View Full Version : Pathetic
whippersnipper
2 Sep 2007, 19:19
If we want to give ammunition to all the ferals out there that think we are tanking, we are doing a bloody good job. I thought last year against Sydney was bad- this is just downright disgraceful. No respect for the jumper, nothing.
Just a sloppy, piss poor effort. At least show some bloody heart.
:(:thumbsd:
I hope all you pro-tankers are happy with this performance. :thumbsd:
Thank you for being a part of the exorcism of Carlton's soul.
Relax son, of course i am disappointed with the performance but if we win we lose pick 1 and for what? One lousy win which could set us back 3-4 more years?
bringbackschwarter5
2 Sep 2007, 19:23
Terrible performance from the Blues so far, you could have at least made it look like your not tanking. Jamar even delivered it lace out to Lance and he misses. And as another poster said, you even tanked the fight
blues4flag
2 Sep 2007, 19:24
4 goals 13 to 12 goals 6. We've been bad, but it's our accuracy (ie. Whitnall's) that's really hurt.
If we want to give ammunition to all the ferals out there that think we are tanking, we are doing a bloody good job. I thought last year against Sydney was bad- this is just downright disgraceful. No respect for the jumper, nothing.
Just a sloppy, piss poor effort. At least show some bloody heart.
:(:thumbsd:
You're pathetic, its a very young team so get off they're back
Kouta man 43
2 Sep 2007, 19:27
oh shutup you idiot.....what do u get out of winning????? Pride for 1 day?????
If we lose......we only get pick 3 from top 20 you dud...........wont u rather have kruezer and a gun midfielder????? Think before you say anything
AndyWalkersGirl
2 Sep 2007, 19:28
Relax son, of course i am disappointed with the performance but if we win we lose pick 1 and for what? One lousy win which could set us back 3-4 more years?
This is what i can't understand. The fact that people are using our draft picks as an excuse for us winning games.... One lousy win which could set us back 3-4 more years? WHy does it have to come down to that one draft pick in order for us to actually win games?
This is my whole issue with pro-tanking - is that it is all just a pathetic, weak excuse.
"One more pick will give us success." "But we need to lose so we get Kreuzer and Cotchin..." "But we need to lose so we get two of the best kids in the country." Where you not saying all this last year, and the year before, and the year before that?
Cant you all see that it doesn't change? it hasn't been changing? We keep picking up these good kids, with good potential, but we're still down the bottom?
It's such a pissweak excuse, using our picks as the reason as to why we are not winning/why we could win more.
That's right, point the blame elsewhere, anywhere, except for the fact that we just need to start taking responsibility as a club, and start developing the players well, adn start expecting more of our players...
Personal abuse isn't called for... FWIW I think a few of the boys showed heart after Bower got decked... But our skills are pretty woeful...
Theres a tasteful way of getting your point across no need to insult the OP.
oh shutup you idiot.....what do u get out of winning????? Pride for 1 day?????
If we lose......we only get pick 3 from top 20 you dud...........wont u rather have kruezer and a gun midfielder????? Think before you say anything
I have pride permanently.
Perhaps you should try it yourself.
Amen to that mate, I couldnt agree more. Watching this game is like watching a relative die!!!:(:(:(
mediumsizered
2 Sep 2007, 19:30
It is not just about this game, it is what has been dished up in the last 6 weeks when we could have won another 3-4 games & given the players something to build on next year. I don't blame the players because the 'powers that be' at the club have made it difficult for the players to be competitive by not picking the best possible team. In the last 3 seasons we have won 11 games & drawn 2. This season, though, we have been better than 4 wins, but instead of trying to instil a winning culture at the club, instead certain people have decided that losing is actually winning.
There is a huge gap between Carlton & the best 4 sides in the competition (not the top 4 on the ladder) & we are not going to close this gap in a hurry when our players only know how to lose.
rocklovelive
2 Sep 2007, 19:31
To every Carlton fan on this board who is barracking for Melbourne:
You are an absolute disgrace. You are not supporters. Supporters, real supporters never barrack against their own team. Wins are the be all and end all of a game.
Kouta man 43
2 Sep 2007, 19:32
This is what i can't understand. The fact that people are using our draft picks as an excuse for us winning games.... One lousy win which could set us back 3-4 more years? WHy does it have to come down to that one draft pick in order for us to actually win games?
This is my whole issue with pro-tanking - is that it is all just a pathetic, weak excuse.
"One more pick will give us success." "But we need to lose so we get Kreuzer and Cotchin..." "But we need to lose so we get two of the best kids in the country." Where you not saying all this last year, and the year before, and the year before that?
