View Full Version : Paul Bower
I thought he had an outstanding game yesterday after a shaky start.
21 touches and a few courageous efforts. he looked alot surer with his decision making as well.
I hope hangs around because there has been some rumours that he might want to go home.
the Mini Vinnie has been playing well lately
i mentioned this in another thread but he is finding is feet now.
he has had 10 - 15 games and getting the natural feel and not getting too excited everytime he gets the ball.
just needs to crash the pack more when he tries to spoil his opponent otherwise loving his development.
next year he should be ready to play 80% of games!
i really like watching this fella play. every now and then he trusts his instincts and makes some great moves when reading the play/ball.
we will see how much courage he has next time he needs to back into a contest. yesterday he showed that he is likely to be going for the ball no matter what some filthy opposition player might be trying to do.
The Old Dark Navy's
3 Sep 2007, 11:53
Just goes to show what happens when you get games into these guys. You can see the confidence coming out as the young guys start believing they belong out there.
Jeremias
3 Sep 2007, 11:54
Has been progressing very well.
Looks much more at home out on the footy field now than earlier in the season.
Has a lot of talent and courage, could turn out to be a very valuable player for us in the future.
Please play him from round 1, Ratts.
one_twelve112
3 Sep 2007, 11:55
Decision making seems to have improved out of sight. I cannot believe he was the "experienced defender" yesterday. He definately gave those who have doubts about him a better insight of what he is capable of.
Decision making seems to have improved out of sight. I cannot believe he was the "experienced defender" yesterday. He definately gave those who have doubts about him a better insight of what he is capable of.bottom aged draft pick from 2005 so he is still 19 and wont be 20 until next year
Shows a lot of dash. I can see him kicking a few goals running up the ground too.
He should be able to play the majority of games next season.
Shits over Saddo.
blues4flag
3 Sep 2007, 12:21
Very good prospect. :)
Better not be homesick.
prettyboy65
3 Sep 2007, 12:27
yeh lets hope so. he could be this gun defender we have been missing for all these years. lets hope ratts has the faith in him that we have.
Really interesting character. I just cannot make my mind up about him. Last year I thought he was a definite then lost faith in him this year only to change my mind again. Then yesterday at one stage early I thought get rid of him and then he just seemed to change completely and looked really solid. Still confused although if we got a good deal for him to go back to WA [say around pick 15-20] then it could be worth it.
prettyboy65
3 Sep 2007, 12:42
yeh i can see he does have those shaky starts and that can worry you abit. but i think i would rather keep him than try and pick up a draft pick for him. he has a huge potential and he will be invaluable to the side. (touch wood)
one_twelve112
3 Sep 2007, 12:48
bottom aged draft pick from 2005 so he is still 19 and wont be 20 until next year
Joke....but probably fairly accurate. Looked like a veteran out there with a dozen games under his belt.
bLuEbOy1984
3 Sep 2007, 12:48
his still a kid his only going to become better, he will be a superstar... but i dont think he will be a superstar for the blues, i hope he doesnt go home, but i have heard his looking for a ticket home
one_twelve112
3 Sep 2007, 13:05
his still a kid his only going to become better, he will be a superstar... but i dont think he will be a superstar for the blues, i hope he doesnt go home, but i have heard his looking for a ticket home
I don't know about that. But if he can develope into Michael Sexton type backman i.e consistant, running, tallish defender - I will be absolutley wrapped.
I think Jaimeson is more likely to be like Sexton. Let's not forget just how good Sexton was...a lot to live up to.
one_twelve112
3 Sep 2007, 13:25
I think Jaimeson is more likely to be like Sexton. Let's not forget just how good Sexton was...a lot to live up to.
Sexton was outstanding and very very very rarely beaten (ala Doull). I doubt we have seen a backman as consitant since he left the club and it is likely it will be a while before we do.
Sexton wasn't quite KP (due to his very light frame) but was taller than the traditional flanker. I hope Bower can develope his game to play a similar role to that played by Sexton. To expect his to become as good or as consitant is too much to ask of any player but I reckon Bower's got a fair bit of talent.
Aussie Joe
3 Sep 2007, 13:51
Just goes to show what happens when you get games into these guys. You can see the confidence coming out as the young guys start believing they belong out there.
Spot on ODN. For years we have left players in the Bullants or out of position to "develop". I am so glad we filled the team with youngsters in the second half of the season to develop. With Jammo and Bower, I think we may have the missing pieces of the puzzle for the back line.
Aussie Joe
3 Sep 2007, 13:52
And I remember how most supporters wrote of Sexo when he first started as well. :o
Master of Cooks
3 Sep 2007, 14:02
Its amazing how quickly people turn around. About 2 weeks ago everyone was saying that he's not getting any better, and he's just gonna be another dud and we should cut our losses now and get rid of him.
Now after he played a decent match, everyone thinks he's going to be a campion.:confused:
Sometimes I really hate the public.:(
Aussie Joe
3 Sep 2007, 14:04
Its amazing how quickly people turn around. About 2 weeks ago everyone was saying that he's not getting any better, and he's just gonna be another dud and we should cut our losses now and get rid of him.
Now after he played a decent match, everyone thinks he's going to be a campion.:confused:
LMAO. Too true. I wish I would of bookmarked all the threads about how no one rated Carrazzo :rolleyes:
probably a different set of people.
blue belly
3 Sep 2007, 20:59
probably a different set of people.
I guarentee he has much more to show you just hav to look past the percieved lack of coordination and gangleeness and u see that in his own way hes quiet flewant
TheHeatleyStand
3 Sep 2007, 21:35
antastic prospect who has a few aces up his sleeve. (Watch his lateral movement)
Very unorthodox and has a tuch of Darryl White about himself.
Heaps of development left in him.. and if we can extract what i think he has in him... he will be an absolute favourite.
walkers a legend
3 Sep 2007, 22:04
i liked pauls game an exciting prospect probably worthy of this weeks rising star nom
i reckon theres a bit of "glenn manton" about him. looks a similar size and body shape.
The Old Dark Navy's
4 Sep 2007, 09:58
Sometimes I really hate the public.:(This is why we should not bag players, especially early in their careers. Supporters look at youngsters in other teams and see them shine and think that our youngsters must be duds. Fact is our team structure is not the same as other teams right now and our players do not get the mentoring others get due to our dearth of experienced players. They will forge their own way and they will become the quality experienced players for the next generation.
ericpascoe
4 Sep 2007, 10:51
Spoke to one director last week about this very issue - he at least said he'd heard nothing at all about Bower wanting to go home.
He did however say it "wouldnt surprise him" - said Bower is a really different cat - quite a bizarre guy apparently. Also said (btw) that he's half Maori and will grow into a monster size.
Spoke to one director last week about this very issue - he at least said he'd heard nothing at all about Bower wanting to go home.
He did however say it "wouldnt surprise him" - said Bower is a really different cat - quite a bizarre guy apparently. Also said (btw) that he's half Maori and will grow into a monster size.
if he is half Maori he must have got the wrong genes. coz i would love him to bulk up quite considerably!!
IluvNachoes
4 Sep 2007, 11:32
i hate to say it but of all the young guys they have played this year some of them i cant see have any future
josh kennedy is a massive disappointment, hes now had two years under his belt. bower started horrendusly but improved. Jamison and Hampson are two players that definitely have a future, game against melbourne they were brilliant and hampsons vertical leap is going to trouble some sides. Grigg and Ross Young unfortuantely look gone, there skills are poor and while they might be young i think there in trouble. now that gibbs is played in his proper position his started to blossom
shows what a new coach can do and 08 looks promosing
ericpascoe
4 Sep 2007, 11:54
i hate to say it but of all the young guys they have played this year some of them i cant see have any future
josh kennedy is a massive disappointment, hes now had two years under his belt. bower started horrendusly but improved. Jamison and Hampson are two players that definitely have a future, game against melbourne they were brilliant and hampsons vertical leap is going to trouble some sides. Grigg and Ross Young unfortuantely look gone, there skills are poor and while they might be young i think there in trouble. now that gibbs is played in his proper position his started to blossom
Rubbish. Grigg is gone? He's played 4 games! If he's no good in about 3 years you may have a point. As for Kennedy, I thought he looked very promising on Sunday. Give him 2 more years and he'll be big, mean and imposing. A dead set genuine centre half forward - just gotta hang on to 2 more marks a game and that will come with size, strength and confidence
Bluebear
4 Sep 2007, 12:20
Grigg and JK duds..........yet Hampson has shown he is a player?
All three have shown bits, which is all we should expect they would show..................and you're the one who thinks Teague has had a rough deal this year...........:o
Your knowledge of this game is beyond comprehension.:rolleyes:
blues4flag
4 Sep 2007, 17:47
:eek:
BlueYoss
4 Sep 2007, 17:52
Stick to your nachoes, we'll stick with JK and Grigga
This is why we should not bag players, especially early in their careers. Supporters look at youngsters in other teams and see them shine and think that our youngsters must be duds. Fact is our team structure is not the same as other teams right now and our players do not get the mentoring others get due to our dearth of experienced players. They will forge their own way and they will become the quality experienced players for the next generation.
Agreed... I have been saying for ages now that Bower is going to be one of our best HBF'ers for the last year based on the couple of games I saw him play last year when he had a chance.
It's quite possible that if Pagan had been left in charge of the club, then he would have been given limited chances to shine this year and next and would probably have been delisted at the end of his contract.
New coach, new game plan and a willingness to play the kids to have a good look at them suddenly has people looking at Bower comparing him to Sexton and Manton...
I personally think that he is going to be the new Ang Christou. He just has that feel about him that he is going to do something exciting.
Bluebear
4 Sep 2007, 20:44
Agreed... I have been saying for ages now that Bower is going to be one of our best HBF'ers for the last year based on the couple of games I saw him play last year when he had a chance.
It's quite possible that if Pagan had been left in charge of the club, then he would have been given limited chances to shine this year and next and would probably have been delisted at the end of his contract.
New coach, new game plan and a willingness to play the kids to have a good look at them suddenly has people looking at Bower comparing him to Sexton and Manton...
I personally think that he is going to be the new Ang Christou. He just has that feel about him that he is going to do something exciting.
So you think he's got 4-5 good years ahead before being crippled with a back injury?:eek:
;)
So you think he's got 4-5 good years ahead before being crippled with a back injury?:eek:
;)
Didnt Sexton go the same way???
Debilitating back injuries?
Bluebear
5 Sep 2007, 09:20
Didnt Sexton go the same way???
Debilitating back injuries?
I personally think that he is going to be the new Ang Christou
Please don't make me explain this.
walshy93
5 Sep 2007, 09:33
the only problem i have with him is his confidence in kicking on the run when under pressure. over the preseason he should work on this, and he will be a good player in years to come
Marc Shmurf 3
5 Sep 2007, 12:43
Pretty impressed with ALA's improvement. Very gangly and agile at the same time. The only issue i have with him is decision time when under pressure. He seems to just cough up the ball instead of taking the tackle so we can reset. Other than that very happy with him, and would be very dissapointed if he were to go back home.
AndyWalkersGirl
5 Sep 2007, 13:21
Pretty impressed with ALA's improvement. Very gangly and agile at the same time. The only issue i have with him is decision time when under pressure. He seems to just cough up the ball instead of taking the tackle so we can reset. Other than that very happy with him, and would be very dissapointed if he were to go back home.
I'd say a mixture of nerves, inexperience, the fact that he feels the tension of being at the end of his contract and therefore probably worried about his future in the AFL and at Carlton, probably the fact that he's only just started to get consecutive games under Ratten....lots of things actually :)
I have no doubt that his decision making, and a lot of others in the team, will improve over the next 2 years :thumbsu: