View Full Version : Jolly Leaving
Thanks to TheMase I have just become aware of the following article
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22336965%255E19773,00.html (http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22336965%255E19773,00.html)
Which implies the swans are looking at another ruckman because Jolly may be wanting to head back to Melbourne next year.
Do we feel that this story has any meat or is Hamilton just guessing and getting it wrong.
I think the swans may be looking for another ruck on the lists as Doyle probably wont get another shot next year and if we get an injury someone who has played some senior level football may be required as Currie has not.
I think Jolly leaving at the end of the year would be very bad for the swans as he will be required to do more work next year and losing him now as far as I’m concerned would be disastrous.
rancidpants13
2 Sep 2007, 17:02
Thanks to TheMase I have just become aware of the following article
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22336965%255E19773,00.html (http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22336965%255E19773,00.html)
Which implies the swans are looking at another ruckman because Jolly may be wanting to head back to Melbourne next year.
Do we feel that this story has any meat or is Hamilton just guessing and getting it wrong.
I think the swans may be looking for another ruck on the lists as Doyle probably wont get another shot next year and if we get an injury someone who has played some senior level football may be required as Currie has not.
I think Jolly leaving at the end of the year would be very bad for the swans as he will be required to do more work next year and losing him now as far as I’m concerned would be disastrous.
there was a mention in a paper today that cameron wood is being sought by collingwood, no mention of the jolly-to-melbourne story....a lot of silly rumours get floated this time of year
CharlieG
2 Sep 2007, 20:00
It doesn't surprise me really. I've never quite been able to warm to Jolly, and his destabilising comments during GF week and insipid, half-hearted performance on the day suggested to me that he isn't wholly committed to the team.
Having said that, he has become a very, very good ruckman and I want him to stay. It'd be nice to go through one trading and draft period without worrying about finding a ruckman. Just one.
Failing that, a deal that saw Sydney send Jolly to St Kilda, the Saints giving Brisbane pick 9 and Brisbane sending Cameron Wood and pick 25 to Sydney would be about right for all parties.
Saint Corin
2 Sep 2007, 20:19
Pick 9 is a bit much for Jolly though, The Saints would almost be better of going for Cameron Wood themsleves if that trade was too take place. Is Jolly unsigned? or wanting a trade?.
Logic would say Ross Lyong would be right after Jolly though.
CharlieG
2 Sep 2007, 20:29
Pick 9 is a bit much for Jolly though, The Saints would almost be better of going for Cameron Wood themsleves if that trade was too take place. Is Jolly unsigned? or wanting a trade?.
Logic would say Ross Lyong would be right after Jolly though.
With the probable exception of that big-noter from Hawthorn (whose name I've forgotten), I suspect recruiting managers across the AFL would view pick 9 as very much in the ball-park for Jolly. He'd probably be third only to Dean Cox and (maybe) Jamie Charman in terms of trade value amongst ruckmen.
Hamish McIntosh :thumbsu:
CharlieG
2 Sep 2007, 20:38
Hamish McIntosh :thumbsu:
I'm not really inclined to get into a debate on various ruckmen, although I would suggest both Charman and Jolly have more runs on the board than McIntosh (not suggesting that he isn't a very good player). Jolly and Charman are both premiership ruckmen with 65-75 games more experience each, despite only being two years older.
rancidpants13
2 Sep 2007, 21:01
heh heh, you're not talking about Hodge2Franklin, are you? i was wondering if he'd have something to say about today? althought that's NOT an invitation, H2F, if you're reading
CharlieG
2 Sep 2007, 21:29
heh heh, you're not talking about Hodge2Franklin, are you? i was wondering if he'd have something to say about today? althought that's NOT an invitation, H2F, if you're reading
Not unless Hodge2Franklin is the recruiting guy at the Hawks. Is his name Pelchin? The most overrated recruiting manager in footy - bar none. It's all very good to talk tough at the trade table, but if you can't get the deal over the line you're not earning your keep. Simple as that.
rancidpants13
2 Sep 2007, 23:21
Not unless Hodge2Franklin is the recruiting guy at the Hawks. Is his name Pelchin? The most overrated recruiting manager in footy - bar none. It's all very good to talk tough at the trade table, but if you can't get the deal over the line you're not earning your keep. Simple as that.
sorry, thinking of a BF poster ...
I am not sure where the idea that pick 9 is a lot for Jolly.
A ruckman can be the difference between a good side, and a great side. They can give a great midfield first use of the ball.
Jolly is a seasoned performer, he has topped the AFL tapouts last 2/3 years running. He is not a 'gamble' pick like the draft because you KNOW what you're getting. And quality ruckman do not grow on trees.
I would reckon Jolly would be worth a fair bit to clubs that are missing that component, certainly less speculative than a draft pick.
CharlieG
3 Sep 2007, 01:43
How old is Jolly?
26 in November.
Jolly would be a massive loss. :thumbsd:
But how serious is this talk? I rember Jolly talking about being very happy in Sydney earlier this year.
It doesn't surprise me really. I've never quite been able to warm to Jolly, and his destabilising comments during GF week and insipid, half-hearted performance on the day suggested to me that he isn't wholly committed to the team.
Having said that, he has become a very, very good ruckman and I want him to stay. It'd be nice to go through one trading and draft period without worrying about finding a ruckman. Just one.
Failing that, a deal that saw Sydney send Jolly to St Kilda, the Saints giving Brisbane pick 9 and Brisbane sending Cameron Wood and pick 25 to Sydney would be about right for all parties.
Thats a bit harsh. I thought the guy was great in the 05' GF, doubt we would have gotten as far without him. Dont think you can blame him for being distracted by the birth of his child and all the carry-on that surrounded it. Hope Jolly stays on, still cant believe Melbourne got rid of him.
rancidpants13
3 Sep 2007, 17:34
Jolly would be a massive loss. :thumbsd:
But how serious is this talk? I rember Jolly talking about being very happy in Sydney earlier this year.
exactly....the talk is a wild rumour at this stage....media have already moved on to a rumour that cam wood is being sought by the pies, and no further mention of jolly.....if he helps us to another flag this year, then i spose good luck to him if he wants to go, he would be surely worth a pretty good return if he wants out as a dual premiership player
AsianWithAFro
3 Sep 2007, 17:35
Collingwood would be interested what would you want for him?
Blacky31
3 Sep 2007, 18:26
I think pick 9 is very realistic, considering we paid pick 15 for him, and since then has played in a premiership and pretty much played a whole year in which he was sole ruckman, and did the job well.
Wagamama
4 Sep 2007, 11:49
He left Dees to be nbr 1 Ruckmen - hasn't looked happy at all this season. If he wants to go, he should. Nice trade to the dogs who would be desperate for a big man. We could pick up an extractor and a draft pick?
I'm grateful for his contribution in 05 and he had a great season in 06 (in spite of the disappointing game in the GF). He'll be a big loss.
He left Dees to be nbr 1 Ruckmen - hasn't looked happy at all this season. If he wants to go, he should. Nice trade to the dogs who would be desperate for a big man. We could pick up an extractor and a draft pick?
I'm grateful for his contribution in 05 and he had a great season in 06 (in spite of the disappointing game in the GF). He'll be a big loss.
Quite the contrary I think. He left the Dees becasue he couldn't even get a game. Jolly has been playing some of his best footy for us this year - and having Spida in support after the stresses of going it alone most of last season he's actually seemed far more relaxed.
Jolly has been our number one ruckman from almost his first month in Syd. Ball had the experience and was seen as the leader in this area back in 2005. But it was Jolly who really did the most minutes and the heavy workload for us - and probably brought us a Premierhship from his efforts.
Spida has the seniority in a similar way, and Jolly respects that and has certainly improved as a ruckman with him around. Spida is a powerful option to have. But Jolly has been given the main task in most games this year. There have been exception to this, naturally. And Spida has demanded more gametime from time to time. But no one who watches the swans every week can possibly say that Everitt is our number 1 ruckman.
Jolly would look good in black and white. Don't worry about draft picks, how about a straight swap Jolly for Guy Richards.
Jeffers1984
4 Sep 2007, 14:11
Jolly would look good in black and white. Don't worry about draft picks, how about a straight swap Jolly for Guy Richards.
LOL thrown in Ben Kinnear out of retirement as well and you have a deal.
grimlock
4 Sep 2007, 14:34
LOL thrown in Ben Kinnear out of retirement as well and you have a deal.
I want Matthew Lokan.
:)How about we nut out some three-way deal to get Rupert Betheras to Carlton? :D:D Collingwood interested in Cain Ackland or Dylan McLaren? :o
Footylover1
4 Sep 2007, 15:09
Is this for real or only just talk? I hope he stays, I'm a huge fan of Jolly.
If he does go, we better get someone good like Cameron Wood in replacement for him or a top 10 draft pick. :thumbsu:
CharlieG
4 Sep 2007, 16:53
I won't entertain any deals with Collingwood that don't include Steve McKee or Frankie Raso.
rancidpants13
4 Sep 2007, 17:29
I won't entertain any deals with Collingwood that don't include Steve McKee or Frankie Raso.
or scott russell...again
grimlock
4 Sep 2007, 17:57
Learn to let go.
They gave us Robbie Ahmat
We gave them Mark Kinnear
They gave us Scott Russell
We gave them Anthony Rocca
They gave us Mark Orchard
We sent him back post-haste
Its a lose-lose situation. Won't somebody please think of the children!!?
CharlieG
4 Sep 2007, 21:14
Learn to let go.
Are you perhaps forgetting Messrs Schauble and Williams?
grimlock
4 Sep 2007, 23:19
And associate them with the likes of those above? Surely you jest!
Are you perhaps forgetting Messrs Schauble and Williams?
And how could you not mention ND - who they were so gracious with!
Learn to let go.
Can anyone tell me why the Swans traded Rocca? What on earth was Rodney Eade smoking when he made that decision?
rancidpants13
4 Sep 2007, 23:32
Can anyone tell me why the Swans traded Rocca? What on earth was Rodney Eade smoking when he made that decision?
rocca had made it clear from probly day 2 of being with us that he didn't want to be with us, wanted to go home.....i'm not sure of the exact details but i remember a whole heap of publicity about him missing his mum and wanting to play with big brother
as with any such case, i don't see much point keeping a bloke who so obviously does not want to be with a club, it's counter-productive
and seeing as c'wood got a bloke who has been spectacular at best but erratic, inconsistent, largely disappointing and is still blamed for costing them a premiership (suspension in 03???), it's not like we gave up a foundation player
at least davo and willo got premierships with us
rocca had made it clear from probly day 2 of being with us that he didn't want to be with us, wanted to go home.....i'm not sure of the exact details but i remember a whole heap of publicity about him missing his mum and wanting to play with big brother
as with any such case, i don't see much point keeping a bloke who so obviously does not want to be with a club, it's counter-productive
and seeing as c'wood got a bloke who has been spectacular at best but erratic, inconsistent, largely disappointing and is still blamed for costing them a premiership (suspension in 03???), it's not like we gave up a foundation player
at least davo and willo got premierships with us
So basically every Collingwood supporter whinging about Nick Davis wanting to move back home is being very hypercritical as Rocca did exactly the same thing.
Footylover1
4 Sep 2007, 23:36
So basically every Collingwood supporter whinging about Nick Davis wanting to move back home is being very hypercritical as Rocca did exactly the same thing.
Exactly. In fact at least Davis played some good football for Collingwood, we got basically **** all out of Rocca at his time at the Swans. :thumbsd:
Rocca = Cry baby.
not quite the same, rocca never stated that he was staying and everyone basically knew he'd leave at the end of the year, davis basically told a lot of people that he was staying and at the end of the year decided to leave. He probably said he'd be staying just to keep the media off his back. But rocca and grant were the turning point for recruiting young players from then on you knew there was no use trying to complain that you'd never go there if drafted.
Don't forget we drafted Gerald Healy, after he retired.....:thumbsu:
But I guess it doesn't count as no trade was involved
Rocca was almost the poster boy for why the Swans needed draft concessions and living allowances in those days to retain players. He actually told the Swans he would refuse to move to Sydney if they selected him in the draft. We called his bluff. But he did everything in his power to get away from us as soon as he got here, including declaring he wouldn't take the field if selected to play, if you can believe that crap. Total sook. :thumbsd:
No1SwansFan
5 Sep 2007, 14:20
and seeing as c'wood got a bloke who has been spectacular at best but erratic, inconsistent, largely disappointing and is still blamed for costing them a premiership (suspension in 03???), it's not like we gave up a foundation player at least davo and willo got premierships with us
I remember a reality tv show thing on at the time of the draft that rocca was in and it was wedding day for his sister I believe and the whole family was crying and carrying on with disappointment with his being drafted to Sydney. He only ever put in a half assed effort and alot of the time made himself unavailable for play rarely made it to training. He really was a massive waste of a draft pick for us.
