13. Tom Collier (Roos)
14. Adam Maric (Hawks)
15. David Gourdis (Eagles)
16. Scott Selwood (Power)
17. Jack Grimes (Cats)
18. Pat Vetzpremi (Tigers)
19. Steven Gaertner (Blues)
20. Scott Simpson (Demons)

The only midfielder of qaulity, star quality capable of being in the top 2% of the AFL is Cotchin.

All clubs know this.

OneEyedPie7
2 Sep 2007, 15:01
The only midfielder of qaulity, star quality capable of being in the top 2% of the AFL is Cotchin.

All clubs know this.

Could be similar to Sellar last year. Great player, but struggled under a tag in the champs. Value may decrease slightly, whereas blokes like Morton have risen significantly. Imo Palmer will make that elite grade aswell, Ebert is the complete package. Bulldogs could take him, but they should def be on the hunt for tall timber.

Kirke Special
2 Sep 2007, 15:15
Could be similar to Sellar last year. Great player, but struggled under a tag in the champs. Value may decrease slightly, whereas blokes like Morton have risen significantly. Imo Palmer will make that elite grade aswell, Ebert is the complete package. Bulldogs could take him, but they should def be on the hunt for tall timber.

Palmer runs one way. That's fantastic but he needs to develop a defensive game. Also struggles with the physical stuff.

sinepari
2 Sep 2007, 15:17
struggles? have you seen him play?

Kirke Special
2 Sep 2007, 15:21
struggles? have you seen him play?

Only 20 times this year and perhaps 40 times over the past 2 years.

By physical stuff I mean he doesnt protect his body going into a contest or out of a contest.

Note 2 weeks ago, ball watching Kozi Style and floored by Bloxsidge.

sinepari
2 Sep 2007, 15:28
ok thanks for clarifying.

I understand what you mean. I've followed Rhys closely for a long time also & you've probably identified something that needs work. I was just under the impression that you were calling him soft, which I now realise you weren't.

That said, he isn't the first potential draftee to be floored playing league.

Assuming you're an east freo boy, dissapointed with yesterday?

VINCANITY
2 Sep 2007, 15:28
that would be funny to see selwood at the power
1 in vic
1 in SA
1 in Qld
and 1 in WA

wizard_9
2 Sep 2007, 15:31
Cant see Palmer going before Cotchin or Morton.

sinepari
2 Sep 2007, 15:32
I can't see Myers slipping beyond top 10. Massively underrated on BF

Ants
2 Sep 2007, 15:33
Can we have a sticky thread for 'top X's' where people don't put detailed descriptions of the players?

Then hopefully the only threads started would be where people give detailed reasons/views on the players picked.

Kirke Special
2 Sep 2007, 15:34
ok thanks for clarifying.

I understand what you mean. I've followed Rhys closely for a long time also & you've probably identified something that needs work. I was just under the impression that you were calling him soft, which I now realise you weren't.

That said, he isn't the first potential draftee to be floored playing league.

Assuming you're an east freo boy, dissapointed with yesterday?

Not an east Freo boy, colts informant. And I wasnt calling him soft, just highlighting his awareness and body positioning.

sinepari
2 Sep 2007, 15:37
I'd like to hear your thoughts on Aaron Sweet 'Kirke'

Kirke Special
2 Sep 2007, 15:48
I'd like to hear your thoughts on Aaron Sweet 'Kirke'

Finds plenty of the ball but like most kids who find the pill he tends to lose his opponent. Developing that side of the game comes with experience.

Tends to drift foward of stoppages which is a risk in itself. A little small for my liking but finds the pill alot so he has been mentioned around the campfire.

I'll ask you for some thoughts, Christopher Mayne?

sinepari
2 Sep 2007, 15:57
Haven't seen alot of him this year, but I think he's promising.

I love his hard running and defensive pressure. Prepared to bust his gut solely to help out a team mate, which I love to see in young blokes. Very capable above his head and suited to a half forward at afl level id suggest, although capable of moving into the guts with time. Decent below his knees also.

Any idea how tall he is mate? I have him as about 189 but that's from last year. I'm assuming he's taller now.

Kirke Special
2 Sep 2007, 16:03
Haven't seen alot of him this year, but I think he's promising.

I love his hard running and defensive pressure. Prepared to bust his gut solely to help out a team mate, which I love to see in young blokes. Very capable above his head and suited to a half forward at afl level id suggest, although capable of moving into the guts with time. Decent below his knees also.

Any idea how tall he is mate? I have him as about 189 but that's from last year. I'm assuming he's taller now.

I have him as 190cm.

Everything you have said above plus his strut. Confidence in ones ability is an under-rated trait and he has it in bucket loads, a feist, confident attitude.

Just need to work on his kicking fro goal, too much stuttering and no momentum.

samthemanlonergan
2 Sep 2007, 16:04
If Masten is available, I wouldn't think Essendon will pass.

(They better not!)

Boy from the West
2 Sep 2007, 16:33
Finds plenty of the ball but like most kids who find the pill he tends to lose his opponent. Developing that side of the game comes with experience.

Tends to drift foward of stoppages which is a risk in itself. A little small for my liking but finds the pill alot so he has been mentioned around the campfire.

I'll ask you for some thoughts, Christopher Mayne?

Was at that game yesterday (unfortunately). Chopper struggled to get into it but that was team mates fault. As game wore on he ran very hard and then lead well and took several strong contested marks. Impresses me every time as he is a genuine player. Kept his head when senior players were dummy spitting it everywhere.

Myers is just class. If they stopped the draft and he had to stay at Perth, he would be captain by 2009. Outstanding young man and quality player. Has adjusted to the pace and physicality of senior football immediatly which is what recruiters look for. Will play senior AFL in 08.

juddy_Like
2 Sep 2007, 16:46
Awesome list OneEyedPie. Some pretty handy names there.

But my list based on talent regardless of position, team needs, etc.
1. Matt Kruezer
2. Trent Cotchin
3. Lachlan Henderson
4. Cale Morton
5. Rhys Palmer
6. Chris Masten
7. Alex Rance
8. Brad Ebert*
9. Levi GreenWood*
10. Cyril Rioli*
11. Tom Bellchambers
12. David Myers
13. Ben McEnvoy
14. Tayte Pears
15. Dawson Simpson
16. Pat Vetzpremi
17. Steven Gaertner
18. David Gourdis
19. Tom Collier
20. Scott Selwood
* Notes have not seen much (minimal in fact).

RED AND BLACK SOLDIER
2 Sep 2007, 17:54
I would be scratchin the ye old nogan thinking 'what the hell just happened' if things went down like that on draft day. Aswell as jumping for joy over getting Cotchin. I can't see Masten or Cotchin dropping that low, both top 5 picks IMO. Palmer i can't see going that high.

Ysaye
2 Sep 2007, 18:11
I can't see Myers slipping beyond top 10. Massively underrated on BF

Would you agree that he is probably better than Rance? So he should be around 7-10....

sinepari
2 Sep 2007, 18:15
Well to compare him to Rance is tricky, given they are different types of players.

I think Myers should be ahead of Rance (although I rate him highly also) as well as a number of others talked about on BF.

I'd have Myers in my top 3 'wants' for WCE. Of course that won't happen.

davey_23
2 Sep 2007, 18:29
I couldnt agree more regarding Myers, he will go about pick 6 i reckon.

vinnie_vegas69
2 Sep 2007, 18:35
I think Myers should be ahead of Rance (although I rate him highly also) as well as a number of others talked about on BF.

I'd have Myers in my top 3 'wants' for WCE. Of course that won't happen.
I've been hearing this a lot, and evidently I haven't seen enough of Myers to be as big a fan of him as most of you WA guys seem to be.

What is it that would push him above other midfielders rated in that range?

What exactly is it about him that pushes him into "definite top 10, possible top 5" range, rather than the 10-20 range that he seems to often fall into in rankings on here, in your opinion?

From my limited knowledge and viewing of him, I figure that he's a similar sort of player to Cale Morton in some ways, given his ability to play as a 3rd tall/loose man in defense, as well as a wingman.