Cant you all see that it doesn't change? it hasn't been changing? We keep picking up these good kids, with good potential, but we're still down the bottom?
It's such a pissweak excuse, using our picks as the reason as to why we are not winning/why we could win more.
That's right, point the blame elsewhere, anywhere, except for the fact that we just need to start taking responsibility as a club, and start developing the players well, and start expecting more of our players...
Obviously....what 3 years of picking up draft picks??? do you expect them to become 1st with just 50 games experience for almost every player on that field?????
There has to be around 5 or so years until youll see why no 1 draft picks are important...you cant expect it to happen straight away....Dont only think about the short term
Terrible performance from the Blues so far, you could have at least made it look like your not tanking. Jamar even delivered it lace out to Lance and he misses. And as another poster said, you even tanked the fight
we smashed you in the fight.
AndyWalkersGirl
2 Sep 2007, 19:32
I think we're all goign to have different views about this game, but we just need to realise everyone is going to see it differently, and there is no need for personal abuse.
Totti said it best - our skills are pretty woeful. Our boys just need to work hard. A pick will not instantly create new skill at our club. It's just one player out of 22. ALL 22 PLAYERS need to lift and work harder next year on their skill, attitudes and desire to win. It won't come from 2 draft picks, but it will come from a whole team effort.
That is all i want to see from next year onwards.
Blues_Man
2 Sep 2007, 19:33
You are an absolute disgrace. You are not supporters. Supporters, real supporters never barrack against their own team. Wins are the be all and end all of a game.
Wins save clubs from the spoon . ;)
no pp? :(
change the ****ing system.
oh and shut ur ****ing mouth.
Blues_Man
2 Sep 2007, 19:34
I think we're all goign to have different views about this game, but we just need to realise everyone is going to see it differently, and there is no need for personal abuse.
Totti said it best - our skills are pretty woeful. Our boys just need to work hard. A pick will not instantly create new skill at our club. It's just one player out of 22. ALL 22 PLAYERS need to lift and work harder next year on their skill, attitudes and desire to win. It won't come from 2 draft picks, but it will come from a whole team effort.
That is all i want to see from next year onwards.
Chris Judd is just one player ...but what a player
whippersnipper
2 Sep 2007, 19:34
no pp? :(
change the ****ing system.
oh and shut ur ****ing mouth.
Typical lack of class from someone who enjoys watching their team lose.
I'll be bitter too if Carlton got the wooden spoon and didn't get the num 1 pick :p Its pay back 02,03 Draft:D
AndyWalkersGirl
2 Sep 2007, 19:37
Chris Judd is just one player ...but what a player
Yes, but he is also in a team full of brilliant players, who give him, and each other, a hellova lot of support.
legendtofski
2 Sep 2007, 19:38
This doesn't prove we are tanking,
I PROVES HOW PATHETIC OUR LIST STILL IS!!
and Whitnall's inaccuracy shows how crap he really is.
and i bet Houlihan is 'starring' today...FEH!
and what's Kennedy doing today, the useless DUD!
I say we trade him, once again he delivers nothing, and he's still young and worth trading away to get REAL improvement in 3-4 years time!
Typical lack of class from someone who enjoys watching their team lose.
i think you will find that i don't.
i am anti-tanking.
and i have had enough of your shit.
While the execution of basic football skills is very disappointing, please consider the trying circumstances and the difficult situation this must be for a bunch of young men.
astro_toby
2 Sep 2007, 19:50
get over it you drama queen:rolleyes:
good job carlton - if you lose and you mean to lose so you can GAIN something extremely important - how the **** is that worse than losing by 100 points when you are actually trying to win??
good job blues - long term vision, for long term success
if you want to be such a sook - than i hope you don't jump on the Kruezer bandwagon when you realise you have one of the best ruckman in the league.:thumbsd:
if we had fevola and stevens in we would be beating them easily.
astro_toby
2 Sep 2007, 19:54
Yes, but he is also in a team full of brilliant players, who give him, and each other, a hellova lot of support.