What a complete wanker. Micky O admitted earlier in the year that he didnt want to go to Sydney and said he wanted to go home for weeks but instead of putting in a half arsed efforted he tried his best and now he loves it in Sydney and holds the record for most Swans games. It just shows that Micky is a much tougher person than Rocca will ever be. I seriously hope Rocca wasnt invited to the Swans player function held earlier in the year as he certainly didnt deserve it.
CharlieG
6 Sep 2007, 02:05
Rocca was almost the poster boy for why the Swans needed draft concessions and living allowances in those days to retain players. He actually told the Swans he would refuse to move to Sydney if they selected him in the draft. We called his bluff. But he did everything in his power to get away from us as soon as he got here, including declaring he wouldn't take the field if selected to play, if you can believe that crap. Total sook. :thumbsd:
:)
I remember at a pre-season function at Flemington Racecourse in 1996, Mama Rocca came swanning up to Rodney Eade (who was talking to a group of fans including me and my dad), tapped him on the shoulder and, without waiting for him to turn demanded "you make sure you let Anthony play where he wants to play!"
Rocket turned around slowly, stared her down and said with just a hint of menace "he'll play where I tell him to play, or he won't play at all." Mama Rocca wilted on the spot.
Probably my favourite Rocket memory of all.
I remember at a pre-season function at Flemington Racecourse in 1996, Mama Rocca came swanning up to Rodney Eade (who was talking to a group of fans including me and my dad), tapped him on the shoulder and, without waiting for him to turn demanded "you make sure you let Anthony play where he wants to play!"
Rocket turned around slowly, stared her down and said with just a hint of menace "he'll play where I tell him to play, or he won't play at all." Mama Rocca wilted on the spot.
Good on him. Rocca seemed like a nasty peice of work and im glad that Eade could not only handle him but his mother aswell. I like Rodney Eade and he is easily one of my favourite coaches. When he joined Sydney as head coach the Swans were in a terrible state. Very low crowd attendances and even worse on field performances. AFL was making very little progress into NSW. Eade really helped the Swans with the signings of some very high profile players and within afew years the Swans were not so much of a laughing stock to the rest of the AFL community. I think without Eade the Swans would have never won the 2005 Premiership.
DeadlyAkkuret
6 Sep 2007, 02:54
Lol Eade you da man!:D You have to love his style sometimes.
When he joined Sydney as head coach the Swans were in a terrible state. Very low crowd attendances and even worse on field performances. AFL was making very little progress into NSW. Eade really helped the Swans with the signings of some very high profile players and within afew years the Swans were not so much of a laughing stock to the rest of the AFL community. I think without Eade the Swans would have never won the 2005 Premiership.
Must be pointed out that Eade took up where Barassi left off. He (Barassi) was instrumental in attracting the likes of Plugger and Roosey, and had lifted the Swans off the bottom of the ladder in 2005, winning around 9 games for the year.
Very true. Paul Roos may have coached the Swans to a Premiership but it was Barassi and Eade which recruited majority of the players to do it.. Getting Paul Roos and Plugger was a stroke of brilliance which certainly helped the team grow into a powerful unit.
promking22
6 Sep 2007, 09:35
Hahahaha is this a Jolly thread? :-) What player would swans want for Jolly and which clubs would you trade with?
Easily worth pick 9.
Would the swans need a tall forward to replace Micky O?
Maybe Ben Reid from Collingwood?
CharlieG
6 Sep 2007, 12:28
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22370543%255E19773,00.html
Surely a three year contract isn't a problem.
grimlock
6 Sep 2007, 13:27
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22370543%255E19773,00.html
Surely a three year contract isn't a problem.
Talk about conflicting messages. Either he wants to go back to Melbourne to be nearer family, or have a long contract so he doesn't go back any time soon??!?!
CharlieG
6 Sep 2007, 14:00
Talk about conflicting messages. Either he wants to go back to Melbourne to be nearer family, or have a long contract so he doesn't go back any time soon??!?!
Not really. What isn't stated in that article is "three years on plenty of coin". I suspect he's willing to put off taking his family home - for the right price. Naturally, we should pay it.
grimlock
6 Sep 2007, 14:02
The Swans players get paid pretty well as it is. I really think these 2 issues should be separate from one another.
xxscubaxx
6 Sep 2007, 14:13
im assuming he is already on fairly good money. but if we want to keep him, then pay up i reckon.. like people have said, extremely hard to replace a good ruckman.
CharlieG
6 Sep 2007, 14:15
The Swans players get paid pretty well as it is. I really think these 2 issues should be separate from one another.
But they aren't separate. I don't think Jolly is unhappy at the Swans - he just wants his family closer to home. Balanced against that, he's probably content to put that off for another three years (by which time his daughter will be four - still not school age) if it means he and his family will be financially secure as a result.
CharlieG
6 Sep 2007, 14:16
im assuming he is already on fairly good money. but if we want to keep him, then pay up i reckon.. like people have said, extremely hard to replace a good ruckman.
He'd be on 'good money' in a general sense, although his first contract wouldn't have had him as one of our higher paid players. Wherever he plays next year, he'll be earning double, perhaps even triple what he is now.
I remember that. It wasn't Rocca, it was Shannon Grant that was carrying on. He called the swans "bastards" for drafting him.
You're right about the rest though. Rocca also made it clear he didn't want to play in Sydney.
swantastic
6 Sep 2007, 15:38
I doubt if he will leave,the Swans will give him the 3 year deal his missus wants and a pay rise.
rancidpants13
6 Sep 2007, 17:47
yeah, i seem to recall some kinda family interview thing with anthony, sav and old mother rocca, and there was a lot of crying (mostly from anthony, i think) and this suggestion that it would be cruel to take him away from home and not let him play with sav....
it was a disgrace to the system, and certainly c'wood and fans showed themselves to be first-rate hypocrites when they got on davo's case....and, let's not forget, they STILL get on davo's case....let's hope he drops a lazy four or five on their stinkin rings saturday night
rancidpants13
6 Sep 2007, 17:51
What a complete wanker. Micky O admitted earlier in the year that he didnt want to go to Sydney and said he wanted to go home for weeks but instead of putting in a half arsed efforted he tried his best and now he loves it in Sydney and holds the record for most Swans games. It just shows that Micky is a much tougher person than Rocca will ever be. I seriously hope Rocca wasnt invited to the Swans player function held earlier in the year as he certainly didnt deserve it.
and what about fosdike and ROK...geez, Rhino had a far greater reason to want to go back to melbourne in i think it was 2002 when his brother died and he wanted to be closer to his younger sister....rocca continues to show the same lack of character on the field, bloke that size and with his skills should be a superstar, but he's already looking at the big dollars on offer as an NFL punter in the US, where all y'do is kick and you've got a dozen blokes protecting you and you almost never have to have contact with other players....
rancidpants13
6 Sep 2007, 17:52
Easily worth pick 9.
Would the swans need a tall forward to replace Micky O?
Maybe Ben Reid from Collingwood?
geez, yeah, reid or chris dawes.....for starters...we ARE talking a premiership ruckman now rated in the top 4-5 in the league
DeadlyAkkuret
6 Sep 2007, 17:55
geez, yeah, reid or chris dawes.....for starters...we ARE talking a premiership ruckman now rated in the top 4-5 in the league
According to one Collingwood fan, he's not even in the top 10. Lmao stupid feral!
magic.merkin
6 Sep 2007, 18:02
as an NFL punter in the US, where all y'do is kick and you've got a dozen blokes protecting you and you almost never have to have contact with other players....
unless your sav having cheap shots taken at you...
check the vid:
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,22249540-11088,00.html
rancidpants13
6 Sep 2007, 18:15
I remember that. It wasn't Rocca, it was Shannon Grant that was carrying on. He called the swans "bastards" for drafting him.
You're right about the rest though. Rocca also made it clear he didn't want to play in Sydney.
from memory, grant had a far bigger crack in sydney colours than rocca did...i remember it that way coz i was far moer disappointed to lose grant than rocca, despite the obvious potential rocca had....funny thing, rocca still hasn't delivered on that potential....grant's made a far more creditable career for himself
rancidpants13
6 Sep 2007, 18:22
unless your sav having cheap shots taken at you...
check the vid:
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,22249540-11088,00.html
big deal.....sav'd better get used to hits like that if he's gonna survive over there.....it coulda been a lot worse....
