View Full Version : QUALIFYING FINAL 2: GEELONG vs KANGAROOS
stmookeyj
3 Sep 2007, 18:16
The McClelland Trophy winners take on the Shinboners on Sunday with a Prelim final at the MCG awaiting the winner. Geelong's form has been questioned by a few despite the fact that they have only lost once in 3 months, whilst the Roos did enough to do what no-one expected in getting the vital top 4 spot and a double chance.
Bad news for Cats fans with Matthew Egan out with a fracture in his foot. Andrew Swallow should be available to train later in the week after a concussion and Michael Firrito is also a likely starter after being a late withdrawl on Sunday, but there's no surprise return for Nathan Thompson.
The sides met on a Sunday afternoon just over a fortnight ago, and even though the Cats took the points they were certainly pushed all the way, and the Roos won their first meeting of the season in Geelong by 7 points. Also in the Kangaroos favour is history, with 4 of the 5 September clashes in favour of the men from Arden Street. Last time they met in a final in 1997, Geelong were favoured but thanks to Carey's 7 on a slippery Sunday Night (thanks to the Diana funeral) saw the defending Premiers of that season take the spoils by 3 goals.
james Dean
3 Sep 2007, 18:29
Kangaroos played well both times vs Geelong this year, but Cats should win by about 30-40 points
Geelong: 18.12.120
K'Roos: 11.17. 83
geelong hopefully, and i think they will. i would rather play kangas in the semis than geelong, of course in the unlikely event that hawks will make it that far :(
wells is god
3 Sep 2007, 23:45
Go The Kangas!
geelong hopefully, and i think they will. i would rather play kangas in the semis than geelong, of course in the unlikely event that hawks will make it that far :(
I think that the loser actually plays the winner of Collingwood & Sydney.
Kangas are definitely in with a good change. It all starts again in September and on a big ground like the 'G anything can happen. Bring on Sunday :)
Phaze Away
4 Sep 2007, 09:11
I think that the loser actually plays the winner of Collingwood & Sydney.
Kangas are definitely in with a good change. It all starts again in September and on a big ground like the 'G anything can happen. Bring on Sunday :)
Nope, loser of 1st v 4th plays winner of 5th v 8th.
If Hawthorn and Geelong win, it's North v Hawthorn at the MCG next week.
scottydeewah
4 Sep 2007, 10:01
Egan is a MASSIVE out for the Cats. Will be interesting to see what Geelong do about this? Possibly bring in Hawkins as North have a few interchangeable forward/defenders.
Geelong by 28
PoidaCat
4 Sep 2007, 14:06
Geelong will need to improve since the last time we played them. Even though we won we played about 30 good minutes for the match.
Hopefully we can be consistent over the 4 Qtrs.
Geelong by 50.
Geelong will need to improve since the last time we played them. Even though we won we played about 30 good minutes for the match.
Hopefully we can be consistent over the 4 Qtrs.
Geelong by 50.
With all due respect mate we played crap too except for that late charge, had we kicked straight in the first quarter the game could have turned out differently.
Sunday arvo @ the G (hopefully bathed in sunshine), finals football between two exciting teams, should be a cracker.
PoidaCat
4 Sep 2007, 15:13
With all due respect mate we played crap too except for that late charge, had we kicked straight in the first quarter the game could have turned out differently.
Sunday arvo @ the G (hopefully bathed in sunshine), finals football between two exciting teams, should be a cracker.
Yes both teams played pretty poorly. The clangers in the first half were painful to watch.
ICanDressMyself
4 Sep 2007, 20:52
Interesting to see that all 4 games Geelong have lost this season have been on a sunday ..... but lmao, I love how the Geelong fans are still arrogant as all hell. Finals is a different game but you still think you're gonna shit it in by 10 goals with ease, not to mention I thought a lot of you would be shitting your pants because of the heartbreak your team has caused you in previous years.
I still think you'll win, but not as easily as a lot of you clueless idiots think.
Cats by 14 points.
cat_fanatic_21
4 Sep 2007, 22:10
Interesting to see that all 4 games Geelong have lost this season have been on a sunday ..... but lmao, I love how the Geelong fans are still arrogant as all hell. Finals is a different game but you still think you're gonna shit it in by 10 goals with ease, not to mention I thought a lot of you would be shitting your pants because of the heartbreak your team has caused you in previous years.
I still think you'll win, but not as easily as a lot of you clueless idiots think.
Cats by 14 points.
What a silly comment.:o
Most of our games this year have been on Sundays as our performance last year was pathetic. Our four losses wouldn't have anything to do with the fact that the opposition teams were a bit better on the day, would they?
Should be a great game. It's so great that we are playing a team with a respectable game plan that is good to watch.
PoidaCat
4 Sep 2007, 23:12
I thought a lot of you would be shitting your pants because of the heartbreak your team has caused you in previous years.
I still think you'll win, but not as easily as a lot of you think.
Cats by 14 points.
ADELAIDE 2005/2006 CH-CH-CHOKE Board
clueless idiots
Touche, touche!
SweetLeftFoot
4 Sep 2007, 23:17
North by 25 points.
Archer to be HUGE.
i'll say the cats by 22 points
acooldude_au
5 Sep 2007, 00:24
I'd be very very surprised if the Cats lose this one... Hopefully last year will motivate them enough to win comfortably.
Geelong by 30 :thumbsu:
Copernicus
5 Sep 2007, 06:40
I'll be up at midnight chewing my nails on my recliner watching this one - hopefully we'll get a cracking start and break the Roos' spirit early. That would do my nerves some good!
Anyway, Cats by 25. Egan out could make things pretty interesting.
EasternHills
5 Sep 2007, 10:41
Kangaroos will improve over the last game between these sides but will probably fall just short, Geelong by 17 points.
ICanDressMyself
5 Sep 2007, 12:55
ADELAIDE 2005/2006 CH-CH-CHOKE Board
Touche, touche!
Yeah good response mate, you've just shown your arrogance right there, you think you're invincible don't ya?
It's supporters like you that are giving the cats fans a bad name.
Gold Coast 15.14.104
Geelong 14.11.95
PoidaCat
5 Sep 2007, 13:14
Yeah good response mate, you've just shown your arrogance right there, you think you're invincible don't ya?
It's supporters like you that are giving the cats fans a bad name.
Yes! I give our supporters a bad name because you come in here trolling Geelong supporters and I respond in kind.
Just stick to the ADELAIDE vs HAWTHORN game. :thumbsu:
:)
PoidaCat
5 Sep 2007, 13:14
Is Geelong Cheers squad Ponsford and North Punt Rd?
:confused:
ICanDressMyself
5 Sep 2007, 13:17
Yes! I give our supporters a bad name because you come in here trolling Geelong supporters and I respond in kind.
Just stick to the ADELAIDE vs HAWTHORN game. :thumbsu:
:)
Trolling? :confused: No I'm just teling it how it is.
You're being awfully arrogant and I hope along with your mate PUSSIES FOR THE FLAG 07, it comes back to bite you in the arse.
RatherHaveABeer
5 Sep 2007, 13:42
Trolling? :confused: No I'm just teling it how it is.
You're being awfully arrogant and I hope along with your mate PUSSIES FOR THE FLAG 07, it comes back to bite you in the arse.
You were clearly a mistake! Then again most Adelaide supporters are.
ICanDressMyself
5 Sep 2007, 13:44
You were clearly a mistake! Then again most Adelaide supporters are.
Wow! A port fan turning a thread into an Adelaide vs Port argument! Who woulda thought! The obsession continues :)
Mr Magoo
5 Sep 2007, 14:36
interesting to see over at sportsbet that they've given geelong a 24 point head start on line betting...... ... might be worth taking a punt on.
It will require games of the year by Daniel Wells, Daniel Harris, Drew Petrie, Andrew Swallow, Hamish McIntosh and Jesse Smith while the likes of Brent Harvey, Shannon Grant, Adam Simpson and Jess Sinclair will need to maintain their usual level of consistancy for us to win this.
Huge ask, not impossible, but huge ask. In all honestly a great position for the Roos' to come into September into, against the best side where we can throw the kitchen sink at them knowing if we lose, we're okay, but if we win, geez we may actually be there on that last Saturday.
My heart says North Melbourne, my brain is refusing to be involved.
Geelong should win and probably will, but I wouldn't right off the Kangaroos just yet.
Finals is a new season, it'll be interesting to see how Geelong adapt to being on a level playing field - in terms of rankings, after spending so much time comfortably on top of the ladder.
interesting to see over at sportsbet that they've given geelong a 24 point head start on line betting...... ... might be worth taking a punt on.
that actually looks good value magoo :thumbsu:
North to CRUSH the Cats by 34 points. :p
Well, hopefully. :D
PoidaCat
5 Sep 2007, 21:50
50,000+ sold thus far.
Lets pack the joint :thumbsu:
Gold Coast 15.14.104
Geelong 14.11.95
If thats the scoreline at the end I might even forgive the inaccurate, tiresome, done to death and hardly original GC comment. Might.
That would be so kind of you.:thumbsu:
PUSSIES_07_FLAG
6 Sep 2007, 19:05
No need for margins, stats or any rubbish.
Geelong to win.
Simple.
****ING GET ON THE PUSSY CATTERS!
Geelong to win.
Simple.
^That's why people don't want Geelong to win.
Metallica_Man
6 Sep 2007, 19:57
^That's why people don't want Geelong to win.
^Most on the Geelong board even doubt he goes for the Cats, just ignore people like this comments
PoidaCat
6 Sep 2007, 21:46
Geelong to win.
Simple.
+1 :thumbsu:
JKCeagle
7 Sep 2007, 10:51
Geelong by plenty, will pull away in the 3rd after a relatively tight first half.
Kangaroos will perform valiantly & give it everything as they always do, but won't be able to hold on for 4 quarters against the talent and class of the Cats.
Can anybody give me the sides for this match?
Can't find them anywhere.
-Ben
bombersno1
7 Sep 2007, 22:56
North please!
Metallica_Man
7 Sep 2007, 23:20
Can anybody give me the sides for this match?
Can't find them anywhere.
-Ben
IN: Bartel, Rooke
OUT: Egan (injured), Varcoe
Geelong to win.................next week
Looking forward to a good game sunday, think it'll be around the same margin as our last encounter.
Hopefully nothing less but plenty more !! i hate close games and i'm sure where going to see a bottler.
I was interested to watch fox footy teams last night and they were pretty much on the ball....two very even sides with the cats maybe that edge in class factor.If we can get over the kangas i'll breath a little easier for the remainder.
I tip Kangaroos in an upset. Come on Victorian Sides.
Mr Magoo
9 Sep 2007, 09:07
geelong look far too strong right across the ground & should run out winners by anywhere between 3-6 goals however the roos always give no less than 100% & if they can get on top early & slow down the game while keeping possession (this will frustrate the cats) they could pull of an upset win. still my money's on geelong (under 39.5 ;)) but it wouldn't surprise me if the roos won. for the roos to win they're going to need a lot more contributors than usual - they can't just rely on the usual suspects in grant, harvey, simpson etc... they need an even spread of contributors & must put geelong under as much pressure as possible.
let's hope that we can get another close game
Geelong by 26 points for me.
geelong look far too strong right across the ground & should run out winners by anywhere between 3-6 goals however the roos always give no less than 100% & if they can get on top early & slow down the game while keeping possession (this will frustrate the cats) they could pull of an upset win. still my money's on geelong (under 39.5 ;)) but it wouldn't surprise me if the roos won. for the roos to win they're going to need a lot more contributors than usual - they can't just rely on the usual suspects in grant, harvey, simpson etc... they need an even spread of contributors & must put geelong under as much pressure as possible.
let's hope that we can get another close game
They don't and haven't for some time. But then a comment like that is almost expected these days.
stainedclass
9 Sep 2007, 12:42
can't wait!!
haywood jablome
9 Sep 2007, 13:02
I Did It My Way, I Loved I Laughed And Cried I've Had To Fill My Share Of Losing And Now As Tears Subside I Find It All So Allusing To Think I Did All That And May I Say Not In A Shy Way Oh No Oh No Not Me I Did It My Way For One One Is A Man What Has He Got If Not Himself Then He Has Not To Say The Kings He Truely Feels And Let The Words Of One Who Kneels The Records Shows I Took The Blows And Did It Myyyyyyyyyyyyy Wayyyyyyyyyyyyy.
gazisgod
9 Sep 2007, 13:21
geelong will put on an early charge in the 3rd quarter and will most likely come out winners by 20 points
chickens_law
9 Sep 2007, 13:43
1 hr 47 min to go!!!!
matty lloyd the champ
9 Sep 2007, 13:55
will c jones play
He will be crucial to the roos as the cats have the best defence in the comp.
Edwards will need to fire and kick a few.
Is this live on tv today?
johnnyhoward
9 Sep 2007, 14:33
I Did It My Way, I Loved I Laughed And Cried I've Had To Fill My Share Of Losing And Now As Tears Subside I Find It All So Allusing To Think I Did All That And May I Say Not In A Shy Way Oh No Oh No Not Me I Did It My Way For One One Is A Man What Has He Got If Not Himself Then He Has Not To Say The Kings He Truely Feels And Let The Words Of One Who Kneels The Records Shows I Took The Blows And Did It Myyyyyyyyyyyyy Wayyyyyyyyyyyyy.
You got about 10% of the lyrics right. Well done!
And Ron, it's not live on TV. FTA sucks. I wish Foxtel had the finals.
haywood jablome
9 Sep 2007, 14:43
You got about 10% of the lyrics right. Well done!
And Ron, it's not live on TV. FTA sucks. I wish Foxtel had the finals.
Thankyou sir.
Two tough even sides going at it. Should be a cracker. Hopefully they beat the hell out of each other.
Kouta_legend
9 Sep 2007, 15:01
what time does it start on channel 7?
haywood jablome
9 Sep 2007, 15:02
what time does it start on channel 7?
johnnyhoward
9 Sep 2007, 15:03
But they have about half an hour of intros don't they? So the game will start at basically 3.30.
cat in sydney
9 Sep 2007, 15:07
But they have about half an hour of intros don't they? So the game will start at basically 3.30.
Not here in Sydney. We get the intro from 2:30pm, then the game live from the start. :thumbsu:
Hey, it has to pay off occasionally to live so far away from the home of AFL. ;)
haywood jablome
Yer there is a 30 minute delay.
The GOAT
late changes?
chickens_law
9 Sep 2007, 15:08
You ***** joking? 1 hr delay!!! :mad:
Apparently the 2 teams had a bit of a push and shove in the warmup :)
Really looking forward to this game.
johnnyhoward
9 Sep 2007, 15:14
You ***** joking? 1 hr delay!!! :mad:
It's scheduled to finish at 6.00, so yeah, it looks like a 1 hour delay unfortunately.
It's a 30 minute delay, not 60.
johnnyhoward
9 Sep 2007, 15:27
It's a 30 minute delay, not 60.
That's not too bad then - so 7 will start the game at 3.15? Just found out the game starts at 2.45 - strange time, I thought it'd be 2.30 like yesterday.
stainedclass
9 Sep 2007, 15:40
fbvuidjkbvjkdbfjkvbdf stupid channel 7.
fbvuidjkbvjkdbfjkvbdf stupid channel 7. You reckon it's 7's fault it's not live in Melbourne?
Cousin Jed
9 Sep 2007, 15:45
LOL. Ricky Olarenshaw telling us about his finals career.
Note to Ricky.
We don't give a S***
dylan101
i'll tip Geelong by 18
matty lloyd the champ
late changes?
dylan101
9 Sep 2007, 15:46
Archer playing on Chapman, Chapman goals
haywood jablome
9 Sep 2007, 15:47
Goal Chapman !
MmkMrMackie
Chappy! Carved Up Archer!
stainedclass
You reckon it's 7's fault it's not live in Melbourne?
perhaps I should just go to the pub.
since82eags
archer lost his feet
dylan101
9 Sep 2007, 15:48
Edwards marks inside 50
dylan101
Edwards kicks it
haywood jablome
Goal Edwards
"A real clunker" dobs one. Thanks for that Tim.
since82eags
9 Sep 2007, 15:49
why did we get rid of Edwards?
johnnyhoward
9 Sep 2007, 15:50
why did we get rid of Edwards?
The word was he was a damaging influence at the club - everyone knows he was stiff to get delisted. Back where he belongs.
dylan101
9 Sep 2007, 15:50
Bartels started brilliantly
since82eags
9 Sep 2007, 15:51
Goal to the umpire
dylan101
Ablett gets a free for being held inside 50, harsh free and he kicks it
bluesforever
Interesting start, go the Catters.
The Magenius
9 Sep 2007, 15:52
Terrible free kick there.
LOL @ massive dive by hunt, LOL @ how he thought about it then went down.
Austin_McCrabbs
Hunt dives :thumbsd:.
Don't be critical. He thought there was a malteser on the ground.
Bombers_Forever
Ablett very lucky.........
Very strange free. Call in the stewards.
dylan101
Ling has Harvey
The Magenius
9 Sep 2007, 15:53
Don't be critical. He thought there was a malteser on the ground.
Did he stick his tongue out ???
dylan101
9 Sep 2007, 15:54
7 possies already for Bartel
Hunt put Lloyd to shame with that dive, this umpiring is disgraceful this weekend
The Magenius
9 Sep 2007, 15:54
Umpiring very soft so far, not letting things go.