View Full Version : The Absolute Shoo-Ins of the 2007 NAB Draft
The Royal Sampler
11 Sep 2007, 19:07
Obviously there's no such thing, but I thought it might be a laugh to put up some "rules" about what we believe must happen.
I'll start off;
1. Trent Cotchin will not slide outside the top 2.
2. Brad Ebert will not get past Adelaide's first pick.
Now your turn. :p
sinepari
11 Sep 2007, 19:10
David Myers won't go past West Coast.
vinnie_vegas69
11 Sep 2007, 19:15
Cotchin's a very decent chance to slide outside the Top 2...
Honestly, nothing except things like "Kreuzer will go Top 2" and "Rhys Palmer will go in the first round" are absolute shoo-ins at this point.
The Royal Sampler
11 Sep 2007, 19:24
Well that's no fun :p
How do you see Cotchin going < 2, by the way? I would think there are BF posters burning effigies of you right now! :D
BluesRules
11 Sep 2007, 19:31
Obviously there's no such thing, but I thought it might be a laugh to put up some "rules" about what we believe must happen.
I'll start off;
Brad Ebert should be a top 4 selection. He is a star
BluesRules
11 Sep 2007, 19:32
Cotchin's a very decent chance to slide outside the Top 2...
Honestly, nothing except things like "Kreuzer will go Top 2" and "Rhys Palmer will go in the first round" are absolute shoo-ins at this point.
No way mate. Will probably go number 1. If Carlton pass (which I doubt), Richmond will take him without hesitation at 2
Well that's no fun :p
How do you see Cotchin going < 2, by the way? I would think there are BF posters burning effigies of you right now! :D
Yeah, 60,000 Bluebaggers just crashed the BF servers all trying to change their sig files at once.
smithos
11 Sep 2007, 20:03
McEvoy wont last past pick 9
vinnie_vegas69
11 Sep 2007, 22:17
No way mate. Will probably go number 1. If Carlton pass (which I doubt), Richmond will take him without hesitation at 2
Yep, and there was no way that Shannon Hurn would slide outside the Top 5, nor was there any way that James Sellar would end up outside the Top 10, nor was there any way that Scott Pendlebury would go as high as #, nor was there any way that Hawthorn would pass on Richard Tambling at #2...
The draft is set with "certainties" that don't end up happening come draft day.
Cotchin probably WILL go top 2, but there's still a decent chance that he doesn't. Everyone had Xavier Ellis pencilled in as a Top 2 pick, but it didn't happen.
The Royal Sampler
11 Sep 2007, 22:22
Every had Xavier Ellis pencilled in as a Top 2 pick, but it didn't happen.
Every's a shit judge. I've seen his posts and they're rubbish.
They are rubbish! :p
vinnie_vegas69
11 Sep 2007, 22:34
Every's a shit judge. I've seen his posts and they're rubbish.
They are rubbish! :p
Edited. Happy?
Alex Rance
Will be snapped up early as he is a genuine full-back
brown30
11 Sep 2007, 23:28
David Myers won't go past West Coast.
Mate he'd be lucky to make it past Adelaide and from what I've heard a couple of clubs who finished lower than us are pretty keen on him too. Forget physical attributes, he's got what it takes above the shoulders to make it. Future leader at any club he goes to. Love him :thumbsu:
bomberandy
11 Sep 2007, 23:37
I doubt Henderson will last past the Dogs first pick
The Royal Sampler
12 Sep 2007, 09:53
Edited. Happy?
Vinne_vegas69, you take me far too seriously. :eek:
Anyone think Henderson might go to Melbourne at #4?
Neitz and Holland very close to finishing there careers, and Robbo is what, 29?
The Royal Sampler
12 Sep 2007, 10:03
I thought McEvoy was a better fit for the Dees, maybe Henderson is the man for the Dogs.
vinnie_vegas69
12 Sep 2007, 10:06
Vinne_vegas69, you take me far too seriously. :eek:
Please.
If I took you seriously, you'd be banned right now.
