View Full Version : Saturday week @ 4pm?!

dyertribe
9 Sep 2007, 20:58
Channel Nein news stated the home Prelim against Hawthorn/North Melbourne will most likely be on at this time.

Saturday twilight?

Say it ain't so, Vlad!...

Sandola
9 Sep 2007, 20:59
Channel Nein news stated the home Prelim against Hawthorn/North Melbourne will most likely be on at this time.

Saturday twilight?

Say it ain't so, Vlad!...

How stupid!
This must be their idea of easing us all toward a night Grand Final.

eathb
9 Sep 2007, 21:17
I got told it'd be another friday night game for us.

Malibu#27
9 Sep 2007, 21:32
I would have thought that if West Coast dont make it to the prelim that the most logical solution was us on Friday night (to compensate for having to travel if we make GF) and the Vic game saturday afternoon.

Porthos
9 Sep 2007, 21:33
Saturday afternoon is bad enough, but twilight games are utter rubbish.

morell
9 Sep 2007, 21:40
Then in all likelihood I will be unable to attend, and know of hundreds like me.

I'm writing a letter.

Porthos
9 Sep 2007, 21:44
After last week maybe they don't want us to have a good crowd. It certainly looked like us winning was against the AFL script.

dyertribe
9 Sep 2007, 21:51
I'm hoping it's an error/shyte guess.

For starters, with a Victorian team guaranteed to be in it, 10 would have to move its Melbourne News back half an hour in order to show Live, etc.

Power King
9 Sep 2007, 21:52
**** a twilight match

friday night again!!!

Crow Chick
9 Sep 2007, 22:02
Guys, Guys, Guys!

The AFL decided a couple of years ago to play both Prelims on the Saturday to give both winning teams the same number of days preparation for the GF. Never going to be on a Friday night, I prefer Saturday night, but at least 4pm gives country supporters a chance to come down for the game plus most other competitions finals will be over!

Port_GW
9 Sep 2007, 22:04
Guys, Guys, Guys!

The AFL decided a couple of years ago to play both Prelims on the Saturday to give both winning teams the same number of days preparation for the GF. Never going to be on a Friday night, I prefer Saturday night, but at least 4pm gives country supporters a chance to come down for the game plus most other competitions finals will be over!

Still cant see why it cant be Sat night, that still gives country supporters a chance to get there.

dyertribe
9 Sep 2007, 22:18
Guys, Guys, Guys!

The AFL decided a couple of years ago to play both Prelims on the Saturday to give both winning teams the same number of days preparation for the GF. Never going to be on a Friday night,

Wrong.

2004: Port vs St. Kilda, Fri (N) & Geelong vs Brisbane, Sat (N)
2005: St. Kilda vs Sydney, Fri (N) & West Coast vs Adelaide, Sat
2006: Sydney vs Freo, Fri (N) & Adelaide vs West Coast, Sat

There hasn't been an all-Saturday Prelim week since 2003.

Crow Chick
9 Sep 2007, 22:25
Wrong.

2004: Port vs St. Kilda, Fri (N) & Geelong vs Brisbane, Sat (N)
2005: St. Kilda vs Sydney, Fri (N) & West Coast vs Adelaide, Sat
2006: Sydney vs Freo, Fri (N) & Adelaide vs West Coast, Sat

There hasn't been an all-Saturday Prelim week since 2003.

Oops, my bad! Thought the decision was last year, they have been talking about having both Prelim's on the Sat all year.

7pm games are bad for some of my Port supporting family. Game finished at 10pm leave AAMI @ 10.30, then 2.5 hrs home. Also for a lot of young kids a 4pm games means they can be home in time for bed.

As I said I don't like 4pm games, but it suit some :)

Shaucob_Burjan
9 Sep 2007, 22:31
One of the main reasons for the 4pm time is that the Victorian team we're gona play gets enough time to return home after the game during saturday night rather than sunday morning.

Russian
9 Sep 2007, 22:36
One game's going to be Friday night - that won't be us because that would mean the opponents would only have a six day break, which is too much of an advantage for us.
They won't play Saturday night because the visitors wouldn't be able to get home until mid-Sunday, if they won that's too much of a disadvantage over the Friday night winner, especially if that team didn't have to travel.

Whether 4:00, 3:00 or 2:00 is going to be best for our crowd is debatable but Ten would want it as late as possible. Unlike the other two networks they don't really care when the news is, particularly on a Saturday

Porthos
9 Sep 2007, 22:46
One of the main reasons for the 4pm time is that the Victorian team we're gona play gets enough time to return home after the game during saturday night rather than sunday morning.Nice that they care about that but it took 15 years to (almost) guarantee home prelim finals for higher ranked sides.

One wonders if they'd be so worried if it was us travelling to Melbourne.

dyertribe
9 Sep 2007, 22:48
One game's going to be Friday night - that won't be us because that would mean the opponents would only have a six day break, which is too much of an advantage for us.
They won't play Saturday night because the visitors wouldn't be able to get home until mid-Sunday, if they won that's too much of a disadvantage over the Friday night winner, especially if that team didn't have to travel.

Whether 4:00, 3:00 or 2:00 is going to be best for our crowd is debatable but Ten would want it as late as possible. Unlike the other two networks they don't really care when the news is, particularly on a Saturday

4pm would be disastrous for optimum crowd you'd think.

Either make it day (1-2pm), or make it night (7:10 or 7:50pm) - hopefully sanity prevails.

Paralowiepower
9 Sep 2007, 23:09
Don't want to go against the trend, but it's good for me as my son has a cup final at Ramsay Park on Saturday.

Mr Magoo
10 Sep 2007, 04:23
it wouldn't bother me if we were scheduled to play at 10pm ... the bottom line is that we're playing a preliminary final. I would say that the obvious reason that a 4 pm start time would be so that whichever team we play has the option of getting a flight back to Victoria Saturday night.. i might be wrong but that would be the only logical reason i can think off why the AFL would schedule us to play at that time.

Troy Wingate
10 Sep 2007, 09:52
I'd prefer Saturday night as Im working that day but if its a 4pm start I'll be there before the first bounce... just need to knock a bit early ;)

Power 4 Flag
10 Sep 2007, 10:20
"Standing in the way of Port's path to this month's grand final are Hawthorn and the Kangaroos that will play their semi-final at the MCG on Saturday night. The winner will come to AAMI Stadium on Saturday week - most probably for a night preliminary final - determined to play attacking football. "

Article from the Advertiser.

I'm not saying thats certain, but considering Nine don't have AFL rights anymore, why should we listen to them saying this 4:00 bullsh!t? Nearly every year there is a saturday night prelim final I believe. I can't remember there being a twilight one. So I would expect that it would be at 7:00 again, for the AFL to maximise crowd numbers and Ten to get their best ratings.

understudy
10 Sep 2007, 11:04
Whatever time its played is irrelevant. The moaning in this thread is pathetic.

If you are fair dinkum you will be there and lap it up for all its worth.

Paralowiepower
10 Sep 2007, 11:34

I hope we play you in the Grand Final :)

Toots Hibbert
10 Sep 2007, 11:40
Four o'clock would be a stupid time IMO. Make it a proper afternoon game or a proper night game. I don't see how either the crowd or the TV audience would get maximised by a start at four and maybe it's the TV moguls who'll influence the timeslot.

From a spectating perspective those on the eastern side of the ground will be looking into the sun during the first three quarters. From a TV point of view half the ground will be in shade the other bathed in sunlight for a significant period of time. I thought that problem was pretty well handled by the technology on Saturday afternoon but still created some irritation.

As far as the interests of the team goes, the earlier they play the better in terms of getting rest on Saturday night so if we can't get an afternoon game the next best would be a 4 pm start.

I'll be there regardless.

DiscoStu
10 Sep 2007, 11:58
I can see why the AFL would want to do this:

Imagine the TV.....

Our game starts at 4:30pm Melbourne time, finishing at around 7:30, go straight to the other prelim (Geelong -v- whoever at the MCG) pre-game at 7:30pm for a 7:50(ish) start.

Still sucks though.

understudy
10 Sep 2007, 12:00
I hope we play you in the Grand Final :)

I hope we play in the Grand Final full stop :)

Paralowiepower
10 Sep 2007, 12:05
From a spectating perspective those on the eastern side of the ground will be looking into the sun during the first three quarters. From a TV point of view half the ground will be in shade the other bathed in sunlight for a significant period of time. I thought that problem was pretty well handled by the technology on Saturday afternoon but still created some irritation.

Now now Toots, your starting to sound like a crow supporter :p

Powerstufff
10 Sep 2007, 12:09

If you are fair dinkum you will be there and lap it up for all its worth.Totally agree.

Mr Magoo
10 Sep 2007, 12:11
Four o'clock would be a stupid time IMO. Make it a proper afternoon game or a proper night game. I don't see how either the crowd or the TV audience would get maximised by a start at four and maybe it's the TV moguls who'll influence the timeslot.

As far as the interests of the team goes, the earlier they play the better in terms of getting rest on Saturday night so if we can't get an afternoon game the next best would be a 4 pm start.

I'll be there regardless.

don't forget to slip, slop & slap then :D

bucksfan1987
10 Sep 2007, 12:22
Just a quick one. When will the AFL announce Prelim Final times? Why aren't they able to announce them now? They know that Geelong and Port will be hosting the finals and know the teams that they can possibly face. The Geelong Prelim will surely be Fri night as their opponents play Friday night and ours will be Sat night as our opponents play Sat night.

Just don't see why they can't announce the time slots straight away to allow people to plan ahead? They can do it for the first round of the finals so why not the third round?

shaz63
10 Sep 2007, 13:13

I agree.. No matter what time the game is played all power supporters should be there.. I know that some are working and will be there at the start or by quarter time but they are making the effort to turn up no matter what time the game is.

bucksfan1987
10 Sep 2007, 13:44

True. But the earlier they announce the time the better IMO. Gives people that have other commitments time to re-arrange so they can make it to the game.

Shane_Mag
10 Sep 2007, 15:52
thats a weird time but it doesnt bother me cause ill be there rain or shine hehe.

dyertribe
10 Sep 2007, 16:25

Why didn't I think of that? My god man, you're brilliant!

I'd hazard a guess to say the only people complaining about 4pm twilight would be the people who can't possibly get to the game due to other commitments, not due to a trifling cosmetic preference of time.

Porthos
10 Sep 2007, 17:02
No, I'm complaining because I like to be able to watch the football without ridiculous shadows on the field, or the sun being in my eyeline for most of the second half.

4pm is a stupid time for a football match.

morell
10 Sep 2007, 19:26

If you are fair dinkum you will be there and lap it up for all its worth.Get fricked, I play amatuer footy at 2.10pm.

I know its hard to believe, but some people like to have lives outside of their football clubs.

Powerstufff
10 Sep 2007, 19:44
Get fricked, I play amatuer footy at 2.10pm.

I know its hard to believe, but some people like to have lives outside of their football clubs.Surely this is over now, including SAAFL finals?

morell
10 Sep 2007, 20:10
Surely this is over now, including SAAFL finals?Ah sheet! I forgot that we (Port) have the week off.

Sweeeet! :thumbsu:

Its SAAFL GF week this week. I am a secret ring in for a B grade team .... shhhh!

Powerstufff
10 Sep 2007, 22:42
Ah sheet! I forgot that we (Port) have the week off.

