View Full Version : P Plater Caught Doing 201km/h

docker_azza
6th September 2007, 16:16
http://www.news.com.au/perthnow/story/0,21598,22373012-2761,00.html
\

Teenager clocked driving 111km/h over speed limit: police

September 06, 2007 12:00pm
A 19-YEAR-old Perth man has been caught driving 111km/h over the speed limit just days after completing his probationary licence period.

Police say they recorded the young driver heading towards them in a Nissan Skyline at 189km/h on the Roe Highway at Midland around 8.30pm yesterday.

As police prepared to stop him, he accelerated to 201km/h in the 90km/h zone.

The driver had finished his probationary licence period four days earlier, police said.

A 19-year-old Swanview man has been charged with reckless driving under Western Australia's hoon legislation, and his car impounded for 48 hours.

He is due to appear in the Midland Magistrates Court at a later date.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Geez, are people really this stupid when they get their licence?.

estibador
6th September 2007, 16:32
I've hit 200 once before on a country highway up north. But thats with no traffic and dead straight road as far as the eye can see. There's no way I'd try it in the city. Some people must have a death wish.

You just hope with people like that (and like me) that if they're gunna hit something it's a tree or a lightpost and not another car.

Barwick17
6th September 2007, 16:38
I've hit 200 once before on a country highway up north. But thats with no traffic and dead straight road as far as the eye can see. There's no way I'd try it in the city. Some people must have a death wish.

You just hope with people like that (and like me) that if they're gunna hit something it's a tree or a lightpost and not another car.
I think most people have to a certain extent but yes, as long as you dont affect anyone's elses life. I spose hitting a tree etc still ruins your family though

shibz_1989
6th September 2007, 16:46
And it's ******s like this guy who are making it hard for us to get our licence. I'm one of the lucky ones, got my second phase before the 100 hour log book came in (it comes in soon) and thank god I did...it's taken me 2 months to do 25 hours!

estibador
6th September 2007, 17:05
I think most people have to a certain extent but yes, as long as you dont affect anyone's elses life. I spose hitting a tree etc still ruins your family though

I was pretty lucky too. Shortly after slowing down I blew a tyre. Wouldn't have liked my chances of keeping the car on the road if it had blown while I was sitting on 200.

Belnakor
6th September 2007, 17:12
Pfft and you guys never did anything stupid when you were 19 right?

estibador
6th September 2007, 17:20

Of course, everyone does.

I usually try to keep my stupidity limited to things that will only hurt myself though.

Underdog
6th September 2007, 17:21
And it's ******s like this guy who are making it hard for us to get our licence. I'm one of the lucky ones, got my second phase before the 100 hour log book came in (it comes in soon) and thank god I did...it's taken me 2 months to do 25 hours!
Unfortunately more hours won't solve this problem. It will help the incompetence of young people on the road but hoons will always be hoons regardless

The stupidity of it is, is that it now makes getting a license a massive burden on the kid and his family...most of which would be good drivers by their 25 hour mark. None of my mates or I had any accidents or broke the law

I expect perhaps a minimal improvement but I also expect an increase of driving without a license.

Underdog
6th September 2007, 17:22

surely there is a difference between picking a fight then speeding at 200km in a 90 zone. I know the area they are talking about and at that speed he is lucky he isnt dead

Kram81
6th September 2007, 17:23
I was pretty lucky too. Shortly after slowing down I blew a tyre. Wouldn't have liked my chances of keeping the car on the road if it had blown while I was sitting on 200.

That's it, even in the bush it has an element of risk, you could hit a Kangaroo or something.

Working in Kalgoorlie a year ago I was laughing the Alston cartoon of the kid caught doing 120km/ph in a school zone, then someone said that was the Apprentice working outside in the workshop!

I feel sorry you guys going for licenses nowdays after hearing from a friend what you now have to do. Still wont stop idiots like this though.

d-mac3276
6th September 2007, 17:26
And this has to do with footy how?

Underdog
6th September 2007, 17:30

this isn't a footy forum

estibador
6th September 2007, 17:31

Do you realise what we made this board for?

shibz_1989
6th September 2007, 17:31

Um...it has nothing to do with footy. That's why it's on the general board...

Stronzo
6th September 2007, 18:09
Footballers drive cars... Der..

Now that I think back it seems very stupid, but I once went 215 down stirling Hwy late at night. I must have been about 19.

Pretty much a once in a lifetime thing to do.

NiGHTFuRY
6th September 2007, 18:29
Where I work I see the end result of stupid driving. It's never ever pretty. Grieving family's are one of the real downers with my workplace. I cannot understand why people still speed, and not just P platers, but peoplin there 20's, 30's,40's whatever... I guess until you have seen what it does or lost someone in your family you never really know. You can't unsee some of th stuff I've seen..... the injuries - just horrific - like a battle field..

Cameron_K
6th September 2007, 18:58
Take away his license for 5 years plus.

A very good mate of mines brother was killed by someone who thought it was cool to be a hoon. It's ****en pathetic :mad:

Cameron_K
6th September 2007, 19:01

So you have no problem with this at all??

Go speak to anyone who has lost a loved one due to actions like this, both when the loved one was at fault and even more so when the person was not at fault at all.

The problem is people will continue to do it as they know the punishment is weak as piss. Get tough on these guys, throw everything you can at them and then more.

docker_azza
6th September 2007, 22:27
Is this you i take it? Please tell me you are not gloating?

Whats you're point?

docker_azza
6th September 2007, 22:48

Not me.

Dyslexic Emo
7th September 2007, 12:41

well this one time at band camp.....

freo heave ho
7th September 2007, 18:59

Stupid? definitely

Dangerous ? I doubt it.
WE used to stick our arms out the window and "flap" them in sequence to pretend the car was flying.
At red lights we used to get out run around the car and get back in, or into each other's cars if we were in a larger group.
Granny bog laps was the other thing- put on a lawn bowls hat and drive around in circles in empty car parks at 5km/h

shibz_1989
7th September 2007, 19:37
Stupid? definitely

Dangerous ? I doubt it.
WE used to stick our arms out the window and "flap" them in sequence to pretend the car was flying.
At red lights we used to get out run around the car and get back in, or into each other's cars if we were in a larger group.
Granny bog laps was the other thing- put on a lawn bowls hat and drive around in circles in empty car parks at 5km/h

Ahahahahaha :D:thumbsu: