View Full Version : Hawks soft when it matters

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
2 Sep 2007, 15:10
Another crunch game and showing nothing. Top four to play for and not even giving a whimper.

Discuss.

hellfire
2 Sep 2007, 15:14
This is a slaughter.

Coin_Toss
2 Sep 2007, 15:14
Yep. It's pretty obvious.

Back Pocket Rocket
2 Sep 2007, 15:15
Sadly agreed:mad: The Swans are still a chance this year though!

PowerOfThePussy
2 Sep 2007, 15:16
Not great form heading into the finals. A bit worrying for them I would have thought.

madhawkboy
2 Sep 2007, 15:17
It's disgusting by hawthorn, its like we don't even want to win.

Bennycoff
2 Sep 2007, 15:18
Don't talk Sydney up. We are pathetic today, anyone would smash us.

jko'neal
Go easy it's boys against men, Sydney sending a big message today to "all" finals teams. Not just whoever they play next week, wont see too many of the top 4 sides putting thier hand up for a knock out semi if the Swans win next week.:thumbsu:

Bennycoff
Hopefully karma comes back at Everitt.

deadfish
2 Sep 2007, 15:20
Nar, i think the hawks are tanking, they dont want to have to face Geelong ;)

ApplecrossWC
2 Sep 2007, 15:25
This is fantastic. I am loving every minute of it.

wce4premiership
2 Sep 2007, 15:25
LOL i'd love to meet them in the finals if they played like they are today.

Bennycoff
2 Sep 2007, 15:29
we'd still beat west coast at mcg hehe

yirra_kurl
2 Sep 2007, 15:29
LOL i'd love to meet them in the finals if they played like they are today.
t
his coming from a very very very frustrated hawks supporter!!

if we continue to play like we have today at any stage in the coming weeks, we will have no chance of doing anything in finals.... we a slow, soft and not putting any pressure on the swans. We played against a lackllustre dogs outfit last week, and we are playing 10x worse than them.

If i were another top 8 side, i would would be praying to face the hawks at some stage over the next 3 weeks.

VERY VERY VERY UPSETTING TO WATCH

SA HAWK
2 Sep 2007, 15:30
Unfortunately it is true we suck at contested football. We won't get anywhere in finals until we get much better in this area.

Making up the numbers this year.

mule
2 Sep 2007, 15:32
C'mon Doggies :)

Doggies beat Kanga's and we will still finish top 4

CAS79
2 Sep 2007, 15:32
Hopefully karma comes back at Everitt.

Yeah, the bit where he thought he had two years left in him. I agree.

Black JuJu
2 Sep 2007, 15:34

pffft when's the last time ya did that? 2001?

You usually drag us down to your real home ground in recent years.

Bennycoff
2 Sep 2007, 15:35
Yeah, the bit where he thought he had two years left in him. I agree.

seriously, he might be a good footballer but he's a scumbag.

Kirke Special
2 Sep 2007, 15:38
Are there any off-field problems which might be hampering them, or are Sydney just showing that they perform when it counts?

kmah8
2 Sep 2007, 15:38
Still think hawks would dismantle sydney at the MCG during finals, the SCG is a piece of shit of a ground, its like playing footy on a 5cent piece, u cant run and carry, like to see us play them at telstra stadium.

Yes the hawks are playing disgusting footy, but as i said, the swans wont do much damage in september. Its a good reality check for the players coming into next week and i have no doubt they will be up for next week. C'mon doggies!!

SA HAWK
2 Sep 2007, 15:39
Are there any off-field problems which might be hampering them, or are Sydney just showing that they perform when it counts?I think we just struggle against teams that play contested footy like the swans and adelaide who also belted us playing the same style.

CAS79
2 Sep 2007, 15:40
seriously, he might be a good footballer but he's a scumbag.

This is not a go but what did he do wrong?

Did he not ask for a two year deal and the hawks said no and than you agreed to part terms.

Black JuJu
2 Sep 2007, 15:41
This is not a go but what did he do wrong?

Did he not ask for a two year deal and the hawks said no and than you agreed to part terms.

He fixed a chook raffle, it annoyed his team mates because they were relying on winning the chook after spending all their money on other stuff.

HighettBomber
2 Sep 2007, 15:41
Hawthorn aren't soft, but as a group they are not a physically strong team. They run very hard, but were always going to be found out against the top teams at this end of the season. This might change as quickly as next year, but this year they are making up the numbers.

banzai
2 Sep 2007, 15:43
I think we just struggle against teams that play contested footy like the swans and adelaide who also belted us playing the same style.

You definetly struggle against these teams, seems strange though as you would think players like Mitchell, Lewis, Hodge would dominate a congested a game.

VanBerlo=God
2 Sep 2007, 15:46
Still think hawks would dismantle sydney at the MCG during finals, the SCG is a piece of shit of a ground, its like playing footy on a 5cent piece, u cant run and carry, like to see us play them at telstra stadium.

Yes the hawks are playing disgusting footy, but as i said, the swans wont do much damage in september. Its a good reality check for the players coming into next week and i have no doubt they will be up for next week. C'mon doggies!!
thats pretty hopeful

forgotten the last two performances at the mcg?

the crappy one in april, and the one we flogged you by 60 points last year round 15

Bennycoff
2 Sep 2007, 15:48
we won't beat sides like sydney or adelaide. we could beat sides like west coast and port on OUR day, but even thats unlikely.

shiva25
2 Sep 2007, 15:48
It doesnt help when youve got a captain who continually drops easy marks and turns the ball over to the opposition frequently.Fair dinkum i cant see how Vandenberg can get a game in this side as he is pathetic.
I dont care how much of a goer he is or how inspirational he talks he is still a shocking footballer who isnt in their best 30 players and will cause Hawthorn to go backwards

Osmodiar
2 Sep 2007, 15:50
swans are ripping them a new one. hopefully their last win for the year though

Bennycoff
2 Sep 2007, 15:55
swans problem is peter everitt has a temper and all you have to do is fire him up and he explodes. may win matches but also loses them.

eddiesmith
2 Sep 2007, 15:58
Is this the first massive choke of the season? Top 4 on the line, opposition resting key players with little to play for

Bennycoff
2 Sep 2007, 15:58
who did they rest?

hall would make no difference.

Jeremias
2 Sep 2007, 16:00
Is this the first massive choke of the season? Top 4 on the line, opposition resting key players with little to play for

Remind us...what happened a few weeks ago when you played the wooden spooners?

eddiesmith
2 Sep 2007, 16:20
Remind us...what happened a few weeks ago when you played the wooden spooners?
We beat you :D

PUSSIES_07_FLAG
2 Sep 2007, 16:43
Hawthorn tanking!

Scared to face the pussy cats!

plod
2 Sep 2007, 16:46
Hawks not soft or tanking, Swans just too bloody good for us.

Ron
2 Sep 2007, 16:47
Can't see the Hawks beating Adelaide next week.
So much promise and it'll be an early exit from the finals.

ahhhhhh
2 Sep 2007, 16:54
Time to start reading the cricket board again

Alphanumeric
2 Sep 2007, 16:56

You have no hope.

DeadlyAkkuret
2 Sep 2007, 16:57
Time to start reading the cricket board again

Haven't you seen enough cricket scores today?

budf23
2 Sep 2007, 16:57
Played like crap. But hey scg has no hf line or hb line. Thank god we don't play there in finals

Alphanumeric
2 Sep 2007, 16:59
That was another Michael Jordan like performance by Buddy Franklin also.

DeadlyAkkuret
2 Sep 2007, 17:01
That was another Michael Jordan like performance by Buddy Franklin also.

:D was it ever!

stickman11
2 Sep 2007, 17:36
hawks are just useless:) Same thing every year:) never really rated them as a contender.

Hawkk
2 Sep 2007, 17:52
We've still got the youngest list in the competition, I'm gutted, but to make it to 5th nether the less is a fantastic achievement.

SA HAWK
2 Sep 2007, 18:01
hawks are just useless:) Same thing every year:) never really rated them as a contender.Just like your club for the last 40 odd years.

CAS79
2 Sep 2007, 18:04
We've still got the youngest list in the competition, I'm gutted, but to make it to 5th nether the less is a fantastic achievement.

Thats a very good point, rather than looking at one game take the season as a whole and there are plenty of positives for the hawks, and this season is not yet done with.

Choota
2 Sep 2007, 18:07

And it showed today. We don't have the bodies to beat the likes of Sydney. Running sides, we can beat. The talent is there but inexperience and immature bodies will be telling at this time of year.

We finished 5th. Where did people have us pre-season? Where did they have the Swans?

Disappointing today but perspective is required when analysing the hawks of 2007.

TheWiseOne
2 Sep 2007, 18:08
hawks are just useless:) Same thing every year:) never really rated them as a contender.

Same thing ever year??? We have not made the finals in 6 years... :confused:

SA HAWK
2 Sep 2007, 18:09
And it showed today. We don't have the bodies to beat the likes of Sydney. Running sides, we can beat. The talent is there but inexperience and immature bodies will be telling at this time of year.

We finished 5th. Where did people have us pre-season? Where did they have the Swans?

Disappointing today but perspective is required when analysing the hawks of 2007.Exactly. If you had told me we would finish 5th at the end of the minor round i would have taken it.

We just need to work on playing contested football. Our best should be in about 2-3 years with the age of our list.

