View Full Version : Phantom Draft Trial
OK. I took the Bulldogs picks in the Phantom Draft Trial...and this is who we ended up with:
Western Bulldogs - Mjp
Pick 7 - Lachie Henderson - KP Forward - 196cm 90kgs - Geelong
Pick 23 - Callan Ward - Onballer - 183cm 71kgs - Western Jets
Pick 39 - Jarrod Grant - KP Forward - 191cm, 77kgs- Dandenong
Pick 55 - Andrew Renton - Ruckman - 202cm, 94kgs - Eastern Rangers
Pick 71 - Michael Rockefeller - Onballer – 177cm 77kg - Werribee
Pick 87 - Jared Winter - Onballer – (need to check height details) - South Fremantle Footy Club
Link to the full draft is here: http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=358174
Rules for the draft trial are posted in the above thread.
I would be interested to know what everyone thinks, why they think it and where they would have gone in a different direction (and why).
John Gent
31 Aug 2007, 14:22
I hope we get Henderson in the real draft and if Renton is still around at 55 we will do well.
Your inside knowledge of Ward must have led you to such a high pick?
I hope we get Henderson in the real draft and if Renton is still around at 55 we will do well.
Your inside knowledge of Ward must have led you to such a high pick?
He wont be there at 23 on draft day.
Just a couple of questions regarding your selections. My knowledge of the U18 comp is limited so this is purely from the thoughts of a Bulldogs supporter.
1. I know that you like Bongetti from N.K. Is he an option? Why did you pick Grant over him. I know that Bongetti isn't an athlete type, but has performed pretty well this year.
2. Could we wait til the rookie draft for Rockefeller? Would there be much interest for him?
3. I think we need to find a small hard nosed defender. Is there someone we could look at selecting in the rookie draft for this type of role?
OK. I took the Bulldogs picks in the Phantom Draft Trial...and this is who we ended up with:
Western Bulldogs - Mjp
Pick 7 - Lachie Henderson - KP Forward - 196cm 90kgs - Geelong
I would be interested to know what everyone thinks, why they think it and where they would have gone in a different direction (and why).
Everything you could tell us about Henderson would be great.
Just a couple of questions regarding your selections. My knowledge of the U18 comp is limited so this is purely from the thoughts of a Bulldogs supporter.
1. I know that you like Bongetti from N.K. Is he an option? Why did you pick Grant over him. I know that Bongetti isn't an athlete type, but has performed pretty well this year.
I have seen Grant a few times and just think he is a better player than Bongetti. The Knights kid has produced more in terms of goals, but I really believe his development ceiling is closer to Podsiadly/Sautner than Grant's, who I think could be anything. He really is a terrific talent, and I have him rated higher than his team-mate (Simpson).
2. Could we wait til the rookie draft for Rockefeller? Would there be much interest for him?
We probably could. He was my 5th pick which is well into rookie territory - I doubt we will have more than 5 picks in any event, and to be honest I just think the kid is good enough to put on the list. I think he would have played games this year if he had been eligible, and I also think he would have aquitted himself pretty well. I also like what Cam Lockwood has been doing at Williamstown, and would consider him as well.
3. I think we need to find a small hard nosed defender. Is there someone we could look at selecting in the rookie draft for this type of role?
Small hard nosed AFL defenders aren't playing in that role in the u18s. They are 180cm hard-nosed mid-fielders who get there way onto a list and become hard nosed defenders in order to get a game!...I guess you might be talking about someone like a Mitchell Farmer maybe? In Ward, he is certainly someone who can play down back and I would expect him to start his senior footy in that role.
He is tall and super athletic. Hits the contest pretty hard...Just a talented boy really. Been injured a fair bit this season, so hard to know exactly where his development is at right now.
vandalay industries
31 Aug 2007, 14:54
Sorry, he doesn't fit the profile! Must be under 6 foot, 65-70 kilos and runs like the wind!
Henderson is way too tall for us!:rolleyes:
TedDougChris
31 Aug 2007, 14:56
He is tall and super athletic. Hits the contest pretty hard...Just a talented boy really. Been injured a fair bit this season, so hard to know exactly where his development is at right now.
He certainly fits our requirements for a KPP recruit.
Permanently injured...... Just like Walsh......
He certainly fits our requirements for a KPP recruit.
Permanently injured...... Just like Walsh......
Yep. And just like Selwood last year! And just like Riewoldt in his first AFL season...
It is a contact sport. Blokes get injured.
Sorry, he doesn't fit the profile! Must be under 6 foot, 65-70 kilos and runs like the wind!
Your posts are getting boring....
TedDougChris
31 Aug 2007, 15:03
Yep. And just like Selwood last year! And just like Riewoldt in his first AFL season...