Kirke Special
2 Sep 2007, 18:36
I've been hearing this a lot, and evidently I haven't seen enough of Myers to be as big a fan of him as most of you WA guys seem to be.

What is it that would push him above other midfielders rated in that range?

What exactly is it about him that pushes him into "definite top 10, possible top 5" range, rather than the 10-20 range that he seems to often fall into in rankings on here, in your opinion?

From my limited knowledge and viewing of him, I figure that he's a similar sort of player to

Leadership.

juddy_Like
2 Sep 2007, 18:54
Myers is good. But i see Rance as better (I.e Having a better career).
But in saying that, the only thing they have in common is that their both defenders.

Rance reminds me of a young Darren Glass. Humble, level-headed, down to earth kid that is willing to learn. Alot more attacking and has a way better kick (well its not hard to beat Glass in a kicking comp lol) and reads the play well. If he can get to the same build as Glass whilst keeping hes speed... Watch Out!!

sinepari
2 Sep 2007, 19:27
Leadership, composure, work ethic.

richcogs
2 Sep 2007, 21:25
From you west boys can you give me a comparison between Palmer and Masten? Who will go higher?

Ryder Is God
2 Sep 2007, 21:35
I hope Masten drops down to us.

Jeremias
2 Sep 2007, 23:56
If Cotchin is around at pick 3, I wouldn't think we would hesitate to take him.

Tigerdude3
3 Sep 2007, 01:18
My top 10 is :
#1: M.Kruezer to Carlton .
#2: T.Cotchin to the mighty Tigers
#3: R.Palmer to carlton
#4: C.Morton to melbourne
#5: L.Henderson to bulldogs
#6: B.Ebert to essendon
#7: S.Selwood to Freo
#8: C.Rioli to lions
#9: A.Rance to saint
#10: C.Masten to adelaide

LukeHodge15
3 Sep 2007, 02:22
Not a hope in hell that Cotchin will slide IMO, No way.

ericpascoe
3 Sep 2007, 10:13
1. Matt Kruezer (Carlton)
2. Rhys Palmer (Richmond)
3. Cale Morton (Carlton)
4. Brad Ebert (Melbourne)
5. Lachlan Henderson (Bulldogs)
6. Trent Cotchin (Bombers)
7. Chris Masten (Freo)
8. Cyril Rioli (Brisbane)
9. Alex Rance (Saints)
10. Tayte Pears (Sydney)
11. Levi Greenwood(Crows)
12. Ben McEvoy (Magpies)
13. Tom Collier (Roos)
14. Adam Maric (Hawks)
17. Jack Grimes (Cats)

Tigers have 18 and 19, Blues 20

jetter18
3 Sep 2007, 10:59
Being a Bulldogs suporter i notice a lot have us taking Lachie Henderson. I dont know much about him but is he the best tall kpp in the draft apart from Kruezer of course?? Does he take a big pack grab and whats his body size like?? Any information on him would be appreciated.

ImperialPurple
3 Sep 2007, 12:15
My top 10 is :

I wouldn't have thought Masten would slip to pick 10... If he's there at pick 7 I bloody hope Freo grab him (although having a Selwood at our club would be amusing.... they could get Des to be his "senior player mentor"...)

theGav56
3 Sep 2007, 12:17
My top 10 is :

Would be utterly amazed if Freo took Selwood instead of Masten. Selwood would have to be a significantly better player for that to happen given that Masten is a local boy, and the history between one particular Selwood and Headland.

Fireman_sam
3 Sep 2007, 12:39
I am pretty sure you will be seeing.. Jarrad Grant anywhere from 7-20.......

slightlycynical
3 Sep 2007, 12:47
Think most people just assume Rance will fall to saints... I see him as far more of a commodity - the dees having picked up a lot of good smalls in recent drafts will be very interested.

2. Trent Cotchin (Richmond)
3. Cale Morton (Carlton)
4. Alex Rance (Melbourne)
6. Rhys Palmer (Bombers)
7. Chris Masten (Freo)
9. Brad Ebert (Saints)
10. Ben McEvoy (Sydney)

ChipDouglas
3 Sep 2007, 13:03
Being a Bulldogs suporter i notice a lot have us taking Lachie Henderson. I dont know much about him but is he the best tall kpp in the draft apart from Kruezer of course?? Does he take a big pack grab and whats his body size like?? Any information on him would be appreciated.
A good player is Henderson but remember the Doggies have an Ayce up their sleeve in 2008. If they take McEvoy pick one, trade Ray for Ryan Murphy and use their first pick on Ayce Cordy in 2008 that would solve the tall forward/Ruck problems.

Gilly1972
3 Sep 2007, 13:07
Think most people just assume Rance will fall to saints... I see him as far more of a commodity - the dees having picked up a lot of good smalls in recent drafts will be very interested.

3. Cale Morton (Carlton)
6. Rhys Palmer (Bombers)
7. Chris Masten (Freo)
9. Brad Ebert (Saints)
10. Ben McEvoy (Sydney)

That's a very well considered list, good effort :thumbsu:

juddy_Like
3 Sep 2007, 13:32
From you west boys can you give me a comparison between Palmer and Masten? Who will go higher?
Masten is abit like Mitch Thorp & Selwood last year in that he didnt do anything wrong to slide but others just killed it when it mattered. Masten is a Daniel Cross like player in that he runs all day, has ridiculously good hands but hes kicking is a major let-down. But still no-way he'll slide past Freo's pick.

Palmer is the talk of the town as of late due to hes sensational National Champs. Very good going forward, runs hard and is deceptively quick. Needs to work on hes defensive side but he is not the only one. Some have him going at 3 yet others have him just inside the Top 10.

scooter600x
3 Sep 2007, 14:15
A good player is Henderson but remember the Doggies have an Ayce up their sleeve in 2008. If they take McEvoy pick one, trade Ray for Ryan Murphy and use their first pick on Ayce Cordy in 2008 that would solve the tall forward/Ruck problems.

Ayce is 205cm and 70kg.

He'll have an AFL ready build by about 2020

sinepari
3 Sep 2007, 14:20
Masten is a Daniel Cross like player in that he runs all day, has ridiculously good hands but hes kicking is a major let-down. But still no-way he'll slide past Freo's pick.

I'm not a huge fan of that comparison, but I guess I can see where you are coming from. Furthermore, I disagree re his kicking. Yes it probably needs some work, but to call it a major let-down would be overdoing it a little I'd suggest. Definitely not anywhere near as bad as Andrew Swallow's at the same stage.

Definitely one of my favourite players in this years draft, so I guess I'm slightly biased.

juddy_Like
3 Sep 2007, 14:33
I'm not a huge fan of that comparison, but I guess I can see where you are coming from. Furthermore, I disagree re his kicking. Yes it probably needs some work, but to call it a major let-down would be overdoing it a little I'd suggest. Definitely not anywhere near as bad as Andrew Swallow's at the same stage.

Definitely one of my favourite players in this years draft, so I guess I'm slightly biased.
Well i guess i was a tad harsh but if hes kicking was say good... He could well be the top pick. As for Swallow, i cant believe hes kicking costed him 20 odd spots in hes draft. He was simply way too good to go at Pick 40odd.

juddy_Like
3 Sep 2007, 14:33
As for the Cross comparison... Its hard to match anyone really. But its just the first-up impression i get.

ant555
3 Sep 2007, 14:37
As for the Cross comparison... Its hard to match anyone really. But its just the first-up impression i get.

Masten's kicking is good enough. He isnt silky smooth but its not like he sprays the footy around everywhere.

Gilly1972
3 Sep 2007, 14:39
Ayce is 205cm and 70kg.

He'll have an AFL ready build by about 2020

Saw him on the weekend, a good prospect but looked like a Michael hurley tackle would snap him in half :)

juddy_Like
3 Sep 2007, 14:49
Masten's kicking is good enough. He isnt silky smooth but its not like he sprays the footy around everywhere.
It is for WAFL level. Will have to lift it a notch (Swallow & Priddis styles) to keep up in the AFL.

ImperialPurple
3 Sep 2007, 20:41

3. Cale Morton (Carlton)
6. Rhys Palmer (Bombers)
7. Chris Masten (Freo)
9. Brad Ebert (Saints)
10. Ben McEvoy (Sydney)

I think I just wet my pants with excitement reading that.... Hope you're right! :thumbsu:

wizard_9
3 Sep 2007, 20:44
I dont think we can get a choice but i have a feeling one may just be left for us to swoop on.

Demonheart
3 Sep 2007, 21:05

3. Cale Morton (Carlton)
6. Rhys Palmer (Bombers)
7. Chris Masten (Freo)
9. Brad Ebert (Saints)
10. Ben McEvoy (Sydney)

We picked up Frawley in the first round last year, I doubt we'd go for another key defender, I'm hoping Morton will still be available

edit: or Henderson

wizard_9
3 Sep 2007, 21:09
We picked up Frawley in the first round last year, I doubt we'd go for another key defender, I'm hoping Morton will still be available

Frawley isnt really a tall defender.

Gilly1972
3 Sep 2007, 21:10

I'm not convinced Frawley will make a FB at AFL level but perhaps a rebounding type defender playing on the third opposition tall.

Still think you could use an A-grade KPD like Rance.

no. 4
3 Sep 2007, 21:35
I didn't want to start a new thread on him so i'll mention it here. Do people here rate Ashley Arrowsmith at all? Where will he go in the draft? Everytime i played against him in junior footy and everytime i have watched him be at East Keilor, Calder Cannons or Vic Metro he has done very little yet whenever i look in the paper he is named in the bests.

TGR
3 Sep 2007, 21:49
I didn't want to start a new thread on him so i'll mention it here. Do people hear rate Ashley Arrowsmith at all? Where will he go in the draft? Everytime i played against him in junior footy and everytime i have watched him be at East Keilor, Calder Cannons or Vic Metro he has done very little yet whenever i look in the paper he is named in the bests.

I liked him last year but have backed off somewhat this season. Takes a few too many short steps for my liking. Not sure his decision making is as good as it needs to be either. Is good by foot and seems to cover enough ground but not for me.

TFLUA-Tiger
3 Sep 2007, 22:41
Woah!! Greenwood and Maric with a bullet!

Palmer up too high in my opinion, cotchin has to go at 2 and masten in the top 5.

Otherwise, found it quite accurate.

melbournemartin
3 Sep 2007, 22:57
Ebert was apparently considered the #1 pick a fair while ago. Is this true? Would Melbourne be looking at him with #4? Also, what is all the major fuss about Masten? (serious question, don't know much about this year's draft yet)

LukeHodge15
4 Sep 2007, 00:44
Masten will slide IMO.

Just cant have him Top 10 when u look at what he brings to the table.

Matt Murder
5 Sep 2007, 10:28
Palmer will be up there. Kicked 5 in the WAFL seniors a couple of weeks ago and has been better than most of the AFL rookie listed players and alot of the AFL fringe players. Masten can run all day , just got to get more penetration in his kicking (Ben McGlynn style).

Morton made his senior debut for Claremont (top of the table) and kicked 3. David Myers is playing seniors for Perth and apparently looking the goods(21 possessions last game and 30+ a few weeks back). They would be the top 4 from WA. I would think they will all be gone by pick 10. Rance could be around for the Hawks 1st pick.

pafc4life
5 Sep 2007, 18:18
our only chance of getting ebert is landing a top 10 pick through a trade, i'd love to see Levi greenwood at the power

The Royal Sampler
5 Sep 2007, 19:44
Who is the better kick of C. Masten and J. Grimes?

stifler's mom
5 Sep 2007, 22:55
Ben Mcevoy will definately go top 10.

Lock it in. ( probably to bombers )

TacupWatcher
7 Sep 2007, 00:11
If Palmer goes top5 id be very very surprised. an admission of a few recruiters during national championships week was rhys palmer was not rated as an elite footballer befor the champs. he had an enourmous carnival at the top underage level but that meen u go from 0 to hero. id expect him to go 8-20

SOT4
7 Sep 2007, 01:20
Ben Mcevoy will definately go top 10.

Lock it in. ( probably to bombers )

Why would we take yet another forward who can ruck when we have Bradley, Johns, Neagle, Gumbleton and for the next 3-4 years Lucas and Lloyd?

Demonheart
7 Sep 2007, 14:08
I'm not convinced Frawley will make a FB at AFL level but perhaps a rebounding type defender playing on the third opposition tall.

Still think you could use an A-grade KPD like Rance.

Gilly, how would you compare Rance to Henderson, I admittedly haven't seen much of either player, I made that comment earlier because we need a forward more than a defender.
Can you please give my your comparison of the two.

PROUD LION
7 Sep 2007, 17:14
Why would we take yet another forward who can ruck when we have Bradley, Johns, Neagle, Gumbleton and for the next 3-4 years Lucas and Lloyd?

:rolleyes: Probably because of those players listed, only Gumbleton will make the grade as a star forward and Lloyd/Lucas are getting on a bit.

Kaiser Powser
7 Sep 2007, 17:38
:rolleyes: Probably because of those players listed, only Gumbleton will make the grade as a star forward and Lloyd/Lucas are getting on a bit.

Still, we need a ball winning mid, miles before we need a tall.

BluesRules
7 Sep 2007, 17:44
If Cotchin is around at pick 3, I wouldn't think we would hesitate to take him.

I think Ratts and Hughes would scream out aloud if Richmond overlooked him

BluesRules
7 Sep 2007, 17:45
3. Cale Morton (Carlton)
7. Chris Masten (Freo)
9. Alex Rance (Saints)
10. Tayte Pears (Sydney)
12. Ben McEvoy (Magpies)
13. Tom Collier (Roos)
14. Adam Maric (Hawks)
17. Jack Grimes (Cats)

There is no way Cotchin would slip past 3.

crowsarethebest
7 Sep 2007, 21:03
What is with Grimes? Was rated top 10 at least and even top 5 before Champs but now seems to have disappeared?

The Royal Sampler
7 Sep 2007, 23:22
Is currently injured. The queries on him are his kicking and his pace. I'd like to know more myself, because I think he might fall to the Pies. I just don't know if he's a Hine kind of player.

Matt Murder
9 Sep 2007, 17:32
If Palmer goes top5 id be very very surprised. an admission of a few recruiters during national championships week was rhys palmer was not rated as an elite footballer befor the champs. he had an enourmous carnival at the top underage level but that meen u go from 0 to hero. id expect him to go 8-20

I think his WAFL senior form will put him right up there. No problem adjusting to the tempo and kicked 5 a couple of weeks ago. Might not be elite but is a tireless worker and can go all day. Just lacks a decent right foot.

beatlesmith
9 Sep 2007, 22:39

Oh i pray he lasts til 15 but it is not going to happen. If he is around at freo's pick and masten has already gone, he will definately get snapped up by them. Apparently eagles have had "serious" talks with Myers.

sinepari
9 Sep 2007, 23:11
Apparently eagles have had "serious" talks with Myers.

That I'm sure of. Class, class, class.

tigers71
11 Sep 2007, 10:09
There is no way Cotchin would slip past 3.

Richmond has 18th priorty 19th pick which is the start of the 2nd round. Carton picks are 1 priorty and 3 1st round draft pick. They than have pick 20 in the 2nd round draft pick !!!

TFLUA-Tiger
11 Sep 2007, 10:21
Richmond has 18th priorty 19th pick which is the start of the 2nd round. Carton picks are 1 priorty and 3 1st round draft pick. They than have pick 20 in the 2nd round draft pick !!!

What does that have to do with anything being discussed in this thread?

tigers71
11 Sep 2007, 12:09
What does that have to do with anything being discussed in this thread?

People are confusing our picks with carltos so I wanted to set the recor striagnht

stefoid
11 Sep 2007, 18:28
dont lock in a tall for the bulldogs at #5 unless the guy has gun written all over him. clayton will take a 'dead set' gun midfielder over a 'probable' tall every day of the week, regardless of any other consideration.

theGav56
11 Sep 2007, 18:37

Freo have pick 7, and if Palmer is available then they will select him without question.

sinepari
11 Sep 2007, 18:55
Don't be so sure, although Rhys is one of my favourites this year.

topdog
12 Sep 2007, 08:17
I wonder how this top 20 compares to last years list. Would Cotchin and Kruezer been ahead of Gipps and Gumbleton. Wouldn't mind seeing a top 20 list of compined draftees of this and last year. We are all hearing how good these players are going but how highly are they really rated.

