KP backmen.

mojon95
31 Aug 2007, 11:53
KP backmen.

We'll need either Ebert, Cotchin, Rioli or Palmer

Tambu
31 Aug 2007, 12:31
We'll need either Ebert, Cotchin, Rioli or Palmer
Dempsey, Davey, Jetta and Lovett... we don't need Rioli.

Daytripper
31 Aug 2007, 13:28
KP backmen.

Please - not this again. :D

Bomberland06
31 Aug 2007, 15:39
we need a midfielder with some pace and

a key position backline player.

SOT4
31 Aug 2007, 15:46
we need a midfielder with some pace and

Dempsey, Winderlich, Dyson, Lovett, Jetta and Nash isn't slow- why do people keep saying we need a midfielder with pace. We don't. What the team is lacking is a few good in and under midfielders who can feed all of the quick outside players that we already have.

thebigboy
31 Aug 2007, 15:47
Classy Midfielder and KP Backman.

Another Ruckman wouldn't hurt either.

Daytripper
31 Aug 2007, 16:27
Okay (deep breath).

1. KP defenders just don't get drafted anymore. Most defenders enter the system as forwards and are converted to defenders. For instance, it wouldn't surprise me in the least to see either Neagle or Gumbleton play in defense for the majority of their career.

2. With the way footy is now, you only require one key defender - that being usually the full back. The reason being is that most half forwards are roaming, running types like Pavlich, Lucas, Riewoldt etc who very rarely take contested marks. There might be the odd exception to the rule like but generally most teams operate with one key forward and one or two mobile tallish forwards. The days of Chris Mew and Kevin Walsh are over.

3. Drafting a KP defender is a waste. I argued this last year with Lachlen Hansen who isn't exactly setting the world alight at the Kangaroos (I believe he was playing in the Tassie two's at one stage) and I will argue it again.

4. Our squad is waaayyyy too top heavy at the moment. NO MORE TALLS. People complain that our team lacks pace yet they think drafting a KP defender is the answer. I'm confused.

5. Do we want another Kepler Bradley situation if we take a KP defender early in the draft.

We keep Hille - drafting a ruckman is generally very chancy and you won't see the fruition of it for about another 5 years. We don't draft any more talls - we've got that many, teams will be knocking on our door soon trying to take some off us. And finally we go for runnners and runners and runners. It also helps if they can play footy a bit.

hotwizz
31 Aug 2007, 19:01
joel selwood... whoops that was last year.. we've already missed that boat.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
31 Aug 2007, 19:26
I'd imagine our priority with our first pick would be a KP backman or a classy mid, i myself would rather a classy mid, because we don't really need a KP ATM. We are probably in need of a KP backman, come out of the draft with a classy midfielder such as Ebert or someone like that. But if a quality and class mid is gone by our pick then we should just go key back (Rance maybe?).

I'd like us to do something like this:
1st pick: Classy mid - Ebert
2nd pick: Best Avail - Maric/Collier (fingers crossed)
3rd pick: Ruckman with lots of potential - Dawson Simpson
4th pick: Key Defender - Flaherty

I havn't really seen Dawson Simpson, but iv'e heard a bit about him on Bigfooty and i like what iv'e been hearing (reading).

Jono B
31 Aug 2007, 19:48
Okay (deep breath).

1. KP defenders just don't get drafted anymore. Most defenders enter the system as forwards and are converted to defenders. For instance, it wouldn't surprise me in the least to see either Neagle or Gumbleton play in defense for the majority of their career.

2. With the way footy is now, you only require one key defender - that being usually the full back. The reason being is that most half forwards are roaming, running types like Pavlich, Lucas, Riewoldt etc who very rarely take contested marks. There might be the odd exception to the rule like but generally most teams operate with one key forward and one or two mobile tallish forwards. The days of Chris Mew and Kevin Walsh are over.

3. Drafting a KP defender is a waste. I argued this last year with Lachlen Hansen who isn't exactly setting the world alight at the Kangaroos (I believe he was playing in the Tassie two's at one stage) and I will argue it again.

4. Our squad is waaayyyy too top heavy at the moment. NO MORE TALLS. People complain that our team lacks pace yet they think drafting a KP defender is the answer. I'm confused.

5. Do we want another Kepler Bradley situation if we take a KP defender early in the draft.

We keep Hille - drafting a ruckman is generally very chancy and you won't see the fruition of it for about another 5 years. We don't draft any more talls - we've got that many, teams will be knocking on our door soon trying to take some off us. And finally we go for runnners and runners and runners. It also helps if they can play footy a bit.
I think the thing we learn from the Kepler situation is that we should not try to turn a player into something he is not. Drafting players who have experience in the backhalf would be the best way to ensure that a disaster there does not occur when Fletch/Mal retires. Yes our list is top heavy but when Lloyd/Lucas retires it will not be. Personally I would be disapointed if we don't pick up a second backman to go with Darcy.

ant555
1 Sep 2007, 11:27
Midfielders who can win the ball at clearances.
Mobile defender.(190-194cm range) who can also play through the middle.
Tall defender (195plus) later in the draft.
Maybe a project ruckman.

And no more Lovett's, Jetta's, Dempsey's and Davey's for the moment. These guys are great at adding the pace and excitment to the side but i think with 4 of them at the club we have that area covered now.

SOT4
1 Sep 2007, 11:30
Maybe a project ruckman.

So Masten, Collier, Danniher and Simpson would have to just about make up your wish list then. FWIW I completely agree with them all. If we could pick up an in and under mid with our first pick then focus on talls I would be rapt.

ant555
1 Sep 2007, 11:32
Okay (deep breath).

Tassie dont have a seconds side.;)
People keep bagging Hanson but he has had to put up with a crap system and crap coach this year with Tassie. It is no wonder he hasnt set the world on fire. Give him some time to develop as he isnt just some bulky KP player. He is actually pretty mobile and skilled. He wasnt simply a kP defender as he had played a lot forward as well. I think versitile tall would be the word used to describe him.

RED STRIPE MAGIC
1 Sep 2007, 13:22
Reoli - another great speedy play. need him because this year all of them at essendon where injured and sheeds could not put them all at the same time in the team.. it could have been a different story in some gasmes we lost if they where all fit and playing all together. if it happends again next year i wouldn't mind having this guy as a spare. all of them in the same team would be great and team will have trouble with our speed on the park...

Danniher - A backmen which we are going to need in the near future weither you like it or not and weither you think it is a waste of as pick. at the moment we only have andrew lee and he hasn't gotten a game yet all season. yea we have ryder but he can get injured and when that happens we need backup... ryder, Danniher, and maybe johns taking the 3rd defender and he improve but i styill rate johns as a goal kicker.

Merv
1 Sep 2007, 13:57
Reoli - another great speedy play. need him because this year all of them at essendon where injured and sheeds could not put them all at the same time in the team.. it could have been a different story in some gasmes we lost if they where all fit and playing all together. if it happends again next year i wouldn't mind having this guy as a spare. all of them in the same team would be great and team will have trouble with our speed on the park...

Danniher - A backmen which we are going to need in the near future weither you like it or not and weither you think it is a waste of as pick. at the moment we only have andrew lee and he hasn't gotten a game yet all season. yea we have ryder but he can get injured and when that happens we need backup... ryder, Danniher, and maybe johns taking the 3rd defender and he improve but i styill rate johns as a goal kicker.

All the speed and skill in the world won't help you much without the ball in your hands

Darealrath
1 Sep 2007, 14:16
If we only have 4 picks I'd be content if Daniher is the only big we take. We need all round quality mids. Guys who can win, use it well, and have a bit of toe. We have too many one dimensional ones at this stage.

We might end up with quite a few more picks if the coach cleans the place out so we can go for a tall mobile defender and a ruckman with later picks. I just really hope we use the early picks on mids.

Crave
1 Sep 2007, 14:16
All the speed and skill in the world won't help you much without the ball in your hands

Spot on. We need a gun ruckman to give our midfielders first use of the ball.

Besides, the side we have at the moment wont win us any premierships in the near future...so the best available would be of benefit to us at this stage.

Crave
1 Sep 2007, 14:20
Okay (deep breath).

You make some good points, but you're also not looking into the future. We would require another key backman to assist Fletcher as he moves closer towards retirement. How much longer do you expect him to play? Secondly, Mal may only have 1-2 more years at best...then who do we have to fill that breach?

In regards to teams knocking on our door soon to take some off us? Hasnt occurred yet and the only tall we've added this season is Gumbleton. We're not the only team drafting talls.

ant555
2 Sep 2007, 12:03
So Masten, Collier, Danniher and Simpson would have to just about make up your wish list then. FWIW I completely agree with them all. If we could pick up an in and under mid with our first pick then focus on talls I would be rapt.