It is a contact sport. Blokes get injured.
Sorry, was a fair bit of tongue in cheek in my earlier comment.
He does sound good and something that we have been missing... :thumbsu:
Should we look at off-loading a player equivalent to a latish first rd pick so that we can go after Ward. Perhaps maybe McMahon to Port for there first pick which should be about 14-16 or so?
vandalay industries
31 Aug 2007, 15:17
Your posts are getting boring....
So are you! Go back to the porch and get the banjo out champ!
Poptart
31 Aug 2007, 15:17
All this talk with gaining a tall forward in the trade period, will be very interesting to see if we actually keep our first or second round selections, seems highly unlikely if we do so.
Good list there mjp, a few key position players, a developing ruck, and 2 mids, seems like a good mix, wouldn't mind actually picking up Rocky in the rookie draft, he goes ok at Werribee, i'd imagine him being an automatic selection to come down & train over the pre-season anyway.
If he is super-athletic, then he's a chance - Clayton just flat out doesn't rate the "clunky" talls. I know comparisons are usually pointless and/or dangerous, but is there anyone in the comp that his movement/athleticism/"style" compares to? Has he got some solid runs (raw stats) on the board in underage footy when he hasn't been injured?
Reason I ask is the club's last pick who was injured - Walsh. My biggest qualms with picking him up wasn't the injury history, but that he hadn't really done anything - IIRC he had an average of 8 touches and 3 marks a game in junior footy, with his "best" games not being overly impressive numbers wise - I don't care how good you look athletically, how underdeveloped you are or how limited your opportunities have been, if you can't carve it up against your 16/17 year old peers, you're not going to carve it up against the best players in the country (5 years of development notwithstanding).
Clayton has recruited what, 2 players under six foot in 8 years?
One of them Gilbee.
vandalay industries
31 Aug 2007, 15:21
If he is super-athletic, then he's a chance - Clayton just flat out doesn't rate the "clunky" talls. I know comparisons are usually pointless and/or dangerous, but is there anyone in the comp that his movement/athleticism/"style" compares to? Has he got some solid runs (raw stats) on the board in underage footy when he hasn't been injured?
Reason I ask is the club's last pick who was injured - Walsh. My biggest qualms with picking him up wasn't the injury history, but that he hadn't really done anything - IIRC he had an average of 8 touches and 3 marks a game in junior footy - I don't care how good you look athletically, how underdeveloped you are or how limited your opportunities have been, if you can't carve it up against your 16/17 year old peers, you're not going to carve it up against the best players in the country (5 years of development notwithstanding).
One of them Gilbee.
Sorry then please explain the 10-12 midgets we have running around at the moment who are too skinny and can't tackle? I must be watching a different game!
scooter600x
31 Aug 2007, 15:23
Apparently he had a very good finals series last year as a bottom ager.
This year, 4 games, 8 goals, 5 contested marks, 15 uncontested marks, 15 tackles, 26 hitouts.
23 effective kicks, 11 ineffective kicks, 17 effective handballs, 2 ineffective handballs.
Of his 4 games, he's been injured in 2 of them.
Sorry then please explain the 10-12 midgets we have running around at the moment who are too skinny and can't tackle? I must be watching a different game!
If you don't agree with a recruiting philosophy because it results in the likes of Cross, Murphy, Griffen, McMahon, Hahn, Ray, Higgins and Cooney, purely because they fall into a "too short" 6'1"-6'3" range, you're a turnip.
Players who are 6 foot or over. (183cm+)
6 Foot or over
Addison
Baird
Boyd
Cooney
Cross
Darcy
Everitt
Grant
Griffen
Hahn
Hargrave
Harris
Higgins (184cm)
Hill
McCormack (183cm)
McDougall
McMahon
Minson
Morris
Murphy
O'Shea
Pask
Power
Ray
Skipper
Stack (184cm)
Street
Tiller
Walsh
M.West
Wight
Williams.
Under 6 foot
Akermanis
Eagleton
Faulkner
Giansiracusa
Gilbee
Harbrow
Hughes
Johnson
Lynch
Robbins
S.West
Just as a point of reference.
Under 6 foot
Akermanis
Eagleton
Faulkner
Giansiracusa
Gilbee
Harbrow
Hughes
Johnson
Lynch
Robbins
S.West
Just as a point of reference.
Had forgotten to take into account last year's rookies, but all up Clayton has taken 3 sub 6 footers in 8 national drafts, with Gia pretty much thereabouts (182cm).
Apparently he had a very good finals series last year as a bottom ager.
This year, 4 games, 8 goals, 5 contested marks, 15 uncontested marks, 15 tackles, 26 hitouts.
23 effective kicks, 11 ineffective kicks, 17 effective handballs, 2 ineffective handballs.
