12:00 PM, Sun 2/Sep, AUSTAR Arena
North Ballarat Rebels
vs
Sandringham Dragons

12:00 PM, Sun 2/Sep, Seymour Football Ground
Murray Bushrangers
vs
Western Jets

As the final round of the Tac Cup season approaches just wondering everyones tips for the round? What matches are you going to? And who do you think will end up in the top 4 as the race is tight at the top of the ladder.

HBF
31 Aug 2007, 10:01
Off to the double-header at MC Labour Park tomorrow.

over the top
31 Aug 2007, 11:05
Tac Cup RD 18 Teams (http://taccup.footballvic.com.au/default.aspx?s=genericnewsdisplay&kw=54&aid=125754)

footyman
31 Aug 2007, 11:10
Northern v Geelong and Murray v Western the two matches of the round, both with significant finals implications.

If Geelong beat Northern tomorrow, the top four sides will be done and dusted (Gippsland, Calder, Western and Murray - the Knights miss out). But assuming Northern beat Geelong - then Sunday's game is massive - winner could finish any position inside the top four, but the loser drops to 5th (provided Calder and Gippsland to both win).

If Nth Ballarat ends up 8th I don't think the 5th placed side will have too much to worry about in an elimination final. But if Oakleigh make it, well it's a different situation altogether. As for tomorrow's game, it depends which Oakleigh turn up. Regardless of their result tomorrow, It'll probably go down as a year of lost opportunities for them - some uncontrollably like injuries and school footy, but others through dreadful goalkicking. In the end their one point loss to NT, along with losses to low placed sides Sandringham, Dandenong and Bendigo will come back to haunt them.

So many different scenarios to take into account, but I'd think Gippsland, Calder, Murray and Northern would be the favourite combination for the top four. But on recent form anything can happen.

mjp
31 Aug 2007, 12:39
So many different scenarios to take into account, but I'd think Gippsland, Calder, Murray and Northern would be the favourite combination for the top four. But on recent form anything can happen.

Prediction for the Murray/Western game at Seymour, Footyman? Are Western going to get the 'Whacking' predicted by Darren Flanagan on 'theoval.com.au'?

macca69
31 Aug 2007, 12:44
Tac Cup RD 18 Teams (http://taccup.footballvic.com.au/default.aspx?s=genericnewsdisplay&kw=54&aid=125754)

Croft, Ottens and Sandilands named on the ball, would be interesting to see if they all start there.

foj1
31 Aug 2007, 13:17
Call me crazy but I think Dandenong will knock off Calder tomorrow. I reckon the Calder boys got themselves up bigtime for the Falcons game and they may not have much left tomorrow. If Oakleigh finish 8th the worst position to finish is 5th. Oakleigh can beat anyone on their day.

Mr_Catt
31 Aug 2007, 13:44
Northern v Geelong and Murray v Western the two matches of the round, both with significant finals implications.

If Geelong beat Northern tomorrow, the top four sides will be done and dusted (Gippsland, Calder, Western and Murray - the Knights miss out). But assuming Northern beat Geelong - then Sunday's game is massive - winner could finish any position inside the top four, but the loser drops to 5th (provided Calder and Gippsland to both win).

If Nth Ballarat ends up 8th I don't think the 5th placed side will have too much to worry about in an elimination final. But if Oakleigh make it, well it's a different situation altogether. As for tomorrow's game, it depends which Oakleigh turn up. Regardless of their result tomorrow, It'll probably go down as a year of lost opportunities for them - some uncontrollably like injuries and school footy, but others through dreadful goalkicking. In the end their one point loss to NT, along with losses to low placed sides Sandringham, Dandenong and Bendigo will come back to haunt them.

Have a massive issue with this.

Why are we talking about finals and equations, etc? This competition relys and matters little on who wins a grand final- it simply provides a distraction for .

If the competition, and therefore its supporters stuck to the real facts and reasons as to why the TAC Cup was established, then we as a state of victoria would have many more kids drafted- Development.

mjp
31 Aug 2007, 14:06

Why are we talking about finals and equations, etc? This competition relys and matters little on who wins a grand final- it simply provides a distraction for .

If the competition, and therefore its supporters stuck to the real facts and reasons as to why the TAC Cup was established, then we as a state of victoria would have many more kids drafted- Development.

At least you understand one of the aims of the competition.

HBF
31 Aug 2007, 14:20
Interesting to see Cotchin named in the BP for the Knights.

blues2010
31 Aug 2007, 14:24
Interesting to see Cotchin named in the BP for the Knights.
he could play anywhere and look good but I doubt he will be BP

HBF
31 Aug 2007, 14:30
he could play anywhere and look good but I doubt he will be BP

No chance he'll line up in the BP.
IMO, he'll start in the middle, and rotate onto a HFF, probably swapping with Kelly.

footyman
31 Aug 2007, 15:51

I completely agree that the TAC Cup is a developmental competition as much as if not more so than the results side of it - BUT we're talking about finals and equations because there is a ladder, a match on the MCG on Grand Final day that two teams will play against each other in for a premiership cup.

To simply think the TAC Cup competition is 100% development and 0% about the result is naive. If its purely about Development, tell me why clubs have forward opposition scouts? Tell me why they put time into working on match ups?

Until the powers to be remove the ladder, remove the finals system, remove the rewarding of a premiership cup and simply play 18 rounds where nobody will be declared the winner, we'll talk about finals scenarios mate.

And to be quite frank, I really believe in finals being important. The kids get 1, 2, 3 or 4 more chances to perform in front of clubs, a last roll of the dice, in great weather, against quality opponents on high quality footy grounds.

TopGun
31 Aug 2007, 16:30
Prediction for the Murray/Western game at Seymour, Footyman? Are Western going to get the 'Whacking' predicted by Darren Flanagan on 'theoval.com.au'?

I'll be heading out to seymour this weekend and it should be a tough game between two great sides. Personally I think the Jets wont do too badly against the bushies and will definately put up a fight for a top 4 spot going into finals.

footyman
31 Aug 2007, 16:31
Prediction for the Murray/Western game at Seymour, Footyman? Are Western going to get the 'Whacking' predicted by Darren Flanagan on 'theoval.com.au'? They might. Murray haven't let an opposition kick more than 100 points since last time the Jets beat them in Round 5. In the past 5 games they've conceded scores of 43, 52, 77, 41 and 41. A solid defence who are working well together. And they set up such good rebound from there.

The question is will the Jets be able to contain the Bushies to a low score if thats the sort of match it is?

S.Barnes#11
1 Sep 2007, 10:24
Im off to see the double header at MC Labour.
Really interested that Cotchin was named there, although it means nothing...Is Barham playing for Geelong?? That would be a good match-up him and Zaharakis going at it on a wing, bith quick and exciting to watch.

macca69
1 Sep 2007, 18:25
Anyone know any of the results from today's games?

footyman
1 Sep 2007, 18:33

http://reg.sportingpulse.com/olr_v3/rpt_progressive.cgi?a=MR_&aID=8&ext=1

blues2010
1 Sep 2007, 18:42
knights also by about 8 goals

footyman
1 Sep 2007, 18:58
Live ladder:

Gippsland
Calder
Northern
Western*
Murray*
Eastern
Oakleigh
----------------
Nth Ballarat*

Nth Ballarat:
win tomorrow - take 8th spot from Oakleigh.
lose tomorrow - finish 9th, missing finals

Western:
win tomorrow - can finish top depending on margin, but certain top three finish.
lose tomorrow - finish 5th

Murray:
win tomorrow - definate top four finish, either 3rd or 4th depending on margin
lose tomorrow - finish 5th

Have the feeling next week might be:

Gippsland v Northern
Calder v Murray
Western v Nth Ballarat
Geelong v Eastern

Which would see four Metro v Country battles!

Chandra
1 Sep 2007, 19:02
Have the feeling next week might be:

Gippsland v Northern
Calder v Murray
Western v Nth Ballarat
Geelong v Eastern

Which would see four Metro v Country battles!

I'll go for the above except:
Western vs Oakleigh after Sandringham knock off Nth Ballarat tomorrow

macca69
1 Sep 2007, 19:13
I'll go for the above except:
Western vs Oakleigh after Sandringham knock off Nth Ballarat tomorrow

That's my tip as well.

footyman
1 Sep 2007, 19:37
That's my tip as well.
You might be right fellas, the Rebels aren't much but I don't think Sandy are either!

Oakleigh would be a better finals contender than the Rebels, but they need their local neighbour the Dragons to do the right thing by them tomorrow.

HBF
1 Sep 2007, 20:15
Had the pleasure of being out at MC Labour Park today, and IMHO, saw the best individual game from any player that I have seen from a TAC game this year.

Mitch Farmer

Absolutely starred for Calder today, and did everything. Kicked goals, provided some grunt through the midfield, and even went back and helped out in defence. And, almost kicked the winning goal.

over the top
1 Sep 2007, 23:57
Had the pleasure of being out at MC Labour Park today, and IMHO, saw the best individual game from any player that I have seen from a TAC game this year.

Mitch Farmer

Absolutely starred for Calder today, and did everything. Kicked goals, provided some grunt through the midfield, and even went back and helped out in defence. And, almost kicked the winning goal.

What did you think of the following players games as ive found my thoughts on these players varied from a few of my mates:
-bongetti
-hurley
-veszpremi
-cachia
-sanfillipo
-henderson

and you can give :thumbsu:totino:thumbsu: a wrap if you want with his two goals :p:D

also, is chivers from oakliegh probably getting the invite to draft camp now? another BOG. wasnt there, can anyone tell me how he played, or was it another "questionable" BOG?

Weaver
2 Sep 2007, 11:58
also, is chivers from oakliegh probably getting the invite to draft camp now? another BOG. wasnt there, can anyone tell me how he played, or was it another "questionable" BOG?

Definately questionable BOG. Ottens was clearly much better from an outsider's perspective - but then you never know who has been given what task.

Pretty good game at Box Hill. Eastern looked better early but Oakleigh stayed in touch. Then Easten looked like they were dominant at the start of the third, before Oakleigh looked like they'd run away with it. 30 points isn't a fair reflection of the game.

Big news was what looked like a big knee for Renton - although he was up and about with a brace and crutches by the end. Changed the game. Forced Lobbe/Zomer to ruck and where Oakleigh were being smashed they began to compete in the clearances. In the end Sandilands to the ruck and Ottens/Croft to ruck-rover got the job done.

ant555
2 Sep 2007, 12:10
Scott Dixon also hurt his ankle which wont help them next week either.

Sezzac1
2 Sep 2007, 17:01
Rebals by 1 pt over Sandy in average game at Ballarat in very windy conditions.

highflyer123
2 Sep 2007, 17:04
So that means Chargers arent playing finals. Did Sandringham have their chances? Who played well?

macca69
2 Sep 2007, 17:05
Rebals by 1 pt over Sandy in average game at Ballarat in very windy conditions.

Sounds like some sort of game, apparently a bloke from Sandy was running into an open goal, but was run down from behind with 30 seconds to go.

Murray beat Western by about 4 goals in the end. Western's inaccuracy cost them majorly, would have had more shots on goal than Murray quite comfortably.

highflyer123
2 Sep 2007, 17:08
So what will the first week of finals look like?

Chandra
2 Sep 2007, 18:08
So what will the first week of finals look like?

Confirmed so far are the Saturday games- Western Jets vs Nth Ballarat followed by Geelong vs Eastern at MC Labour. Not sure of the order on Sunday.

Meanman
2 Sep 2007, 20:06
Took the trip up to bendigo on the weekend. Bendigo V Power. A lot riding on this game for Gippsland needing to win quite margainly to hold top spot. Gippsland ended up winning by 10 goals!

