View Full Version : No Spoon For Us!!!!

trueblue_91
1 Sep 2007, 17:41
WOW THAT WAS SO NERVE RACKING!!!!!!!

so happy at the moment:)

The Old Dark Navy's
1 Sep 2007, 17:46
Ecstatic!!!

I didn't want the Pies to win last night but was forced to barrack for them - they lost = no top 4 for them.

Saints supporters have been hanging it on us for ages and we knew we had to barrack for them today. They got up, but no finals for them so the fans can't be too heavy on us.

So Saints miss, Pies are in cutthroat finals, Tiges get a spoon, we don't, tomorrow to come. So relieved but boy ... my poor heart.

Andyt31
1 Sep 2007, 17:48
Thank You st.Kilda you did a real favour by beating Richmond and giving them the WoodenSpoon :thumbsu: so tomorrow can breath easy ;) a win be better :)

trueblue_91
Ecstatic!!!

I didn't want the Pies to win last night but was forced to barrack for them - they lost = no top 4 for them.

Saints supporters have been hanging it on us for ages and we knew we had to barrack for them today. They got up, but no finals for them so the fans can't be too heavy on us.

So Saints miss, Pies are in cutthroat finals, Tiges get a spoon, we don't, tomorrow to come. So relieved but boy ... my poor heart.

I was going to go for a run later, but i think litsening to the game is enough excersize for my ticker:p

lou73
WOW THAT WAS SO NERVE RACKING!!!!!!!

so happy at the moment:)

Even sweeter we still get the num 1 pick :p

BlueWorld
1 Sep 2007, 17:52
Even sweeter we still get the num 1 pick :pif we lose tomorrow.

lou73
1 Sep 2007, 17:57
if we lose tomorrow.

Lets hope so

DIG
1 Sep 2007, 18:09
Lets hope so
With the spoon avoided, there's even less to play for now.

Great result Saints.

Blue Dawn
1 Sep 2007, 18:50
Tend to agree with the sentiments expressed BUT, having just come from watching the Knights vs Geelong game, i'm now ambivalent. Cotchin was seriously good today. 1 & 2 wouldn't have been all bad.:eek:

Jeremias
1 Sep 2007, 18:56
Hahahahaha suck shit Richmond.

Picks 1 and 2 would have been nice, but 1 and 3 will be just fine.

blues4flag
1 Sep 2007, 18:57
Barracking for the Saints and Pies in the one weekend? :eek: Preferring a Carlton loss rather than a win? :eek:

One hell of a bizarre week, this is. But Saints came through in the end, fantastic. :thumbsu:

And on another note, sad to see Gehrig retire. Few are as interesting to watch as the G-train.

sticks74
1 Sep 2007, 18:57
You have gotta be kidding mate...?

What have Carlton supporters turned into!

sticks74
1 Sep 2007, 18:59
We will win by ten goals tomorrow?

GO BLUES...F**K this bullsh&@ losing mentallity!

thylacine60
1 Sep 2007, 19:00
Tend to agree with the sentiments expressed BUT, having just come from watching the Knights vs Geelong game, i'm now ambivalent. Cotchin was seriously good today. 1 & 2 wouldn't have been all bad.:eek:

Agree. Looks the ready made package. Some very good delivery into the forward line today - accurate and pacy. MK rested up forward quite a bit today. Goes alright the kid.

Banga19
1 Sep 2007, 19:26
Well I'm glad we didn't get another spoon, but gee, does that mean we will miss out on Cotchin and Kreuzer? I mean surely Richmond will take whoever we don't take? It sounds like these two are the best in the draft, and we would have got both of them if Richmond had have got up. (assuming of course that we lose tomorrow) I guess we just hope that Richmond don't take either at pick 2, and we get them both. I'm not sure how likely that is though.

blue gunslinger
1 Sep 2007, 19:27
I don't think we should be proud of our year and I do not think we deserve to serve it up to Richmond too much!The pp may help but to be in the position of trying to avoid a spoon and trying to lose a game is making us look foolish.Yes there is the big picture to consider and I spent the game having squabbles with Pie fans but ease off on the stirring.Tomorrow will be one of the lowest points in our teams history but hopefully it is the start of things to come.Always happy to sink the boot in and we have copped our fair share of punches but we are 2nd last.Remember Perth Blues Be at the Odin Rd and support your team!
Good luck to all the kiddies tomorrow.
Long days and happy nights

richcogs
1 Sep 2007, 19:40
Hey just wondering what picks you get now, I know 1, 3 and then 17 19??? Is that right do you get another PP after the first round?

