 Aug 2007, 17:58
I don't see a problem with this. Bolton did a decent job our our last match against west coast, he has the tank to run with Mr EPO (:p) all day. Besides, he has been with the club for a long time, will likely be his last game for us -- give him a bit of respect on the way out. (it's not as if he hasn't tried and played to the best of his ability all these years).

kelvin_sheedy
30 Aug 2007, 17:58

Sentiment is the reason why we are no good at the moment.

We need to play players that will be there next year and not give send offs to guys that haven't done enough throughout their careers. :thumbsd:

Tambu
30 Aug 2007, 18:05

We need to play players that will be there next year and not give send offs to guys that haven't done enough throughout their careers. :thumbsd:
I'm quite happy to see them get one more game if it means they're gone next year.

Our youngsters will get heaps of game time in 08.

kelvin_sheedy
30 Aug 2007, 18:08
Ooops... double post.

Darealrath
30 Aug 2007, 18:40
Wow, could be quite a few retirements from this game.

Hope Keps can show a bit up forward and Neagle can snag one.

Put in a good one for the 2 legends, boys.

thebigboy
30 Aug 2007, 18:42
Oh well at least after this game we wont have to watch Heffernan and Bolton again.

Wing Commander
30 Aug 2007, 18:53
Pathetic inclusions. Will any one those be in our team next year? Oh well, maybe Keps can inflate his trade value with a good game.

ant555
30 Aug 2007, 19:05
Agreed and I don't have a problem with that either.

I do. Why wouldnt you give Hocking another game against a good midfield if you are evaluating his spot for next year or to give him a look at playing against a power running midfield for his development ?
Houli missing out on playing/training last week probaly counted against him goign against them.

Daytripper
30 Aug 2007, 19:07
I do. Why wouldnt you give Hocking another game against a good midfield if you are evaluating his spot for next year or to give him a look at playing against a power running midfield for his development ?
Houli missing out on playing/training last week probaly counted against him goign against them.

It probably tells us that they've already made up their mind about Hocking - one way or the other.

dave_27
30 Aug 2007, 19:09
Would have liked to have seen Hocking V Priddis. ah well.

Its Sheedy's last game, let him play his love childs. He's earned it.

essendon
30 Aug 2007, 19:16
It will be like watching a comedy show on Sat afternoon/night with these type of players coming bank in, at least we can get to enjoy our footy again and reflect over the year why we didnt make the finals with these players on our list, unforntunately CJ, MJ and JJ couldnt be there with Cole and Campo, we would need WCE players to help carry the players playing their last games off the ground its going to be an emotional day !!

Our player guernsey numbers will be like bingo next year, with plenty numbers up for grabs. Happy Recruiting guys !!!

WELL DONE HIRDY ONCE AGAIN THANKS FOR THE MEMORIES YOU WILL BE SADLY MISSED !!! FOREVER LEGEND

CANT WAIT FOR T HIRD TO RUN OUT IN 15YRS TIME WITH A HIRD IN THE NO. 5 BACK IN RED AND BLACK !!

GO BOMBERS !!

donsman4eva
30 Aug 2007, 19:21
Great, we have Lucas, Neagle, Gumby and Bradley all in the team. That is going to work well :thumbsd:

sheller891
30 Aug 2007, 19:23
what does houli need to do to get a fricking game?

still after reading this thread, i understand the inclusions even if i dont agree

houli/hocking in over heff/pev

but as long as theyre gone next year

is it just me or we shoulnt get rid of hilley

essendon
30 Aug 2007, 19:28
With Kerr already out, I hope all there midfields dont play either as its going to be a long 4 quarters on the weekend on such a big ground

ant555
30 Aug 2007, 19:32
It probably tells us that they've already made up their mind about Hocking - one way or the other.

The trouble is the people selecting the side wont be in charge of list selection later this year will they ;) So making a decision on Hocking one way or another is totaly irrelevant to selecting the team this week. Doesnt really tell us anything.

bombersno1
30 Aug 2007, 19:35
Well at least Hille aint playing..that would be the only thing worse than seeing Bolton playing!

Crave
30 Aug 2007, 19:37

I agree. We've brought in players that add nothing to the side and give up our side's chances of sending Hird off with a win. May as well have brought in Johns also for this game.

Mrs Mercuri
30 Aug 2007, 19:42
some big losses there for bendigo

Unfortunately the senior inclusions of Heff, Bolts and Bradley this week have all but ruled out Bendigo's chances of winning the elimination final this week.

It definately shows that both Heff and Bolts will be playing their last games in the red and black on sat night, they were definately chosen through sentiment on James Hird's part.

High Ryder
30 Aug 2007, 20:55
Anyone know why Hille and Houli weren't named for Bendigo?

mattdavies_03
30 Aug 2007, 21:01
This has got to be a joke. The whole football world shakes its head at our "performance" last week, and we put in 3 absolute spuds against arguably the 2nd best side in the comp, no wonder we aren't respected

I don't care that Hird chose the squad, that team is a ****ing joke if we are trying to win

Longy413
30 Aug 2007, 21:04
The trouble is the people selecting the side wont be in charge of list selection later this year will they ;)

Well Dodoro is in charge of list management and trade week.
Unless of course we announce a coach and he starts before then.

I'd presume Dodoro's input would be heard at the selection table.

what does houli need to do to get a fricking game?

A lot.

But do you really think Nash will play? ;)

High Ryder
30 Aug 2007, 21:06
Well Dodoro is in charge of list management and trade week.
Unless of course we announce a coach and he starts before then.

I'd presume Dodoro's input would be heard at the selection table.

A lot.

But do you really think Nash will play? ;)
Am i missing something Longy? Nash wasn't named.

Longy413
30 Aug 2007, 21:17
Am i missing something Longy? Nash wasn't named.

Yeah I just realised that...

There will be a change.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
30 Aug 2007, 22:34
By the looks of the ins, it seems we really do want to secure the 4th/5th draft pick eh.

sheller891
30 Aug 2007, 22:43

There will be a change.

even if he hasnt set the world on fire every week...he is part of our future? no?

they should give him games. hes not going to MIRACULOUSLY come good at the start of the season next year

i meant bolts and heff are integral part of our team, so why should i complain? :rolleyes:

SOT4
30 Aug 2007, 23:05
FFS Bolton, Bradley and Heffernan...
We wanna win the game while Judd,Cousins,Kerr,Embley,Hansen,Glass etc are all likely to miss.

Bolton was best on ground and deserves a send off game. Heff is a past premiership player and obviously close with Jimmy and Bolton has earned his place all year. If you dont like it you can go back to supporting collingwood your first team.

SOT4
30 Aug 2007, 23:10
even if he hasnt set the world on fire every week...he is part of our future? no?

they should give him games. hes not going to MIRACULOUSLY come good at the start of the season next year

i meant bolts and heff are integral part of our team, so why should i complain? :rolleyes:

HOULI DIDNT PLAY LAST WEEK BECAUSE OF INJURY. A youngster who misses his last game doesn't demand a game. He may play but anyone complaining because he didn't get selected should get their hand off it. Hocking on the other hand was stiff but I have no problem with a bit fo sentimentality.

the_other
31 Aug 2007, 00:32

There will be a change.

Could it be Lucas out for Houli?

adamcf
31 Aug 2007, 00:38
It's the team of Goodbye's.. it's a send off for at least a handful of them!

Longy413
31 Aug 2007, 08:45

You don't reward blokes if they aren't improving in the areas they are required to.

If you tell a bloke you need to rectify an area of his game, he doesn't do it and then you pick him anyway, doesn't the defeat the purpose?

It's like telling a kid he won't get any desert unless he eats all his vegies, and then giving him a bowl of ice-cream after he's left his carrots on the plate.

He's not part of our future yet. He's part of our present.
Whether he is part of our future is dependent on him rectifying his weaknesses.

In the end, he'll get a game anyway and I really think he'll do well.

sheller891
31 Aug 2007, 10:08
You don't reward blokes if they aren't improving in the areas they are required to.

If you tell a bloke you need to rectify an area of his game, he doesn't do it and then you pick him anyway, doesn't the defeat the purpose?

It's like telling a kid he won't get any desert unless he eats all his vegies, and then giving him a bowl of ice-cream after he's left his carrots on the plate.

He's not part of our future yet. He's part of our present.
Whether he is part of our future is dependent on him rectifying his weaknesses.

In the end, he'll get a game anyway and I really think he'll do well.

HA.

i comprende. youve convinced me

still my point was, even if he hasnt beewn doing exactly whats been expected of him, hasnt he done his role "better" than 2 or 3 of the others INS?? and i hear hes been very decent anyway...

still, if he lifts his workrate, he should be a huge part of our future.

cant wait to see him in late inclusion for lovett or lucas:D

Bombs Away
31 Aug 2007, 10:13
It has to be to send of a heap of them which can only mean that MJ and Hille are safe for next season (at the moment anyway)

Bolton, Heffernan are definitely there for send off. Fletcher obvious recall, Neagle obvious inclusion. Bradley and Peverill not sure about yet, is it going to be there last chance to prove their spot. Peverill to tag Cousins/Priddis???

Nice balance at the selection table again bombers... Lloyd, Gumby, Neagle, Ryder, Lucas, Bradley, lets not forget that Hird, NLM and McPhee arent small either. Lets hope the ball is called out of bounds when it hits the ground in our forward line

I thought we would have had a chance to win this based on eagles outs but they will still have too much run in the middle for us.

Great test for Laycock this week against cox with only support from Kep and Paddy. He is due for a good one after last week

Stants_24_Legend
31 Aug 2007, 10:37
Anyone know why Hille and Houli weren't named for Bendigo?
Prob coz they will make the trip over to West Coast

BluesRules
31 Aug 2007, 10:38
IN:

Kepler Bradley, Mark Bolton, Chris Heffernan, Dustin Fletcher, Damien Peverill, Jay Neagle (Selection 39, 2005 National Draft - father/son selection, Gippsland Power)

OUT:

Mark Johnson (omitted), Courtenay Dempsey (hamstring), Kyle Reimers (omitted), Jay Nash (concussion), David Hille (omitted), Scott Camporeale (knee)

Emergencies: Hocking, Hille, Houli

Surprised Houli didn't get a game. I think the kid can play. He must be struggling at Bendigo

DaSawx
31 Aug 2007, 10:39
Peverill to tag Cousins/Priddis???

I'd like to see Peverill back next year and be given a go as an out and out tagger. He's one of our few players with a big engine, instead of him linking up and wasting the ball away he should be able to stick with good midfielders if it's his main priority, and worry about the ball if he gets it.

hotwizz
31 Aug 2007, 10:40
i wont be at all suprised if the heff makes a few people on here taking pot shots eat their words.. i thought he has had enough to offer this year... tackles well, good disposal (on both sides! - at essendon its unheard of) good decision making and a hard trainer.. not everyone can rack up 20+ per game and to average between the 15-20 bracket is fine - someone has to do it.. if he gets delisted i wish him all the best for the future.. along with any other delistees..

fair dinkum, whether you like them or not these blokes slug their guts out for the club and the fans..stop taking potshots at them in round 22 of a season that is over..

Bombs Away
31 Aug 2007, 10:51
I'd like to see Peverill back next year and be given a go as an out and out tagger. He's one of our few players with a big engine, instead of him linking up and wasting the ball away he should be able to stick with good midfielders if it's his main priority, and worry about the ball if he gets it.

That is his best role (tagging) as his disposal is one of the worst in the league. The game has now evolved where taggers are expected to win their own ball like ling at geelong and dont think peverill is that good. Heffernan could also be in to tag the other midfielder with essendon trying to win the ball and set up from half back. With hansen out their half forward line is very ordinary (well compared to the rest at least) and we should be able to rebound well.

DaSawx
31 Aug 2007, 10:55
That is his best role (tagging) as his disposal is one of the worst in the league. The game has now evolved where taggers are expected to win their own ball like ling at geelong and dont think peverill is that good. Heffernan could also be in to tag the other midfielder with essendon trying to win the ball and set up from half back. With hansen out their half forward line is very ordinary (well compared to the rest at least) and we should be able to rebound well.

That part is overrated imo. If you can greatly minimize the input of a teams gun midfielder, id would go a long way towards winning, no matter how many possies the tagger gets, Ling just happens to do both well, he can be dangerous enough to warrant a tagger of his own. Wether Pev would be good enough to stifle gun midfielders again would obvioulsy remain to be seen.

Not a Wellman
31 Aug 2007, 12:43
Hopefully Bendigo can win this week then bolts heff bradley can all go back into the side next week as inclusions.

For whoever said why isn't houli and hille named for Bendigo, pretty sure Hille can't be because he has played to many games for the seniors, and didn't somebody say Houli was injured last week he still maybe injured.

Also hope pev tags cousins i need priddis to rack up a few more brownlow votes got him for top 5 at very healthy odds.

Longy413
31 Aug 2007, 19:10
Surprised Houli didn't get a game. I think the kid can play. He must be struggling at Bendigo

Have you read any of this thread?

For whoever said why isn't houli and hille named for Bendigo, pretty sure Hille can't be because he has played to many games for the seniors

Hille can play for Bendigo this week, whilst Essendon is still playing anyone can play at Bendigo. 12/10 rule aside, qualifications are redundant.

Next week, should Bendigo win, the qualifications will be enforced.

High Ryder
31 Aug 2007, 21:51
Ryder or Winderlich OUT? Houli IN?

sheller891
31 Aug 2007, 22:37
what are expected late withdrawals?

whos got injury niggles.

will we have enough run?

DaSawx
31 Aug 2007, 23:30
will we have enough run?

does the Pope wear a normal hat?