Of his 4 games, he's been injured in 2 of them.
Cheers for the info.
I'm assuming the good finals series last year was against some of "super draft" boys ... as a 16/17 year old?
John Gent
31 Aug 2007, 15:53
What leads you to that conclusion?
Go_Dogs
31 Aug 2007, 16:14
I've been watching the Phantom draft with a lot of interest this year, and I'd be pretty happy with the bunch you have taken.
I think we need to draft a KP forward, you've done this. Hard nosed insider/utility types, you've done this, and a developing ruck, you've done this. I'd personally be quite happy with the outcome on its face value. I haven't seen any of these kids play so that's about as far as I can comment.
Great work MJP.
I would be happy with those selections just by reading their stats.
How do you rate Tarrant and where do you see him going? Late 2nd early 3rd?
mighty seagulls
31 Aug 2007, 17:02
Great work MJP.
I would be happy with those selections just by reading their stats.
Everyone rates Tarrant. While i admit, ive only seen him play 1 game against the Knights last week. He was terrible. I hoped that was by far his worst performance because he couldnt get near it. Like i said, it was 1 game but it was bad.
What leads you to that conclusion?
I just think that he makes very good decisions (around contests and with the ball) that will not escape the attention of AFL clubs. He also showed an ability to quickly adjust to different levels of footy that points to a player who will be able to play and play quickly.
Maybe I am wrong. I am not for a second suggesting the other posters on the draft site dont know what they are doing, but I read a quote from one of the mods there the other day where he said the following:
Callan Ward was the interesting one. Didn't look the light-bodied, shortish HBF who plays loose-man and gets heaps of touches. He is begining to look more solid, more imposing and the way he took his running shots at goal looked very steadied, accomplished and confident. Showing signs he might be a genuine ruck-rover, not just a BP.
Basically, I think the whole footy community will start to pick up on this kid - who no-one had on their radar in March - particularly if he gets to play a couple of finals, and his name will be called very early on.
John Gent
31 Aug 2007, 17:18
That's an interesting quote by Weaver given he didn't have him in his top 50 at the half-way mark.
Might be a Clayton type pick
That's an interesting quote by Weaver given he didn't have him in his top 50 at the half-way mark.
Might be a Clayton type pick
Western are not a team that are often watched by many casual TAC observers due to their traditionally poor performances. I know I have said this a couple of times, but they are equal top at the moment - someone - someone - simply has to be playing well.
I am not a huge fan of his. He is a lead-up forward in the style of his brother (but a better kick) - but he doesn't seem to have either the tank (which can be fixed) or the desire (which cant) to provide continuous, 50m-70m leads in order to provide his team-mates with a target in the way his brother does.
But, he is playing in a struggling side and has suffered through a few injuries - especially to his shoulders I think. Perhaps worth a rookie spot to see if he is able to improve his game at VFL level - I am not actually convinced he will be drafted.
I am not a huge fan of his. He is a lead-up forward in the style of his brother (but a better kick) - but he doesn't seem to have either the tank (which can be fixed) or the desire (which cant) to provide continuous, 50m-70m leads in order to provide his team-mates with a target in the way his brother does.
But, he is playing in a struggling side and has suffered through a few injuries - especially to his shoulders I think. Perhaps worth a rookie spot to see if he is able to improve his game at VFL level - I am not actually convinced he will be drafted.
Cheers mate:thumbsu:
Western are not a team that are often watched by many casual TAC observers due to their traditionally poor performances. I know I have said this a couple of times, but they are equal top at the moment - someone - someone - simply has to be playing well.
Maybe they're on top because they have a brilliant coach :D
W W Biscuit
1 Sep 2007, 13:35
Wouldn't that make him a Rookie-fella?
ErnieSigley
2 Sep 2007, 21:32
Whats the likelihood of more interstaters being selected as Clayton lately has chosen a few?
I'd say it's very likely he'll take a few non-Victorians.
Bulldog Banana
2 Sep 2007, 23:41
Personally, I would love to get Brad Ebert.
Have seen him a couple of times on the SANFL games on ABC2.
If i remember rightly he is a midfielder with a bit of size (which we need) and has great skills.
He probably wont get thru to 5, but I reckon if he does Clayton will pick him.
Will the fact that he's rarely been played as a true midfielder hurt his chances of going that highly?
scooter600x
10 Sep 2007, 00:48
Will the fact that he's rarely been played as a true midfielder hurt his chances of going that highly?
I hope so. I'm sure we won't take him at 5 but I'd love for him to be still there at 22.
After Saturday there is little chance of that. Remember who told you first Jim!
Go_Dogs
10 Sep 2007, 10:55
It was a great call by you pretty early on mjp. His stock seems to have risen considerably over the last month.