Will.B.Worth.Da.Waite
1 Sep 2007, 19:55
Lol i find it so amusing that people are now a bit upset (probably the wrong word but you get what i mean), that we won't get picks 1 & 2. We didn't win the spoon, but will still get picks 1 & 3 - im stoked!! Im not feeling any annoyance whatsoever that we missed out on the top 2 picks. If Richmond had won today, i would have wanted to win tomorrow. Couldn't have standed another wooden spoon

Gilly1972
1 Sep 2007, 19:58

Spot on Blue Dawn, my sentiments exactly. jeremias you obviously didn't make your way down to MC Labour today? :(

Banga19
1 Sep 2007, 20:12
Ok, lets assume we lose tomorrow and take Kreuzer number one, realistically, what are the odds that Richmond pass on Cotchin and we get him pick 3? Just curious

HBF
1 Sep 2007, 20:22
Agree. Looks the ready made package. Some very good delivery into the forward line today - accurate and pacy. MK rested up forward quite a bit today. Goes alright the kid.

This is fairly typical behaviour Thylacine.
He never really goes to the bench, as he can have a spell up forward, as he is a very very good option up there, and provides a pretty good double act with Bongo.

Corrosion
1 Sep 2007, 20:22
Ok, lets assume we lose tomorrow and take Kreuzer number one, realistically, what are the odds that Richmond pass on Cotchin and we get him pick 3? Just curious

Apparently Richmond are looking to land Morton with pick 2. So we might end up with Kruezer and Cotchin.

HBF
1 Sep 2007, 20:23

Not good, but I have just written in another thread that Richmond are notorious for stuffing up there early picks, but I would seriously doubt that they would pass on Cotchin, UNLESS, they decide to go for a KPP or ruckman.

HBF
1 Sep 2007, 20:24
Apparently Richmond are looking to land Morton with pick 2. So we might end up with Kruezer and Cotchin.

Where did you hear that?

Corrosion
1 Sep 2007, 20:26
Where did you hear that?

Richmond Board.

parrot
1 Sep 2007, 21:21

Are Morton and Cotchin similar types of players? Cotchin seems to be getting all the attention after Kruezer. :)

Lenny29
1 Sep 2007, 21:24
Weren't Murphy & Gibbs the saviours?

I'd worry more about developing the good kids as opposed to trying to get more of the best of them.

TheGeneral
1 Sep 2007, 21:41

I'd worry more about developing the good kids as opposed to trying to get more of the best of them.
Yet the filth traded away Tarrant for pick eight or ten last year and tanked a game against North to get their hands on Thomas and Pendlebury. :confused: :o

AndyWalkersGirl
1 Sep 2007, 21:42

Yep. Agree 100%.

It takes balls to say that on here:o

james Dean
1 Sep 2007, 22:08
We will win by ten goals tomorrow?

GO BLUES...F**K this bullsh&@ losing mentallity!
:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

HBF
1 Sep 2007, 22:13
Are Morton and Cotchin similar types of players? Cotchin seems to be getting all the attention after Kruezer. :)

Not even close parrot.

Cotchin, dare I say it, is the most Judd-like player I have seen at this level. Great on both sides of his body, good decision making, and can explode away from packs that makes the opposition look like they are standing still.

Morton, at 192cm, could turn into a CHB, but will be used predominantly off a HBF, and possibly even on a wing. Has a very damaging left foot, and hits his team mates on the chest lace out from 50m.

reddevils88
1 Sep 2007, 22:17
Worry about tomorrow first before commenting on who we're going to get. This is going to be the longest 24 hours i've experienced for a while. it is good to see terry wallet and his boys put up a brave show today. The aints are going nowhere. There window is shut. We could seriously turn our fortunes around very quickly if we draft smart. don't worry about pick 1,2 or 3 for now. We need to ensure that we get the right players in the second, third and fourth round of the draft. What are the WA's and SA prospects like apart from Morton and Ebert. Are there any decent BIG defenders. Here is my scenario if we lose tomorrow:

Pick 1 - Kruezer
Pick 3 - Cotchin,Morton,Palmer,Rance
Pick 18 - Tall Defender who can play football (not an athlete who can't kick (walker) and someone who is confused when he gets it (Bower). Someone who is an out and out footballer please
Preseason Draft - Anyone of Meesen, Charman, Brad Miller (yes he has some mongrel)

Could we also get Pick 5 and a player for FEV. Just some thoughts please. No abuse

Hu$$ey
1 Sep 2007, 22:57

You can't build a youth academy overnight.
You can't hire development coaches overnight.
You can't build new training facilities or buy the Lexus centre overnight either.

Until we do that, which will most likely be this off-season, we'll have to get the cream of the crop to enhance our chances.

Look out when we DO have an academy and a chock-full of top picks :)

parrot
1 Sep 2007, 23:06
Not even close parrot.

Cotchin, dare I say it, is the most Judd-like player I have seen at this level. Great on both sides of his body, good decision making, and can explode away from packs that makes the opposition look like they are standing still.

Morton, at 192cm, could turn into a CHB, but will be used predominantly off a HBF, and possibly even on a wing. Has a very damaging left foot, and hits his team mates on the chest lace out from 50m.

Interesting. You'd expect both to be quality. I suppose it all depends on Terry's decision now. :)

Blues_Man
2 Sep 2007, 00:05
Yep. Agree 100%.

Which both you and lenny the feral both lack ;)

I guess we should have overlooked Murphy and Gibbs in the last couple of drafts, as later round picks are much better if developed correctly :rolleyes:

Thrawn
2 Sep 2007, 00:34
Yep. Agree 100%.

I must have several hundred then.

I am very relieved, nail-biting final quarter. Though I suspect Richmond supporters can't point the finger at us regarding tanking, seeing as they had momentum with 10 mins to go and "lost" with their pick in line. Just like us in some of the games hey? But seriously, Saints were too good and had the class in the end. Tanking is a myth, you're either good enough or you're not. Just a blanket excuse to justify why we're so crap.

HBF
2 Sep 2007, 00:40
Interesting. You'd expect both to be quality. I suppose it all depends on Terry's decision now. :)

And given that we are talking about Terry and Richmond, anything could happen with their first selection, where ever that may be.

Gilly1972
2 Sep 2007, 00:45
Yep. Agree 100%.

It takes naivety to say that on here:o

Edited for accuracy :thumbsu:

Thrawn
2 Sep 2007, 01:09
Edited for inaccuracy :thumbsu:

:thumbsu:

Gilly1972
2 Sep 2007, 01:10
:thumbsu:

Yup, lets go buy a premiership Thrawn.

:p

richmond fanatic
2 Sep 2007, 01:14
No chance we'll pass on Cotchin. Hes a Richmond supporter, and hes training with the club already as we speak. We're stupid, but not that stupid.

Jeremias
2 Sep 2007, 01:26
No chance we'll pass on Cotchin. Hes a Richmond supporter, and hes training with the club already as we speak. We're stupid, but not that stupid.

Who says you'll get the opportunity to draft him?

doh its me
2 Sep 2007, 01:28

Fiora and Tambling barracked for Richmond......surely you wont the same mistake for the 3rd time

out of harmes' way
2 Sep 2007, 12:09
Pick 18 - Tall Defender who can play football (not an athlete who can't kick (walker) and someone who is confused when he gets it (Bower). Someone who is an out and out footballer please

Here Here!!!!!

and a truck load of kicking skills sessions over the summer.

and yes we are establishing an academy.

The process is now in place off field.

Dramoth
2 Sep 2007, 12:20
You can't build a youth academy overnight.
The paint might still be a little wet, but if Dick Pratt wants it, we get it...

You can't hire development coaches overnight.
It's called money... find out who the best people for the job are and head hunt them for the positions. I am very certain that, once again, if Dick authorises it, a load of money will be dropped in front of the candidates to come and do the job for us.

You can't build new training facilities or buy the Lexus centre overnight either.
Yeah... this might be the hardest, but we do still have our own football oval where we train. A lot of work will be put into the development area at the club.
[B]Until we do that, which will most likely be this off-season, we'll have to get the cream of the crop to enhance our chances.

Look out when we DO have an academy and a chock-full of top picks :)

We already have a lot of very good players... the development coaches will be arriving soon and our training facilities will be improved as you said over the off season.

It will take the dev coaches about 4 months to really start getting improvements out of the kids. But it will all be good in the end

thylacine60
2 Sep 2007, 12:27
The paint might still be a little wet, but if Dick Pratt wants it, we get it...

It's called money... find out who the best people for the job are and head hunt them for the positions. I am very certain that, once again, if Dick authorises it, a load of money will be dropped in front of the candidates to come and do the job for us.

Yeah... this might be the hardest, but we do still have our own football oval where we train. A lot of work will be put into the development area at the club.

We already have a lot of very good players... the development coaches will be arriving soon and our training facilities will be improved as you said over the off season.

It will take the dev coaches about 4 months to really start getting improvements out of the kids. But it will all be good in the end

Nice one :thumbsu:.
When you're not jumping up and down your hand steadies appreciably.

AlecDuncan
2 Sep 2007, 12:32
So Saints miss, Pies are in cutthroat finals, Tiges get a spoon, we don't, tomorrow to come.
Close to ideal finish! Thank you Saints.

Aussie Joe
3 Sep 2007, 09:37
You think that the Bitchmond supporters are bitter much:

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=366275

LMAO !!!

Dramoth
3 Sep 2007, 10:48
Nice one :thumbsu:.
When you're not jumping up and down your hand steadies appreciably.

nah... I prefer my hand going up and down rapidly thinking about the premierships to come in a couple of years with the players we have now... and all the good work to still be done to get us there...

2k9 finals football again... now I am getting excited again :D

stanga
3 Sep 2007, 11:15
nah... I prefer my hand going up and down rapidly thinking about the premierships to come in a couple of years with the players we have now... and all the good work to still be done to get us there...

2k9 finals football again... now I am getting excited again :D
i bet you f uckin do you wanker , how could you be proud of a football team that does nota want to win at all costs. Kouta should be shot for his statement. Everygame that the blues have lost this year is under question. If kouta was in the side then it is tainted , he may as well have been betting against you pussies . i thought he was a stand up guy but after the last week he can go bugger himself for all the football world cares he no longer has credabiltiy

Jeremias
3 Sep 2007, 11:17
i bet you f uckin do you wanker , how could you be proud of a football team that does nota want to win at all costs. Kouta should be shot for his statement. Everygame that the blues have lost this year is under question. If kouta was in the side then it is tainted , he may as well have been betting against you pussies . i thought he was a stand up guy but after the last week he can go bugger himself for all the football world cares he no longer has credabiltiy

Have a sook, stupid Bitchmond supporter.

Are you proud of your team? How about after Wallet conceded that he was considering losing the game on the weekend?

Now piss off before you embarrass yourself even further, and enjoy the spoon-you deserve it!

Dramoth
3 Sep 2007, 17:36

If you go back through all of my posts, you will see that I was one of the more vocal opponents to all the tanking talk on this board and I was for winning as many of the 6 games we had left when Ratts took over. Now that the season is over, I am happy to take the picks we got because... HEY, the season is over.

And, I bet that you enjoyed going down to St Kilda and selling your ass to all the Saints fans that wanted a turn riding a Biatchmond ass.

So you have another wooden spoon... it was because you were so shit all year you couldnt even find your cocks with a magnifying glass, tweezers and pepper.

I had nothing against Richmond supporters before your little tirade, but you have just lowered yourself and your fellow supporters down to the same level as the filth supporters and the bummer supporters.

Twats like you should not have access to the internet because you are a stain on the sheets of life...

TGR
3 Sep 2007, 23:13
Everygame that the blues have lost this year is under question.

:eek:

Cue Marlon Brando:

" I coulda been a contender. "