If I took anything seriously, I probably wouldn't be so lazy.
ericpascoe
12 Sep 2007, 10:45
Certainties of past 5 drafts
2002 - That Goodard would go 1, and Wells 2
2003 - That Cooney would go 1
2004 - That Deledio would go 1
2005 - That Murphy would go 1
2006 - Probably none. Gibbs and Leuenberger were both in the mix for #1 till very late. You could probably argue it was close to certain that Gibbs, Gumbleton, Hansen, Leuenberger would be top 4 in some order.
Very few selections apart from those have been certain. This year, there is one certainty (Kreuzer at 1)
vinnie_vegas69
12 Sep 2007, 10:48
This is completely untrue. Once the season ended and things began to shake down, it became clear that Murphy would go #1, but this far out from the draft there was still plenty of discussion about who would go #1.
Plenty of people had Xavier Ellis, Josh Kennedy and even Shannon Hurn at #1. Mitch Clark had pretty much fallen away from #1 contention by then, but he was also an early contender.
ericpascoe
12 Sep 2007, 10:58
This is completely untrue. Once the season ended and things began to shake down, it became clear that Murphy would go #1, but this far out from the draft there was still plenty of discussion about who would go #1.
Plenty of people had Xavier Ellis, Josh Kennedy and even Shannon Hurn at #1. Mitch Clark had pretty much fallen away from #1 contention by then, but he was also an early contender.
Well, it depends on when you take your timeline from, and which "people" you count in your "plenty of people." Were people on Big Footy speculating about Ellis, Kennedy and Hurn at 1? Probably. But were the footy department at Carlton in any doubt? I dont think so.
Remember the effort the Blues went to to convince Murphy not to accept the Lions Father / Son offer. He was not going to be passed up
TFLUA-Tiger
12 Sep 2007, 11:45
2002 - That Goodard would go 1, and Wells 2
2003 - That Cooney would go 1
2004 - That Deledio would go 1
2006 - Probably none. Gibbs and Leuenberger were both in the mix for #1 till very late. You could probably argue it was close to certain that Gibbs, Gumbleton, Hansen, Leuenberger would be top 4 in some order.
Very few selections apart from those have been certain. This year, there is one certainty (Kreuzer at 1)
Not at all certain, there is a rather large chance that Carlton will take Cotchin at #1.
ericpascoe
12 Sep 2007, 11:54
Not at all certain, there is a rather large chance that Carlton will take Cotchin at #1.
Nope
Gilly1972
12 Sep 2007, 12:34
Nope
Source?? Is that you Shane ?:rolleyes:
brown30
12 Sep 2007, 12:50
I reckon you could pencil Rance in for that position TBH.
juddy_Like
12 Sep 2007, 12:54
Remember when Jay Schulz was touted as a possible #1 pick as well? Well that was until he sucked ass and fell all the way to Richmonds pick.
ericpascoe
12 Sep 2007, 12:54
Source?? Is that you Shane ?:rolleyes:
Gilly, I just dont think there is any serious doubt about it. I know you're a Cotchin fan but I really believe that all the speculation is just Big Footy talk. I'm not saying it's impossible we'll take Cotchin but I've spoken to a lot of people around the club (for the record, not Hughes or indeed anyone in recruitment, but they're not the only ones who know stuff), and nobody has said anything other than Kreuzer, Kreuzer, Kreuzer and they've been saying it since mid year.
wizard_9
12 Sep 2007, 13:12
Rhys Palmer wont go past Fremantles pick.
Gilly1972
12 Sep 2007, 14:59
Gilly, I just dont think there is any serious doubt about it. I know you're a Cotchin fan but I really believe that all the speculation is just Big Footy talk. I'm not saying it's impossible we'll take Cotchin but I've spoken to a lot of people around the club (for the record, not Hughes or indeed anyone in recruitment, but they're not the only ones who know stuff), and nobody has said anything other than Kreuzer, Kreuzer, Kreuzer and they've been saying it since mid year.
Fair enough, but be careful when you post stuff like we have assured him we will take him number 1. I don't know where you heard that , but I would be more likely to put money on Howard winning the federal election than that being the case. It is one thing to speak to the some of the stalwarts around the club, even the MC or the social club members, but the fact is they don't make the final decision. I can assure you that the recruiting team are still attending all of the TAC matches, I will predict they will be just as keen when interviewing Cothcin at DC as Kreuzer, and seeing how they interview and how they test. As i have said, if you asked me to put betting odds on it, then you would still probably have Kreuzer favourite....but I wouldn't confuse chatter around the club as the same as what the recruiting team are thinking. I rate Kreuzer highly, and I can swallow us taking him at #1 even though it wouldn't be my preferred option at the moment.....what I can't swallow is this baloney that he is already over the line and final decisions have been made. Let's do a straw poll on the site and see how many of the draft boffins on here would believe that to be the case?
juddy_Like
12 Sep 2007, 15:32
I like your thinking. Melbournes Backline is made of twigs as well.
Modra93
12 Sep 2007, 15:45
Assuming Kruezer, Cotchin, Morton, Rance, Henderson and McEvoy all get taken in the top 8 this will leave Stkilda with a chance of landing Ebert, Palmer or Masten... Personally I really hope StKilda can secure Masten or Ebert but I very much doubt all those talls will be taken top 8 considering the depth of these mids, that said I would be happy with any of those list but prefer a midfielder.
Any one agree with me from a StKilda point of view
sharks89
12 Sep 2007, 15:59
Sam reid for the dark horse of this year first round.
ericpascoe
12 Sep 2007, 16:38
Fair enough, but be careful when you post stuff like we have assured him we will take him number 1. I don't know where you heard that , but I would be more likely to put money on Howard winning the federal election than that being the case. It is one thing to speak to the some of the stalwarts around the club, even the MC or the social club members, but the fact is they don't make the final decision. I can assure you that the recruiting team are still attending all of the TAC matches, I will predict they will be just as keen when interviewing Cothcin at DC as Kreuzer, and seeing how they interview and how they test. As i have said, if you asked me to put betting odds on it, then you would still probably have Kreuzer favourite....but I wouldn't confuse chatter around the club as the same as what the recruiting team are thinking. I rate Kreuzer highly, and I can swallow us taking him at #1 even though it wouldn't be my preferred option at the moment.....what I can't swallow is this baloney that he is already over the line and final decisions have been made. Let's do a straw poll on the site and see how many of the draft boffins on here would believe that to be the case?
The draft boffins would know which kids look impressive but not what clubs are thinking. As for who one listens too, I think you'd agree with me that in order of reliability, sources can be broken down into about 6 categories
1. Coaching and recruiting staff (A+)
2. Football Department and Football Directors (eg Icke, Sticks etc) (A)
3. Non Footy Department Board members (B+)
4. Players (B)
5. "Stalwarts" (C)
6. Big Footy (F)
I'll happily concede I dont talk to people in category 1 or 2, but neither is it 4, 5 or 6
vinnie_vegas69
12 Sep 2007, 16:44
I don't know where you heard that , but I would be more likely to put money on Howard winning the federal election than that being the case.
I'd put money on Howard to win the Federal election, because no amount of money I lost could make me unhappy to have lost it...
ericpascoe
12 Sep 2007, 16:50
I'd put money on Howard to win the Federal election, because no amount of money I lost could make me unhappy to have lost it...
You'd want good odds!
Gilly1972
12 Sep 2007, 17:08
Sam reid for the dark horse of this year first round.
Tell the Hawks to keep their grubby hands off him :p:D
richoatthedisco
12 Sep 2007, 17:16
If Howard was really smart/desperate he could tell the public he is betting the budget on himself winning.
vinnie_vegas69
12 Sep 2007, 17:21
You'd want good odds!
Agreed - It would take a lot of cash to console me if the idiots in this country voted him back in...
ericpascoe
12 Sep 2007, 17:59
Agreed - It would take a lot of cash to console me if the idiots in this country voted him back in...
He's been transformed from cunning old fox to poor old duffer in 6 months. Rudd's got him completely f#@ked
over the top
12 Sep 2007, 18:16
Assuming Kruezer, Cotchin, Morton, Rance, Henderson and McEvoy all get taken in the top 8 this will leave Stkilda with a chance of landing Ebert, Palmer or Masten... Personally I really hope StKilda can secure Masten or Ebert but I very much doubt all those talls will be taken top 8 considering the depth of these mids, that said I would be happy with any of those list but prefer a midfielder.
Any one agree with me from a StKilda point of view
ebert will go top 8
The Royal Sampler
12 Sep 2007, 18:32
Rhys Palmer wont go past Fremantles pick.
What if Masten and Palmer are both available at Freo's pick? ;)
richcogs
12 Sep 2007, 19:06
He's been transformed from cunning old fox to poor old duffer in 6 months. Rudd's got him completely f#@ked
And do you know who has managed to change his image, two words- THE MEDIA. Ultimately they decide who gets elected unless one party completely stuffs up their chances their selves.
Howard's been a good PM, bring in Costello though. I'll be behind liberal whoever is there, as we all should. Don't want labour stuffing the country up with another huge unrealistic spending spree.. AGAIN!
sinepari
12 Sep 2007, 19:08
Let's stick to footy lads.
bomberandy
12 Sep 2007, 19:23
Let's stick to footy lads.
Agreed
missionpossible
12 Sep 2007, 19:24
Be carefull what you wish for
last two labour governments upon taking power saw interest rates rise through the roof as well as unemployment rates going though the roof.
labour introduced HECS.
Labour always runs up huge debts.
Labour will cripple the mining industry. Take away work place agreements and they can not function effectively.
BUT if that is what you want all well and good.
Labour has never decreased tax rates like this government has.
sinepari
12 Sep 2007, 19:26
football.
there is another forum lads.
The Royal Sampler
12 Sep 2007, 19:27
I think Costello will be picked up by Essendon with a rookie selection.
Seriously, stick to football please like sinepari suggested.
richcogs
12 Sep 2007, 19:28
Be carefull what you wish for
last two labour governments upon taking power saw interest rates rise through the roof as well as unemployment rates going though the roof.
labour introduced HECS.
Labour always runs up huge debts.
Labour will cripple the mining industry. Take away work place agreements and they can not function effectively.
BUT if that is what you want all well and good.
Labour has never decreased tax rates like this government has.
Completely correct, I want my share in Rio Tinto to keep rising, if labour get in I'll be forced to sell:(
richcogs
12 Sep 2007, 19:29
Sorry back to footy boys!
wizard_9
12 Sep 2007, 19:32
Chris Matsen come on down hopefully. My worry with both of them is they are both midgets.
sinepari
12 Sep 2007, 19:47
So is Kerr
stifler's mom
12 Sep 2007, 23:42
Mcevoy will not get past the bombers.
Vic Crow
12 Sep 2007, 23:48
Well, it's not the Draft, but in the Rookie Draft - Dayne Zorko to Brisbane. He was the QLD U/18 Captain after all.
davemills
14 Sep 2007, 13:45
Yep, and there was no way that Shannon Hurn would slide outside the Top 5, nor was there any way that James Sellar would end up outside the Top 10, nor was there any way that Scott Pendlebury would go as high as #, nor was there any way that Hawthorn would pass on Richard Tambling at #2...
The draft is set with "certainties" that don't end up happening come draft day.
Cotchin probably WILL go top 2, but there's still a decent chance that he doesn't. Everyone had Xavier Ellis pencilled in as a Top 2 pick, but it didn't happen.
VV, I like it, you know your stuff.
Wouldn't lock that in. Hardly any form on the board(injuries), he's more potential then anything else. He could be the next Buddy Franklin or he could be Tim Walsh(pick4 a few years back)
juddy_Like
14 Sep 2007, 14:44
Henderson is abit more like the Riewoldt/McDougall scenario of 00.
One had massive potential and was killing them esp towards the draft.
The other also had massive potential and showed alot but got injured and hence slid.
Henderson could turn out like either of them.
They'd take Ebert or Rioli.
KING-JAMES
14 Sep 2007, 22:09
What makes you say that?
The Royal Sampler
7 Jan 2008, 15:52
I'll start off;
1/2 ain't too flash when it comes to shoo-ins. :o
Ryder Is God
7 Jan 2008, 15:58
:o:o
nugget_12
8 Jan 2008, 14:16
Wow! reading some of those posts, Alot of people were way off! so much for these people having the "inside" knowledge.
11/11/07
McEvoy wont last past pick 9