View Full Version : Heffernan likely to retire

Hirdismyhero
31 Aug 2007, 18:26
FORMER Terang footballer Chris Heffernan flew to Perth yesterday with Essendon and hopes to take on the West Coast Eagles in what is likely to be his last AFL game tomorrow.
``I've been told to be at the airport this afternoon to fly over, so that's where I'll be,'' the 28-year-old onballer said yesterday.
``Hopefully I'm going over to play,'' he said, who was last night named in the team.
Heffernan said he was excited by the prospect of playing in good mate James Hird's last game and Kevin Sheedy's final match after 27 years as Essendon coach.
He said he could not confirm reports that Sheedy allowed Hird to pick the side.

``Sheeds might have consulted Hirdy but it's hard to see him allowing Hirdy to pick the whole side,'' Heffernan said.
The onballer said he had not ``officially'' decided if he would play on or what he was doing next season.
``Most likely this will be my last game. I want to play this game and then we'll see what happens.''
Heffernan refuted the suggestion he would be playing coach of Terang Mortlake next season.
``Terang Mortlake already has a very good captain coach in Matty Irving,'' he said.
``Long term I may play but I don't know if I would coach the Bloods when I'm living in Melbourne . . . you never know,'' he said.
Irving said Heffernan would probably look to finish his playing career at Terang.
``It's something we're not worried about at this stage but it may happen down the track,'' he said.
``We're focused on what we are doing in the next month. We're always looking to recruit players,'' he said.
Heffernan said Jay Neagle, son of 1984 premiership player Merv Neagle, would make his AFL debut for the Bombers tomorrow.
``The team is usually not settled until Friday but we're flying over to Perth today,'' he said. ``Jay Neagle is expected to play, but I'm not sure what else is happening. We're not looking at how we can affect West Coast, we just want to
give two people who have had an enormous impact on the club a fitting send-off. That's our only focus.''
Heffernan said Hird had been an Essendon legend.
``He's been super . . . great for everyone. He's had some tough times. The way he's gone about things has been incredible,'' he said.
``It would be better if we were playing in the finals. Sheeds has been a huge influence on my career. We all want to show our appreciation. I'm excited about having the chance to play . . I can't wait.''
Heffernan was drafted to Essendon in 1996 at No. 2 in a swap that involved Scott Cummings going to Port Adelaide.
The year 2000 was huge for the damaging midfielder. He played in the pre-season premiership, regular season AFL
premiership and the International Rules Series.
He has played 144 AFL games, kicking 48 goals. This season he has managed six games and 66 disposals and is tipped to retire after tomorrow's game.

bombersno1
31 Aug 2007, 18:42
Now hopefully Bolton follows him into retirement!

Pawtucket Patriot
31 Aug 2007, 18:56
I reckon he is one of the best tacklers I have seen.

Darealrath
31 Aug 2007, 19:39
Not that he has much say in it.

I'll always remember the way he murdered Woewodin in the 2000 GF, particularly how he set the scene with a couple big plays in the first quarter. Heff was such a gun back then. Very smooth mover.

kelvin_sheedy
31 Aug 2007, 19:50
Whatever happened to Heff?

Why has he gone downhill?

I always thought he could play a serious midfield role and at one stage he was touted as a future Essendon captain.

Darealrath
31 Aug 2007, 19:54
Whatever happened to Heff?

Why has he gone downhill?

I always thought he could play a serious midfield role and at one stage he was touted as a future Essendon captain.

Ever since he missed games in '01 with a knee injury and then was rushed back too early he's been very average. Maybe played as a tagger too long. I remember Marcuz saying he was a gun attacking player in juniors but we stifled that.

windyhill
1 Sep 2007, 03:24
I love his heart. Watch him lock down on someone tomorrow.

Crave
1 Sep 2007, 14:39
I tend to think bringing him back didnt really add to our arsenal, more to aid the younger brigade and provide depth due to injury. With Heff likely to retire and Campo also due to injury, Im actually beginning to think Dyson has one more season to show that he has it in him to demand a spot.

Not sure we're in a position to lose 3 experienced midfielders, if we are to recruit one or 2 more young kids in the middle. We'll still be outmuscled in the middle more often than not and cant rely on MJ & JJ to protect our kids, that compounded with Hirdy, Heff, and Campo more than likely to retire....

Boris_Bewick
2 Sep 2007, 16:15
Was good enough yesterday to suggest he still has it at AFL level I think. Shame he didn't become more of a player, for whatever reason

Bomber Stu
2 Sep 2007, 17:33
We should of never lost him to Melbourne, and was a mistake getting him back.

Hope he takes Bolton with him

hotwizz
2 Sep 2007, 18:22
the heff is a legend.. he has seriously been my fav essendon player to watch..i hope he stays on for one more year and poors his heart and soul into it.. i genuinely think he has what it takes to a have a big impact at the top level.. if he doesnt i wish him the best and thank him for his efforts, especially after we shafted him..

Daisy..1
2 Sep 2007, 18:31
Sheeds being the centimentalist that he is would have had Heff and Bolts in that team for a reason, of playing their final game with EFC. No new couch in their right mind would want to hang on to either of these guys, and i could name a few more that can fall under this catergory INCLUDING support coaches. We are not going to be in contention for the next, at least, 3 years, clean out all the dead wood and SERIOUSLY REBUILD. When you know, as a supporter we could accept that we are in fact in a serious REBUILD stage, and we could all look forward to the future, but as it is we have been treading water with top up players for years, and the excuse why we are not doing well is that we are, you know it...REBUILDING. Get serious, get the bums that are being paid a fortune for standing around half hearted and not playing for the TEAM out of there. Then begs the question, who do we have (youngsters) to step up? Not sure we really have to many, we have been flirted with exceptional talent as the likes of Monies and Stants and Lovett, none of which for mine are set in concrete to be the next big thing. Time has to come that this obsurd way of reward drafting for being a crap side and wanting to finish at the bottom is put to rest. I don't know enough about how the old system of zone drafting would work in this age of footy, but something has to be done. The interstate teams are always a regular in the finals and ultimately the Big One each year. They do not need baby sitting anymore, go back to zones and priority picks put in a hat at years end?? The way it is at the moment is a joke.