View Full Version : WRFL Div. 2 Season 2008 and Beyond
roosters44
29 Aug 2008, 15:46
It's very quite on here this week the boys must be getting nervous. It will be quite an interesting forum come Monday.
Where will all the banter be coming from? The Dragons out Sunshine Heights way or the boys in the Red and White ( bit of de ja vu for the Dragons).
Should be a cracker of a game.....Good luck to both....
all-eyes-on-me
29 Aug 2008, 19:05
cant wait for sunday boys! herd the interviews on the radio batts was well spoken but the tool from hights cocky as usual!! north finish on top and still get no respect at all. guess that will come sunday arvo when we are holding the cup!!! bring it on!! go the devils
bloods05
29 Aug 2008, 21:03
cant wait for sunday boys! herd the interviews on the radio batts was well spoken but the tool from hights cocky as usual!! north finish on top and still get no respect at all. guess that will come sunday arvo when we are holding the cup!!! bring it on!! go the devils
That's it show some confidence,can't believe how quite this site has been,go devil's and knock of the gollies..
Travvy43
29 Aug 2008, 21:20
Agree with the quietness on this thread. Doing my best to generate some discussion here:
Forecast for Saturday
Cloud increasing during the morning. Periods of rain developing during the
afternoon and persisting through the evening. Northerly wind becoming strong and gusty.
Sunday Rain easing to showers. Min 11 Max 16
With the above forecast, it will be interesting to see the condition of Chirnside Park come sunday after three games being played on it Saturday. Generally the oval will hold up however the centre will be bogged up a bit should the rain arrive saturday as forecasted.
Other thoughts/ questions:
Will the rain help the devils of heights?
What impact will bomber's resignation have on heights for the game?
If heights win, loose or draw will there be a mass departure with the coach leaving? If they win and this happens it would not be ideal going into Div 1.
Any info on matchups, who will play on Greto, phillips or montebello in the twos?
Odds on devils taking out both flags, how long has it been since a team has done this (it may have happened recently i dont know)?
How much has the long way to the GF taken out of heights. Large ground and maybe wet conditions, could come into calculations with the devils who are renowned for their fast finishes.
or Will the devils come out stale given they have only played once in three weeks.
Spark it up.
Devils by 25 points in the ones
Devils by 5 points in the reserves.
Good luck all.
OntheOuter_07
29 Aug 2008, 21:25
Odds on devils taking out both flags, how long has it been since a team has done this (it may have happened recently i dont know)
This has been done for the past 3 season
West Footscray - 2007
Glenorden - 2006
Altona - 2005
OntheOuter_07
29 Aug 2008, 21:39
[quote=Travvy43;12243296]
None - Those guys are ready to be rewarded for 5 years of hard work
I think it will be a very disappointing day for the Devils... Albanvale who have been the Bridesmaids for the past 3 years wont let this chance slip by..
Also they will be strengthened by the Seniors being knocked out last week.
Also Heights who suffered a GF loss last year know what its all about and will produce the Goods... I predicted these teams would be in the Granny a while back...check my previous posts i will still maintain my prediction of a 10 goal win
Would like to see a close Grand Final as a neutral spectator but the odds stack against North Footscray from what ive seen over the past 3 weeks.
But best of luck and as Tatts says "the Best team will win"
Tony Delaney
29 Aug 2008, 21:49
[quote=Travvy43;12243296]
If heights win, loose or draw will there be a mass departure with the coach leaving? If they win and this happens it would not be ideal going into Div 1.
Easy answers there.
No effect at all.
No one will leave with the coach because the coach will still be at the club forever just not coaching.
all-eyes-on-me
29 Aug 2008, 21:57
Any info on matchups, who will play on Greto, phillips or montebello in the twos?
dont think greto will be tagged. think malia will be there key!! greto isnt 100% was very very proppy last week. no one will stop phillips, no one good enough in this comp to!! and montebello in to 2s im prodicting 4 goals in a winniing team
Travvy43
29 Aug 2008, 23:28
West Footscray - 2007
Glenorden - 2006
Altona - 2005
Well there you go. If ever there was an omen for the devils, there it is.
karim13
30 Aug 2008, 00:29
dont think greto will be tagged. think malia will be there key!! greto isnt 100% was very very proppy last week. no one will stop phillips, no one good enough in this comp to!! and montebello in to 2s im prodicting 4 goals in a winniing team
minty playing in the 2nds? surly wouldnt have been dropped, must have put his hand up to let some one else play?
i agree phillips is un stopable his a freak..
im tipping a 1 point win to heights in extra time heheh
hopfully the cobras get up in the 2nds
good luck to all
Ruby Jane
30 Aug 2008, 00:42
Nah Karim Minty is Monteleone (sorry if I spelt it wrong Minty), Montebello is a 2's player I think. He played the in the semi
typewriter
30 Aug 2008, 02:57
been quiet most of the year and now u decide to bob up and call ppl tools and run ur mouth off. if mallia is the key i believe that has been ur role in the past 2 seasons and hes towelled u up on every ocassion. therefore if they r ur true thoughts then u will be responisible for ur teams fate on Sunday. u upto it?
and if u think greto isnt 100% then ur very mistaken mate, dont rate him at ur peril, maybe maczohan can play on him again seeing as though he isnt fit hahaha ......
only a day and a half til all the answers will be revealed.
