View Full Version : How we will beat the Crows this week ....
BudddddyLove
4 Sep 2007, 03:27
The last time we played the crows we were lacking in a number of areas.
If you check back on the afl site the statistics for this game you will be astounded by some of the crows statistics.
Thompson, McLeod, Goodwin and Edwards all had 35+ possessions and it seemed as if they had no opponent the whole game.
Now the conditions did not suit us last time, so at the dome this week here are the ways in which we can beat the crows.
THEY ARE NOT AS TALENTED AS US.
Do they have a hodge or a buddy franklin to take the game apart? No.
Although Ricciuto played a blinder last game, he is gettind old and slow so we need to cut off the supply to him.
McLeod is a damaging player, but if we actually play someone on him this time, his influence will be negated. Last time he was left across half back to accumulate easy possessions which he used to launch attacks. He has pace and a trusty kick so Clarko should focus on placing a defensive forward on him. I would suggest Lewis as he is hard at it and can kick a goal if given an opportunity.
WE MUST LIFT OUT INTENSITY LEVEL FROM THE LAST TIME WE PLAYED THEM. I do not want to see crow players loose between the centre and their fifty metre arc or anywhere in the corridor for that matter. In your mind you must think that your teammate is going to turn the ball over so that if it does happen you are prepared and are accountable for your man. This is particularly important on the telstra dome as turnovers can be costly. When we have played in melbourne this year we have been good at the clearances.
At the MCG and TD this year our only losses have been by 17 to the dogs (where we couldn't kick straight), 9 to swans (discipline cost us) and 17 to the saints (we played poorly).
Our record in melbourne this year has been impressive and this is due to ability to win the clearances. If we win can handle the midfield pressure and apply the same pressure we will win the game as they do not have the forward firepower that we do.
The crows are likely to flood the forwardline at TD so there is two things that we must do.
WE MUST TAKE RISKS RUNNING FROM HALF BACK. Do not take the second option of going back and looking for the switch unless it is actually on. Brake the tackle, use the corridor and get the football down to the forwardline ASAP. If unable to do this be patient and wait for the pin-point pass into the forwardline. Buddy and Rough have the pace to beat their opponent on the run. Do not bomb it to a contest as Rutten and Bock will kill us in the air.
I know this all sounds relatively easy but this is why we got beaten the last time we played them.
Main focuses for this week:
ACCOUNTABILITY, KICKING EFFICIENCY, INTENSITY
If we lift these areas this week we will win the game
Good luck Hawks!
hawkstars
4 Sep 2007, 08:20
here's an idea. just thought of something. Play Sewel on Macloed.:thumbsu:
Trickstar
4 Sep 2007, 09:03
Easy kick more goals than they do!
It's easy!
Play on. Attack. Utilise our forwards.
But that will only work if the midfield win and everyone contributes!
Leather Poisoning
4 Sep 2007, 09:50
It's their old men that kill us:
Roo, Edwards, McLeod, Burton, Goodwin.
If we can somehow stop even 3 of those 5 we will be right in the game.
In my opinion a big problem is that we rely on 3 young, inexperienced forwards to win us games:
Roughead - Age 20, 56 games
Lance Franklin - Age 20, 54 games
Tim Boyle - Age 23, 23 games.
These guys have kicked a huge amount this season, and it's a really good sign of things to come. But I think it's part of the reason why we're soooo poor at scoring in some games. I think our forward line really struggles under pressure.
Compare this to Adelaide's forward line:
Welsh - Age 28, 164 games
Bock - Age 24, 62 games
Burton - Age 29, 150 games.
I worry that this experience will have their forward line perfoming better in finals than our three, who I believe have easily as much talent.
I think adelaide will try to congest the corridor at all opportunities pushing as wide and making us make pin point passes which on recent form will not happen.
The key to this game i think is croady and the ruck division. I reckon Campbell and Taylor are up against an easy ruck duo of the crows, thus need to give first use to the midfield. However Croady is the key, play hom forward i say and roll the dice. Stretch the crows backline, make rutten and bock accountable. With Roughead, Dixon, Franklin, Croad and Boyle up forward, it is a tad top heavy but we will out muscle the crows.
Also think Guerra needs to play a big game. His expereince during finals and kicking skills are pivotal to our teams success coming from the backline. Joel Smith also needs to step up, with Changa in doubt, SMithy has to take on the tackler and break the lines with his kicks, same goes for Young. PLay on at all costs and enter foward 30m with pentrating kicks from the forward of center zone.
As everyone says win the midfield battle and we will go along way to putting up a better preformance than we did against sydney. AC got a lot of work to do
BigAl3001
4 Sep 2007, 14:56
This game will be all about TIME and SPACE. Finding it and denying it!
Have a look at the Collingwood game and you will see the blue-print for how the crows will try to control this game. They will force us wide so as to give themselves time to cause a turn-over and run down the corridor with quick forward 50 entries. We need to negate this tactic by rotating our ruckman or one of our med’s (Hodge or Crawford) across half-back so that to clog up there space and force them to enter wide. This will create and ugly congested game of footy but one we will ultimately be in for a long time. We then need to back our runners to be able to finish the game off better in the last quarter and feed out key marking forwards with quick ball entry. We must not let them control the tempo of the game or the way it is played. They are going to try and deny us the ability to run and carry and clog up our space so we should do the same to them. We are probably one of the better teams at getting numbers behind the ball, (like Adelaide) but equally we are one of the best counter attacking teams. We need to press them into turnovers and then move it as quickly as possible to our forward before they get numbers back. For this reason guys like Hodge, Young, Smith, Birchall and Crawf should be prepared to run and kick goals from 50metres, a drill I hope they practice at training this week.
macdaddio
4 Sep 2007, 18:42
our 1st game againts the swans we lost a close one by 9 points and were up at quarter time..
not long after we played the crows who are similiar to the swans and we got killed didnt learn any thing from the swans game...
last weekend we played the swans and got killed and didnt learn anything from our 1st game againts them........
are we going backwards, coz it seems that we havent learnt anything new on how to play the crows and the swans..................
if any one has any ideas please let me know coz i,m just so frustrated........
randall boner
4 Sep 2007, 19:48
hope there plane cant land due to fog:D
play2win
4 Sep 2007, 20:55
i am no expert but the weagles have a terrific record against the crows, what tactics do they employ?
my observations suggest that they like to hold and run the ball at them, using predominantly handball from the defensive 50 to the forward line. i am sure the coaches are aware of this ploy, and i thought that we may have tried this gameplan during our last game at aami but got thumped.
i am no expert but the weagles have a terrific record against the crows, what tactics do they employ?
my observations suggest that they like to hold and run the ball at them, using predominantly handball from the defensive 50 to the forward line. i am sure the coaches are aware of this ploy, and i thought that we may have tried this gameplan during our last game at aami but got thumped.
weagles are muscle bound, quick, run alot and generally don't rely on a set forward structure.
reasons these are important, is that adelaide are physically strong and run a lot, and you need to match them there. however, wc are quick which adelaide is not. last thing is that tactically, adelaide leave almost a block formation 30m off the ball, which allows them to pick off long/medium kicks and rebound with mcleod and co. what the eagles do is carry the ball nearly the whole ground which makes adelaide's tactics useless.
can we replicate that?
nope. we can't put muscle on overnight, but maybe in an off season with dr woosha we'd be able to.
we do have the run and speed, but we lack the body strength to withstand them. as well, we're currently quite reliant on our forward structure. i think our forward structure will only get better though.
what's the difference between last time and this time?
- well we're not playing over there.
- boyle was missing, and while he's not at his best, is still an important part of the forward structure.
- jacobs isn't playing, who got anihilated by roo last time.
can we do it?
yep. we need to jump them early, then protect the lead. adelaide does struggle to kick goals, and if we can get an early lead i believe we can protect it if disciplined.
PottSie2
4 Sep 2007, 22:39
If you check back on the afl site the statistics for this game you will be astounded by some of the crows statistics.
Thompson, McLeod, Goodwin and Edwards all had 35+ possessions and it seemed as if they had no opponent the whole game.
Now the conditions did not suit us last time, so at the dome this week here are the ways in which we can beat the crows.
THEY ARE NOT AS TALENTED AS US.
Do they have a hodge or a buddy franklin to take the game apart? No.
Although Ricciuto played a blinder last game, he is gettind old and slow so we need to cut off the supply to him.
McLeod is a damaging player, but if we actually play someone on him this time, his influence will be negated. Last time he was left across half back to accumulate easy possessions which he used to launch attacks. He has pace and a trusty kick so Clarko should focus on placing a defensive forward on him. I would suggest Lewis as he is hard at it and can kick a goal if given an opportunity.
WE MUST LIFT OUT INTENSITY LEVEL FROM THE LAST TIME WE PLAYED THEM. I do not want to see crow players loose between the centre and their fifty metre arc or anywhere in the corridor for that matter. In your mind you must think that your teammate is going to turn the ball over so that if it does happen you are prepared and are accountable for your man. This is particularly important on the telstra dome as turnovers can be costly. When we have played in melbourne this year we have been good at the clearances.
At the MCG and TD this year our only losses have been by 17 to the dogs (where we couldn't kick straight), 9 to swans (discipline cost us) and 17 to the saints (we played poorly).
Our record in melbourne this year has been impressive and this is due to ability to win the clearances. If we win can handle the midfield pressure and apply the same pressure we will win the game as they do not have the forward firepower that we do.
The crows are likely to flood the forwardline at TD so there is two things that we must do.
WE MUST TAKE RISKS RUNNING FROM HALF BACK. Do not take the second option of going back and looking for the switch unless it is actually on. Brake the tackle, use the corridor and get the football down to the forwardline ASAP. If unable to do this be patient and wait for the pin-point pass into the forwardline. Buddy and Rough have the pace to beat their opponent on the run. Do not bomb it to a contest as Rutten and Bock will kill us in the air.
I know this all sounds relatively easy but this is why we got beaten the last time we played them.
Good luck Hawks!
1. Adelaide are very talented team, bigger bodied and pretty much faster than us.
2. The parts in bold seem to be at odds with each other. How can the players assume their team mate will stuff up, yet have the confidence to run off their man?
But I understand your pain of constantly seeing our players playing 5-10 meters of their man all over the ground. It's infuriating watching opposition teams get easy positions, yet on the flip-side, it appears that (like against Syd) their players were constantly shadowing ours when we had the ball.
I honestly don't think we can win this week. But as you know, keep your expectations low and you may get pleasantly surprised!!! :D
RUN take them on at all cost, preasure thier ball carriers cause them to make turnovers and as i recall the crows havent played us at the dome, and i think a lot of media is disrespecting our recent good record at the dome.
chaddles
4 Sep 2007, 23:08
RUN take them on at all cost, preasure thier ball carriers cause them to make turnovers and as i recall the crows havent played us at the dome, and i think a lot of media is disrespecting our recent good record at the dome.
Exactly, when we run and link up we look like one of the best teams in the competition. The problem is we lack confidence sometimes for whatever reason and then it just all falls apart. We can't get caught in a physical contest, we just aren't strong enough to play that sort of game at the moment.
Franklin must play the game of his life, he loves the big crowds so I hope he gives us fans something to cheer about. He is electric and he will ignite the rest of the team if he can just pull out one moment of pure brilliance in the opening stanza of the match.
GO HAWKS!!
flukeyluke
4 Sep 2007, 23:11
We dont have to fly so that is a good start:thumbsu:
Miss_Hawk_Fan
4 Sep 2007, 23:24
Good luck Hawks!
My thoughts on this and just to add and extend to what you,ve said.