I thought Bristow was a an absolute freakshow across the forward line and in the ruck. He would have taken 10 contested marks and set many goals. I know for a fact he is a lot better player than McKenna and Connelly (A lot of people at power will back me up on this). I think he ended having about 5 different opponents try stop him down in the end.
Another good player on the day was Dean woodhead at full back. Looked very Courageous and i would reckon he would be one to watch come next year.

As for the pioneers, Tarrant was also dominate figure around the ground. Played at centre half back and gave McKenna nothing. Read the ball way better and had strong hands. He would of had close to 10 marks as well.
Very good player and should be a lot better than his brother.

Anyone else catch this game??

foj1
2 Sep 2007, 20:16

Mitch Farmer

Mitch Farmer certainly was impressive but his kicking again raised some concerns. His technique is NQR at the moment which causes him to spray kicks. Should have kicked 7 yesterday.

JDC!
2 Sep 2007, 21:01
Any detail on the performances on Kreuzer and Cotchin yesterday?

TopGun
2 Sep 2007, 21:07
Sounds like some sort of game, apparently a bloke from Sandy was running into an open goal, but was run down from behind with 30 seconds to go.

Murray beat Western by about 4 goals in the end. Western's inaccuracy cost them majorly, would have had more shots on goal than Murray quite comfortably.

It was unfortunate that western couldn't get up today but no doubt murray will have some sore bodies after the game as the jets seem to throw everything they had at them. First week of finals should be a ripper Cannons v Murray definately one to watch as back at the beginning of the season the cannons bet murray by about 20 pts then murray flogged the cannons recently, should be an interesting match

godockers22
2 Sep 2007, 21:37
Took the trip up to bendigo on the weekend. Bendigo V Power. A lot riding on this game for Gippsland needing to win quite margainly to hold top spot. Gippsland ended up winning by 10 goals!

I thought Bristow was a an absolute freakshow across the forward line and in the ruck. He would have taken 10 contested marks and set many goals. I know for a fact he is a lot better player than McKenna and Connelly (A lot of people at power will back me up on this). I think he ended having about 5 different opponents try stop him down in the end.
Another good player on the day was Dean woodhead at full back. Looked very Courageous and i would reckon he would be one to watch come next year.

As for the pioneers, Tarrant was also dominate figure around the ground. Played at centre half back and gave McKenna nothing. Read the ball way better and had strong hands. He would of had close to 10 marks as well.
Very good player and should be a lot better than his brother.

Anyone else catch this game??
hey mate...
yes i can made the trip up to bendigo as well....wasnt it great to see bristow pulling in those marks!!!!
however i think u may have jumped the gun on connelly.....he also had a ripper of a day and would have taken 10 or 11 marks himself (probably 5 contested) as well as winning many hitouts and kicking 4 goals...as i spend a bit of time around the club they rate connelly highly, name another ruckman in the comp who is leading there clubs goalkicking as well as nothing up 300 hitouts???

as for mckenna he got toweled up by tarrant and is shot for confidence...great assesment on bristow but thats just 1 game....

footyman
3 Sep 2007, 19:02

The inaccuracy did cost them, especially early when they had chances to put pressure on their opponent. But just looking at the stats from the match, the Jets had 5 players in their side yesterday who had 3 or less possessions for the match. Certainly there was one injury in there, possibly others, but I doubt any side will win a game of footy with a quarter of their team having no impact. Murray's lowest possession getter had 5 touches.

To get within 16 points, against a side who hasnt lost in two months with a forward they couldnt stop, with a handful of non contributors and inaccurate kicking was probably a pretty decent effort.

rigby116
3 Sep 2007, 19:24
does anyone know of the extent of the injuries to renton and dixon for ranges?!!?...will they be missing this w/e against geelong?!?

they will leave a huge dent in the ranges side, dixon really holds up the backline and is the best full back in the comp in my view..and renton carries the ruck duties. will be very tough for ranges to get over geelong if these two are missing.

safely kept
4 Sep 2007, 13:47
I was also at Bendigo v Power game. Bristow had an exceptional day, a real class act. Tarrant was equally impressive, great contested marking and kicked a goal from outside 50 into a strong breeze that stopped anyone else getting close from 40. He is a genuine KPP.