Ruby Jane
30 Aug 2008, 03:34
So typewriter who do you think will get the ressies chocolates as you have come up against both and watched both in the past few weeks
typewriter
30 Aug 2008, 10:21
i think through the year albanvale were the better team against us. they beat us by 99 and 40 odd after being more than 10 goals up at the main break, against north we probably should have beaten them both times, after being in a winning position on both occasions.
albanvale were very ordinary last week which rubbed salt into my wounds a little, they will be boosted by a few senior inclusions, however its beyond me how they havent asked Karim to play, and with a controversial axing on thursday night which could bring unrest amongst the players, id be picking north by 5 goals.
looks like 5 in a row for the cobras in the 2s, and i think that would make it 10 unsuccessful grand finals for sticks (somebody might be able to confirm this)
Winatallcosts
30 Aug 2008, 15:25
That's it show some confidence,can't believe how quite this site has been,go devil's and knock of the gollies..
Just keep eating pies and drinking beer convict.
PAUL3232
30 Aug 2008, 16:11
Good Luck to Red Devil1 and Decka and the boys of North Footscray, lets hope the work the club has put in over the last few years pays off.:thumbsu:
bloods05
30 Aug 2008, 19:05
Just keep eating pies and drinking beer convict.
Yeah it's a shame my taxes keep you lot in bread and water,hasn't this country been good to you.:mad:
Winatallcosts
30 Aug 2008, 20:50
Yeah it's a shame my taxes keep you lot in bread and water,hasn't this country been good to you.:mad:
Pretty sure convicts eat the bread and water Mr no culture. Or maybe your culture is hanging off the back of a ute driving around paddocks shooting rabbits and foxes with other rednecks. Everyone pays taxes too and i would be pretty sure there would be a lot more skippies walking through the doors of centrelink. The only bread i eat is dipped in tzatziki.
Go Dragons
HELLSBELLS
30 Aug 2008, 21:27
Good luck to both teams tomorrow from what i have seen nf best has been better than sh best from a personal point of view... however sh has been more consistent in producing there best so makes for a very interesting game tomorrow .
Whenever any1 knows team of the year am very curious to find out how it turns out!!!!!!
all-eyes-on-me
30 Aug 2008, 23:01
been quiet most of the year and now u decide to bob up and call ppl tools and run ur mouth off. if mallia is the key i believe that has been ur role in the past 2 seasons and hes towelled u up on every ocassion. therefore if they r ur true thoughts then u will be responisible for ur teams fate on Sunday. u upto it?
and if u think greto isnt 100% then ur very mistaken mate, dont rate him at ur peril, maybe maczohan can play on him again seeing as though he isnt fit hahaha ......
only a day and a half til all the answers will be revealed.
hahahha please if you han any idear you would remember i toweld malia up at yarraville. toweld him up that bad last year in the finals he got fustrated and got reported? you forgotten about that day? only time ive ever been given the job on him? or anyone for the matter! but anyway i dont have the job @morrow but im shore the bloke who does should be rite> good luck tool
hustle and ball
31 Aug 2008, 00:59
West Footscray - 2007
Glenorden - 2006
Altona - 2005
goin by past history you wud think nth foots will win seniors and ressies and that the same opposition teams in hts and albanvale both lost to west foots in last yrs ressies and senior grand finals
my pics:
res - nth foots by 4 pts
sen - sunny hts by 8 gls
bog - mallia
bob7965
31 Aug 2008, 06:09
hahahha please if you han any idear you would remember i toweld malia up at yarraville. toweld him up that bad last year in the finals he got fustrated and got reported? you forgotten about that day? only time ive ever been given the job on him? or anyone for the matter! but anyway i dont have the job @morrow but im shore the bloke who does should be rite> good luck tool
Ash Lewis Please if i was to see you get more than 2 kicks in a game and earn them!!!! id be very surprised.
Ya lucky im not playin id tear you guys up again :D
HEIGHTS WILL WIN BY 10 GOALS MARK MY WORDS!!!!!!!!!
YYYYYYYYYYYEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHH !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
typewriter
31 Aug 2008, 10:46
u towelled him huh?????? can u remind me of the final scores in that game? what a pivotal role u played u goose.
ColeReserve
31 Aug 2008, 18:56
Heights towelled North today - congratulations to Bomber and his boys on their premiership win.
biarch_bulldoggies
31 Aug 2008, 20:46
Do we know how the Nth ressies went today, did they win or lose.
BiG_mAtTy
31 Aug 2008, 21:45
Do we know how the Nth ressies went today, did they win or lose.
North ressies won by about 23 points, only saw the last quarter but seemed like an ok game.
LIFES TUFF
1 Sep 2008, 00:07
well well well, now that the game is over, lets try to dicsect a few facts of the game.....
lets be honest with each other, BOTH teams r chokers, only difference was that 1 was a bigger choker then the other and choked for a lot longer of the game then the other.....that second quarter was very interesting and if Nth were as good as they THINK they were, they wouldve won.....
heres my tip, Mth footscray will play Div 2 footy for the rest of their existence, how many chances do they want b4 going up, they have been 'up there' for 15 years and still cant do squat, wat a disgrace (and #39, grow a heart u pea heart, when the crunch was on u went missing u little germ)
now, onto the premiers, great effort, although if a better team played them today then it wouldve been heights choking but lucky for them it wasnt....
good good effort by #18, must be real easy knowing u dont have #15 for WEST footscray to chase around all day.....
and TD, td td td, let me tell u now, u didnt win it, ur players did, they didnt need to be coached this year so dont take any of the glory, most r more then happy to see the back of u so hit the road and go back to ur day job, and ur not even good at that.....
good day lads, and weapons, ur still the fattest bloke on here
Roy boys
1 Sep 2008, 00:51
haha 39, thats that Daniel Neville, the kid thinks he can actually play. I reckon anyone who runs forward of the footy wen there team wins a few games could kick a couple his exactly why that club will never win a granny & never ever ever play divy 1 simply a bunch of peahearts.
on the 50
1 Sep 2008, 02:32
well well well, now that the game is over, lets try to dicsect a few facts of the game.....
lets be honest with each other, BOTH teams r chokers, only difference was that 1 was a bigger choker then the other and choked for a lot longer of the game then the other.....that second quarter was very interesting and if Nth were as good as they THINK they were, they wouldve won.....
heres my tip, Mth footscray will play Div 2 footy for the rest of their existence, how many chances do they want b4 going up, they have been 'up there' for 15 years and still cant do squat, wat a disgrace (and #39, grow a heart u pea heart, when the crunch was on u went missing u little germ)
now, onto the premiers, great effort, although if a better team played them today then it wouldve been heights choking but lucky for them it wasnt....
good good effort by #18, must be real easy knowing u dont have #15 for WEST footscray to chase around all day.....
and TD, td td td, let me tell u now, u didnt win it, ur players did, they didnt need to be coached this year so dont take any of the glory, most r more then happy to see the back of u so hit the road and go back to ur day job, and ur not even good at that.....
And the only skip that drinks a VB with 4kebabs. dont ever shout this disgraceful germ he will send u broke.hey weapons jenny graig is looking 4 a lab rat,she would be the only female that would want, ur HUGEEEEEEEEEEEE body
Crazy Monkey
1 Sep 2008, 07:48
congratulations to sunshine heights 2008 premiers -
well done!!!!
congratulations to bomber - the longest serving coach and the most successful coach in the clubs history.
A nice ending to five years of hard work. Well done!!!!
A great win!!! You have made your supporters very proud!!!
Enjoy the win boys!!!
Commiserations go out to north footscray and good luck next year!
And lastly 'lifes tuff' - f*** up!
w.weapons
1 Sep 2008, 13:45
And the only skip that drinks a VB with 4kebabs. dont ever shout this disgraceful germ he will send u broke.hey weapons jenny graig is looking 4 a lab rat,she would be the only female that would want, ur HUGEEEEEEEEEEEE body
thanks for your lovely words.........appreciate it.......:thumbsu:
w.weapons
1 Sep 2008, 13:48
another quality post by you life's tough..............life must be tough for you..........it sure sounds like it............:eek:
LIFES TUFF
1 Sep 2008, 14:17
well done!!!!
congratulations to bomber - the longest serving coach and the most successful coach in the clubs history.
Enjoy the win boys!!!
i never ever get how ppl congratulate themselves on this forum (or talk themselves up as players for that matter), but then again, coming from TD then i guess u expect that kind of crap, no1 else like shim enough to congratulate him so he may as well congratulate himself :rolleyes:
and dont commiserate Nth footscray when u couldnt give a rats ass about em, and u know wat, serves em right, biggest under achievers this league has ever seen by a long long way, absolute disgrace.....
gees weapons, that the best u could come up with?? fingers must be a bit tired from all the typing and gloating u have done all year (or maybe they r just greasy from all the KFC u have been eating) 1 way or another u r a joke, sports bras r on sale, i suggest u invest in a few....
and now to the PLAYING group at heights, good work boys, u maybe thought its a year too late, but i think the right team won the flag this year, but now its heads down and bums up coz i can promise u right now there wont be any 10 goal wins next year, but their may (just MAY) be a few 20 goal losses next year, lets see who the real men r and hang around for the rough ride :cool:
for now, its ARRIVIDECI from me, take care :D
Blueboy16
1 Sep 2008, 14:32
As I would of expected, nothing but POO coming from the Sunshine Heights camp over the last couple of days. Look forward to being competitive next season paying no-one in Div 1. Straight back down in 2010.
w.weapons
1 Sep 2008, 16:03
i never ever get how ppl congratulate themselves on this forum (or talk themselves up as players for that matter), but then again, coming from TD then i guess u expect that kind of crap, no1 else like shim enough to congratulate him so he may as well congratulate himself :rolleyes:
and dont commiserate Nth footscray when u couldnt give a rats ass about em, and u know wat, serves em right, biggest under achievers this league has ever seen by a long long way, absolute disgrace.....
gees weapons, that the best u could come up with?? fingers must be a bit tired from all the typing and gloating u have done all year (or maybe they r just greasy from all the KFC u have been eating) 1 way or another u r a joke, sports bras r on sale, i suggest u invest in a few....
and now to the PLAYING group at heights, good work boys, u maybe thought its a year too late, but i think the right team won the flag this year, but now its heads down and bums up coz i can promise u right now there wont be any 10 goal wins next year, but their may (just MAY) be a few 20 goal losses next year, lets see who the real men r and hang around for the rough ride :cool:
for now, its ARRIVIDECI from me, take care :D
no its not the best i could come up with.........cant be bothered with tossers like u who dont have a clue about wat they are saying or trying to say......
heights won the flag and thats all they have to say you getting on here bagging them isnt the right way to about it...and then to change you tune and congratulate the playing group....and then you bag their coach saying he has got nothing to do with the win........bahahahaha im sure the coach in the premiership photo will be sitting up the front in the middle holding the cup.......sounds to me like you have a bit of sour grapes........?
anyway keep up your good work at least its ''just'' keeping me interested....
OntheOuter_07
1 Sep 2008, 16:13
Does anyone really believe that anyone from Heights would be wasting their time on a computer at 06:48am?
When I left there with another Family member at about 1:00am i can assure you that a Computer wouldnt have been the first thing on their mind.
hans von luenberg
1 Sep 2008, 16:14
albanvales chockers tag hasnt gone away, the seniors had 2 chances to make the grand final and got pumped in both games and your reserves made it 4 grand final losses in a row, whats wrong with you blokes.