1. We need to tag Thompson, = Sewell
Mcleod, = Brown
Roo, = Lewis
Goodwin, = Ladson
Edwards, = Mglyn
Welsh, = Smith
2. We need to let hodge, Crawf and Mitchell play their normal attacking game.
3. We need to get the big men firing in our forward line as i believe the crows have no quality defenders and they will rob there ruck or forward line to compensate! We need a crummer at the feet, maybe bateman could play this role part time..... when resting in turn with Ladson
4. The crows will be expecting us to play buddy box so the hawks need roughy to stay at ff and for boyle and buddy to keep their oppenant on their toes, by running non stop and the two by leading out to the 50 meter arch.
5. Our midfeild need to be made aware that buddy and boyle will be leading to the 50 meter arch.... If they not able to hit them on the chest skillfully, then the midfeilder must take a risk and aim for goal on the runat the 45 - 50 meter arch.
If we want to win we must be disiplined, no stupided free kicks for arguing, skillful and willing to play on and take risks!
The crows have done their home work on us and they now our game plan and have our measure. We need to mix up our game plan and rattle them with the unexpected..... switch back to buddys box after we have rattled them if need be. To win we need to sping a suprise on the crows from the start and jump them hard and quicK!
croady_fan24
5 Sep 2007, 00:25
Put alOt alOt of pressure on to the Crows..will be a good start.
Mcleod, = Brown
Roo, = Lewis
Goodwin, = Ladson
Edwards, = Mglyn
Welsh, = Smith
3. We need to get the big men firing in our forward line as i believe the crows have no quality defenders and they will rob there ruck or forward line to compensate! We need a crummer at the feet, maybe bateman could play this role part time..... when resting in turn with Ladson
4. The crows will be expecting us to play buddy box so the hawks need roughy to stay at ff and for boyle and buddy to keep their oppenant on their toes, by running non stop and the two by leading out to the 50 meter arch.
5. Our midfeild need to be made aware that buddy and boyle will be leading to the 50 meter arch.... If they not able to hit them on the chest skillfully, then the midfeilder must take a risk and aim for goal on the runat the 45 - 50 meter arch.
If we want to win we must be disiplined, no stupided free kicks for arguing, skillful and willing to play on and take risks!
The crows have done their home work on us and they now our game plan and have our measure. We need to mix up our game plan and rattle them with the unexpected..... switch back to buddys box after we have rattled them if need be. To win we need to sping a suprise on the crows from the start and jump them hard and quicK!
do the words 'rutten' and 'ben' register anything in ur head:confused:
nathan bocks BOG performance last week is ok as well
oh and that fella called andrew mcleod, he goes alright in finals
oh but nar ur right:p
Miss_Hawk_Fan
5 Sep 2007, 00:52
do the words 'rutten' and 'ben' register anything in ur head:confused:
nathan bocks BOG performance last week is ok as well
oh and that fella called andrew mcleod, he goes alright in finals
oh but nar ur right:p
Nathan Bock didnt kill the hawks last time we played.... sure he will be matched up. but not one of the crows stars yet (in terms of roo & mcleod)
Um you need to read my post again mcleod was mention...... past you bed time? :P
^ oh wel maybe you forgot macca is a defender then, or else your "no quality defenders" statement is quite contradictory.
good luck on saturday, may the best team win :)
Miss_Hawk_Fan
5 Sep 2007, 01:14
^ oh wel maybe you forgot macca is a defender then, or else your "no quality defenders" statement is quite contradictory.
good luck on saturday, may the best team win :)
I always classed him as a champ midfeilder and beside i was referring to height.....
Thanks champ..... (sorry i have difficultys wishing you good luck heading into a final) i do hope that is great game to watch, with the hawks winning by 7 point. I am sure the best team will win on the day .
If the crows win, best of luck for the remainder of your season.....
Boyler_Room
5 Sep 2007, 13:23
Play Smith on the wing and tell him to never cross into our back half. Ever.
CarnCrows
5 Sep 2007, 14:28
Just some thoughs...
I think adelaide will try to congest the corridor at all opportunities pushing as wide and making us make pin point passes which on recent form will not happen.
The midfield "flood' is definately the way we approach it. We reply on the trun over and the quick rebound.
1. Adelaide are very talented team, bigger bodied and pretty much faster than us.
We are not fast.
Mcleod, = Brown
Roo, = Lewis
Goodwin, = Ladson
Edwards, = Mglyn
Welsh, = Smith
Just with the matchups, I think Hodge will get a Shirley tag. Not sure who, if anyone, will be matched by Van Berlo. I can see a Crawford v Edwards matchup looming. Thompson & Goody are two real key matchups for you guys.
Tall defenders for the Crows will most likely be Stevens v Buddy. Stevens is in great form. Croad v Bock & Rutten v Roughead. All 3 played in defence last week & Bocks best position is at CHB. Add to that Macca, Johncock & Torney, I can assure you that we do have quality defenders.
Who will match up on Burton?
Macca is an interesting matchup. He not only 'roams' in the backline, but in the last few weeks has spent considerable time in the midfield. A fit Johncock has given Macca a license to go beyond the defensive crumbing role.
brent-83
5 Sep 2007, 15:00
I guess the 2nd best defense in the AFL can't be credited with any quality defenders. Rutten, Johncock, Stevens, Bock, Massie will have your measure on Saturday don't worry about that.
Hawk-in-syd
5 Sep 2007, 16:20
The crows use a midfield zone so we have to RUN and run smart. This means not just the ball carrier but the players up field to break up the zone and create a target.
When we get the ball we have to run in numbers and be smart. The ball carrier MUST draw 2 defenders by running at gaps in the zone then putting the ball into the space created. If we run hard enough we can get infront of the zone with a long kick to space.
If we don't have movement up the ground we will get smashed. Buddy/Boyle must lead up the ground drawing the defender and creating space for someone else to lead into. lots of dummy leads are the key to breaking the zone.
Rotate Big Bob and Tails more often and wear out the rucks. They are a good ruck combo but need to run more.
I'm quite confident we will win this one because we have nothing to lose. If we throw caution to the wind and run I can't see the crowbots stopping us. If we play slowly and don't run and attack the boys might aswell start mad monday at half time.
BigAl3001
5 Sep 2007, 16:33
I guess the 2nd best defense in the AFL can't be credited with any quality defenders. Rutten, Johncock, Stevens, Bock, Massie will have your measure on Saturday don't worry about that.
It is incorrect to say you have no quality defenders. The strength of your defence is the way in which they work as a team to help each other and then to run the ball out of defence. The key for Hawthorn is too isolate the defenders into one on one contests as much as possible. Every forward has to present when it is his turn. Also the ball -carriers must be aware that the crows always drop numbers back, when this happens it means someone is unmarked and that is where the pill should go. Sounds so simple but in the hustle and bustle of a final when the pressure, perceived or real is on then inevitably turnover's result. We need to be switched on!
Collins-Langford-Ayres
5 Sep 2007, 17:01
Flood their backline, leave Franklin one out inside 50 and tag they're playmakers.
How do you flood our backline (also known as your forward line) while leaving Franklin one out inside 50 meters?
I'm also bewildered to learn that Brett Burton, Andrew Mcleod and Mark Ricciuto lack the ability to break open a game like Luke Hodge or Lance Frankling but that's for a whole other thread ...
Leather Poisoning
5 Sep 2007, 17:12
How do you flood our backline (also known as your forward line) while leaving Franklin one out inside 50 meters?
I'm also bewildered to learn that Brett Burton, Andrew Mcleod and Mark Ricciuto lack the ability to break open a game like Luke Hodge or Lance Frankling but that's for a whole other thread ...
None of it will matter if the BF hawks fans get onto slashing the tyres on the Adelaide bus......
Seriously, I have no idea how we'll beat the Crows.
They have mature bodies and winners on every line.
Their style of footy is suited to finals and so are their players due to experience.
They've got 6 blokes we want to tag.
But sometimes it all just comes together, we're in it, so we're a chance to win it. That's as good as I've got.
None of it will matter if the BF hawks fans get onto slashing the tyres on the Adelaide bus......
Their style of footy is suited to finals and so are their players due to experience.
But sometimes it all just comes together, we're in it, so we're a chance to win it. That's as good as I've got.
If it helps, I thought Adelaide looked ordinary against Collingwood last week. I thought we would have beaten them if we were playing well. Skills were shocking! They haven't been playing there best in the last month too. Hope that helps. If you believe me that is.. :p
Hawk-in-syd
5 Sep 2007, 17:25
We can out run them. They don't play man on man like Sydney so we can create space and run
Not sure this is correct. How's there finals record under Craig. They have been dominant for patches during H/A not finals.
who's 'we'. Good thing your not the coach. Sewell and richie to tag. max
Leather Poisoning
5 Sep 2007, 18:03
We can out run them. They don't play man on man like Sydney so we can create space and run
Not sure this is correct. How's there finals record under Craig. They have been dominant for patches during H/A not finals.
who's 'we'. Good thing your not the coach. Sewell and richie to tag. max
I think I'm just gunshy after the Sydney game, but the guys I'm worried about are McLeod, Edwards, JohnCock, Goodwin, Roo and Thompson.
Your news of their finals record is encouraging :thumbsu:
Let's run em off their feet
brent-83
5 Sep 2007, 18:26
If it helps, I thought Adelaide looked ordinary against Collingwood last week. I thought we would have beaten them if we were playing well. Skills were shocking! They haven't been playing there best in the last month too. Hope that helps. If you believe me that is.. :p
Admittedly, we had a fairly horrible 2nd quarter, but other than that we pretty much controlled Collingwood that entire game. However to say we haven't been playing our best in the past month is a fallacy.
I'd say we are only just hitting our best form now. The only game we've lost in the last 5 is the Geelong game down at Skilled. The Port result flattered Port because of our wayward kicking but other than that we have never really looked like losing a game.
On the other hand, Hawthorn haven't managed to beat a top 8 side since round 13? :eek:
Best of luck for Saturday!
Admittedly, we had a fairly horrible 2nd quarter, but other than that we pretty much controlled Collingwood that entire game. However to say we haven't been playing our best in the past month is a fallacy.
I'd say we are only just hitting our best form now. The only game we've lost in the last 5 is the Geelong game down at Skilled. The Port result flattered Port because of our wayward kicking but other than that we have never really looked like losing a game.
On the other hand, Hawthorn haven't managed to beat a top 8 side since round 13? :eek:
Best of luck for Saturday!
Thanks for making me look bad!
I did mean though that the whole match was ordinary, from Collingwood too. But I've seen the Crows play much better footy than that.
BigAl3001
5 Sep 2007, 18:52
That is true but we recorded important wins against Essendon and Brisbane while they were still well and truly in the hunt for a Top 8 spot. Everyone know's we should have beaten Port. We got Adelaide in Rd 14 after our biggest win of the season on a wet cold night. The losses to the saints and the roos weren't that bad but we recognise now that was our mini-slump. By far our worst loss was last week but I really think we just didn't turn up to play. We've beaten all of the Top 4 sides this year so we can win big games and I think we've got at least one more left in us......
roostersgal4eva
5 Sep 2007, 18:55
Please beat the Crows - I have no concious in wanting them or port beaten (unless they are playing Collingwood!)
It will be unbearable if they win - It is already!!! :eek:
Please beat the Crows - I have no concious in wanting them or port beaten (unless they are playing Collingwood!)
It will be unbearable if they win - It is already!!! :eek:
Why don't you move.. lol?
roostersgal4eva
5 Sep 2007, 19:15
Why don't you move.. lol?
two words - I wish
Besides Id miss my beloved Adelaide United too much :p