View Full Version : Trade Value Of Fremantle Players
NiGHTFuRY
31 Aug 2007, 03:00
This is a hypothetical at the moment so don't flame me just yet. This topic has surfaced so I guess it's valid to discuss amongst our self's here at the Purple Horde and others if they wish.
What would be serious, fair and true trade value in your opinion of these players??? What would YOU expect be the least we could trade them away for? If there is another player you think we could trade for picks/KKP/other players, please do not hesitate to add them to the thread.
1.Hasleby
2.Headland?
3.Murphy?
Dyslexic Emo
31 Aug 2007, 03:33
last time i got banned for a week for farting in the elevator.
Mate it's not that you farted in the elevator that was the problem, it was that you followed through and then went around showing everyone your 'tail'
Headland shoud not be traded under any circumstances - just needs to tow the Harvey line (which I think he will)
Hasleby - Probably not worth much in market. Carlton would probably be interested, but 2nd rounder at best. So, either he signs for less $$ or we get jipped. I think Hase would be a superstar in a side that had a couple of quick players.
Murphy - Late 1st round pick. But I reckon he could be a great Full Back if given an opportunity.
GentlemanJeff
31 Aug 2007, 13:00
1.Hasleby
2.Headland?
3.Murphy?
Headland is damaged goods and tainted by scandal, so I think we will need to have a fire sale.
sdb4884
31 Aug 2007, 13:03
I'd trade for Haselby if I were West Coast; Could be a valuable goal kicking forward rather than a midfielder.
magnusio
31 Aug 2007, 13:10
is there any one else who is likely to be traded??
Scotland
31 Aug 2007, 13:13
Hasleby is a proven quality player. Given his injury record his value wouldn't be that great, in the sense that most clubs would like to have him on their list, but won't want to give up much in the way of a trade and cap space for him as there is no guarantee he will return to his best.
Headland came to Freo to be back in WA. I highly doubt we want him, and I don't know if a few years after he came back he'd be prepared to go East again. Skillful player, but temperamental and can go missing.
Murphy has the most real value of the 3. Young, has good size and skills, is Victorian and can't get a regular game. I don't think he would fetch a first round pick (what he was) as he hasn't delivered that much in the games he has played, but a first round upgrade, or maybe first and second round upgrade wouldn't be unreasonable.
I don't think trading the first two would bring in anything that would offer more to the side/list than what those players currently do, but I think trading Murphy could.
David_Brent
31 Aug 2007, 13:41
Des has nearly been traded to WC and Bombers over the past few yrs. Not sure where's at now though.
theGav56
31 Aug 2007, 13:52
The only realistic trade on your list is Murphy. the others r=trade value would be such that they are more value to us to keep them. Same with players such as Farmer, Tarrant, Dunn or any other of the players often regarded as not being as valuable to us as they should be. We won't get what they are worth, and whoever we recruit or select won't be as good.
FootyEater
31 Aug 2007, 14:06
I think if the dockers were to trade murphy and a second round draft pick we would gett he western bulldogs first round.
as far as hasleby goes, i think we could use he and headland to geta first round pick as well.
would be handy to have three first round picks. palmer masten and morton, that would be a nice midfield in four years time. its unrealistic, but it would be nice
NiGHTFuRY
31 Aug 2007, 14:15
I think if the dockers were to trade murphy and a second round draft pick we would gett he western bulldogs first round.
as far as hasleby goes, i think we could use he and headland to geta first round pick as well.
would be handy to have three first round picks. palmer masten and morton, that would be a nice midfield in four years time. its unrealistic, but it would be nice
Ebert woulds be good to pickup. He would be a machine... but keeping it all western Australian would lessen the chances of loosing them interstate after we get them up and running.
I know a lot of people don't want to trade Haselby & Headland.... but honestly, we need to make some tough decisions to change our club for the better. I know it's unpopular, but should we just continue on with the course we have set for the past 6 seasons. I think the times are changing, or I sincerely hope so, and if you want a change for the better sometimes tough decisions have to be made.
IMO i think a good trade would be haselby for sampi plus maybe a kate pick since his record, sampi is still young has great skills,strength, agility etc and we should develop him into a midfeilder
FootyEater
31 Aug 2007, 14:26
IMO i think a good trade would be haselby for sampi plus maybe a kate pick since his record, sampi is still young has great skills,strength, agility etc and we should develop him into a midfeilder
YOU HAVE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME!!!!! look no offence mate, but sampi is fat, uncommitted and to be honest except for one derby i havent ever seen him play a good game, and that includes wafl. i wouldnt take sampi in the preseason players draft when he would be free. in fact i wouldnt have him at my local footy club.
hang on..... i get it, your jiking right..... hahaha you got me, thought you were serious about us wanting sampi. :p
Sampi is worthless now. It would take a miracle for a club to even pick him up in the pre-season draft.
FootyEater
31 Aug 2007, 14:31
Sampi is worthless now. It would take a miracle for a club to even pick him up in the pre-season draft.
dont reckon sth freo want him
Perhaps it might be of some value if posters actually read Hase's stats for the year.
They were shown on 7 during the week.
Comes 1st in most categories.
Open your eyes guys.
Given the Murphy isn't getting a game this week one can only assume his chances of being put up for trade are high. Sad because I really like him and don't believe CC ever game him the time of day.
He would be a good fit at melbourne, Richmond or the Bulldogs.
Would we let him go for a swap of 1st and 2nd round draft picks (our 1 + 2 for their 1 + 2)?:rolleyes:
FootyEater
31 Aug 2007, 15:45
Perhaps it might be of some value if posters actually read Hase's stats for the year.
They were shown on 7 during the week.
Comes 1st in most categories.
Open your eyes guys.
Given the Murphy isn't getting a game this week one can only assume his chances of being put up for trade are high. Sad because I really like him and don't believe CC ever game him the time of day.
He would be a good fit at melbourne, Richmond or the Bulldogs.
Would we let him go for a swap of 1st and 2nd round draft picks (our 1 + 2 for their 1 + 2)?:rolleyes:
stats sometimes lie, i understand that he is all of those things, but he is 27 next year, injury prone, wants a pay increase, and sometimes looks laconic, when we could trade him and get a gun youngster from east freo. i understand trading hasleby would be a loss, but everyone would be saying what a good call it was in three years time when rhys palmer is dominating for freo and is only 20, and hasleby is plodding around with a sore back
NiGHTFuRY
31 Aug 2007, 16:02
stats sometimes lie, i understand that he is all of those things, but he is 27 next year, injury prone, wants a pay increase, and sometimes looks laconic, when we could trade him and get a gun youngster from east freo. i understand trading hasleby would be a loss, but everyone would be saying what a good call it was in three years time when rhys palmer is dominating for freo and is only 20, and hasleby is plodding around with a sore back
Thats the tough decisions I'm talking about. A lot of fellow fans will resist, but if we want to turn things around, you have to make sacrifices.
If we keep things the same, the current regime, we will not will a premiership, not even a pot to piss in. We'll be stuck in a Richmond style Groundhog Day of finishing outside the eight one year and inside the next if we're lucky. We shouldn't be afraid to make some changes. If Harv's is appointed and serious about a premiership then it should be an interesting period.
Obeanie1
31 Aug 2007, 16:15
I'd trade Morton and Sampi for Haselby.
Morton is young and has potential, Sampi is just like the "Get one free meal deal", could flop but then could amaze. You would get Sampi for bare minimum $$$$ and just pass on your last draft pick. Considering this draft is supposidly week Sampi for pick 105 and low $$ would be worth a punt. Wouldn't it?
They reckon Sampi has the skill level of Judd, just needs his head fixed. At least you know the talent is there, its how do you harness it!!!
If Sheedy goes to Freo I'LL bet my right nut you will draft him.
Can you trade two players for one??
theGav56
31 Aug 2007, 16:24
i understand trading hasleby would be a loss, but everyone would be saying what a good call it was in three years time when rhys palmer is dominating for freo and is only 20, and hasleby is plodding around with a sore back
I think you have an unrealistic expectation of how likely kids who are untried at AFL level are to become decent players, let alone dominate. The highest draft picks on our list are Headland, Hasleby, Longmuir, Dunn and Pavlich. All of them are at an age where they should still be expecting to play at least another 100 games. I think 2 of them are likely to.
Who else here thinks Murphy could work as a FB? God knows we need one.
Firrito as a midfielder has been ok at full back but not good enough for the future.
Wouldn't trade for our first pick though.
Belnakor
31 Aug 2007, 17:21
Murphy is too slow and his workrate is too low for him to play at FB. Unless he was playing on the Gtrain. And in that case he would be too short.
FootyEater
31 Aug 2007, 17:30
I think you have an unrealistic expectation of how likely kids who are untried at AFL level are to become decent players, let alone dominate. The highest draft picks on our list are Headland, Hasleby, Longmuir, Dunn and Pavlich. All of them are at an age where they should still be expecting to play at least another 100 games. I think 2 of them are likely to.
its always going to be a risk, i mean hase could injury himself, touch wood that he doesnt, on the track this week and have to retire. but if we had two top ten draft picks say, and we had to lose murphy and hase to get them, then i would be betting atleast one of those players would be a gun. plus dont underestimate dunn just yet, i reckon he will carve up this weekend, you watch, he will fly under the radar and play a corker
FootyEater
31 Aug 2007, 17:32
Morton is young and has potential, Sampi is just like the "Get one free meal deal", could flop but then could amaze. You would get Sampi for bare minimum $$$$ and just pass on your last draft pick. Considering this draft is supposidly week Sampi for pick 105 and low $$ would be worth a punt. Wouldn't it?
They reckon Sampi has the skill level of Judd, just needs his head fixed. At least you know the talent is there, its how do you harness it!!!
under no circumstances would i want sampi at the dockers, we have enough discipline issues at the moment. isnt it even touch and go if he even wants to play afl again anyway. mitch morton would be a nice pickup. we're really after the draft picks, though it is an interesting consideration
FootyEater
31 Aug 2007, 17:35
Thats the tough decisions I'm talking about. A lot of fellow fans will resist, but if we want to turn things around, you have to make sacrifices.
If we keep things the same, the current regime, we will not will a premiership, not even a pot to piss in. We'll be stuck in a Richmond style Groundhog Day of finishing outside the eight one year and inside the next if we're lucky. We shouldn't be afraid to make some changes. If Harv's is appointed and serious about a premiership then it should be an interesting period.
completely agree
Haselby - pick 4 -8
Headland - pick 20 - 30
Murphy - pick 20 - 30
Scotland
31 Aug 2007, 18:17
Haselby - pick 4 -8
Headland - pick 20 - 30
Murphy - pick 20 - 30
No, no, yes.
Ditto. Every club always overrates their players for trade value (yes, I do it too for Port players). Unless they are pure class with no issues smalls don't command top picks on trades, KPP's have a premium, so Murphy is your most tradeable of those 3. Certainly the only one I'd want Port to even glance at.
If you're talking Cale Morton I say yes :D ...and your first pick.
Haselby would cut it up in your midfield...Think Priddis, with a bit more experience I reckon.
I don't rate Mitch...he's a lot like what we already have...A hot and cold, soft, bad decision maker.
I said no to Sampi before, but if he costs nothing in a weak draft we could do worse...Get him off the Whoppers and flog him on the track...Pav at FF, Tarrant at CHF/HFF and the Wiz and Sampi in the pockets/hff's.
Interesting
1.Hasleby
Wont be traded. We would get poor value for the trade for him. I couldn't see any team giving more than 2nd rnd pick for a player who at his best is an elite player and and AA only a few years back. His best may be behind him due to injury, but with the right mix he is still of extreme value. Even this season there have been a number of games where he's been a key player. His clearance and disposal value are to important for us. Watch us get murdered in the middle with the young guys this weekend and you'll see what I mean (NOTE: humble pie is warming up in the oven in case I'm wrong).
Having said that, if somebody was willing to give a high 1st rounder, then maybe. I just don't think it will happen.
2.Headland?
Interesting one. In the right team he would be a superstar. Imagine if he was able to work alongside the Eagles midfield or in the current Geelong line-up. He's quality and we would be mad to get rid of him. Before soft tissue injuries in the later half of the season he has probably had one of his better seasons with us. Again, unless the price was very very good, then just not worth it. And I can't see us getting anything near value for money.
3.Murphy?
This has possibilities. Unfortunately though, I can't see Bullies or Carlton giving up anything but 2nd round pick (i.e. pick 21-23 odd) at best and then they would probably want our 3rd or something like that. Still may well be worth it as it's looking more an more likely that he's just not going to find a place in the team.
melbournemartin
31 Aug 2007, 18:59
Murphy - GIMME GIMME GIMME!!!
summerthebat
31 Aug 2007, 19:01
PAPA J, I know it was against Melbourne...... but....... our midfield was the best I have seen all year last week and Hasleby had nothing to do with that. I really do think his stats flatter his impact on a game, players moved in there like Solomon and Farmer indicated there are many midfield options if he is not with us next year.
summerthebat
31 Aug 2007, 19:01
Aaron Davey pls?
I'll take your first pick. :thumbsu:
PAPA J, I know it was against Melbourne...... but....... our midfield was the best I have seen all year last week and Hasleby had nothing to do with that. I really do think his stats flatter his impact on a game, players moved in there like Solomon and Farmer indicated there are many midfield options if he is not with us next year.
I don't think you can learn much about anybody playing a lowly team, with half their players missing, and with little to gain on your home turf etc. etc. (no offense Melbourne). Take a look at the Derby or Adelaide game.
In any case, you may well be right. But I just can't see us getting value for money for him. If Richmond gives us 1st rnd pick or the Blues want to give up their stink-of-tank priority pick, then deal. That's not going to happen, so lets just build some players around him and he can be a valuable contributor for some years yet.
summerthebat
31 Aug 2007, 20:56
I don't think you can learn much about anybody playing a lowly team, with half their players missing, and with little to gain on your home turf etc. etc. (no offense Melbourne). Take a look at the Derby or Adelaide game.
In any case, you may well be right. But I just can't see us getting value for money for him. If Richmond gives us 1st rnd pick or the Blues want to give up their stink-of-tank priority pick, then deal. That's not going to happen, so lets just build some players around him and he can be a valuable contributor for some years yet.
Yeah true, there is really no point trading him or delisting him unless he refuses to take a pay cut. I don't think his trade value is anywhere near what it could have been.
ImperialPurple
31 Aug 2007, 22:53
I have just cottoned on to the fact that South Freo has the bye this weekend - and Murphy still couldn't even crack the emergency list for the team - even considering the "outs" we have... he must be way, way, waaaaaaaay out of favour........ :eek:
I think it must be pretty much a fait accompli that he's gorn. Gorn to the highest bidder I'd say....
summerthebat
31 Aug 2007, 23:25
I still can't believe West Coast wouldn't agree with my suggested trade deal.
Parker, Cook, McManus, Murphy and Walker
for
Chris Judd
FIVE FOR ONE!!!!
FIVEEEEEEEEE FOR ONEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!
BK Eaglesfan
31 Aug 2007, 23:38
Haselby would potentially carve it up for a team where he wasn't expected to do the running and take the knocks in the midfield. We have seen time and time again he is dangerous as a forward.....in a team with the luxury of playing him as a forward, Haselby would likely extend his career and be a real weapon.
dominguez
1 Sep 2007, 00:44
You're assuming that we'd get a top 5 pick for Hasleby, and we wouldn't. We'd possibly get a pick between 10 and 15, more likely a pick between 15-25. A late first round/early second round pick is no guarantee, we know that Hasleby's best is very good.
If the choice was between Hasleby and Palmer it would be a no brainer, 16 clubs would take Palmer. Do you think Melbourne/Carlton/Richmond will be sitting there saying "who can we take with our valuable early pick? I don't know, its too hard. We'll let Fremantle stress over that decision, we'll take a 27 year old midfielder who lacks pace and is injury prone."
It would be crazy to bring in Tarrant and Solomon to help win a flag in 2006 then lose Bell and Hasleby for very little less than 12 months later.
Black JuJu
1 Sep 2007, 01:25
Haselby - pick 4 -8
Headland - pick 20 - 30
Murphy - pick 20 - 30
Haselby - late first round at best, or with your first pick an upgrade in the draft. Heard a few murmurs about Hase's future but I doubt Freo would actually trade him, especially with Carr and Bell probably winding down within the next 2-3 years as well. He's quality, worth holding on to.
Headland - same as Haselby but definitely won't be traded.
Murphy - yeah, about right.
Not sure if anyone else tradeable would hold any real value. Maybe Gilmore but I'm pretty sure he just got a new contract and has been honourable in his rucking efforts since Sandilands went down.
Is David Mundy still an untouchable?
Ricky Dyson and Bradley/Johns for Hasleby? You get a young up and coming quick midfielder and KPP forward project and we get an in and under midifelder with injury problems
Black JuJu
1 Sep 2007, 03:43
Haselby would strike me as exactly what Essendon don't need at this point in time.
He'd be a better fit at Richmond or maybe Melbourne.
Did him and Cuddles get along well?
anyone thinking of trading haselby is slightly challenged.
He bleeds freo, and is a decent player. He is like an upgraded McManus.
Ricky Dyson and Bradley/Johns for Hasleby? You get a young up and coming quick midfielder and KPP forward project and we get an in and under midifelder with injury problems
Do not want Brad;ey anywhere near our club...
anyone thinking of trading haselby is slightly challenged.
He bleeds freo, and is a decent player. He is like an upgraded McManus.
Slightly off topic, but have to pull you up on this one. In terms of skill and disposal, no doubt he is a very upgraded McManus. He is probably one of the best in our list in that regard. But he is no where near as hard in terms of work ethic and attack on the ball/man. If he would/could (fitness?) work as hard as McManus throughout the game there would be absolutely no talk of trading him.
dockers_bengals
1 Sep 2007, 19:17
I still can't believe West Coast wouldn't agree with my suggested trade deal.
Parker, Cook, McManus, Murphy and Walker
for
Chris Judd
FIVE FOR ONE!!!!
FIVEEEEEEEEE FOR ONEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!
And he has a dodgey groin,sounds good to me:thumbsu:
Yeah good point I.P.murphy looks very gawn,I prefer Kiwi anyway.