View Full Version : Tankday - Melbourne V Carlton MCG

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

mightymightyblues
30 Aug 2007, 23:45
What a awkward game this will be. Both supporters cheering for the opposite team. Players not knowing what to do with the ball. It is basically Sandringham V Bullants with Melbourne and Carlton both missing about 10 players from their starting 22.
I think this should all be resolved with both teams swapping jumpers before the bounce.:thumbsu:

I can't see carlton winning because i think they know there is to much at stake. Deep down i'm positive Ratten would rather a lose because he has already indicated that he will put prominent players in different positions and throw them around to experiment.

Full time:
Demons 102
Carlton 86

Carlton secure Kruezer

melbournemartin
30 Aug 2007, 23:49
White taps it to Marc Murphy who is tackled by Gibbs, handballing it out to Johnstone who kicks long to Waite who dishes it off to Robertson who rushes a behind.

JKCeagle
31 Aug 2007, 00:16
May the best team lose.

BluesRules
31 Aug 2007, 10:34
Go DEES!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Bombertastic
31 Aug 2007, 10:59
White taps it to Marc Murphy who is tackled by Gibbs, handballing it out to Johnstone who kicks long to Waite who dishes it off to Robertson who rushes a behind.

LMAO, probably the best I have seen yet.

C4[2]Yo`DooR
31 Aug 2007, 11:24
Marc Murphy a late change due to Tonsillitis.

Thank God its contagious :D :cool:

NBULTY
31 Aug 2007, 11:51
Waite out with chapped lips

demon21
31 Aug 2007, 12:00
Melb will smash the Blues this week so enjoy your picks.

C4[2]Yo`DooR
31 Aug 2007, 12:01
Melb will smash the Blues this week so enjoy your picks.
we will.

tanks.

jim_shoes
31 Aug 2007, 19:06
this game is going to be like the biggest loser

TheGeneral
31 Aug 2007, 19:34
this game is going to be like the biggest loser
Making fat jokes at Lance's expense isn't politically correct.

He's a filthy ginger!

bluesforever
31 Aug 2007, 20:20
Go the Dees:thumbsu: oh, I mean the Blues;)

TelkoTheGreat
31 Aug 2007, 21:45
http://transitionculture.org/wp-content/uploads/prize.gif

The GOAT
31 Aug 2007, 21:58
Yo`DooR;8584883']we will.

tanks.
lol:thumbsu:

Black Thunder
31 Aug 2007, 23:04
what a farce. it's gonna end up like that south park episode where both sets of kids are trying to lose and get knocked out of the competition cause they're sick of playing baseball.

Tigerdrive
1 Sep 2007, 13:43
Or as someone pointed out in the simpsons thread like the soccer episode, half back passes to center, center holds it, holds it .. ..

parrot
1 Sep 2007, 14:14
Great to see Austin debut. But playing an 18 year old first gamer at CHB kinda tells the story. :)

KissStephanie
1 Sep 2007, 20:12
I never thought that I would say this, but I no longer immensely dislike Carlton. They have been lucky to avoid yet another wooden spoon this year, and although I expected them to 'win' one when they were penalised for cheating, three has just been a triple bonus that I didn't expect, and it's more than Collingwood, so I can't complain.

I now think of Carlton as the mentally challenged person down the street that doesn't harm or threaten anybody. I feel sorry for them, and my sympathies are with them, but I just can't dislike them anymore, although I don't have any respect for them either. They are the team that loses all of the time to the point where their supporters actually want them to continue losing because it's all they know.

By the way, what will the Carlton supporters at this match be doing when they kick a goal? Will they boo their own team, or just sit on their hands in miserable silence? Does the Carlton cheer squad wave their flags trying to put off a Carlton player when they are lining up for goal? Do they wave their flags when Melbourne kicks a goal? Will they join in singing the Melbourne theme song if they lose? Will they be miserable for months if they win?

Poor Carlton. How sad. I feel so sorry for them, just like the mentally challenged person down the street.

Cleavy
1 Sep 2007, 20:19
Sponsored by movie of the day:
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/1/12/Tank_girl_poster.jpg/200px-Tank_girl_poster.jpg

parrot
1 Sep 2007, 21:02
I never thought that I would say this, but I no longer immensely dislike Carlton. ......

And yet we had to bench 2 of our best players at the 20 minute mark of the last quarter, in order to get your pathetic team across the line a few weeks back. Remember that? Friday's Collingwood capitulation was no suprise, and was a product of a near decade of end-on-end list management disasters. The Pies list management is just a never ending train wreck. :)

KissStephanie
1 Sep 2007, 21:20
And yet we had to bench 2 of our best players at the 20 minute mark of the last quarter, in order to get your pathetic team across the line a few weeks back.Who do you even barrack for? Are you too ashamed to mention it? You must barrack for Carlton then. By the way, thanks to Carlton for tanking a few weeks ago!

Collingwood weren't expected to make the finals in 2007, and were in fact expected to finish around where Carlton is yet again, but due to having played 10 debutantes this season, some help is required from time to time, and that win helped us make the finals. These Collingwood players will get better with more experience.

Carlton on the other hand are trying to reach their shameful goal of losing yet again, and I truly feel sorry for a team that knows no different. It's hard to dislike Carlton because they constantly lose. Easy to disrespect them though.

parrot
1 Sep 2007, 21:48
.. These Collingwood players will get better with more experience....

The problem is your team relies on a large group of oldies. Your midfield in particular is old, slow, and just terrible. Do you realise that next year your grumpy Captain will be 8 years older than our oldest player (Lance 27-28yo). Beware of the HUN and Eddie spin. The Pies list needs a solid cleanout and rebuild. It badly lacks top-shelf talent. Might sneak you into the finals, but you just don't have the talent to go any further. 1 successful year in half-a-century is a pretty dismal record. Big changes need to happen at Pieland if they want to break their long history of failure. By contrast, the Blues have 16 flags and are therefore the most successful Club in the competition. That is just a fact. The reason why is because we have a success-culture. Carlton view everything other than a flag as failure. We create teams to win a string a flags, rather than just sneak into the 8 and then straight-sets-exit like Colllingwood. The Blues have almost completed the assembly of some of the finest talent seen at this level, and are now creating an impressive coaching and support team to mould this team into a multi-flag success. :)

seanoff
1 Sep 2007, 21:52
How many behinds can you rush in a qtr.

Win the ball out of the centre, kick backwards and "force" a behind.

Kick to self in goal square, "force" behind due to "pressure". Repeat for 20mins.

banzai
2 Sep 2007, 00:56
How many behinds can you rush in a qtr.

Win the ball out of the centre, kick backwards and "force" a behind.

Kick to self in goal square, "force" behind due to "pressure". Repeat for 20mins.

The other team would quickley catch on and give away 4 50m penalties meaning the kickout is moved to the goal line at the other end.

The Royal Sampler
2 Sep 2007, 01:13
Whoever wins, football will be the loser.

... along with the team who wins.

Thrawn
2 Sep 2007, 02:12
I will be cheering my team, supporting them. Goal for goal. I want to see the players enjoy their football, sing the song. I know I will if we win, with gusto. If any Carlton supporter wants to challenge this by saying that this is a disgraceful attitude, then they can go and **** off. To belittle one of your own for supporting their team, cheering for them and singing the song after a win (if we manage to), that's the only "disgraceful attitude" here. Because IMO quite frankly, if you do that, you're supporting and cheering for the priority pick and not the players.

I would still be happy to see them win, and sing the song once more. Not all of us have lost our pride. Whatever happens, will happen... I just hope it will be a good game, PP or not. It's not like our future will be ruined by missing one unproven player who may or may not star.

