View Full Version : EDFL Team of the Year - Pakenham Gazette
goal sneak
12th September 2007, 19:00
Ken Moore has done his team of the year in the Gazette and this is how it looks.
B: Tim Milner (Longwarry), Luke Franklin (Lang Lang), Dale Robinson (Lang Lang)
HB: Brad Miles (Nyora), Ken Towt (Longwarry), Robbie Hughes (Bunyip)
C: Dean Brown (Lang Lang), Dean Hilsop (Nyora), Clint Meyer (Bunyip)
HF: Tye Holland (Langwarry), Tom Johnson (Ellinbank), Luke Hughes (Cora Lynn)
F: Owen Fitzpatrick (Catani), Ryan Donaldson (Longwarry), Clint Williams (NNG)
R: Shane Mumford (Bunyip), Aaron Alger (Catani), Brett Anthony (Poowong)
I: Ryan Ablett (Bunyip), Jamie Cann (Nilma Darnum), Clint Evans (Lang Lang), Shane Peters (Buln Buln)
Interesting that the two best teams of the year could only get 2 selections each. SHows how important depth is.
Selections by club:
Lang Lang: 4 (Franklin, Robinson, Brown, Evans)
Longwarry: 4 (Milner, Towt, Holland, Donaldson)
Bunyip: 4 (Hughes, Meyer, Mumford, Ablett)
Catani: 2 (Fitzpatrick, Alger)
Nyora: 2 (Mile, Hilsop)
Ellinbank: 1 (Johnson)
Cora Lynn: 1 (Hughes)
Nar Nar Goon: 1 (Williams)
Poowong: 1 (Anthony)
Nilma Darnum: 1 (Cann)
Buln Buln: 1 (Peters)
No Representitives: Neerim Neerim South, Koo Wee Rup, Warragul Industrials
goodie
12th September 2007, 19:29
i think its pretty much well spot on. The on ball unit is unbelivable. one gets tired and on come jamie cann lol there would be no rest for the opposition.
BRING ON INTERLEAGUE NEXT YEAR I SAY.
bigpapagman
13th September 2007, 08:04
two of the longwarry boys; milner & towty.
interesting selections.
Saint
13th September 2007, 08:13
Interleague is dependant on guys wanting to play, out of those guys there would be a fair few who wouldn't make themselves available for the games. The whole on-ball brigaed would probably be in doubt.
I think the number of Lang Lang selections is an anomaly. How many of those guys would stand out at the better clubs?
But otherwise a fairly good attempt at a side.
Budda 230
13th September 2007, 08:20
Tye Holland? No Sheen? :confused:
bigpapagman
13th September 2007, 08:36
Interleague is dependant on guys wanting to play, out of those guys there would be a fair few who wouldn't make themselves available for the games. The whole on-ball brigaed would probably be in doubt.
I think the number of Lang Lang selections is an anomaly. How many of those guys would stand out at the better clubs?
well you make yours then.
limit of 12 nyora players. :rolleyes:
bigpapagman
13th September 2007, 08:36
Tye Holland? No Sheen? :confused:
exactly what i thought.
stiff on sheeny considering he kicked more goals than O & ablett.
Hoggwash
13th September 2007, 08:39
Tootoo or towt at CHB, interesting selection, i know who i would take and who most CHF's would agree. 4 lang lang blokes in there but not the bloke who porb deserved it most and played full back all year and beat most forwards, think it was jason kelly? I reckon Sheen, Both Wilsons at nyora, ruskin, tymenson and Matt Campbell are stiff but can fit them all in i guess.
bigpapagman
13th September 2007, 08:41
Tootoo or towt at CHB, interesting selection, i know who i would take and who most CHF's would agree. 4 lang lang blokes in there but not the bloke who porb deserved it most and played full back all year and beat most forwards, think it was jason kelly? I reckon Sheen, Both Wilsons at nyora, ruskin, tymenson and Matt Campbell are stiff but can fit them all in i guess.
would have gone tootoo.
& I thought franklin was a forward? :confused:
goal sneak
13th September 2007, 10:03
I think the number of Lang lang players is OK.
Dean Brown had a great year on the wing. Beat Meyer when we played Bunyip as well.
Clint Evans was top 5 in the league B&F.
Dale Robinson was easily in the best to ruckmen. Did not see Mumford but Robbo was not beaten once. His selection in the Back Pocket is puzzling though.
Luke Franklin was the lucky one. Played his best football at CHF but there were clearly better CHF going around.
As Hoggwash said Jason Kelly was very unlucky.
Played Full back and here were his figures.
Donalson 3
Ablett 3
Fitzpatrick 2
Sheen 1
Doesn't get much better than that.
bigpapagman
13th September 2007, 10:51
should be a straight swap - kelly for franklin.
Saint
13th September 2007, 13:09
Would anyone disagree that Josh Tymenson in a straight swap for Brown on the wing would make that a better side?
Brown will be a better player(than he is now) in years to come, but Tymenson is far ahead. Would pick Corrie Wilson on the wing ahead of him too as well as a host of players from other sides who play on the ball but would still make a better winger than Brown.
I guess Robinson is in if you pick a reserve ruckman, but back pocket is a bit strange. Sheen at CHF instead of Johnson may improve the team as well.
goal sneak
13th September 2007, 13:19
I think you need to realise Saint that it is not a side made up of the best players but a team of the year, taking just this season into account. Sure if you were picking a interleague side Tymensen would be in front of Brown but Brown had a much better season this year than Wilson or Tymensen.
bigpapagman
13th September 2007, 13:46
precisely.
it should go on 2007 form.
not reputation.
bigpapagman
13th September 2007, 13:47
leave johnson at CHF.
put sheen on the bench and get rid of ablett or peters.
Hoggwash
13th September 2007, 14:11
corrie wilson polled 16 league votes and kicked about 30 goals from the midfield, so had a bloody good year, probably better than brown. Dean Brown will be a gun in years to come but i would have picked wilson on this years form as well.
This is my team from what i have seen and heard this year
B: N Ruskin, J Kelly , T Johnson
HB: B Miles, F Tootoo , R Hughes
C: Corrie Wilson, D Hilsop, C Meyer
HF: M Campbell, O Fitzpartick, L Hughes
F: D Sheen, R Donaldson, R Ablett
R: S Mumford, A Alger, Brett Anthony
I: T Holland, J Cann, C Evans, D Robinson
Emerg: C Williams, D Brown, J Tymenson, B Collins
Any thoughts?
Budda 230
13th September 2007, 14:42
corrie wilson polled 16 league votes and kicked about 30 goals from the midfield, so had a bloody good year, probably better than brown. Dean Brown will be a gun in years to come but i would have picked wilson on this years form as well.
Any thoughts?
Tye Holland is still there.:thumbsd:
Otherwise pretty good. Forwardline maybe a little bit heavy deep.
Hoggwash
13th September 2007, 14:58
Holland is a good player, gets heaps of it and a good kick on both feet. We are not picking a team that will play, just best performed for the year and anyone who kicks 100+ should be in the team.
Budda 230
13th September 2007, 15:10
Holland is a good player, gets heaps of it and a good kick on both feet. We are not picking a team that will play, just best performed for the year and anyone who kicks 100+ should be in the team.
Please delete.
Budda 230
13th September 2007, 15:13
Holland gets easy kicks by waiting out the back of packs. Aaron Fiora of the EDFL!
Yeah, I agree the four 100+ goal kickers should be there. Maybe chuck one on the bench for game day structure.
bigpapagman
13th September 2007, 15:17
tye isnt soft.
hes just really smart.
reads it very well.
Hoggwash
13th September 2007, 15:19
Every team needs someone who is on the end of other ppl work and holland does that better than most. Sure campbell makes him look good but ya still gotta get in the right spots.
bigpapagman
13th September 2007, 15:23
dean hendrikse is the same type of player.
Budda 230
13th September 2007, 15:55
tye isnt soft.
hes just really smart.
reads it very well.
Tye is soft.
Dont let the arrogance fool you. You don't have to be smart to do what he does. It's quite simple, sit out the back and wait....
goal sneak
13th September 2007, 15:55
Any thoughts?
Much better team. Good work, harsh on Brown though.
bigpapagman
13th September 2007, 16:04
Tye is soft.
Dont let the arrogance fool you. You don't have to be smart to do what he does. It's quite simple, sit out the back and wait....
and pick up 40 kicks a game.
like you could do it.
bigpapagman
13th September 2007, 16:05
would have thought you could have snuck shane peters into the emergencies.
little harsh.
Hoggwash
13th September 2007, 16:20
Didnt think he was that good in the games i saw but who would ya leave out for him. I would take my team over Ken Moores any day.
Budda 230
13th September 2007, 16:35
and pick up 40 kicks a game.
like you could do it.
If I got on the park....... hey I got 26 kicks in my second senior game when I was 16 for Bunyip. That's pretty good.
bigpapagman
13th September 2007, 16:41
haha you played for bunyip.
Budda 230
14th September 2007, 08:20
I'd still be playing for Bunyip if I didn't live so far away. Good club.
bigpapagman
14th September 2007, 08:55
poor bastard.
Saint
14th September 2007, 09:23
Holland is a different type of midfielder, but they're a dime a dozen and generally have little effect on the game. Would pick the more damaging midfielders like Wilson and Tymenson or the harder working like Hislop or Anthony.
Hughes isn't all that different, gets a lot of kicks, but most are ineffective and in the defensive half of the ground.
bigpapagman
14th September 2007, 09:26
WRONG. tye kicks goals. a valuable asset for a midfielder.
and how many times do you reckon hes hit donno up this year?
think about it.
goal sneak
14th September 2007, 09:39
Tye Holland = Gun Footballer. Don't really like the bloke but you cannot deny he is a star player.
bigpapagman
14th September 2007, 09:46
thankyou goalsneak.
i dont mind him.
you're right. he's a gun.
Hoggwash
14th September 2007, 09:50
Corrie wilson, 39 goals this year, thats huge for an on baller! Def should have been in the team of the year.
bigpapagman
14th September 2007, 10:05
yeah but without osler, all the nyora onballers pushed forward. they had to. 39 goals isnt surprising at all.
you would expect it without a full-forward for most of the year.
Budda 230
14th September 2007, 10:14
WRONG. tye kicks goals. a valuable asset for a midfielder.
and how many times do you reckon hes hit donno up this year?
think about it.
He is a one dimensional footballer. How many times do you reckin he has got the easy ball over the top while sitting in the goal square? How many times has he kicked goals during junk time? He does it alot. He has little to no influence when a match needs to be won.
People get sucked in by the flash play and big numbers. Yes, he is a handy player but he should never be mentioned in "team of the year" discussion.
bigpapagman
14th September 2007, 10:45
i cant believe your saying this budda. tye is a gun.
stop disagreeing with me.....
Budda 230
14th September 2007, 10:54
i cant believe your saying this budda. tye is a gun.
stop disagreeing with me.....
Sorry bigpapagman, can't go with you on this one. Handy player is as far as I'll go.
Hoggwash
14th September 2007, 11:00
Osler has still kicked about 60 and cory wilson 50, both top 10 in the league. 39 from on the ball is a huge return and i think he missed a couple of games. Ty is a good player, never will change a game himself but sides need guys like him.
Saint
14th September 2007, 11:29
Last week Catani, and also what we do, is let him get as many kicks as he wants behind the centre circle, he tends to then spend the whole day racking them up without trying to have any genuine influence on the game. We then chuckle when he gets awards for how many kicks he got, while his opposite numbers get less kicks, but usually end up with a couple of goals and numerous kicks inside 50 to be far more effective.
Campbell however tries to push forward and does most of his work around the centre square.
Campbell>>>>>>>>>Holland.
When Holland pushes forward and gets manned up, he is usually completely ineffective. But as long as he keeps listening to statistics, he'll never improve.
Budda 230
14th September 2007, 13:24
Last week Catani, and also what we do, is let him get as many kicks as he wants behind the centre circle, he tends to then spend the whole day racking them up without trying to have any genuine influence on the game. We then chuckle when he gets awards for how many kicks he got, while his opposite numbers get less kicks, but usually end up with a couple of goals and numerous kicks inside 50 to be far more effective.
Campbell however tries to push forward and does most of his work around the centre square.
Campbell>>>>>>>>>Holland.
When Holland pushes forward and gets manned up, he is usually completely ineffective. But as long as he keeps listening to statistics, he'll never improve.
Super post. Completely spot on. He gets extremely frustrated when someone mans up tight on him. He doesn't like to work hard for his kicks.
bigpapagman
14th September 2007, 14:14
burn your computers.
Budda 230
14th September 2007, 15:19
What's the go with the Yellow Card bigpapagman? Still for hassling Healey?:D
bigpapagman
14th September 2007, 15:21
nah, eagles board last firday night when judd when off.
i found it humourous.
Budda 230
14th September 2007, 15:24
What did you say? After a couple of froffies I assume??
bigpapagman
14th September 2007, 15:27
nah, just a couple of smart comments.
quite soft really.
Budda 230
14th September 2007, 15:28
What goes a yellow card do? Obviously not much...
bigpapagman
14th September 2007, 15:29
cant post new threads.
Budda 230
14th September 2007, 15:38
cant post new threads.
Bit unlucky then....
bigpapagman
14th September 2007, 15:56
not really. its ends tonight at about 11.00.
goodie
26th October 2007, 13:20
cant accsess sub forums to, that sucks.
bigpapagman
26th October 2007, 13:39
certainly does.
goodie
26th October 2007, 15:08
for some reason under my groups section it says i can join the hawks board thing, what the.
bigpapagman
26th October 2007, 16:43
yeah i got that too. dont try. its not worth it.
goal sneak
20th August 2008, 10:22
Here is this years.
B: Craig Rollinson (Poowong); Andrew Collis (Nyora); Jason Kelly (LL)
HB: Dean Hislop (Nyora); Ken Towt (Longwarry); Luke Hughes (CL)
C: Brodie Rundell (Longwarry); Andrew Oldmeadow (NNG); Dean Brown (LL)
HF: Kael Bergels (ND); Kurt Batt (LL); Corrie Wilson (Nyora)
F: Luke Franklin (LL); Darren Sheen (CL); Owen Fitzpatrick (Catani)
R: Phil Smith (Catani); Tye Holland (Longwarry); Matt Wade (NNG)
I: Robbie Hughes (Bunyip); Matt Grant (Poowong); Allan Chandler (ND); Mitch Nobelius (BB)
Pretty good team I reckon. Mitch Nobelious good player but pretty lucky to make the team. Don't know who Craid Rollinson is.
goal sneak
20th August 2008, 10:25
Only 8 guys from last year backed it up. Brown, Franklin, Holland, Towt, L.Hughes, R.Hughes, Fitzpatrick, Hislop
bigpapagman
20th August 2008, 10:44
daniel wells>>>>>brodie rundell.
lol, rolly is in the side.
hilarious.
Other than that, it's a pretty good side.
I can think of one bloke who should be in it ahead of Mitch Nobelius, but i'm not gonna bother, coz i'll get shut down.
goal sneak
20th August 2008, 10:54
Yeah Wellsy was stiff. Rundell did have a good year though.
Who should have been in before Mitch Nobelius. Tell me and I will decide whether or not to shut you down.
Next Of Kin
20th August 2008, 11:09
Here is this years.
B: Craig Rollinson (Poowong); Andrew Collis (Nyora); Jason Kelly (LL)
HB: Dean Hislop (Nyora); Ken Towt (Longwarry); Luke Hughes (CL)
C: Brodie Rundell (Longwarry); Andrew Oldmeadow (NNG); Dean Brown (LL)
HF: Kael Bergels (ND); Kurt Batt (LL); Corrie Wilson (Nyora)
F: Luke Franklin (LL); Darren Sheen (CL); Owen Fitzpatrick (Catani)
I: Robbie Hughes (Bunyip); Matt Grant (Poowong); Allan Chandler (ND); Mitch Nobelius (BB)
Pretty good team I reckon. Mitch Nobelious good player but pretty lucky to make the team. Don't know who Craid Rollinson is.
Kenny must have had a few too many lights when he made that side.
B: Ken Towt (Longwarry); Andrew Collis (Nyora); Jason Kelly (LL)
HB: Dean Hislop (Nyora); Dan O'Hara (CL); Luke Hughes (CL)
C: Danny Wells (Longwarry); Andrew Oldmeadow (NNG); Dean Brown (LL)
HF: Clint Willams (NNG); Owen Fitzpatrick (Catani); Corrie Wilson (Nyora)
F: Kael Bergels (ND); Darren Sheen (CL); Luke Serong (Longwarry)
I: Robbie Hughes (Bunyip); Matt Grant (Poowong); Allan Chandler (ND); Dale Robinson (LL)
Out: Rollinson, Rundell, Franklin, Batt, Nobelius
bigpapagman
20th August 2008, 11:11
Yeah Wellsy was stiff. Rundell did have a good year though.
Who should have been in before Mitch Nobelius. Tell me and I will decide whether or not to shut you down.
um, no.
bigpapagman
20th August 2008, 11:12
Kenny must have had a few too many lights when he made that side.
B: Ken Towt (Longwarry); Andrew Collis (Nyora); Jason Kelly (LL)
HB: Dean Hislop (Nyora); Dan O'Hara (CL); Luke Hughes (CL)
C: Danny Wells (Longwarry); Andrew Oldmeadow (NNG); Dean Brown (LL)
HF: Clint Willams (NNG); Owen Fitzpatrick (Catani); Corrie Wilson (Nyora)
F: Kael Bergels (ND); Darren Sheen (CL); Luke Serong (Longwarry)
I: Robbie Hughes (Bunyip); Matt Grant (Poowong); Allan Chandler (ND); Dale Robinson (LL)
Out: Rollinson, Rundell, Franklin, Batt, Nobelius
yep, good moves NoK.
songa/franklin is a little debatable though. pretty line ball.
goal sneak
20th August 2008, 11:57
Yep Robinson needs to be in there. 23 votes from 12 games shows his dominance. Should be starting ahead of Smith too.
bigpapagman
20th August 2008, 12:00
had he played all year he probably would have.
saint leo
20th August 2008, 13:23
Smith best ruckman, robbo next, should both made it. Osler was stiff if franklin made it, kicked over 70 and played CHF for a lot of the season.
goal sneak
20th August 2008, 13:30
Smith best ruckman, robbo next
Guess we will find out sunday.
bigpapagman
20th August 2008, 13:37
Smith best ruckman, robbo next, should both made it. Osler was stiff if franklin made it, kicked over 70 and played CHF for a lot of the season.
yeah i thought that too.
Stanley da Russian
20th August 2008, 13:58
Only 8 guys from last year backed it up. Brown, Franklin, Holland, Towt, L.Hughes, R.Hughes, Fitzpatrick, Hislop
Where is Clint Williams? I heard he was coach of the side?
BTW, how did Batt make it? He only played half the season didn't he? Also never really starred going on what i've heard and read.
bigpapagman
20th August 2008, 13:59
maybe he was just named coach and thats it.
goal sneak
20th August 2008, 14:00
Yep was non-playing coach. Poor decision.
bigpapagman
20th August 2008, 14:01
very poor.
should have been in the side just as a player regardless of whether he was coach or not.
wellsy4
20th August 2008, 17:47
:)two of the longwarry boys; milner & towty.
interesting selections.
danny wells should have been there instead of milner i think
wellsy4
20th August 2008, 17:49
[quote=goal sneak;12132404]Yeah Wellsy was stiff. Rundell did have a good year though.
dunno how u can say wellsy was stiff, one of the best wingmans in the league... plus he had surgery on his knee wich it also plays up on him....
;)
goal sneak
20th August 2008, 18:11
Yeah thats what I said. Wellsy was stiff not to make the team. stiff = unlucky.
Think you are looking at last years side too. Milner did not make it this year.
grass roots
21st August 2008, 10:42
Serong (L) Williams (NNG) and Robinson (LL) should all be in the team
bigpapagman
21st August 2008, 15:18
we did.
its on the page 4 or 5.
Fred
21st August 2008, 21:25
You're free of him for 2 weeks.
bigpapagman
22nd August 2008, 08:13
sweet.
do you know anything about gippsland footy fredrick?
goodie
29th August 2008, 10:36
obviously not.