View Full Version : Is the league starting to dwindle?
parkside.. F.C.
12th September 2007, 18:36
It seems that our competiton is just unbelievably uneven in both divisions 1 and 2.
same teams make the finals every year. (bar mine)
and rumours of teams continually wanting to leave to bigger, and supposably better leagues.
do you guys reckon this trend will continue?
with clubs leaving and folding left, right & centre.
or will the WRFL kick it up a notch and start to bring back that qaulity that existed just a decade ago.
zulu
12th September 2007, 18:47
It seems that our competiton is just unbelievably uneven in both divisions 1 and 2.
and rumours of teams continually wanting to leave to bigger, and supposably better leagues.
or will the WRFL kick it up a notch and start to bring back that qaulity that existed just a decade ago.
u will find the near by comps like essendon n northen tend to b the same
wat could the league do to change things?
parkside.. F.C.
12th September 2007, 20:48
i think you will find that the EDFL seniors would shit all over that of the WRFL..
i dont know what the league could do about it.
id just like to know the opinion of others involved with the WRFL.
i mean, whats on the cards.
is it just gonna turn into some shithouse league with one division made up of the clubs who weren't good enough to leave.
sivart
12th September 2007, 20:59
I think you'll find that the EDFL Division 1 top teams are fairly even with our top divi 1 teams, but their divi 2 teams and bottom divi 1 teams would shit on ours
future29
12th September 2007, 21:10
I think you'll find that the EDFL Division 1 top teams are fairly even with our top divi 1 teams, but their divi 2 teams and bottom divi 1 teams would shit on ours
not too sure about that i have a fair bit to do with craigeburn footy club. there a middle to bottom edfl div 1 club and although they beat sunshine pre season im fair sure our teams around that area would go alrite. i play fro altona and wed go ok genst craigeburn
BigD_Calhoon
12th September 2007, 23:19
I agree with your post, but I don't have any idea what can be done to resolve it.
I do hope the trend does not continue, as it is depressing when you read rumors of clubs wanting to change leagues, and the fact that half of the teams in each division have no realistic hope of beating the top teams.
For example, I reckon the standard of the umpires leaves alot to be desired at times, but the way they are treated by players and supporters at time is a joke and it's pretty obvious to find out why we have a shortage.
Are there any clubs close to the WRFL borders that they could try and entice into playing in our league? With the reputation that it seems to carry, I wouldn't think so?
future29
13th September 2007, 10:09
I agree with your post, but I don't have any idea what can be done to resolve it.
I do hope the trend does not continue, as it is depressing when you read rumors of clubs wanting to change leagues, and the fact that half of the teams in each division have no realistic hope of beating the top teams.
For example, I reckon the standard of the umpires leaves alot to be desired at times, but the way they are treated by players and supporters at time is a joke and it's pretty obvious to find out why we have a shortage.
Are there any clubs close to the WRFL borders that they could try and entice into playing in our league? With the reputation that it seems to carry, I wouldn't think so?
people here WESTERN regions and automatically think the league is dirty and ruff which is not the case ive played edfl and rdfl and the league is as hard as both (much better thaqn the rdfl) the physicla pressure is equal and id even go as far as saying the edfl has more dirtier moments in it than this one. The league is good and has a great atmosphere abuot it, i jus think its the stigma that goes with hearing western regions and with towns with names such as altona st albans and sunshine involved people from thje outside have no clue and jus add what they no about the town and label it on the club
inka
13th September 2007, 10:42
I agree that there is an uneven balance between the top half and bottom half of teams in both Divy 1 & 2 but to say that same teams continually make the finals is a bit far fetched!
Albion had not played Divy 1 finals for 18 yrs until this year, Sunshine have only started finishing in the top 5 the last few years before that im not to sure how long their drought was.
Parkside/StAlbans have won flags not to long ago but have finished outside the top 5 this year.
We only ever hear of rumours from ppl outside of the clubs that are getting transfers to other leagues not ppl from the club it self.
I don't think there has ever been a club to go elsewhere, some teams have folded and i'm sure if you ask any of them that they would love to be playing a team back in the WRFL!
last words.......NO the league is not starting to dwindle, beside the water restriction i believe it is probably getting stronger each year.
regards
INKA
Go Cats.
silvermagpie
13th September 2007, 11:47
just not enough money available in wrfl for struggling clubs to find and spend to be and stay competive.league needs to work more on juniors and look to chase more clubs such as say melton melton sth not that far away and new bypass will make it even easier werribee centrals etc etc
brains01
13th September 2007, 14:31
just not enough money available in wrfl for struggling clubs to find and spend to be and stay competive.league needs to work more on juniors and look to chase more clubs such as say melton melton sth not that far away and new bypass will make it even easier werribee centrals etc etc
it all comes down to the fact that our league has a bad reputation and im not sure that this will ever change even though our finals this year have been the cleanest games of footy i have witnessed in a while and then you hear about the edfl finals and they have had all ins every match from 18s to seniors and even cases where players have hit runners and our league is the one with the bad reputation
sivart
13th September 2007, 14:37
It's just the Western suburbs name that gives us a bad rep. Plus teams like Central Altona, Newport and North Melbourne/Kensington haven't helped over the last 10 or so years.
I know I'ld much rather play Altona or Sunshine Heights than a Westmeadows in the EDFL.
I know blokes who have played in the Eastern Suburbs and reckon they are alot dirter over there than it is in the WRFL, it just people have a dim view on the western suburbs if they haven't grown up or played here.
ROCK07
13th September 2007, 14:50
The league is in great shape,just have a look at the crowds over the finals and there will be close to 5000 there tomorrow.
future29
13th September 2007, 15:07
It's just the Western suburbs name that gives us a bad rep. Plus teams like Central Altona, Newport and North Melbourne/Kensington haven't helped over the last 10 or so years.
I know I'ld much rather play Altona or Sunshine Heights than a Westmeadows in the EDFL.
I know blokes who have played in the Eastern Suburbs and reckon they are alot dirter over there than it is in the WRFL, it just people have a dim view on the western suburbs if they haven't grown up or played here.
west coburg have the dirtiest rep ever and they play div 1 in the edfl. cupla years bak in a granny they were cauht on tape raking blokes faces with their boots and spitting
Lachy23
13th September 2007, 15:54
west coburg have the dirtiest rep ever and they play div 1 in the edfl. cupla years bak in a granny they were cauht on tape raking blokes faces with their boots and spitting
Awww Thats Dirt
ford_dealer
13th September 2007, 16:38
The league is in great shape,just have a look at the crowds over the finals and there will be close to 5000 there tomorrow.
tomorrow?..
chest
13th September 2007, 21:31
Hey there future and how ar ethings at Altona going, any news on the coaches yet.
There is no question the edfl is a stronger with greenvale and strathmore being the top teams. I do not think anyone would argue they would easily account for our top teams and in saying that if you went through every edfl side from 1 to 10 eg greenvale v spotty, strathmore v colts, Keilor v Hoppers all the way to Keilor Pk v Parkside I believee the edfl teams would come out on top.
Reasons.. the edfl geographicially has more money as clubs are seperated by a radius a lot larger than wrfl clubs and there is traditionally more wealth in the north west suburbs than the west, the same can be said for the eastern footy league. It all comes down to wealth and the ability to attract players.
In saying that our league is very lop sided in both divisions and I believe the league recognises this and they are looking at ways of evening up the comp... rome was not buikt in a day
Cheers
DaVinci
14th September 2007, 12:20
Hey there future and how ar ethings at Altona going, any news on the coaches yet.
There is no question the edfl is a stronger with greenvale and strathmore being the top teams. I do not think anyone would argue they would easily account for our top teams and in saying that if you went through every edfl side from 1 to 10 eg greenvale v spotty, strathmore v colts, Keilor v Hoppers all the way to Keilor Pk v Parkside I believee the edfl teams would come out on top.
Reasons.. the edfl geographicially has more money as clubs are seperated by a radius a lot larger than wrfl clubs and there is traditionally more wealth in the north west suburbs than the west, the same can be said for the eastern footy league. It all comes down to wealth and the ability to attract players.
In saying that our league is very lop sided in both divisions and I believe the league recognises this and they are looking at ways of evening up the comp... rome was not buikt in a day
Cheers
Agree chest if you look at the proximaty of clubs it is amazing they have lasted so long. Look at Spotty, Yarriville, Seddon, West Footscray, Nth Footscray. Even though West and Nth played in 2nd div last year and Seddon folded they are all in running distance of each other and therefore has to affect the way in which they recruit senior and junior players. You don't have this situation in the EDFL and Diamond Vally teams are geographically spread better. Can you imagine how strong of a teamit would be if all those teams were one, just because of junior recruitment and the monoply on sponsorship!
future29
14th September 2007, 12:39
Agree chest if you look at the proximaty of clubs it is amazing they have lasted so long. Look at Spotty, Yarriville, Seddon, West Footscray, Nth Footscray. Even though West and Nth played in 2nd div last year and Seddon folded they are all in running distance of each other and therefore has to affect the way in which they recruit senior and junior players. You don't have this situation in the EDFL and Diamond Vally teams are geographically spread better. Can you imagine how strong of a teamit would be if all those teams were one, just because of junior recruitment and the monoply on sponsorship!
wrfl is a better league than the nfl (dvfl)
DaVinci
14th September 2007, 12:50
A lot of money in that league is all i am saying haven't really watched the league and i love the passion of the WRFL one thing that they can say about the West is that we are passionate!!!
BEAZER
14th September 2007, 16:27
I will have a kilo of whatever you are on mate. I used to play in that league and its a much stronger league, from the top sides, to the bottom sides. Generally speaking, there doesnt seem to be the same passion towards each other as in the WRFL as a lot play there for the cabbage, just a generalisation though.
grover06
14th September 2007, 16:50
[quote=chest;8755853]Hey there future and how ar ethings at Altona going, any news on the coaches yet.
definately agree here. was a part of the edfl as a junior and even back then edfl sides would easily account for basically all the teams in wrfl. im not 100% on this but didnt spotty play doutta stars in a practice match this year and spotty lost by around 4 goals didnt they? correct me if wrong. but my point is douttas finished 3rd or 4th LAST in a grade edfl and still beat the team who finished top of our league and is in the GF tomorrow. admittedly it was only a practice match so nothing was at stake but its a decent yard stick...
on the other points, all leagues are uneven unfortunately, there are sides in edfl who have no chance at all of even thinking bout finals, teams like keilor park, abers etc are in the same positions as parkside this year, glenorden etc etc, i think the teams in wrfl probly have a better chance of making finals or atleast winning games than those in the edfl simply because there is less money being thrown around in wrfl.
im still relatively new to this league but im liking the footy i see, its fair and hard (most of the time) and i definately saw more dirtier stuff in the edfl thats for sure which is the complete opposite of the sterotypes the two leagues carry. in saying that more unmpires are needed, inconsistency can be a big issue, and if more umpires are around to choose from then better quality umpiring naturally results.
anyway itll take time but i dont think its as bad as some people are thinking....
roosters44
14th September 2007, 17:47
Cheers
Keilor, East Keilor and Keilor Park sound pretty close together.
grover06
14th September 2007, 20:21
keilor park and keilor are only about 5 mins from each other, east keilor is a bit further away from the both of em. but keilor the suburb is pretty big and sort of stands alone so there is a huge pool of youngsters that can easily be shared by keilor and keilor park. east keilor is closer to avondale heights, and again, its a huge area so no issues with numbers
zulu
16th September 2007, 01:27
how can this league be goign hil wit the w qual ity j uniors altona displayed today in u18s undfeated special effor and also bs premiers stong sen iors in the futer ild say
chest
16th September 2007, 17:25
how can this league be goign hil wit the w qual ity j uniors altona displayed today in u18s undfeated special effor and also bs premiers stong sen iors in the futer ild say
Can you stop posting crap. We get it, you play for altona and because they won the u / 18 flag they will be great in 3 years. Ok enough already
chest
16th September 2007, 17:27
In terms of football clubs to population they are not. East is a long way from Keilor and K park is also a fair distance. Page 44 melways
chest
16th September 2007, 17:29
I will have a kilo of whatever you are on mate. I used to play in that league and its a much stronger league, from the top sides, to the bottom sides. Generally speaking, there doesnt seem to be the same passion towards each other as in the WRFL as a lot play there for the cabbage, just a generalisation though.
Spot on beazer. WRFL is one of the lower a grade comps in melb. Essendon FL agruably better, Eastern FL arguable better, Diamond VFL arguably better, A grade amateurs better than them all not sure if I missed any metro league. COngrats beazer on the win and a very good season. Heard coaching Deer Park next year........... thoughts
SWANNEES
17th September 2007, 10:18
Spot on beazer. WRFL is one of the lower a grade comps in melb. Essendon FL agruably better, Eastern FL arguable better, Diamond VFL arguably better, A grade amateurs better than them all not sure if I missed any metro league. COngrats beazer on the win and a very good season. Heard coaching Deer Park next year........... thoughts
no way deer park beazer will return to his true home hoppers next year
DaVinci
18th September 2007, 12:37
no way deer park beazer will return to his true home hoppers next year
Beazer to stay at spotty!
And as for the constant under 18 Altona posts you guys have no clue. Spotty have had some great under 18 teams over the years but even from the players from those teams only a handful have secured a senior spot. The jump from 18's to seniors is massive and a reality check will soon be upon you!
ROCK07
18th September 2007, 16:26
As i said great shape,the standard of footy was of the highest quality and the crowd easily the biggest in my time in the wrfl.
People from other leagues that i have spoken to were very impressed and it looks as though we may sign to quality players due to the standard of the game.
We also had col kinnear before the game he also was impressed by the standard,and with albion,st albans on the improve and altona having plenty of good kids coming through the competition will improve again next year.
noshame26
18th September 2007, 17:29
Beazer to stay at spotty!
And as for the constant under 18 Altona posts you guys have no clue. Spotty have had some great under 18 teams over the years but even from the players from those teams only a handful have secured a senior spot. The jump from 18's to seniors is massive and a reality check will soon be upon you!
summed up beautifully BBBBBBBBBiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiGGGGGGGGGGGGgg reality check
sivart
18th September 2007, 17:38
[quote=chest;8755853]
definately agree here. was a part of the edfl as a junior and even back then edfl sides would easily account for basically all the teams in wrfl. im not 100% on this but didnt spotty play doutta stars in a practice match this year and spotty lost by around 4 goals didnt they? correct me if wrong. but my point is douttas finished 3rd or 4th LAST in a grade edfl and still beat the team who finished top of our league and is in the GF tomorrow. admittedly it was only a practice match so nothing was at stake but its a decent yard stick...
on the other points, all leagues are uneven unfortunately, there are sides in edfl who have no chance at all of even thinking bout finals, teams like keilor park, abers etc are in the same positions as parkside this year, glenorden etc etc, i think the teams in wrfl probly have a better chance of making finals or atleast winning games than those in the edfl simply because there is less money being thrown around in wrfl.
im still relatively new to this league but im liking the footy i see, its fair and hard (most of the time) and i definately saw more dirtier stuff in the edfl thats for sure which is the complete opposite of the sterotypes the two leagues carry. in saying that more unmpires are needed, inconsistency can be a big issue, and if more umpires are around to choose from then better quality umpiring naturally results.
anyway itll take time but i dont think its as bad as some people are thinking....
I think you'll find they beat Spotty and got beaten by St Albans the next week.
So I dont think you could read too much into that