View Full Version : Division 2 Grand Final(Thornton-Eildon vs Belgrave)

rosy3
9 Sep 2007, 17:52
Belgrave got over Alex by 13 (I think) points so the granny is a repeat of the semi final.

I'm predicting Thornton/Eildon will benefit from the wide open spaces of the Healesville ground. It will start out a close contest but by the final siren the Boners will have run away, their opposition suffering a bad case of chewy on their boots.

The Belgrave midfield will need close attention but I'm sure Pup will have a couple of tricks up his sleeve to limit their effectiveness. They might play 3-4 men on Lucas again but the Boners will take advantage of that and find a spare man to go if there's a situation where he can't get free.

The Thornton backline are very tight and don't like having goals scored on them and their forward line has some real fire power with plenty of strong options for the opposition to cover.

I'm predicting the Boners will win go one step further than last season and win by 6 goals.

Anyone else willing to play coach by selecting the winner and where the game will be won or lost?

Moin Khan
12 Sep 2007, 14:43
Good luck this week Pup, you guys will have plenty of support on Saturday.

Everyone who is not from Belgrave!

localfootyguru
13 Sep 2007, 22:15
Good luck to Brad and all at the "Boners". Hopefully you can win the flag over the club that always blames everyone else and never looks in their own backyard!

After the whinging by the Belgrave coach the other week in their loss to Thornton Eildon my hatred and dislike for them has even heightened. I can't stand people that look for excuses!!

Personally I think the "Boners" will be too strong and quick for the somewhat "old" Belgrave team that may find it difficult to keep up on the wide expanses of the Healesville ground.

wmat4
14 Sep 2007, 17:43
i know this isnt really anything to do with this thread, but how do u guys feel about Yea moving from the Kyabram District footy league to your own??

Doona2
15 Sep 2007, 14:54
Thornton 4.4 (28) leading Belgrave 2.4 (16)

Doona2
15 Sep 2007, 15:26
Brad Coller goals - Thornton 9.7 (61) to Belgrave 3.5 (23)

Doona2
15 Sep 2007, 15:58
Ten minutes into the 3rd term and Coller's 2nd goal takes it to 12.8 (80) to Belgrave's 3.5 (23). Belgrave haven't goaled since the early stages of the 2nd quarter.

Ryan Hall boots his 3rd . . . . . . Joffa get the gold jacket out as the Boners are on fire!!!!

Doona2
15 Sep 2007, 16:52
Siren sounds and it's Thornton by a massive 98 points, 22.11 to 6.9.

Congratulations to Brad Coller and the Thornton Eildon Football Club

Valley Spy
16 Sep 2007, 15:57
What a fizzer! Belgrave where never in it. Even on the rare occasions they had an inside 50 the ball just came straight back out. The Thornton big names may have stood out to most but I thought John Elliott in the ruck was outstanding all day. Fisher very unlucky not to get the BOG medal. Congratulatons to all involved, were the best team all year.

RustyHawk
16 Sep 2007, 23:02
Final Division 2 Ladder 2007 season

YVMDFL - Division Two » Commodore Press Seniors
Ladder & Last Round Results - printed Sunday, 16th of September, 2007.
Source http://yvmdfl.vcfl.com.au
Powered by Interfuse (www.interfuse.com.au).
A Major Sponsor, and Technology & Marketing Partner of the Worksafe VCFL.

:: Team Pld Won Lost Drawn Byes For Agst % Pts
Thornton Eildon. 18 13 3 0 2 2236 1180 189.49% 52
Alexandra......... 18 13 3 0 2 1928 1071 180.02% 52
Belgrave.......... 18 11 4 1 2 1906 1241 153.59% 46
Yarra Glen........ 18 9 6 1 2 1973 1304 151.30% 38
Yarra Junction.. 18 9 7 0 2 1754 1600 109.63% 36
Emerald........... 18 6 10 0 2 1616 1543 104.73% 24
South Belgrave 18 6 10 0 2 1666 1743 95.58% 24
Seville............. 18 4 12 0 2 1560 1608 97.01% 16
Powelltown...... 18 0 16 0 2 396 3745 10.57% 0

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

:: Last Round Played: Finals - Week 4 Date: 15/9/2007

Home Team v Away Team
Thornton Eildon 22.11 (143) v Belgrave 6.9 (45)

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ladder & Last Round Results - printed Sunday, 16th of September, 2007. Source http://yvmdfl.vcfl.com.au

pupsta
17 Sep 2007, 22:14
HOW SWEET IT IS!!!! Just takin a breather from the clubrooms and grog.
Takin 4 years but we got there. Most complete game we have played in that time and we lived up to our moto that we started the finals with (No passengers No regrets) 21 winners for the day, very proud of our boys on the day and some great efforts over the last couple of days.
Thanks to everyone who passed on their best wishes before the game and throughout the year.

bourkey_jp
18 Sep 2007, 19:03
so pup, i hear the decision to get promoted has been left in your clubs hands, what division do you and the club want to play in 2008.

pupsta
18 Sep 2007, 20:59
would like to test 1st division but with yea coming in and kinglake a possibility it would be geographically silly to go up. I think also we wouldn't want to go up and just win a couple of games so we would need to get a couple more sponsors to help recruit and push for finals. Where we are now we would be competitive but might not be able to crack the top five. Seen a couple of div 1 games this year and i think we could beat olinda, gembrook, mt evelyn, warby and wandin but the rest would be a big ask.

rosy3
19 Sep 2007, 09:48
Bourkey did you play in the granny? Would be interesting to hear a report from an opposition viewpoint.

VS interesting to hear you describe the game as a fizzer. I wondered how it would be seen from a neutral perspective. To Thornton supporters it was a treat to watch. Poetry in motion to see all 21 players putting in their best games at the same time, and keeping it up for 4 quarters. When you know the injuries some players were out there with you know what the club means to them. There's no way that team was leaving the ground without medals around their neck, it wouldn't have mattered who the opposition was.

Congratulations Pupsta the supercoach. You've built a really balanced team and (hold your head in, don't want it to become swollen :D) the way the boys play is testament to their utmost respect for you and your work at the club, both on and off the ground. The supporters all feel the same way too.

I have signed banners from the Under 17's premierships in 2000-01 and so many of those kids are still playing at the club. 18 of the 2007 GF team are locals who travel from Melbourne each week to train and play which shows how much they love the club.

ThorntonEildon is a wonderful club and you've done us all proud Pup.

( P.S. Thanks for the best birthday present ever. :) )

rosy3
19 Sep 2007, 09:55
Boners bring home bacon

After knocking on the door last year, Thornton-Eildon took the extra step on Saturday by winning the 2007 Commodore Press Second Division premiership at Healesville. Dean Laidley recently made the comment that the Geelong v Kangaroos clash was "men against boys" and a big crowd at Don Rd saw the YVMDFL's version. In a ruthless, disciplined exhibition of precision kicking and marking, the Shinboners annihilated a disappointing Belgrave by 98 points, 22.11 (143) to 6.9 (45). Such was their dominance, Belgrave kicked their third goal 10 minutes into the second quarter, and didn�t kick another until the same stage of the last. No doubt the Magpies would have gone into the match with a degree of confidence, after only losing to Thornton by eleven and six points in their two most recent encounters, but it was a different opposition that confronted them on Saturday, and Belgrave knew it very early on � a lack of direction both on and off the field didn't help their cause either. Thornton's Lucas Smith capped off a stellar finals' series with the BOG medal, and his side now has 30 days to exercise its option of being promoted into first division for 2008.

http://www.yvmdfl.vcfl.com.au/newsitem.asp?id=35094&orgID=88&Oname=Yarra+Valley+Mountain+District+FL&O1c=7&O10c=7

bourkey_jp
19 Sep 2007, 15:13
Rosy, nar i didnt play in the granny as im i still play under 18s, but was there and we(Belgrave) were dissapointing to see the least, but in saying that, thornton deserved to win it, there bigger bodied players used the big healsville ground to perfection.

Big O
19 Sep 2007, 16:52
Not wrong Bourkey about the bigger bodied Thornton Eildon boys, made all the Belly boys (including big Willo) look like a bunch of little school boys when they lined up for the national anthem. The skill level of TE was a class above as well, managed to hit targets easily all day whereas Belly struggled even with little or no pressure. Not sure if TE could afford to financially go up to Div 1 as the money that they must spend on vaseline for Pups thighs would be massive :)

Valley Spy
19 Sep 2007, 22:43
Dont reckon steve elliott would agree after copping a not so subtle elbow to the schnoz and having to spend most of the match on the sidelines. Pretty ordinairy from Wilson.

When you can kick goals from 60m out straight thru the middle like Brad was on the weekend he can use as much vas as he wants. The lad can give it a roost.

Big O
20 Sep 2007, 08:13
Dont reckon steve elliott would agree after copping a not so subtle elbow to the schnoz and having to spend most of the match on the sidelines. Pretty ordinairy from Wilson.

When you can kick goals from 60m out straight thru the middle like Brad was on the weekend he can use as much vas as he wants. The lad can give it a roost.

Shows the strength of TE when you have the luxury of a bloke like him cruising through the midfield. A couple of those booming left foot goals were a pleasure to watch.

cakehole
27 Sep 2007, 10:56
Steve Elliot has a habbit of being belted around in grand finals. You should see the u17 gf of 2000 when he was best afield

pupsta
1 Oct 2007, 16:13
he is tough timmy. maybe you should take a leaf outta his book next year and have a crack at it.

cakehole
3 Oct 2007, 22:50
haha, ill do my best coach. was hard enough watching you guys do it this year. and with 2 years off, the hunger is back

zaco
11 Oct 2007, 21:32
Steve elliot is used to it, in '01 shane and stevie pretty much got the blood rule every week didn't help the other teams out though ended up doing wat we need to in'08... back 2 back

drago from ussr
25 Oct 2007, 16:19
it will be good to see that same oufit run up against a yea side ...... i no for a fact there are some wounds that havent healed there.....

from what ive heard thornton looks strong again in 2008 so look out

Doona2
25 Oct 2007, 19:46
it will be good to see that same oufit run up against a yea side ...... i no for a fact there are some wounds that havent healed there.....

from what ive heard thornton looks strong again in 2008 so look out

Old wounds whatya mean drago? I was in competition for Yea against Thornton in 2003,04 &05 and cant recall anything untoward occuring in any of our matches.

2005 you could really sense the young side was starting to fire up - do agree that was one hell of side that represented the Boners this season, and Im certain a lot of teh credit has to go to Brad who has lead by example for a few years now.

pupsta
29 Oct 2007, 08:34
hey doon, i think we owe the old tigers a fair bit but it's only cos they used to flog us. in the three years we played yea while i was there we only beat yas once and that was in 95 at our ground. lookin forward to playin against them again and also findin out what kinglake are gonna bring to the table.

Doona2
29 Oct 2007, 09:14
hey doon, i think we owe the old tigers a fair bit but it's only cos they used to flog us. in the three years we played yea while i was there we only beat yas once and that was in 95 at our ground. lookin forward to playin against them again and also findin out what kinglake are gonna bring to the table.

Ta mate, thought that was the way it was meant. Must say that loss you gave us at Thornton in '05 was the turning point to our season, reckon we lost one game, the Second Semi by a goal or two after that day. You wont recognise too many when you meet the Tiges, reckon only 4-5 from that side played this season, although I know the committee are doing plenty to try and assemble a handy team for their return to the YVMFL.

pupsta
29 Oct 2007, 21:41
maybe we should have our name on the 95 cup too then mate. do you know who the boys were that are still there? im pretty sure clavarino and leatham were still goin. is big tommy comin back from anglesea or wherever he went?

Doona2
29 Oct 2007, 22:46
maybe we should have our name on the 95 cup too then mate. do you know who the boys were that are still there? im pretty sure clavarino and leatham were still goin. is big tommy comin back from anglesea or wherever he went?

Off the top of my head Id say Cosa, Chrissie Leatham, Dougie Aldous and Frankie were regulars - Budgie, McKinna and Mark Nicholls may have played a handful of games between them. Unsure what Tommy and Cam Scott will do, both played at Apollo Bay as did Benny Milliken.

drago from ussr
12 Feb 2008, 11:03
yeah doona pupsta is right was just saying thornton copped a lot of floggings from yea and we are just hoping to get a few back....