I'm sick of this losing mentality to be honest, it's a deep rooted problem and part of the problem why we've been so bad since 2002. The players should never purposely drop games - because when that happens, the passion for the jumper is gone. Lose that and they won't care anymore, and keep on bending over... thus making the rot continue. But still, we are a chance to lose based on the players missing - and if we do, I hope we still try our guts out. Getting the PP will help, but I won't be too upset if we win - because to me no win is meaningless. The ethos in which we were respected and feared, where the players prided themselves in being with Carlton, should never die - or at least, should not be continued to be slung through the mud on the basis of over optimistic views on an extra draft pick.

Even if I'm the only supporter there cheering whenever we kick a goal or take a lead, I don't care. At least I will have my dignity and pride in tact. Where I will truly value what the club stood for and what made it great, for the most part of over a century.

Carn the Blues.

Thrawn
2 Sep 2007, 03:26
Don't bother with him KS, you're wasting time.

FrangaRoo
2 Sep 2007, 09:28
Or as someone pointed out in the simpsons thread like the soccer episode, half back passes to center, center holds it, holds it .. ..

absolutely!:thumbsu:

Train wreck TV or not, im heading strait home after our game to watch it.

Deenamite
2 Sep 2007, 09:49
Claim by Jon Ralph in TheHeraldSun that Carlton should be investigated for match-fixing. Interesting. This will be such a bad game. I don't know why I'm going.

Bay Pie
2 Sep 2007, 10:30
By contrast, the Blues have 16 flags and are therefore the most successful Club in the competition. That is just a fact. The reason why is because we have a success-culture. Carlton view everything other than a flag as failure. We create teams to win a string a flags, rather than just sneak into the 8 and then straight-sets-exit like Colllingwood. :)

How have you gone since 2000? Recent history show a successful culture for picking up wooden cutlery or close to it.

Go the Blues????

Realistic Tiger
2 Sep 2007, 10:42
A fitting result for the game today would be a draw or a Melbourne win, then Carlton will get punished again for blatant cheating. :)

parrot
2 Sep 2007, 13:26
How have you gone since 2000? ...

We won a flag a few years before that. Oh but lets ignore that. Just hilarious. :)

parrot
2 Sep 2007, 13:28
A fitting result for the game today would be a draw or a Melbourne win...

For you perhaps. Wouldn't be suprised if the Blues win this one.. To be honest the Tiges deserve and need the #1 pick way way more than us. :)

Jeremias
2 Sep 2007, 13:32
A fitting result for the game today would be a draw or a Melbourne win, then Carlton will get punished again for blatant cheating. :)

Blatant cheating?

You mean tanking? That's not cheating matey, as much as you bitter Tigger supporters would hope it is.

Must suck winning the spoon but not getting pick 1. Oh well, enjoy the spoon :)

johnnyhoward
2 Sep 2007, 13:52
Carn Blues!

parrot
2 Sep 2007, 13:55
Carn Blues!

I did want the Saints to win yesterday. Phew. :)

mediumsizered
2 Sep 2007, 13:57
How have you gone since 2000? Recent history show a successful culture for picking up wooden cutlery or close to it.

Go the Blues????

Actually since 2000 we have won as many premierships as Collingwood, but thanks for asking.

- PC -
2 Sep 2007, 14:01
I hope Kreuzer is worth it

mediumsizered
2 Sep 2007, 14:02
That depends on what you call success as there are varying levels of success of course. Carlton cheated the salary cap regarding at least one of those premierships, and there is more to success than just winning premierships. Total matches won, and total wooden spoons should not be dismissed regarding the success of a club.

There is only one measure of success & that is premierships. I imagine, though, no matter what the outcome over the coming week/s for Collingwood, the Collingwood faithful will say they have been successful. The reality is only one team will be successful come the end of September. The other 15 teams will look back on another wasted season.

Shallow
2 Sep 2007, 14:35
What happeneds if its a draw?

johnnyhoward
2 Sep 2007, 14:36
What happeneds if its a draw?
Both teams are ****ed over ;) They won't want it to be a draw.

celtic_pride
2 Sep 2007, 14:43
How is not not trying to win a game 'cheating' ?
We're not using anything to try and get an unfair and illegal advantage over any other club, we're just taking advantage of the draft system the AFL have set up ?
Blame the AFL not Carlton, we're only getting what back what we were wrongfully robbed all those years ago.

Rocca Flys High
2 Sep 2007, 15:07
DRAW! DRAW! DRAW!

If only Richmond won, the ultimate desire would've been achived..but Still

DRAW! DRAW!

Why don't they just play opposites? Try to conceed as many behinds as possible?

parrot
2 Sep 2007, 15:18
DRAW! DRAW! DRAW!

DRAW! DRAW!

Gee, I thought you would have been grateful for your "PP win" against the Blues. Some people are just so hard to please. :)

Zarko
2 Sep 2007, 15:41
Carlton by 27

johnnyhoward
2 Sep 2007, 15:50
DRAW! DRAW! DRAW!

DRAW! DRAW!

What they should do is pick the sides as normal with no element of tanking, then whatever each team scores counts towards the opposition's score.

We'd probably see Carlton win if they played to their full potential, so they'd donate their score to Melbourne.

parrot
2 Sep 2007, 16:05
What they should do is pick the sides as normal with no element of tanking, then whatever each team scores counts towards the opposition's score.

We'd probably see Carlton win if they played to their full potential, so they'd donate their score to Melbourne.

Yesterday was the official Closure of the Saints Window of Opportunity. How are you feeling? Spoon number #27 may be just around the corner. :)

johnnyhoward
2 Sep 2007, 16:48
Yesterday was the official Closure of the Saints Window of Opportunity. How are you feeling? Spoon number #27 may be just around the corner. :)
The 'window' closed when we sacked GT - you can't win a flag with a first year coach. But a new one will open in 2009, while the Blues are still toughing it out in 15th :)

lenny&carl
2 Sep 2007, 16:53
The Blues are settled in for their pre-match drinks at the Tankerville Arms.

dylan101
2 Sep 2007, 16:55
Melbourne by 28

parrot
2 Sep 2007, 16:56
The 'window' closed when we sacked GT...

Actually the window "closed" when you appointed GT. The worse coach ever seen at this level. 26 spoons is a pretty amazing record BTW. :)

richcogs
2 Sep 2007, 17:30
Anyone have a radio link pleaseeeeeeeee!

johnnyhoward
2 Sep 2007, 17:56
Actually the window "closed" when you appointed GT. The worse coach ever seen at this level. 26 spoons is a pretty amazing record BTW. :)
If the window closed when we appointed GT, then that means our window only opened when Lyon came on board. A 1-year window? Hmmm...sounds like Carlton's 2004 window of making the top 12. :)

Lach72
2 Sep 2007, 17:59
Cmon Dee boys...out tank these wallies...

parrot
2 Sep 2007, 17:59
If the window closed when we appointed GT, then that means our window only opened when Lyon came on board.... :)

No it doesn't. GT totally stuffed up your opportunity, and now Lyon is coping the consequences. The Saints are resuming their traditional basket-case status. :)

dylan101
2 Sep 2007, 18:00
good to see there aren't any late changes

dylan101
2 Sep 2007, 18:01
Anyone have a radio link pleaseeeeeeeee!

http://xml.afl.com.au/swf/live_stats.htm?gameID=undefined

go into the game and there's sen and abc

Realistic Tiger
2 Sep 2007, 18:02
Blatant cheating?

You mean tanking? That's not cheating matey, as much as you bitter Tigger supporters would hope it is.