VanBerlo=God
2 Sep 2007, 18:10

Disappointing today but perspective is required when analysing the hawks of 2007.
had hawks around 10/11

so pretty impressive the way they have gone about it.

good on them i reckon! :thumbsu:

Austin_McCrabbs
2 Sep 2007, 18:11

Agreed. Even with the sizable improvement this year we are still at our most vulnerable against hardened, experienced teams who revel in the stoppages.

giantsully
2 Sep 2007, 18:11
welcome to finals footy Hawks. Good news is you couldn't possibly play that badly two weeks in a row.

Choota
2 Sep 2007, 18:19
Agreed. Even with the sizable improvement this year we are still at our most vulnerable against hardened, experienced teams who revel in the stoppages.

The thing is, I would much rather play West Coast or Port Adelaide than Sydney or Adelaide. With their styles, we can (and have) win, or at least go close. Sydney and Adelaide are just too big, too experienced.

2007 - we're just not ready yet.

PoidaCat
2 Sep 2007, 18:44
Softer than Fish(toilet)bowl. :thumbsu: :D

Adelaide to annihilate them :thumbsu:

Xtreme
2 Sep 2007, 19:21
I think Hawthorn have done well this year, considering Finals footy was not planned for another year or two. I always thought after our steller start that we were more likely to finish towards the bottom or just outside of the 8... instead of staying in the top 4. I think we will probably be just making up the numbers, but we could surprise a few and make an appearance in the second week.

As for Sydney, i wouldn't say they are on song for the finals.... they made mince meat of us.... but competing against the other teams in the 8, who trounced them during the season - anything could happen.

I'd love North Melbourne to go as far into the Finals as they can :thumbsu:

Russian
2 Sep 2007, 21:42
We finished 5th. Where did people have us pre-season? Where did they have the Swans?I think most people had Hawthorn 7-10, Sydney 4-8. You're only half a game ahead of that, and things have gone against you for next week so you'll probably finish 7th after finals.

Adelaide Hawk
7 Sep 2007, 22:21
Another crunch game and showing nothing. Top four to play for and not even giving a whimper.

Discuss.

I think a Geelong supporter should be very careful gobbing off about the weaknesses of other teams in "games that matter". We've seen nothing from the Cats in big games since 1963.

chaddles
8 Sep 2007, 01:06
I think a Geelong supporter should be very careful gobbing off about the weaknesses of other teams in "games that matter". We've seen nothing from the Cats in big games since 1963.

Hey don't be so harsh... they won a pre-season cup and we all know how important they are :rolleyes:
Carlton have won two in recent times....

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
8 Sep 2007, 10:29
Sorry, I was talking about the 2007 season. That's what we are all here for, I would have thought. If you want to discuss seasons past, those which occurred before any of our current side were born, you can do so elsewhere. Bringing up old arguments is boring stuff.

Hawthorn has been fantastic this year, but I think it's fair to say that in so-called "pressure games", they have crumbled. Fact?

philhawk
8 Sep 2007, 10:39
Sorry, I was talking about the 2007 season. That's what we are all here for, I would have thought. If you want to discuss seasons past, those which occurred before any of our current side were born, you can do so elsewhere. Bringing up old arguments is boring stuff.

Hawthorn has been fantastic this year, but I think it's fair to say that in so-called "pressure games", they have crumbled. Fact?

Rubbish - so basically you're saying in the matches we've lost, they're the 'Pressure games'.

We won against the odds against Brisbane at the MCG. We beat the more highly fancied Port Adelaide at AAMi, we stepped up to beat both Geelong and West Coast when it all was on the line.

Saying we lose pressure games is just wrong at this point. We've lost important matches, sure, but the same can be said of any side - even Geelong.

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
8 Sep 2007, 10:43
Rubbish - so basically you're saying in the matches we've lost, they're the 'Pressure games'.

We won against the odds against Brisbane at the MCG. We beat the more highly fancied Port Adelaide at AAMi, we stepped up to beat both Geelong and West Coast when it all was on the line.

Saying we lose pressure games is just wrong at this point. We've lost important matches, sure, but the same can be said of any side - even Geelong.
Well I created this thread last week. It mattered last week. You were soft then. There are five pages of agreements. I think it was valid.

Spook
8 Sep 2007, 21:52

Discuss.

Are you ready to take back your comment.

Today it mattered.

Today was more than a crunch game.

Hodge... Tough playing Injured
Bateman Tough Playing Injured
Franklin does it when it counts

you... peanut

S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
9 Sep 2007, 00:15
Are you ready to take back your comment.

Today it mattered.

Today was more than a crunch game.

Hodge... Tough playing Injured
Bateman Tough Playing Injured
Franklin does it when it counts

you... peanut
I am stoked for Hawthorn. But what did I say that was wrong? I was referring to last week.

superstar
9 Sep 2007, 04:11
Bahahaha