Crazy Monkey
1 Sep 2008, 19:10
no its not the best i could come up with.........cant be bothered with tossers like u who dont have a clue about wat they are saying or trying to say......
heights won the flag and thats all they have to say you getting on here bagging them isnt the right way to about it...and then to change you tune and congratulate the playing group....and then you bag their coach saying he has got nothing to do with the win........bahahahaha im sure the coach in the premiership photo will be sitting up the front in the middle holding the cup.......sounds to me like you have a bit of sour grapes........?
anyway keep up your good work at least its ''just'' keeping me interested....
Well said. Except it's not keeping me interested at all.
Like I said 'Lifes Tuff', F*** UP!!!
the frenchman
1 Sep 2008, 19:48
Summary of 2008 .
Sunshine Heights - had the best team and expectations of winning it this year, stepped up when needed to.
North Footscray - another year of being up there but done nothing, the rumor that north dont want to go up to divy 1 seems to show in every finals series
Albanvale - choke everytime they make finals, get pumped and generally not a threat in finals footy.
Parkside - spent the most $$$, thought they would pump every team and go straight back up to divy 1, to many old divy 1 players thinking it would just happen
Coburg Districts - wouldnt even bother playing finals footy til you can win a game other than at home.
Deer Park - new rooms cashed up but gave nothing . again poor year blamed by injuries.
the frenchman knows all
typewriter
1 Sep 2008, 22:03
well done boys great win and the celebrations unbelievable...... commiserations to norths, in a similar position to us 12 months ago, i really do believe u have to lose one to win one.
i will make 1 comment aimed soley at number 17 mr all eyes. u r a turtle, u said it before the game mallia was the key and that he will be stopped however, if i can count correctly he has 2 medals around his neck, and thats 2 more than u. and great game grand finals are so much easier to win when the opposition has players like u in the team that kicks the goals for us himself.
LIFES TUFF
1 Sep 2008, 22:29
Does anyone really believe that anyone from Heights would be wasting their time on a computer at 06:48am?
When I left there with another Family member at about 1:00am i can assure you that a Computer wouldnt have been the first thing on their mind.
your right, maybe it was some loyal supporter who just couldnt wait to post their congratulations on BF so set his alarm clock for 6.30am just to get up and do it :rolleyes:
sour grapes weapons??? over wat weapons?? not having a premiership medalion hanging around my neck?? not having played in a grand final b4?? please enlighten me, u seemed all smart a few weeks ago claiming to know me, so please enlighten me on the sour grapes part :cool:
of course i am going to congratulate the playing group, they just won the flag, and friends with quiet a fair few of the lads there, but let me assure u right now, greto couldve have captain/coached them and they still wouldve won, TD did nuthing but become a cancer to that club, and had the group not been a loyal bunch to each other and the club, then trust me he wouldnt have any1 playing under him
whippety boy
1 Sep 2008, 22:37
Well done to Sunshine Heights and TD!!
I saw quite a few of the lads enjoying their Monday drink at the clubrooms this afternoon, but I must say it looked a fraction sombre.
Playing Grandfinals on a Sunday is pox.
w.weapons
2 Sep 2008, 01:07
your right, maybe it was some loyal supporter who just couldnt wait to post their congratulations on BF so set his alarm clock for 6.30am just to get up and do it :rolleyes:
sour grapes weapons??? over wat weapons?? not having a premiership medalion hanging around my neck?? not having played in a grand final b4?? please enlighten me, u seemed all smart a few weeks ago claiming to know me, so please enlighten me on the sour grapes part :cool:
of course i am going to congratulate the playing group, they just won the flag, and friends with quiet a fair few of the lads there, but let me assure u right now, greto couldve have captain/coached them and they still wouldve won, TD did nuthing but become a cancer to that club, and had the group not been a loyal bunch to each other and the club, then trust me he wouldnt have any1 playing under him
you cant assure anything.......premiership coach=bomber and premiership captian=greto...........what ever you say isnt worth the trouble.........id like to have some of that cancer hanging around my neck..........any 1 would........
not even gonna bother with sh1t blokes like u.........
I dont need to tell you your a goose cause everyone else on here does anyway... I use my real name on here mate and everyone knows who I am so if you want to be a big shot and mouth off against North then come find me... dont spruik your crap on here!! by the way what club do you play for ??? interested to know cause unless your from heights we would of come to your ground and pumped you during the season!
Well done to Heights... well deserved win and were the better team on the day!
As for my boys down at North we know we had a terrible day out. we know where we went wrong and we can only be stronger for it.. same as glenorden when they lost itwest when they lost it and heights after they lost it and won this year.. we will bounce back!
Lifes Tuff do me a favour and neck yourself.. your obviously one of those kids that got bashed at school!
PAUL3232
2 Sep 2008, 09:34
Congrats Dekkaroo on your win, few of the boys in the twos would of been happy.
Lookin and listen to the game seemed that afew of the senoir players didnt stand up,and alot of players were lookin to only run one way.
Cant have that in a granny.
Batts knows what it takes to win one so i can only see the Devils coming back stronger next year, boys would be pretty keen to get back into it after acouple weeks off after coming this far.
How was Mad Monday, hope Wocka didnt play up to much. lol
GoesBangFrom50
2 Sep 2008, 11:46
YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!
:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Righto. Now thats out the way I'm off for another sip from the cup:thumbsu:
Tony Delaney
2 Sep 2008, 12:19
well done!!!!
Enjoy the win boys!!!
Here here
Team of the year
What I have seen, I would put some of the following as certain starters
Davis from Parkside as Full forward
Greto from Heights as Captain
Kennedy from Magpies as Ruckmen
Some other Forwards-
Pierce from Braybrook
Lucas/Devlin from North Footscray
Robertson from Heights
Zurek from Magpies
Stone from North Sunshine
Some Midfielders-
Drew/ Phillip/ Neville from North Footscray
Mallia/Nicoladies from Heights
Henderson/Azzapardi from Albanvale
Jurgan/Tyrell from Parkside
Elkin/Irons from Coburg
Some Backs
Budjea from Heights
Lock from North Footscray
Siranni/Williams from Albanvale
There will be heaps of players I missed so dont get Nasty, Just puts some thoughts out there
I wasnt far off
any issuees with the side picked
interesting grandfinal boys, was disappointing that our 2nds got done once again but credit to nth they deserved the win being the best side all year..
not taking anything away from nth but could the wrfl give us any worse umpires in the 2nds, what a joke Elvis and the old guy were both ways they payed some stupid stuff, what a joke them 2 r...
anyways enough of that, very interesting result in the 1ns i did back heights but thought it would b a lot closer.. heights out played nth in every position i reckon and made nth look 2nd rate..
apart from the 5 min in the sec when nth turned it on heights killed em all day, were first in all day and just gave nth nothing.. congrats boys well deserved..
congrats to nth on a great year and good luck next year boys..
if heights go up next year which i understand they will, its gonna b tough but if every 1 sticks around u boys can really have a crack at staying up for a few years, good luck boys..
anyway lads im out of here cant wait to here all the transfer goss over pre season should b intresting
karims outa here
tracker222
2 Sep 2008, 19:06
interesting grandfinal boys, was disappointing that our 2nds got done once again but credit to nth they deserved the win being the best side all year..
not taking anything away from nth but could the wrfl give us any worse umpires in the 2nds, what a joke Elvis and the old guy were both ways they payed some stupid stuff, what a joke them 2 r...
anyways enough of that, very interesting result in the 1ns i did back heights but thought it would b a lot closer.. heights out played nth in every position i reckon and made nth look 2nd rate..
apart from the 5 min in the sec when nth turned it on heights killed em all day, were first in all day and just gave nth nothing.. congrats boys well deserved..
congrats to nth on a great year and good luck next year boys..
if heights go up next year which i understand they will, its gonna b tough but if every 1 sticks around u boys can really have a crack at staying up for a few years, good luck boys..
anyway lads im out of here cant wait to here all the transfer goss over pre season should b intresting
karims outa here
To be brutually realistic for SHFC to be competitive they need to keep their senior team that played on the weekend. That team would be their reserves & may play finals, then recruit another 20 better than them for their seniors.
Harsh but true.
To be brutually realistic for SHFC to be competitive they need to keep their senior team that played on the weekend. That team would be their reserves & may play finals, then recruit another 20 better than them for their seniors.
Harsh but true.
the game on the weekend was not flashy.. nor a good standard all day. but to say that heights wouldnt be competitive against west - yarraville or even altona after they have lost a few is harsh dude... sure they are a LONG way off div 1 top half of the ladder but until they have had a crack at it keep your opinions to yourself or go on another thread... oh yeah.. and shove the rough end of a pineapple up your ockhole too:eek:
thesilkmeister
2 Sep 2008, 22:47
the game on the weekend was not flashy.. nor a good standard all day. but to say that heights wouldnt be competitive against west - yarraville or even altona after they have lost a few is harsh dude... sure they are a LONG way off div 1 top half of the ladder but until they have had a crack at it keep your opinions to yourself or go on another thread... oh yeah.. and shove the rough end of a pineapple up your ockhole too:eek:
Having played for several years at Yarraville in Div 1 and playing a couple of games for the Vales in 07 i can say that Heights wouldn't go too bad against the lower sides of Div 1. But it's one thing to beat these lower sides, it's another to keep the team motivated and doing the team things when they're getting thumped by the yardsticks like Spotty and Colts.A different ballgame and it can turn into a long season very quickly. Good luck to them though, any team that goes up and has a crack deserves credit. All the best to them.
As for North, bad luck to them. From what i hear and what i saw they played very well all year and just weren't able to close the deal. I know a few of you guys and i know you will be sorely dissaponted - but then again, i'm looking forward to lining up against you next season. :thumbsu:
red devil1
3 Sep 2008, 18:33
YEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!
:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Righto. Now thats out the way I'm off for another sip from the cup:thumbsu:
Thought you had sworn off Big Footy? ha ha
Congrats. to Sunshine Heights who were obviously way too good. Club is shattered but we will bounce back.
We have finished 9th, 6th, 3rd and 2nd the last four years so I still believe there is good times ahead.
Roy boys
3 Sep 2008, 20:19
Speaking about the team of the year how does Neville get in as the small forward on the bench there were better small forwards/midfielders running around then him.
w.weapons
3 Sep 2008, 21:01
Speaking about the team of the year how does Neville get in as the small forward on the bench there were better small forwards/midfielders running around then him.
yer i dont know about ryan blyth in the team of the year either......had an ok year but wasnt a standout that he has been over the last couple of years.........
i would have hammo in there at forward pocket..........hangs out gets cheap free kicks and kicks some goals........everything you'd want from a fward pocket..........:eek:
hammertigers07
3 Sep 2008, 21:11
thanks weapons top call mate stiff just like last year lol
bring on the cricket season i say season 2008 is dead and gone know lets look to the future. should be a interesting read next year with no heights boys on here we will all be lost but in saying that we always have the lads from parkside who are probably already talking up the flag for 09:thumbsu:
yer i dont know about ryan blyth in the team of the year either......had an ok year but wasnt a standout that he has been over the last couple of years.........
i would have hammo in there at forward pocket..........hangs out gets cheap free kicks and kicks some goals........everything you'd want from a fward pocket..........:eek:
I thought he had a quiet year too,
Nick caruanna i thought was stiff, even henderson from albanvale
w.weapons
4 Sep 2008, 01:17
thanks weapons top call mate stiff just like last year lol
bring on the cricket season i say season 2008 is dead and gone know lets look to the future. should be a interesting read next year with no heights boys on here we will all be lost but in saying that we always have the lads from parkside who are probably already talking up the flag for 09:thumbsu:
u play hammo??who for??
just had to get the last 1 in mate........:thumbsu:
w.weapons
4 Sep 2008, 01:19
I thought he had a quiet year too,
Nick caruanna i thought was stiff, even henderson from albanvale
probably kicked 30 odd goals...........was injured also during the year.........
typewriter
4 Sep 2008, 08:24
boys if ur struggling that much i promise i wont leave the thread....
i mus say though now that ive sobered up a bit and finally going back to work, all the hard work finally paying off, and ive never been involved in such an electric feeling. after the game bomber took our whole playing and coaching group in the back room for a quick chat about what this premiership had meant to individuals, at first i wondered about this. but when u could hear the rest of the club gathering in the main changing room singing our song chanting and the feeling when we walked out bloody unbelievable. great move
a note to north and im sure glenorden/wests will agree with me the loss last year made us want it even more this year and made the celebrations that much more special.
typewriter
4 Sep 2008, 21:42
hey any news on invitees for the league presentaion night?
so far ive heard of from senior:
greto
caruana
mallia from heights
hendo from albnavale
2s:
mizzi (SH)
Borg
Komocsi
Sticks
Jones (alb)
Wentworth
Sheffield (cob)
DekkaRoo
5 Sep 2008, 20:02
hey any news on invitees for the league presentaion night?
so far ive heard of from senior:
greto
caruana
mallia from heights
hendo from albnavale
2s:
mizzi (SH)
Borg
Komocsi
Sticks
Jones (alb)
Wentworth
Sheffield (cob)
Invites from Nth Foots are:
1's Phillips, Drew, Devlin
2's Webster, O'Donnell, W.Lucas
While I'm here and posting, congrats to Sunshine Heights on their win. Our boys are shattered and i am sure will be a lot stronger for it come 2009... as Heights where last season. Good luck in Div 1.
As for our twos boys.... we partied hard. It was a great effort going through the year undefeated and to beat Albanvale, who had the luxury of a few senior boys playing with them was no easy task.
ColeReserve
6 Sep 2008, 09:24
I was under the impression that only the top 10 vote getters from each grade were invited to league B&F - so far there seems a lot more without including some of the other standouts which would IMO include Kennedy at Western Magpies.Also most likely that Sun Heights would have more reps there for the premiership presentation rather than the B&F , though Malia will poll well
from Coburg Ricky Elkins in the Seniors and in the Ressies Paul Wentworth & Jason Shieffelbien have been invited
w.weapons
6 Sep 2008, 18:46
got to remember lads the team of the year players get invited for an award.........so maybe thats why there are so many.........imo
typewriter
6 Sep 2008, 19:42
na only under 18s get an award in the snior divisions they get nothing
Hey Tats can you confirm whats going on with parkside next yr. I thought the plan was to only be in division 2 for one yr. So this wasnt true what will next yr bring buying a flag or did you try that this yr.
parkside.. F.C.
9 Sep 2008, 19:59
we never intend on buying a flag..
we'll build our way out of division two footy.
and that started this year..
out first year, and we under-estimated the competition, but 4th is a great spot to build from.
We'll see yous all in round 1.
all the best.
The Western Magpies AGM was held last night and here is a little bit of what went on:
-The club will no longer be known as "Western Magpies Football Club" and from 2009 will revert back to "Laverton Magpies Football Club"
-A new president was announced
-It was shown that for the first time in a long long time that the club actually made a profit this year. Just goes to show that when teams win games it turns around financially
There were a few other things discussed but they were the main points
footies changed
11 Sep 2008, 15:58
The rumor mill has started, and one that keeps surfacing is that Sunny heights are not in the best position to step up to Div 1. One of the rumors is that they had a meeting this week to discuss this. Could they be considering a tilt at back to back flags in Div 2? Do they have the structure and money to make the step up?
Could Yarraville and West Footscray want to stay up?
Questions that all need to be answered!
GoesBangFrom50
11 Sep 2008, 16:23
The rumor mill has started, and one that keeps surfacing is that Sunny heights are not in the best position to step up to Div 1. One of the rumors is that they had a meeting this week to discuss this. Could they be considering a tilt at back to back flags in Div 2? Do they have the structure and money to make the step up?
Could Yarraville and West Footscray want to stay up?
Questions that all need to be answered!
I am sure that these rumours will pop up time and time again until we run out on to the field in round one next season but for the record I can 100% gurantee that the Sunshine Heights Football Club will be going up to division One next season.
As far as I am aware the league does have some rule that allows them to make a team stay down if their ground or facilities are not up to the required standard. With the precendent of West Footscray gaining approval last season I would think that this scenario is highly unlikely.
INVOICE ENCLOSED
12 Sep 2008, 09:45
[quote=GoesBangFrom50;12416037] 100% gurantee that the Sunshine Heights Football Club will be going up to division One next season.
quote]
and straight back down again no money no chance.
GoesBangFrom50
12 Sep 2008, 10:52
quote]and straight back down again no money no chance.[/quote]
Thats fair enough. Everyone has their own opinion.
But for the record it won't be NO MONEY next season... the budget will however most likely be the smallest in Div 1.
It is funny though that for years people have said the Heights would never win a flag in Div 2 unless they paid players and guess what happened?
INVOICE ENCLOSED
12 Sep 2008, 11:54
It is funny though that for years people have said the Heights would never win a flag in Div 2 unless they paid players and guess what happened?[/quote]
Thats all good and alot of people have said its good to see a club win a flag that did not BUY a flag.
Have all your players signed on for 09?
toys r us
12 Sep 2008, 14:25
[quote=INVOICE ENCLOSED;12423954
and straight back down again no money no chance.
[/QUOTE]
i second that motion
Mr_Footy
12 Sep 2008, 16:43
i second that motion
Who gives a crap whether or not Heights go straight back down. I'd rather see that happen, than for them to not go up and give it a crack at all. Fact of the matter is, heights won the cup. They are the best side of div2 this year, so they have every right to go up next year.
And to be quite honest, I'd be willing to bet a heck of a lot that heights wont go back down straight away. I doubt they'll make the finals, but i also doubt they''ll take the spoon.
typewriter
12 Sep 2008, 18:41
It is funny though that for years people have said the Heights would never win a flag in Div 2 unless they paid players and guess what happened?
Thats all good and alot of people have said its good to see a club win a flag that did not BUY a flag.
Have all your players signed on for 09?[/quote]
yep all committed to the big step up, everyones looking forward to the challenge
w.weapons
12 Sep 2008, 18:45
my opinion ''if'' deer park had of won the flag i highly doubt my club would have gone up.........yes there is a plan at my club and it would not be going straight up to div 1........building a team that is gonna stay up and do well not struggle and fight off relegation..........
well done to heights,west and glenorden for going to the top comp and surviving.........surviving isnt what my club is all about........
TruBlues
13 Sep 2008, 00:36
Have all your players signed on for 09?
yep all committed to the big step up, everyones looking forward to the challenge[/quote]
The Nicolaides boys will be there. :D
SQUEEKYSQUEEKY
13 Sep 2008, 01:02
Invites from Nth Foots are:
1's Phillips, Drew, Devlin
2's Webster, O'Donnell, W.Lucas
While I'm here and posting, congrats to Sunshine Heights on their win. Our boys are shattered and i am sure will be a lot stronger for it come 2009... as Heights where last season. Good luck in Div 1.
As for our twos boys.... we partied hard. It was a great effort going through the year undefeated and to beat Albanvale, who had the luxury of a few senior boys playing with them was no easy task.
CONGRATS DEKKAROO on getting carried to a Premiership. how do you think you'll go in the b&f? 7 goals for the year from a forward pocket should give you a chance lol. What about Ash Lewis 12 taps, 10 kicks and 1 hand pass should put him in good stead for a top 3 finish ha ha
w.weapons
13 Sep 2008, 01:26
CONGRATS DEKKAROO on getting carried to a Premiership. how do you think you'll go in the b&f? 7 goals for the year from a forward pocket should give you a chance lol. What about Ash Lewis 12 taps, 10 kicks and 1 hand pass should put him in good stead for a top 3 finish ha ha
yer he kicked 3 of those on me.............:rolleyes:lol
all-eyes-on-me
13 Sep 2008, 11:14
you must be superstar squeeky? must agree about the DEKKAROO comments but. herd he may hang up the boots next year? or be told to!!! so who are you superstar? potting blokes, another sideline superstar im guessing
SQUEEKYSQUEEKY
13 Sep 2008, 11:33
you must be superstar squeeky? must agree about the DEKKAROO comments but. herd he may hang up the boots next year? or be told to!!! so who are you superstar? potting blokes, another sideline superstar im guessing
I do actually play for a Divvy 2 team in the 1's and have seen you attempt to play. Hear a rumor from a good source that Batts could be going back to North Sunshine, club not happy forking out $100K on player payments and choking in the final. especially players like Phillips $800a game, Devlin same and Mark Drew $600.
DekkaRoo
13 Sep 2008, 11:35
I dont know why I am replying to a person that has no IQ, I dont usually give time to people that have to hide behind a user name to pot blokes.
Perhaps you should check you stats before posting crap.... doing well in a B&F doesnt really fase me, winning a premiership does. If you say i was carrried, i dont mind. I was there pal and won a medal..... what were you doing, sucking cans and potting blokes to get youself off.
As for Ash Lewis, I tend do agree with you on that one.. hahah. Just kidding Ash.
Squeeky, why dont you start your own thread. I am sure that there will be many that would like to post crap on the 'Loosers and Nuffy' thread.
all-eyes-on-me
13 Sep 2008, 11:56
I do actually play for a Divvy 2 team in the 1's and have seen you attempt to play. Hear a rumor from a good source that Batts could be going back to North Sunshine, club not happy forking out $100K on player payments and choking in the final. especially players like Phillips $800a game, Devlin same and Mark Drew $600.
100k? i got stiffed if thats the case!! its mick drew not mark champ, and know they wasnt getting payed anythink like that. so sourse is way off, as for batts the job hasnt been confirmed yet but couldnt see him going back even if he dosnt get the job!! so what club squeeky?
DEKKAROO you a gun mate i know you joking but dont fall into tools not your style
SQUEEKYSQUEEKY
13 Sep 2008, 11:59
I dont know why I am replying to a person that has no IQ, I dont usually give time to people that have to hide behind a user name to pot blokes.
Perhaps you should check you stats before posting crap.... doing well in a B&F doesnt really fase me, winning a premiership does. If you say i was carrried, i dont mind. I was there pal and won a medal..... what were you doing, sucking cans and potting blokes to get youself off.
As for Ash Lewis, I tend do agree with you on that one.. hahah. Just kidding Ash.
Squeeky, why dont you start your own thread. I am sure that there will be many that would like to post crap on the 'Loosers and Nuffy' thread.
Just reporting what i see and hear. Also heard Luke Summers from Deer park could be the new player/coach at hieghts. and that Parkside are going to spend up big next year. Looks like could be a good comp next year without Hieghts who were the best team by far this year
all-eyes-on-me
13 Sep 2008, 12:07
Just reporting what i see and hear. Also heard Luke Summers from Deer park could be the new player/coach at hieghts. and that Parkside are going to spend up big next year. Looks like could be a good comp next year without Hieghts who were the best team by far this year
intresting fact about parkside who woulda guessed that!! you must be in the no to get that info mate.
ALOTOFDUDES
13 Sep 2008, 13:57
lol parkside
wont even beat lavo next year
lol parkside
wont even beat lavo next year
Il agree to that:thumbsu:
w.weapons
13 Sep 2008, 17:04
yer so he can play 5 games for them..............and get good coin........i doubt after the year luke summers had he would be going anywhere......
Travvy43
13 Sep 2008, 23:35
Exceptional advise this. Now go crackatinny to continue on with the celebrations of what i think is now your fourth flag.
Are you hanging up the boots? You are too young for super rules aren't u?
DekkaRoo
14 Sep 2008, 09:56
Exceptional advise this. Now go crackatinny to continue on with the celebrations of what i think is now your fourth flag.
Are you hanging up the boots? You are too young for super rules aren't u?
Not to sure what I am doing Travvy, if it has anything to do with the wife I am hanging them, up.. haha. I just love having a kick with mates, so i will play it by ear and see what happens over the summer. As for supers, yeah still a bit too young for the comp.
North Footscray are in the process of getting a team lined up for next season. If anyone is interested, they can contact the club for more details. www.northfootscray.com.au
typewriter
14 Sep 2008, 12:32
Not to sure what I am doing Travvy, if it has anything to do with the wife I am hanging them, up.. haha. I just love having a kick with mates, so i will play it by ear and see what happens over the summer. As for supers, yeah still a bit too young for the comp.
North Footscray are in the process of getting a team lined up for next season. If anyone is interested, they can contact the club for more details. www.northfootscray.com.au (http://www.northfootscray.com.au)
hey congrats on the win in the 2s.
how would the 2s go wihtout a number of their older players if they start up a supers team?
red devil1
14 Sep 2008, 20:26
hey congrats on the win in the 2s.
how would the 2s go wihtout a number of their older players if they start up a supers team?
I guess the first thing is that our Superrules application has to be approved. Apparently pretty tough, so I guess will see what happens.
We have over 40 names, solid club, good facilities, ground etc so fingers crossed. Also wouldn't be looking at pinching North Sunshine or Footscray's players which apparently would be a concern.
Our magoos might feel the pinch a little, but it means other blokes get a game (had about a dozen miss out on a game altogether on GF day) and if they old timers still want to play they have the Superrules option. About 5 guys over 30 in the magoos flag, so not that big a deal.
typewriter
14 Sep 2008, 23:36
I guess the first thing is that our Superrules application has to be approved. Apparently pretty tough, so I guess will see what happens.
We have over 40 names, solid club, good facilities, ground etc so fingers crossed. Also wouldn't be looking at pinching North Sunshine or Footscray's players which apparently would be a concern.
Our magoos might feel the pinch a little, but it means other blokes get a game (had about a dozen miss out on a game altogether on GF day) and if they old timers still want to play they have the Superrules option. About 5 guys over 30 in the magoos flag, so not that big a deal.
anyway of fitting in an old 27 year old with a body of a 40 year old in the supers on the hush???? hahaha
I think you might find it hard to get voted into Supers as there are alot of teams in the West, I am pretty sure Footscray will be oppose you joining the league, there have been several Super's club join in the past few years from the West.
Its very early but can anyone predict the competition next season?
There are alot of questions that have to be asked:
-How will Yarraville/Seddon go in divi 2
-Will North Footscray be the dominant team
-Will Parkside rise to finish in the top 3
-Can Laverton and Braybrook continue to improve
GoesBangFrom50
20 Sep 2008, 07:43
SMITH MEDAL:
Kennedy 23
Mallia 19
Elkins 17
Drew 16
N Caruana 15
Braun 14
Greto 14
Thats as best as I can remember them. Fair enough to the winner. He had a great seaon good to see the umps on the money for a change. Must admit though it would be nice to see Kennedy resting up forward rather than playing loose man in defence all day. I am not sure if there are any defenders in the comp that would be able to stop him.
Well done to Mallia... bit stiff. Runners up 2 years on the trot
SMITH MEDAL:
Kennedy 23
Mallia 19
Drew 16
N Caruana 15
Braun 14
Greto 14
Thats as best as I can remember them. Fair enough to the winner. He had a great seaon good to see the umps on the money for a change. Must admit though it would be nice to see Kennedy resting up forward rather than playing loose man in defence all day. I am not sure if there are any defenders in the comp that would be able to stop him.
Well done to Mallia... bit stiff. Runners up 2 years on the trot
well when u have a 5 11 chb and 5 10 full back ya options are limited :)
yourgotnoballs
20 Sep 2008, 12:28
your spot on choofa. But i think the full back was about 5 9 if that.
GoesBangFrom50
20 Sep 2008, 22:11
I wasn't Pat Davis's biggest fan this season but I would have thought that kicking 100 goals this season including bags of 14, 11, 10 (twice) , 9 and 8 (twice) he may have received more than 3 votes in the Smith Medal. There is always a few blokes that get stiffed every year but thats unbeleivable.