Darren12345
12 Sep 2007, 08:45
TAC Cup Team Of The Year
B: Farmer (Calder) Hurley (Northern) Kay (Gippsland)
HB: Ward (Western) Kangars (Geelong) Cheney (North Ballarat)
C: Hall (Gippsland) Polkinghorne (Calder) Arrowsmith (Calder)
HF: S.Simpson (Dandy) McEvoy (Murray) Otten (Oakleigh)
F: Renton (Eastern) Bongetti (Northern) Banner (Western)
R: Kreuzer (Northern) Grimes (Northern) Suban (North Ballarat)
INT: Shaw (Sandringham) Nye (Eastern) Barham (Geelong) Ford (Bendigo)

What are your thoughts on Mitchell Farmer in the draft? i have been observing this kid all year and he has been in the best for the clader cannons close to every week as well as in the best for Vic Metro nearly every game?? He'd have to be in the top 20 wouldnt he??

Cheers
Daz:thumbsu:

Ill Nino
12 Sep 2007, 09:18
TAC Cup Team Of The Year

What are your thoughts on Mitchell Farmer in the draft? i have been observing this kid all year and he has been in the best for the clader cannons close to every week as well as in the best for Vic Metro nearly every game?? He'd have to be in the top 20 wouldnt he??

Cheers

Just one question wheres Cotchin ?

TFLUA-Tiger
12 Sep 2007, 10:28
TAC Cup Team Of The Year

Cheers

I rate Mitchell highly.

I had him in my draft team of the year purely because he is a back pocket specialist, and the best back pocket prospect in the draft.

For that same reason, I can't see him being drafted in the top 20. He's a very good player, but specialising in one position may see him drop to as low as 40-50 on draft day.

Just one question wheres Cotchin ?

Cotchin only played 5 games of TAC footy, he concentrated on school footy with APS.

vinnie_vegas69
12 Sep 2007, 10:50
I rate Mitchell highly.

I had him in my draft team of the year purely because he is a back pocket specialist, and the best back pocket prospect in the draft.
Steven Browne disagrees with you.

TFLUA-Tiger
12 Sep 2007, 11:43
Steven Browne disagrees with you.

Ahh yeah, forgot about him, he was in my Draft team of the year too.

Well Farmer is second behind Browne.

juddy_Like
12 Sep 2007, 13:00
I wonder how this top 20 compares to last years list. Would Cotchin and Kruezer been ahead of Gipps and Gumbleton. Wouldn't mind seeing a top 20 list of compined draftees of this and last year. We are all hearing how good these players are going but how highly are they really rated.
Kruezer would go where Mitch Thorp landed. And Cotchin will be outside TOp 10. Very classy but Selwood just oozed class when you saw him. I dont think many tipped Boak to go so high.

Remember last year people had Murphy around pick 9ish as well.

afc9798
12 Sep 2007, 13:12
that would be funny to see selwood at the power
1 in vic
1 in SA
1 in Qld
and 1 in WA

Given that the youngest Selwood is being considered as the best of the four, then I think he'll go earlier on name alone. I wouldn't be surprised to see him at Carlton or Richmond. I think the only definite position is Kreuzer at No.1

ChipDouglas
12 Sep 2007, 13:15
[quote=TFLUA-Tiger;8734207]I rate Mitchell highly.

For that same reason, I can't see him being drafted in the top 20. He's a very good player, but specialising in one position may see him drop to as low as 40-50 on draft day.

People who read this might think Farmer plays in the back pocket. Truth is he hasn't played there in quite some time. One of the better midfield prospects on offer.

TFLUA-Tiger
12 Sep 2007, 13:22
Yes, he has been playing midfield lately, but I don't see him as a midfielder in the AFL, only as a specialist back pocket.

sinepari
12 Sep 2007, 13:31
Given that the youngest Selwood is being considered as the best of the four, then I think he'll go earlier on name alone. I wouldn't be surprised to see him at Carlton or Richmond. I think the only definite position is Kreuzer at No.1

No he isn't. Joel was far superior at the same stage.

richoatthedisco
12 Sep 2007, 13:32
No he's not.

vinnie_vegas69
12 Sep 2007, 14:53
Kruezer would go where Mitch Thorp landed. And Cotchin will be outside TOp 10. Very classy but Selwood just oozed class when you saw him. I dont think many tipped Boak to go so high.
Not a chance - Collingwood and St Kilda both would have struggled to look past him at #8, #9 and #10.

juddy_Like
12 Sep 2007, 15:36
Not a chance - Collingwood and St Kilda both would have struggled to look past him at #8, #9 and #10.
But i thought Collingwood were hell-bent on Ried?? Like you guys were on Pendlebury the year before?

All my suggestions are hypothetical of course. Hard to guage the grunt, crash bash style of Armitage to the classy, highly skilled offerings of Crotchin.

juddy_Like
12 Sep 2007, 15:38
Selwood would be boarderline First round this year in a ridiculously lesser draft. Joel was touted as a possible # 1 pick if he wasnt injured.

The only people that thing Scott is superior to Joel or Troy even (Adam was injured) are the stupid commentators (hello Rob Walls!!!!) who need to generate decent commentary (which most of the time they fail).

pw15
12 Sep 2007, 17:07
3. Cale Morton (Carlton)
7. Chris Masten (Freo)
9. Alex Rance (Saints)
10. Tayte Pears (Sydney)
12. Ben McEvoy (Magpies)
13. Tom Collier (Roos)
14. Adam Maric (Hawks)
17. Jack Grimes (Cats)
Good call. Just wandering how much credence is taken by results as draft camp. If say #11 had a shocker at draft camp and #18 put in great performances would that mean 18 might go before 11
Just curious to see how much effect the dc has on the overall positions that the guys end up going
My first post (YAY)

vinnie_vegas69
12 Sep 2007, 17:22
But i thought Collingwood were hell-bent on Ried?? Like you guys were on Pendlebury the year before?
I don't think so - I think part of the reason we went tall is that there weren't any midfielders we rated particularly highly at that pick. We probably could have gotten Reid at #10 anyway.

Apparently we would have taken either Boak or Selwood had they been available at #8, and I think Cotchin stands up in comparison to either of those two in terms of pre-draft standing.

vinnie_vegas69
12 Sep 2007, 17:55
Good call. Just wandering how much credence is taken by results as draft camp. If say #11 had a shocker at draft camp and #18 put in great performances would that mean 18 might go before 11
Just curious to see how much effect the dc has on the overall positions that the guys end up going
Honestly, the only reason that draft camp would seriously affect anyone's stock would be if a result was way off from what was expected.

If a guy who was considered too short to ruck measured in at 200cm with a 4cm reach advantage, he would obviously see his stock rise dramatically. Likewise, if you get a midfielder who lists his best assets as silky skills and blistering pace, but he turns in a 3.10 sec 20m sprint time, he would probably see a serious drop.

Realistically though, most draft camp results simply re-inforce what people already know, so they don't affect stock greatly.

pw15
12 Sep 2007, 18:04
Honestly, the only reason that draft camp would seriously affect anyone's stock would be if a result was way off from what was expected.

If a guy who was considered too short to ruck measured in at 200cm with a 4cm reach advantage, he would obviously see his stock rise dramatically. Likewise, if you get a midfielder who lists his best assets as silky skills and blistering pace, but he turns in a 3.10 sec 20m sprint time, he would probably see a serious drop.

Realistically though, most draft camp results simply re-inforce what people already know, so they don't affect stock greatly.
yeah I suppose they already know what to expect from the guys. Just some people are better athletes and some are better footballers, which ones do you think they prefer. I suppose with the athletes they can teach to play footy but its hard to teach someone to jump high or run fast

dcb2
12 Sep 2007, 21:29
i wuld say its a lot harder to teach football than speed and athletiscm... however heights another matter...