Yes something like that would be perfect.

GoDons
2 Sep 2007, 13:14
Maybe a project ruckman.

And no more Lovett's, Jetta's, Dempsey's and Davey's for the moment. These guys are great at adding the pace and excitment to the side but i think with 4 of them at the club we have that area covered now.

I pretty much agree but I think a small defender is a more pressing need than a mobile defender, not to mention more realistic. Currently, assuming Mark Johnson will depart or won't be in our best 22, we don't have a pure small defender. There is a case for Slattery but I see him taking on tagging jobs through the middle. The other options are Lovett-Murray, Nash and Welsh but all of them have proven to be more effective in other areas of the ground. Drafting a small defender should be a priority.

ant555
2 Sep 2007, 14:20
I pretty much agree but I think a small defender is a more pressing need than a mobile defender, not to mention more realistic. Currently, assuming Mark Johnson will depart or won't be in our best 22, we don't have a pure small defender. There is a case for Slattery but I see him taking on tagging jobs through the middle. The other options are Lovett-Murray, Nash and Welsh but all of them have proven to be more effective in other areas of the ground. Drafting a small defender should be a priority.

I am talking about mobile defenders that have midfield running ability so i think they can cover small forwards . Guys like Pat Dangerfield from Geelong Falcons who is around 192 cm now and has the run and agility of a midfielder or Andy Otten from Oakleigh.
You dont really go out and draft small defenders.No club sets out to specificly draft a back pocket. Just on our list Nash is a small defender. Hasnt played a lot of footy through the midfield. McVeigh is porbably the best small defender we have. Reimers has been usesd a lot in that role for Bendigo and during his junior days in WA.

GoDons
2 Sep 2007, 16:40
I am talking about mobile defenders that have midfield running ability so i think they can cover small forwards . Guys like Pat Dangerfield from Geelong Falcons who is around 192 cm now and has the run and agility of a midfielder or Andy Otten from Oakleigh.
You dont really go out and draft small defenders.No club sets out to specificly draft a back pocket. Just on our list Nash is a small defender. Hasnt played a lot of footy through the midfield. McVeigh is porbably the best small defender we have. Reimers has been usesd a lot in that role for Bendigo and during his junior days in WA.

What I was saying was more to draft an accountable midfielder/defender now that will play as a small defender in the AFL. As you know, vitually no player drafted this year will have spent much more than a couple of games in a back pocket.

Whilst Nash and Reimers qualify as small defenders, I see them more a s attacking players off the half back line. They have filled more defensive roles in the pass, yet that is not where I think they excell.

At the moment, we have plenty of attacking defenders but virtually no pure negators in the backline aside from Slattery and McVeigh who are midfield bound in 2008.

At the moment I have a list of 5 guys that I believe are up to the task and they are as follows:

Levi Greenwood: My first preference. There's a lot of Dean Solomon about him but with a bit more athleticism and a cooler head. He could play in the midfield, but I feel he will find his niche in the back pocket.
Steven Browne: He can blanket guys in the backline and provide a bit going on th eother way. He specialises in what we need most, accountability.
Patrick Dangerfield: I reckon he'll jump up the list on draft day because he's grown and has added a new dimension to his game and isn't so much a back pocket any more from all reports. Still, he's looked good in a back pcoket in the TAC Cup and has the ability to go with opposition players.
Patrick McGinnity: Has played as a tagger mostly but he could well be useful in defense. He's very good at not losing touch with opponents and you couldn't ask for more form a back pocket.
Mitch Farmer: Specialist back pocket just about. He's reliable if not a star. With a late pick, we might net ourselves a good solid 150-gamer type that plays consistent football from a back pocket and I'd be more than happy with that.

Others that I considered were Veszpremi, Kay and Whitecross but all of which are less willing to negate than the 5 I mentioned above. Decent footballers, a bit more than decent in Veszpremi's case, but, in my mind, don't fit the mould.

As for Otten who you mentioned above, I don't think he's our man. He's a drifter type that would fit well into sides that like to chip it around like Hawthorn, Geelong and Collingwood but at Essendon, I don't think there are enough easy disposals for him to be damaging. Accountability isn't his speciality either.

ant555
2 Sep 2007, 19:13
What I was saying was more to draft an accountable midfielder/defender now that will play as a small defender in the AFL. As you know, vitually no player drafted this year will have spent much more than a couple of games in a back pocket.

Whilst Nash and Reimers qualify as small defenders, I see them more a s attacking players off the half back line. They have filled more defensive roles in the pass, yet that is not where I think they excell.

At the moment, we have plenty of attacking defenders but virtually no pure negators in the backline aside from Slattery and McVeigh who are midfield bound in 2008.

At the moment I have a list of 5 guys that I believe are up to the task and they are as follows:

Levi Greenwood: My first preference. There's a lot of Dean Solomon about him but with a bit more athleticism and a cooler head. He could play in the midfield, but I feel he will find his niche in the back pocket.
Steven Browne: He can blanket guys in the backline and provide a bit going on th eother way. He specialises in what we need most, accountability.
Patrick Dangerfield: I reckon he'll jump up the list on draft day because he's grown and has added a new dimension to his game and isn't so much a back pocket any more from all reports. Still, he's looked good in a back pcoket in the TAC Cup and has the ability to go with opposition players.
Patrick McGinnity: Has played as a tagger mostly but he could well be useful in defense. He's very good at not losing touch with opponents and you couldn't ask for more form a back pocket.
Mitch Farmer: Specialist back pocket just about. He's reliable if not a star. With a late pick, we might net ourselves a good solid 150-gamer type that plays consistent football from a back pocket and I'd be more than happy with that.

Others that I considered were Veszpremi, Kay and Whitecross but all of which are less willing to negate than the 5 I mentioned above. Decent footballers, a bit more than decent in Veszpremi's case, but, in my mind, don't fit the mould.

As for Otten who you mentioned above, I don't think he's our man. He's a drifter type that would fit well into sides that like to chip it around like Hawthorn, Geelong and Collingwood but at Essendon, I don't think there are enough easy disposals for him to be damaging. Accountability isn't his speciality either.

I think we are close to being on the same page.:thumbsu:
I agree with your list of Greenwood, Browne,Dangerfield,McGinnity. All would fit the bill as accountable midfielder/defenders.
As far as Mitch Farmer goes he has simply exploded in the midifled in recent weeks and has been the player who has controlled the middle for the Cannons in the last two games. I think he will go a fair bit higher than people think.
Another to add to the group is David Myers who i think will go reasonably early.

GoDons
2 Sep 2007, 20:15
I think we are close to being on the same page.:thumbsu:
I agree with your list of Greenwood, Browne,Dangerfield,McGinnity. All would fit the bill as accountable midfielder/defenders.
As far as Mitch Farmer goes he has simply exploded in the midifled in recent weeks and has been the player who has controlled the middle for the Cannons in the last two games. I think he will go a fair bit higher than people think.
Another to add to the group is David Myers who i think will go reasonably early.

Haven't heard much about the Cannons in the last month so I was a bit behind on that one. It's a shame though as I thought Farmer could be the guy we picked up with a 4th round that went to be a very servicable player. Let's hope he slips.

As for Myers, I think he's in a similar boat to Otten. Could be a star but will thrive by playing attacking football out of defense rather than by playing a shut down role and sacrificing himself a little bit. I would think he'll go before our second pick so I doubt he'll be available anyway.

ant555
2 Sep 2007, 21:09
Haven't heard much about the Cannons in the last month so I was a bit behind on that one. It's a shame though as I thought Farmer could be the guy we picked up with a 4th round that went to be a very servicable player. Let's hope he slips.

As for Myers, I think he's in a similar boat to Otten. Could be a star but will thrive by playing attacking football out of defense rather than by playing a shut down role and sacrificing himself a little bit. I would think he'll go before our second pick so I doubt he'll be available anyway.

Well i hope our draft goes something like
1st round Masten/Ebert/Palmer
2nd round Dangerfield/Pat Vezpremi/Levi Greenwood/David Zaharakis
3rd round Daniher
4th round Otten/Noy/Gilder/Polkinhorne/Myke Cook/Mitchell Farmer
5th round Matthew Quniton/ Kangars/Lobbe
6th round pass.
Rookie spots for one tall and one mid. Maybe guys like Brad Jones,Matthew Davis,Rory Sloane,Shaun Dixon,Andrew Hogan if they dont go late in the draft.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
2 Sep 2007, 21:33
3rd round Daniher
6th round pass.
Rookie spots for one tall and one mid. Maybe guys like Brad Jones,Matthew Davis,Rory Sloane,Shaun Dixon,Andrew Hogan if they dont go late in the draft.
Are you sure we should take him with our 3rd? His form has been alright for Calder without being outstanding. I heard he played forward and kicked 2 on the weekend and wasn't in their best. Would he last until our next pick?

ant555
2 Sep 2007, 22:28
Are you sure we should take him with our 3rd? His form has been alright for Calder without being outstanding. I heard he played forward and kicked 2 on the weekend and wasn't in their best. Would he last until our next pick?

We will take him under father son and it will more than likely be third round.

GoDons
2 Sep 2007, 23:50
3rd round Daniher
6th round pass.

I'm certainly sharing your thoughts for the first 3 spots even though I'm not particularly keen David Zaharakis and I have a few doubts as to whether Dangerfield is worth a 2nd round pick. For the 4th quick, I think we should seriously consider trying to nab a project ruckman and for mine, Dean Putt, should he be available, would be an excellent gamble. I think he could turn into something special as he's got very good athleticism from all reports. Also, I don't there's a chance that Andy Otten will fall to our 4th pick unless we're big players in trade week.

I wouldn't be keen on Andrew Hogan even for a rookie spot though. Apparently he has no ligaments in one of his ankles and that doesn't bode well for a long career.

If I got it my way, I'd take Ebert with our first pick, Greenwood with our second, Daniher with our third and Putt with our 4th. As for a 5th, it depends who falls and it's just too hard to judge at this stage.

ant555
3 Sep 2007, 10:47
I'm certainly sharing your thoughts for the first 3 spots even though I'm not particularly keen David Zaharakis and I have a few doubts as to whether Dangerfield is worth a 2nd round pick. For the 4th quick, I think we should seriously consider trying to nab a project ruckman and for mine, Dean Putt, should he be available, would be an excellent gamble. I think he could turn into something special as he's got very good athleticism from all reports. Also, I don't there's a chance that Andy Otten will fall to our 4th pick unless we're big players in trade week.

I wouldn't be keen on Andrew Hogan even for a rookie spot though. Apparently he has no ligaments in one of his ankles and that doesn't bode well for a long career.

If I got it my way, I'd take Ebert with our first pick, Greenwood with our second, Daniher with our third and Putt with our 4th. As for a 5th, it depends who falls and it's just too hard to judge at this stage.

I have to say that the games i have seen Putt play he hasnt done anything much to impress me. He moves around ok but his kicking in general play isnt great and he doesnt always dominate the ruck against smaller opponents.In fairness to him i didnt see what looks to have been his best few games against Sandy, Oakliegh and Nth Ball.
In the last Calder game i saw against Geelong they where using Tengrove more in the ruck so Putt was the number two guys.

Daytripper
3 Sep 2007, 11:03
I have to say that the games i have seen Putt play he hasnt done anything much to impress me. He moves around ok but his kicking in general play isnt great and he doesnt always dominate the ruck against smaller opponents.In fairness to him i didnt see what looks to have been his best few games against Sandy, Oakliegh and Nth Ball.
In the last Calder game i saw against Geelong they where using Tengrove more in the ruck so Putt was the number two guys.

I see McEvoy kicked 7 on the weekend.

Where does he fit as far as draft picks go.
Top 5 ?

OrangeCutter
3 Sep 2007, 12:12
lets go for the player with the possibility for the biggest upside, and i beleive that might be Palmer then Ebert, i would rather with our pick go for a freak instead of a good contributor who does not have the x factor. we can use our second pick for someone who is a good solid contributor.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
3 Sep 2007, 12:21

Top 5 ?
It really wouldn't suprise me if the Bulldogs picked him up with their first pick, since they need a KP forward/Ruck to replace Darcy. Who do you think the Doggies will take with their first?

ant555
3 Sep 2007, 14:02

Top 5 ?

Could be a chance for the Dogs first round. He will be a KP forward and not a ruckman at AFL level. Couldnt see us wanting him. We have enough forwards.

Jono B
3 Sep 2007, 14:10
I hope the dogs take Henderson/McEvoy then we will have the choice of two of the quality midfielders.

rioli brownlow
3 Sep 2007, 15:49
I hope the dogs take Henderson/McEvoy then we will have the choice of two of the quality midfielders.

would anyone agree with trading laycock and mcphee to melbourne for travis johnstone and their 3rd pick (in the 30s) which we could use for darcy daniher

cAsEy_18
3 Sep 2007, 15:52
would anyone agree with trading laycock and mcphee to melbourne for travis johnstone and their 3rd pick (in the 30s) which we could use for darcy daniher

nup. travis jonhstone picks up too many cheap possessions for mine, while mcphee has arguably in my opinion been one of our best in the last month of the season, and laycock is now our #1 ruck.

rioli brownlow
3 Sep 2007, 15:55
nup. travis jonhstone picks up too many cheap possessions for mine, while mcphee has arguably in my opinion been one of our best in the last month of the season, and laycock is now our #1 ruck.

mcphee turns it over far to many times,and at least johnstone can hit a target unlike a few of our blokes(no.24) for one.
david hille is still by far a better ruckman than laycock and hopefully mark thompson will realise that when he starts, not like that other dill we just had

Merv
3 Sep 2007, 16:29

No way.

I'm all for trading McPhee but not Laycock.

Not interested in Johnson at all.

Why is your club listed as Adelaide yet in your posts you are talking as if you are an Essendon Supporter?

GoDons
3 Sep 2007, 17:35
Could be a chance for the Dogs first round. He will be a KP forward and not a ruckman at AFL level. Couldnt see us wanting him. We have enough forwards.

I think we'll see him become a Corey McKernan like player during his days at Carlton. That being a guy that plays forward and has stints in the ruck. I'm not sold that he'll be entirely a key position player without playing in the ruck at all.

GoDons
3 Sep 2007, 17:38

Putt's well and truly a work in progress and that's why he should be available in the 4th round. He has what it takes to go a long way, he's just putting it all together. Should he get drafted, he'll spend next year putting on a bit of size and getting his skills more refined. If he does that, he could be anything.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
3 Sep 2007, 21:00
No way in hell, we'd be getting ripped off bigtime.

boms
4 Sep 2007, 00:00
1. Class Midfielder
2. KP Defender for the future

Pick 6 - Palmer/Morton/Ebert/Masten/Cotchin

Pick 23 - I hope somehow Collier slips

Pick 39 - Darcy Dainher F/S - KPP - CHB/CHF

Other 2 picks dont care anyone

jdwood
4 Sep 2007, 22:32
Pardon my ignorance BUT... is Masten analogous to a Simon Black type i.e. an inside mid who can hit targets by foot?

IMO that's the type of player we are most in need of...

Couch Potato
6 Sep 2007, 20:25
That's exactly the type of player he is.
He didn't miss a target by foot in the nationals.

I think we might be able to pick up John Shaw (Sandy Ruckman) with a 4th or 5th round pick. He played really well against Kreuzer a few weeks ago and has kicked quite a few goals this year when resting in the forward line. He's pretty tall at 197cm and has played TAC for 3 years. He was the vice-captain at Xavier College last year under Josh Kennedy (Hawthorn).

rioli brownlow
6 Sep 2007, 21:13
No way.

I'm all for trading McPhee but not Laycock.

Not interested in Johnson at all.

Why is your club listed as Adelaide yet in your posts you are talking as if you are an Essendon Supporter?

because when i joined i mistakely put i lived instead of the club i support, but yes i am an essendon fan, and now live in melbourne aswell.

Merv
6 Sep 2007, 21:25
because when i joined i mistakely put i lived instead of the club i support, but yes i am an essendon fan, and now live in melbourne aswell.

LOL, 2 years ago and you haven't changed it yet?

rioli brownlow
6 Sep 2007, 21:27
LOL, 2 years ago and you haven't changed it yet?

didn't think it was a big deal! but if you really want me to i will!

Ryder Is God
6 Sep 2007, 21:39
Pick 1 - Midfielder (Masten or Ebert)
Pick 2 - Defender
Pick 3 - Daniher
Pick 4 - Ruck
Pick 5 - Midfielder or Defender
Pick 6 - Pass

Barts
6 Sep 2007, 22:27

I really hope we get him. Id rather him than Daniher for our 3rd pick. Even our 2nd if his stock rises.

hulld
6 Sep 2007, 22:28
i'd almost prefer us to elevate a rookie or pick up a mature player than use our 5th pick. i can't see there being too much talent after pick 50.

SOT4
7 Sep 2007, 23:27
According to TOA (west Australian poster) we have been in regular contact with Morton as have Richmond FWIW.

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
7 Sep 2007, 23:50
According to TOA (west Australian poster) we have been in regular contact with Morton as have Richmond FWIW.
What could we offer the Eagles? I wouldn't mind doing a trade like Bradley/Johns for Morton but im not sure whether they'd be interested in any of our players, and if this is the case, what draft picks would we have to give up?

SOT4
8 Sep 2007, 00:18
Haha sorry shoudl've made that clear- not Mitch, its Cale Morton. As in we're looking at drafting him at pick 6.

boms
8 Sep 2007, 01:28
Haha sorry shoudl've made that clear- not Mitch, its Cale Morton. As in we're looking at drafting him at pick 6.
Good news.

190cm wingman.

I would really like him but i just cant see him slipping Richmond imo will go for Trent Cotchin but then i reckon Melbourne will take him.

1. Kreuzer
2. Cotchin
3. Ebert
4. Morton
5. Henderson
6. Masten

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
8 Sep 2007, 02:11
Im not that keen on us taking him in the draft to be honest. He's a great talent and is probably one of the best in the draft, but im hoping we draft for needs and go an inside player in Masten or an all rounder Palmer/Ebert ect. But if all of those players were gone (which i doubt they would be) i guess i wouldn't mind seeing us taking Morton. I just hope we get one of Masten or Ebert, and hopefully we will be seeing Masten and Prismall/M.Morton wearing the red and black next year!

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
8 Sep 2007, 02:16
Good news.

190cm wingman.

I would really like him but i just cant see him slipping Richmond imo will go for Trent Cotchin but then i reckon Melbourne will take him.

1. Kreuzer
2. Cotchin
3. Ebert
4. Morton
5. Henderson
6. Masten
That's exactly how i think things will go, but the only one im not sure on is Ebert as i havn't really seen him play before. Has anyone got any footage of the young fella?

Ryder Is God
8 Sep 2007, 13:03
Good news.

190cm wingman.

1. Kreuzer
2. Cotchin
3. Ebert
4. Morton
5. Henderson
6. Masten

Ebert won't go that high.

The_Young_Gun
8 Sep 2007, 20:16
We've pretty much already got Darcey Daniher who can play anywhere mainly back but I'm betting our first pick will be masten or ebert.

Strike Swiftly
8 Sep 2007, 21:51
Daniher is certainly no certainty. Sydney could easily snatch him from us.

The_Young_Gun
8 Sep 2007, 22:00
Daniher is certainly no certainty. Sydney could easily snatch him from us.

He's already started training with essendon and if there was no biding for the f/s rule darcey would pick essendon over sydney any day for his priority.

Country_Boy_12
9 Sep 2007, 13:49
i no people dont think we need another of these kind of players but if masten and ebert were gone before essendons pick would ciril rioli be a good chance because ive a heard hes a pretty good talent

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
9 Sep 2007, 14:23
i no people dont think we need another of these kind of players but if masten and ebert were gone before essendons pick would ciril rioli be a good chance because ive a heard hes a pretty good talent
Yeh he does look to be a pretty exciting talent, but we've got pick 6, Which means we have the opportunity of picking up whoever is left out of Kruezer, Cotchin, Ebert, Masten, Palmer, Morton or even Henderson, and i myself would rather pick up one of those players before we pick up Rioli.

BetterThanAaron
10 Sep 2007, 18:21
Cyril Rioli without a doubt. He was only playd in the forward line during the championships because of an injury, yet he still kicked 7 goals. He is a natural midfielder.

If not then maybe Selwood. Though, I hope we don't end up with the shit one.

Smyth94
10 Sep 2007, 21:25
Okay (deep breath).

Disagree with points 2, 4 and 5.
Pavlich, Riewoldt and Lucas all play CHF and they do take plenty of contested marks. These days defenders need to have good closing speed to spoil these types of players.

Our squad ain't too top heavy. We actually have a plethora of outside midfielder type players. Lucas and Lloyd arn't going to be around in 4-5 years time, KP players should be still very much in the radar. What we do need however is a quality inside midfielder to support Jobe.

Kep was drafted for all the wrong reasons, seen as a replacement for Fletch when he actually played as a wingman @ the u/18 champs. He had a pretty handy game against the Eagles playing a similar role.