View Full Version : Why is Palmer not a top two given??

roostertalk
11 Sep 2007, 11:23
Surely this bloke has more runs on the board then most. Big Motor, skillful and ball magnet. Absolutely dominated the carnival and has had a few best ons in the WAFL. I don't understand why this form line isnt considered as good as any?!? Could someone elaborate, FWIW I'd be stoked if the tiges took him at 2. He seemed to deal with a tag a lot better then Cotchin did.

Cyborg_
11 Sep 2007, 11:51
Surely this bloke has more runs on the board then most. Big Motor, skillful and ball magnet. Absolutely dominated the carnival and has had a few best ons in the WAFL. I don't understand why this form line isnt considered as good as any?!? Could someone elaborate, FWIW I'd be stoked if the tiges took him at 2. He seemed to deal with a tag a lot better then Cotchin did.

He played in a dominant team at the U18s and was not tagged. He is over eyear older than Morton and Cotchin. He is a 180cm well built kid who breaks tackles at the U18s because of that. In the WAFL both he and Masten have got a lot of the ball. Just like Moss did last year. The WAFL is a pretty open affair for runners.

Morton and Cotchin are better kicks on either side and much better overhead. Taller, younger and more skilled.

Palmer is more ready to go right now. Its just the height/bodysize/age factors that might mean in 3 or 4 yerars that some MIGHT have passed him by.

Having said all that I do not think just because someone may be better in the future that they will be. Masten and Palmer I think will be very good AFL players. Morton and Cotchin could be better but I do not think thats a given.

TFLUA-Tiger
11 Sep 2007, 12:17
Palmer was not much more than a 10 + prospect in the draft before the Champs.

Sure he had a good Champs, but does that mean you go from being outside everyone's top 10 to top 2.

Simply, No.

Would much prefer Cotchin

Cyborg_
11 Sep 2007, 12:32
Palmer was not much more than a 10 + prospect in the draft before the Champs.

Sure he had a good Champs, but does that mean you go from being outside everyone's top 10 to top 2.

Simply, No.

Would much prefer Cotchin

I am not sure I care where someone was rated in June. Its how good they are now and there future prospects that count. Palmer played very well in the U18s and seems to have continued this on after it.

juddy_Like
11 Sep 2007, 12:32
Palmer was a thrid rounder before the champs.

As for the question at hand, Palmer might well be a top two given. Just the people on here dont seem to rate him as highly as Cotchin.

BluesRules
11 Sep 2007, 13:59
Don't be surprised if he slides down to the latter part of the first round. He could be the Jetta of this years draft and be the big slider.

sinepari
11 Sep 2007, 14:01
Jetta was far more restricted though. He didnt have the engine, (and some would say aptitude) to play a multitude of roles.

Rhys has a great attitude, work ethic and impressive past 3 months behind him.

HBF
11 Sep 2007, 14:36
Rhys is a great little player. One thing that is impressive about him is that he has clean hands, and real one-grab midfielder. Backs his leg speed, and has that X-Factor that coaches just love.

One down side I can see, and this is like most lefties, is that doesn't use his right very much, and when he does, it looks awkward and ungainly. Opposition clubs would pick up on that very quickly, but still, a top 10 selection this year for sure.

notting18
11 Sep 2007, 16:45
One hot day doesn't mean that it is summer....

Gopies 2002
11 Sep 2007, 17:03
Don't be surprised if he slides down to the latter part of the first round. He could be the Jetta of this years draft and be the big slider.

He might also be the Thomas/Pendlebury.

I doubt even the clubs have firmed their draft orders at this stage.

over the top
11 Sep 2007, 18:19
Rhys is a great little player. One thing that is impressive about him is that he has clean hands, and real one-grab midfielder. Backs his leg speed, and has that X-Factor that coaches just love.

One down side I can see, and this is like most lefties, is that doesn't use his right very much, and when he does, it looks awkward and ungainly. Opposition clubs would pick up on that very quickly, but still, a top 10 selection this year for sure.
rhys has the most x-factor out of anyone ive seen in the draft. he's the type of player that gets fans through the gates. sure cotchin may be skillful as but I would rather watch palmer any day.

The Royal Sampler
11 Sep 2007, 18:35
I think Palmer's excellent WAFL performances post-Champs will see that he goes in the top half of the first round. The pot on him definitely seems to be the lack of a right foot though.

samthemanlonergan
11 Sep 2007, 18:40

What like they have with Lucas?
;)

TGR
11 Sep 2007, 18:43
rhys has the most x-factor out of anyone ive seen in the draft. he's the type of player that gets fans through the gates. sure cotchin may be skillful as but I would rather watch palmer any day.

You should have been at MC labour Park on Sunday. I'd just about pay a full years membership on Cotchins performance that day alone.

vinnie_vegas69
11 Sep 2007, 19:17
Well, the reason he won't go Top 2 is that neither Carlton nor Richmond will draft him that highly.

Maybe he's one of the top 2 players in the draft, but he won't be drafted that high, so it's a moot point...

BluesRules
11 Sep 2007, 19:35

He isn't in the same class as Kreuzer, Cotchin, Morton, Ebert and Masten.

I have seen a lot of Palmer and I think he will be a slider in the draft. I expect him to be selected between 10-15.

Remember he is more than a year older than Cotchin, Ebert and Morton.

sinepari
11 Sep 2007, 19:39
Have you seen Rhys in the WAFL mate?

I'm really uncertain as to where he'll end up. I think I need more time to think about it. I can see him going really early, yet can see him sliding.

BluesRules
11 Sep 2007, 19:52
Have you seen Rhys in the WAFL mate?

I'm really uncertain as to where he'll end up. I think I need more time to think about it. I can see him going really early, yet can see him sliding.

Palmer will be the Jetta of the 2007 draft - The Big Slider.

sinepari
11 Sep 2007, 19:58
Why?

He is rather different to Jetta.

I'm not saying I disagree but I'd like to know why you think that.

To me Rhys has some vital things that usually are missing in sliders: Good attitude,work ethic,fitness-base,proven development/improvement etc.

smithos
11 Sep 2007, 20:00

Jetta had queries on his attitude and the risk of taking him outside WA. Anyone who took him 1st round was getting a guy with enormous talent, but also forgoing an excellent player - such was the breadth of quality in the 06 draft, so he slid because of perceived risk.

Palmer has taken his game to an extremely high level in a short time, so I doubt anyone can question his application to his footy. The only black marks I can see against him are his age - he's a bit older than some of the other fancied blokes and some may think he's improved all he will - his height, and maybe his one-sidedness. But I think overall he's a relatively safe pick given he's got the talent to play AFL now.

BluesRules
11 Sep 2007, 20:27
Jetta had queries on his attitude and the risk of taking him outside WA. Anyone who took him 1st round was getting a guy with enormous talent, but also forgoing an excellent player - such was the breadth of quality in the 06 draft, so he slid because of perceived risk.

Palmer has taken his game to an extremely high level in a short time, so I doubt anyone can question his application to his footy. The only black marks I can see against him are his age - he's a bit older than some of the other fancied blokes and some may think he's improved all he will - his height, and maybe his one-sidedness. But I think overall he's a relatively safe pick given he's got the talent to play AFL now.

You missed my point.

I'm not comparing them as players. All i'm saying is that Palmer will be a slider on draft day like Jetta was. Simple as that. I know they are totally different players.

My point in that this time last year Jetta was talked up as a top 5 pick, but then slipped down the order on draft day. I believe Palmer is currently rated as a top 5 pick (Like Jetta was), but he will also slide down the draft order. :)

dominguez
11 Sep 2007, 21:47
Guaranteed to go top 7 I'd say, looks to be exactly what Fremantle need.

ant555
11 Sep 2007, 21:55

Dont think so. Having 5 or 6 20 plus possesion games in the WAFL after his efforts in the champs will see him go inside the top 10. He wont get past Fremantle's first pick if he is still available then.

Merv
11 Sep 2007, 22:02
He isn't in the same class as Kreuzer, Cotchin, Morton, Ebert and Masten.

I have seen a lot of Palmer and I think he will be a slider in the draft. I expect him to be selected between 10-15.

Remember he is more than a year older than Cotchin, Ebert and Morton.

Not a hope in hell.

Guaranteed to go top 10, possibly top 5

Trump
12 Sep 2007, 04:13

You will take Masten, it's all I hear coming from Freo.

ImperialPurple
12 Sep 2007, 09:31
You will take Masten, it's all I hear coming from Freo.

That'll be difficult if he's gone before our first pick. Which is highly likely.

wizard_9
12 Sep 2007, 13:16

The only way he slips past 7 is if Masten is still on the table for our pick and than i think we will take Masten and leave Palmer.

juddy_Like
12 Sep 2007, 15:40
You missed my point.

I'm not comparing them as players. All i'm saying is that Palmer will be a slider on draft day like Jetta was. Simple as that. I know they are totally different players.

My point in that this time last year Jetta was talked up as a top 5 pick, but then slipped down the order on draft day. I believe Palmer is currently rated as a top 5 pick (Like Jetta was), but he will also slide down the draft order. :)
Who was? Jetta was boarderline Top 10.

Boy from the West
12 Sep 2007, 16:29
The only way he slips past 7 is if Masten is still on the table for our pick and than i think we will take Masten and leave Palmer.

That is what I am hearing also.

ImperialPurple
12 Sep 2007, 16:41
That is what I am hearing also.

You seem to know a lot about the draftees... do you reckon there's any hope whatsoever that Masten will be available at Pick 7?

From what I've seen of Masten and Palmer (a bit), Morton (not much) and what I've heard about Ebert (assuming Cotchin is well and truly gone by pick 7) - I'd say that Freo's needs would be:

Palmer - if they want immediate impact and AFL readiness
Masten - more upside in the longer term
Morton - not as much as we need a real ball winner, not an outside player regardless of what a thing of beauty their skills are
Ebert - best of "everyone else" and a better inside player than Morton

In order, I'd say we'd be looking at (and this is purely a guess of course):

1. Masten
2. Palmer
3. Ebert
4. Morton

Does that seem a reasonable assessment to those more "in the know"? What chance that any of these guys are available at pick 7?

ImperialPurple
12 Sep 2007, 17:29
You seem to know a lot about the draftees... do you reckon there's any hope whatsoever that Masten will be available at Pick 7?

From what I've seen of Masten and Palmer (a bit), Morton (not much) and what I've heard about Ebert (assuming Cotchin is well and truly gone by pick 7) - I'd say that Freo's needs would be:

Morton - not as much as we need a real ball winner, not an outside player regardless of what a thing of beauty their skills are

1. Masten
2. Palmer
3. Ebert
4. Morton

Does that seem a reasonable assessment to those more "in the know"? What chance that any of these guys are available at pick 7?

BTW - I am happy for anyone to answer this question ^^^^^ - not just BoyFromTheWest. :thumbsu:

TFLUA-Tiger
12 Sep 2007, 19:01

1. Masten
2. Palmer
3. Ebert
4. Morton

I agree with what you wrote on Freo's needs.

Another player to through up would be Cyril Rioli. definitely a top chance, great midfielder with pace in spades.

I would have the order of need as:

Masten
Palmer
Ebert
Rioli
Morton

Masten should be gone by Freo's pick, Palmer's 50/50, Ebert is a good chance to be still there, Morton 50/50 and Rioli a very good chance to be available when Freo take their pick.

pinkus maximus
12 Sep 2007, 19:19
id have masten ahead of palmer. palmer is definitely in better form at the moment but masten is all class like murphy from carlton

have not seen enough of ebert or rioli but i wouldnt be unhappy with either

wizard_9
12 Sep 2007, 19:28
I see Morton going before any of the other WA boys because of his versatility and his massive scope for improvment.

Personally from a Freo standpoint my preference list would be like this:
Masten
Palmer
Ebert
Morton

How i see the being drafted though:
Morton
Palmer
Masten
Ebert

Boy from the West
12 Sep 2007, 19:40
Think that Morton will go before Freo pick. Probably not what you want anyway.

With your midfield, you need ball winners - Masten and Palmer both foot the bill.

I love both. Masto has a touch more class and is more inclined to make team mates around him look good. Has a great pair of hands and vision.

Rhysie is a goer who wills himself into games and refuses to leave anything in the tank. Massive mental strength.

Both are genuine gut runners - Masto a fomer champion track and cross country runner and Rhysie with a 16+ beep.

The thing is they both love the hard work. They thrive on it.

Freo prefer Masto.

If they are both available at 7, Masto gets the gig.

ImperialPurple
12 Sep 2007, 19:48
I agree with what you wrote on Freo's needs.

Another player to through up would be Cyril Rioli. definitely a top chance, great midfielder with pace in spades.

I would have the order of need as:

Masten
Palmer
Ebert
Rioli
Morton

Masten should be gone by Freo's pick, Palmer's 50/50, Ebert is a good chance to be still there, Morton 50/50 and Rioli a very good chance to be available when Freo take their pick.

Yeah I almost included Rioli - but I would have thought that at least one of these other guys would be available, and I reckon Rioli would be further down the list. However - I would put the order exactly as you have, with Rioli slotting in before Morton... on a "needs" basis only from a Freo POV.

Think that Morton will go before Freo pick. Probably not what you want anyway.

With your midfield, you need ball winners - Masten and Palmer both foot the bill.

I love both. Masto has a touch more class and is more inclined to make team mates around him look good. Has a great pair of hands and vision.

Rhysie is a goer who wills himself into games and refuses to leave anything in the tank. Massive mental strength.

Both are genuine gut runners - Masto a fomer champion track and cross country runner and Rhysie with a 16+ beep.

The thing is they both love the hard work. They thrive on it.

Freo prefer Masto.

If they are both available at 7, Masto gets the gig.

That's the bit I like - the mental strength... :thumbsu: We need a bit of that down at the port... :o

I'd be rapt with either Masten or Palmer - for what particular reason is the preference for Masten?

nurries
12 Sep 2007, 19:51
I'd be rapt with either Masten or Palmer - for what particular reason is the preference for Masten?

Wouldnt it be nice to have 2 picks in the top 10 though.

ImperialPurple
12 Sep 2007, 19:55
Wouldnt it be nice to have 2 picks in the top 10 though.

Certainly would... but how??