View Full Version : Your Best/Worst Moment In 2007
Stants_24_Legend
3 Sep 2007, 15:42
Just a bit of fun guys..
Best: Beating last year's Grand Finalists in consective weeks and both by 1 point.
Worst: Obvisouley Hird/Sheedy on Sunday leaving us but also the Carlton game in Round 3. That cost us the finals.
cAsEy_18
3 Sep 2007, 15:44
BEST: when mcveigh kicked that goal against sydney to put us 16 points up after mcphee was out fo bounds ;) or lucas kicking that 7 in the last 1/4
oh and the win against melbourne 7 secs left :p sorry dees, sorry daniher.
WORST: watching fevola tear us apart, hawthorn disgracing us twice.
footy_paul
3 Sep 2007, 15:53
best watching all our draft picks from last year show glimpses of why we picked then up.
worst: that kep and bolton were still on our list and as terrible as ever,
also watching campo hit a bit of form then doing his knee
thebigboy
3 Sep 2007, 16:03
Best: The Win over Adelaide & Freo in the first 2 rounds. We could dream of big things.
Worst: Losing to Carlton in Rd3. In the end cost us finals.
BomberGal
3 Sep 2007, 16:05
Best: the last quarter of the win against West Coast.
Worst: OK, losing Hirdy and Sheeds. But other than that, probably losing to Carlton.
Best: the last quarter of the win against West Coast.
Worst: OK, losing Hirdy and Sheeds. But other than that, probably losing to Carlton.
Best: Alwyn Davey
Worst: Alwyn Davey's broken arm
retroparty
3 Sep 2007, 16:14
Worst was definitely losing to Carlton. Best moment was when the final siren went went we played WCE at the dome. It was a big step forward for our club and winning those close games is what makes us a better team
Best:
Alwyn Davey's chasing. Especially the StKilda game.
1 point win over the Eagles.
Worst:
R21. Hird and Sheedy's last game in front of the faithful and the team did not even bother turning up after half time.
BlacK'n'ReD
3 Sep 2007, 16:18
Best: The West Coast win was just awesome. The atmosphere after the siren went, the whole deal. I was pumped for days after it, an awesome experience that'll stick in the memory for a lifetime :) Add to that the Sydney game a week earlier as well, and the Melbourne game for pure ass!
Worst: Losing to Carlton. I left the ground so filthy, so so filthy. I couldn't belive it, I watched in disbelief as out lead corroded. I hated it sooooo much :(
Overall, even thought we didn't make the finals, I reckon we should be happy with our season. The WC game a few days back just finished it off nicely (Though a win woulda been awesome!)
OrangeCutter
3 Sep 2007, 16:21
best - WC syd games so much heart i was getting so excited:p also davey and everytime he tackled someone
worst - alot of players not taking the next step blokes like cole and Jetta getting caught on the piss cole cause i hoped he could be a very handy player for us and Jetta cause im scared he is goignt o be a waste of talent :(
BomberGal
3 Sep 2007, 16:22
Just had to go watch the last quarter against West Coast again (thanks youtube).
Aarghh. Seriously, that quarter had everything. Heart, fight, excellent tackling, direct kicking, hard running, Lucas's kick to put us in front...they wanted that win more than anything.
Why must they be so inconsistent :(
gotta be the win against west coast... the final siren.. man... unbelievable feeling...
win against the swans... average game to watch, but being there at the scg was just a great feeling with the incredible booing.. !
worst would be getting kicked by the hawks twice... round 3 against the filfth... and the final quarter v the cats...
B-Bomber
3 Sep 2007, 17:21
Best: Lucas snapping a goal from 50 out to put us in front of West Coast.
Worst: realising we were going to lose to richmond
Stants_24_Legend
3 Sep 2007, 17:28
Best: Lucas snapping a goal from 50 out to put us in front of West Coast.
Worst: realising we were going to lose to richmond
It wasnt a snap, it was on the run and kicked it from 50
B-Bomber
3 Sep 2007, 19:04
It wasnt a snap, it was on the run and kicked it from 50
Shows how things are turned around in your memory :p
*Finds it on youtube so he can remind himself*
Wahooti Fandango
3 Sep 2007, 19:08
Best: Lucas' 7 goals in the final quarter of the season.
Worst: Being comprehensively beaten by the bottom side in round 21 when the finals were still a possibility and two of the clubs greats were finishing their careers in melbourne.
BomberGal
3 Sep 2007, 19:10
Shows how things are turned around in your memory :p
*Finds it on youtube so he can remind himself*
It was a "snap" "on the run" from about 55!
He collected the ball, wheeled around towards the goal and banged it through.
Bombertastic
3 Sep 2007, 19:43
There you go. Looks like a drop punt at about 6 mins.:p
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tpQwnQ_jqaU
retroparty
3 Sep 2007, 20:55
There you go. Looks like a drop punt at about 6 mins.:p
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tpQwnQ_jqaU
If we had played like that every week maybe we would've stayed in the top 4 a little longer
http://www.metacafe.com/watch/625780/2007r10_essendon_only_v_sydney_highlights/
http://www.metacafe.com/watch/593692/2007r8_essendon_only_v_brisbane_highlights/
these 2 are some of our best matches this year
BigScottyLucas
3 Sep 2007, 22:16
Best: Lucas' 7 goal quarter, the consecutive wins vs last years Grand Finalists, and the win vs Melbourne.
Worst: Carlton, which cost us the finals, and Richmond, which was Hird's last home game.
Still proud of the effort the boys showed for the most part, and can't wait for 2008!
Jonesy1987
4 Sep 2007, 01:56
Best: Being at the first West Coast game, standing right behind essendon cheer squad, best atmosphere at a game ever (was there with a friend who follows collingwood he too says best game he has ever been to)
Worst: Alwyn Davey Breaking his arm season over at that moment :(
Best: Round 1 vs Adelaide
We had been pumped there the prior year, had a history of being a poor traveling team and were coming off a poor year and an average pre season.
We burst out of the blocks, unveiled recruits, that it was obvious could play, ran hard, tackled hard, were clean, direct and won well.
Worst: Round 3 vs carlton
nuff said
mayhem20202
4 Sep 2007, 11:46
BEST:
Dustin Fletcher's torp against the Saints.
Alwyn Davey's many flashes of brilliance (which everyone knew he was capable of) coupled with his tireless work ethic throughout his games this year.
James Hird's ability to continually prove why he is regarded as one of the best ever.
Scott Lucas' last quarter was probably a fitting way for him to end another fine year in which he confirmed just how good he has been/is/will be for the club.
WORST:
Lack of development in a number of mid range players who seem to be armed with the tools to carry the club forward, but, also seem to be the reason the club has stagnated.
The farewell of Hird and Sheedy, the club will never be the same again. Although I am sure that the club will once again soon be successful, these 2 are 2 of the 5 most recognised names in club history and are irreplacable.
jules101
4 Sep 2007, 15:41
best: WCE's games...
worst: Richmond game...
Best Moment: The last quarter against the Eagles.
Worst Moment: Being at Subiaco to watch the game against Freo and having to put up with a pathetic last quarter effort.
havoc_planet
4 Sep 2007, 16:23
BEST - Lucas's 7 Goal last quarter effort
Worst - Lucas's Behind
OzBomber
4 Sep 2007, 17:28
Best - Beating both premiers
Worst - Going to Jim and Sheed's last game in Melbourne, only for us to play one of the worst games of footy this season.
________
Threesome amateur (http://www.****tube.com/categories/1056/amateur/videos/1)
BomberGal
4 Sep 2007, 19:09
BEST - Lucas's 7 Goal last quarter effort
Worst - Lucas's Behind
Hahahaha...excellently put.
:(
:thumbsu:: Win over Sydney. Rated it over the West Coast win purely because it was over there and my distaste for Sydney and their supporters. The whole out of bounds - shot that his the post - booing during Lloyd's speech was so satisfying.
:thumbsd:: Raffle the Carlton or Richmond losses. Actually, probs Richmond just due to an apparent lack of heart on such an occaision.
Special Guest
4 Sep 2007, 22:01
Best: Being at both West Coast games. Sat behind the goals last week and watched Scott Lucas tear the Eagles apart in Q4. Their supporters started turning on each other and their players. It was fantastic.
Worst: Both games against the Hawks - dismal performances and we should have done much better. Carlton Round 3, Richmond Round 21.
BetterThanAaron
5 Sep 2007, 09:58
Best- Lucas knocking Whitnall on his arse.
Worst- Losing to Carlton Round 3.
Best- Lucas knocking Whitnall on his arse.
Worst- Losing to Carlton Round 3.
OtXMv6ts3-k
Best - The win against west coast and watching Hird do his thing.
Worst - The carlton loss, mainly coz i went with a mate who is a carlton supprter and after ripping into him in the first half, i had to take it on the chin in the 2nd.
windyhill
5 Sep 2007, 21:41
Best: Alwyn Davey. What a footballer.
Best Win : The richmond dreamtime game amused me no end. W.Coast win was beautiful, but just pinching that one from richmond, entertainment plus that night.
Worst : carlton loss. Insipid 2nd half
Worst : Losing Alwyn Davey, bye bye season.
Worst : Losing Alwyn Davey, bye bye season.Said to Nobby8 when he was in town ... "Season over" when you lost AD ... that kid is "X-factor" peronified .
Our best Win ? - ;):p
Highlight of the year - your beaming face @ the Royal rnd 21 :thumbsu:
windyhill
5 Sep 2007, 21:46
Said to Nobby8 when he was in town ... "Season over" when you lost AD ... that kid is "X-factor" peronified .
Our best Win ? - ;):p
Highlight of the year - your beaming face @ the Royal rnd 21 :thumbsu:
****ing Gout !!!
****ing Gout !!!Shit you not ... every second prick i know has it .. seriously ... i reckon its the changing of the seasons
Bazza at work is your typical 6 cans a day man and you could set your watch every year ... 1st September ... you have to wheel him around in a wheelchair for a week
****ing Gout !!!
... and don`t worry , i helped ease the TAB`s woes last week ... f..in Gold Edition .. cost me two quaddie units
windyhill
5 Sep 2007, 21:52
Shit you not ... every second prick i know has it .. seriously ... i reckon its the changing of the seasons
Bazza at work is your typical 6 cans a day man and you could set your watch every year ... 1st September ... you have to wheel him around in a wheelchair for a week
I feel Bazza`s pain.
Best was the west Coast game at the dome. Everyone at the ground was going off. Was as close to a final win as you could get as far as atmosphere at the ground goes.
Worst was the round 21 game against Richmond. Huge Bomber dominated crowd and we play like skunks :thumbsd:
BertRito
6 Sep 2007, 21:32
Best (in order):
- The win over West Coast, absolutely amazing atmosphere
- Pinching a win over the Tigers in the Dreamtime match
- The speed of Alwyn Davey and his Anzac Day goal
- The Lucas goal just before full time against the Demons
- Pinching a win over the Swans after they gave up a four goal head start
- The form of Paddy Ryder, who will be a genuine star
- Surprising the Crows in Round 1
- The return of Rama. Gutsy.
- Andrew Lovett's late season form. Going to be important in 08
- Dustin Fletcher and THAT goal...freak
Worst (in no particular order):
- The loss to Carlton in Round 3
- The Tigers beating us on our big day in Round 21. Never felt more disappointed at the footy in all my time, including the 01 GF.
- Hirdy not playing the whole season due to injury
- Alwyn Davey's broken arm
- The Scott Lucas led comeback in Round 22 which, although very exciting, ended up costing me $600 on the punt
- The lack of form from David Hille (Cameron Wood, we need you)
- McPhee's constant brain snaps
- The lack of accountability through the middle
- Losing to the Hawks twice in one year
- Losing to the other teams we lost to when we shouldn't have
- Missing our whole bench against the Cats when we were right in it
- Allowing the Dogs to be humiliated into finishing lower than us on the ladder, giving up a draft spot
- The exit of Sheeds, although hopefully with it will go Bolton, Heffernan, Campo, Cole and JJ.
That's all I can think of right now. What a rollercoaster of a season... :)
kelvin_sheedy
7 Sep 2007, 15:55
Best moment for me was Round 1 against Adelaide.
Davey and Jetta played a role and we made a statement that we can be a good side again.
Worst moment - Round 3 against Carlton. All the good work in the first two games was underdone in a half.
I really only have a best moment for the year...maybe you guys might remember a little game in round 3..... cost you mob the finals hey...?
shame really
I really only have a best moment for the year...maybe you guys might remember a little game in round 3..... cost you mob the finals hey...?
shame really
Not very good at maths hey...?
We missed the finals by 2 games and 19%
PS: Infraction point for trolling....shame really
mojon95
10 Sep 2007, 17:16
shame really
Remember when we kicked your arse in rd 20 by more than you did in rd 3, and don't say you were tanking coz u know you weren't
and.....which team came closer to winning the finals???..........shame really
lol, you reckon your really smart
cAsEy_18
14 Nov 2007, 19:07
Can be a certain game or just a particular goal or just an individual play. What was your favourite moment of 2007? For me
I know everyone likes those goals that lift the huge MCG crowd, but i like the interstate crowd silencers even more. My favourite moment of 2007...
McPhee steps out of bounds and McVeigh snaps an absolutly unbelievable goal from the boundary and looks at the crowd with his hand in the air to complete silence, not one sound. They're making their comeback and McVeigh, the champion that he is, saves the game for us.
windyhill
14 Nov 2007, 19:48
Best: Alwyn Davey
Worst: Alwyn Davey's broken arm
Ditto
Longy413
14 Nov 2007, 19:57
Best - The excitement and thrill of seeing James Hird's last game.
Worst - The realisation at the end that, that was James Hird's last game.
Remember when we kicked your arse in rd 20 by more than you did in rd 3, and don't say you were tanking coz u know you weren't
and.....which team came closer to winning the finals???..........shame really
lol, you reckon your really smart
Essendon > Carlton for 10+ years and still counting
If beating us was the highlight of their season they really are a more pathetic club than I ever realised
loopy_cam
15 Nov 2007, 06:24
I live in Adelaide so I don't get to alot of games.
Best - Adelaide supporters going quiet when we beat them.
Worst - Port supporters Giving it to us when they beat us.
TheGodDelusion
15 Nov 2007, 07:37
Best, for mine, was a toss up between the dreamtime match (I work with 8 tigers fans) after last year and the dunnybirds game at the dome.
Worst, Injuries v Geelong and the insipid display in rd21.
smcateer
21 Nov 2007, 10:44
Best: Fletcher's spoil in the dying moments of the West Coast win - I'm pretty sure I had a heart-attack! My left arm tingles when I think about it.
Worst: Hird doing his calf in his 250th (and losing that match) - the boys tried so hard for him but had no legs ... real hollow feeling.
Azzballz Deluxe
21 Nov 2007, 11:59
Worst: Losing to Carlton in rd 3. I still haven't gotten over that
Best: Just after our 4 game winning streak.
bomba4eva
21 Nov 2007, 14:42
Just a bit of fun guys..
Best: Beating last year's Grand Finalists in consective weeks and both by 1 point.
Worst: Obvisouley Hird/Sheedy on Sunday leaving us but also the Carlton game in Round 3. That cost us the finals.
Am reminded by my mates constantly about Carlton's comeback in round 3. That was a defining moment i thought where we dropped in confidence. Horrific day in essendon's season. Best moment was the consecutive wins over the past grand finalists. Having Hird leave will not sink in until we play next year and we lose a game where we needed someone to pull some magic.:(
TheDon35
23 Nov 2007, 06:37
The best team moment was definately beating the eagles... Unbelievable.
The best individual moment was sitting up in stands at The Dome watching Jetta take 3 bounces then kick a goal from near the boundary against the Dockers in rd 2. Excitement of finally having some genuine young talent coming through.
Worst was difinately the Carlton game in round 3 after a great start to the year.
The best team moment was definately beating the eagles... Unbelievable.
The best individual moment was sitting up in stands at The Dome watching Jetta take 3 bounces then kick a goal from near the boundary against the Dockers in rd 2. Excitement of finally having some genuine young talent coming through.
Worst was difinately the Carlton game in round 3 after a great start to the year.
http://users.on.net/%7Ebwhite/index1/Jettagoal.gif
Alistair
23 Nov 2007, 21:05
Best - beating Adelaide at the Dome the week Sheedy was sacked
Worst - being embarrassed by Richmond in Sheedy and Hird's final game in Melbourne
Tony Delaney
25 Nov 2007, 19:24
Best being there for Hird and Sheedy's last game and beating the Eagles after a terrible first quarter.
Worst - Sheedy being sacked/contract not renewed