View Full Version : Best Hawthorn Moments for the year!

Leather Poisoning
4 Sep 2007, 10:03
It's been a season of many more ups than downs, and I thought I'd list a few here, because more than anything, our team has made this a really fun, exciting season:

1. When Roughy kicked into the man on the mark and it bounced into Buddy's hands and Buddy snapped a goal from 45m out. (against Essendon :thumbsu:)

2. Croady's mark on Jonothan Brown. Brown is one of the best players in the league, and Croad worked his arse off all day. This mark was his reward.

3. Ozzie's speccy near the goal square in the Carlton game - the one where he landed and it caused internal bleeding. He can be a frustrating player, but when he's focused, he is SUCH an asset to our team it's not funny.

4. Any of Hodge's 6 goals against the doggies.

5. Wins against WCE and Port Adelaide were both really inspiring - I think the win against West Coast was the point that made me officially excited about our chances in 2007.

6. Buddy's banana goal against Brisbane.

7. The INTENSITY of the Collingwood game which saw us come out on top.

8. Browny's fib. :p

Any others?

Mojo
4 Sep 2007, 10:15
It's been a season of many more ups than downs, and I thought I'd list a few here, because more than anything, our team has made this a really fun, exciting season:

1. When Roughy kicked into the man on the mark and it bounced into Buddy's hands and Buddy snapped a goal from 45m out. (against Essendon :thumbsu:)

2. Croady's mark on Jonothan Brown. Brown is one of the best players in the league, and Croad worked his arse off all day. This mark was his reward.

3. Ozzie's speccy near the goal square in the Carlton game - the one where he landed and it caused internal bleeding. He can be a frustrating player, but when he's focused, he is SUCH an asset to our team it's not funny.

5. Wins against WCE and Port Adelaide were both really inspiring - I think the win against West Coast was the point that made me officially excited about our chances in 2007.

Any others?

9. The 'ugly' St Kilda match

10. Buddy's 9 goals against Essendon (Buddy Show)

They're probably the main ones, but I remember Browny's goal in the 4th quarter of the Richmond game, where he ran half the field.

The Collingwood game was just awesome, that was the 'match of the year' imo.. ;)

A couple of good quarters:

The 4th quarter against WC

3rd quarter against Brisbane

2nd quarter against Port

Every quarter against Carlton.. :p

And even the NAB cup game against Melbourne was exciting because you knew we were progressing and could see something in 2007!

Leather Poisoning
4 Sep 2007, 10:25
And even the NAB cup game against Melbourne was exciting because you knew we were progressing and could see something in 2007!

Yeah good call Mojo - I love the way Clarkson and co take every game seriously. The last 4 wins of last season were because everyone else was starting to take it easy. We always play our guts out in the NAB cup.

Love the 'no win too small' attitude.

Cynic
4 Sep 2007, 10:33
Hodge's 100th.

cambo39
4 Sep 2007, 10:57

Any others?

Crawf's Army Award winner against PA - went back in three times
superb

drunk_in_public
4 Sep 2007, 11:27
My 3 favourite moments

3: the absolute DEMOLITION we put onto the blues, They were trying before we hammered them, after that game they realised they needed kruezer and the tank begun.

2: The intensity of the game against collingwood. Was my favourite game of the year.

1: Buddys day out against our bitches. Beautiful in every way.

WheresHawka
4 Sep 2007, 14:32
One highlight from last weeks game.

Youngy coming in off the square at the centre bounce, taking his eyes off the footy and taking one of the Sydney guys out. Don't remember the Swans player but I did chuckle at the hard man of the Hawks :)

That being said the 3rd Qtr of the Eagles game at Tassie is my highlight......a chance to finally give it to the Eagles supporters!!

Adelaide Hawk
4 Sep 2007, 14:59
This weekend, when we beat the Crows at the Telstra Dome.

Mervyn Beasley
4 Sep 2007, 17:26

Any others?
Dont mean to be pedantic but Ossie did that against the pies.

In the tradition of Before the Game my favorite moment was Hodgeys 60 metre goal on the run early in the last qtr to put the nail in the coffin of the Crows!!!

lethalselbow
4 Sep 2007, 18:03
4. When we beat Adelaide in the elimination final.

3. TBA

2. TBA

1. TBA

:thumbsu:

anti.
4 Sep 2007, 18:05
round 22 because i won a dickload of cash on the swans.

Leather Poisoning
4 Sep 2007, 18:10

Maybe you can go buy yourself some mates with all that cash.

anti.
4 Sep 2007, 18:21
Maybe you can go buy yourself some mates with all that cash.

good one!!

Adelaide Hawk
4 Sep 2007, 18:28

Whose dick was it? You obviously don't have one. BTW, I'd be more worried about your bunch of crocks knocking off Port this week than trolling Hawks supporters you Eagles wanker.

anti.
4 Sep 2007, 18:31
Whose dick was it? You obviously don't have one. BTW, I'd be more worried about your bunch of crocks knocking off Port this week than trolling Hawks supporters you Eagles wanker.

yeah that's just a really dumb thing to say ay.

bunch of crocks?? myeah ok, is that why we have a double chance and you guys are playing elimination finals. dont worry about us, we've got runs on the board and know what it takes. you're guys on the other hand......

Leather Poisoning
4 Sep 2007, 18:39

bunch of crocks?? myeah ok, is that why we have a double chance and you guys are playing elimination finals. dont worry about us, we've got runs on the board and know what it takes. you're guys on the other hand......

Only morons and politicians stay where they're not wanted.

Are you still here?

anti.
4 Sep 2007, 18:40
im a politician.

Leather Poisoning
4 Sep 2007, 18:58
im a politician.

:thumbsu:

Gold

croady_fan24
4 Sep 2007, 19:30
Dicko's 200th!:):cool:

keefriffhard
4 Sep 2007, 23:54
im a politician.

And a moron. ;)

Find the shift key Junior. Everything is the same height....

keefriffhard
5 Sep 2007, 00:06
Buddy's nine against the enemy left me damn happy.

Crawf dumping Spider on his butt.

Seeing how happy the team was when Xavier Ellis kicked his first goal gave a glimpse of how close this playing group is and gave me a real sense of pride in our boys.

Having to buy finals tickets this week was pretty special.

Croady's mark was awesome.

Not much said about it, but Tails goal from inside the centre square last week was a fine effort too.

croady_fan24
5 Sep 2007, 00:24
Beating the Cats!

bak2bak8889
5 Sep 2007, 00:36

Not only on the board.... you have the runs in your jocks aswell..... go change,, you STINK!!!!!!!!!!!

chaddles
5 Sep 2007, 01:01
Croady's mark was super special. Franklin was just special all year round. The Essendon game was unbelievable and that banana from along way out.

Hodges
5 Sep 2007, 01:59
Buddy's 9 was my highlight for the year. The game against the Bullsdogs was pretty damn good too - mainly for the sight of Hodgey tearing a game apart.

Another highlight was Thorps debut. Although he was fantastic, the hype leading up to it made it good to watch.

The Collingwood game was our best game of the year (IMO), and definately sticks in the mind. The whole lead up was intense and the game was even more so. Really, really good win. :thumbsu:

borgo
5 Sep 2007, 08:00
Beating Collingwood, Carlton, Essendon and Richmond all in the same year..

The Buddy show at the G

Croady's mark

The win at AAMI

We haven't beaten a premier in the H&A season of the same year since 1994 but we're a pretty good show for that title this year...

WheresHawka
5 Sep 2007, 15:45
We haven't beaten a premier in the H&A season of the same year since 1994 but we're a pretty good show for that title this year...

As we will win the flag I will assume that the loss to Port would be us Beating ourselves (the premier) ;)

Go You Hawkers!

fishbowl
5 Sep 2007, 16:56
Buddy Franklin's year in general. I could do a Top 10 Buddy Moments.

Roughead's game against Carlton.

The Carlton Game as a whole, which encompasses Hodge's 100th and his 4 goals.

The game as a whole against The Bulldogs in Round 21, Hodge's 6 goals, Buddy's 13 shots at goal, Sewell and Mitchell's loads of possessions.

The Collingwood game, The Port Adelaide game at AAMI Stadium. Both Essendon Games.

The game against Geelong in Tassie.

jaaack
5 Sep 2007, 20:38
aside from the ones mentioned, i enjoyed thorps first goal

Hedgehodgy
5 Sep 2007, 20:45
Hodge's 100th.

2nd that, i loved that night!

hodgehighway
5 Sep 2007, 20:45
Buddy's 9 goals unbelievable
Hodge in general
gaining respect in the football world
and the biggest highlight of the year was all the west coast and st kilda supporters shutting up about them recieving the better player out of that 'super' draft of hodge, ball and judd:thumbsu: