View Full Version : Should the club delist Des Headland?
GentlemanJeff
30 Aug 2007, 20:27
Des Headland is fast becoming a huge liability for the Fremantle Football Club.
His rap sheet for this season includes:
1. Complete brain snap against West Coast, and subsequent attack on sickwood;
2. Indifferent form in important games (such as away game to Geelong at Skilled Stadium)
3. Unprovoked attack against member of public in Northbridge;
4. Breaking club rules for drinking alcohol.
This is all from a guy who is meant to be a senior player and leader at the club. He is on 300k a year, and he is consistantly displaying totally unacceptable behaviour. All of this comes from a guy who is proven to go missing in big games.
Headland's contract is up at the end of the year.
Is it time for Des to be put out to pasture?
footyfix
30 Aug 2007, 20:37
I'm over him.
Don't you mean trade?
I would keep him despite being a tool, cut his pay a bit though. I reckon he's had a reasonable year on the field, one of the best finishers in the side, knows how to seal a goal.
Rumour was that he was not that badly injured and was dropped by Harvey for discipline reasons
Should be on a greatly reduced contract next year
Belnakor
30 Aug 2007, 20:48
Rumour was that he was not that badly injured and was dropped by Harvey for discipline reasons
Should be on a greatly reduced contract next year
doesn't suprise me one bit, Des has always thought himself above the law.
chook2734
30 Aug 2007, 21:17
2. Indifferent form in important games (such as away game to Geelong at Skilled Stadium)
This is all from a guy who is meant to be a senior player and leader at the club. He is on 300k a year, and he is consistantly displaying totally unacceptable behaviour. All of this comes from a guy who is proven to go missing in big games.
So I guess you won't be too upset to see the Wiz follow him out the door then GJ? Headland's on-field and off-field indescretions have not been as costly to the club as Farmer's have.
Kenny_01
30 Aug 2007, 21:24
He is one of our 6 best players.... so ummm, no.
NiGHTFuRY
30 Aug 2007, 21:27
Not trying to justify the highlighted point 3, but wasnt that a scuffle with a family member. Voilence is whack in general, but you could excuse him if he's had a small altercation with a family member. Who here can honestly say that they've never been very pissed off at a family member.
Otherwise the other points are valid. Remember Scumwood had his part to play in that fiasco as well.
exactly...des had a very good year....a solid pre-season with harvey in his head will do him the world of good
ditto farmer
ditto wiz
ditto dodd
ditto taz
ditto solly
ditto carrs
ditto grover
hase i'm not sure about
sabre_ac
30 Aug 2007, 23:46
I rarely agree with Kenny...But on this one..There is no doubt.
Under no circumstance should we trade him
C4[2]Yo`DooR
30 Aug 2007, 23:58
Keep him.
:)
Reveler
30 Aug 2007, 23:59
He was in great form this year.
Tore up a few teams. Hopefully we will retain him and he can rebuild his reputation.
freocynic
31 Aug 2007, 00:05
No. But if Harvey rewards him for his efforts, ie drops him to the WAFL for his non efforts, then we might see a better Des Headland next year
freo heave ho
31 Aug 2007, 00:09
Give him a chance to prove he's got the message. Put him on a 1 year performance based contract. If he messes up he takes a pay cut and plays for Subi.
dominguez
31 Aug 2007, 00:22
1. Selwood said that Retravision is better than Rick Hart, so Dessie whacked him.
2. Rick Hart had $100,000 on Geelong, and offered Dessie half to play poorly.
3. Headland's cousin said that Dalton Gooding is a better Chairman than Rick Hart, so Des belted him.
4. Dessie had a permission slip signed by Rick Hart allowing him to go drinking.
As you can see, all of these incidents were Rick Harts fault. Headland, like Farmer, is an angel.
Underdog
31 Aug 2007, 00:52
this is the big one and does have merit. Don't forget his 3 outstanding games were against Melbourne, Richmond and Carlton, whilst the rest were generally average at best.
dockertor
31 Aug 2007, 01:04
idiot
Not des you
BadSeed
31 Aug 2007, 01:06
As said in other thread, saw him Saturday night at paddy hannans at the casino, and he mentioned he wasnt drinking because of his hamstring, so I found it strange he would mid week but ahh well... seems like an all alright bloke, and is good on field, duno why you would want to trade him.
Kenny_01
31 Aug 2007, 01:31
this is the big one and does have merit. Don't forget his 3 outstanding games were against Melbourne, Richmond and Carlton, whilst the rest were generally average at best.
It doesn't have merit.
Look at the votes throughout the season.
Underdog
31 Aug 2007, 02:18
fair enough, delisting is too much
pinkus maximus
31 Aug 2007, 02:26
if this isnt a troll i dont know what is
NiGHTFuRY
31 Aug 2007, 02:43
Come on guys, Gentlemen Jeff has raised a few valid points on his post. It is a serious thing to consider. Whilst trading him is a little out of left field. He certainly hasn't been all up to top standard. Whether rightly or wrongly he is a marquee player of our club and as such has to set an example for the lads. I would dare say he is popular and influential in the clubrooms as well. On his best day he can destroy ANY team.
Consider this;
If we could get [ nd I know it cannot be guaranteed] Masten & Palmer by trading Headland, or that KPP Fullback I think we desperately need, would you not be interested? [Same could apply for Haselby] Be honest here.
He is great at what he does, but the discipline thing, if true is a worry.
Should we not start to consider blending in some quality youth with our big guns. It works for other clubs - some of which are in the eight now and heading to finals.
Kenny_01
31 Aug 2007, 03:21
Come on guys, Gentlemen Jeff has raised a few valid points on his post. It is a serious thing to consider. Whilst trading him is a little out of left field. He certainly hasn't been all up to top standard. Whether rightly or wrongly he is a marquee player of our club and as such has to set an example for the lads. I would dare say he is popular and influential in the clubrooms as well. On his best day he can destroy ANY team.
Consider this;
If we could get [ nd I know it cannot be guaranteed] Masten & Palmer by trading Headland, or that KPP Fullback I think we desperately need, would you not be interested? [Same could apply for Haselby] Be honest here.
Should we not start to consider blending in some quality youth with our big guns. It works for other clubs - some of which are in the eight now and heading to finals.
IF we are going to win a flag in the next few years, Headland WILL play a big part in it.
We don't have a half forward/winger anywhere near as good as Des in terms of kicking goals and delivery going forward. Des is usually good for a goal or two a game.
I mean it was only a few weeks before his injury that people on the main board was questioning whether he was worthy of an AA guernsey. Ok, maybe he wasn't but the fact that it was even brought up says a fair bit. And finally when he lives up to a bit of the hype, you want to get rid of him? That's insane.
How is Des's record off field any worse than Farmer? And GJ loves Jeffrey. So he is bias in his views that is why no-one takes GJ seriously.
/end thread
No...is Jeff a trolling ignoramus? Yes :)
Hi Rip :)
Cameron_K
31 Aug 2007, 09:05
The funny thing is you could almost group Jeff Farmer in each of those categories ;)
Bradesmaen
31 Aug 2007, 10:29
Consider this;
Are Palmer and Masten the big great white hopes? If we are pinning our hopes on obtaining them just to win a premiership then we might as well give up now setting standards low. We had a good team last year, it has barely changed.. yet now we are asking for 19year olds to take us all the way.
GentlemanJeff
31 Aug 2007, 10:35
Don't you mean trade?
Yeah, I guess the club should shop him around and see what they can get.
But, if a suitable trade cannot be reached, then the club should delist him in my opinion. He is contributing to a bad playing culture at Fremantle Football Club. We will never win a premiership whilst Des is running a circus in the background.
Rumour was that he was not that badly injured and was dropped by Harvey for discipline reasons .
I was going to add this to my list, but I knew that i would be accused of spouting conspiracy theories.
But I believe this allegation (if true) just encapsulates everything that is wrong with Des Headland as a player.
GentlemanJeff
31 Aug 2007, 10:46
I believe this is a no brainer. Masten & Palmer are too local boys who would definiteley add to our tilt at a premiership within the next 2 years, but will also be around for the next 10 years to contribute to the inevitable re-building cycle that every club must go through.
The problem with Des, is that whilst he is Freo's most dominant performer against opposition teams in the botton half of the ladder, he consistently fails to perform in big games. DJ has choked far too many times now. He is the AFL equivalent of a "flat track bully".
We cant keep out head in the sand on this one. The facts are simple - Des is not getting any younger. He has been in the system for many years now. He is one of our most highest paid players. Yet he goes missing in big games. If he was young, you could excuse his choking on the grounds of "inexperience", but Des has been in the AFL system for almost 10 years now - Choking is just a characteristic of DJ's playing style.
To top it all off, Des has been destabilizing the club with several brain explosions. We dont need a guy like this at the club - especially when we are paying him 300k a year for the privilege.
Des has one habit that just shiyats me. In gridiron they have a measure they use with punters thay call 'operation time' - that is the time it takes from when the ball is in the hands to when it hits the boot (hey, they're Americans; always a big name for something).
Anyway, Des has the longest 'operation time' in the history of the planet. It causes him to be less accurate in windy weather and makes him slow half a step in kicking so a chaser often gets a hand on him and pushes the kick off-line.
This, and a few other of his habits, makes him seem to be one of those 'hard to coach' midfielders who always got 40 possesions in the juniors and only like to play one way. Can't adapt their game to different circumstances, opposition and conditions etc.
I think Richmond are finding similar problems with Delidio...
FootyEater
31 Aug 2007, 11:39
Are Palmer and Masten the big great white hopes? If we are pinning our hopes on obtaining them just to win a premiership then we might as well give up now setting standards low. We had a good team last year, it has barely changed.. yet now we are asking for 19year olds to take us all the way.
Who honestly believes we will win a premiership next year? we wont, and by trading a headland or a hasleby with sya murphy and a pick we have a chance to get two local gun midfielders, of course we should look at trading des or hase, then maybe our window will open again in three years time. i know we have an ageing list but with pav and mcpharlin still young, taz and solly should still be htere abouts. crowley, peake, schammer, mundy, johnson, foster, ibbotson, collard should all be in there prime, if we get masten and palmer next year, i reckon we will have a young fast team with pav and mcpharlin to hold key positions. we should have a decent team
We don't have a half forward/winger anywhere near as good as Des in terms of kicking goals and delivery going forward. Des is usually good for a goal or two a game./end thread
I think Drum, Mundy and Black are all top quality in that department.:thumbsu:
In saying that I don't think we should be trading Des, I think we should play him in the centre maybe where he can't fade out of the game. Get him to lose a few kilos with some hard coaching by Harvs and he'll be fine.
DeChicken
31 Aug 2007, 11:54
exactly...des had a very good year....a solid pre-season with harvey in his head will do him the world of good
ditto farmer
ditto wiz
ditto dodd
ditto taz
ditto solly
ditto carrs
ditto grover
hase i'm not sure about
I agree. Must keep Hase. He will also lift under Harvey.
We have to keep Hedland. The guy is a dead ringer for that bloke Hotdogs from BB06.
Go Freo!!! Great to see Brock O'Brien finally getting a game.:thumbsu:
FootyEater
31 Aug 2007, 12:12
I agree. Must keep Hase. He will also lift under Harvey.
We have to keep Hedland. The guy is a dead ringer for that bloke Hotdogs from BB06.
Go Freo!!! Great to see Brock O'Brien finally getting a game.:thumbsu:
its good to see that harvey is trying the new kid, but it concerns me thatg he got a game when his wafl form has only been average, where ibbo had been rather good
DeChicken
31 Aug 2007, 12:24
its good to see that harvey is trying the new kid, but it concerns me thatg he got a game when his wafl form has only been average, where ibbo had been rather good
True...
This might just be a test for the boy.
To see if he has the passion and skill.
To make him strive for something next year.
Good to see anyway. Shame about ibbo but he will be there for sure next year.
theGav56
31 Aug 2007, 13:36
Like all our players, Headland is tradeable if the right trade comes along, but what he is worth to us will be much more than what we would get for him. In addition to that he would be extremely reluctant to leave WA, lessening his trade value, as well as his next contract for us.
Posters who think he should be de-listed have self-qualified themselves as below average football intelligence.
NiGHTFuRY
31 Aug 2007, 14:12
Des has one habit that just shiyats me. In gridiron they have a measure they use with punters thay call 'operation time' - that is the time it takes from when the ball is in the hands to when it hits the boot (hey, they're Americans; always a big name for something).
Anyway, Des has the longest 'operation time' in the history of the planet. It causes him to be less accurate in windy weather and makes him slow half a step in kicking so a chaser often gets a hand on him and pushes the kick off-line.
This, and a few other of his habits, makes him seem to be one of those 'hard to coach' midfielders who always got 40 possesions in the juniors and only like to play one way. Can't adapt their game to different circumstances, opposition and conditions etc.
I think Richmond are finding similar problems with Delidio...
WoW - you learn something new every day. ..
Operation time.... I must remember to use that one:thumbsu:
Your post makes sense....
I also keep a keen eye on delidio.... so in a roundabouts way could you say he is a young Headland in playing style? [this not being a criticism]
Why the hell would we do that???
headland has discipline issues yes, but despite that he has been in our top 5 players for this year, and why would u delist someone who has such good individual value when you could trade him, which would also be a stupid thing to do because all he needs to do is improve his discipline.
FootyEater
31 Aug 2007, 14:20
Why the hell would we do that???
headland has discipline issues yes, but despite that he has been in our top 5 players for this year, and why would u delist someone who has such good individual value when you could trade him, which would also be a stupid thing to do because all he needs to do is improve his discipline.
better players than headland this year
Pav
Bell
solly
hayden
josh carr
mcpharlin
grover
Black+taz+des would be about equal
dockertor
31 Aug 2007, 14:37
Pav
Bell
solly
hayden
josh carr
mcpharlin
grover
So you say top 10 instead.
Delist a top 10 player. What a great idea:rolleyes:
dont bowl there
31 Aug 2007, 14:47
What a stupid thread. We have some wanker supporters dont we.
Pav
Bell
solly
hayden
josh carr
mcpharlin
grover
in your opinion maybe but in mine no, headland is one of the most important players in our team, he brings alot into our forward line and when he is firing he is extremely hard to stop. and still dont delist a top 10 player
DeChicken
31 Aug 2007, 15:04
hahahaha I agree!!!
At times... I can be one.... but this is truly stupid!!!
Hedland is/has been one of our best players.
How many players... over the years... have we traded to another team only to see them soar.
I personally do not want to see Hedland up against Freo next year:mad:
WoW - you learn something new every day.
I also keep a keen eye on delidio.... so in a roundabouts way could you say he is a young Headland in playing style? [this not being a criticism]
I'm not sure how similar he is overall - but he's big bodied midfielder/kp who they are having trouble getting to play in a system as opposed to just chasing kicks - and he has that in common with Des.
Have a listen to the 2002 grand final DVD with the audio from within the coaches box and you'll see how Des can drive a coach to distraction.
Another huge 'operation time' was Chris Lewis and he used to get pushed off his kicks all the time.
One of the best kicks for effectiveness and simplicity, I reckon, is Acker. Nathan Buckley too of course.
He's worth FA, but trade, not delist.
From an outsiders point of view, sure Des had some brain farts this season but before he stopped playing from his injury he'd been playing pretty well for you guys. It's interesting reading what the Freo fans are thinking.
summerthebat
31 Aug 2007, 18:41
First let us pause to think about what Des has just done.
I can't believe what an idiot this guy is, he is out of contract and one week from the end of season (one filled with bad behaviour) he goes out drinking. He has basically just lost 50k from his contract, because I honestly think no other club will want him, so he will be forced to sign on.
I really don't want to get rid of him, I think he has some worth left though.
Black Ball
31 Aug 2007, 22:26
He is not and never has been worth what they are paying him since he's been at the Club. Get what we can for him, preferably an early draft pick.
dockers_bengals
31 Aug 2007, 23:55
You can never say he isn't consistant :D
theGav56
1 Sep 2007, 06:32
He is not and never has been worth what they are paying him since he's been at the Club. Get what we can for him, preferably an early draft pick.
Right. So if someone is overpaid, you trade them. Another possibility might be pay them less.
You can never say he isn't consistant :D
:thumbsu:
"The set of all things which do not contain themselves contains itself" (Russell's Paradox)
estibador
1 Sep 2007, 16:55
(Russell's Paradox)
My God! I just looked that up on Wiki but had to give up pretty quickly when my brain started hurting.
Here is impirical evidence - the fundamental flaw in Des's kicking style that is the root of all his problems. Dude needs to be less in love with the grand flourish every time he kicks it and just get it on the **cking boot.
http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f193/ming65/dessoperationtime.jpg
Long 'operation time' - otherwise known as 'slow to get it on the boot' - The most grevious sin in footy - I'm sure it's mentioned in the old testament somewhere........
dont bowl there
2 Sep 2007, 14:10
He also doesnt have the ball with laces facing up. I thought everyone kicked that way.
Roundhouse
2 Sep 2007, 14:27
Here is impirical evidence - the fundamental flaw in Des's kicking style that is the root of all his problems. Dude needs to be less in love with the grand flourish every time he kicks it and just get it on the **cking boot.
http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f193/ming65/dessoperationtime.jpg
Long 'operation time' - otherwise known as 'slow to get it on the boot' - The most grevious sin in footy - I'm sure it's mentioned in the old testament somewhere........
That photo alone shows absolutely nothing.
Headland is in the top five kicks in our team and has no trouble getting rid of the ball in time.
I think the real question should be, "Should the Fremantle board on Bigfooty delist GentlemanJeff?" :p
Headland played his best season for Freo by a mile, and you want to delist him? What are you smoking? :confused:
GrayNicolls
2 Sep 2007, 18:49
interesting reading..........
a mate of mine was in melbourne when you guys played collingwood on friday night and was out at some pub later that night. headland, peake, cook (?) and someone else were pretty pissy and he got talking to them. apparently des was saying that he'd won his flag and achieved what he wanted in footy
i thought that was pretty average and it makes you wonder if his heart is really in it.
anyways i hope he pulls his finger out as when on song he's a bloody jet
wehavethepassion
2 Sep 2007, 18:55
a mate of mine was in melbourne when you guys played collingwood on friday night and was out at some pub later that night. headland, peake, cook (?) and someone else were pretty pissy and he got talking to them. apparently des was saying that he'd won his flag and achieved what he wanted in footy
i thought that was pretty average and it makes you wonder if his heart is really in it.
Smells right - won the flag in his 4th yr at lions came back he on a nice little earner for the last 5yrs- has played very inconsistent footy better at subi and when we go over easts
Tradeable while he still has currency other wise a perfomance base contract
and get to know Scotty waters Dessie!!
dominguez
2 Sep 2007, 19:06
Dessie has been disappointing prior to this year, but up until he did his hammy he was having a good season and would have been top 6 or 7 in the B&F. Has had a better season than Farmer, Murphy and Tarrant, lets delist those three instead.
Roundhouse
2 Sep 2007, 19:49
Sounds like the usual baseless rumours attributed to Headland.
I've had a supposed hardcore Freo supporter swear black and blue that "Headland had decked Pavlich in the changerooms because Pav said something to him, then went after Connolly until (this is the best bit) Belly stepped in and beat the stuffing out of him."
Seriously, If people have a bad perception about a person they will start will start rumours to re-confirm their fantasy that said person is the anti-christ. The people that believe and perpetuate these rumours (that nobody ever actually puts their name to) are just as pathetic as the people who start them.
estibador
2 Sep 2007, 19:54
Belly the Kung Fu King!
If Bell retires he should be traded for a draft pick or young wa fast midfielder.
mick ryan
3 Sep 2007, 12:31
If Bell retires he should be traded for a draft pick or young wa fast midfielder.
If Bell retires he's finished, he can't be traded. You can't have it both ways.
estibador
3 Sep 2007, 16:56
I'm guessing it'd very difficult to find a club dumb enough to trade with us for a player who wouldn't be playing.
dont bowl there
3 Sep 2007, 17:03
I'm guessing it'd very difficult to find a club dumb enough to trade with us for a player who wouldn't be playing.
West Coast drafted a player that said he didnt want to play.
estibador
3 Sep 2007, 17:14
Well, who would want to play for west coast?
In the nights leading up to the draft every potential draftee must wake up screaming after horrible nightmares of the eagles calling out their name. Poor lads. No wonder draft day is so stressful for them.
dont bowl there
3 Sep 2007, 17:21
Well, who would want to play for west coast?
In the nights leading up to the draft every potential draftee must wake up screaming after horrible nightmares of the eagles calling out their name. Poor lads. No wonder draft day is so stressful for them.
I think Tim Watson was laughing at the fact they drafted him, not really stressing out.
estibador
3 Sep 2007, 17:37
I think Tim Watson was laughing at the fact they drafted him, not really stressing out.
Ah yes I remember hearing about that.
Maybe we can con them into giving us a draft pick for a retired Bell. I'm sure those egomaniacs will be thinking they can entice him out of retirement for the "privilege" of playing for west coast.
We get a draft pick, Bell tells them to shove it, everyone's happy.
DOCKER CLINT
4 Sep 2007, 14:43
Delist Des, he's a passenger.