View Full Version : What is the best pub in Perth?
Stronzo
31 Aug 2007, 23:08
norfolk would have to be up there, though I have a soft spot for the inglewood.
NiGHTFuRY
31 Aug 2007, 23:15
George & Dragon Inn, Shoalwater :rolleyes::o
shibz_1989
31 Aug 2007, 23:20
The Swinging Pig :p
peterss
31 Aug 2007, 23:27
ROFL!
Thats like a 2 minute walk from my place :D
NiGHTFuRY
31 Aug 2007, 23:43
The Swinging Pig :p
a.k.a Fight Club
NiGHTFuRY
31 Aug 2007, 23:44
ROFL!
Thats like a 2 minute walk from my place :D
The place is like a rogues den from some medieval Tolkien fantasy
dominguez
1 Sep 2007, 00:04
Inglewood and Greenwood are both very good sportsbars, unfortunately both are extremely popular with eagles supporters. Champions Bar at Burswood is good for sport too (apart from Saturday nights). They have speakers in the dunny, so if you've had a few pints you don't miss any goals/wickets when you need to go. :thumbsu:
Crankitup
1 Sep 2007, 00:10
The Saint or the Floreat.
estibador
1 Sep 2007, 02:10
I always preferred the Freo pubs because I could stagger home when I used to live nearby. And I knew Freo like the back of my hand so I could never get lost (which I used to have a habit of doing when I'd get really drunk and decide to go walkies in areas I wasn't familiar with.)
Norfolk pretty good, Seaview too (although that was a much longer stagger home.) But my favourite was probably Rosie's in Freo. Love Irish pubs.
My problem is when I used to go out on pub crawls in Northbridge I could never remember the names of any of the pubs the next morning. I know I liked them, I just can't remember where they are or what they're called.
one pub i used to like was liars in vic park, but seriously cant remember the last pub i went to in perth, being a kal girl the best pub there would have to be Paddys
NiGHTFuRY
1 Sep 2007, 02:18
I always preferred the Freo pubs because I could stagger home when I used to live nearby. And I knew Freo like the back of my hand so I could never get lost (which I used to have a habit of doing when I'd get really drunk and decide to go walkies in areas I wasn't familiar with.)
Norfolk pretty good, Seaview too (although that was a much longer stagger home.) But my favourite was probably Rosie's in Freo. Love Irish pubs.
My problem is when I used to go out on pub crawls in Northbridge I could never remember the names of any of the pubs the next morning. I know I liked them, I just can't remember where they are or what they're called.
Hmmmmz - I too have shared that same type of amnesia from time to time.... :thumbsu::p:o
Dyslexic Emo
1 Sep 2007, 18:45
I have the exact same problem, but these days they stamp you everywhere you go in clubs and what not, so the next morning it's actually pretty funny to look at your arm to find out where you were the night before as you don't remember being in half the places let alone half the peoples names in your bed the next morning lol....
Da Inglewood aint too shabby.
shibz_1989
2 Sep 2007, 13:22
Ok, after lastnight I'd have to say the Irish is my favourite. Ahhhh...:D
Freo Big Fella
2 Sep 2007, 13:49
The Saint, The Flying Scotsman, The Sail and Anchor and The Breakwater would be my top four.
NiGHTFuRY
2 Sep 2007, 14:52
Whats the Irish Pub at the Burswood??... Thats not too bad
dominguez
2 Sep 2007, 17:31
Paddy Hannan's. :thumbsu:
Dyslexic Emo
5 Sep 2007, 05:14
man cans
Belnakor
5 Sep 2007, 13:01
I don't know why people rate the Irish Pub at Burswood, it always has a shitty aptmosphere, on the big nights its impossible to get a drink, and people in there hardly ever drink like an irishman would. Posers version of an irish bar. But then everything around and associated with Burswood has to put with the aura of just absolute dreck and shit that comes from the direction of the floor. Worst casino in Australia (honorable mention to Star City for trying to pip Burswood)
prattsta
5 Sep 2007, 13:17
I don't know why people rate the Irish Pub at Burswood, it always has a shitty aptmosphere, on the big nights its impossible to get a drink, and people in there hardly ever drink like an irishman would. Posers version of an irish bar. But then everything around and associated with Burswood has to put with the aura of just absolute dreck and shit that comes from the direction of the floor. Worst casino in Australia (honorable mention to Star City for trying to pip Burswood)
Absolutely, wholeheartedly, completely and utterly agree with every single word you just typed.
I would also like to add 'The Leftbank' to the list of imitation pubs. If you don't have beer on tap, you're not a pub, you're a glorified, overpriced fridge. I realise it's all heritage listed so it can't be modified, and its a western australian icon, but its a disgrace.
There are plenty of great pubs in Perth, its just a shame there are also plenty of ********s who frequent all the best one's.
Belnakor
5 Sep 2007, 13:54
There are plenty of great pubs in Perth, its just a shame there are also plenty of ********s who frequent all the best one's.
Yup that is the problem with Perth. Every pub that is half decent, stays half decent for awhile, and then gets absolutely and totally swamped by "bogans inc" and other assorted wankers. Case in point would be "the Red Sea". A couple of years ago, this was a decent, though not great nightclub. Now it is literally swamped with bogans, people are getting stabbed and its just generally a shithole. Same thing happened to places like the Deen etc.
It would also help if liquor licensing would actually enforce the person limit on the main nightclubs. Either they are granting permits with too many people allowed, or the nightclubs are too full... but you should not be in a situation where you walk into a nightclub and its bumper to bumper the entire way through the club. (does the belgian beer house even have a limit? Carnedies doesn't seem to, Red Sea is like a tokyo train, etc etc.). Mark my words, if there is a fire in one of those clubs we're all ****ed.
NiGHTFuRY
5 Sep 2007, 14:32
Yup that is the problem with Perth. Every pub that is half decent, stays half decent for awhile, and then gets absolutely and totally swamped by "bogans inc" and other assorted wankers. Case in point would be "the Red Sea". A couple of years ago, this was a decent, though not great nightclub. Now it is literally swamped with bogans, people are getting stabbed and its just generally a shithole. Same thing happened to places like the Deen etc.
It would also help if liquor licensing would actually enforce the person limit on the main nightclubs. Either they are granting permits with too many people allowed, or the nightclubs are too full... but you should not be in a situation where you walk into a nightclub and its bumper to bumper the entire way through the club. (does the belgian beer house even have a limit? Carnedies doesn't seem to, Red Sea is like a tokyo train, etc etc.). Mark my words, if there is a fire in one of those clubs we're all ****ed.
Belkanor - please define your definition and meaning of Bogan ???
heildelberg hi-flyer
5 Sep 2007, 14:45
from a victorians point off view i would have to say the cott or a place called the nepean or beach hotel, not to sure of the name
Belnakor
5 Sep 2007, 14:54
Belkanor - please define your definition and meaning of Bogan ???
Its Belnakor champ.
My definition of Bogan, would be someone who shows up at a night club with an attitude, a chip on his shoulder, who is uncultured, perhaps wearing a checker shirt, but always sporting some kind of "rats tail" possibly dyed blonde. Remember the old crowd at the Zanzi? Bogans. Not that Bogans are the only problem with the Red Sea, the amount of ethnic trash in that club are half the problem.
Absolutely, wholeheartedly, completely and utterly agree with every single word you just typed.
I would also like to add 'The Leftbank' to the list of imitation pubs. If you don't have beer on tap, you're not a pub, you're a glorified, overpriced fridge. I realise it's all heritage listed so it can't be modified, and its a western australian icon, but its a disgrace.
Dead right. Went there the other day as I had only been there once before about 3 years ago. What a joke. That place has so much potential, but when you leave there having paid $8 for a small bottle of piss, you don't really feel like going back in a hurry.
I haven't been to the red sea in some time, though I remember the people there were nearly all yuppies. Have the bogans kicked them out? Either way never rated the place.
Belnakor
6 Sep 2007, 11:27
Your thinking of the Red Sea like 2-3 years ago. Then it was all Yuppies yeah. Most of the crowd from Harbourside has relocated to the Red Sea.
Belnakor
6 Sep 2007, 11:30
Dead right. Went there the other day as I had only been there once before about 3 years ago. What a joke. That place has so much potential, but when you leave there having paid $8 for a small bottle of piss, you don't really feel like going back in a hurry.
Yeah the Leftbank has probably the 2nd best location in Perth, but it is just poorly managed. I don't know who runs it but they don't have a clue about how to make a pub work... I think they are trying to be all things to all people and it ain't working.
Underdog
6 Sep 2007, 17:39
The Rosemount Hotel - good beer, nice beer garden, good people, great music
summerthebat
6 Sep 2007, 17:48
The Bakery, The Flying Scotsman, Sail and Anchor and the Rosemount
Where is the bakery?
summerthebat
6 Sep 2007, 18:09
Where is the bakery?
It's behind Metro City, down a dark and dingy alleyway. They are only open when a band is scheduled there which you can find out from www.artrage.com.au/bakery but the courtyard is like a communist missile yard and one of the few bars that sells long necks of beer over the counter.
summerthebat
6 Sep 2007, 18:10
So rather a Bar not a Pub!
But still, I thought it would fall under a similar category worth a mention here!
Its easy to pick up a root at the National in Freo:rolleyes:
And the Seaview sux ever since it went all trendy
Its easy to pick up a root at the National in Freo:rolleyes:
Not since it burnt down..
summerthebat
6 Sep 2007, 18:14
Not since it burnt down..
Yeah the old "NASH" had a few comb overs by the insurance company after that one.
Did you read the article in todays west, seems as though its going to be turned into an upmarket (yuppie) pub with a restaurant.
Its a shame all of the old pubs getting jazzed up or knocked down. Places like the brissy bar, the swanny, the shenton park, the rose, the raffles (that crown larger sign is a disgrace), I'm sure Im missing a few. I wonder where all the bar flies will go?
Not since it burnt down..:confused:
How long ago was that?
:confused:
How long ago was that?
March this year.
estibador
6 Sep 2007, 19:16
Yeah the Leftbank has probably the 2nd best location in Perth,
Just out of interest, which do you rate as the best location?
prattsta
6 Sep 2007, 19:35
Did you read the article in todays west, seems as though its going to be turned into an upmarket (yuppie) pub with a restaurant.
Its a shame all of the old pubs getting jazzed up or knocked down. Places like the brissy bar, the swanny, the shenton park, the rose, the raffles (that crown larger sign is a disgrace), I'm sure Im missing a few. I wonder where all the bar flies will go?
Its the way of the future my friend. The way of the future...
Put in some funky artwork, randomly place some trendy furniture, give patrons their change on a silver tray then feel free to charge about $26.80 for a orange juice.
To be fair though most of the pubs that have been renovated were in desperate need. The problem is though, there is such a lack of variety in Perth once something new comes along everyone wants to try it. So it gets labelled as 'cool' then all the pretencious knobs move on in and it turns to crap.
Yep.
Its a bit sad, I hope the new license laws will change things around a bit. When you go to melb or syd you see what we are missing here.
New question: What is the wankiest or worst pub/bar/club in perth?
I nominate the subi hotel, I think you need a mince to get into this pub now days
prattsta
7 Sep 2007, 11:11
The new licensing laws haven't done anything. The new licenses are too difficult/expensive to get and just aren't worth all the hassle for the owners. If you own a restaurant/pub/bar whatever you should be able to stay open as long as you like and serve alcohol as well, i really don't see why its so complicated.
Clancy's in Fremantle on a saturday/sunday afternoon is good. Heaps of different beers (on tap) great food (fried mice, seafood platters). Very laid back, good staff, family friendly, it has a lot going for it. I've never had a bad experience there, but you do get a few artsy, fartsy interpretive dancer types floating around. Not to mention watching all the skateboa...sorry sk8rz out the front costing their parents massive amounts in dental bills provides hours of entertainment.
Niche Bar (leederville) is very wanky (well it was 2 years ago the one and only time i went).
Belnakor
7 Sep 2007, 11:34
Just out of interest, which do you rate as the best location?
imho, the Cott.
Belnakor
7 Sep 2007, 11:36
Hullabulla by the length of the straight. Others in contention, Niche, Sapphire, "Under the Sea", Onyx. Theres also a couple of absolute wankerfest "Wine Bars" in Mt Lawley, but i don't know if they qualify :)
Oh, i'll also add, that bar out of the back of the Belgian Beer House, its a wanker bar, but the criminal offense there, was that no shit, i stood at the bar for 20 minutes trying to get served.
GentlemanJeff
7 Sep 2007, 11:39
It would also help if liquor licensing would actually enforce the person limit on the main nightclubs. .
You are spot on with this comment. Either nightclubs are overcrowding, or the Department of Racing Gaming and Liquor needs to take a good look at themselves and reduce the patron numbers allowed at each night club.
People actually get treated worse than cattle being shipped out for live export.
Every pub that is half decent, stays half decent for awhile, and then gets absolutely and totally swamped .
Yep, this is also a problem. It is arguable that we need another big war just to thin some numbers out.
Belnakor
7 Sep 2007, 11:39
Its the way of the future my friend. The way of the future...
Put in some funky artwork, randomly place some trendy furniture, give patrons their change on a silver tray then feel free to charge about $26.80 for a orange juice.
To be fair though most of the pubs that have been renovated were in desperate need. The problem is though, there is such a lack of variety in Perth once something new comes along everyone wants to try it. So it gets labelled as 'cool' then all the pretencious knobs move on in and it turns to crap.
The silver tray is gold. They seem to think it makes people more inclined to tip because its such a pain in the arse to get the money out of it.
The place next to Sluggers (totally slips my mind the name of it.) is a good example of a place being redone and actually improving, so they aren't all a complete stuff up.
GentlemanJeff
7 Sep 2007, 11:46
Hullabulla by the length of the straight. Others in contention, Niche, Sapphire, "Under the Sea", Onyx. Theres also a couple of absolute wankerfest "Wine Bars" in Mt Lawley, but i don't know if they qualify :)
Any bar in Mount Lawley is probably a homosexual pickup joint.
Hullabulla is a joke, and only a ****head would stand in line for over an hour to get in to that shithole.
I also understand your hatred of Sapphire bar - that place is a magnet for ethnic trash who think they have gone "up market" because they are drinking in Subiaco.
For me, I cant go past the Leedy as Perth's worst venue. It attracts complete ********s, is a meat market, and for some unknown reason people swarm to that shitty room at the front which is so crowded that you cant even move. I have hated the Leedy with a passion for many years - I flat out refuse to go there.
GentlemanJeff
7 Sep 2007, 11:47
The place next to Sluggers (totally slips my mind the name of it.) is a good example of a place being redone and actually improving, so they aren't all a complete stuff up.
Windsor?
Belnakor
7 Sep 2007, 11:49
Windsor?
Ah yup thats the one
Belnakor
7 Sep 2007, 11:53
Hullabulla is a joke, and only a ****head would stand in line for over an hour to get in to that shithole.
Absolutely. To say that place has delusions of Grandeur would be putting it mildly.
I also understand your hatred of Sapphire bar - that place is a magnet for ethnic trash who think they have gone "up market" because they are drinking in Subiaco.
The other problem with Sapphire its approximately 98c (just below boiling point) in that place, because it is essentially a dingy house, converted into a club with no ventalation.
For me, I cant go past the Leedy as Perth's worst venue. It attracts complete ********s, is a meat market, and for some unknown reason people swarm to that shitty room at the front which is so crowded that you cant even move. I have hated the Leedy with a passion for many years - I flat out refuse to go there.
Ah i forgot the leedy, easily the worst pub in Perth for overcrowding. I've been in there and the ENTIRE club was bumper to bumper.. you literally could not move without shoving people aside and plowing through the crowd. As you said, it was like Cattle being shipped out for live export. They just want the punters fo file in like sheep, empty their wallets for a couple of horrendously overpriced bourbon and cokes, and from that point they couldn't care less what happens.
GentlemanJeff
7 Sep 2007, 11:57
Ah i forgot the leedy, easily the worst pub in Perth for overcrowding. I've been in there and the ENTIRE club was bumper to bumper.. you literally could not move without shoving people aside and plowing through the crowd. As you said, it was like Cattle being shipped out for live export. They just want the punters fo file in like sheep, empty their wallets for a couple of horrendously overpriced bourbon and cokes, and from that point they couldn't care less what happens.
It is a condition of entry at the Leedy that you leave your human dignity at the door. The management treat people like animals, and whats worse is that the patrons behave like animals - they act like pigs pushing and shoving to get to the trough.
I just cant understand how the Leedy has not been done for overcrowding.
prattsta
7 Sep 2007, 12:12
imho, the Cott.
The Cott's okay except for being fn crowded, and if i wanted to drink with a few hundred 13 year olds i'd head down to sheds behind the local high school. Great location though, nothing like strolling in from the beach still dripping wet and grabbing a pint or two before you head home.
Windsor?
The Windsor?! more 'Pro's' work at that place than bar staff, as entertaining as it is to see 60 year old dudes get picked up by 20 year old women every 20 minutes or so, once the novelty of trying to spot them wears off it gets a bit creepy. I used to live about a 30 second walk away though, so i saw a lot of things most wouldn't and as such my opinion of it isn't very high. They do serve Snake Bites though which is always entertaining.
Sluggers is no more either, its a garden/restaurant/bar now, think its called Mends St, its pretty good though for a drink and a meal.
Belnakor
7 Sep 2007, 12:20
Great location though, nothing like strolling in from the beach still dripping wet and grabbing a pint or two before you head home.
Yeah the thing with the Cott is its good like Saturday Arvo, because you can literally just walk in off the beach. but if you go Sunday its too full and shit... and people keep stretching the "sunday session" to start at like 11am.
The Windsor?! more 'Pro's' work at that place than bar staff, as entertaining as it is to see 60 year old dudes get picked up by 20 year old women every 20 minutes or so, once the novelty of trying to spot them wears off it gets a bit creepy. I used to live about a 30 second walk away though, so i saw a lot of things most wouldn't and as such my opinion of it isn't very high. They do serve Snake Bites though which is always entertaining.
Yeah, but you got to admit its better than the old place which was a throw back to the 1970s, complete with old pool tables and bar flys :)
Sluggers is no more either, its a garden/restaurant/bar now, think its called Mends St, its pretty good though for a drink and a meal.
Bummer. Showing my age!
Its not a pub per se, but Little Creatures has awesome beer and food.
The fact I get $2 pints may affect my judgment. But still think it goes alright.
OBH and Cott pretty handy.
The Claremont is my local. Pretty over it but nice birds. The Captain Stirling is awesome on a Wednesday.
Yes I'm the token Western Suburbs private school boy who supports WC. Only reason I keep going to these places is because I grew up with all the bar staff and pay nothing for the drinks.
Belnakor
7 Sep 2007, 12:26
I just cant understand how the Leedy has not been done for overcrowding.
I vaguely remember some shit about how it is licensed for 1100 people or something absolutely insane. If that is the case, it is an accident waiting to happen.
sabre_ac
7 Sep 2007, 12:29
Oh, i'll also add, that bar out of the back of the Belgian Beer House, its a wanker bar, but the criminal offense there, was that no shit, i stood at the bar for 20 minutes trying to get served.
Mount Lawley as general is wanky, except for maybe the Brisbane.
Niche is a joke, I can't quite work that place out. The atmosphere is dull, the drinks expensive and no dance floor.
Though...The manor..that place is in a league of its own. Not wanky, just for alternative weirdo's.
Emo central that place, in fact I have heard of people being denied from that place for being too well dressed.
ahahah sum's it up really.
sabre_ac
7 Sep 2007, 12:30
Its not a pub per se, but Little Creatures has awesome beer and food.
The fact I get $2 pints may affect my judgment. But still think it goes alright.
OBH and Cott pretty handy.
The Claremont is my local. Pretty over it but nice birds. The Captain Stirling is awesome on a Wednesday.
Yes I'm the token Western Suburbs private school boy who supports WC. Only reason I keep going to these places is because I grew up with all the bar staff and pay nothing for the drinks.
Sounds like a stock standard clubba regular.
Hit that place consistently from 18 to 21, on average 2-3 times a week.
Not a fan of the new management though, probably why it's gone down hill numbers wise.
Leedy has replaced it.
Belnakor
7 Sep 2007, 12:32
I don't understand why he cares about the drink prices, surely his trust fund covers it.
sabre_ac
7 Sep 2007, 12:34
I don't understand why he cares about the drink prices, surely his trust fund covers it.
Hey don't knock the golden triangle kids....Some of us support the dockers :)
GentlemanJeff
7 Sep 2007, 12:34
Bummer. Showing my age!
I recall a 17 year old Belnakor absolutely tee'ing off in the batting cage at sluggers back in the good old days.
Chopsticks
7 Sep 2007, 12:36
Waikiki Hotel :D. Getting bowled over soon.
Hit that place consistently from 18 to 21, on average 2-3 times a week.
Not a fan of the new management though, probably why it's gone down hill numbers wise.
Leedy has replaced it.
Yeh, dont really like going to Club too much. Just see the same people again and again. One upside is that you can go with only afew people and you'll meet others there.
I dont really like the Leedy that much. Hard to get home from and I find it alittle bogan at times.
You know that Club and Leedy (and the Claremont) are owned by the same bloke. Apparantly Club runs at a pretty hefty loss and might have to close down soon.
Someone was telling me that the OBH and Cott will also be gone within 5yrs. That would be tragic.
sabre_ac
7 Sep 2007, 12:40
Yeh, dont really like going to Club too much. Just see the same people again and again. One upside is that you can go with only afew people and you'll meet others there.
True, but I hate lining up for the place.
Just put's me in a foul mood
I dont really like the Leedy that much. Hard to get home from and I find it alittle bogan at times.
Agreed.
Though it has a broader range of people, I like it because there is heaps of different area's to mix it up if you get bored.
You know that Club and Leedy (and the Claremont) are owned by the same bloke. Apparantly Club runs at a pretty hefty loss and might have to close down soon.
Ah thats a shame...
Someone was telling me that the OBH and Cott will also be gone within 5yrs. That would be tragic.
Cott is saved now, aparently after three plan's for redevelopment were rejected by the council it will now remain as is.
Good news.
OBH was always doomed sadly.
Hopefully another beach pub will be built, its part of our culture.
Suprised they could never make a decent pub in scarborough.
Chopsticks
7 Sep 2007, 12:40
Inglewood and Greenwood are both very good sportsbars, unfortunately both are extremely popular with eagles supporters.
Back bar at the Inglewood was my local til a short time ago. Was constantly defending the purple.
prattsta
7 Sep 2007, 12:44
I vaguely remember some shit about how it is licensed for 1100 people or something absolutely insane. If that is the case, it is an accident waiting to happen.
Some of the points make for a funny read if you can be bothered-
http://www.vincent.wa.gov.au/agenda/2007/20070814/att/hsmfleedervillehotel001.pdf
"No hard hip-hop"
Its currently licensed for 2175 persons!
When i first started going out The Leedy had huge outdoor entertaining area, beer garden, pool tables, you could go outside and have somewhere to sit and/or something to do, most of that space is wasted now, so everyone crams inside.
Belnakor
7 Sep 2007, 14:04
I recall a 17 year old Belnakor absolutely tee'ing off in the batting cage at sluggers back in the good old days.
Sluggers died the day they took out the batting cage, and so did a piece of Perth :)
Some of the points make for a funny read if you can be bothered-
http://www.vincent.wa.gov.au/agenda/2007/20070814/att/hsmfleedervillehotel001.pdf
"No hard hip-hop"
Its currently licensed for 2175 persons!
That is just beyond asburd.. no wonder they are cramming people in, that place would struggle to hold 1000 let alone twice that.
NiGHTFuRY
7 Sep 2007, 14:55
Its Belnakor champ.
My definition of Bogan, would be someone who shows up at a night club with an attitude, a chip on his shoulder, who is uncultured, perhaps wearing a checker shirt, but always sporting some kind of "rats tail" possibly dyed blonde. Remember the old crowd at the Zanzi? Bogans. Not that Bogans are the only problem with the Red Sea, the amount of ethnic trash in that club are half the problem.
Belnakor... I accidentally spelt your name wrong, relax...
Your description could in effect, describe one third of the entire Australian population!:eek::p
NiGHTFuRY
7 Sep 2007, 14:57
They've been saying that for years.... That guy that owns that is sitting on so much land it's not funny... Very very very wealthy... all by the ocean..
Worst, the Medina Tavern and Naval Base Hotel
shibz_1989
7 Sep 2007, 17:38
Wow, serious? I may have to go there before it does...
dominguez
31 Oct 2007, 11:45
Pav, Hase and 2 business partners have bought the Stock Road Market Tavern in Bibra Lake for about $2 million.
There's a story on page 57 of today's West.
Stronzo
31 Oct 2007, 11:59
Pav, Hase and 2 business partners have bought the Stock Road Market Tavern in Bibra Lake for about $2 million.
There's a story on page 57 of today's West.
I've never been there before.
No wonder Hase was trying to hold out for a pay increase..
SPEEDWAGON
31 Oct 2007, 12:21
Capitol / Amplifier is good for indie kids like me
Ambar - Bar Open - good quality female talent can be found inside
shed / deen for a laid back time.
Hip e club - when i am feeling like playing the fool
I try to avoid bar 120 / GBT for the northies reading this
dominguez
31 Oct 2007, 16:23
Didn't know the Hip-E club was still there, is it still popular? Was always a good laugh 8-10 years ago.
Freo Big Fella
31 Oct 2007, 16:40
The Hip-E is almost just a pub with a dancefloor now (or has been the last few times I've been there). Great place to just relax and have a drink though, especially if you've just bailed out of the excersise at human congestion that is The Leedy.
Don't really understand the hatred some people have for Bar120, the crowd certainly isn't as rough as it's supposed "rep" suggests. Breakwater from 6-last drinks then Bar120 till close is a great saturday night.
Went back to the Stamford Arms for the first time in a while the other night, and was pleasently suprised as well, they seem to have gotten rid of the bulk of the dropkicks that used to crowd in there which makes for a nice change.
dominguez
31 Oct 2007, 16:54
The Leedy's gone crazy. It used to be quiet on a Saturday, we were passing through the area a few weeks back so stopped in to watch the Wallabies v England. It was packed and they were charging to get in. Really young crowd too.
Is Bar 120 in Joondalup? I've been to GBT's and it was okay, went somewhere else afterwards (Could have been Bar 120 :eek:) but it was a bit shit. I wouldn't say a rough crowd but the venue definately needed a make over.
Stamford Arms would have improved when they closed The Lookout. A lot of bogans would have got kicked out or couldn't be bothered lining up for Lookout and would have ended up in The Arms.
Stronzo
13 Nov 2007, 11:22
It's behind Metro City, down a dark and dingy alleyway. They are only open when a band is scheduled there which you can find out from www.artrage.com.au/bakery (http://www.artrage.com.au/bakery) but the courtyard is like a communist missile yard and one of the few bars that sells long necks of beer over the counter.
Went there a few weeks back for the opening of some freaky art exhibition. Was not bad, liked the wall paper and the kingbrowns.
The band that was playing however :thumbsd:
prattsta
13 Nov 2007, 12:27
The Hip-E is almost just a pub with a dancefloor now (or has been the last few times I've been there). Great place to just relax and have a drink though, especially if you've just bailed out of the excersise at human congestion that is The Leedy.
Don't really understand the hatred some people have for Bar120, the crowd certainly isn't as rough as it's supposed "rep" suggests. Breakwater from 6-last drinks then Bar120 till close is a great saturday night.
Went back to the Stamford Arms for the first time in a while the other night, and was pleasently suprised as well, they seem to have gotten rid of the bulk of the dropkicks that used to crowd in there which makes for a nice change.
Got to disagree with you on the hip-e club that place is an absolute fn disgrace. Probably the worst crowd of any pub i have ever been to. Seriously. Just another reason to avoid Leederville basically.
Dyslexic Emo
13 Nov 2007, 13:08
I'll probably get abused for my choice of pubs but for some reason I really like the Hyde Park Hotel, the back bar, 20 cent pool, you can't go wrong
Stronzo
13 Nov 2007, 13:22
I'll probably get abused for my choice of pubs but for some reason I really like the Hyde Park Hotel, the back bar, 20 cent pool, you can't go wrong
respect to that.
Thought it would go to the dogs when woolworths bought it, but so far it has stayed pretty much the same. Though they need to scrap that poxy electronic duke box and bring back the old one :thumbsu:
BTW DE, are you aware of the bearded man and the work he is involved in ;)
Dyslexic Emo
13 Nov 2007, 13:37
respect to that.
Thought it would go to the dogs when woolworths bought it, but so far it has stayed pretty much the same. Though they need to scrap that poxy electronic duke box and bring back the old one :thumbsu:
BTW DE, are you aware of the bearded man and the work he is involved in ;)
Hmmm you could only mean one of two people, Dodgey roger, or shane.
Both are involved in a fair share of dodgey dealings but yeah I know them both very well, Poor roger is not long for this world hey, Hopefully they will retire his seat when he passes, a true stallwart of the Hydie experience. I was just about to tell everyone of when and where he gets there and how but quickly decided against this. But yeah been there plenty of times and gone into the toilets only to be offered a toke of what i can only describe as a brown tar coasted smoke that always puts me on my arse
Oh and about those electronic dukeboxes their awesome. Just turn off the switch at the back, complain that they took your money (like 6 bucks is my regular amount) then they givie it to you and fix it (cos it resests the whole computer) Thats it, simple, but only do it once a night, they might catch on otherwise
Stronzo
13 Nov 2007, 13:57
Ha ha! I'll keep that in mind, while we're on the subject of scams the old $5 pool cue deposit used to be a lucrative one whendrunken punters would leave forgetting about it!
Think they scrapped it now, probably due to the amount of disputes it caused..
Belnakor
14 Nov 2007, 16:32
the only band worth salt in that place is the mighty "Project Mayhem"
Stronzo
14 Nov 2007, 16:40
Correct me if I'm wrong but the panics started playing at the hydey didn't they?
GentlemanJeff
15 Nov 2007, 10:08
the only band worth salt in that place is the mighty "Project Mayhem"
I believe they prefer to be called "Projectus Mayhemus" these days.
You cant beat one of their classic songs like "disfunctional girl".
Belnakor
29 Aug 2008, 12:27
Resurrecting this hread: Can i just say that the state of pubs in Perth seems to get weaker by the year. I remember going to the brisbane a year or two back, and going yeah, this isn't bad. Classy, pretty chilled out. I went there last weekend and **** ME it was packed. You couldn't get to the bar to save your life. it was a joke.
Why is every single bar in the city understaffed? Surely they realize the more bar staff, the more booze you can serve and the more money you make.
Dyslexic Emo
31 Aug 2008, 18:53
Whats with all the pubs these days going 'up market'? it's starting to drive me u the wall. I just want to be able to go to a pub, have a pie (not a bloody salmon wraop with wasbi and daikon coleslaw), have a jug (not a 330ml bottle of imported wank) and be able to sit with a few friends to watch whatever sport we wanted to watch that wasn't on free to air and not have to actually 'get dressed' to do it. I totally understand that generalyl places want to 'class up' to attraxct a more 'reputable' crowd, but **** me, it's very hard to act classy, when you on your 5 jug, drssed in your sports garb and yelling at somme goose ont he tele who stuffed up.
For example, If your pub is within 2km of a strip joint, you shouldn't be trying to class up the joint.
If you place is freqquented by prostitutes looking for a bit of shelter when it's raining outside. You shouldn't class up the joint
If there are people selling/using/looking to score drugs outside you venue. You shouldn't be trying to class up the joint
If there are blood/vomit/urine anywhere on your floor. You shouldn't be trying to class up your joint.
Idf you have a drive thru attatched to your pub, don't try and classy it up
but laslty, and this may be the most important of all. When you try to class up your place, you will inevitablly get the worst of the worst of the clientelle, the wannabe classy girls/metrosexual guys, who try as they might by drinknig crap beer, eating worsoe food and wearing fake fashion labels will only ever cause griewf and for the place to go downhill.
dominguez
31 Aug 2008, 21:21
Haha, you're in form today DE!!! :thumbsu:
I met a mate at the Rivervale for a beer the other week and I was shocked walking into an old school working class pub because there's so few around now.
bigkev bleeds purple
1 Sep 2008, 04:38
DE wins.
Case in point: Murdoch University Tavern. Sure, the old one was a bit small, it was in the middle of nowhere and the drinks were far too expensive for poverty stricken students, but at least it had a bit of character. Now the new tavern is a horrible piece of shit that was probably designed by all of the chancellery because as soon as you walk in there, you feel inadequate. If you aren't bringing home $100k a year then you don't belong. It's as if the bar staff are holding themselves back from telling you to f*ck right off and go drink goon on the kerb by yourself, you filthy, disease carrying, cardboard box inhabiting bum.
Queens....the best pub by far, followed by Moon & Sixpence and Elephant & Wheelbarrow. The Old Bailey in Joondalup is not bad either.
Brisbane is crap, full of high-class wannabees
Chops_a_must
1 Sep 2008, 12:58
DE wins.
Case in point: Murdoch University Tavern. Sure, the old one was a bit small, it was in the middle of nowhere and the drinks were far too expensive for poverty stricken students, but at least it had a bit of character. Now the new tavern is a horrible piece of shit that was probably designed by all of the chancellery because as soon as you walk in there, you feel inadequate. If you aren't bringing home $100k a year then you don't belong. It's as if the bar staff are holding themselves back from telling you to f*ck right off and go drink goon on the kerb by yourself, you filthy, disease carrying, cardboard box inhabiting bum.
I must disagree BKBP.
I really like it now. But I liked the old one too... so I dunno.
Much better perving location now.
JimDocker
1 Sep 2008, 14:31
Queens....the best pub by far, followed by Moon & Sixpence and Elephant & Wheelbarrow. The Old Bailey in Joondalup is not bad either.
Brisbane is crap, full of high-class wannabees
I am a bit over the "British" pubs. The Moon', Elephant', Old Bailey etc..... The clientele are all geezers and there seems to be a bit try hard attempt to recreate an English pub.
Clancy's Fremantle is my favourite pub by far. A great mix of people, age wise and style wise. A great selection of beers on tap with four taps that change every month to smaller breweries, such as Matso's, Wicked Ale and other local micro breweries. Great fish and chips too - although overpriced.
A big space out the back for people with kids to run around and kick a footy. Quailty old fashioned pub !
I still love the Sail and Anchor. I thought when they were renovating all those years ago that they would ruin it, but it still has a great feel.
I hate The Left Bank with a passion. I remember drinking many pints of Guinness ther over the years and the last time I went, it cost about $7.00 for a warm bottle of lager. Some of my friends do insist on meeting there though !
I love the food at Little Creatures but don't enjoy the beer much. It is again a big favourite for people to meet so I end up there fairly often and have started drinking wine rather than beer as I really do not like the beer. Nice pub though and it is generally a good atmosphere.
I really enjoy The Seaview for an away game. Particularly an away derby that we have not manged to get tickets for. The screens could be bigger though.
the carlton hotel in east perth ftw!
Belnakor
1 Sep 2008, 15:57
I must disagree BKBP.
I really like it now. But I liked the old one too... so I dunno.
Much better perving location now.
Are we talking about the one on top of the library? or has it shifted again?
Chops_a_must
1 Sep 2008, 17:58
Are we talking about the one on top of the library? or has it shifted again?
Many moons ago it was somewhere central, and then shifted to the back near all the guild offices, apparently because it was too popular. Now it's down the bottom of bush court, where you get to see all the wimmin coming and going. :)
legitimatic
1 Sep 2008, 20:11
Agree that Murdoch Tav is nothing special.
I am a bit over the "British" pubs. The Moon', Elephant', Old Bailey etc..... The clientele are all geezers and there seems to be a bit try hard attempt to recreate an English pub.
Well, let me tell ya that, unlike what I experenced many times at Paddo's, Carine or Wembley, I've never seen a brawl at Queens or Moon. Old Bailey, although packed with Poms and Jocks, is not a British-type pub [contrary to what the name might suggest].
Dyslexic Emo
1 Sep 2008, 20:21
I've never seen a brawl at Queens or Moon. Old Bailey, although packed with Poms and Jocks, is not a British-type pub.
yeah but I've also never seen any women who aren't over 35 there either.