View Full Version : I like to cook...
Thai beef salad on the menu tonight...Washed down with a couple of Coopers Sparkling Ales...
What's on at your house?
All those suggesting a bottle of Kan Tong shall be taken out and flogged :)
prattsta
10 Sep 2007, 17:22
I'll be making Pho tonight, for those who don't know what it is, you suck. Seriously.
But can you pronounce it?
Bradesmaen
10 Sep 2007, 19:03
I dont cook... thats what parents are for :p (even though I am 21 ;))
prattsta
10 Sep 2007, 19:06
But can you pronounce it?
I try, but usually i just point at the menu and say "number 11 please".
You can pronounce it incorrectly, like 'foe' and people generally know what you mean. Whenever i try say it correctly, like 'fur' without the 'r' (couldn't think of a better example) people just look at me weird...
ImperialPurple
10 Sep 2007, 19:19
Dunno what we're having yet... but I better get onto it. I hate cooking, so i always leave it till the last minute hoping hubby will do it... and he usually does as he enjoys it. But right now he's playing Monopoly with the kids while I'm mooching off on BF... so I think it will fall to me. :(
Pasta puttanesca might be the go... quick, easy and delicious! :thumbsu:
Stronzo
10 Sep 2007, 19:36
mmmm coopers sparkling ale...
I try, but usually i just point at the menu and say "number 11 please".
You can pronounce it incorrectly, like 'foe' and people generally know what you mean. Whenever i try say it correctly, like 'fur' without the 'r' (couldn't think of a better example) people just look at me weird...
I know what you mean.
Phar is about as close as I can get...
Dunno what we're having yet... but I better get onto it. I hate cooking, so i always leave it till the last minute hoping hubby will do it... and he usually does as he enjoys it. But right now he's playing Monopoly with the kids while I'm mooching off on BF... so I think it will fall to me. :(
Pasta puttanesca might be the go... quick, easy and delicious! :thumbsu:
Dinners ready to go...just gotta BBQ the marinating steak...witing for the wife to come back from the outlaws, Coopers in hand :) Happy as a seafloor full of clams I am.
How do you explain that one to the kids?
"Children, this is the pasta mostly cooked by those ladies who do delicate favours for men"? :D
ImperialPurple
10 Sep 2007, 19:47
Dinners ready to go...just gotta BBQ the marinating steak...witing for the wife to come back from the outlaws, Coopers in hand :) Happy as a seafloor full of clams I am.
How do you explain that one to the kids?
"Children, this is the pasta mostly cooked by those ladies who do delicate favours for men"? :D
haha... :D
No I never really have to get into explanations, I can't get past the "just be quiet and eat it - anchovies are good for you" conversation... ;)
haha... :D
No I never really have to get into explanations, I can't get past the "just be quiet and eat it - anchovies are good for you" conversation... ;)
I try that with my 3 month old daughter...she just can't get the idea of how the anchovies come out of the boob though :p
Reveler
10 Sep 2007, 22:54
steak and salad, cheap and delicious.
shibz_1989
10 Sep 2007, 23:14
Yeah...I'm lazy. Just grabbed something from work (free meal for staying back for free...long story).
Quarter pounder without pickles with chicken sauce...yuum :thumbsu:
ImperialPurple
11 Sep 2007, 18:24
crap... it's that time again....
what to have for dinner??? :o
dont bowl there
11 Sep 2007, 18:47
crap... it's that time again....
what to have for dinner??? :o
Cant go wrong with some steaks and salad.
Dyslexic Emo
11 Sep 2007, 19:05
it's pizza time again at casa dyslexicia,
not much to go with unfortunately...cheese pizza it is then....oh wait i got basil in the garden....margharita's it is!
now where's that waiter with my wine???
Reveler
11 Sep 2007, 19:36
spag bol and garlic bread with a side salad consisting of lettuce, cheese and olives.
Dyslexic Emo
11 Sep 2007, 19:42
Look at us, with all italian food, pasta putanesca, pizza, spag bol...do you reckon it has anything to do with the italian flag on our jumpers?
Stronzo
11 Sep 2007, 20:13
Look at us, with all italian food, pasta putanesca, pizza, spag bol...do you reckon it has anything to do with the italian flag on our jumpers?
si, certo.
Dyslexic Emo
11 Sep 2007, 20:19
si, certo.
how'd you go with that assignment stronz? did you mange to get it in?
It was touch and go with mine today actually only just managed to get it in before the grumpy granny's at the front counter leave to watch bold and the beautiful
docker_azza
11 Sep 2007, 21:34
I don't cook as I still live at home.
The last proper meal I cooked myself was Singapore Noodles.
docker_azza
11 Sep 2007, 21:35
Don't live in Fremantle or just south of it I take it?
Shepherds Pie tonight...very nice
shibz_1989
11 Sep 2007, 22:54
Salmon patties or something tonight...but I'm making chicken and spinach lasagne tomorrow night :thumbsu:
Freo Big Fella
11 Sep 2007, 23:46
Chicken Dijon.
ImperialPurple
12 Sep 2007, 08:18
Cant go wrong with some steaks and salad.
I'm a vego....
Dyslexic Emo
12 Sep 2007, 09:33
Don't live in Fremantle or just south of it I take it?
Used to live in East Fremanlte for a while but have since moved to north of the river to Nedlands/Crawley, why's that?
I'm a vego....
Do anchovies not have feelings?
Dyslexic Emo
12 Sep 2007, 10:47
LOL!:thumbsu::D
ImperialPurple
12 Sep 2007, 13:50
Oh... you wound me deeply.... :(
the occasional bit of fish that I choose to eat now and again has just been permanently removed from the menu... :p
Oh... you wound me deeply.... :(
the occasional bit of fish that I choose to eat now and again has just been permanently removed from the menu... :p
Heh heh...:D
GentlemanJeff
12 Sep 2007, 16:32
I'm a vego....
Hitler was also a vego.
There is something about vegetarians that I dont like.
ImperialPurple
12 Sep 2007, 16:38
Oh dear. :D
Bloody Vegetarians...
Carrots one day...Poland the next...
Dyslexic Emo
12 Sep 2007, 17:32
Bloody Vegetarians...
ROFL!!:thumbsu::D
someone get some water this mans on fire
ImperialPurple
12 Sep 2007, 18:35
Bloody Vegetarians...
See that's the easy part... the carrots and the Poles, the peas and the Czechs and the broccoli and the French ... but when you try and balance that with a bit of protein and take down a few Russians with your tofu... things get difficult and ultimately the war is lost. That's when the anchovies come into their own.
You see the trouble with vegos is that we are all pinko, leftie, hippy, beatnik, homosympathising, tree-hugging, refugee-supporting, land-rights loving, green-voters.
A lot like Hitler really.
docker_azza
12 Sep 2007, 21:56
Used to live in East Fremanlte for a while but have since moved to north of the river to Nedlands/Crawley, why's that?
I haven't lived down that way but my point was that (without being a racist)there is a high proportion of Southern Europeans living down there, hence their tastes in food.
Dyslexic Emo
12 Sep 2007, 22:08
I haven't lived down that way but my point was that (without being a racist)there is a high proportion of Southern Europeans living down there, hence their tastes in food.
pharkin no worries pharkin, where's my money pharkin....lol (if you havent seen wogboy then don't worry about that)
MissMel
13 Sep 2007, 00:25
well just thinking bout what im going to cook for dinner tomorrow night and might just go with the good old Surf and Turf, (cant beat steak with prawns) with vegies. yum
Reveler
13 Sep 2007, 09:37
We had bangers and mash last night. it was good stuff!
Four 'n' Twenty tonight with a salad...Call me a bogan, but I like them :thumbsu:
shibz_1989
13 Sep 2007, 22:46
I made garlic, honey and bbq sauce marinated chops lastnight. And also marinated my sister's sausages (she's a fusspot) in the process...much to her disgust :D
Was verry nice.
Made a deluxe beef and Guinness pie last night.
Chicken, chilli and basil stir fry tonight
Curry in the slow cooker:thumbsu:
Slow cookers are the business.
You use yours much Kram?
peppy la pew
19 Sep 2007, 16:12
Made a deluxe beef and Guinness pie last night.
Chicken, chilli and basil stir fry tonight
When you get bored Lach ,I'll have that recipie thanks very much :thumbsu:
No Probs.
I'll try and put it on tonight...
It's a bit different as it has sliced potatoes on top instead of pastry but I really like it.
Slow cookers are the business.
You use yours much Kram?
About once every week or so. Good for soups as well, nice cheap/easy meals especially in winter.
ImperialPurple
19 Sep 2007, 19:05
Out for dinner tonight... they're the nights I like best. :thumbsu:
shibz_1989
19 Sep 2007, 20:57
I made nachos for the family, but I didn't feel hungry at the time. Now I'm thinking of getting Subway...gotta love having my licence :thumbsu::D
summerthebat
19 Sep 2007, 22:07
Wandered down for some fish and chips where I will eat it over 'Velvet Cacoons' new record.
Freo Big Fella
20 Sep 2007, 09:36
The housemates had been complaining that I was clogging their arteries too much, so I did chicken brest stuffed with pineapple and onions with a side of chips. Turned out quite good.
Rubber Pants
20 Sep 2007, 22:48
Cooking up Chicken Rendang.
Was a packet one from the asian supermarket, I love those places. And I will also be having papadums with it.
Is there anything papadums don't go with?
Freo Big Fella
21 Sep 2007, 15:24
Had six pieces of my mates Jamaican Jerk Chicken last night.
Never again, felt like I was going to shit blood this morning. Those Habaneros are lethal.
shibz_1989
21 Sep 2007, 16:32
Had six pieces of my mates Jamaican Jerk Chicken last night.
Never again, felt like I was going to shit blood this morning. Those Habaneros are lethal.
Baha at least it was edible! My sister tried to make lasagne lastnight. Instead of have a layer of pasta, meat, pasta, meat, pasta she thought the "three layers" meant a layer of meat then three layers of pasta on that. Needless to say, I walked into the kitchen to see the dish with burnt pasta on top baha. :D
My sister tried to make lasagne lastnight. Instead of have a layer of pasta, meat, pasta, meat, pasta she thought the "three layers" meant a layer of meat then three layers of pasta on that. Needless to say, I walked into the kitchen to see the dish with burnt pasta on top baha. :D
Finding a female born in the eighties or later that can actually cook is like finding a horse with wings.
Best thing about where I currently live ...is you can cook up an absolute storm (and then call for Ave to come and do the dishes).
She loves it as most Westerners dont cook
I love it as I dont mind cooking bit hate doing the dishes
Coming home is going to be a shock isn't it?
shibz_1989
21 Sep 2007, 18:44
Finding a female born in the eighties or later that can actually cook is like finding a horse with wings.
In her defence, she's only 13. But I'll admit that I can't really cook. Moving out in a few weeks so not the best thing...
(i) Buy a wok ....you can cook anything in a wok
(ii) learn how to roast a chicken and veggies ....chuck a chook in, zap your tatters ...chuck them in with an hour to go....feed yourself for a few days off that
(iii) learn pizza huts phone number
Easy!
estibador
22 Sep 2007, 19:45
(iv) just pinch your dinner from work every night before you knock off, shibz.
I worked in a bakery/deli for 6 months when I was 17. I managed to supply myself with breakfast and lunch every day without spending a cent.
ImperialPurple
22 Sep 2007, 19:49
Curry tonight. Chicken for husband and two younger kids... tofu for eldest kid and me. :thumbsu:
Bloody hippies :D
Chicken drumstick curry here too
ImperialPurple
23 Sep 2007, 09:55
Bloody hippies :D
I thought I was a fascist... :confused:
shibz_1989
23 Sep 2007, 20:30
(iv) just pinch your dinner from work every night before you knock off, shibz.
Maccas = bad. I've put on weight since going full time...plus, I'm sick of the bloody crap haha. Yet, I still eat it :confused:
estibador
23 Sep 2007, 20:35
Maccas = bad. I've put on weight since going full time...plus, I'm sick of the bloody crap haha. Yet, I still eat it :confused:
Be careful, that shit's addictive. Have you seen Supersize Me?
If you haven't, you should.
shibz_1989
23 Sep 2007, 20:40
Be careful, that shit's addictive. Have you seen Supersize Me?
If you haven't, you should.
Haha of course I've seen it. There are also plenty of people who come through the drive thru who look like they're supersized...
Dyslexic Emo
1 Oct 2007, 18:37
There are also plenty of people who come through the drive thru who look like they're supersized...
I knew I should have put pants on.....dammit:p
oh and in response to earlier suggestions for when you move out
(v) BBQ...in this weather, you'd be mad not to.
NiGHTFuRY
1 Oct 2007, 19:10
Spagetti Bolognase tonight.... I lost the vote..
Tomorrow my turn for sure and I think I may cook some Indian... Korma or perhaps some butter chicken.....
Dyslexic Emo
1 Oct 2007, 19:38
Pisana Pecenica/pork tenderloins Stubica Style stuffed with prunes and served with home made pasta.
uni break for a week so after a big weekend decided that might spend a night in
(v) BBQ...in this weather, you'd be mad not to.
Had one last night, pork, chicken wings and prawns - perfect weather:thumbsu:
If anyone has any good/simple recipes and can be bothered - post them.
freocynic
8 Oct 2007, 02:23
This is really simple, taste's great AND is quick, like less than 5 minutes. Although its really only a snack rather than a meal...
1. Buy a 1 kilo bag of peeled de-veined pink prawns (about $17 from local IGA) & keep in freezer.
2. Defrost a handful (10-15) in microwave for 2 mins. Prawns don't need to be fully defrosted, some may still have a bit of ice on them. Let them sit in the bowl for a minute in the water that is now in bowl from defrosting them. Push any prawns with ice still on them to the bottom of the bowl to dip in water and melt off any ice.
3. Crank up fry pan on high heat with some olive oil, give prawns about 30 seconds to a minute MAX adding in a splash of Worcestershire sauce as soon the prawns hit the pan. Turn all prawns once to get the flavour of the sauce on both sides.
4. Enjoy eating
Of course this goes well on a steak, or can be added to a salad, but lately for me its just been a snack on its own.
Its snacktacular :cool: