View Full Version : Where are they now?

Jeremias
1 Sep 2007, 15:10
Saw a similar thread on another board and thought that it would be interesting to start this here.

Let's name past champions of the CFC and see if we can find out where they are/what they are doing these days.

Can be extended to all past players if we want.

Let's start with the 1995 Premiership side.

Stephen Silvagni-St Kilda assistant coach
Greg Williams-
Stephen Kernahan-Carlton vice president
Andrew McKay-member of the AFL match review committee, also a vet
Matt Clape-
Brett Ratten-Carlton senior coach
Earl Spalding-
Mil Hanna-
Michael Sexton-
Scott Camporeale-Essendon listed player
Brad Pearce-
Fraser Brown-
Craig Bradley-Carlton assistant coach
Glenn Manton-Media personality, public speaker
Dean Rice-
Adrian Whitehead-
Matthew Hogg-
Peter Dean-
Ang Christou-Owner of Souvlaki Hut
Anthony Koutoufides-recently retired, owner of Souvlaki Hut
Justin Madden-Minister for sport
Coach: David Parkin-commentator

Lots of gaps to fill in :)

blue_bhoy
1 Sep 2007, 15:47
kouta.....

blue gunslinger
1 Sep 2007, 16:04
Spalding with the Dockers
Clape I think a teacher here in Perth
Dorotich annoying everyone on ABC radio and trying to pick up any female that moves
Long days and happy nights

Blu3_Boy
1 Sep 2007, 17:04
Spalding with the Dockers
Clape I think a teacher here in Perth
Dorotich annoying everyone on ABC radio and trying to pick up any female that moves

Are you serious?

Bluebear
1 Sep 2007, 17:10
Are you serious?
Yes. He is on ABC radio.;)

dane
1 Sep 2007, 17:16
pearce - club manager?

dane
1 Sep 2007, 17:18
brown - multi millionaire businessman/developer?

blue gunslinger
1 Sep 2007, 17:29
Are you serious?
Doro has been on 720ABC Perth for a while.Hi is not to bad but talks like he has a mouth full of marbles.Which is funny because he has none in his head.One thing, he always is supportive of the Blues past and present.Certainly lock up your wife and daughters.
He and Matt Clape quite often are guest speakers at the WA Blues functions when Carlton is in town.Earl has done one or 2 of these spots as well but now that he is a purple man, will nit be invited again!

TheGeneral
1 Sep 2007, 17:38
Dean is coaching the Murray Bushrangers in the TAC cup.

Sexton is a chiropractor and had a business in Lygon St with his brother and sister.

Not sure if he still has it.

Hanna owned The Fitz Cafe but invested in a golf course development with Diesel(I think :confused: :o).

I think Whitehead is coaching a footy team in the country.

Campo sold his soul. ;) :D

GPW1
1 Sep 2007, 20:03
pearce - club manager?

part owns the hifi bar in swanston st, melbourne i beleive. possibly in partnership with another player. i read about it a few months ago actually but cant remember the exact details.

great place, have seen many awesome bands there over the years.

Will.B.Worth.Da.Waite
1 Sep 2007, 20:30
When i went to a NBL game last year (i don't follow it, i forget the name of the team - it was the Dragons. South Melbourne maybe?), Glen Manton was MCing (think thats the word) for the match. Encouraging the fans to cheer and hand out prizes and stuff like that

Not sure, because i was young at the time, but Matthew Hogg lived right next to me during his playing career. Taught me how to kick a football. I know he and his wife have given birth to several (at least 3) babies, and if i remember correctly, around the year when he retired he was looking into a contracting career? Like doing gardens and stuff like that? Something like that anyways. I'm not sure though, i was young at the time. Some of his teammates, including Ratts, came over to help do his garden and i know one of them was into it as a business, so may have been another player lol. Lol sorry for my vagueness

Mentallo
2 Sep 2007, 00:10
pearce - club manager?

Yep.
Hi Fi Bar in Swanston St with Luke O Sullivan i believe.

brown - multi millionaire businessman/developer?

Property sounds right.
There was a write up in the Hun a while ago about his success in this area a little while ago now.
I think he owns or manages all the tips in and around the Sth East suburbs which charge an arm and a leg to drop off a bit of rubbish.

Diesel has his own printing business out in Sunshine called GWP (and is also in golf course development with Hanna like In Like Flint said) and i think Sticks and Braddles also have a vested interest somewhere along the line in a printing business also.

HBF
2 Sep 2007, 00:59
The Dominator - Richmond Runner

McKinleyISgood
2 Sep 2007, 02:23
Hanna owned The Fitz Cafe but invested in a golf course development with Diesel(I think :confused: :o).

where was this cafe?? not long ago i was eating lunch at some place on brunswick st that a mate dragged us all to and then pointed across the st and said (knowing im a carlton fan) "thats mil hanna's place" and sure enough there was a bald guy walking round like the owner/manager. not sure if it was him tho

Tank36
2 Sep 2007, 06:48
Wayne Harmes - coaching Macleod FC in the Northern League
and they will playing off the Grand Final 15th September at Cramer St, Preston.

Curly Austin, Bruce Doull & Des English have been regular spectators and will more than likely be there on GF Day

LennyLeonard
2 Sep 2007, 08:08
part owns the hifi bar in swanston st, melbourne i beleive. possibly in partnership with another player. i read about it a few months ago actually but cant remember the exact details.

great place, have seen many awesome bands there over the years.

Pearce is massive, would be 120kgs at least

Dramoth
2 Sep 2007, 12:06
Wayne Harmes - coaching Macleod FC in the Northern League
and they will playing off the Grand Final 15th September at Cramer St, Preston.

Curly Austin, Bruce Doull & Des English have been regular spectators and will more than likely be there on GF Day

Is Curly Austin still working as a teacher?

Trevor Keogh - Owns (or owned) a newsagency in Mooroolbark
Marc Maclure - According to Blueseum, he is working as a radio commentator... although I do know he was involved somehow with Amway for a while.

thylacine60
2 Sep 2007, 12:39
where was this cafe?? not long ago i was eating lunch at some place on brunswick st that a mate dragged us all to and then pointed across the st and said (knowing im a carlton fan) "thats mil hanna's place" and sure enough there was a bald guy walking round like the owner/manager. not sure if it was him tho

That's it, local icon on a corner in Fitzroy (funny that).

Tank36
2 Sep 2007, 13:57

Marc Maclure - According to Blueseum, he is working as a radio commentator... although I do know he was involved somehow with Amway for a while.

Trevor Keogh own's Bryce's Tavern in Mooroolbark
Not so sure about the newsagency

TheGeneral
3 Oct 2007, 00:53
glennmanton.com/

The award winning Infamous Spraygeltent...re-booted!
The Infamous Spraygeltent is a two man show starring Jim Lawson and Glenn Manton which debuted at the 2007 International Comedy Festival where it garnered the Best Impro' Show at Trades Hall. Based upon a fictious football team the show runs over the course of approximately 2 hours including short breaks in between the first and second acts and the second and third acts.Each act represents a moment in a game of AFL football with interactive pre-game,half-time and post game addresses from coaches Manton and Lawson.

CLUB HISTORY…

Glenn Manton, former AFL premiership player, is about to take on his first coaching role with a team that’s struggling at the bottom of the AFL ladder; Kaaalton. The only problem(s) is he’s saddled with his Under 12’s coach, “JAYCO” Jim Lawson after promising to take him with him when he reaches the top and Kaaalton have no money or infrastructure.

FORWARD STRUCTURE…

An intimate and involved audience of 20+ become the team at which point they will discover that the world of AFL football is a roller coaster ride filled with moments of great laughter, gut wrenching confrontation and sinister under current-not to mention just plain bizarre happenings.

MIDFIELD PRESSURE…

Be prepared to answer the hard questions…What is your nickname and why? Is there an ‘I’ in team? Can you win the hard ball? What are you prepared to sacrifice? What are the lyrics to the team song?

GAME TIME(S) and VENUES…

SPECIAL SHOWS @ THE CARLTON F.C - October 5th and 8th

NORTH MELBOURNE TOWN HALL - October 6th 7th 9th 10th

ALL TIMES 8:15 Start - Late comers welcome...to get a blast from the coach!

*Pre match - (20 minutes-concludes pm)

*Half time - (20 minutes-concludes pm)

*Post game- (20 minutes-concludes pm)

*Post Game/Press conference - (TBC minutes-concludes pm)

*In–season - On-line match report/coaches conference & team photo post-(On-going)

"Unnerving brilliance - an intelligent show.” - The Pun

"Glenn Manton is stunning." - Jim Lawson

DOWN BACK…

The Infamous Spraygeltent is much more than just an award winning (Best Impro show Trades Hall 2007 MICF) comedy show. Touching on relationships, communication and personal management the Infamous Spraygeltent provides a platform from which corporate groups can reflect upon their own 'team' based performance. With extensive experience work as facilitators within top flight corporate business both Glenn Manton and Jim Lawson are highly capable of leading forthright discussion and brain storming sessions that reach tangible conclusions for both business and individuals.

The Infamous Spraygeltent could provide your business with an entertaining and thought provoking night out or in-house performance.
Sounds great! :rolleyes:

Mentallo
3 Oct 2007, 01:10
Had an interesting chat with Andrew Mckay on Sat night at the Hilton Hotel bar after the GF.
Macca was employed by the Bummers to sit in on the coaching job interviews as a neutral observer when asked why Damian Hardwick did not get the job he said quote unquote "He f**ked up the final interview."
Champion bloke as well i might add still looks like he could run out and play tomorrow.
David Glasscott was there also absolutely blind but having a good time as was Spiro Kourkamelis he was as you would say "a lot larger than life".

Dramoth
3 Oct 2007, 01:17
Had an interesting chat with Andrew Mckay on Sat night at the Hilton Hotel bar after the GF.
Macca was employed by the Bummers to sit in on the coaching job interviews as a neutral observer when asked why Damian Hardwick did not get the job he said quote unquote "He f**ked up the final interview."
Champion bloke as well i might add still looks like he could run out and play tomorrow.
David Glasscott was there also absolutely blind but having a good time as was Spiro Kourkamelis he was as you would say "a lot larger than life".

Spiro must be tucking away the souvilaki's now :D

Good to hear about the old players.

audas
3 Oct 2007, 12:51
Mil owned the Fitz with his Brother,they looked the same.

audas
3 Oct 2007, 12:53
Pearce was one of the owners of the HIFI in swanston street.

thylacine60
3 Oct 2007, 13:01

That's some excellent (and apparently correct) long distance research there, A.

one_twelve112
3 Oct 2007, 13:22
I had Brent Heaver, Brad Sholl and Rohan Welsh all come into a bar I worked at 2 years ago. Have no idea what they do but they're all still great mates and good guys.

thylacine60
3 Oct 2007, 14:02

Wonder if he's quit playing with his lamo ponytail?

WeninRome
18 Jun 2008, 19:45

Yeah Mark Maclure works on the National Indigenous stations with Ronnie Burns commentating the footy.

Bomba Sheldon
18 Jun 2008, 21:15
I had Brent Heaver, Brad Sholl and Rohan Welsh all come into a bar I worked at 2 years ago. Have no idea what they do but they're all still great mates and good guys.

I had a drink with Tim Powell after the 97 GF when the crows beat the Saints in the pub across the road from Parliament house. He still had the scars from the 93 GF, top bloke to chat to.

Harmes is sales rep with Visy trying to flog cardboard cartons at my work. l believe Jezza also works at Visy as well - keep up the good work Pratty.

Bluebear
18 Jun 2008, 22:29
I had a drink with Tim Powell after the 97 GF when the crows beat the Saints in the pub across the road from Parliament house. He still had the scars from the 93 GF, top bloke to chat to.

Harmes is sales rep with Visy trying to flog cardboard cartons at my work. l believe Jezza also works at Visy as well - keep up the good work Pratty.

I understand Fev is currently talking about his future role there as we speak.;)

My Blues
18 Jun 2008, 22:32

Try the Pub. :)

Dennis Lenaghan was working with Goldman Sachs/JB Were up until about a month ago. Had been there for years, and I'm unsure where he's gone.

thylacine60
19 Jun 2008, 01:10
Try the Pub. :)

Dennis Lenaghan was working with Goldman Sachs/JB Were up until about a month ago. Had been there for years, and I'm unsure where he's gone.

Mooroolbark has a pub?

Blue York
19 Jun 2008, 01:59
Spiro Kourkoumilos (however its spelt) owns/runs the Rays bike store on Sydney Road.

thylacine60
19 Jun 2008, 02:13
Spiro Kourkoumilos (however its spelt) owns/runs the Rays bike store on Sydney Road.

Ha! Proof at last! I knew they weren't all owned by blokes called Ray. Sweet.

Pamam
19 Jun 2008, 09:42
i know Darren Hulme is the player/coach for Clayton footy club