Must suck winning the spoon but not getting pick 1. Oh well, enjoy the spoon :)
You know what they say about footy and karma it has a way of biting you on the arse. Would be a shame for the Blues to tank the last 10 weeks only to stuff it up over the next 2.5 hours.:)

parrot
2 Sep 2007, 18:02
You know what they say about footy and karma it has a way of biting you on the arse....

e.g. Tiges = 16th = 2007. :)

dylan101
2 Sep 2007, 18:10
Lance Whitnall marks and kicks a point

Ron
2 Sep 2007, 18:11
Carlton are in front. Blow the final siren now.

johnnyhoward
Sigh - first signs of tanking, Fatboy Whitnall misses.

dylan101
and big Lance kicks another point

rfctigerarmy
At least Carlton are winning. Thats something.

dylan101
2 Sep 2007, 18:12
Jeff White goals

stainedclass
damn there goes the 0-0 draw

Bartram_Class
Why make it so obvious Lance?

Mr Magoo
another miss from Whitnall ....

parrot
2 Sep 2007, 18:13
Damn, we miss 2 goals, and the Dees capitalise on their first opportunity. Oh well. :)

Mr Magoo
2 Sep 2007, 18:13
White gets the 1st goal for Melbourne ....

C'MON CARLTON

KING-JAMES
2 Sep 2007, 18:14
one of the first times i will support the blues.

Realistic Tiger
The tank is well and truly on Whitnall misses 2 easy shots from 20-25 out slight angle while White snags one from outside 50.

Shallow
Remmber just because a team is loosing doesnt mean they are tanking.

richcogs
2 Sep 2007, 18:15
jones goals - gameover!

dylan101
Nathan Jones kicks a goal, good start for the blues

Melbourne 2.0 12
Carlton 0.2 2

parrot
Nice goal Dees. :)

KING-JAMES
2 Sep 2007, 18:17
Blues already down 12-2... as the guy in the hawks cheer squad would say LIFT

dylan101
Lynden Dunn kicks a point from about 40 metres out

richcogs
Melbourne behind, tanking?????:thumbsu:

Tigerdream
It's obvious what the carlton scum are doing, why even play this game, just call it off now.

TheGeneral
2 Sep 2007, 18:18
The tank is well and truly on Whitnall misses 2 easy shots from 20-25 out slight angle while White snags one from outside 50.
Richo's been tanking for 15 seasons if those misses were deliberate.

johnnyhoward
2 Sep 2007, 18:18
Carlton have done their job, nice tank boys :thumbsu:

Tigerdream
2 Sep 2007, 18:19
If a fraction of your team had Richo's heart you'd be perennial finals contenders.

rfctigerarmy

Couldn't make it to the 'G this afternoon?

richcogs
Waite about to miss a shot on goal!

hotdish
Where's Brad Miller playing - back or forward? i need him to score less than 80 in Supercoach for me to win

dylan101
2 Sep 2007, 18:20
rushed behind 13-3

johnnyhoward
It's obvious what the carlton scum are doing, why even play this game, just call it off now.
The best thing would be that not many goals are scored so that we have 25 minute quarters instead of 30+. Terrible farce this game.

PHX
LOL! Nice kick. :rolleyes:

KING-JAMES
Waite kick doesnt make the distance, its on.

johnnyhoward
2 Sep 2007, 18:22
Every post in this thread will mention tanking.

KING-JAMES
I give up on hoping for pick 5 carlton are just to bad.

Dez!
Where's Brad Miller playing - back or forward? i need him to score less than 80 in Supercoach for me to win

Thats a given.

Shallow
Robbo misses

Mel 14 Carl 3

parrot
2 Sep 2007, 18:23
I give up on hoping for pick 5 carlton are just to bad.

You guys have to make up your minds. We either tanking or not tanking. lol. :)

johnnyhoward
20-3, easy goal to the Dees. This'll be an absolute caning - no way back for the Dees now, they have no choice but to win.

rfctigerarmy
You guys have to make up your minds. We either tanking or not tanking. lol. :)

Both.

Shallow
2 Sep 2007, 18:24
Bruce gets the goal

Mel 20 Carl 3

johnnyhoward
Robertson another one, 10 seconds from the bounce. 26-3.

cbreban
would be humorous if carlton lose their priority pick for cheating.