LMAO - is that why judd is brilliant - i thought it was because he was one of the most impressive individual talents our sport has ever produced?
but your probably right - he is only an average player who looks good around the likes of kerr, cousins, stenglien and priddis - who are also all VERY ordinary players who only look good because they are around Judd, wirrapunda, Cox and embley:rolleyes:
the most pathetic thing i find from this is all these carlton supporters who were hoping they would not win so they can gain the important pick - and now they are losing - try and save face by saying - "oh what a disgrace - our soul is being raped - of dear! oh my!!:rolleyes:"
give me a ****ing break
good job carlton - if you lose and you mean to lose so you can GAIN something extremely important - how the **** is that worse than losing by 100 points when you are actually trying to win??
good job blues - long term vision, for long term success
if you want to be such a sook - than i hope you don't jump on the Kruezer bandwagon when you realise you have one of the best ruckman in the league.:thumbsd:
its not a matter of being on a bandwagon.
tankers cant claim Kruezer.
we are simply a young team, struggling without some key leaders
we are coming back soon, with or without Kruezer, and other clubs are all shit scared
AndyWalkersGirl
2 Sep 2007, 20:02
LMAO - is that why judd is brilliant - i thought it was because he was one of the most impressive individual talents our sport has ever produced?
but your probably right - he is only an average player who looks good around the likes of kerr, cousins, stenglien and priddis - who are also all VERY ordinary players who only look good because they are around Judd, wirrapunda, Cox and embley:rolleyes:
the most pathetic thing i find from this is all these carlton supporters who were hoping they would not win so they can gain the important pick - and now they are losing - try and save face by saying - "oh what a disgrace - our soul is being raped - of dear! oh my!!:rolleyes:"
give me a ****ing break
Blues_Man and I were able to have a discussion without actually needing to abuse each other, which is something you seem unable to do.
You have completely missed the point.
Lol. Fancy labelling Thrawn - of all people - a drama queen. :D
You are sprouting a lot of crap here for someone who - if I recall correctly (and I know I do) - has in the past claimed he supports both Richmond and Carlton. :rolleyes:
TheGeneral
2 Sep 2007, 20:04
its not a matter of being on a bandwagon.
tankers cant claim Kruezer.
we are simply a young team, struggling without some key leaders
we are coming back soon, with or without Kruezer, and other clubs are all shit scared
Agreed.
They're just pissed off and trolling because they know we're going picks 1, 3, 19, 35 and 51 in this draft.
Possible more than that if we trade Fevola.
Our kids will be a lot better for this game than if we played all of our senior players and not the kids.
Denis would have fought this season out to the end and played all of our senior players to get the points.
You are sprouting a lot of crap here for someone - if I recall correctly (and I know I do) - has in the past claimed he supports both Richmond and Carlton. :rolleyes:
on the basis of purely that post it is easy to draw that conclusion.
give me a ****ing break
Please start naming some names - ie, those who have advocated tanking and have now changed tune as you imply.
exactly right mate - i AM a carlton member - and i laugh in the face of these cheap, two faced supporters who are all for tanking a match for a pick - until it happens - and then EMBARRASS the club by turning on them and calling the club a disgrace
Kouta knows it - I know it - and ratten and the Pratt know it - Carlton are better off losing a game than winning it today
so if you want whats best for your club - stop being a two faced dog and support the club - they are hurting more than you are about this - but they want whats best for the Club
:mad:
Name them.
astro_toby
2 Sep 2007, 20:11
You are sprouting a lot of crap here for someone who - if I recall correctly (and I know I do) - has in the past claimed he supports both Richmond and Carlton. :rolleyes:
exactly right mate - i AM a carlton member - and i laugh in the face of these cheap, two faced supporters who are all for tanking a match for a pick - until it happens - and then EMBARRASS the club by turning on them and calling the club a disgrace
Kouta knows it - I know it - and ratten and the Pratt know it - Carlton are better off losing a game than winning it today
so if you want whats best for your club - stop being a two faced dog and support the club - they are hurting more than you are about this - but they want whats best for the Club
astro_toby
2 Sep 2007, 20:11
Please start naming some names - ie, those who have advocated tanking and have now changed tune as you imply.
whippersnipper for one.
I really hope that you are not calling me a two faced dog.
So he's suddenly the best ruckman in the league now?
ROFL.
That said, there really isn't a bandwagon. While I don't accept embracing losing, I will welcome him to the club and cheer him on like any other Carlton player if we do get him.
If we get him, he becomes one of us so he will have my support. And I will be cheering him on accordingly, not because he was picked #1 from a PP, but because he's a Carlton player. Duh.
astro_toby
2 Sep 2007, 20:16
I really hope that you are not calling me a two faced dog.
im calling anyone calling their club a disgrace for doing what is best for itself - a two faced dog - if thats you then woof woof.
astro_toby
2 Sep 2007, 20:19
So he's suddenly the best ruckman in the league now?
ROFL.
That said, there really isn't a bandwagon. While I don't accept embracing losing, I will welcome him to the club and cheer him on like any other Carlton player if we do get him.
If we get him, he becomes one of us so he will have my support. And I will be cheering him on accordingly, not because he was picked #1 from a PP, but that he's a Carlton player.
LMAO - what a great mindframe for you to put yourself on the high ground- morale petistool - and still reap the rewards of the tank
Kruezer will be an excellent ruckman - and abiet major disaster with his health - will be among one of the best in the league at some stage.
and you will love him a hell of a lot longer than you will hate this day.
as much as i know a loss is best for the future.
I CANT STOP BARRACKING FOR MY MIGHTY BLUES!
astro_toby
2 Sep 2007, 20:23
i'm a carlton member and a richmond member - either way at the end of the day - i was gonna get pick one.
im proud carlton bent the rules to make sure they did everything in their power to get 2 of the best 3 kids in the draft this season.
im proud that they didn't fall for the "pride of the jumper " rubbish that would let ego get in the way of common sense.
im proud that they have done everything in their power to regain picks they lost back in 02 - the picks which crippled this club - and made it impossible for them to swim back to the top.
im proud of the carlton footy club - and i wont bag them now
as if you're tanking, this is the best footy ive seen from bluies for a while
LMAO - what a great mindframe for you to put yourself on the high ground- morale petistool - and still reap the rewards of the tank
Kruezer will be an excellent ruckman - and abiet major disaster with his health - will be among one of the best in the league at some stage.
I'll make it clear for you. Wanting to win all games is not claiming the moral high ground.
Thrawn clearly has the same view on this as me. You aim to win as many games as possible.
You then take the drafting options on offer - and welcome to the club whoever you get as a result of your picks.
And even though you want to win, it doesn't mean you can't recognize the potential drafting benefits if you happen to lose.
It really isn't that difficult to follow now, is it?
i'm a carlton member and a richmond member - either way at the end of the day - i was gonna get pick one.
im proud carlton bent the rules to make sure they did everything in their power to get 2 of the best 3 kids in the draft this season.
im proud that they didn't fall for the "pride of the jumper " rubbish that would let ego get in the way of common sense.
im proud that they have done everything in their power to regain picks they lost back in 02 - the picks which crippled this club - and made it impossible for them to swim back to the top.
THANKYOU!
you are a smart man and thanks for your honest opinion!!!!
I am a Carlton member and a Swans member.
But I don't go on the Swans board slagging off at their supporters, let alone labelling some of them two faced dogs.
Moral high ground for winning games and having pride?
There's nothing wrong with my mind frame thanks.
He might be, probably most likely will. But he isn't the best ruckman in the league, that statement is just wrong.
I will love any Carlton player who gives their all.
You didn't really need to add that.
astro_toby
2 Sep 2007, 20:39
I'll make it clear for you. Wanting to win all games is not claiming the moral high ground.
Thrawn clearly has the same view on this as me. You aim to win as many games as possible.
You then take the drafting options on offer - and welcome to the club whoever you get as a result of your picks.
And even though you want to win, it doesn't mean you can't recognize the potential drafting benefits if you happen to lose.
It really isn't that difficult to follow now, is it?
What's not difficult to understand is - NOT to bag your club - call them a disgrace - thats what the opposition supporters are there for.
the club obviously thinks it is making the right decision for all involved - they obviously think that this is a unique opportunity to pick up a extremely talented ruckman - a ruckman they Dearly dearly need - and that ego is a pathetic reason to not make that happen.
astro_toby
2 Sep 2007, 20:42
Moral high ground for winning games and having pride?
There's nothing wrong with my mind frame thanks.
He might be, probably most likely will. But he isn't the best ruckman in the league, that statement is just wrong.
I will love any Carlton player who gives their all.
You didn't really need to add that.
LMAO at the attitude of "i hate us tanking - but i'm willing to love any player or advantage we may gain from it.
stop sitting on the bloody fence - either hate the tanking or accept it for what it is - a ploy to gain an advantage on the opposition to get the best young ruckman in the land.
either love the cake - and eat it - or hate the cake and dont eat it.
LMAO at the attitude of "i hate us tanking - but i'm willing to love any player or advantage we may gain from it.
And there's nothing wrong with that.
At all.
Gee, I hate Collingwood as much as the next Carlton supporter, but if one of their players came to us and played for the jumper I would be cheering them on. Once they put on the jumper and play with us, they are part of the club - no matter where or how they came from, I will be supporting them like any other supporter should. Even if I disagree about losing to get said player, on the matter of actively supporting him once he dons the Navy Blue jumper, it is quite irrelevant.
So shove your fence sitting barbs, because I'm not the one who will be getting splinters.
stop sitting on the bloody fence - either hate the tanking or accept it for what it is - a ploy to gain an advantage on the opposition to get the best young ruckman in the land.
I have been one of the most loudest on this site when it comes to opposing tanking, you idiot.
How about I don't embrace losing, yet still support our players.
Do you hate Collingwood? Are you showing support and cheering Scotland's good work?
You are being quite ridiculous.
EDIT: Oh sorry, didn't realise you're a Richmond supporter. Piss off.
This is the dilemma this (spit)system(puke) has forced on people.
I'm glad some of you know exactly what you want.....lucky effin you!
Me, I'm torn badly. I hate losing. I hate wooden spoons. This game was very tough because one tiny piddling little bit of me secretly didn't really hate losing as much as usual.
Go take a flying jump into a brick wall telling me what i should and shouldn't accept.
This is the dilemma this (spit)system(puke) has forced on people.
I'm glad some of you know exactly what you want.....lucky effin you!
Me, I'm torn badly. I hate losing. I hate wooden spoons. This game was very tough because one tiny piddling little bit of me secretly didn't really hate losing as much as usual.
Go take a flying jump into a brick wall telling me what i should and shouldn't accept.
According to him I can't support the player we picked up because I did not agree with losing games on purpose to attain him?
I guess we never should've supported Lappin. Because he originally played for a team I dislike. :rolleyes:
What's not difficult to understand is - NOT to bag your club - call them a disgrace - thats what the opposition supporters are there for.
the club obviously thinks it is making the right decision for all involved - they obviously think that this is a unique opportunity to pick up a extremely talented ruckman - a ruckman they Dearly dearly need - and that ego is a pathetic reason to not make that happen.
If we dont think that the players and the club are performing to the level that we think that they should be... we are allowed to "bag our club" because it is our club.
We pay our memberships and we support the team we love.
We support 1 team only and want them to win.
Our performance tonight was woeful and we have the right to bag the team.
So why dont you piss off back over to the Richmond board where you belong and complain about how Carlton ripped your useless team off.
According to him I can't support the player we picked up because I did not agree with losing games on purpose to attain him?
I guess we never should've supported Lappin. Because he originally played for a team I dislike. :rolleyes:
Exactly, his argument is that because you advocate winning, you aren't allowed to embrace players the club may pick up because you lose.
It is as if wanting to win and welcoming new players to the club (irrespective of how) are somehow mutually exclusive. :rolleyes:
It is a ridiculous proposition.
time to close the thread for a group hug!
Everyone shut up. The game is over, forget it ever happened. Look to the future we've got the best young talent in the land at our club and the best CEO in the league to balance the payments to help keep them all together long term. Exciting times aren't far away, have faith.
Didnt Scotland come from the filth?
We should all hate him because he was a pies player.
If Judd came to the club from the Wimps Come Easy with all their drug culture and stuff... are we going to hate him because we hate them?
We'll open up our arms and welcome him with all our hearts.
wanting to be winning games and supporting our players are not mutually exclusive...
Being a richmond twat and saying that you support the blues is wierd...
marcmurphy3
2 Sep 2007, 21:11
I thought it was a great result guys
* we kept the PP
* we were competetive with half our team out and didn't get to close so as to give me a heart attack
* Betts had 26 touches and 5 goals
* Kennedy and Hammer in particular showed some great signs
* Gibbs played his best game and actually kicked a set shot
astro_toby
2 Sep 2007, 21:12
Didnt Scotland come from the filth?
We should all hate him because he was a pies player.
If Judd came to the club from the Wimps Come Easy with all their drug culture and stuff... are we going to hate him because we hate them?
We'll open up our arms and welcome him with all our hearts.
wanting to be winning games and supporting our players are not mutually exclusive...
Being a richmond twat and saying that you support the blues is wierd...
i like how all of a sudden someone use's an analogy (which doesn't work i might add ) that just because scotland came from collingwood - then i guess i shouldn't like him
i like scotland - i couldn't care less who he played for:thumbsu:
If you not going to like the ways Carlton got Kruezer - then how could u say with a straight face you will be happy to get him?? its a gutless way of having your cake and eating it too
if you want kruezer - DON"T bag the club for tanking IN PARTS of the game today - you were all pretty bloody quick to start theads titled "Pathetic":thumbsd:
astro_toby
2 Sep 2007, 21:13
I thought it was a great result guys
* we kept the PP
* we were competetive with half our team out and didn't get to close so as to give me a heart attack
* Betts had 26 touches and 5 goals
* Kennedy and Hammer in particular showed some great signs
* Gibbs played his best game and actually kicked a set shot
agree!!! thats the spirit - no need to bag the club and start threads humiliating the club!!:thumbsu:
I'm glad this whole issue is over now. I appreciate the differences of opinion, but ultimately we're all very passionate Carlton supporters, and want what's best for our great Club. The preperation for season 2008 begins.... :)
i like how all of a sudden someone use's an analogy (which doesn't work i might add )
Oh, the analogy is apt. All you're saying is that wanting to win, and actually supporting players (no matter how we get them) is somehow mutually exclusive.
It is entirely the same principle with Scotland, Lappin and hell, even Hickmott if you hate Geelong.
I hate the way we got the PP, but that doesn't mean I won't be supporting him.
I hate Collingwood, but that doesn't mean I won't be supporting any player who comes over to Carlton.
Where or how is irrelevant if he's playing for our club and giving his all.
astro_toby
2 Sep 2007, 21:30
Oh, the analogy is apt. All you're saying is that wanting to win, and actually supporting players (no matter how we get them) is somehow mutually exclusive.
It is entirely the same principle with Scotland, Lappin and hell, even Hickmott if you hate Geelong.
I hate the way we got the PP, but that doesn't mean I won't be supporting him.
I hate Collingwood, but that doesn't mean I won't be supporting any player who comes over to Carlton.
Where or how is irrelevant if he's playing for our club and giving his all.
no it doesn't work - it is completely different - you are saying that i should not like a player because he played for a club i apparently hate - before he played for us - i like many players from other clubs - even from the clubs i hate - i.e i hate st.kilda with a passion - but i really like kosi -
i am saying how can you take pride in having / getting a player - if you are completely against the manner inwhich you got them?
for example - i hate mal michael - i think he is a lying scumbag - and if he were to come to either of richmond or carlton - i would still not like him because i actually BELIEVE in what i say.
i have no beef with us getting a player (who i did like before he played for Carlton mind you) from a trade with another club
so - quite obviously - it is a completely flaw analogy
TigersForever
2 Sep 2007, 21:31
I got a yellow card for calling your club pathetic. Don't you realise that the good clubs actually develop their players well and don't rely on Top 5 draft picks. Yes it does make the job easier, but shrewd recruiting late in the draft is what brings success along with player development. This tanking mentality cannot be good for the psyche of the youth in the club. You will never be a top club until a Clinton Benjamin or a Joey Anderson can become 150 to 200 game players (by the way I think they can with the right coaching).
i like how all of a sudden someone use's an analogy (which doesn't work i might add ) that just because scotland came from collingwood - then i guess i shouldn't like him
i like scotland - i couldn't care less who he played for:thumbsu:
If you not going to like the ways Carlton got Kruezer - then how could u say with a straight face you will be happy to get him?? its a gutless way of having your cake and eating it too
if you want kruezer - DON"T bag the club for tanking IN PARTS of the game today - you were all pretty bloody quick to start theads titled "Pathetic":thumbsd:
Actually I would much prefer to have Cotchin and Masten at the club... because we are going to have an awesome ruck division in the next couple of years anyway with or without Kreuzer.
The analogy is rather apt I thought... We supporter the players and the club because they wear the old dark navy blue because once they start playing well for us, they are blue :D
Pathetic is someone who supporters 2 teams and professes to love one.
Go back to Richmond
astro_toby
2 Sep 2007, 21:35
Pathetic is someone who supporters 2 teams and professes to love one.
Go back to Richmond
not really - infact - i don't think you would know
go back to your fence
<snip>
I'm not going to repeat myself to an intellectual giant like yourself, because you should know well enough to realise:
Where or how is irrelevant if he's playing for our club and giving his all. Pride and refusing to embrace losing, and cheering the very pick where you did not agree with how we got him, are not mutually exclusive.
:rolleyes:
I got a yellow card for calling your club pathetic. Don't you realise that the good clubs actually develop their players well and don't rely on Top 5 draft picks. Yes it does make the job easier, but shrewd recruiting late in the draft is what brings success along with player development. This tanking mentality cannot be good for the psyche of the youth in the club. You will never be a top club until a Clinton Benjamin or a Joey Anderson can become 150 to 200 game players (by the way I think they can with the right coaching).
You're not fooling anyone. You're having a hissy fit because the Tiges have won the spoon and missed the #1 pick. I agree you've been royally shafted by the system, but trying to make us believe you have Carlton Football Club's best interest at heart is a little unbelievable. Spare us the crocodile tears. :)
marcmurphy3
2 Sep 2007, 21:41
You're not fooling anyone. You're having a hissy fit because the Tiges have won the spoon and missed the #1 pick. I agree you've been royally shafted by the system, but trying to make us believe you have Carlton Football Club's best interest at heart is a little unbelievable. Spare us the crocodile tears. :)
Every other club would have done the same in our position. Richmond basically admitted to tankinh yesterday.
They're just jealous
TigersForever
2 Sep 2007, 21:44
Please reread the thread. Where does it sound like I'm crying? Your command of the English language is substandard. I don't care about mythical spoons (who does?). If we take Cotchin at 2 (and I think we will) and he becomes the next Judd and clearly the best player in the draft, you will have real tears running down your face!
astro_toby
2 Sep 2007, 21:45
Every other club would have done the same in our position. Richmond basically admitted to tankinh yesterday.
They're just jealous
agree - richmond would have done the same and i would have hoped as much.
:thumbsu:
Don't blame the club, blame the system/AFL.
FWIW, I though quite a few of our kids played well today. Kennedy, Grigg, Gibbs, Hampson, Jamison and Austin all showed something, and really do have something to work with if you ask me.
Betts was great up forward, and Carlos just continues to impress. My advice is to forget about this year, and start looking forward to next. You put a Nick Stevens back into this team, and a Cam Cloke, and all of a sudden, we don't look so bad.
agree - richmond would have done the same and i would have hoped as much.
:thumbsu:
I suppose the positive thing about this, is that the AFL will be forced to review the draft system. The problem is that there's no easy solution. :)
astro_toby
2 Sep 2007, 21:58
I suppose the positive thing about this, is that the AFL will be forced to review the draft system. The problem is that there's no easy solution. :)
agree - it has to be done - perhaps they should change it so that if you win less than 5 games in a season & finish bottom - you get pick 1 and 9 - that way the team that needs help can still get it, and the teams that finish outside the 8 still get their relevant pick?
this current version where u can finish bottom and not get pick one is a diabolical mess - i don't know how it even got put in over the previous version:confused:
TheBlueblood
2 Sep 2007, 22:37
time to close the thread for a group hug!
well said!!
Now its cricket season:thumbsu:
whippersnipper
2 Sep 2007, 22:44
agree!!! thats the spirit - no need to bag the club and start threads humiliating the club!!:thumbsu:
Starting thread that humiliate the club? You have to be joking! Every thread started about how good it is to tank is humiliating the club. This thread is nothing but telling the truth.
The Old Dark Navy's
2 Sep 2007, 23:17
You are an absolute disgrace. You are not supporters. Supporters, real supporters never barrack against their own team. Wins are the be all and end all of a game.Learn the rules. Head over to the main board or Bay 13 to post this tripe.
Gilly1972
2 Sep 2007, 23:18
Get over yourself thrawn....seriously. :thumbsd:
Gilly1972
2 Sep 2007, 23:20
That's right, point the blame elsewhere, anywhere, except for the fact that we just need to start taking responsibility as a club, and start developing the players well, adn start expecting more of our players...
Days of our Lives Board :thumbsd:
AndyWalkersGirl
2 Sep 2007, 23:45
Days of our Lives Board :thumbsd:
Oooh, well excuse me Mr.Gilly, for posting things that are not up to your desired standard :rolleyes:
Just because Thrawn and I disagree with one of your views, there is no need to be so rude about them. If you dont like them, don't comment... or at least... comment on our thoughts instead of coming up with high school comments such as "Days of Our Lives Board" and "get over yoruself Thrawn."
For someone who shows so much passion for this club, and has so much interest in the development of it, you dont need to come back with such immature, rude comments.
Get over yourself thrawn....seriously. :thumbsd:
Hit a nerve, to warrant such a comment hey?
Is it because deep down you're disgusted by it too? If you don't agree with me or don't like what I am saying... you don't have to lower yourself like that. Actually, I don't care what you say - I'm still standing by what I had said.
whippersnipper
3 Sep 2007, 00:02
This from the Queen of "mods, close this thread down immediately" anytime a so-called troll stirs up some debate.
Case in point: You're watching the game on telly in 5 years time with MK ripping the game apart for the Tiges against Carlton. You look across to your mate and comment "By Crikey Merl, remember that great victory we had against Melbourne, September 2, 2007?"
Merl watches MK drag down another screamer and goal from outside 50 before looking back at you,
"No. No I don't".
Or: Remember how our club sold its soul for that bloke?
Heaven forbid the bloke should ever go down with an injury- our club wont be worth a damn then- our soul is trapped in his body.
Gilly1972
3 Sep 2007, 00:05
Thylacine, i reckon you've got more than enough material for your next great aussie novel with all this florid, melodramatic drivel....a veritable gold mine :thumbsu:
thylacine60
3 Sep 2007, 00:07
Or: Remember how our club sold its soul for that bloke?
Heaven forbid the bloke should ever go down with an injury- our club wont be worth a damn then- our soul is trapped in his body.
Did you really write this?
whippersnipper
3 Sep 2007, 00:09
Did you really write this?
No, I am an automated anti tank response unit.
Is it because deep down you're disgusted by it too? If you don't agree with me or don't like what I am saying... you don't have to lower yourself like that. Actually, I don't care what you say - I'm still standing by what I had said.
Playing young players is about the futire and development. It just happens to also help in getting a PP as well. Its not tanking but playing younger players in preference to older ones who have limited futures. Its also about not playing your guns when they are injured and the season is shot.
I guess you could call it tanking but its just being realistic and looking for the future.
Not sure what it is with you and the whole tanking thing. But having read through your posts on Jonathan Brown I can see that you will just keep on going with your point...
JavaBlue
3 Sep 2007, 00:09
Just remember, Thrawn - inside every problem, there is an opportunity.
We just took one...
thylacine60
3 Sep 2007, 00:10
Thylacine, i reckon you've got more than enough material for your next great aussie novel with all this florid, melodramatic drivel....a veritable gold mine :thumbsu:
It's nice people have passion but some need to have a little rest tonight. I think we all knew tonight would be The Krystalnacht to beat all.
No, I am an automated anti tank response unit.
:D:D
Not sure what it is with you and the whole tanking thing. But having read through your posts on Jonathan Brown I can see that you will just keep on going with your point...
Maybe because losing on purpose disgusts me?
Mate, you're an overly dramatic clown. Go get some fresh air or something. Pretty much no-one appreciates your silly posturing and "look what a great supporter I am" bullshit.
Ah, posturing, is that it? That's what I've been doing all this time, hey?
This has nothing to do with posturing, I am merely stating my thoughts. I couldn't give a damn if you don't appreciate what I say. That is your choice... but you don't have to be a twat to say it.
Playing young players is about the futire and development. It just happens to also help in getting a PP as well. Its not tanking but playing younger players in preference to older ones who have limited futures. Its also about not playing your guns when they are injured and the season is shot.
I guess you could call it tanking but its just being realistic and looking for the future.
i don't believe for 1 second that the carlton football club lost any game on purpose.
thylacine60
3 Sep 2007, 00:25
Maybe because losing on purpose disgusts me?
Ah, posturing, is that it? That's what I've been doing all this time, hey?
This has nothing to do with posturing, I am merely stating my thoughts. I couldn't give a damn if you don't appreciate what I say. That is your choice... but you don't have to be a twat to say it.
Give it away mate. It's all done. Either quit the club or accept what has happened.
i don't believe for 1 second that the carlton football club lost any game on purpose.
They sent experienced players off for surgery and played young players who maybe were not quite reqady. Its all abut development. I would not call it tanking or deliberately trying to losse. Just getting ready for next year and seeing how a few kids go like Jamison or Kennedy. They could heva plyed Wiggins or Teague or Saddington but what would be the point?
Once the ball is bounced they are trying to win. But who is picked and who gets early ops is all about future planning I would have thought once the year is just about done and you have no hope of finals.
Give it away mate. It's all done. Either quit the club or accept what has happened.
As long as these arguments continue on this board (or alternatively if the same thing happens again next year), I'll keep on posting about it, debating it, arguing it, sharing my thoughts, etc. Of course I will have to accept it, Captain Bloody Obvious, what's done is done. But I'll always be a voice against tanking and/or embracing losing here. Even if it means I am one of a very few.
But I have kept civil throughout at least. The childish Bay13 retorts aren't necessary.
AndyWalkersGirl
3 Sep 2007, 00:36
As long as these arguments continue on this board (or alternatively if the same thing happens again next year), I'll keep on posting about it, debating it, arguing it, sharing my thoughts, etc. Of course I will have to accept it, Captain Bloody Obvious, what's done is done. But I'll always be a voice against tanking and/or embracing losing here. Even if it means I am one of a very few.
But I have kept civil throughout at least. The childish Bay13 retorts aren't necessary.
Apparently debate is not allowed on this board anymore.. you either agree with the masses, or you don't speak up. :confused:
Isn't that what a public forum is all about AWG?
I always want Carlton to win, but beating an understrength Melbourne in round 22 will not do anything. Landing 2 very very good talents in this years draft will help much much more.