DeadlyAkkuret
6 Sep 2007, 18:27
"welcome to the national football league, little different..from ossie football"
Yeah, thugs wearing protection, taking cheap shots, and prancing around like queens when they score a touch-down.
I have jus read an article regarding Jolly.. Now im very confused..
This stooge was a nobody 2 years ago, 4 seasons with Melbourne, and got nowhere.. He came to us won a premiership (in his first year), the one thing every player in the afl dreams of, and most never get to taste. A year later hes there again, and then makes an annoucement that hed rather miss the game to be at his kids birth, the week before we play West Coke.. Bad form..
Now were in the finals again and what does this idiot do.. Anounce hes keen pack up and move on.. Fair dinkum, im furious, what sort of message does that send to the rest of the playing group? ill tell ya, that this bloke couldnt give a rats about the his team mates, the club, even winning the game this week..
Mate hes out of contract, its obvious hes going to be worth alot more than he is now, he would have no problems finding another club, WHY does he come out now and say this shit.. the week were going into the FINALS. I dont like the guy, and if we had good ruck stocks comming through id say f@ck him, get rid of this parisite hes no good for us.. But we dont so lets pay him up and pretend hes great for us..
I feel better now,, sort of..
DeadlyAkkuret
6 Sep 2007, 18:47
I couldn't agree more snappy, the guy is shallow and pu**y whipped, and if we had another reliable young option, then i'd say thanks for the memories now pi** off, but we need Jolly and that's all there is to it. Fork out the moola, Roosy!
rancidpants13
6 Sep 2007, 19:04
I couldn't agree more snappy, the guy is shallow and pu**y whipped, and if we had another reliable young option, then i'd say thanks for the memories now pi** off, but we need Jolly and that's all there is to it. Fork out the moola, Roosy!
er, i think this is a bit out of line....footy's a business, we all know that, and if he's trying to talk himself into a new contract and more $$$, he's not the first and good luck to him....we all know if the boot was on the other foot and the club saw a chance to use jolly in a deal that suited the club, there'd be no time for sentiment
and on the family thing, and the pregnant wife last year, that is his prerogative and i have no problem at all, despite the fact it obviously caused some disruption...the fact is he amde his intentions clear early enough and the only real problem was the timing of the birth and the fact he got little sleep before the game...and let's face it, had we got over the line rather than lose by a point, the only thing we'd be remembering is jolly's place in sydney swans history
here's the biggest worry though...wire story today quotes spida everitt saying what a great year it's been working with jolly, what a great player jolly has become, and "he'll stay with sydney, he won;t be leaving, YOU CAN TRUST ME".....i'd think those last words would be the biggest concern, coming from spida
Seriously rancid, its all about timming and thats the issue..
Were all intitled to our oppinions, and birth is probobly the biggest thing in life, but, i know that not so long ago men would not be given a day off work to be by thier wifes side, so when Warrick Capper wrote theres plenty more kids to be had than premierships, i couldnt have said it better..
And perhaps the club could have offerd him a contract earlier, who knows what happens in there, but man it aint jus bussiness, there are many more factors involved, namely your team mates, and i see it as another let down on his behalf.
rancidpants13
6 Sep 2007, 19:17
Seriously rancid, its all about timming and thats the issue..
Were all intitled to our oppinions, and birth is probobly the biggest thing in life, but, i know that not so long ago men would not be given a day off work to be by thier wifes side, so when Warrick Capper wrote theres plenty more kids to be had than premierships, i couldnt have said it better..
And perhaps the club could have offerd him a contract earlier, who knows what happens in there, but man it aint jus bussiness, there are many more factors involved, namely your team mates, and i see it as another let down on his behalf.
you're quoting warwick capper at me????
well it was funny, at a time when things were rather awkard..