Sweeeet! :thumbsu:

Its SAAFL GF week this week. I am a secret ring in for a B grade team .... shhhh!Ah well I'm a week out too. I thought this week past was SAAFL GF week. Our club missed out on finals by one game. :(

Paralowiepower
10 Sep 2007, 23:14
Ah well I'm a week out too. I thought this week past was SAAFL GF week. Our club missed out on finals by one game. :(

Im off to watch the mighty Roys at Kilburn this Saturday.

morell
10 Sep 2007, 23:22
Im off to watch the mighty Roys at Kilburn this Saturday.Yeah, saw Fitzroy will be going up again. Harty still going around? Kicked another ton this year?

Ported
10 Sep 2007, 23:39
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,,22395410-23211,00.html

Williams urges AFL for day prelim
By Daniel Brettig
September 10, 2007

PORT Adelaide coach Mark Williams urged the AFL to schedule his side's preliminary final for Saturday afternoon to ensure the other grand finalist does not gain a headstart.

The league has flagged that the match between Geelong and the winner of West Coast and Collingwood will be played at the MCG on the night of Friday week, leaving the Saturday or Saturday night slots for the Power.

An AFL spokesman said the league was likely to grant Williams his wish.

He said the need for a Saturday night flight home by the travelling team meant the start time for the preliminary would have to fall between 2pm and 4.30pm.

Saturday afternoon has historically been a bad timeslot for Port's home games, which generally attract fewer spectators than matches on Friday night, Saturday night or Sunday.

But Williams said it was simply unfair to expect one team to start with a full day longer to prepare for the grand final.

"It should be in the day, the other teams are playing on Friday night, we want to have almost as much advantage, whoever wins, to play in the grand final," he said.

Port were ironically the beneficiary of a similar schedule in 2004, when they defeated St Kilda on the Friday night and then sat back while the Brisbane Lions were forced to wait until Saturday for their victory over Geelong at the MCG.

Not surprisingly, the Power took advantage of the extra hours and ran out winners in the grand final the following Saturday.

AAP

Oh Dan......

Paralowiepower
11 Sep 2007, 01:13
Yeah, saw Fitzroy will be going up again. Harty still going around? Kicked another ton this year?

Yep, still going around. Pretty sure he didn't get the ton though, he missed a few games this year.

Jose_Reyes
11 Sep 2007, 02:51
so u guys are resigned to the fact its satday arvo? im an adelaide based geelong supporter and i wanna know ASAP and confirmed that were playin fri night so i can book my flights!!

Truetiger
11 Sep 2007, 11:12
Although iam victorian and i dont follow eather side that will be playing. Iam coming over for the game. I dont like a 4pm start it should be played at 2:30pm with the geelong game played under lights at the mcg on the same day. 4pm start wtf is that really.

Ford Fairlane
11 Sep 2007, 11:22
so u guys are resigned to the fact its satday arvo? im an adelaide based geelong supporter and i wanna know ASAP and confirmed that were playin fri night so i can book my flights!!

The club has sent out an email which states that the AFL has announced Port Adelaide's 2nd Preliminary Final (against Kangaroos or Hawthorn) will be on Saturday 22 September (time TBC) at AAMI Stadium.

Truetiger
11 Sep 2007, 11:34
The club has sent out an email which states that the AFL has announced Port Adelaide's 2nd Preliminary Final (against Kangaroos or Hawthorn) will be on Saturday 22 September 2:45pm at AAMI Stadium.

Now thats how it should be

RussellEbertHandball
11 Sep 2007, 14:46
The club has sent out an email which states that the AFL has announced Port Adelaide's 2nd Preliminary Final (against Kangaroos or Hawthorn) will be on Saturday 22 September (time TBC) at AAMI Stadium.

The preliminary final ticket info page says;
2nd PRELIMINARY FINAL
PORT ADELAIDE V KANGAROOS/HAWTHORN
Fri/Sat Sep 21/22, time TBC

The email sent out yesterday says;
The AFL has announced Port Adelaide's 2nd Preliminary Final (against Kangaroos or Hawthorn) will be on Saturday 22 September (time TBC) at AAMI Stadium.

Anyone got a link to the AFL website that confirms this.