View Full Version : Paul Haselby
Fremantle have offered him a 2 year 250k per year contract. Paul Haselby wants 3 years on 450k per season. They are so far off reaching a agreement atm it isnt funny. Fremantle wont be patient on him. Theres a good chance he could be traded
Would he command much interest. Could Freo nab a top 10 pick for him in order to nab one or maybe both of Masten/Palmer? I personally expect to see him playing for Sydney next year
Bombers1234
2 Sep 2007, 13:43
He is defineitly not worth over 250k..he's to prone to injury
sabre_ac
2 Sep 2007, 13:55
Bell more than likely retiring...Why would freo trade their best midfielder?
Furthermore due to Injuries of late his trade value would be very low.
I am pretty sure I speak for the rest of the freo supporter base when I say I am not quite ready to rebuild just yet....
Bell more than likely retiring...Why would freo trade their best midfielder?
Furthermore due to Injuries of late his trade value would be very low.
I am pretty sure I speak for the rest of the freo supporter base when I say I am not quite ready to rebuild just yet....
If Bell retires (which I doubt) the cap room might free up to give Haselby what he wants. Im not sure Fremantle are all that happy with him atm however. Haselby doesnt seem like the loyal type. He will leave to go get what he wants elsewhere. Thats for sure.
sabre_ac
2 Sep 2007, 14:00
If Bell retires (which I doubt) the cap room might free up to give Haselby what he wants. Im not sure Fremantle are all that happy with him atm however. Haselby doesnt seem like the loyal type. He will leave to go get what he wants elsewhere. Thats for sure.
What exactly are you basing these claims on? Other than sheer eagle supporter arogance.
Boy from the West
2 Sep 2007, 14:05
Would think that Hasely will be retained by Fremantle as he will be made aware that his trade value is low due to concerns with his injury history.
Obviously is a top player when fit but clubs have been burnt with injury troubled players and cannot see what clubs would think they would benefit from acquiring him - Collingwood maybe; St Kilda?
Loss of Bell would make retaining Hase a higher priority.
Ambrose Burnside
2 Sep 2007, 14:10
Haselby is the only Docker I like. Even if he does seem to save his best for derbies :o
Kirke Special
2 Sep 2007, 14:40
Speaking from a management point of view, Freo played this one quite well.
A suspension due to diciplinary reasons decreases his value at the negotiation table but it also reflects badly upon him for a trade.
If he did want to be traded he now has the shadow of "poor discpline" over his head decreasing his pay packet in the eyes of other clubs.
Reduce his value to other clubs and keep their payroll down.
Embers is Kim Hagdorn I reckon, no ****ing idea. :)
wizard_9
2 Sep 2007, 14:40
Wouldnt think anyone else would offer him the money he wants. Dont think there will be much interest in him as his salary and our asking price would be higher than what most would pay. He has more value to us than he would on the trade table.
Would be very surprised to see him leave.
wizard_9
2 Sep 2007, 14:41
Haselby doesnt seem like the loyal type. He will leave to go get what he wants elsewhere. Thats for sure.
That there just about take the cake as the most uneducated stupid comment to ever come from you. Good work Embers you moron.
sabre_ac
2 Sep 2007, 14:46
Embers is Kim Hagdorn I reckon, no ****ing idea. :)
You may be on to something there.
Kirke Special
2 Sep 2007, 14:49
You may be on to something there.
Another Haggers special Today;
" Cox may be right for the Qualifying final against Port, this will come as a boost in the battle against Ports ruck combination of Lade and Thurstans"
Dean Brogan must be playing as a half-back flanker these days.
juddy_Like
2 Sep 2007, 16:50
Surely Hase is worth more then 250K
pinkus maximus
2 Sep 2007, 17:04
Surely Hase is worth more then 250K
3 years ago he would have been. he cant play consistent footy because of his injuries, it wouldnt surprise me to see him go east
High Ryder
2 Sep 2007, 21:22
Seems a good fit for Essendon to be honest.
richcogs
2 Sep 2007, 21:26
PSD maybe???
What exactly are you basing these claims on? Other than sheer eagle supporter arogance.
Basing it on the comments from Haselbys agent and the comments from The West over the past few weeks.
Kirke Special
3 Sep 2007, 15:08
You have no idea how this game is played do you? Haselbys manager kicks up a storm about him leaving, in the hope that Freo panic and offer him a few more dollars.
Freo on the other hand suspend him for not much, and as a result his bargaining power is lessened. IE poor discipline.
There will be a bit of to and fro and eventually Haze will sign up for a little more than Freo initially offered and a little less than he wanted.
You are a 6pr West Reading junkie with absolutely no idea.
rioli brownlow
3 Sep 2007, 15:46
Seems a good fit for Essendon to be honest.
i would give you courtney johns and our 3rd pick ,for haselby and your 4th pick.
You can keep your 3rd pick, we'll keep Hasleby and our 4th pick, I'll offer you an expired can of Pepsi for Courtney Johns.
rioli brownlow
3 Sep 2007, 16:17
You can keep your 3rd pick, we'll keep Hasleby and our 4th pick, I'll offer you an expired can of Pepsi for Courtney Johns.
ok deal done
Haselbys probably not worth 200 - 250k & I don't think he will get his desired price of 450k. Freo might meet him in the middle and go up to 275-300. his worth during trade week wouldn't be too high because of age and a tendency of injuries.. he's best off signing the 250k contract as asking too much can become a "walking on thin ice scenario".
Slattery_20
3 Sep 2007, 18:53
He is defineitly not worth over 250k..he's to prone to injury
250k's not that much. For a guy who's (guessing here) 26 ish and with 150 (pretty decent on the whole) games? Sounds a bargain. If I were EFC, I'd have a good look
pinkus maximus
3 Sep 2007, 19:42
the thing is hase' injuries are so bad that he says he wont be able to play past 28 so this is his last contract and hes trying to get as much as he can
wizard_9
3 Sep 2007, 19:42
I'd meet him half way, say 300-320K and say if you dont want it goodbye.
Snoop Dog
3 Sep 2007, 19:51
He is a guy that gets a lot of the footy at the hands of Sandilands so the first question a potential club has to ask is can he be that good with a poorer version of Sandilands tap work (bar maybe Cox and Everitt that leaves every other club). I suspect the answer is that clubs with reasonable rucks and inside mids would be interested and it would be higher than $250k. Based on my knowledge of player payments from two clubs I would suspect he is closer to $350k and 3 yrs wouldnt be out of the question if some of his pay was performance based.
Black JuJu
4 Sep 2007, 06:59
They popped up Haselby's stats for the year on 10 news a couple of weeks back, he's like in the top 2 of the majority of the main midfield stats for Freo so if they are going to be low balling him on grounds of performance, it's a bit rough to be almost cutting his pay in half. That kind of offer is quite 'Please Leave.' but there is probably a bit more wriggle room yet.
It wouldn't surprise me if he was traded but it's more likely he'll sign on for around $350,000 or so, for 2 years with performance bonuses.
Bell will play on, I think Harvey will keep this group together and give it a shake with him at the helm for the whole season, see if he and Sheeds can bring the best out in them. Maybe a couple of token trades like Murphy and Dunn to bring in a couple of new faces or a higher draft pick.
If they were to fail again in 2008, it'd more likely to see guys like Haselby, Headland, Tarrant and Farmer being shopped around.
Boy from the West
4 Sep 2007, 12:51
If they were to fail again in 2008, it'd more likely to see guys like Haselby, Headland, Tarrant and Farmer being shopped around.
You make a lot of valid points. I think they will hang on to these blokes and have a shot at it but their problem will be if they don't get a GF or flag then the players you mentioned will have little or no trade value and the club will really be in strife.
They should go for it though while they have a likely list before looking to have a major clean out and re build.
Coaches coach for today regardless of what they say unless they get a 5 year deal like the false pretender from Tigerland.
Realistically what would Hasleby command as a trade
from Carlton id be happy to offer up either Houlihan or Thornton for him, maybe a 3rd or 4th round pick added in with this.
would this get it done or be close to getting it done?
wizard_9
4 Sep 2007, 13:05
from Carlton id be happy to offer up either Houlihan or Thornton for him, maybe a 3rd or 4th round pick added in with this.
Not even close mate. We would have no use for Thornton and Houlihan is exactly what we dont need.
What would Freo realistically want for hasleby
Slattery_20
4 Sep 2007, 13:09
You really rate Houlihan anywhere near Thornton? Houlihan's the poorman's Matty Lappin for mine, & worth next-to-nothing
Wouldn't think Freo would take either of them anyhow.
His worth depends on his contract status really. The Dons gave Solly away for basically Pick 42 & an upgrading of our pick 50-something to 47, because he wasn't going to sign. If it gets to that stale-mate situation, Freo will be ahppy to take anything they can get, rather than have him walk away for no compensation at all.
wizard_9
4 Sep 2007, 13:14
You really rate Houlihan anywhere near Thornton? Houlihan's the poorman's Matty Lappin for mine, & worth next-to-nothing
His worth depends on his contract status really. The Dons gave Solly away for basically Pick 42 & an upgrading of our pick 50-something to 47, because he wasn't going to sign. If it gets to that stale-mate situation, Freo will be ahppy to take anything they can get, rather than have him walk away for no compensation at all.
The difference is thats all Solly was worth and you guys didnt really want to hang onto him that badly. Hase is in our top 5 players and is a clasys midfielder. Has been an AA and B&F runner up several times. To be honest i would be surprised to see him leave.
dont worry i dont even think houlihan is even a poor mans matty lappin, he isnt that good!
Slattery_20
4 Sep 2007, 13:21
The difference is thats all Solly was worth and you guys didnt really want to hang onto him that badly. Hase is in our top 5 players and is a clasys midfielder. Has been an AA and B&F runner up several times. To be honest i would be surprised to see him leave.
with hindsight... :D
I'm with you. Hase is a good player still, & it's a classic tactic (especially with a new coach) to spread the old "not happy" rumours for a bit exrta dosh in the ole'skyrocket. That said, I wouldn't be unhappy to see him in the red sash
evertonfc
4 Sep 2007, 16:41
What would Fremantle realistically want out of St Kilda?
Very interested in his services at the right trade price.
What would Fremantle realistically want out of St Kilda?
Very interested in his services at the right trade price.
David Armitage?
or maybe this years 1st round pick.
I think the Saints are in a similar position to us, need more class through the midfield. I dont think we'll find a win-win situation.
I heard Paul Haselby will go to Kangas for 5 years then call it quits
He's got nothing left in him
He = really bad now
Not worth a 3rd round draft pick or higher
PAUL HASELBY = DUD
Kangas will offer Leigh Harding
Haselby has been signed on a 2 year deal- BIG SURPRISE.
http://www.footygoss.com/main/club_news/fremantle/view/hasleby_re_signs_at_dockers/
Just when I thought that Mark Harvey would come in and make some hard decisions and cut some players, all the usual suspects are back. Haselby, McManus, Headland all return for a season of mediocracy and inconsistency.
DCFCFAN84
5 Oct 2007, 02:59
Just when I thought that Mark Harvey would come in and make some hard decisions and cut some players, all the usual suspects are back. Haselby, McManus, Headland all return for a season of mediocracy and inconsistency.
LOL so true especially Headlands inconsistency it's so annoying he kicks a bag one week them barely touch the ball the next week. I don't know why we resigned McManus he is a decent player but we need to start playing a few of our younger guys.
Cameron_K
5 Oct 2007, 11:18
LOL so true especially Headlands inconsistency it's so annoying he kicks a bag one week them barely touch the ball the next week. I don't know why we resigned McManus he is a decent player but we need to start playing a few of our younger guys.
Do you honestly watch the games or just listen to 6PR?? Headland was very good this year and was amoungst the best on most occasions when the club lost so the whole front runner tag went out the window.
I think the problem is that Headland had a good season and it was good enough to get you into 11th spot. The direction the Dockers are going atm isn't working, and this was the time to make the tough decisions like all successful clubs make. Signing Matt Carr, Haselby, McManus all backward steps.
Cameron_K
5 Oct 2007, 14:35
I think the problem is that Headland had a good season and it was good enough to get you into 11th spot. The direction the Dockers are going atm isn't working, and this was the time to make the tough decisions like all successful clubs make. Signing Matt Carr, Haselby, McManus all backward steps.
Headland isn't the reason the club finished where they did. Just because he had a good year while injuries/suspensions/off field crap/younger guys struggling you can't place any of that blame upon him. When he was on the field he gave his all for Fremantle and you couldn't ask for any more on field that what was displayed this year.
So signing Hase to a reduced perfomance based contract even though he was the leading possesion getter for the club and is the in and under player that the club still needs and the leading clearance player in the team. Freo is bad enough at the clearances now so lets get rid of Haselby. :rolleyes: I don't think you will find many freo supporters who wanted Haselby gone, all we were saying was the $450,000 he wanted was too much considering his body but if he can get that right and put in the work as reported in the paper then he still has the chance to get that big contract especially when he goes onto the veterans list.
I don't have a problem with signing McManus, he will be a honest player who will keep the others in the squad accountable when it comes to perfomances. I would hope that some of the youngsters in Foster, Ibbo, Brock, Dunn, Drum stand up and make the likes of McManus and Carr depth players but it is good to have that insurance in the squad.
So signing Hase to a reduced perfomance based contract even though he was the leading possesion getter for the club and is the in and under player that the club still needs and the leading clearance player in the team.
You just answered the Dockers problem, you never go anywhere because Haselby IS your leading possession getter. It's not working having him as your main ball player so move on.
When Woosha took over he made tough decisions on club legends that people didn't like, ie goodbye Jako, goodbye Matera. Another example is Knights at Essendon, he just isnt going to put up with hacks like Bolton because the club will go nowhere.
Harvey should have cut Matt Carr he clearly isn't up to the mark and yet he is given another contract?
Cameron_K
5 Oct 2007, 15:05
You just answered the Dockers problem, you never go anywhere because Haselby IS your leading possession getter. It's not working having him as your main ball player so move on.
When Woosha took over he made tough decisions on club legends that people didn't like, ie goodbye Jako, goodbye Matera. Another example is Knights at Essendon, he just isnt going to put up with hacks like Bolton because the club will go nowhere.
Harvey should have cut Matt Carr he clearly isn't up to the mark and yet he is given another contract?
Matty Carr was the best tagger in the team and did several very good jobs through out the year. With Dodd staying down back Carr is our number 1 tagger.
Haselby is still only 26 and at a reduced contract I don't see why you would ever get rid of a player of that class. It would be different if he was a complete hack yet more often than not everything he does benefits the team. Hopefully Harvey actually uses him forward this year as he has the best hands in the team and has proven time and time again that he is a very dangerous option floating forward.
sumavich
5 Oct 2007, 15:08
Haselby has been signed on a 2 year deal- BIG SURPRISE.
http://www.footygoss.com/main/club_news/fremantle/view/hasleby_re_signs_at_dockers/
At least our players want to play for us.
When no one else wants to take you its pretty hard to leave.
TheLoris
5 Oct 2007, 15:37
Yep Pav was headed direct to the SANFL until we threw him a lifeline....
If we were going though a rebuild phase then M Carr/Macca would be on their bikes but the club is trying to make hay while Pav is in his prime so the senior guys stay on the list.
Very happy Hase is staying, don't want to lose him and Bell at the same time.