DeadlyAkkuret
6 Sep 2007, 19:40
My beef isn't about him being at the birth of his child, i think that's great. It's more about what's been going on lately, it feels to me like he leaves his 'decisions' upto his wife, even down to deciding where he can and can't play. Being a regular AFL player is a luxury, and playing in a premiership is even more of a luxury, Jolly's attitude is just poor form.
rancidpants13
6 Sep 2007, 20:22
My beef isn't about him being at the birth of his child, i think that's great. It's more about what's been going on lately, it feels to me like he leaves his 'decisions' upto his wife, even down to deciding where he can and can't play. Being a regular AFL player is a luxury, and playing in a premiership is even more of a luxury, Jolly's attitude is just poor form.
remember all this "attitude" is coming as reported in the media, we don't know all the facts of it....i would hate to lose him, but if we're smart we can surely get a very good deal....remember, we're coming up to a rebuilding phase and, while i acknowledge the need for quality ruckmen in any such rebuild, we possibly have a coupla kids coming up and waiting on a chance to prove themselves, and with spida around to teach them the art of the tap, it's not all doom and gloom
but let's see what unfolds over the next 5-6 weeks
Trade him...
I am serious.
The Swans are likely to go into downturn shortly. We may do 'alright' next year but 2009 looks decidedly ordinary.
A clubs ability to stay near the top is their movement whilst they are at the top.
This may prove difficult if he is out of contract though.
We can realistically demand a player (Cameron Wood) and another young player, or draft pick for Jolly. He is one of the premier ruckman in the competition. Has added around the ground ability to his game this year. Has a premiership medal.
This will give us a ruckman that will develop next year under Everitt (and Currie in 2009 under Wood). Another draft pick, or young player who we can add to our squad for the future.
We could also look at trading the 'overrated' players on our list such as Jude Bolton, who is getting on and we would not really miss.
If we are to make a quick turnaround at the top, and not bottom out in a couple of years, now is that time to cement our future.
rancidpants13
6 Sep 2007, 23:18
Trade him...
I am serious.
The Swans are likely to go into downturn shortly. We may do 'alright' next year but 2009 looks decidedly ordinary.
A clubs ability to stay near the top is their movement whilst they are at the top.
This may prove difficult if he is out of contract though.
We can realistically demand a player (Cameron Wood) and another young player, or draft pick for Jolly. He is one of the premier ruckman in the competition. Has added around the ground ability to his game this year. Has a premiership medal.
This will give us a ruckman that will develop next year under Everitt (and Currie in 2009 under Wood). Another draft pick, or young player who we can add to our squad for the future.
We could also look at trading the 'overrated' players on our list such as Jude Bolton, who is getting on and we would not really miss.
If we are to make a quick turnaround at the top, and not bottom out in a couple of years, now is that time to cement our future.
i agree with the sentiment, we need to look NOW at how we approach the next 3-4 seasons, and we have to have some kinda integrated plan, certainly regarding draft picks and trades, by that i mean we look at what we've still got up our sleeve in terms of young, untried players, we look at who we want to have as our foundation players for the next generation, and we look to who's available for trade from other clubs, who we might draft and who we can afford to use in trades....not just hit and miss from one year to the next, not look to top up another year knowing we then have to rebuild, etc etc....
i would be happy to have jolly as our main ruckman for that period IF he is happy to stay here for that period
if he's not, if in negotiations the club discovers he is wavering, then we have to trade him now and get the absolutel best deal, whether that be draft picks, whatever
but we are right at the end, surely, with this current squad of fantastic, brave, mostly premiership players and with our coach, too, don't forget longmire is being groomed to take over and that may well be sooner rather than later
Its not the right time to lose Jolly.
I've got no problem with him putting his hand up for a 3 year deal and better money than he is on from his first deal. No reason a 3 year deal should not be done either his ability in the ruck is fine and his around the ground work is fine, except for some defensive lapses.
My concern is the timing. Last year it was a child and that is understood as sacred (except for Andy Flintoff), but to talk money and contract at this time of year is not healthy.
Having said that we need to find a way to make him stay as an established ruckman of his ability already in the team is worth so much.
Up his pay and give him a 3 year deal.
CirrusC2
7 Sep 2007, 12:28
Up his pay and give him a 3 year deal.
It can't be that simple. Maybe they have someone up their sleeve that they see promise in - I'm still not sure Jolly is *that* good...
Blacky31
7 Sep 2007, 19:45
You would think that this decision may be affected by Jolly's performance/attitude in the coming finals series.